View Full Version : Intelligent + character- the true education

crapzzz
15-04-2007, 01:22 AM
"Intelligent plus character-that is the true education"
-a quotation from Martin Luther King Jr.
Quoted from the ending of the movie "Stomp The Yard"

How true is this saying? How can it be applied to the society today?
What are the characters that Martin Luther King Jr implied and what are the characters that the society is looking for in the younger generation or even the society itself? Give your verdict: how fair is the statement?

koln_auhc
15-04-2007, 01:26 AM
"Intelligent plus character-that is the true education"
-a quotation from Martin Luther King Jr.
Quoted from the ending of the movie "Stomp The Yard"

How true is this saying? How can it be applied to the society today?
What are the characters that Martin Luther King Jr implied and what are the characters that the society is looking for in the younger generation or even the society itself? Give your verdict: how fair is the statement?

As much as I would like to agree with his words, I would say that it can exist permanently in our dreams but not always in reality. ( That means its function fluctuates with how human being act)

Try doing that in Uni application? Job interview?
You probably get killed anywhere but in your dreams and in a NATO forum.

crapzzz
15-04-2007, 01:30 AM
Nope, it was just a thought of mine which arose after finish watching the movie stomp the yard. I have no interviews in hand whatsoever.

*concentrating in my a level*

koln_auhc
15-04-2007, 01:54 AM
haha, movies are very inspiring....

*slaps my face twice to return to reality

I mean fiction....

15-04-2007, 01:57 AM

I mean fiction....

slapping doesn't work on me.

15-04-2007, 01:57 AM

I mean fiction....

slapping doesn't work for me.

koln_auhc
15-04-2007, 02:01 AM

I mean fiction....

Hmm, my suggestion? Go headbutt a bullet*

*this is a joke.

15-04-2007, 02:13 AM

I mean fiction....

Hmm, my suggestion? Go headbutt a bullet*

*this is a joke.

I tried but no use...

oh juz realized... I dun hv a real pistol... this is a water gun. 8O

yhc
15-04-2007, 09:09 AM
Intelligence and character are important elements in education in terms of coaching someone to be a wholesome person...to apply them in the society today is not an easy-job which can be done in a short period of time, but yet it is possible if everyone trying to apply these in themselves.

15-04-2007, 06:08 PM
Sorry for a slight grammatical reminder: it should be "intelligence and character" instead of "intelligent and character".

Intelligence is a noun, intelligent is an adjective.

yhc
15-04-2007, 11:25 PM
Thanks for reminding... :D

clvn
16-04-2007, 02:28 AM
How do you define "correct" character, or try to instil it in the majority of the population? I think this world has had enough pontification.

16-04-2007, 10:20 AM
How do you define "correct" character, or try to instil it in the majority of the population? I think this world has had enough pontification.

I tot everyone noe bout which is correct n which is nt... ?
and the problem is whether we apply it in our daily life.. isn't it.. ?

yhc
16-04-2007, 11:54 AM

I tot everyone noe bout which is correct n which is nt... ?
and the problem is whether we apply it in our daily life.. isn't it.. ?

yeah, i agree that we know which is correct or the other, but the matter is do we put them into practice in life or maybe sometimes, it's hard for us to practise them...as almost everything we do has pros and cons...