View Full Version : Columbia Asia Scholarship Program 2007

-ELaiNE-
16-04-2007, 05:20 PM
Did any ReCommers apply for the Columbia Asia Scholarship Program? They called me up this morning to invite me for an interview this Friday at 2.30pm. By the way, i applied for diploma in pharmacy. Do let me know if any of you got the interview as this scholarship is less popular. I'm the only one among my friends who applied for it. Thx! :D

lawteoh
17-04-2007, 09:40 PM
Did any ReCommers apply for the Columbia Asia Scholarship Program? They called me up this morning to invite me for an interview this Friday at 2.30pm. By the way, i applied for diploma in pharmacy. Do let me know if any of you got the interview as this scholarship is less popular. I'm the only one among my friends who applied for it. Thx! :D

lol.. you are the only one who apply for it? well, one of my friend get an interview for it last Friday.. but she apply for physiotherapy.. dunno whether she will get it anot... hopefully u can get it... :D

hey.. how come her interview is on last friday but urs on this friday? weird weird... :roll:

MCH
18-04-2007, 04:09 PM
can anybody inform me about the Columbia Asia scholarship 2007 after you have gone for the interview?I will really appreciate it.

lawteoh
18-04-2007, 10:42 PM
can anybody inform me about the Columbia Asia scholarship 2007 after you have gone for the interview?I will really appreciate it.

you also going ah? if you really want to know, visit my fren's blog lor...haha...

-ELaiNE-
19-04-2007, 01:22 PM

you also going ah? if you really want to know, visit my fren's blog lor...haha...

Can you give me the url of your friend's blog? Thks.. :D

-ELaiNE-
19-04-2007, 01:38 PM

U applied too? When is your interview? Yay, i'm not the only one..-relief- :)

MCH
19-04-2007, 07:17 PM
My interview is on Wednesday,25th April,I apply for Diploma in Pharmacy,if anyone of you had attend the interview,please inform me.Thank you.

-ELaiNE-
20-04-2007, 09:59 PM
I just attended the Columbia Asia Scholarship Interview today at Subang Jaya. It was nothing like how i imagined at all.

First of all, i never expected a test. Yes, you need to sit for a test comprising 3 sections:maths, english and science. Nothing too tough. If you were an above average student in SPM you could've aced it without the slightest problem.

Problem is, they actually don't aim to give out scholarships to excellent-rated students. What they offer is just a diploma in pharmacy. They either send you to Mahsa or Masterskills for a 3 year diploma course before bonding you 5 years with a starting pay roughly around RM1500.

So, i would say..if you're a straight a's student aiming for a degree at the very least, this isn't the right pathway for you. 3 years diploma+5 years bond+4 years degree+ 4 more years of housemanship. Do the maths..ask yourself if you want to take such a long route to just a degree. 8)

On the other hand, if you are contented with just a diploma and want a job secured upon completion of your diploma, this scholarship will suit perfectly.

Nevertheless, whichever category you're in..just go for the interview by all means..worthy experience!-At least the test got my rusty brain working once more- :D

The interviewer didn't ask me much during the interview(it was 1 to 1 though) Just asked me to introduce myself before she(the interviewer) explained about the program structure. One question that she popped and left me dumbfounded was "You got straight As for SPM, why on earth did you apply for just a diploma?"

Lolz..just sharing part of my experience. Good luck to you MCH!

MCH
21-04-2007, 11:58 AM
Thank you,ELaiNE,for your information.Ok,bye,take care.

lawteoh
22-04-2007, 10:12 PM
think that the interview is over liao rite? maybe u can tell about ur experience here? lol.. sorry.. din log in recom forum for a while... kinda busy..