View Full Version : Who is Singapore Bound?

ping879813
19-04-2007, 02:13 PM
If I am not mistaken, the outcome of NTU application will be out or is already out. Would it be nice to discuss here about the preparation of going to Singapore for further study.

Yours truly is one of the prospective students of NUS and NTU. Scored straight As in STPM but got no call up for any interview for any scholarship applied such as Nanyang Scholarship, ASEAN Scholarship etc.

Yours truly has not given up the hope of studying in NTU etc.

music_gal1988
19-04-2007, 09:33 PM
Going SG?....haha

For NTU, as PING879813 said, I am not shortlisted for the interview. i email there and they said i did not meet the criteria. Other friends that have the same result and cocu (i m better) as me called for interview.

For NUS, i apply medicine. I email there to ask whether i m shortlisted for interview. And i am rejected from the interview. Problem is, their st shortlisting criteria is based on result and project works. For international student, there is no project works. So it should be totally based on result.4 A's result wif straight A for all the subpapers should be the best result for STPM already. But then y i m still rejected? Is it becoz NUS doesnt wan to accept student wif STPM qualifications or they prefer 5 perfect A's student? If that's the case, they should have stated there and we will apply other course instead of medicine.This is something i am quite disappointed for NUS student's selection........

Any other ppl who have the same case? Let's share out our opinions

koln_auhc
19-04-2007, 09:48 PM
May I know what band you got for MUET? The minimum I have seen is band 6 for medic. That is if other recomers have lower scores.

I have 4A friends going for NTU and NUS medic interviews.

19-04-2007, 09:48 PM
Shameless plug: Join Singapore life and education SIG! http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=SIG&id=06052005

eslite
19-04-2007, 09:55 PM
University selection isn't based on a list where they cut off people at a certain grade. Its more dynamic than that. Even for those who did Singapore A-levels, there are people who got 4As being rejected for medicine interview while some with 3As gaining admission. How do you explain that?

And not being shortlisted for Medicine doesn't mean you'll not gain admission to NUS. You might get your 2nd choice unless that is you didn't feel a second choice.

Can this be moved to the Singapore Life and Education SIG?

music_gal1988
19-04-2007, 10:18 PM
Eslite, u can't compare international students with singaporean with A levels. They will have a quota. If they get result wif full A, they will certainly call up for interview coz their general paper is difficult and they will feel more standard.
Maybe my problem is on my muet result...i get band 5 only.......aiz.........but the interview and test will help u to gain more experience if u have chance to attend the interview rite?.. :roll:

Getting an offer(for any course) and deciding whether u wan to study in SG are different things. Of course i dun deny although SG is very systematic and famous of their education, there will be many factors that we need to consider b4 going there....

I realise wats my problem ad....thanks ya

koln_auhc
19-04-2007, 10:21 PM
sometimes not getting into singapore maybe a boon. You never know.

Watch the movie Rat Race , starring Rowan Atkinson. Imagine you are one the guys chasing the million dollar prize.

Wei_Ming
19-04-2007, 10:27 PM
There are other factors besides grades and MUET scores when you are applying for NUS medicine.

First, gender, if you are a girl, chances of you getting in are lesser.

Secondly, nationality, if you are not a Singaporean, chances of you getting in are lesser.

Thirdly, if you never graduated from the Sg education system, chances of you getting in are lesser.

Why? Cos girls quit medicine to become housewives, last time they actually had a quota of 80% guys, scrapped it now, but the bias is still evident. They still have 50% guys when if they based it purely on grades they should have more girls.

And of course, they reserve 90% of their places for their own citizens and PRs.

Finally, consider that you are competing against ASEAN scholars and others who went through the Sg education system. They have a higher chance of getting in. Consider last year, 5 Malaysians, 4 from Sg A levels, 3 ASEAN scholars either Pre-U or flow-through and one who transfered from IMU. None from STPM.

koln_auhc
19-04-2007, 10:29 PM
The nationality/gender/education qualifications is pretty much open secret.

The 5 malaysians you mentioned was those admitted to medic last year?

eslite
19-04-2007, 10:34 PM
I heard that medicine shorlists about 1000 people for the interview and they select 200. Not sure about the numbers of internationals in the pool though. And no, even for Singaporeans getting straight distinctions wouldn't guarantee you'll be shortlisted. Its just mysterious that way.

Ditto on not going to Sg is a blessing in disguise. Medicine bond is 6 years and most people would have to loan as scholarships are scarce (more like none).

koln_auhc
19-04-2007, 10:38 PM
the international quota is 10% , so that would make out to 20 ppl.

Straight As? hmm, there was a case of a repeating JC student getting in. that may be a super isolated case.

zsbong
19-04-2007, 11:12 PM
Totally discouraged.... sob sob

koln_auhc
19-04-2007, 11:13 PM
liew, go own them man. jibalagongtu

zsbong
19-04-2007, 11:22 PM
Single figure percentage is not that hard to swallow.. too bad the single figure is actually 0 for last year.. LOL PWNGE..

Wei_Ming
19-04-2007, 11:26 PM
The nationality/gender/education qualifications is pretty much open secret.

The 5 malaysians you mentioned was those admitted to medic last year?

Yupz, three girls two guys. Two from Hwa Chong Institution, one from VJC, one from NJC, one from IMU.

Another one from HCI in dentistry.

Two got ASEAN scholarship for medicine.

For Singaporeans, even some with 3As get in. Reason is cos interviews and essays comprise 50% of admission scores. So if your interview and essay not up to mark but your scores mega good also no good. One more thing, Singapore doesn't let all of its top scorers go into medicine cos medicine is not economically profitable. Engineers, accountants and other professionals do more for the economy than doctors. That is why they wun allow all their best brains go to one particular sector.

20-04-2007, 12:50 AM
Takes more than straight A's and good ECAs nowadays... essays, interviews are all important. Extra points for participating in Olympiads, national sports events, job experience, volunteering experience, taking initiative, entrepreneurial spirit, creativity... etc.

Many people can get straight A's and good ECA records nowadays. You gotta be better than that.

ping879813
20-04-2007, 12:27 PM
BTW anybody receive email of offer from NTU? I am applying for double E, is it too difficult to get a place there? From NTU's site the deadline is end of this month.

ccyik
20-04-2007, 12:44 PM
NTU has started interview?
Izit for the scholarships?

20-04-2007, 12:51 PM
One more thing, Singapore doesn't let all of its top scorers go into medicine cos medicine is not economically profitable. Engineers, accountants and other professionals do more for the economy than doctors. That is why they wun allow all their best brains go to one particular sector.
woh... their planning is nearly PERFECT ~

Wei_Ming
20-04-2007, 01:18 PM
One more thing, Singapore doesn't let all of its top scorers go into medicine cos medicine is not economically profitable. Engineers, accountants and other professionals do more for the economy than doctors. That is why they wun allow all their best brains go to one particular sector.
woh... their planning is nearly PERFECT ~

Yupz, they have the best people in the civil service anyway. I read about it in a paper published years ago, but the argument still holds. Good doctors are vital, but not in the push to become a leading economic powerhouse in the region.

It is very hard to gauge the relative ease of getting into a course for people who graduated with STPM cos there are a lot of factors involved. They will definitely consider people who graduated from Sg A levels first, the polytechnic grads, then only overseas grads. And demand for courses vary from year to year.

For example the ASEAN Pre-U scholarships, it was quite amazing that some top scorers who applied did not even get the scholarship whilst some with less than perfect scores got it. You can argue that they may have flunked the admission tests, however, it is more than that. Top scorers have a tendency to dump ASEAN Pre-U for JPA, making them a waste of time and effort, that is why Singapore is very cautious in picking its scholars. I never thought of that before I came here.

20-04-2007, 01:36 PM
wei ming, so u r in s'pore ?

Wei_Ming
20-04-2007, 03:37 PM
Yupz.

ping879813
20-04-2007, 04:26 PM

I overheard that some of Chung Ling guys had been called for interview in KL.

I don't think I have the chance and all I wish is the admission

mad
20-04-2007, 05:55 PM
yup. it's for scholarship interview, i'd been called to the interview last thurs. it's only from thurs to sat. i'm an a-level student.

mad
20-04-2007, 09:02 PM
anyone knows how many places are available for nanyang, c n yang and asean scholarships of ntu? sad to know that failing to get the scholarships... :(

20-04-2007, 09:11 PM
Are they any scholarship for SPM holders to Singapore?

koln_auhc
20-04-2007, 09:16 PM
The Great Asean Pre-U Scholarship?

Great...

Lils88
20-04-2007, 10:03 PM
I applied for Nus. Did not think carefully when applying.... Applied for law, i think...
I did not get any news from them at all. The status: still processing, should i call them?

koln_auhc
20-04-2007, 10:06 PM
Er.. they will contact you for sure. Check out the websites for the interview dates/test dates.

Lils88
20-04-2007, 10:15 PM
Really? My frens have already been called for interview(NTU) and got offer from NUS(pharmacy). Or is it, different courses different timing?

koln_auhc
20-04-2007, 10:16 PM
different course different timing. NUS and NTU also work independently.

Lils88
20-04-2007, 10:23 PM
O.... Thanks for d info.... have been pretty anxious over them....
Guess Im not too confident..... :)

koln_auhc
20-04-2007, 10:25 PM
haha sabar sial...

*yet another lousy pun from me

The user above me is from KK......

Lils88
20-04-2007, 10:35 PM
Apparently......... :P

P/s: Im learning 2 b patient, giv me time lar....

Lils88
20-04-2007, 10:38 PM
Just checked my mail: Got shortlisted for Law....
Its NEXT week!----Such short notice...

Lils88
20-04-2007, 11:34 PM
Seems like Im hogging the forum....

So, can anyone shed light on what will happen during the interviews and, what will the tests be about?

koln_auhc
20-04-2007, 11:36 PM
there will be a test that requires you to evaluate a situation. The situation has no right or wrong. It requires you to argue your point as effective as possible.

No idea on interviews. How bad can it be?

Lils88
20-04-2007, 11:44 PM
No idea oso... but my not so fluent english so wont help!

music_gal1988
21-04-2007, 12:41 AM
Lils88, u are shortlisted for law in NUS, u should be get the 1st choice for ur local U.
Thanks for the analysis on sg selection of students. If not, i will still upset wif my MUET result and regret for not sitting for the exam again.
Maybe I am too childish coz thinking that my result will give me more chance to choose my ideal U and course. About 7 or 8 years ago, there are 2 of my brother's friends(from different batch) who are top STPM scholars in malaysia, doing 5 subjects include bio and physics. They were offered NUS medicine together with the ASEAN scholarship but they reject it after getting the offer from UM medicine. But i think their MUET did not achieve band 6..........but is different era already...haha...
If we can get those competitive course in NUS, there will be no doubt that we will get for our 1st choice in malaysia. I think it did affect SG Uni selection policy....

21-04-2007, 01:38 AM
For example the ASEAN Pre-U scholarships, it was quite amazing that some top scorers who applied did not even get the scholarship whilst some with less than perfect scores got it.
I think the logic is more along the lines of "loyalty", and along the lines of filling in the "2nd class engineer". Think I said this in a long ago thread.

Dump ASEAN for JPA - can be a loyalty thing, or can be that they don't want smarty pants that would disturb this perfect cycle of virally getting more future engineers to come to s'pore, without them having the ability to actually pack up and go. My definition of 2nd-class here is more like, they will find s'pore being the most attractive place to work because they are not good enough to go elsewhere for a job of the same pay/living standard.

Wei_Ming
21-04-2007, 11:49 AM
For example the ASEAN Pre-U scholarships, it was quite amazing that some top scorers who applied did not even get the scholarship whilst some with less than perfect scores got it.
I think the logic is more along the lines of "loyalty", and along the lines of filling in the "2nd class engineer". Think I said this in a long ago thread.

Dump ASEAN for JPA - can be a loyalty thing, or can be that they don't want smarty pants that would disturb this perfect cycle of virally getting more future engineers to come to s'pore, without them having the ability to actually pack up and go. My definition of 2nd-class here is more like, they will find s'pore being the most attractive place to work because they are not good enough to go elsewhere for a job of the same pay/living standard.

Yupz, so Singapore will most likely choose those who will stay back in Singapore, no matter what their reason is. The better their results, the more likely they can go overseas, the more likely they wun stay back in Sg, the less likely they will be chosen as ASEAN scholars.

So one reason people dun get this scholarship or entry into Singapore universities is not because of their grades but rather in spite of it.

Lils88
21-04-2007, 05:13 PM
I did not apply for local Uni, I took A levels.
Btw, I saw in another forum about d dressing n all....
Do i really need 2 b formal? N... they did not say anything about certs and such... do I need 2 bring them?

boredboy
22-04-2007, 08:59 AM
Hi, congrats on being shortlisted.

I know its gonna be pretty nerve wrecking so maybe i can give you some help on whats gonna happen.
They will interview you, conversation style. Mostly dealing with some difficult issues happening in Malaysia. Some of the questions we got were religious issues such as the Lina Joy case. We got got the feeling that they were mostly looking for your control of language and your self-conviction.
The essay paper is just to test your analytical skills and again, your english.
I would advice you to dress up for the interview, but nothing overboard. Most of the people are fine with proper shirts/ties/slacks/skirt. But then again, some people did turn up with casual wear...
They don't look at your certs during the interview, only the form that you are asked to fill in when you get called for the interview.

Hope that helps :)

ccyik
22-04-2007, 02:26 PM
Really? My frens have already been called for interview(NTU) and got offer from NUS(pharmacy). Or is it, different courses different timing?

Sob sob..
Still no news for me..
Pharmacy was one of my choice of courses..
I think i am not getting it coz i din get the offer..

eslite
22-04-2007, 02:58 PM
Don't worry too much about it. People who did UEC/A-levels get their decisions earlier than the rest. The exception being the courses requiring interviews.

Lils88
22-04-2007, 09:06 PM
What Lina Joy case? Oh my god..... Will it be too late if i start reading up now? Any1 else going also? I just found out exactly how troublesome it is to arrange transport

koln_auhc
22-04-2007, 09:07 PM
What Lina Joy case?

GG.

eslite
22-04-2007, 09:12 PM
I think they mix the topics up. I was reading my senior's blog on it and he was given a scenario and asked to comment on indecent dressing (nudity).

koln_auhc
22-04-2007, 09:16 PM
hmm, are you happening to read the same blog as me?

Technically that's a senior but not really a direct senior....

Lils88
22-04-2007, 09:28 PM
Can i have the address of d blog..... Juz wanna hav an idea...
btw, koln_ahc, wats 'GG'?

eslite
22-04-2007, 09:30 PM
The one I'm talking about is a direct senior. So I guess different person then.

koln_auhc
22-04-2007, 09:35 PM
to eslite: hmm, perhaps a different blog then.haha.

to Lils88: GG means good game, popularly used in internet games such as dota when the opponent admits defeat because any attempt to resist is futile and too late.

eslite
22-04-2007, 09:40 PM
Lils88, I think you could google it up with the right key words and blog in your search.

boredboy
22-04-2007, 10:03 PM
Hi

Yeah its definitely a mix of topics. Religious issues were "hot" and sensitive at the time we had interviews, so maybe that why they picked those topics.
Maybe just have general knowledge about any recent issues.

Just so you don't get discouraged, they made everyone talk to the point where you can't find an answer for the questions. I think thats their aim. But we still got in :)
So don't worry too much about it.

Lils88
22-04-2007, 10:11 PM
Thanx for d encouragement boredboy.....
Btw, about how many are shortlisted? I noe they take in about 200/yr.....

amcian
22-04-2007, 11:17 PM
may i noe if d asean slship results is out?? thx.. :wink:

eslite
23-04-2007, 12:14 AM
may i noe if d asean slship results is out?? thx.. :wink:
Pre-U? NUS? NTU?

amcian
23-04-2007, 12:16 AM
pre -u... 8)

boredboy
23-04-2007, 09:31 AM
Actually, the intake now is bigger because theres a new campus. about 240 if i'm not mistaken.
Last year, about 20 Malaysians were short listed. They took in 5.
But one of the interviewers said they are quite 'desperate' to attract more good Malaysian students.

ping879813
23-04-2007, 11:27 AM
Hey, I received an email from NTU offering me a place to study E & E. Now it is time to crack my head in finance.

ccyik
23-04-2007, 11:33 AM
So, r u going?
U r not gonna wait for reply from NUS or local uni?
I got offer from NTU aso.. Bioeng
But i think i wont be going..

Lils88
23-04-2007, 09:07 PM
20 shortlisted last year.... Y cant i find anyone other than me here???

ping879813
24-04-2007, 10:23 AM
So, r u going?
U r not gonna wait for reply from NUS or local uni?
I got offer from NTU aso.. Bioeng
But i think i wont be going..

it is too early to tell. until i got the letter first to see what is in

soyabean
24-04-2007, 09:00 PM
20 shortlisted last year.... Y cant i find anyone other than me here???

Haha bored boy counted wrongly la.. only 11 were shortlisted for law. And out of the 11, four got in. For undergrad. I'm bored boy's friend.. also in law. I did stpm, he did a levels, we went for the interview together.

I was asked about lina joy.. haha and they asked me this;

"what if all the muslim people in your country wants to convert?"

Lils88
24-04-2007, 10:31 PM
But at least u knew about d Lina Joy thing...
Im really not updated when it comes to general knowledge and news......
My question now is: if i dont get Law, will they offer me for anything else? or just flat out reject?

soyabean
24-04-2007, 11:18 PM
But at least u knew about d Lina Joy thing...
Im really not updated when it comes to general knowledge and news......
My question now is: if i dont get Law, will they offer me for anything else? or just flat out reject?

Did u put a second choice? If you did, then they will probably offer you your second choice :wink:

anyway, just don't panic during the interview. If they ask you things that you don't know about or don't understand, ask them politely to clarify? Or tell them to elaborate.

When they asked me about Lina Joy, they gave me the issues and asked for my opinion on those issues. So i dont think they will just throw you a name and ask you to talk.. It was more conversational than formal.

Oh and they won't test your legal knowledge, so don't worry.

tezuka87
25-04-2007, 01:54 PM
Hi, I got shortlisted for Architecture in NUS...anyone got that? The interview is this Sunday (29th April)...When is the interview for law?

tezuka87
25-04-2007, 02:00 PM
Oh yeah...did anyone get dentistry? It was my first choice... :cry: I so wanted to do dentistry there.
What was your pointer? Did you do stpm or a-levels?
I did stpm...

ping879813
25-04-2007, 05:14 PM
Hi, I got shortlisted for Architecture in NUS...anyone got that? The interview is this Sunday (29th April)...When is the interview for law?

Hey y got to be shortlisted? i applied engineering so far no news about shortlisting. any indication?

boredboy
25-04-2007, 05:23 PM
thanks soyabean for making me look like i have the memory of a 90 yr old. :roll:

engineering has no interview or anything like that.. so there isnt a shortlisting... so you might have to wait a bit longer i think.

and theres only one malaysian in dentistry... so...chances would be very slim.

Lils88
25-04-2007, 06:10 PM
Thanks..... hope i wont freak out... hehe....
btw, do i have to bring my original certs or just d stuff they ask to bring?

soyabean
25-04-2007, 06:17 PM
Thanks..... hope i wont freak out... hehe....
btw, do i have to bring my original certs or just d stuff they ask to bring?

We brought along.. but they didn't ask to see them..
When exactly is your interview? :)

Lils88
25-04-2007, 06:33 PM
Oh... forgot to write down......
This friday...... Informed last thursday by email.... Any words of advice? But u guys gave quite alot d....
Thanx...

soyabean
25-04-2007, 07:25 PM
Oh... forgot to write down......
This friday...... Informed last thursday by email.... Any words of advice? But u guys gave quite alot d....
Thanx...

Haha actually i don't think you can prepare much.. cos i think they will talk to you, and ask you questions, and corner you until you cannot answer.. so just do your best. They wanna see how you think on your feet and your ability to speak.

Oh good luck =) hope to see you next academic year =)

zsbong
25-04-2007, 09:09 PM
Just received the offer letter for Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering from NTU.

Lils88
25-04-2007, 09:44 PM
Thanks again soyabean....
zsbong: congrats!

Tortoise
25-04-2007, 09:54 PM
Hey... zsbong... Same here... Chem Eng offer from NTU... did you get scholarship along with it?

koln_auhc
25-04-2007, 09:57 PM
Just received the offer letter for Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering from NTU.

PANLAI!!

kpchen
25-04-2007, 10:10 PM

PANLAI!!

ROTFL. Damn kejam la you.

koln_auhc
25-04-2007, 10:13 PM

PANLAI!!

liew...

(all coded words here)

zsbong
25-04-2007, 10:54 PM

PANLAI!!

liew...

(all coded words here)

Lol.. absolutely... unlike PBY SOYABEAN(coded)

Thanks and i haven't been informed of my scholarship status. Actually I have, they informed me in e-mail that I'll know it by 10th of May. Most probably GG edy(gone case). Interview got pwned(coded)

Edited : my soyabean here does not refer to the user with the nick soyabean... but more of an inside joke... LOL

koln_auhc
25-04-2007, 11:01 PM
liew. soyabean drink already will become full.

zsbong
25-04-2007, 11:06 PM
Eh this is not baluba cow hide convention.. later tiok moderator ban.. and HI to everybody.. i'm new... this chicken koln_auhc has been visiting this site everyday since years ago.. lan zai... need to drink soy bean juice liao la u... ok.. end of nonsensical blabbering of insider jokes...

kpchen
25-04-2007, 11:44 PM
You guys ah. Tak faham apa you guys cakap. In the words of kennysia and other vulgar people, KNNCCB! XD

Solee solee.

jeepOh
26-04-2007, 12:51 AM
Looks like I'm the only one shortlisted for Nursing interview..

Will they ask me Lina Joy too??
LoL..

Lils88
26-04-2007, 01:33 AM
Same here.....
btw, JeepOh, what did you get in your stpm/a levels?

tezuka87
26-04-2007, 04:22 PM

Only...one...in dentistry...
:cry:
Did a-level or stpm? Sigh sigh...he or she? anyone know the person? What pointer!!???!
How is everyone going to Singapore?
Which method is best? Plane, car, bus, train...
Cheapest? Fastest?
How is the bus system in Singapore?
Need to get off at clementi and take 92 bus to NUS or something I heard...if you don't have car la...
I guess the only ppl who have an interview are those shortlisted for medicine, dentistry, nursing, law, architecture...did I miss anything out?

Wei_Ming
26-04-2007, 05:56 PM

Only...one...in dentistry...
:cry:
Did a-level or stpm? Sigh sigh...he or she? anyone know the person? What pointer!!???!
How is everyone going to Singapore?
Which method is best? Plane, car, bus, train...
Cheapest? Fastest?
How is the bus system in Singapore?
Need to get off at clementi and take 92 bus to NUS or something I heard...if you don't have car la...
I guess the only ppl who have an interview are those shortlisted for medicine, dentistry, nursing, law, architecture...did I miss anything out?

Did Sg A levels. ASEAN scholar from Hwa Chong Institution. Kuching, she. 4As, 2 merits for S papers, A2 for GP. Student councilor.

Plane fastest(Duh!), bus cheapest (Duh!), train slowest.

Get off at Clementi take bus 183 or 96.

You missed out on music.

zsbong
26-04-2007, 06:13 PM
Where're you from? Tezuka?

zsbong
26-04-2007, 08:15 PM
Hey... zsbong... Same here... Chem Eng offer from NTU... did you get scholarship along with it?

eh kura-kura so are u going?? Scholarship offered?

tezuka87
26-04-2007, 10:29 PM
OK! Thanks wei_ming...I'm BLUR...
:oops:
Are you studying in Singapore?
Wa si KL lang...but i'm not hokkien...hehe
I guess I'l take a bus down (Cheapest lor)...anyone else taking bus down? When are all of you going?

Wei_Ming
26-04-2007, 10:55 PM
OK! Thanks wei_ming...I'm BLUR...
:oops:
Are you studying in Singapore?
Wa si KL lang...but i'm not hokkien...hehe
I guess I'l take a bus down (Cheapest lor)...anyone else taking bus down? When are all of you going?

Yeah, I am. I was in Hwa Chong Institution Boarding School for my A levels. So I know those three Hwa Chong gals who got into medicine and dentistry.

I'm from Pg. Not hokkien either.

tezuka87
27-04-2007, 01:27 AM
Yeah, I am. I was in Hwa Chong Institution Boarding School for my A levels. So I know those three Hwa Chong gals who got into medicine and dentistry.

Well, thanks for the info.
Lu si si mi lang?
Does being from Penang ensure you are hokkien?
Well, anyway, thanks for the help...I'm probably going to get lost in Singapore anyway...I get lost in KL (Lived there 4/5 of my life)...so I'll get lost in Singapore too, I suppose. (Lived in singapore 1/5 of my life)
So are you studying in NUS or NTU? What course?

Wei_Ming
27-04-2007, 10:32 AM

Well, thanks for the info.
Lu si si mi lang?
Does being from Penang ensure you are hokkien?
Well, anyway, thanks for the help...I'm probably going to get lost in Singapore anyway...I get lost in KL (Lived there 4/5 of my life)...so I'll get lost in Singapore too, I suppose. (Lived in singapore 1/5 of my life)
So are you studying in NUS or NTU? What course?

I'm teochew, being in Pg ensures that you know how to speak hokkien.

Sg very hard to get lost lah, its just whether you take the longer route or shorter route to reach your destination, haha! Its very inter-connected. I'm in NUS mech E.

ping879813
27-04-2007, 12:08 PM
Dear fellows who got accepted by NTU. Please be reminded that the last date of acceptance falls on early May. Mine is the 6th day

mis_phreak
27-04-2007, 12:39 PM
hi all..

A question.

Im doing Alevels and my result will only be out in August. i have received no news at ALL.

so, can i be considered as a gone case?

i applied for econs as the first choice...

ccyik
27-04-2007, 01:05 PM
Dear fellows who got accepted by NTU. Please be reminded that the last date of acceptance falls on early May. Mine is the 6th day

Same as mine.
I was offered Bioeng btw.
NO scholarships.

ccyik
27-04-2007, 01:08 PM
Hey ping879813,
u took STPM last year rite?
What results u got?
What courses did u apply for local uni?

ping879813
27-04-2007, 01:37 PM
Hey ping879813,
What results u got?

4A lah but so far got no interview for any scholarship applied

My first choice is USM Engineering

koln_auhc
27-04-2007, 01:39 PM
USM Engineering.... have you been to the campus?

Not that it is bad...it's like...... somewhere in the wilderness...

ccyik
27-04-2007, 03:12 PM
Hey ping879813,
What results u got?

4A lah but so far got no interview for any scholarship applied

My first choice is USM Engineering

I took STPM last yr aso.
Took Bio.
Is USM famous for its engineering courses?
What made u choose USM?

zsbong
28-04-2007, 10:44 AM

Ping... u're so dead. LOL!! One thing good about the place is that u get to eat very nice and cheap seafood there. Nibong Tebal~~~ LOL!!!! U"RE SO DEAD!!!! If u're a guy there.... let's put it this way.. u'll end up searching for pretty girls' pics in friendster and Set them as ur Wallpaper due to short supply of fellow female counterparts....(poor wee howe) (coded but comprehensible)(:()

ccyik
28-04-2007, 12:20 PM

Ping... u're so dead. LOL!! One thing good about the place is that u get to eat very nice and cheap seafood there. Nibong Tebal~~~ LOL!!!! U"RE SO DEAD!!!! If u're a guy there.... let's put it this way.. u'll end up searching for pretty girls' pics in friendster and Set them as ur Wallpaper due to short supply of fellow female counterparts....(poor wee howe) (coded but comprehensible)(:()

At first, i thought there shd be a lot of pretty girls around..

zsbong
28-04-2007, 01:07 PM

Girls ah... can.... Let's go Nursing and Teaching... Sure got la

ccyik
28-04-2007, 01:13 PM

Girls ah... can.... Let's go Nursing and Teaching... Sure got la

There r sure many outside the campus..
LOL..
What about those in secondary schools? LOL..

zsbong
28-04-2007, 01:23 PM
Walao eh u... It's so wrong for a guy in U to tackle girls in Sec sch.. It's like big brother bully little girl.. even though the age gap isn't tat wide. Well, It's just so wrong... And.... one thing... i tot this thread is about studying in Singapore? lol

kpchen
28-04-2007, 01:24 PM
Deng. Want pretty girls, go Ipoh la. Then sponsor her to study somewhere near your campus.

zsbong
28-04-2007, 03:11 PM
Deng. Want pretty girls, go Ipoh la. Then sponsor her to study somewhere near your campus.

Eh hai em hai sin~~~ everywhere also got leng lui la.. leng lui wants u or not is a different story

ccyik
28-04-2007, 03:52 PM

Eh hai em hai sin~~~ everywhere also got leng lui la.. leng lui wants u or not is a different story

HAHA.. :lol: TRUE..

kpchen
28-04-2007, 06:23 PM

Ipoh chut maeng leng lui ge ma...

You say everywhere got ah? Walao. Male toilet got or not? LOL. If you're charming enough, looks don't matter de (so says me who hasn't pak toh yet...)

Or if you still can't get any...

Use Clorets. Fresh Breath Comes First, Good Looks... Second.

Lils88
28-04-2007, 07:20 PM
Anyone got shortlisted for Medicine?
Or... any idea how it would be??
Please help!

eslite
28-04-2007, 08:42 PM
My friend got shortlisted for Medicine. A portfolio was needed to be sent in sometime last week I think.

Lils88, I thought you got Law? Anyway this should be useful.

http://www.geraldtan.com/school/applying_to_medical_school.html

zsbong
28-04-2007, 09:50 PM
Wah U got shortlisted ah?? Might see u on tat day lo..

tezuka87
29-04-2007, 09:59 PM
Hello all! I just went for my interview for architecture this morning... :?
Think I said all the wrong things...hehe...The interview was five minutes long.
I had a friend who got shortlisted for medicine. Going for interview this thursday, I think. Got four a's, a-level...

Lils88
30-04-2007, 07:57 AM
Ya.... I got shortlisted for law also.....
Mine is on nxt thursday.

but i dun feel like going again... It seems like they'll shortlisted anyone as long as you have the results they wa.... I overheard ppl at d law test saying they also got shortlisted for med...

Lils88
30-04-2007, 08:03 AM
thanx eslite...
btw, who IS our health minister? Mr Chua---?

eslite
30-04-2007, 09:09 PM
I think he is a Dr. so you might want to add that instead of just Mr.

01-05-2007, 02:47 AM
Dato' Dr. Chua Soi Lek.

I know very well coz when I was a young primary school boy there were elections and he was running for the Batu Pahat seat.

Lils88
01-05-2007, 11:11 AM
Thanks 4 d info..... I tot it was CHua Jui Meng o sth like tat tho.... :lol:

ZSbong: im not going.... but good luck 2 you!

bexbtterfly
01-05-2007, 11:53 AM
Thanks and i haven't been informed of my scholarship status. Actually I have, they informed me in e-mail that I'll know it by 10th of May. Most probably GG edy(gone case). Interview got pwned(coded)

Edited : my soyabean here does not refer to the user with the nick soyabean... but more of an inside joke... LOL

Actually, I think this is because they want to wait and see if any of those offered the scholarships reject the offer since the deadline of acceptance is 4th May 2007.

So you have a good chance of getting it! All the best.

And aren't there any NON-engineering students going to NTU?

zsbong
01-05-2007, 04:19 PM
Wah~~ tq tq.. not getting my hopes up but i'll try my best......

01-05-2007, 04:20 PM

Yea, it was Chua Jui Meng... up until 2004... so you're 3 years behind. Haha... dun worry, it's ok. There are so many ministers in the cabinet that sometimes I wonder what do they actually do and what have they actually done?

zsbong
01-05-2007, 04:37 PM

Yea, it was Chua Jui Meng... up until 2004... so you're 3 years behind. Haha... dun worry, it's ok. There are so many ministers in the cabinet that sometimes I wonder what do they actually do and what have they actually done?

HHAHAHAH exactly.. what exactly have they done??

zsbong
02-05-2007, 04:35 PM
Lol... Ethical questions.... blast u into oblivion~~ LOL!!!!!

Lils88
02-05-2007, 09:59 PM
So.. how did it go? SO curious lar....

zsbong
03-05-2007, 12:52 AM
Let's wait for kpchen to come back and tell us lo... Ok my side of story .... 3A 1A- ppl got shortlisted coz he got band 6 for his MUET. em.. and the interview sessions.. well i don't know.. pretty rough... blasting u away with ethical questions... scenarios... Lousy story teller... i know u're curious.. so purposely dun want let u know~~ LOL!!!!!

Lils88
03-05-2007, 11:28 PM
zsbong! din expect you to be so jual mahal!!

haha..... fine.....

zsbong
04-05-2007, 12:45 AM
eh what is jual mahal..... they ask u ethical questions lo, like man got aids, dun want tell wife, what would u.. the doctor do.. But there was this question tat i found amusing... Do u think that medicine is a service industry?(YES) Does that mean that the customer is always right?
HAHA
i laughed. This question was so brilliant

kpchen
04-05-2007, 09:09 AM
Let's wait for kpchen to come back and tell us lo... Ok my side of story .... 3A 1A- ppl got shortlisted coz he got band 6 for his MUET. em.. and the interview sessions.. well i don't know.. pretty rough... blasting u away with ethical questions... scenarios... Lousy story teller... i know u're curious.. so purposely dun want let u know~~ LOL!!!!!

FWAH! Trap me ah?! Visit my blog for updates. But I will only post up the interview questions after I have received admission news =) Anyway, my interview was B-A-D.

ping879813
04-05-2007, 01:29 PM
I have accepted the offer and sunday will be the last day to submit. May I confirm that only those with band6 were called 4 interview. So the rest of us GBu lah. My school got one call up but failed eventually. The rival school got 6 and 3 succeded. OK that's all for the time being.

no news is good news for certain things, but scholarship wise no news is really bad news.......!!!

zsbong
04-05-2007, 02:07 PM

FWAH! Trap me ah?! Visit my blog for updates. But I will only post up the interview questions after I have received admission news =) Anyway, my interview was B-A-D.

Eh how would i know what ur blog address is? LOL~~ don't worry man..today is the last day of interviews....

zsbong
04-05-2007, 02:10 PM
I have accepted the offer and sunday will be the last day to submit. May I confirm that only those with band6 were called 4 interview. So the rest of us GBu lah. My school got one call up but failed eventually. The rival school got 6 and 3 succeded. OK that's all for the time being.

no news is good news for certain things, but scholarship wise no news is really bad news.......!!!

eh ping pong~~ accepted offer from NTU edy ah? ai seh..

kpchen
04-05-2007, 02:55 PM

Eh how would i know what ur blog address is? LOL~~ don't worry man..today is the last day of interviews....

LOL. Dude, you can find it below every reply of mine. Click on the "house with www". Today last day = DOOMSDAY.

koln_auhc
04-05-2007, 02:58 PM
he is WOWing now. Probably going to spam your blog once he knows the site as we usually do.

zsbong
07-05-2007, 02:44 AM
SPAM SPAM SPAM SPAM SPAM!!! WOW ur head.. stuck at lvl 66 in Nagrand, lazy to lvl up... liew liew liew... sms PBY la. oh btw kpchen u look cute....... :oops:

kpchen
07-05-2007, 09:21 AM
SPAM SPAM SPAM SPAM SPAM!!! WOW ur head.. stuck at lvl 66 in Nagrand, lazy to lvl up... liew liew liew... sms PBY la. oh btw kpchen u look cute....... :oops:

Ouch.

ping879813
07-05-2007, 12:04 PM
hi, NUS Welcome Tea in Malaysia to be held in Penang on this coming Sunday at Hotel Dorsett.

Where is it lah? and Who is going? I would ask them y no interview if I go.

koln_auhc
07-05-2007, 12:06 PM
walau, y put it in penang.

Now I have to travel from JB up to Penang for that tea session... perhaps I can consider taking a flight from Changi Airport....

ping879813
07-05-2007, 01:03 PM
another one is in KL lah

12 May 2007 (Saturday), 9.30 to 11.30 am
Renaissance Hotel
Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang, 50450
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

zsbong
07-05-2007, 01:04 PM
eh... sien... didn't invite me.. sob sob sob

koln_auhc
07-05-2007, 01:37 PM
another one is in KL lah

12 May 2007 (Saturday), 9.30 to 11.30 am
Renaissance Hotel
Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang, 50450
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

hmm, maybe i will just walk to NUS, it's faster.

kpchen
07-05-2007, 02:52 PM

Me oso, me oso. Maybe cuz we're too kawaii !!! *does stupid waist bending pose*

koln_auhc
07-05-2007, 02:54 PM

I can't think of bong doing that. Will post it on youtube if he ever does that.

kpchen
07-05-2007, 03:35 PM
Wah, bong so serious one ah. Never mind, I pose myself.

* KAWAII!!! *

I am so bored at work. ZZZ...

koln_auhc
07-05-2007, 03:43 PM
he is not serious, just that kawaii is not in our vocabulary.

Stop kawaiing around here. you won't want to do that in singapore with that or anywhere else. It's hazardous to your health.

zsbong
07-05-2007, 03:56 PM

What's a stupid waist bending pose? And how could it look cute... I don't understand

kpchen
07-05-2007, 04:47 PM

What's a stupid waist bending pose? And how could it look cute... I don't understand

1. Dress kawaii.
2. Put your right hand up and do a horizontal "V" sign using your index and middle finger.
3. Place it next to your right eye.
4. Bend your waist slightly to the left, and your head right.
5. Wink your left eye.
6. Show your teeth.
7. Now your photo is ready to be taken.

zsbong
07-05-2007, 05:11 PM
OMFG LMAO~~~ gay

zsbong
07-05-2007, 11:35 PM
oh yea.. got the ASEAN scholarship edy.. they wait for u to accept the offer only give u.....hm... 2nd tier recipient

Lils88
08-05-2007, 02:45 PM
Welcome tea?!!?!?!?
But i din even got an answer from NUS whether o not i got in o nething.

zsbong
08-05-2007, 02:54 PM
Welcome tea?!!?!?!?
But i din even got an answer from NUS whether o not i got in o nething.

yea lo yea lo.... bo teh lim~~ bo kuay jiak...

kpchen
08-05-2007, 07:47 PM
Dress kawaii and impress the Admissions Office.

zsbong
08-05-2007, 08:19 PM
yea yea... silly waist bending pose is so gonna impress them..

Lils88
08-05-2007, 08:44 PM
zsbong:
"yea lo yea lo.... bo teh lim~~ bo kuay jiak..."

Wat d?????

mis_phreak
09-05-2007, 07:22 PM
emm..i guess for those who still do not receive any sort of reply can be considered rejected?

haih..

the status is still processing - why cant they just change it to rejected:(

koln_auhc
09-05-2007, 07:50 PM
emm..i guess for those who still do not receive any sort of reply can be considered rejected?

haih..

the status is still processing - why cant they just change it to rejected:(

Er, they are waiting for all the admitted students to take up their place. This way, those who applied to multiple Singapore Unis and have received numerous offers can only choose one. This releases the places not taken up and, hence, are re-offered again. That's why.

ping879813
24-05-2007, 10:31 AM
After the tea talk a few friends of mine had decided to join NUS, leaving me alone to struggle with such decision to go or not to go to NTU.

Lils88
03-06-2007, 06:24 PM
I just got offered by NUS for law.... guess i was in the waiting list huh...... But rilli cant decide whether or not to got....

Can anyone help?

elfingirl
03-06-2007, 07:51 PM
Me! Me! Me! I'm sg bound, haha... currently doing A-levels...
Looking for place to stay...