View Full Version : can we get both petronas n jpa scholarship?????

haohao
21-04-2007, 12:29 AM
hi!!everyone!!!i wanna ask u all a ques........
actually..can we get both petronas and jpa scholarship if we apply both of them??????
i heard someone said tat petronas n jpa have connection.....even we r qualified for both...we can only get one of them....
n not only that....i heard my frens said tat there r connection between jpa n matriculation too....they said those students who get matriculation wont get jpa scholarship for sure.....is that true?????
so..can anyone tell me da answer????
hehe....... :lol:

tyty
21-04-2007, 12:32 AM
yeah thats what my interviewer told me during my petronas interview that u will only get one offer if u did apply 4 both petronas n jpa.....somehow they will decide..i guess...

21-04-2007, 12:47 PM
tyty... r u sure ? the interviewer told u ... ? dun confuse me.... anyone here to clarify tis.. .?

21-04-2007, 01:48 PM
I don't think think they have any connection.

eggtart_90
21-04-2007, 04:49 PM
JetLee0510,

i can clarify this...cz i hv a senior getting jpa,petronas and BNM one shot!!!!it's amazing...but, he opt 4 BNM,cz according 2 him...BNM actually pays more than JPA n Petronas...he got JPA 4 medic in India,so he rejected it!!!

TKP610
21-04-2007, 04:54 PM
100% u cant get another scholarship if u are offered another one ... cauz according to the latest syarat, petronas, mara and JPA these 3 scholarship will coorperate and only one will be given to each students. according to my friend who is now studying in UTPetronas, he told me that none of them in UTP kena jpa although they all also apply for JPA and cheat that they are not receiving any scholarship now .... it means that for sure that if u get one then another one u will not get it ...

21-04-2007, 04:58 PM
yeah thats what my interviewer told me during my petronas interview that u will only get one offer if u did apply 4 both petronas n jpa.....somehow they will decide..i guess...
wow, the interviewer actually said that?

lXl
21-04-2007, 05:04 PM
That's absolutely not true. I know a few applicants (SPM 2005) who got both (non bumis)

21-04-2007, 05:04 PM
100% u cant get another scholarship if u are offered another one ... cauz according to the latest syarat, petronas, mara and JPA these 3 scholarship will coorperate and only one will be given to each students. according to my friend who is now studying in UTPetronas, he told me that none of them in UTP kena jpa although they all also apply for JPA and cheat that they are not receiving any scholarship now .... it means that for sure that if u get one then another one u will not get it ...
Seriously?! What about matrikulasi? Is there any contract that says those who get matrikulasi won't get jpa?

yahoo1234
21-04-2007, 06:22 PM
That's absolutely not true. I know a few applicants (SPM 2005) who got both (non bumis)

anyone please clarify about this ??? is it true ???

sore_four_eyes
21-04-2007, 06:31 PM
I think, if you get either one oso "Syukur Alhamdulillah".....

21-04-2007, 11:00 PM
JetLee0510,

i can clarify this...cz i hv a senior getting jpa,petronas and BNM one shot!!!!it's amazing...but, he opt 4 BNM,cz according 2 him...BNM actually pays more than JPA n Petronas...he got JPA 4 medic in India,so he rejected it!!!
thanks for clarifying.. yea yea... u reminded me.. I hv seniors gt more than 2 offers

21-04-2007, 11:03 PM
I think mayb u mistranslated tat.. ? bcos the condition shd mean - one cannot accept more than 1 offer at the same time... but they still can get more than 1 offer than same time.. . get wat I meant ?

yhc
21-04-2007, 11:09 PM
I think mayb u mistranslated tat.. ? bcos the condition shd mean - one cannot accept more than 1 offer at the same time... but they still can get more than 1 offer than same time.. . get wat I meant ?

Hope it is like what you mention...

21-04-2007, 11:31 PM
My friend also non bumi got jpa, petronas and...

haohao
22-04-2007, 12:05 AM

hey...r u sure about that?????which batch r u in actually????i heard most of my frens said tat we cant get both scholarships!!tats y i wanna know da answer....
anyway...how about da connection between matriculation n JPA??i heard ppl said that we cant get both of them too...anyone can clarify this???? :lol:

n i heard something from my frens...they said we will know our petronas scholarship result be4 da jpa...everyone knows that if we get petronas scholarship, we have to sign contract n agree to work for petronas for xxx years after we graduate in da future... i heard they said we have to decide be4 we get our jpa result...so...wat if we get jpa scholarship????as we know....jpa scholarship is much more better than petronas scholarship!!!!wat a waste for rejecting jpa scholarship n accept petronas scholarship if we get both of them!!!

wats ur opinion??????hehe

tyty
22-04-2007, 12:19 AM
wow, the interviewer actually said that?

yes,thats what my interviewer told me when i asked him abt when the results 4 the petronas scholarship will be out so he replied by saying that it will be out when jpa results comes out bcause they wanna make sure that u will only get one offer..im not sure how true is it....but thats what the petronas interviewer told me during my group discussion.....somehow i feel what he said is true.....

haohao
22-04-2007, 12:23 AM
hey....i forget to ask u all a ques.....
anyone here apply for medicine in petronas scholarship????
i am wondering...y petronas offer scholarship for medicine???it is an oil company...so..y they need doctors???
If we get da scholarship..we have to work in petronas company...right???so..wat's da use of a doctor in petronas company???treat da petronas workers????n tat's all???we have to work in da company for about 10 years!!!!
so..if we work for petronas company...tat means we cant work in general hospital....n if we cant work in general hospital...we cant become specialist..cos i heard my frens said if we want to become a specialist, we have to work in general hospital for few years..only those who r recommended by general hospital can become specialist!!!!
hey....those who apply for medicine in petronas scholarship...can giv some opinions???haha

tyty
22-04-2007, 12:28 AM
and another thing..... i think it would be fair if each applicants who got shortlisted for more than one scholarship gets one offer only....hopefully the best one....

windhoe2
22-04-2007, 05:29 AM
Admit yourself very lucky and gratified to get any of the scholarships!
I think it is possible to get both or more scholarships but at the end of day, you just have to choose one.

People spread rumour about not getting more than one scholarship as the probability to get one is so slim already so this will create an false impression that "no more than one" theory

yahoo1234
22-04-2007, 01:22 PM
Admit yourself very lucky and gratified to get any of the scholarships!
I think it is possible to get both or more scholarships but at the end of day, you just have to choose one.

People spread rumour about not getting more than one scholarship as the probability to get one is so slim already so this will create an false impression that "no more than one" theory

maybe

22-04-2007, 01:58 PM
So is there any connection between matriks and jpa? Dose this mean that if we get matriks we won't get jpa? Can someone please clarify? I think the petronas n jpa thing is true coz I heard a number of my friends talking about it too...

lXl
22-04-2007, 02:08 PM
absolute rumors that does not hold any truth at all. Last year, even though both the JPA and PETRONAS results were released on the same day, there are a few recomers who got both.... same goes with the matrix....... just search last year's threads on these.

annlui
22-04-2007, 02:11 PM
So is there any connection between matriks and jpa? Dose this mean that if we get matriks we won't get jpa? Can someone please clarify? I think the petronas n jpa thing is true coz I heard a number of my friends talking about it too...

Sigh. I think all these things change by years, so we cant trully believe what happened last year or year before last. Maybe the government has its own say of selecting the candidates. Just one will be enough, isn't it? Hope for the best...

annlui
22-04-2007, 02:14 PM
hey....i forget to ask u all a ques.....
anyone here apply for medicine in petronas scholarship????
i am wondering...y petronas offer scholarship for medicine???it is an oil company...so..y they need doctors???
If we get da scholarship..we have to work in petronas company...right???so..wat's da use of a doctor in petronas company???treat da petronas workers????n tat's all???we have to work in da company for about 10 years!!!!
so..if we work for petronas company...tat means we cant work in general hospital....n if we cant work in general hospital...we cant become specialist..cos i heard my frens said if we want to become a specialist, we have to work in general hospital for few years..only those who r recommended by general hospital can become specialist!!!!
hey....those who apply for medicine in petronas scholarship...can giv some opinions???haha
haha, i applied for medicine, but didnt get selected for the educamp. According the my friend who went to the camp for an enginerring course, the interviewer told him only five places are offered for medic, and you need to include bumi and staff's children, so the chances are super slim. ZThey offer medic probably because they want doctors for their staff, plus those who graduate under etronas scholarships will still work in general hospital, probebly nearer to those petronas office, like in kuala terengganu.

suga
22-04-2007, 05:53 PM
hey guys,

I believe that Petronas and Jpa have indeed started collaborating on scholarships (from last year if i'm not mistaken). Petronas normally checks with jpa if they're giving certain students (mostly high numbered straight A1s) scholarships. These students are then not even called for the interview. Petronas does this because they've found that over the years top scorers keep rejecting their scholarship after successfully passing the vetting process, the camp etc.. hence frustrating officials because the amount of work and time put into selecting candidates is a lot. Of course there are still students getting offers from both because well they don't check on all names, just some. Also, its possible that Petronas may feel that they could offer a certain candidate a better scholarship hence resulting in the candidate getting offers from both. this is credible info and if thought about properly, logical as well.

22-04-2007, 06:41 PM
btw...still no one can proof it..

Matriculation students can't get JPA..

It is totally a rumours

22-04-2007, 06:54 PM
rumours are to be taken with a pinch of salt thrown over your shoulder.

There are people who got offers from several organizations at one time, so it isn't impossible that this will be the case this year. Besides, rejected offers occur all the time, what's so frustrating about that? At least the organization can save some money when the students reject them...

WiNd90
22-04-2007, 08:32 PM
petronas-jpa might be sound since both r scholarships n in the end we hav to choose only one..
but matric-jpa.. it's ridiculous =.=
those whose name in matric, no their names in f6.. n vice versa..
n matric is juz like another form of f6..
does tht mean those whose name in f6 wont get jpa too.. lol

Jen_Twilightdream
23-04-2007, 10:20 PM
ermm i attended petronas educamp .. in d opening speech .. the vice president of utp did bring up the issue of students applying 4 various scholarships n he said tht there is no harm doing so n not to worry on getting rejected bcaz of doin so .. so i guess it is ok .. maybe we will be offered both .. plus UTP only aims for performance in the interview for all d shortlisted applicants were already qualified results wise.. tht's what we were told in J asessment session

24-04-2007, 05:02 PM
Matrik and JPA stuff is not true. I'm not sure about the Petronas and JPA stuff, personally I don't think that's the case. They can get other candidates to fill in their places if those who get reject the offer. Isn't it easier for them to get others rank lower in the list to fill in, if the upper ones reject? It's much easier than comparing with another agencyfor the 1000 names long list.

But for an unidentified news, we should always ask: Who is the source? And take 10% less if the news has passed from one to another. So, if your friend said : My brother's friend's cousin's husband said this. The reliability is about 59% only..... We don't know who is the source and the news can be biased a lot if it passed through many people before reaching us. Even the interviewer told you this, it might not be the real situation. He might be involved in the interview process, but may not be in the selection process (which include other factors too).

24-04-2007, 05:26 PM
I think the petronas n jpa thing is true coz I heard a number of my friends talking about it too...

I don't think so...
last year, my sister manage to secure both JPA and Petronas scholarships....

24-04-2007, 05:35 PM
erm..izzit rational for me to phone matriks..petronas..and JPA to claify these things??

:oops:

24-04-2007, 06:01 PM
erm..izzit rational for me to phone matriks..petronas..and JPA to claify these things??

Well, u could try asking them...no harm doing that rite? but i dunno whether they'll tell...

24-04-2007, 07:31 PM

:oops:instead of asking, why not just do it?

24-04-2007, 08:23 PM

Of course it's fine. They won't know who you are anyway

24-04-2007, 08:27 PM
o..icic..i will try..no promise..but..i will try..

yip
19-05-2007, 11:59 AM
I can clarify this. JPA and Matric is not realted thats for sure and Petronas and JPA are SYNCHRONISED!!!!
But there are exception, because the Petronas Misc came out slightly later, JPA cant sync with them therefore resulting in student receiving both offers. PM me if there is other questions coz i might not be running through this thread anymore.