View Full Version : Harry Potter

18-03-2004, 12:36 AM
As a kick start, why don't we start the discussion on books "Harry Potter" . This was initiated by Sylvia in another thread and i think it is good to start to get everyone talking about this book.

18-03-2004, 12:36 AM
As a kick start, why don't we start the discussion on books "Harry Potter" . This was initiated by Sylvia in another thread and i think it is good to start to get everyone talking about this book.

Sylvia
18-03-2004, 09:41 AM
Sorry to correct u but it is actually "Harry Potter" :oops:
I start reading it a few years ago and I fall in love with the books so I start buying the series one by one.Last year I received one of the best birthday presents ever - my friends bought me the latest edition of the Harry Potter book and it is not cheap. :D

Sylvia
18-03-2004, 09:41 AM
Sorry to correct u but it is actually "Harry Potter" :oops:
I start reading it a few years ago and I fall in love with the books so I start buying the series one by one.Last year I received one of the best birthday presents ever - my friends bought me the latest edition of the Harry Potter book and it is not cheap. :D

lilet
18-03-2004, 12:03 PM
Yeah, the Harry Potter series are fantastic. But the prices are quite fantastic too, especially the latest one. Better still if you actually purchase those hard-cover types! :D

I enjoyed the first four books immensely but I can't say the same for the fourth one. Somewhat not living up to my expectations, I would say. Most of my friends, avid Harry Potter and J.K.Rowling fans, admit that too. What do you (anyone who is reading this) think? I find it too long winded AND I strongly dislike the portrayal of the angry and confused Harry... Really not a good example for all those children out there. :)

But I don't have any major objections to the death of Harry's godfather, Sirius Black. People, especially one of the main characters in a good book, usually have to die eventually to add more colour to the book. This reminds me of something really funny in my Form 5 class last year. This friend of mind, who supplies FOC Harry Potter books for rent (meaning I borrowed them from her :D ), actually put up an orbituary notice at the back of the classroom to commemorate the passing of the glorious Sirius Black! That's a little too 'over' for me... :D

lilet
18-03-2004, 12:03 PM
Yeah, the Harry Potter series are fantastic. But the prices are quite fantastic too, especially the latest one. Better still if you actually purchase those hard-cover types! :D

I enjoyed the first four books immensely but I can't say the same for the fourth one. Somewhat not living up to my expectations, I would say. Most of my friends, avid Harry Potter and J.K.Rowling fans, admit that too. What do you (anyone who is reading this) think? I find it too long winded AND I strongly dislike the portrayal of the angry and confused Harry... Really not a good example for all those children out there. :)

But I don't have any major objections to the death of Harry's godfather, Sirius Black. People, especially one of the main characters in a good book, usually have to die eventually to add more colour to the book. This reminds me of something really funny in my Form 5 class last year. This friend of mind, who supplies FOC Harry Potter books for rent (meaning I borrowed them from her :D ), actually put up an orbituary notice at the back of the classroom to commemorate the passing of the glorious Sirius Black! That's a little too 'over' for me... :D

wesleyanne
18-03-2004, 02:34 PM
hmmm..I've watched the movies but have yet to read the books. I guess I'll add the Harry Potter series to my reading list ;) Question: (im totally lost when it comes to Harry Potter) but is it possible to just pick any one of the books and start reading them, or should I be reading them from book one? I have a feeling this is gonna be very addictive :) hehe

wesleyanne
18-03-2004, 02:34 PM
hmmm..I've watched the movies but have yet to read the books. I guess I'll add the Harry Potter series to my reading list ;) Question: (im totally lost when it comes to Harry Potter) but is it possible to just pick any one of the books and start reading them, or should I be reading them from book one? I have a feeling this is gonna be very addictive :) hehe

Sylvia
18-03-2004, 02:50 PM
Well I advise you to start from the first book but maybe it'll be just ok if u start from the thrid book coz u had seen the movie .However,there were subtle differences between the book and the movie,u can only find some of the details in the book.For example ,in the movie(Chamber of secrets ),one whole chapter was cut from the movie.
I myself start from the fouth book and I don't think that's a good idea.I bought that book accidentally that time b4 the school holiday ,I was looking for sth thick to read so I choose the 4th book coz it's the thickest at that time,then I read the first ,second & third.
U 'll get kinda confused if u start from the middle coz it's a little bit complicated (magic stuff). :wink: I am sure u'll get addicted coz I read the book over and over (3-4 times each book)again and I don't get bored doing it

Sylvia
18-03-2004, 02:50 PM
Well I advise you to start from the first book but maybe it'll be just ok if u start from the thrid book coz u had seen the movie .However,there were subtle differences between the book and the movie,u can only find some of the details in the book.For example ,in the movie(Chamber of secrets ),one whole chapter was cut from the movie.
I myself start from the fouth book and I don't think that's a good idea.I bought that book accidentally that time b4 the school holiday ,I was looking for sth thick to read so I choose the 4th book coz it's the thickest at that time,then I read the first ,second & third.
U 'll get kinda confused if u start from the middle coz it's a little bit complicated (magic stuff). :wink: I am sure u'll get addicted coz I read the book over and over (3-4 times each book)again and I don't get bored doing it

lilet
18-03-2004, 02:52 PM
Hmm.. I feel that it would be definitely recommended to start from book one but if you can't get your hands on book one first, starting from any other books is also okay, as long as it is not the last one, hopefully! :D

There are always flashbacks here and there throughtout the story but it may not be that straightforward and detailed... So, if you don't want to go imagining what actually happened before this to make it come to this... then, go get the first book and start from there! :) Shouldn't be that difficult to get, right, with Harry Potter's popularity all around the world.. And yup, the Harry Potter series ARE very addictive.. Am surprised that you haven't read it yet..

lilet
18-03-2004, 02:52 PM
Hmm.. I feel that it would be definitely recommended to start from book one but if you can't get your hands on book one first, starting from any other books is also okay, as long as it is not the last one, hopefully! :D

There are always flashbacks here and there throughtout the story but it may not be that straightforward and detailed... So, if you don't want to go imagining what actually happened before this to make it come to this... then, go get the first book and start from there! :) Shouldn't be that difficult to get, right, with Harry Potter's popularity all around the world.. And yup, the Harry Potter series ARE very addictive.. Am surprised that you haven't read it yet..

wesleyanne
19-03-2004, 12:18 AM
cool~ thanx :) i guess i'll just start reading em from book one. never really wanted to read them before cos i wasnt much of a fantasy/adventure/magic/fiction fan ;) i TRIED reading lotr but seriously, after the first chapter i could not bring myself to go on no longer :) hahhahaha :) i guess harry potter would be different :)

wesleyanne
19-03-2004, 12:18 AM
cool~ thanx :) i guess i'll just start reading em from book one. never really wanted to read them before cos i wasnt much of a fantasy/adventure/magic/fiction fan ;) i TRIED reading lotr but seriously, after the first chapter i could not bring myself to go on no longer :) hahhahaha :) i guess harry potter would be different :)

oshmelvin
19-03-2004, 10:48 AM
Harry potter is a nice book to read at desperate times when you really can't get a good book. The storyline in Harry Potter is actually quite simple and if you like simple plots with simple characters, Harry Potter is your choice. If you like a book with multiple characters (that do not focus on one persona such as Harry Potter), you should go for David Edding's books. The plot in The Ehlana is more intricate and much much more interesting with the kind of magic that is not so fictional such as Harry Potter's. The magic used in David Edding's books are more towards reality-that is if you believe magic does exist in reality and that you do not need a wand to conjure some spells. No offence to Harry Potter fans but there are better books although Harry Potter is nice to read.

oshmelvin
19-03-2004, 10:48 AM
Harry potter is a nice book to read at desperate times when you really can't get a good book. The storyline in Harry Potter is actually quite simple and if you like simple plots with simple characters, Harry Potter is your choice. If you like a book with multiple characters (that do not focus on one persona such as Harry Potter), you should go for David Edding's books. The plot in The Ehlana is more intricate and much much more interesting with the kind of magic that is not so fictional such as Harry Potter's. The magic used in David Edding's books are more towards reality-that is if you believe magic does exist in reality and that you do not need a wand to conjure some spells. No offence to Harry Potter fans but there are better books although Harry Potter is nice to read.

20-08-2004, 01:34 PM
Phew! Finally finish reading HP5 :wink: It was awesome, probably also because my ability to conjure up real life movies in my mind while reading gives that extra omph - way a go Dumbledore!!

Yah - start from book 1, take your time, no hurry, and always try to think of what's going to happen next as you move on. There's a message behind each and every story line. I wouldn't say the story is very tight, but much of it has to be written to ensure that we have a clear picture of the magical kingdom instead of assuming our muggle way of life.

But after all like what the book repeatedly remind us - Wizards are human. They feel frustrated, they feel angry, they feel love, they feel happy etc. If you take away the magical powers from Harry and gang, they are very much like ourselves, always wanting to get out of the strict controls of the teachers, always rebelling, but never knowing the consequences etc.

So Rowling revealed that day that Harry isn't going to die by book 7, but she didn't say anything about whether Harry is going to grow up to an adult. She told fans to not think about "Why didn't Voldemort die", but "Why Harry lived?"

Wat do you guys think?

20-08-2004, 11:57 PM
read up from somewhere that rowling decided to write the eighth book of HP

21-08-2004, 06:36 AM
sounds fair - why not continue to reap profits while you still can right :wink: I bet if she starts writing something else Other than HP her fans might leave her...

Did she say what it's gonna be about?

wpyeoh
21-08-2004, 10:20 AM
I read the books from 1 to 4 one after another, then waited till the 5th one was out to read it. By that time I had forgotten a lot of details. (borrowed all the books) Then my cousin from Canada came to visit us with a gift of the 5 HP books...so I reread them all from the first one. ^_^

I think the 5th one was rather "empty" compared to the first four. I got the feeling that Rowling was rushed to finish it, and that she didn't have time to come up with a better plot. She shouldn't give herself a time limit to come up with the next book; the end result would be much better if she wrote when she got an inspiration. (of course, maybe for her this plot was in her plan for the next few books, and that it's just my feeling) She also wrote too long; I think the book would have been more interesting if it were trimmed a bit. Still, I liked the overall story and I'm waiting for the next book...*sigh*...wonder how long it will be...

About continuing to write after the 7th book, she should stop writing when the story's done, and not try to reap more profits by writing nonsense, unless, of course, if she has some good ideas. Just look at those movie sequels...or some tv series that go on even when they've run out of ideas. They just go flop, turning up an interesting episode once in a while.

21-08-2004, 11:37 PM
sounds fair - why not continue to reap profits while you still can right I bet if she starts writing something else Other than HP her fans might leave her...

Did she say what it's gonna be about?

it is not written yet, cause she is pregnant now right??? probably after the baby born then only she will start her magic pen

nicodemus
25-02-2005, 12:19 AM
Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince.....!!!

Coming out this June... :D

Can't wait for it...!!

So...who do you think will be the half blood prince???

Neville or Potter?? :o

wpyeoh
25-02-2005, 10:23 PM
I heard that the half-blood prince is neither Harry nor Voldemort.

nicodemus
26-02-2005, 11:26 PM
Really??

Not Harry nor Voldemort?? :wink:

Would it be Neville?

Curious to know.....can't they just release it earlier.

Ixora
20-03-2005, 03:53 PM
hi hi, another BIG fans of Harry Potter here! get influenced by sno... (she reccommended me this series and borrowed me the first book!)

can't wait for the 6th book to come out! hopefully when the book is out, i'll not starting to study again... because i'll be addicted to it, and my mom will yell: "read your school book lar, not Harry Potter again!" :oops:

well, hope to hear from Harry Potter's fans again! :D

sno
20-03-2005, 06:36 PM
hi hi, another BIG fans of Harry Potter here! get influenced by sno... (she reccommended me this series and borrowed me the first book!)

my mom will yell: "read your school book lar, not Harry Potter again!" :oops:

8O aiyor......sno=bad influence 8)

Ixora
21-03-2005, 02:18 PM
8O aiyor......sno=bad influence 8)

don't misunderstand... i didn't mean that... (sorry lor if you angry... ) :oops:

water
19-04-2005, 02:52 PM
i saw the cover that day in mph and the price too.....
wow it's too expensive for the book
although it may be very thick but not everyone can buy it with that price....... :wink:
anyway hope that the price will dropped later like what happens to the fifth yeah...... :D

Aki
06-05-2005, 07:48 PM
I actually can't see the diffrence between a hard cover book and a paperback one.Just look at the fifith book,the hardcover is RM89.90 but the paperback is RM30 something,the only diffrence is the cover.And the price of the sixth book is "fantastic",I wonder how can reading habits be nurtured if the books could only be bought by rich people.
i saw the cover that day in mph and the price too.....
wow it's too expensive for the book
although it may be very thick but not everyone can buy it with that price....... :wink:
anyway hope that the price will dropped later like what happens to the fifth yeah...... :D

Aki
06-05-2005, 08:04 PM
The 3rd book is my favourite because it can stand as a very good story independantly.Unlike the 4th and 5th,it has a clear and main theme which we can feel the suspense and see where the story is going. :D However,i m not saying that the 4th and 5th is not good,but the style of the whole story is a bit differ from the first three book.The first three are like thrillers and adventure story,but the 4th and 5th are kind of like ermmm...teen novels.

06-05-2005, 11:19 PM
By the time you read the 5th book strange characters will come out (like Luna Lovegood) that don't exactly contribute much to the final outcome in that book. JK Rowling is preparing characters for the books to come I guess...

lolilo
07-05-2005, 07:46 AM
I regretted buying the 5th book. ntah apa-apa one.Then after 6 months, the book price plummeted to RM 30. darn.

I will only spend 100 bucks on JK Rowling if she gets some good reviews on the 6th one. Cos Harry is getting really mushy and I don't like the mushy Harry.

Plus i am too old for Harry Potter.

flibbertigibbet
07-05-2005, 10:54 PM
I like the 4th book most. It has the best plot with the Triwizard Tournament and all. I was hoping for something unique in the 5th book but J. K. Rowling let me down.

Still, I am looking forward to the release of the 6th book. And not to forget the Harry Potter 4 (my favourite) movie in November.

petertok
08-05-2005, 10:23 AM
The 6th book is coming out on July 16th !!

Can't wait to read it... I'll buy only when the price drops this time...

Meanwhile , I managed to find something abt this 6th book..

The following is a list of facts that we know about book six, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.

From JKRowling.com:
- The link between Chamber of Secrets and Half-Blood Prince relates to a discovery Harry made in 'Chamber' that foreshadows something that he finds out in 'Prince'.
- Tom Riddle is not the Half Blood Prince (he is Voldemort).
- Arthur Weasley is not the Minister of Magic.
- Crucial information in The Half-Blood Prince was originally planned to be placed in Chamber of Secrets, the second book.
- The HBP (half-blood prince) is not Harry or Voldemort.
- There will not be two chapters in book six titled "Lupin's Papers" and "The Lovegoods in Court."
- An excerpt from HBP: "He looked rather like an old lion. There were streaks of grey in his mane of tawny hair and his bushy eyebrows; he had keen yellowish eyes behind a pair of wire-rimmed spectacles and a certain rangy, loping grace even though he walked with a slight limp."
- More characters will die in book six.
- Three chapter titles from the Half-Blood Prince: "Spinners End" (Chap. 2), "Draco's Detour" (Chap. 6), and "Felix Felicis" (Chap. 14)
- Neville and Luna will not form a relationship with each other.
- Harry's shortened stay at the Dursley's (see below) will not result from another court case - rather, he will be leaving for "a much pleasanter reason."

From August 2004 Edinburgh Book Festival:
- Grawp will become more controllable in the sixth book.
- There will be a new character called McClaggan.
- We will see a bit more of Rita Skeeter.
- Petunia Dursley is not a Squib, as she is a muggle, but there is more to Petunia than what meets the eye - we will find out what that is.
- Life gets "quite tough" for most of the characters, especially Harry.
- We will see more of Blaise Zabini, who was recently confirmed as male.
- Dudley Dursley is not the Half Blood Prince.
- Professor Lockhart will not appear in future books.

From March 2004 World Book Day Chat:
- We'll find out more about Peter Pettigrew and what happened to him.
- Harry will tell his nearest and dearest about the propechy when he's ready.
- The wizarding world is really at war again, and Harry has to master his own feelings to make himself useful.
- Muggles are noticing more and more odd happenings now that Voldemort has returned.
- We will find out more about the circumstances of Voldemort's birth.
- Tonks and Moaning Myrtle will be back.
- Harry won't stay with the Dursleys all summer; in fact, he will have his shortest stay yet.
- We'll see more of Narcissa Malfoy.
- Hermione and Draco will not date (duh...)
- We'll find out more about the relationship between Snape and Sirius in their Hogwarts days.
- Harry won't get back together with Cho Chang.
- Winky will never be in the same state she was prior to the events of Goblet of Fire.
- We will find out more about Grawp, the giant (Hagrid's half-brother).
- There will be a new Minister of Magic.

Quoted from http://www.veritaserum.com/books/book6/verified.shtml

nxwen
08-05-2005, 02:09 PM
I'm still reading the 5th book. Dunno why it took me so long to just reach pg 200. I just find Harry not so appealing in the 5th book.

Btw, I had (or rather, my brother) pre-ordered the 6th book. It surely cost a bomb but I still prefer the hard-back. Don't know if I have the time to read it though, sigh....uni starting soon.

08-05-2005, 06:23 PM
Dunno how it's like in Malaysia, but the last time when I prebooked Harry Potter 5 in Singapore (Popular bookstore), I got 20% discount. I bought a hardcover one of course (adult version)...

lolilo
08-05-2005, 08:55 PM
Dunno how it's like in Malaysia, but the last time when I prebooked Harry Potter 5 in Singapore (Popular bookstore), I got 20% discount. I bought a hardcover one of course (adult version)...

but if you dengan sabarnya wait after 6 months to get your hands on that book, you get a 60% rebate. HaRd coVer sommore.

I went to Popular yesterday and yeah, members get 10% discount, not very enticing tho.

petertok
08-05-2005, 10:23 PM

but if you dengan sabarnya wait after 6 months to get your hands on that book, you get a 60% rebate. HaRd coVer sommore.

I went to Popular yesterday and yeah, members get 10% discount, not very enticing tho.

Members always get 10% discount dont they ? Nth spectacular.

Why do you guys have to pre-book it btw ? Higher discounts?

Haizz , i wonder when will sitiawan have a popular/mph.

08-05-2005, 11:21 PM

Members always get 10% discount dont they ? Nth spectacular.

Why do you guys have to pre-book it btw ? Higher discounts?

Haizz , i wonder when will sitiawan have a popular/mph.

I think they pre-book it because they are kiasu. Haha... I pre-booked for fun...

And ya, waiting six months for the book is fine with me... But honestly by that time I would probably have finished reading it (pinjam from friends!!!)...

Aki
09-05-2005, 08:19 AM
yeah,after 6 months,we will know the spoilers already cos everyone will be talking about it. Thats why :( everyone wants to preoreder it.(I really dun wan 2 know who is the half blood prince from the other person,but only from book)

serised
11-05-2005, 12:35 PM
I'm another one from millions of Harry Potter fans out there :wink: Most probably I'll pre-order Book 6 soon as I also want to find out what will happen in the book myself . Finding out who is the half blood prince from the other person will definitely spoil the fun :P . I'm currently reading book 1 to 5 again to prepare myself for book 6 .
From what I've heard , Book 5 is thicker than Book 6 but the price of Book 6 (RM 99.90) is more than the price of Book 5 (RM 89.90) ! Actually we are making JK Rowling rich! But that's because she's capable of doing so .
I like the Weasley family a lot especially Fred and George (remember their grand departure from Hogwarths in book 5?)
Can't wait for 16 July 2005!

nxwen
11-05-2005, 01:26 PM
Actually I don't mind waiting for 6 months. It's my brother who is impatient. Book 6 is RM70 lah, not RM99.90. Btw, I don't mind about spoilers also, haha don't kknow why. I like the feeling of expecting something that I already know. I know who died in book 5 even before I start reading (I opened the book in the middle and it's that exact page.)

Sigh...till now, I haven't budge from the page I stopped in book 5. No mood to pick up the book. Somebody help me!!!!!

Aki
11-05-2005, 07:35 PM
Where did u find out that the book is RM70? :D

Ixora
11-05-2005, 08:17 PM
To all Ron-and-Hermione fans,

What do you think of Ron and Hermione coming on together? :?:

lolilo
11-05-2005, 08:37 PM
To all Ron-and-Hermione fans,

What do you think of Ron and Hermione coming on together? :?:

ewww.....god forbids.

Anduril
11-05-2005, 10:17 PM
I think Dumbledore will die in the end. Just my guess though, but I certainly like that character most.

PS: Harry Potter in Book 5th is unbearable!

11-05-2005, 10:32 PM
PS: Harry Potter in Book 5th is unbearable!

Agreed. I think JKRowling's depiction of teenage angst is over the board... He gets angry at about anything!!!

petertok
11-05-2005, 11:51 PM
Hmmm... Who's the one for Hermione ?

Harry or Ron or Krum or someone else ?

I vote for Harry!! :)

sno
11-05-2005, 11:59 PM

krum!

hermione deserves someone who liked her first

harry liked cho first, ron liked fleur first
so, it's all bout krum... he's so sweet to her

lolilo
12-05-2005, 06:39 AM

krum!

hermione deserves someone who liked her first

harry liked cho first, ron liked fleur first
so, it's all bout krum... he's so sweet to her

i second. but in the movie,Krum looks.....ah, nevermind

Ask JK rowling to come up with someone new. She always do that.

Ron --- definitely out of the question.

Aki
12-05-2005, 07:30 AM
Why not RON????He is cute(dun count the real person in the movie)
and he is best friend of harry and hemione .I support Ron. :wink:(harry is really getting on my nerves in book 5 :x and Cho is so sweet b4 this,and in book 5......... :cry: )

lolilo
12-05-2005, 09:11 AM
Why not RON????He is cute(dun count the real person in the movie)
and he is best friend of harry and hemione .I support Ron. :wink:(harry is really getting on my nerves in book 5 :x and Cho is so sweet b4 this,and in book 5......... :cry: )

i don't know, really. i just feel a tad nauseating whenever i think about that. ok, very nauseating.

Que Siera Siera, whatever will be will be.

nxwen
12-05-2005, 11:59 AM
Where did u find out that the book is RM70? :D

Pre-order it lor....Argh!!! I can't find the receipt!! I wasn't in the shop when pre-ordering, so the price is from word of mouth. :D

Aki
12-05-2005, 12:33 PM
U really preorder with rm70?I've just check in MPH website and it state that it's rm99.90 with discount rm10.U r in malaysia or u preorder it from amazon?What is the name of the bookshop?

nxwen
12-05-2005, 01:02 PM
Yup, RM70 plus a RM10 voucher. Just checked the receipt (finally found it!). I pre-ordered it from MPH. Weird lah, they go and raise the price?

Anduril
13-05-2005, 01:44 PM
What is the price to pre-order Harry Potter 6th in Popular Bookshop? But it must be for the hard-cover one. I prefer paperback. That is why I have to endure one whole year before getting my Book 5th.

nxwen
13-05-2005, 02:19 PM
Really really sorry for the mistake above. Gomen nasai.... :oops: :oops:

Told you I was not in the shop when the purchase was made....sigh...plus I got wrong info. :oops: The RM70 is for deposit only. So, it's really RM99.90 for the book? Whoa, it's quite steep!! I don't know that it cost that much. Haiz.......

Aki
16-05-2005, 05:02 PM
it is rm99.90 in popular with rm30 deposit.Popular member can get 10% discount

hApEenDiNg
06-06-2005, 01:18 PM
i love the third book the most!!!
harry potter is too good to be true. i'll be the life long member of it's fan club if there's one...

there's this joke :

since harry potter the 5th was sold at 8.5 million copies worlwide,
therefore the 6th book should be named
harry potter and the end of trees

19-07-2005, 01:00 PM
haha harry potter and the and of trees..
anyone would like to share thought about the latest release of harry potter?
people who haven't finished the book should not read though..
or there will be no suspence anymore

or maybe we can talk about how the festival/party
was held at your place at midnight during the release..

23-07-2005, 12:49 PM
here in OZ, the RRp is 45AUD, but most shops are selling it for only 35AUD, which when converted, is about the same price in Msia. i thought of buying in Msia when i went back, but later decided not to. Glad to know the price is about the same. Though i'd like to read it, well..i guess it'll hv to pass for the time being..elaun belum masuk...waaa.... :cry: :cry:

23-07-2005, 01:51 PM
Hmm..why is this almost the same as the 'spoiler' forum? Anyways, as I said, I spent USD17 only for HP6. After conversion, it is about RM65 which is cheaper than most places--malaysia or australia.

23-07-2005, 08:50 PM
Hmm..why is this almost the same as the 'spoiler' forum? Anyways, as I said, I spent USD17 only for HP6. After conversion, it is about RM65 which is cheaper than most places--malaysia or australia.

much cheaper as i believe u got the hardcover version rite...

23-07-2005, 08:54 PM
I don't get what you mean DecentMerson. The only edition available now is the hardcover edition and the hardcover edition is more expensive than the paperback...so...??

24-07-2005, 03:31 AM
I don't get what you mean DecentMerson. The only edition available now is the hardcover edition and the hardcover edition is more expensive than the paperback...so...??

i think Malaysia got a different edition(cheaper hardcover kind...it used to be that way... for HP4 and 5)

hmm... not really sure... but i do remember the hardcover in Malaysia is different from the hardcover here in the States...(that's for the book 5...)

24-07-2005, 04:54 AM
maybe the next, cheaper version will come out soon

26-07-2005, 11:08 PM
they always hv diff covers for diff parts of the world, i think. smthg to make it diff fr each other i think. :P

MathewNg1988
10-09-2005, 02:12 PM
hahahaha...... every one here go buy? i got mine free!!! through my friend but u need the acrobat reader to read.....
Yeah.. i finally manage to finish liao :)
hey gal flower have u got ur hp6? if not leave ur email, i send to u... :D

10-09-2005, 11:38 PM
i aways like reading from books where i can flip the pages and read it it many different style (ie sitting, baring, meniarap, berdiri etc)
plus it's nice to have a collection

11-09-2005, 12:07 AM
yep, cant agree more! :wink: :wink:

Ixora
08-10-2005, 03:45 PM
found paperback Harry Potter and The Half-Blood Prince! sold only rm 50++

08-10-2005, 07:53 PM
wahh...out oredi paperback?
where? 8O 8O

i bought mine at Big W for 25.99AUD

Ixora
20-10-2005, 01:17 PM
found it in Megamall/Pacific, Seberang Perai...

28-01-2006, 05:05 PM
Moderator Note: Redundant thread (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3601&highlight=) about J. K. Rowling.

Her books are fantastic!
I've read all her books...
her must be a terrific reader before her become a terrific writer!!!

strikingstar
04-07-2006, 11:54 PM
J K Rowling has recently announced that she's going to kill off two major characters in the last book.

Stop! Stop the carnage! Unless of course she means Voldemort (gasp and shudder I just said the name) and Snape!

If she kills our protagonist, I can't say I'm gonna be too thrilled.

pinkpau
07-07-2006, 01:49 PM
i know!!! :( i just heard!!!

i am so anticipating book 7.

Salvation
13-07-2006, 01:42 AM
zzz...won't it be better if she kills everyone?
more exciting :wink:
any guesses which 2 will be killed? I won't bet on Ron and Hermoine...they represent friendship too much: My bet is on Harry and Snake.

meselsohnstahl
14-07-2006, 10:54 AM
i read that she said something like, she wont be the first one to kill off her main character. agatha christie did that by killing that poirot guy.. she said the reason for a writer to do so is to ensure that the publishers of the book wont be able to continue the story(with the same main characters) when the writer is dead.

14-07-2006, 02:16 PM
That's a pretty strong argument although for this kind of book which is read by children and adults, i don't really thing that the main character(harry) will be killed.

Since this is the last book, Voldermort will most likely die... Snape might die as well but for a good cause (I still believe that Snape is a good character)... Not Hermione but Ron is possible although not likely... Hagrid is my prediction... Maybe one of Ron's brother as well...

Hmm who else... There must be a fierce battle since the latest one had been pretty tough.

strikingstar
15-07-2006, 12:20 AM
Snape might die as well but for a good cause (I still believe that Snape is a good character)...

Spoiler alert: Although who the heck needs it. It wouldn't be a spoiler for anyone who has already read it. And those who haven't probably wouldn't be on this thread anyway.

Well, there is speculation that Snape was forced to kill Dumbledore. No-win situation, he had already made the vow yada yada.

There's also people saying Dumbledore isn't gone yet. It's all a hoax or he's a phoenix animagus and will revive again yada yada.

End of whatever spoiler that was.

Methinks Voldy has to go. Rowling won't kill the teens. That'll be teenagerocide. I'll say the second one is a toss between Lupin and Hagrid, leaning more towards Lupin. Doing him in will eliminate the entire James, Sirius, Lupin gang (Wormtail doesn't count cos he's a traitor). Wormtail will do him in with the silver hand bestowed to him by Voldy. Silver for werewolves.

15-07-2006, 02:34 AM
That makes a lot of sense!
Killing all three means the end of their generation.
Wormtail might have to go as well since Voldemort does not really need him any longer. So there goes all four of them who used to be close friends.

strikingstar
14-01-2007, 12:31 AM
HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS

jaya13a1sree
27-03-2007, 03:42 PM
Well the saga Harry Potter is ending(finally!).The book is coming out on 21 of july while movie 5 is coming out on the 13 of july.Anyway ii stiil think Harry will go back to Hogwarts.And who do you all think is R.A.B?. :P 8) :lol:

27-03-2007, 04:15 PM
Hogwards is closed so I don't think Harry is going back. If I'm not mistaken JK Rowling confirmed it as well in one of the interviews.

Sox4Dobby
17-04-2007, 12:37 AM
So where are you getting your copies come July?
Cuz all these years I've been getting mine from Popular because of the 20% discount. And also because it's the only major book retailer in KK.

Lately I've been comparing the stores and I've figured that MPH prolly has the best deal. I know this sounds very ulu, but I'm very excited about the limited edition mug thing!

If I'm not mistaken JK Rowling confirmed it as well in one of the interviews.

Really?
*rushes to mugglenet to find source*

zulaikha
24-04-2007, 08:59 AM
J.K Rowling mentioned in the interview that for 'Deathly Hallows' there'll be no Quidditch..*sigh*

i love Quidditch.. :oops:

i love the clever humour she used in all her books! :D

Daniel_Chin
09-06-2007, 12:48 AM
Lately I've been comparing the stores and I've figured that MPH prolly has the best deal. I know this sounds very ulu, but I'm very excited about the limited edition mug thing!

I thought Popular had the best deal...while MPH give out mugs, popular give out limited edition HP T-shirt, and the additional 20% discount...not good enough? :)

littlepiglet
09-06-2007, 07:34 PM
do anyone know the exact date of book 7th of harry potter published? is 21st July or not?

10-06-2007, 10:36 AM
do anyone know the exact date of book 7th of harry potter published? is 21st July or not?
Yup.

littlepiglet
10-06-2007, 10:35 PM
if i pre-order the 7th book of harry potter, can i get it earlier (before 21st july)? i can't wait to read this book....

15-06-2007, 10:46 PM
littlepiglet, I don't think you can get it before 21st july

15-06-2007, 11:54 PM
Pre-booking just means that you are guaranteed to get a book on that day. Some pre-booking gives you some gifts as well.

21-06-2007, 09:21 AM
And who do you all think is R.A.B?. :P 8) :lol:

Regulus Black

Who thinks that HP is the last horcrux? Or at least his scar is?

Spoiler alert: Although who the heck needs it. It wouldn't be a spoiler for anyone who has already read it. And those who haven't probably wouldn't be on this thread anyway.

Well, there is speculation that Snape was forced to kill Dumbledore. No-win situation, he had already made the vow yada yada.

There's also people saying Dumbledore isn't gone yet. It's all a hoax or he's a phoenix animagus and will revive again yada yada.

I agree with the first speculation, but I think Dumby is really dead because it would be more thrilling if HP is left alone to fight Morty. Also, JK made it clear that Dumby's not pulling a Gandalf. And it doesn't make sense if someone drinks the polyjuice potion and faked Dumby because if you know Dumby, he would not sacrifice another person's soul for his own life or safety. But I haven't really thought of him having the reincarnation ability of the phoenix despite being a phoenix animagus, so there might be a slight chance that we will get to see Dumby again in the Deadly Hallows besides seeing at him in his photo frame.

21-06-2007, 10:26 PM
And who do you all think is R.A.B?. :P 8) :lol:

Regulus Black

Who thinks that HP is the last horcrux? Or at least his scar is?

I agree with the first speculation, but I think Dumby is really dead because it would be more thrilling if HP is left alone to fight Morty. Also, JK made it clear that Dumby's not pulling a Gandalf. And it doesn't make sense if someone drinks the polyjuice potion and faked Dumby because if you know Dumby, he would not sacrifice another person's soul for his own life or safety. But I haven't really thought of him having the reincarnation ability of the phoenix despite being a phoenix animagus, so there might be a slight chance that we will get to see Dumby again in the Deadly Hallows besides seeing at him in his photo frame.

I don't think HP is the last horcrux because voldemort need to intentionally put it there but at that time, he only wanted to kill hp.

kwenying900103
26-04-2008, 12:27 PM
can i knw where is the cheapest book shop or shopping mall to but the 7th book of harry potter?

popular?
carefour?
mph?

strikingstar
26-04-2008, 01:37 PM
Wow, at this point in time, you can prolly read the book for free online.

shakira
26-04-2008, 03:05 PM
can i knw where is the cheapest book shop or shopping mall to but the 7th book of harry potter?

popular?
carefour?
mph?

popular got 40% discount now for members...

Chester_Cobra
06-06-2008, 03:29 AM
hey potterheads maybe you might wanna check out my blog coz i've got something for you...it could be your ticket to be an above average potter fan..gosh that was lame.not really.

http://ohbeardedlady.blogspot.com/