View Full Version : Life is short..What say you?
14-03-2004, 01:40 PM
I came across this article by a regular NST columnist. She was sad over her friend's death due to breast cancer, and a professor who died of leukemia, out of a sudden. She sighed that, the life was short, she should live her life to the fullest, as no one can deny the D-day eventually.
However, people actually shun away D-topic, in fact, they know very well that no one is excluded from this.
One can lead one's life in denial of death, or one can use one's life to prepare oneself for a peaceful acceptance of it.
Lately, I've been thinking it's a good idea to prepare for one's death, since the winged chariot can creep up on you and knock you off unawares.
One of the ways to prepare for dying is to organise your own funeral service, I always joke.
Choose the songs and music. Choose the flowers. Insist on a dress code (colourful). Write your own eulogy.
A friend teased: 'Do you want us to organise a rehearsal while you're lying on your death bed, so you can approve all the arrangements?'
Better still is to live one's life well, so one doesn't have regrets.
For me, one of the positive things that came out of my past encounter with cancer is that I remembered what was important in my life, and decided to spend time and effort cultivating those.
So I learnt to take time to be and not always to do. More time to meditate and pray, less to chatter. Spend time with those I care about, not fritter it away window-shopping. Spend time to walk the nature parks, not the malls.
The above are some interesting and well sentences in her article...just want to share with you all, welcome any feedback! :wink:
14-03-2004, 01:40 PM
I came across this article by a regular NST columnist. She was sad over her friend's death due to breast cancer, and a professor who died of leukemia, out of a sudden. She sighed that, the life was short, she should live her life to the fullest, as no one can deny the D-day eventually.
However, people actually shun away D-topic, in fact, they know very well that no one is excluded from this.
One can lead one's life in denial of death, or one can use one's life to prepare oneself for a peaceful acceptance of it.
Lately, I've been thinking it's a good idea to prepare for one's death, since the winged chariot can creep up on you and knock you off unawares.
One of the ways to prepare for dying is to organise your own funeral service, I always joke.
Choose the songs and music. Choose the flowers. Insist on a dress code (colourful). Write your own eulogy.
A friend teased: 'Do you want us to organise a rehearsal while you're lying on your death bed, so you can approve all the arrangements?'
Better still is to live one's life well, so one doesn't have regrets.
For me, one of the positive things that came out of my past encounter with cancer is that I remembered what was important in my life, and decided to spend time and effort cultivating those.
So I learnt to take time to be and not always to do. More time to meditate and pray, less to chatter. Spend time with those I care about, not fritter it away window-shopping. Spend time to walk the nature parks, not the malls.
The above are some interesting and well sentences in her article...just want to share with you all, welcome any feedback! :wink:
14-03-2004, 02:07 PM
nice topic..
cleopatra once said..she wanted to be alive even after her death...
and though thousand years have passed since she exhaled her last breath,she is still kicking in million people's brains.
i admire her for that.(regardless how she had lived her past)..
D-day is for me another exodus..though i'm scared of it like crazy...
i recall reading somewhere that when the angle throws the noose around you and tries to bring your soul out,your whole life will flash before your eyes..exactly like the final melodrama in the movie "american beauty"..
imagine recalling your 1st walk,your first fall,your first word,your first friend,your first love...and the list wildly goes on..
and that precise moment,your life's book finally reach the last page..an odyssey finally comes to an end...and there you lay breathless...
(i hope i'll be alive till i can make it into history books..at least i'll leave some trace...)
14-03-2004, 02:07 PM
nice topic..
cleopatra once said..she wanted to be alive even after her death...
and though thousand years have passed since she exhaled her last breath,she is still kicking in million people's brains.
i admire her for that.(regardless how she had lived her past)..
D-day is for me another exodus..though i'm scared of it like crazy...
i recall reading somewhere that when the angle throws the noose around you and tries to bring your soul out,your whole life will flash before your eyes..exactly like the final melodrama in the movie "american beauty"..
imagine recalling your 1st walk,your first fall,your first word,your first friend,your first love...and the list wildly goes on..
and that precise moment,your life's book finally reach the last page..an odyssey finally comes to an end...and there you lay breathless...
(i hope i'll be alive till i can make it into history books..at least i'll leave some trace...)
laplace
14-03-2004, 02:34 PM
I used to tell my mom, "There will be 2 different scenario if I died; If I died in accident, you will have over 400 thou of insurance but if I died peacefully, you get only 40 thou..." before I finished this, my mom will say "SIAO AH !!!" haha...
No one really die before, else we will not be here to read this forum. No one can tell exactly you will scare or you will be brave to face your last day.
Most of the religion tell, you do good and you will be in Heaven after you die, else, Hell you go...
I feel that why we want to consider "after" our death, where should we go. Why can't we decide what we should do "before" our death?
I strongly believe... my parents brought me here, not God, not Kuan Yim Ma or whatever it is... I was given a title as "human" which invisibly tatooed on my forehead. I was only given about 50-70 years to perform what a "human" can perform, to achieve/accomplish what I can... fight till die. I don't bother what I will be or where I will be brought to after I die, just make sure while I am in the position of "human", I do the best I can.
Throughout our life, we have parents, bro+sis, friends, family, kids, property, accomplishments, etc. We will feel sad if we lost all of them in one click... but just think about it... if you treat them the best you can, you will be in their memory. We have no choice but to leave this world one day, this is the faith when the first day you were born, no one can change it. So since there is no althernative choice, why don't we accept it with positive thinking?
You may think that I am talking bullshit... haha...! I scare too... I scare I have no enough time to finish what I want to do. I treat my parents, my sisters, my friends as good as I can. If I have gf or wife, I planned to settle them down as soon as I can, I help others as much as I can without considering the payback, I am doing it now, I don't have much time now, I can't tell when my life will be taken back, so whatever things that I want to do, I do it now.
Thanks for reading my post.
laplace..
laplace
14-03-2004, 02:34 PM
I used to tell my mom, "There will be 2 different scenario if I died; If I died in accident, you will have over 400 thou of insurance but if I died peacefully, you get only 40 thou..." before I finished this, my mom will say "SIAO AH !!!" haha...
No one really die before, else we will not be here to read this forum. No one can tell exactly you will scare or you will be brave to face your last day.
Most of the religion tell, you do good and you will be in Heaven after you die, else, Hell you go...
I feel that why we want to consider "after" our death, where should we go. Why can't we decide what we should do "before" our death?
I strongly believe... my parents brought me here, not God, not Kuan Yim Ma or whatever it is... I was given a title as "human" which invisibly tatooed on my forehead. I was only given about 50-70 years to perform what a "human" can perform, to achieve/accomplish what I can... fight till die. I don't bother what I will be or where I will be brought to after I die, just make sure while I am in the position of "human", I do the best I can.
Throughout our life, we have parents, bro+sis, friends, family, kids, property, accomplishments, etc. We will feel sad if we lost all of them in one click... but just think about it... if you treat them the best you can, you will be in their memory. We have no choice but to leave this world one day, this is the faith when the first day you were born, no one can change it. So since there is no althernative choice, why don't we accept it with positive thinking?
You may think that I am talking bullshit... haha...! I scare too... I scare I have no enough time to finish what I want to do. I treat my parents, my sisters, my friends as good as I can. If I have gf or wife, I planned to settle them down as soon as I can, I help others as much as I can without considering the payback, I am doing it now, I don't have much time now, I can't tell when my life will be taken back, so whatever things that I want to do, I do it now.
Thanks for reading my post.
laplace..
14-03-2004, 04:29 PM
like the good 'ol saying. Theres two thing in life you can't avoid. Paying tax and death.
I oftenly think about Death as part of life. Religion aside, I think Humans are like light bulbs.
It gives out the brightest light when it's fresh out of the box, it gets dimmer with time and eventually goes out. Thats pretty much it. We live and we die. I think the thought of not having an after life is unbareable. Most of us are not living to our fullest because of the fear of going to hell or bad karma,etc
As linkin park put it - The journey is more important then the end or the start.
14-03-2004, 04:29 PM
like the good 'ol saying. Theres two thing in life you can't avoid. Paying tax and death.
I oftenly think about Death as part of life. Religion aside, I think Humans are like light bulbs.
It gives out the brightest light when it's fresh out of the box, it gets dimmer with time and eventually goes out. Thats pretty much it. We live and we die. I think the thought of not having an after life is unbareable. Most of us are not living to our fullest because of the fear of going to hell or bad karma,etc
As linkin park put it - The journey is more important then the end or the start.
14-03-2004, 10:23 PM
this is what i think....some what my motto in life...
life is short.... so live ur life to the fullest...
try to do the best for everything... as tomorrow is really very faraway...no one can tell is there a tomorrow?
so, try to commit urself in everything u do...
try asking urself this question :
if u only have one shot in a basketball match, how do you want it to be?
another thing is, never look back... what u did is in the past...just try to do your best now and plan doing it better in the future...
u will never know what u can achieve....
as my signature goes.... :roll:
14-03-2004, 10:23 PM
this is what i think....some what my motto in life...
life is short.... so live ur life to the fullest...
try to do the best for everything... as tomorrow is really very faraway...no one can tell is there a tomorrow?
so, try to commit urself in everything u do...
try asking urself this question :
if u only have one shot in a basketball match, how do you want it to be?
another thing is, never look back... what u did is in the past...just try to do your best now and plan doing it better in the future...
u will never know what u can achieve....
as my signature goes.... :roll:
14-03-2004, 10:24 PM
i think as one gets older, he/she will learn to accept death without much frustration and anger. if we cannot avoid it, accept it. The biggest fear of death i think is the unwillingness to leave behind everything you own be it family, friends, career, money or whatever.
14-03-2004, 10:24 PM
i think as one gets older, he/she will learn to accept death without much frustration and anger. if we cannot avoid it, accept it. The biggest fear of death i think is the unwillingness to leave behind everything you own be it family, friends, career, money or whatever.
Panda
15-03-2004, 08:02 PM
After reading the writing by you all, I suddenly think of one real story.
I had a friend. He was very clever. His future is as bright as a star. He was a very helpful and cheerful person. He got 10As (9A1 and1A2) for his SPM. He went to MMU to study. As a bright student, he scored very well for all his examination. Last year, July, he was diagnosed with lung cancer the the prognosis was not very optimistic. He had to stop his studies for his treatment. He had to went to painful operations and chemotherapy frequently. HOwever, he never gave up hope of survivor. He was determined that he was going to continue his life. He was sure that he was going back to study in no time.
After went through several treatment, his condition was stabilized. He went for lighter chemotherapy. However, one day, his condition got worse and the cancer cells had spread to the whole body. This had caused him to paralyse on the lower body.
He was very weak and unable to walk.
On last thursday, when he was too tired to hold on. He gave his last words to his family. He told his mother to walked carefully when climbing the stairs. He adviced his brother and sisters to come home frequenly to see their old mother. He kept on saying good bye to his family with heavy heart. And.... on noon.....the world lost one future leader and I lost one friend. He stop breathing. His mother cried very sadly. Why? Why he had to die? WHat he had done wrong that he was given such fate? Is it what we call life? he haven enjoy his life yet?Why?....
As you can see, life is very short and unexpected. Hopefully, after reading the real story, people out there should be grateful and should live their life to the fullest as not everyone get the chance...
Hopefully, Buddha will guide my dear friend to his next journey and I hope that he will rest in peace. Hope you all will pray for him also!
In memorial of
my dear friend....
Panda
15-03-2004, 08:02 PM
After reading the writing by you all, I suddenly think of one real story.
I had a friend. He was very clever. His future is as bright as a star. He was a very helpful and cheerful person. He got 10As (9A1 and1A2) for his SPM. He went to MMU to study. As a bright student, he scored very well for all his examination. Last year, July, he was diagnosed with lung cancer the the prognosis was not very optimistic. He had to stop his studies for his treatment. He had to went to painful operations and chemotherapy frequently. HOwever, he never gave up hope of survivor. He was determined that he was going to continue his life. He was sure that he was going back to study in no time.
After went through several treatment, his condition was stabilized. He went for lighter chemotherapy. However, one day, his condition got worse and the cancer cells had spread to the whole body. This had caused him to paralyse on the lower body.
He was very weak and unable to walk.
On last thursday, when he was too tired to hold on. He gave his last words to his family. He told his mother to walked carefully when climbing the stairs. He adviced his brother and sisters to come home frequenly to see their old mother. He kept on saying good bye to his family with heavy heart. And.... on noon.....the world lost one future leader and I lost one friend. He stop breathing. His mother cried very sadly. Why? Why he had to die? WHat he had done wrong that he was given such fate? Is it what we call life? he haven enjoy his life yet?Why?....
As you can see, life is very short and unexpected. Hopefully, after reading the real story, people out there should be grateful and should live their life to the fullest as not everyone get the chance...
Hopefully, Buddha will guide my dear friend to his next journey and I hope that he will rest in peace. Hope you all will pray for him also!
In memorial of
my dear friend....
15-03-2004, 08:25 PM
I'm so sorry to hear that. Yeah, that's why life is short. And one shall never predict what's laying in front of him/her in the future? You'll never know, perhaps now I'm posting this message, the next day, I might meet with an accident?! (of course touchwood). What I want to emphasize here is, life is unpredictable and so many challenges and unforseen things in front of us. The same situation can be applied on a multimillionaire. Maybe when he decided to relax and take a back seat and enjoy his fortune, he was diagnosed in the serious stage of cancer.
So, have to live your life to the fullest and never let go any chances to be good to people and never let your parents down.
Look at the bright side of everything and live your life alive!!!
15-03-2004, 08:25 PM
I'm so sorry to hear that. Yeah, that's why life is short. And one shall never predict what's laying in front of him/her in the future? You'll never know, perhaps now I'm posting this message, the next day, I might meet with an accident?! (of course touchwood). What I want to emphasize here is, life is unpredictable and so many challenges and unforseen things in front of us. The same situation can be applied on a multimillionaire. Maybe when he decided to relax and take a back seat and enjoy his fortune, he was diagnosed in the serious stage of cancer.
So, have to live your life to the fullest and never let go any chances to be good to people and never let your parents down.
Look at the bright side of everything and live your life alive!!!
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 11:11 AM
interesting ubject..
life is short...
one phrase that i have heard repeatedly...
i agree with those who believe that life is unpredictable and that GOD might decide to bring us back to him at any time...
i'm a christian and i believe life after death in a place call heaven...
life here on earth as compared to life in heaven is like a dot of ink to a whole roll of toilet paper..i know it sounds funny but if you read it figuratively..life on earth is such a short period of time..
i think that's why i have the same belief as DecentMerson believes that we should live life to the fullest..there are so little time and so much to do..
spend time with whom we love..
to live the life the way that we should live...
to achieve things that we work towards...
and when the time is up for us, there would not be room for any regrets...
if one has read the book entitled "tuesdays with morrie" by mitch albom, you would get what i mean..it also mentions that death is another part of living...a really good book...
life is a reason worth living...life is indeed short...nothing can change that..we can only change how our life on earth would be...
as a pastor once said...on our tombstone we have the date when one is born and when the person dies and these two dates are seperated by a dash. what matters isn't really the two numbers but what it matters is the dash in between the two dates..how we actually live the life on earth that matters the most...
xxx...
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 11:11 AM
interesting ubject..
life is short...
one phrase that i have heard repeatedly...
i agree with those who believe that life is unpredictable and that GOD might decide to bring us back to him at any time...
i'm a christian and i believe life after death in a place call heaven...
life here on earth as compared to life in heaven is like a dot of ink to a whole roll of toilet paper..i know it sounds funny but if you read it figuratively..life on earth is such a short period of time..
i think that's why i have the same belief as DecentMerson believes that we should live life to the fullest..there are so little time and so much to do..
spend time with whom we love..
to live the life the way that we should live...
to achieve things that we work towards...
and when the time is up for us, there would not be room for any regrets...
if one has read the book entitled "tuesdays with morrie" by mitch albom, you would get what i mean..it also mentions that death is another part of living...a really good book...
life is a reason worth living...life is indeed short...nothing can change that..we can only change how our life on earth would be...
as a pastor once said...on our tombstone we have the date when one is born and when the person dies and these two dates are seperated by a dash. what matters isn't really the two numbers but what it matters is the dash in between the two dates..how we actually live the life on earth that matters the most...
xxx...
gesar
16-03-2004, 02:47 PM
I agree with what b_ronick and the others had said...its true that life is short :cry: ...so enjoy yourself now... :wink:
ask yourself...do u eat to live or live to eat?If you chose eat to live then you have not enjoyed yourself enough yet...well, by reviewing this question, one can see that one is actually afraid to go all out to do sumting which prevent one from enjoying the life one is leading :( ...If you chose live to eat, then you are the happy go lucky and the best part, you know how to enjoy yourself... :D
have anyone of you thought of the days that we are going through each day? have you ever thought that actually we are fighting fear for we do not know when we will die or if tomorrow will ever come?
8O
Life is unpredictable alrite...we don't know when our life will end... and many of us have been taking advantage of our own life... :? we always have that philosophy inside us that believes that if we are healthy, we will live long but what about those like the 18 year-old girl who was buried alive and the famous Canny Ong who was raped, burned and murdered? :x
well, each and everyone of us should act now, tell that someone you love the three words that you have always wanted to say but never had the chance :oops: ...tell your parents that you care and you love them...tell your friends that you care, love and support them...and this can go on....hehe... :wink:
So, I'm going to end with this...I LOVE ALL OF YOU...take care!! :D
gesar
16-03-2004, 02:47 PM
I agree with what b_ronick and the others had said...its true that life is short :cry: ...so enjoy yourself now... :wink:
ask yourself...do u eat to live or live to eat?If you chose eat to live then you have not enjoyed yourself enough yet...well, by reviewing this question, one can see that one is actually afraid to go all out to do sumting which prevent one from enjoying the life one is leading :( ...If you chose live to eat, then you are the happy go lucky and the best part, you know how to enjoy yourself... :D
have anyone of you thought of the days that we are going through each day? have you ever thought that actually we are fighting fear for we do not know when we will die or if tomorrow will ever come?
8O
Life is unpredictable alrite...we don't know when our life will end... and many of us have been taking advantage of our own life... :? we always have that philosophy inside us that believes that if we are healthy, we will live long but what about those like the 18 year-old girl who was buried alive and the famous Canny Ong who was raped, burned and murdered? :x
well, each and everyone of us should act now, tell that someone you love the three words that you have always wanted to say but never had the chance :oops: ...tell your parents that you care and you love them...tell your friends that you care, love and support them...and this can go on....hehe... :wink:
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 02:54 PM
that's nice!!!
i love ya too!!
(psst: we do know each other..heheh.. :roll: :wink: :lol: :lol: )
it's true.life isn't for us to take for granted for. LIFE is God's greatest gift for us and it's time we take time to smell the roses..
think about how you have been living your life..has it been what you have always wanted it to be?
b_ronick
16-03-2004, 02:54 PM
that's nice!!!
i love ya too!!
(psst: we do know each other..heheh.. :roll: :wink: :lol: :lol: )
it's true.life isn't for us to take for granted for. LIFE is God's greatest gift for us and it's time we take time to smell the roses..
think about how you have been living your life..has it been what you have always wanted it to be?
-munhua-
16-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Aww...u two are soOoo sweet...! Where's my share?! :oops: :P hehe....jus kiddin'
yup yup...life is definitely full of surprises. :o That's what actually makes life so interesting. It is with these challenges and obstacles that we face every day, no matter how trivial, which makes our lives more and more meaningful. :) Jus do what you think is best and assure yourself that you will have no regrets even when D-day arrives. :wink:
Each day, we often find ourselves carrying out normal errands, rushing through endless assignments, eating meals, strolling in the park. All very normal things in life. Thus, we don't really realize that every single day, which we are given the opportunity to live through, is actually a blessing from God. :D As the lyrics of the song goes, "it's just another day for you and me in paradise". :lol:
here, I would like to say this to everyone i know... :oops: 8) :P :wink:
xxx!!!!!!MuackiEz!!!!!!xxx -mh-
-munhua-
16-03-2004, 03:17 PM
Aww...u two are soOoo sweet...! Where's my share?! :oops: :P hehe....jus kiddin'
yup yup...life is definitely full of surprises. :o That's what actually makes life so interesting. It is with these challenges and obstacles that we face every day, no matter how trivial, which makes our lives more and more meaningful. :) Jus do what you think is best and assure yourself that you will have no regrets even when D-day arrives. :wink:
Each day, we often find ourselves carrying out normal errands, rushing through endless assignments, eating meals, strolling in the park. All very normal things in life. Thus, we don't really realize that every single day, which we are given the opportunity to live through, is actually a blessing from God. :D As the lyrics of the song goes, "it's just another day for you and me in paradise". :lol:
here, I would like to say this to everyone i know... :oops: 8) :P :wink:
xxx!!!!!!MuackiEz!!!!!!xxx -mh-
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 04:20 PM
Hello...
Life is short indeed in comparison to the eternity we have to face in afterlife. I have a friend who studied with me for the whole of primary school, in the same class. After we entered secondary school we went to separate classes. While he was in Form Four, he got interested in riding motorbikes...he had one as expected, and he drove to school everyday with it. One day, he got involved in an accident and his life ended just like that. A boy, 16-years-old, dead in an accident....
Most of us would think that we still have a long way to go...probably till we are 60 years old. We should be prepared for imminent death, near or far.....death is never far....nor issit near as long as we have lived a happy life.
Well, my only advice: Live life the way you want. Don't do meaningless things because that'll waste all the precious time you have alive. Like gesar said, eat while you still can...yes...eating is definitely something we need to do everyday...make sure u get good food and a good breakfast everyday to start your day!
That's all for now....take care all!!! :)
BioTEch_GizMo
16-03-2004, 04:20 PM
Hello...
Life is short indeed in comparison to the eternity we have to face in afterlife. I have a friend who studied with me for the whole of primary school, in the same class. After we entered secondary school we went to separate classes. While he was in Form Four, he got interested in riding motorbikes...he had one as expected, and he drove to school everyday with it. One day, he got involved in an accident and his life ended just like that. A boy, 16-years-old, dead in an accident....
Most of us would think that we still have a long way to go...probably till we are 60 years old. We should be prepared for imminent death, near or far.....death is never far....nor issit near as long as we have lived a happy life.
Well, my only advice: Live life the way you want. Don't do meaningless things because that'll waste all the precious time you have alive. Like gesar said, eat while you still can...yes...eating is definitely something we need to do everyday...make sure u get good food and a good breakfast everyday to start your day!
That's all for now....take care all!!! :)
hungwei
16-03-2004, 10:55 PM
For those who believe in life after death, life actually lasts forever! Just that we will be "living" in a different state. Haha....
hungwei
16-03-2004, 10:55 PM
For those who believe in life after death, life actually lasts forever! Just that we will be "living" in a different state. Haha....
17-03-2004, 03:52 AM
Just that we will be "living" in a different state.
hey, that's a good one there....true...life is continued....
there are people reaching their D-days, there are also newborn babies everyday...just the ratio in relative to each other might be in big gap or just a slightl difference. No one can tell what are the condition for people who have reached their D-days, however no one can be escaped from it.
Mmm, make me thinking of asking a question: what would you want to do the most if you know you're reaching your D-day?
How does this sound?
17-03-2004, 03:52 AM
Just that we will be "living" in a different state.
hey, that's a good one there....true...life is continued....
there are people reaching their D-days, there are also newborn babies everyday...just the ratio in relative to each other might be in big gap or just a slightl difference. No one can tell what are the condition for people who have reached their D-days, however no one can be escaped from it.
Mmm, make me thinking of asking a question: what would you want to do the most if you know you're reaching your D-day?
How does this sound?
17-03-2004, 06:32 AM
write a book!!
that's the ultimate impetus to make sure i'll still keep fightin and breathin..
17-03-2004, 06:32 AM
write a book!!
that's the ultimate impetus to make sure i'll still keep fightin and breathin..
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 09:35 AM
Hmm..life is short...thats true...
we may leave this world any moment...perhaps the next second...the next day...the next month..the next year.. or the next 100years...we will never know...
SO... do enjoy your life ! just like what Gesar said:"LIVE TO EAT!!"thats the way... (Ermm.. Gesar really lives to eat... every1 who knows her...agree ?? hehee..)
Hmm.. since our lives are short... dun be reluctant to apologize to people when u did something wrong... perhaps u will never have the chance to say the word" SORRY" anymore...
Dun be reluctant to say "I LOVE YOU" to ur family and frens... this may the last time u see them (Well.. i'm not cursing here... dun get me wrong ! :P )
In conclusion... Live ur life to the fullest for every second !!! Feel happy instead of sad... :D
lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 09:35 AM
Hmm..life is short...thats true...
we may leave this world any moment...perhaps the next second...the next day...the next month..the next year.. or the next 100years...we will never know...
SO... do enjoy your life ! just like what Gesar said:"LIVE TO EAT!!"thats the way... (Ermm.. Gesar really lives to eat... every1 who knows her...agree ?? hehee..)
Hmm.. since our lives are short... dun be reluctant to apologize to people when u did something wrong... perhaps u will never have the chance to say the word" SORRY" anymore...
Dun be reluctant to say "I LOVE YOU" to ur family and frens... this may the last time u see them (Well.. i'm not cursing here... dun get me wrong ! :P )
In conclusion... Live ur life to the fullest for every second !!! Feel happy instead of sad... :D
18-03-2004, 04:50 PM
Mmm, now I see why human beings are born to eat rather than eat to live..haha.....wow, it seems like this can be another new topic in the forum...but I think this topic "eat to live or live to eat" has been posted before.
Anyway, I haven't yet answered my own question, which is what would I do if my D-day is appraoching?
Mmm...I guess I would spend the remaining days to the fullest and try to fulfill whatever I've been wishing for. However, I wish to spend the days with my family and my loved ones, albeit I know it hurts so much for them to see me leaving the world. But if would have me spend the day all alone before I die, that would be very pathetic....
18-03-2004, 04:50 PM
Mmm, now I see why human beings are born to eat rather than eat to live..haha.....wow, it seems like this can be another new topic in the forum...but I think this topic "eat to live or live to eat" has been posted before.
Anyway, I haven't yet answered my own question, which is what would I do if my D-day is appraoching?
Mmm...I guess I would spend the remaining days to the fullest and try to fulfill whatever I've been wishing for. However, I wish to spend the days with my family and my loved ones, albeit I know it hurts so much for them to see me leaving the world. But if would have me spend the day all alone before I die, that would be very pathetic....
21-03-2004, 04:04 PM
If I know I'm dying .......... I dun think I will hide it from my family, but i will not be pathetic and whine as well... I think the only thing I want to do is to make my family happy ... Maybe that's the last thing that I can do, which i dun think much ... Maybe i'll try to be strong and do things which I haven't done before. Maybe go diving, do dangerous things (hey, i'm dying anyway!) like mount climbing, and other stuffs. But i want to spend most of my time with my family. Yeah ... I want to leave feeling contented, knowing that i've achieved as much as i want......
21-03-2004, 04:04 PM
If I know I'm dying .......... I dun think I will hide it from my family, but i will not be pathetic and whine as well... I think the only thing I want to do is to make my family happy ... Maybe that's the last thing that I can do, which i dun think much ... Maybe i'll try to be strong and do things which I haven't done before. Maybe go diving, do dangerous things (hey, i'm dying anyway!) like mount climbing, and other stuffs. But i want to spend most of my time with my family. Yeah ... I want to leave feeling contented, knowing that i've achieved as much as i want......
21-03-2004, 11:48 PM
oh yar.... 1 question...
do any one of u know who say(said) this:
"As I am born crying and everyone around me smiling, I wish to die smiling and everyone around me crying."
this is not the actual line, but the meaning is more or less there.. :P
21-03-2004, 11:48 PM
oh yar.... 1 question...
do any one of u know who say(said) this:
"As I am born crying and everyone around me smiling, I wish to die smiling and everyone around me crying."
this is not the actual line, but the meaning is more or less there.. :P
22-03-2004, 04:17 PM
Death was once a very remote thing to me. "I'm till young, healthy, living." There are things I want to achieve, palces I'd like to visit, people I'd like to meet. Then when I was 13, everything changes when a friend died because of cancer. I embraced Buddhism and learned to face death. It was then that I started to realize that death happens naturally and that there's no specific time for a visit from death. It has been years since then and now I think I'm ready to put a smile on my face if death knocks on my door.
22-03-2004, 04:17 PM
Death was once a very remote thing to me. "I'm till young, healthy, living." There are things I want to achieve, palces I'd like to visit, people I'd like to meet. Then when I was 13, everything changes when a friend died because of cancer. I embraced Buddhism and learned to face death. It was then that I started to realize that death happens naturally and that there's no specific time for a visit from death. It has been years since then and now I think I'm ready to put a smile on my face if death knocks on my door.
hungwei
22-03-2004, 07:11 PM
One question.
What do you think will happen after death?
or, to be more specific....
What do you think will happen to YOU after death?
hungwei
22-03-2004, 07:11 PM
One question.
22-03-2004, 07:34 PM
Thanx 4 this topic... sometimes life is so stressful that i feel tht the phrase "LIFE IS SHORT" sounds so corny and superficial....but i am glad tht there are so many optimistic ppl like u guys around.... makes life worth living!! :wink:
22-03-2004, 07:34 PM
Thanx 4 this topic... sometimes life is so stressful that i feel tht the phrase "LIFE IS SHORT" sounds so corny and superficial....but i am glad tht there are so many optimistic ppl like u guys around.... makes life worth living!! :wink:
22-03-2004, 09:02 PM
even optimistic ppl think that life is short....
life is always too short....that's why we must live it to the fullest...
think about it, after u graduated and get a job, get a guy/girl, get a family and a career ... you will be about 40...
then just in a nick of time, u will be history.... :roll:
22-03-2004, 09:02 PM
even optimistic ppl think that life is short....
life is always too short....that's why we must live it to the fullest...
think about it, after u graduated and get a job, get a guy/girl, get a family and a career ... you will be about 40...
then just in a nick of time, u will be history.... :roll:
23-03-2004, 04:44 PM
One question.
I try to convince myself that there is something better on the other side. My religion encourages its people to work towards achieving Nirvana. It is believed that when you die and if you reach Nirvana you'll then be able lead a blessed, immortal life. If you don't attain Nirvana, however, you'll be incarnated and reborn;either as an animal or a human being, depending on whether you've done more harm or good in your previous life lah... :wink:
But to work towards Nirvana...man, there're sacrifices and I don't think I'm totally ready to give up the comforts in my life...I'd be just happy to be born again as myself...
23-03-2004, 04:44 PM
One question.
I try to convince myself that there is something better on the other side. My religion encourages its people to work towards achieving Nirvana. It is believed that when you die and if you reach Nirvana you'll then be able lead a blessed, immortal life. If you don't attain Nirvana, however, you'll be incarnated and reborn;either as an animal or a human being, depending on whether you've done more harm or good in your previous life lah... :wink:
But to work towards Nirvana...man, there're sacrifices and I don't think I'm totally ready to give up the comforts in my life...I'd be just happy to be born again as myself...
23-03-2004, 05:13 PM
...I'd be just happy to be born again as myself...
No offense here, just wanna ask you out of curiosity. What if you're not qualify to be borned as a human again? What if u're supposed to be a chicken or an elephant on the hunt?
23-03-2004, 05:13 PM
...I'd be just happy to be born again as myself...
No offense here, just wanna ask you out of curiosity. What if you're not qualify to be borned as a human again? What if u're supposed to be a chicken or an elephant on the hunt?
24-03-2004, 12:52 AM
life is short?! emmm... not really... some people's life is long enough to have few generations in thier family. ( anyway, that's craps :P )
According to my own experience along these few years i studying in Korea, some of my relatives and friends dead either because of disease or accident.
One of them was my uncle who was my dad's younger brother dead in an accident just 3 days before Chinese New Year. This had changed the Chinese New Year happiness to sadness all around my family. Yet my 74-year-old grandfather has to face this cruel reality.
Just last few months, one of my hometown friend that was studying in MMU, Cyberjaya campus, almost online everyday and used to chat with me through yahoo messager, dead in an accident on the way back to thier hostel after had thier supper at night. I was shocked after i get to know the news from my friend through a phone call because one day before that i just had a short chat with "him". :(
All the things just happened without any sign. Friends, do appreciate what you have now especially your family and your friends. Those that studying abroad, take good care!
24-03-2004, 12:52 AM
life is short?! emmm... not really... some people's life is long enough to have few generations in thier family. ( anyway, that's craps :P )
According to my own experience along these few years i studying in Korea, some of my relatives and friends dead either because of disease or accident.
One of them was my uncle who was my dad's younger brother dead in an accident just 3 days before Chinese New Year. This had changed the Chinese New Year happiness to sadness all around my family. Yet my 74-year-old grandfather has to face this cruel reality.
Just last few months, one of my hometown friend that was studying in MMU, Cyberjaya campus, almost online everyday and used to chat with me through yahoo messager, dead in an accident on the way back to thier hostel after had thier supper at night. I was shocked after i get to know the news from my friend through a phone call because one day before that i just had a short chat with "him". :(
All the things just happened without any sign. Friends, do appreciate what you have now especially your family and your friends. Those that studying abroad, take good care!
kIdd0
30-03-2004, 02:24 PM
What will happen to me after i die? hmmm.... think simple, hopefully i wouldn't be bored outta my mind sleeping the rest of my "life" in a casket and if it would be a casket, let it be of "high-quality" wood... coz u wouldnt want the "bed" bugs to bite....
sKYwalker
30-03-2004, 02:35 PM
i hope NOTHING will happen. hopefully life will just end at the moment one dies. no reincarnation or whatsoever....
why??it juz gives me the jitters when one says that life is a loop and we will continue our lives in other forms or in other dimension. it may be fun for a while, say ten life cycles...but what happened if life is an infinite loop??r we going to live all of them to the fullest??
wouldn't it be tiring??
the idea of acheiving nirvana is not so appealing to me either...what happens after we attain immortality? we live for eternity?? i dare not imagine what am i going to do if i know i wil be living forever and there is no end in my life....
creepy?? i think i will eventually be bored to death....
kIdd0
30-03-2004, 02:49 PM
hmmm........y would one be so negative on life? If given the chance... i never want to die...not at 60, 100, even 200.....!! if i were given any chance to just live a day longer in this pleasant world....i would give all i have ... coz y abandon such a blessing which fell upon us...? life is definitely a blessing.... everyone should treasure this fact
yesterday is history, tomorrow is mystery,
and
today is a gift...
30-03-2004, 02:56 PM
I think 40 - 50 is enough liao lor .... Dun have to go through the ageing process. There's lots of disease and problems for old people.... Dun wanna trouble myself and others... Haha. But that doesn't mean i will take my own life at the age of 40-50. Just let things be the way it is...
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 03:38 PM
to think that i could live to 100..
hmmm..i really wouldn't know..
if i were to live all alone..i dun think i would like that..
but if i had a loving and caring family and frenz as well as warmth to accompany me i dun i would even mind living that long...
but life is indeed a blessing..
think we just need to be reminded of that sometimes
mystique_jasper
30-03-2004, 04:39 PM
8) life is indeed a blessing....And it is indeed short ...So, why don't we try to enjoy every single moment in our life :lol: Don't worry, be happy :D ....We never know what is going to happen tommorow, so for all the recom members, ENJOY you life while still can :wink: It doesn't matter whether we can live until 100 or 200 years old.The most important thing in life is we have no regrets! :wink:
SpRInG
31-03-2004, 03:24 PM
hmm.... in my humble opinion..........
if i were given the chance to live until 100 or 200 also, perhaps i would not want to live till then... but this does not mean that i'm implying that i'm allowing people to shorten my life...
it's just that... living until that age, meaning that i will continue to see the sufferings on earth.... to continue to struggle in this polluted world.... and to continue to see immoralities growing in the society.... perhaps i may sound pessimistic.... but think again, this is something realistic..... things are not as bright as we thought they are..... but of course, we can always look at the bright sight.....
anyway, paradise and heaven seems a much better place to be in....
:D :D :D
kIdd0
31-03-2004, 04:44 PM
hmmm....that is if we sinners end up in heaven instead of :twisted: HELL!!! :twisted: just a thought.... 8)
31-03-2004, 05:19 PM
How long do you want to live? That question doesn't matter much to me. Achieving life satisfaction matters most.
I got a story from my friends which relates somehow to our life. Take a ponder on it:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=467&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30
31-03-2004, 06:58 PM
I think that it doesn't matter that how long we live, but how much we have done in our lives. That's what my ex-school teacher always told me (and my class).....
03-04-2004, 11:25 PM
instead of thinking what happen after death, how many years to live, n more things that cannot be solved...... why not utilize these period of times to do things which r more meaningful???
not saying that thinking these things is bad .....just dun put so much time in it :wink: