View Full Version : debater should marry a debater?
missParis
19-04-2007, 09:58 PM
hey gentlemen n ladies out ther... what do u think about this uh....??
can debater marry a debater...??
y uh...??
let me know ur most brilliant thoughts...!
eslite
19-04-2007, 10:03 PM
Debater as in those people who participate in debating competitions or is there a meaning of it I don't know about?
SunMi
19-04-2007, 10:07 PM
In my class, there are 2 girls who love to debate when it comes to controversy issues, especially gender-biased. The problem is, it's mere to talk or debate, rather than action. Even themselves are not showing good example to the rest. I don't like the debaters because they only do the talk but hardly do the walk. Isn't it actions speak louder than words? Therefore, we make conclusion that it's better to let a male debater to marry a female debater, so they both can fight 'happily' (in sense that a debater needs apposing statements). :wink:
19-04-2007, 10:09 PM
y uh...??
sure can..but not "compulsory"... :lol:
19-04-2007, 11:19 PM
debater cant marry debater....
the energy has to be balanced....
YinYang - one passive one active.
Both debater, whos gonna do the talkin and whos gonna do the listening?
y uh...??
ada logik ka?? if a debater were to marry a debater, the whole house will runtuh.
nigelsim
20-04-2007, 01:01 AM
1st year of marriage, husband says things wife listens... 2nd year of marriage, wife says things husband listens... 3rd year of marriage, husband n wife both say things neighbors listen!!! get it ma??? :P
20-04-2007, 01:05 AM
1st year of marriage, husband says things wife listens... 2nd year of marriage, wife says things husband listens... 3rd year of marriage, husband n wife both say things neighbors listen!!! get it ma??? :P
haha....
Why can't two debaters marry??
don't ever underestimate the power of love... :wink:
prince_J
20-04-2007, 01:09 AM
totally agree with you.... ha ha~
if both debater got married, sure both very dominant... i wonder how their child will be... maybe very reclusive... cause positive postive jadi negative~ :lol:
20-04-2007, 01:25 AM
if both debater got married, sure both very dominant... i wonder how their child will be... maybe very reclusive... cause positive postive jadi negative~ :lol:
Is it...
I thought
positive + positive = positive
positive + negative = negative
negative + positive = negative
negative + negative = positive
20-04-2007, 01:51 AM
Is it...
I thought
haha....
then next time before a debater gonna to start a new relationship..they should ask their partner then:
Debater: Are you a debater as well??
guess what he/she going to do if notice that his/her partner also a debater..... say bye bye??
:D :wink:
prince_J
20-04-2007, 02:38 AM
Is it...
I thought
my bad... sorry... suppose to type negative + negative de...
sorry.. thanks for correcting me!!! :)
missParis
20-04-2007, 08:10 AM
debater cant marry debater....
the energy has to be balanced....
YinYang - one passive one active.
thanks!! superb opinion...!! ying yang uh... hehehehe... great application
zulaikha
20-04-2007, 08:58 AM
ya it should be balanced
but for me it doesn't really matter
coz some debaters only talk and argue a lot during competition
maybe that's not their original character lorr :roll:
there're also some debaters outside that i've met ..
very 'pendiam' or quiet
carine
20-04-2007, 11:15 AM
i think debater cant marry with debater
if they were married, then they will be debate or quarel even for a small small matter.
most dabaters want to win....
Alextakashi
20-04-2007, 12:07 PM
haha....
then next time before a debater gonna to start a new relationship..they should ask their partner then
Male Debater: Are you a debater as well??
Female Debater: What if I am or I am not??
Male Debater: Because I find you hot and decide to court you?
Female Debater: But does it matter whether I am or I am not?
Male Debater: Ten good reasons why it matters...1...2...3...
Female Debater: POI!POI!(point of information) Object Object... it should be ...1.....2.....3....yada yada..
and the debate goes on....
20-04-2007, 12:19 PM
If debater marries debater, pity their neighbours, may be new dramas happen everyday......
Tourist
20-04-2007, 01:15 PM
IMO, a good debater has to be a good listener in the first place. On the other hand, a poor debater listens poorly.
nasyrah
20-04-2007, 02:38 PM
guyz..for me being debaters hav nothin to do in such husband-wife relationship..the family is built based on love, not eagerness to hav debates every day..im happy wit my spouse now although both of us were debaters..cool huh?...in fact we gain knowledge a lot from each other..even non-debaters quarrel alot n even if the parents argue like hell, their child wont end up in hell!!!! :lol:
20-04-2007, 02:47 PM
Whether or not both parties are debaters has nothing to do with the dynamics of the relationship. One side will just have to give in (probably the guy). But both probably need to control their emotions unless they want everyone in the neighborhood to hear them. It would probably be highly entertaining though :)
20-04-2007, 04:17 PM
guyz..for me being debaters hav nothin to do in such husband-wife relationship..the family is built based on love, not eagerness to hav debates every day..im happy wit my spouse now although both of us were debaters..cool huh?...in fact we gain knowledge a lot from each other..even non-debaters quarrel alot n even if the parents argue like hell, their child wont end up in hell!!!! :lol:
yea...100% Agree....
IMO, it's no harm for a debater to marry another debater...
c'mon, don't be too skeptical.. :D :wink:
missParis
20-04-2007, 07:49 PM
hello... thanks for all ur opinons... as i think... being a debater is not onli based on talkin so much or the tendency to argue like a super power....
beyond tht... a debater has always a mature thinking n know how to analyse things well... as if you wanna be a debater, u should also be a good listener n then explain things well.... these are all the good stuffs about the debater...
:roll: :roll:
so, if a debater is married to a debater... it ensures the harmony in their marraige life as both of them are mature n logicali thinking... definiteli they are knowledgable... n in fact they can defend for the rights of themselves...
let say if a debater argue with his wife who is not a debater... definiteli his wife will have to follow e;thg what her hubby says n that husband will be thinkin that he is the king of their kingdom...
so, when a debater marrys a debater, this is make them to respect for each other n ther wont be any spouse controling in their r'ship..... :roll:
20-04-2007, 09:00 PM
It is all about love. Who cares if they are debaters or not. It might get noisy if they argue but then which marriage don't have arguments. At least debaters don't go physical, do they?
if debater married debater, wats kind of children they will giv birth later??
hypertalkative ??
20-04-2007, 11:05 PM
Perhaps very queit because of constant nagging from both parents :lol:
Salvation
20-04-2007, 11:57 PM
My my..missParis,
a debater proposed to you? Why do you ask this kind of weird question?
mae_hemay
21-04-2007, 12:54 AM
hhmm...
sounds great if a dbt8r marrying a debt8r ..
haha...but as long as they cn hndle their problems..
y not
missParis
21-04-2007, 01:52 PM
my my dear salvation....
nice question btw....
it's not that anyone proposed me or what.. just wandering what are the consequences if i hd to accept any of those proposals in future.... hehehhehe... nah, just kidding....
actuali, one of ma debate team mate is in a relationship with a debater... so.... we are tryin to predict what will happen in future btwn those two hypertalkative debaters....
huhuhuhuhhuhu.....
y uh salvation...?? u wan to propose any of the debaters u know uh...? consult us first!!!hehehehehehehehe
veronin
21-04-2007, 10:22 PM
wanna tell u all tat there r 3 common types of debaters:
(1)great debaters
(2)ok on the stage but remain sarcastic and mean
(3)poor debaters who only knows how to argue on small matters
if there is 1 debater from (1) gets together with 1 from another 2 groups,it's ok
coz they think wise and response quick enough(if there r troubles)
if both the couples r from the (2) or (3),it will surely be horrible couples who bring disasters to the neighbourhood
if both of them r from (1),it might turn out to be the couple of the century!
21-04-2007, 11:59 PM
Wow, I don't know you can classified them like that!
veronin
22-04-2007, 08:28 PM
tats only the basic types
u can still divide them to smaller groups
if u have seen a lot of debaters like i do,
u can even noe which group they r in by ur 1st glance at their performance
lawteoh
22-04-2007, 10:02 PM
this topic is funny... haha.. can a debator marry a debator? can..but beware of arguments and fights in the family later... wakakaka.... But sure their child will became a really great debator.... :P
22-04-2007, 10:11 PM
offensive debator should marry a defensive debator
forEVA
22-04-2007, 10:36 PM
pity the neighbour la.. these people should live in the woods la.. :p
n the kids? run away liao lo.. stay to watch the house collapse meh? lol
22-04-2007, 10:40 PM
But why must we assume that things might get ugly during an argument? Maybe they can be quite civilized :P
WinnieH
22-04-2007, 10:42 PM
y uh...??
debater marry debater? erm, if they're from different gender, i don't see why not?
waa...pity on their kids..
it will be a tragic love story..think so..
how come they gonna love each others maa..
keep on arguing wif a small fact..
one in the gov side..one in the oppo side..
never ending love fight~
25-04-2007, 12:11 AM
never ending love fight~I wonder how we train diplomats from debaters :twisted:
25-04-2007, 08:28 AM
I think we might be making too many assumptions here:
1. Debators will argue on the tiniest things.
2. They will hold on to their side until they win.
3. They get ugly when they don't win.
But those are not necessarily true. The key quality of a good debator is not that he or she debates on the tiniest things; it's that they have keen insight on an issue and know the both sides of the argument well. In many cases, a debator can be pedantic, meaning that he or she spends a lot of effort arguing over the literal meaning of the debate title instead of the debate content itself. For example, when the debate title is "money is the root of all evil", people might spend some time just to argue about the interpretation of the word "root" in the question.
In real life, arguments are not like that. When a wife complains to the husband that he snores too loudly, the husband is not going to say "I don't agree with your definition of 'snore'". And in this situation, whether or not this will result in a fight depends totally on their mutual understanding, tolerance and the ability to solve a problem. And those qualities have nothing to do with whether someone is a debator.
okaywhy
25-04-2007, 03:10 PM
In many cases, a debator can be pedantic, meaning that he or she spends a lot of effort arguing over the literal meaning of the debate title instead of the debate content itself.
For example, when the debate title is "money is the root of all evil", people might spend some time just to argue about the interpretation of the word "root" in the question.
When a wife complains to the husband that he snores too loudly, the husband is not going to say "I don't agree with your definition of 'snore'".
:lol: well said, that's brilliant example.
Mmm... in real life, how would you respond to such nonsense, Mr. youngyew?
never ending love fight~I wonder how we train diplomats from debaters :twisted:
yea...but it's ok if they want this marry..
strugle 2 make it remain till last..
TILL DEATH DO US PART ryte..
hahaha
pity on every1 if they get marry..
1.theirselves :keep arguing where they gonna celebrate chinese new year,raya or etc..
2.their kids : need 2 own a pair of cotton bud..haha..shut their ears evertimes the debate starts..
3.neighbours : no peaceful surrounding...sound pollution although in midnight..
4.even a penjual sayur kat pasar 2 : if they arguing which vegs 2 buy..
but, debaters r smart person. im sure they f solutions wif their probs.. :P
so, they live happily ever after..
25-04-2007, 08:00 PM
In many cases, a debator can be pedantic, meaning that he or she spends a lot of effort arguing over the literal meaning of the debate title instead of the debate content itself.
For example, when the debate title is "money is the root of all evil", people might spend some time just to argue about the interpretation of the word "root" in the question.
When a wife complains to the husband that he snores too loudly, the husband is not going to say "I don't agree with your definition of 'snore'".
:lol: well said, that's brilliant example.
Mmm... in real life, how would you respond to such nonsense, Mr. youngyew?
"I don't agree with your definition of 'don't agree', honey."
25-04-2007, 10:48 PM
Perhaps, they do not debate in real life, only in competition.
26-04-2007, 12:22 AM
never ending love fight~
On the contrary, i think that such scenario will unlikely happen in the real ife...that's merely your wild assumptions... :)
agree with youngyew's point of view that there are too many postulations.
don't be too pessimistic... haha..:wink:
cj6455
26-04-2007, 12:51 AM
i would like 2 change ppl view towards debater...
y does debater always be linked to o synonym wit aggresive o offensive.....
my definitiion 4 debater is someone who argue a topic wit CIVILISATION......in a polite but confident way.......
so..... 4 me i don see any unsuitable if couples r both debaters!
26-04-2007, 01:03 AM
my definitiion 4 debater is someone who argue a topic wit CIVILISATION......in a polite but confident way.......
yea...absolutely agree!!
:D :D :lol: :wink:
zulaikha
26-04-2007, 07:21 AM
that's totally true!
coz being a debater doesn't mean he/she is talkative or always argue on stuff
but it's all about the way they think of something
rationally
so if a debater marries a debater, there'll be no harm tho..
cj6455
26-04-2007, 09:31 PM
definitely...........
debater should not be DISCRIMINATED at all....
veronin
26-04-2007, 09:50 PM
i do agree with u on tat
but nowadays how many debaters r so "debater"?
there r more n more debaters who simply argue on nothing
cj6455
26-04-2007, 10:21 PM
i do agree with u on tat
veronin.... i don act agree wit u....u cant say that more debater argue nonsense............u hav break this profession ...........in contrary i think ppl nowadays more open minded .....they dare to voice wat in their heart ....not like those day ppl
veronin
26-04-2007, 10:32 PM
i do agree with u on tat
veronin.... i don act agree wit u....u cant say that more debater argue nonsense............u hav break this profession ...........in contrary i think ppl nowadays more open minded .....they dare to voice wat in their heart ....not like those day ppl
is the debater here refering to those participating in debate competition?
if yes,i have to remind u all tat the loser r certainly more than the winner
altho not every loser r bad debaters,most of them r
bad debaters simply debate on nonsense all the time,even after their time on the stage is over
i m a debater too and have seen a lot of losers
they juz like never agree with any1
and if u have been to jpa,i think tat maybe u have seen some idiots who dominate the interview and dun even give chances to others
they just simply disagree with everything
i have to mention this again:i dun mean tat all debaters r like tat
but nowadays ppl r starting to discriminate the debaters bcoz of these losers
they r like the black sheeps
cj6455
26-04-2007, 10:55 PM
veronin.........i partially agree with u that some debater talk nonsense.......it did happen coz i m oso debater once b4............
but not d way u express ur remarks
veronin
26-04-2007, 11:06 PM
maybe i m a bit wrong
but there r reli those who spoil the name of debaters
ppl nowadays r more afraid of debaters
they tot that we r some sort of animals who will kill all group discussions/interviews
27-04-2007, 06:35 AM
Real debators don't argue on silly things, they have keen insights, analytical minds and an intellectual open-mindedness.
If you think that when debators go on stage they obstinately hold the same opinion even in the face of the counter-evidence; then you are wrong. Debators are forced to hold on to one opinion because that's the rule of every debate competition. If you have been to some good debate competitions where they have an "open discussion" after the actual debate, you will see that many debators actually does appreciate the other side's points in real life. Because they are so well-versed in the topics they are debating on, those debators actually have a clearer view on many issues and are not easily swayed by propaganda and are able to form an opinion of their own. They are also able to analyse things rationally, and this actually helps as we have seen many wife / husband who win an argument based on emotional black-mail. :P
I have quite a number of friends who are good debators (in fact a couple of them are closest to me), but I haven't seen any of them arguing nonsense. So I find it really hard to accept the viewpoint that debators argue nonsense and will bicker all day long when two of them come together in a marriage.
27-04-2007, 09:18 AM
Aish... Why is there always a negative connotation in the word "debate"? Can't couples flirt through coquettish talks?
Being a debator doesn't necessarily have to do with your personality. One can debate about anything that s/he likes when s/he's on the stage, but s/he might just be an ordinary guy/girl (gah, I hate being politically correct) off-stage. Even if one likes to argue a lot, it's not surprising seeing him/her giving in to his/her love ones. Love changes all things
veronin
27-04-2007, 05:37 PM
Aish... Why is there always a negative connotation in the word "debate"? Can't couples flirt through coquettish talks?
Being a debator doesn't necessarily have to do with your personality. One can debate about anything that s/he likes when s/he's on the stage, but s/he might just be an ordinary guy/girl (gah, I hate being politically correct) off-stage. Even if one likes to argue a lot, it's not surprising seeing him/her giving in to his/her love ones. Love changes all things
agree with u!!
love is very important in all relationships!!!
never ending love fight~
On the contrary, i think that such scenario will unlikely happen in the real ife...that's merely your wild assumptions... :)
agree with youngyew's point of view that there are too many postulations.
don't be too pessimistic... haha..:wink:
it was just a view from me..
but if they do love each others..
the debate will not happen..
im sure they noe how 2 manage it..
debater r smart person..
dont u think?
27-04-2007, 10:53 PM
yea...The power of love!!! :D :D
nasyrah
28-04-2007, 12:46 PM
yeah man..uhuh..
debaters r smart person n da power of love is damn-it cool..
support u guyz!! :lol:
28-04-2007, 12:53 PM
the word "debater" u all referring to is "those who represent wat wat wat in debate competition" or "those who r debater in nature, in everyday life". .?
28-04-2007, 01:00 PM
I misspelled the word "debater". Weird all the while I thought it's "debator". Haha sorry folks.
28-04-2007, 01:57 PM
I misspelled the word "debater". Weird all the while I thought it's "debator". Haha sorry folks.
Guilty here too!
22-08-2007, 06:05 PM
the word "debater" u all referring to is "those who represent wat wat wat in debate competition" or "those who r debater in nature, in everyday life". .?
I guess the thread starter was referring to the debater who participate in debate competitions. I might be wrong, though.
veronin
23-08-2007, 02:02 PM
y is this thread seem to be dead already?
it was once my favourite thread here in recom.....
23-08-2007, 02:05 PM
it was once my favourite thread here in recom.....
Because nobody seems to have anything to add anymore? Eerm..
veronin
23-08-2007, 02:16 PM
then itz a big waste....
this is such a nice and debate-able thread....
a very good thread 4 true debaters.....
23-08-2007, 02:20 PM
I guess the thread starter was referring to the debater who participate in debate competitions. I might be wrong, though. if tat so.. I dun think being a debater will reli change one's character.. at least many are not..
23-08-2007, 02:21 PM
it was once my favourite thread here in recom..... nt only this thread.. recom too.. let's wait until scholarship application seasons or holidays.. ppl are too busy