View Full Version : Manual...to drive or not to drive

AlbertEinstein
05-05-2007, 11:43 PM
Hey.. can anyone with a driving experience tell me which one is better... the car with an auto transmission or the manual type? Coz, I've juz passed my driving license with dreadful marks!!! I wuld also be glad to read tips concerning how to drive a manual..

Eternality
06-05-2007, 01:39 AM
Frankly , auto'll suit u more , right ? if so , then jz drive auto ... but , the fact is , if u can master manual , then u'll hv no problem in driving auto ... n those who drive auto after passing their car test usually can't master manual ... of coz ... manual is harder than auto ... jz dcide by ur own ... that's nthg wrong 2 drive auto ... coz many cars r auto now ... jz tat u'll learn more if u drive manual ...
i m driving manual now ... since i passed on 23 Jan 2007 ... it took me bout 2 weeks 2 master manual after passing d car test ... (but of coz i m not so 'pro' yet ... xD ...) coz what we had learnt b4 car test is not enough ... unless u drive auto ... as it's very easy 2 handle... 2 handle manual well , u mz noe how 2 control clutch well ... n u mz noe how 2 change gear nimbly ...u'll get used to it after practising quite often ...

Estrella
06-05-2007, 02:20 AM
is this thread suitable to be in this forum?

Anyway, i'm going for my test on the 14th of may....i'm nervous actually...though i have finished my lessons. but i'm not that good yet , especially when i'm nervous and panic, my engine will die( switch off i meant), probably i'm not used to it yet, bcause i couldnt practice at home, those ppl with manual car at home is a little luckier, like my fren...sigh...

any advise for on the road? i'm afraid i'll "sei fo" on the slope for the first traffic light....>.<...my judgement not good la.......

06-05-2007, 05:57 AM
after my driving exam i drive exclusively cars with automatic transmission (because that's the only car in my family). Then recently, I drove my friend's manual cars and found out that i can still drive one.

What you had learn't during your time with your instructor will not go missing.

And one more thing. Most driving institutions are more interested in getting your money rather than teaching you how to drive. Real driving skills are learnt on the road. Just remember not to be one of those reckless drivers that define the roads of malaysia today... :wink:

enter77
06-05-2007, 07:06 AM
Hey.. can anyone with a driving experience tell me which one is better... the car with an auto transmission or the manual type? Coz, I've juz passed my driving license with dreadful marks!!! I wuld also be glad to read tips concerning how to drive a manual..

IMO, for sheer driving pleasure, get an old-school manual car with no power steering. Because, once you get behind the wheel, it actually feels like you're driving a car.. lol..

I've driven an auto Perdana with power steering before (illegally, i might add, with no P sticker.. haha). And frankly, it felt like driving a toy car in LegoLand.

But it all depends on you and what you like though. And where you live. If you live in a bendang area like me, I suggest you go for manual. If you live in a town with lots of traffic and overpasses, then go auto, it's much easier..

just my 2 cents :wink:

06-05-2007, 07:45 AM
It might depend on which aspect of driving you like the most. If you enjoy the control over the acceleration and power, then manual might give you more satisfaction as you are the "master" of your car. But if you derive joy from having less technical problems like dead engine at a slope, then auto might give you more pleasure. But as others have said, once you rely entirely on auto cars, in the future you're likely to be entirely incapable of driving a manual car, which might be kind of a disadvantage when you go out with friends. But of course if you live in a city where traffic congestion is a daily ritual, you would dread driving a manual. It will paralyze your leg at the end of the day.

06-05-2007, 08:11 AM
there's a reason why somebody invented automatic transmission...

most people who drive manual transmission, are so bad at gear intervals.. it is just better to let the machine do it for you.. it would sort of make your fuel efficency higher.

06-05-2007, 08:21 AM
there's a reason why somebody invented automatic transmission...

most people who drive manual transmission, are so bad at gear intervals.. it is just better to let the machine do it for you.. it would sort of make your fuel efficency higher.
Something that have been bugging me... Acceleration wise, it would be best for us to rev up the engine up till a degree then shift to a higher gear. But how would that fare in terms of fuel efficiency, compared to shifting to higher gear when, say, the rpm is still at 3k? Which one would use up more fuel for the same distance?

Some might say that it's better if you shift gear with the latter method since you "don't press that much gas pedal"; but wouldn't you have been using your engine inefficiently with a bad gear ratio?

As much as I know, for normal driving style, auto transmission normally shift the gear at about 4k rpm. So, compared to the 3k-gear-shifter, is it more efficient or less?

And all the while, I have been hearing rumour saying that auto uses up more fuel than manual. How true that is?

forEVA
06-05-2007, 03:29 PM
definitely manual. driving an auto car will make u feel as if the car tak makan nasi, bo lat. besides, i hear manual cars r more economical petrol wise. the only down side is that u'll end up torturing ur left leg when u're stuck in a traffic jam controlling the clutch. :?

but yeah, i'll have to agree when seehua said that u'll only learn some REAL driving while u're on the road. when i first "graduated" from driving school n drove on the road, i felt so lost in the streets of penang! like i've never went to a driving school AT ALL! 8O so it doesnt matter if u drive an auto or a manual as u'll be having ur driving lessons all over again when u're on the road. for me, thanks heaps to all the freakin' drivers of my beloved penang island, i can now call myself a pro driver. :wink:

06-05-2007, 04:21 PM
depends... do u wanna really enjoy driving.. go Manual..... imagining u driving a manual ferrari car with paddle shifting... juz imaging... LOL

i have drive it MANY times.. Driving Enzo Ferrari with my MOMO Racing Wheel..

U can control ur speed better with manual driving.. enjoy the engine sound..

Kevin89
07-05-2007, 12:16 AM

Anyway, i'm going for my test on the 14th of may....i'm nervous actually...though i have finished my lessons. but i'm not that good yet , especially when i'm nervous and panic, my engine will die( switch off i meant), probably i'm not used to it yet, bcause i couldnt practice at home, those ppl with manual car at home is a little luckier, like my fren...sigh...

any advise for on the road? i'm afraid i'll "sei fo" on the slope for the first traffic light....>.<...my judgement not good la.......
When want to do balancing, press the clutch and also the fuel until the engine gone VERY noisy.
Release the clutch slowly until the car "naik", then stop releasing the clutch, put down the hand break, then MORE fuel and at the same time release clutch.
At this point, if you hear a "qi ki" (sorry, don't know how to type sound in word) sound, the car will definately go over the slope.
Last but not least, after the slope, remember stop the car before the white line, if not you are consider fail also.

P/S: The most of the JPJ's kancils are not so "powerful" due to the lack of maintainace, so press MORE FUEL than what you usually press when you are praticing with your instructor's car.

lawteoh
07-05-2007, 12:43 AM

What do you mean by passing with dreadful marks? its still a pass right? lol....

Anyway.. I prefer auto... Just that now I get adjusted to manual.. and may not know how to drive when I use auto.. lol

lawteoh
07-05-2007, 12:47 AM

When want to do balancing, press the clutch and also the fuel until the engine gone VERY noisy.
Release the clutch slowly until the car "naik", then stop releasing the clutch, put down the hand break, then MORE fuel and at the same time release clutch.
At this point, if you hear a "qi ki" (sorry, don't know how to type voice in word) sound, the car will definately go over the slope.
Last but not least, after the slope, remember stop the car before the white line, if not you are consider fail also.

P/S: The most of the JPJ's kancils are not so "powerful" due to the lack of maintainace, so press MORE FUEL than what you usually press when you are praticing with your instructor's car.

haih..very easy to drive only la.. Trust me! Its really really easy!! will never sei fo wan.. haha

Kevin89: u just pass your driving ah? cause I admire ur ability to describe it... haha

Estrella
08-05-2007, 02:15 AM

At this point, if you hear a "qi ki" (sorry, don't know how to type sound in word) sound, the car will definately go over the slope.

wow, million thanks for that!! its even better than what my instructor taught me....

Kevin89
08-05-2007, 03:02 AM
wow, million thanks for that!! its even better than what my instructor taught me....
You are welcome. For the road test, i did some mistakes and hope this will help you:
- Don't stop at yellow box. Honestly, that time i didn't notice that box ...
- Stop before the white line. You failed straight away if u stop after the line.
- Don't say "minta maaf" when you did any mistake. It will only annoyed the examiner if you keep saying it.

akirasama89
08-05-2007, 05:51 AM
I'll just fill you in my two cents...

Try not to be nervous... I was I pretty much ruined it the first time...
Be alert of traffic stops and all... And That up the hill thing... after you stop, if you rpess the brakes and the engines get too noisy... you're done for...

JPJ people are tough to please, so be careful!

08-05-2007, 08:57 AM
once u pass.. i pretty sure that u will forget this "theory"

Estrella
08-05-2007, 10:12 AM
You are welcome. For the road test, i did some mistakes and hope this will help you:
- Don't stop at yellow box. Honestly, that time i didn't notice that box ...
- Stop before the white line. You failed straight away if u stop after the line.
- Don't say "minta maaf" when you did any mistake. It will only annoyed the examiner if you keep saying it.

thanks for the tips...i might be the one keep on saying minta maaf if u didnt warn me for this ....lol

Estrella
08-05-2007, 10:14 AM

Be alert of traffic stops and all... And That up the hill thing... after you stop, if you rpess the brakes and the engines get too noisy... you're done for...

it sounds scary though....i can easily become nervous and panic...just hope that the JPJ people are in good mood next monday.

thanks.

08-05-2007, 10:58 AM
In your test it depends whether you get a nice instructor and whether you've paid some $$$. My instructor was pretty nice. He asked me what my results was, where I'm studying, if I want to drive to school/college etc.. And then his hand phone rang and he spent the rest of the time talking to someone about what to have for lunch and his kids tuition :P

In response to the first post, I drive a manual. Auto is definitely easier but it could also be more dangerous. If you do any mistake, a manual car will just jerk to a stop and the engine will die. But for an auto, if you forgot to change the gear or something and accidentally press the accelerator, the car will just fly out of control. Which is probably how most of the accidents we read in the newspapers about cars going through walls and such happens.

forEVA
08-05-2007, 03:06 PM
as long as u control the clutch properly, sure wont sei fo wan la.. chill out man! :wink:

08-05-2007, 03:33 PM
Speaking of parking, it's funny how we were taught to count the cones when in real life you have cars, not cones. A lot of people learnt how to park their cars perfectly with the "counting method", but when it comes to real life parking they are totally helpless.

I actually found an article which is more helpful regarding parallel parking. This might not help in your JPJ test, but it's definitely helpful in real life:

http://www.fearlessdriver.com/stresslessparallelparking.html

p/s: Anyway try this method in JPJ test.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f6jSyutHXwM

AlbertEinstein
08-05-2007, 06:29 PM
Anyway,building a car with a clutch is a stupid thing. Why can't a car be built without one , but we can still change the gear ratio to our own liking? What are ur opinions? I knew that cars in Europe have anti reverse gear system. Why dun we hav it in Malaysia? besides, according to a survey, 99% of the cars in the USA and Japan are autos... so it's definitely better, isn't it???

08-05-2007, 07:02 PM
Anyway,building a car with a clutch is a stupid thing. Why can't a car be built without one , but we can still change the gear ratio to our own liking? What are ur opinions? I knew that cars in Europe have anti reverse gear system. Why dun we hav it in Malaysia? besides, according to a survey, 99% of the cars in the USA and Japan are autos... so it's definitely better, isn't it???

Our Proton Savvy has a Automated Manual Transmission model aka clutchless manual transmission... u can change gear without pressing the clutch...
btw.. Do u know what is paddle shift gearbox (F1 car shift).. also can be found in some Ferraris, Aston Martin, Toyota.... which also not require us to press the clutch.....

Excal
08-05-2007, 07:12 PM
If u wanna know the simplest....basics....

Step One
Look at the floorboard; you'll see 3 pedals. From left to right, they are: clutch, brake, gas.

Step Two
Study the simple diagram on the top of the gearshift, which will show you where the gears are. In most new cars, this will look like a three-legged H. First, third and fifth gears are at the tops of the legs; second, fourth and reverse gears are at the bottoms. The crossbar of the H is neutral.

Step Three
Make sure the parking brake is engaged and the car is on a flat surface in an area where you have plenty of room.

Step Four
Press down on the clutch pedal and then move the gearshift into the neutral position.

Step Five
Start the car.

Step Six
Keeping the clutch pedal down, put the car into first gear by moving the gearshift to the top-left position.

Step Seven
Apply the foot brake and release the parking brake.

Step Eight
Release the foot brake when you're ready to start moving.

Step Nine
Begin to release the clutch pedal slowly; when you hear or feel the engine begin to slow down, slowly press down on the gas pedal as you continue to release the clutch. The car will start to move forward.

Step Ten
Accelerate until the car has reached about 3,000 rpm, then take your foot off the gas, press down on the clutch pedal, and pull the gearshift directly down through neutral to second gear. Be sure to pull the gearshift down until it can't go any farther.

Step Eleven
Release the clutch pedal gently, simultaneously pressing down gently on the gas pedal.

Step Twelve
Repeat the shifting process each time you hit 3,000 rpm until you're driving at the appropriate speed. (Third gear is up and to the right; fourth gear is all the way down from there; fifth gear is up to neutral, right and then up again.)

Step Thirteen
Downshift by releasing the gas pedal when you want to decrease your speed. Press down on the clutch and move the gearshift through neutral into the next-lower gear (move down only 1 gear at a time). Once you're in the lower gear, release the clutch slowly and brake as you do so.

Step Fourteen
Stop the car by downshifting to second gear and applying the brakes. Apply the clutch just before the car stops. Don't downshift into first.

Step Fifteen
Drive in reverse by following the same steps you would for starting in first gear. The reverse gear engages more quickly than first gear, however, so be sure to release the clutch slowly and begin to press the gas pedal as soon as the car begins to move

http://www.ehow.com/how_3234_drive-car-with.html

http://www.standardshift.com/faq.html

08-05-2007, 07:49 PM
Your car engine is connected to the wheels via mechanical linkage, so when the engine spins, the tires spin. But there are two problems:

1. You need different gear ratios to provide different powers (or torque, to be specific). If you have ever driven a car you should know the different effect of different gears.

2. You need to stop your car sometimes.

If you don't have a clutch, what will happen is:

1. When you shift gears, you will be grinding all the gears while they are spinning. It won't work this way.

2. When you stop your car, your engine stops as well.

So that's where clutch comes in handy. When you press the clutch, what it basically does is to separate the engine and the tire. With clutch, when you shift gear or stop the car, you could do it smoothly.

Of course there are now automatic transmission car out there, and there are also some semi-automatic transmission where you could change your gear by only pressing buttons. However, there are a few setbacks to those types of car. Auto cars are in general less fuel-efficient, less powerful and more prone to mechanical problem. And semi-auto requires sophisticated technology and cost more.

You could learn more here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transmission_%28mechanics%29

08-05-2007, 09:17 PM
Manual better, you can claim for the best company car which require manual drive if your colleagues only know how to drive auto.

day_dreamer
09-05-2007, 09:53 AM
My manual Kancil car costs only RM 0.13 per km...

So far.. I think only smart fortwo can beat this oil consumption record..

lawteoh
09-05-2007, 11:44 AM

it sounds scary though....i can easily become nervous and panic...just hope that the JPJ people are in good mood next monday.

thanks.

oh.. so, ur exam next monday la? haha.. sure u will pass wan la.. my prediction is u wil get 17/20 ... haha.. see whether I am correct anot lor...

hey.. all of you who describes the procedures are already expert ya? I can't believe u stil remember the theory.. haha... its like so long ago already...

hope u noe how to control ur clutch ady........ XD

Estrella
09-05-2007, 12:12 PM

thanks.

oh.. so, ur exam next monday la? haha.. sure u will pass wan la.. my prediction is u wil get 17/20 ... haha.. see whether I am correct anot lor...

hey.. all of you who describes the procedures are already expert ya? I can't believe u stil remember the theory.. haha... its like so long ago already...

hope u noe how to control ur clutch ady........ XD

yup, next monday >.<
lol, Thanks!! but how do u know i'll get 17/20? how is the points given?? like first u get into the car, adjust ur seat, mirrors, seatbelt, check whether is it free gear, start engine, check the signals and wipers, press on the clutch - gear one, handbreak down, ready to go....so this whole thing can get how many marks? my instructor didnt tell me....

09-05-2007, 12:18 PM
if i'm not mistaken... 17/20 is the common marks for anyone who pass.. unless you do the big mistake (eg drive @<hidden> the wrong lane)

and i do the 5 basic steps last year perfectly.. but the tester still don't want to give 100%... they wanna maintain "17/20".....

i already pass this driving test for more than 1 years......

Kevin89
09-05-2007, 09:17 PM
yup, next monday >.<
lol, Thanks!! but how do u know i'll get 17/20? how is the points given?? like first u get into the car, adjust ur seat, mirrors, seatbelt, check whether is it free gear, start engine, check the signals and wipers, press on the clutch - gear one, handbreak down, ready to go....so this whole thing can get how many marks? my instructor didnt tell me....
Those thing really important cause it give marks.

Borang Penilaian Ujian Memandu bagi Kelas D (Motokar)

1. Membetulkan tempat duduk
2. Membetulkan cermin pandang belakang & tepi
3. Pakai tali pinggang keledar
4. Menentukan gear dalam keadaan bebas sebelum menghidupkan enjin motokar
5. Menguji keadaan pencuci cermin & lampu isyarat
6. Guna isyarat lampu / tangan apabila diperlukan
7. Guna brek kaki dan tangan dengan betul
8. Mematuhi peraturan lampu isyarat
9. Mematuhi tanda berhenti di persimpangan jalan
10. Mematuhi peraturan garisan 2 selari
11. Memandu di lorong yang betul / kawalan stering
12. Memandu kenderaan di jarak yang selamat
13. Memotong dengan cara yang betul & menggunakan cermin pandang belakang sebelum membelok
14. Mematuhi had laju
15. Memberi keutamaan kepada pejalan kaki, penunggang basikal & motosikal
16. Mematuhi d selekoh dengan cara yang betul, perlahan & ikut lorong yang betul
17. Tidak menukar lorong dengan tergesa-gesa di kawasan kesesakan lalu lintas
18. Memberi keutamaan kepada kenderaan dari sebelah kanan di persimpangan & bulatan
19. Memandu secara tidak merbahaya
20. Menggunakan gear sesuai mengikut kelajuan

AaronLo
09-05-2007, 09:34 PM
if i'm not mistaken... 17/20 is the common marks for anyone who pass.. unless you do the big mistake (eg drive @<hidden> the wrong lane)

and i do the 5 basic steps last year perfectly.. but the tester still don't want to give 100%... they wanna maintain "17/20".....

i already pass this driving test for more than 1 years......

The passing mark is actually 16/20. (I had this mark)

Just a little trivia over here. I actually did not wear my safety belt as I was switching into "Gear 1" (when i was about to start my test). The examiner was quick to alert me on the matter, and I quickly put on the safety belt, just before I started driving (with sheer embarassment though).

Nevertheless, I passed the exam at the first attempt, without having to pay the $$$ (you know what). But there is a cross (indicating "failed to achieve") in the safety belt section on the rubric.

I consider myself "lucky" to have a female examiner who was relatively lenient. I heard most male examiners were rude and errant and that you will immediately be subjected to "failure" in the event you do not wear your safety belt and have to rely on the examiner to remind you.

Estrella
13-05-2007, 07:31 PM
i'm getting really nervous now as my driving test is tomorrow!!!
ah....i went for my QTI yesterday, it was the pre-test, but i didnt go for the slope, parking and three point turn, only on the road. the instructor said i was ok and he thumbed up for me..hehe...

but still, i'm worrying bout my slope. the one that u have to stop exactly on the yellow line. i dunno why i cant make it everytime, sometimes i failed because i went over the yellow line or before it. sometimes i did it prefectly and i thought it was my luck.
can someone teach me how to stop exactly on the yellow line pls? :? when u are reaching the line, how to slow down and let the car crawl up slowly so that i will have time to look at the post and estimate when should i stop. pls......

thanks in advance

lawteoh
17-05-2007, 05:54 PM
ah....i went for my QTI yesterday, it was the pre-test, but i didnt go for the slope, parking and three point turn, only on the road. the instructor said i was ok and he thumbed up for me..hehe...

but still, i'm worrying bout my slope. the one that u have to stop exactly on the yellow line. i dunno why i cant make it everytime, sometimes i failed because i went over the yellow line or before it. sometimes i did it prefectly and i thought it was my luck.
can someone teach me how to stop exactly on the yellow line pls? :? when u are reaching the line, how to slow down and let the car crawl up slowly so that i will have time to look at the post and estimate when should i stop. pls......

thanks in advance

So, you pass with 17 marks? haha!! Tell us more la... sorry ya.. this website always got problem.. have to refresh a few times.. sigh

Estrella
19-05-2007, 09:34 PM

thanks in advance

So, you pass with 17 marks? haha!! Tell us more la... sorry ya.. this website always got problem.. have to refresh a few times.. sigh

i passed with 18 marks. it was the gear and brakes i got wrong...actually i wasnt worry about on the road that much, it was the slope cause me insomnia..luckily i did pass my slope and the other two. i was so nervous that i actually forgot to look at the post , so i would say that it was just my luck to pass the slope. haha....
yea...something wrong with the server. referesh this site till i get frustrated di....haha

forEVA
19-05-2007, 10:16 PM
hmm.. just sharing an experience here (something i saw, not my own).

when i was waiting for my turn to take the driving test last year, i sat on the bench right beside the place where people were taking the slope test. n so i thought, u know, since lucky me wasnt in the first group to be tested, maybe i could watch n learn. n so i watched. now here's what happened:

there was this girl from the first group who was about to take the test, around my age (which is very young), n when it was her turn to take the slope test after the instructor asked her to proceed, i suddenly heard a loud noise of

EEEEEKKKKK!!!! -screeching sound
VVVRRRROOOOOMMM!!! -sound of a fast-moving vehicle
EEEEEEKKKKKKK!!!!! -screeching sound again

that missy obviously out of a sudden accelerated the vehicle her heart out, was moving REAL fast, n abruptly braked when she felt that she'd reached the yellow line!! n it all happened in 3 seconds!! it was a miracle on how she managed to stop precisely on the yellow line!

everybody who saw it was stunned as we didnt know how to react! moreover to laugh at her! even the tester was in shock! i bet that fella was thinking whether to pass or to fail her as she DID actually stop ON the yellow line u know... @<hidden>@<hidden> then the tester just smiled a bit n decided to give her another shot at it. so she slowly reversed her kancil down the slope, n when she started the slope test again, oops, she did it again! we all heard the exact same EEEEKKKKKK-VVVVRRRRROOOOOOMMMMM-EEEEEKKKKKK loud noise all over again! this time everyone couldnt help but to laugh. ok, i was nice so i just snorted n smiled a bit. :p

*sigh* so much for a second chance. totally blew it. pity her.

once again, i swear that wasnt me trying to use a third-party form of description to describe my misfortune. heheh..

choogirl
20-05-2007, 10:09 AM
that is hilarious. but its so cool! shouldnt she have passed since she did reach the yellow line? what a pity.