View Full Version : MIT Admissions

18-03-2004, 11:02 AM
MIT has released its admissions decision online (for international applicants). If you're an international applicant, you can check https://autumn.mit.edu/ for the potentially nerve-wreaking decision.

Know anyone who got into MIT? Do post here!

18-03-2004, 11:02 AM
MIT has released its admissions decision online (for international applicants). If you're an international applicant, you can check https://autumn.mit.edu/ for the potentially nerve-wreaking decision.

Know anyone who got into MIT? Do post here!

lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:01 PM
As i have assumed when i applied.. i was rejected... :cry: thought i wont feel anything but..... quite disappointed la... Sigh~ nvm la...

lonewolfhan
18-03-2004, 08:01 PM
As i have assumed when i applied.. i was rejected... :cry: thought i wont feel anything but..... quite disappointed la... Sigh~ nvm la...

gesar
18-03-2004, 09:09 PM
Congrats to those who was accepted into MIT.... :D :D :)

I'm sorry to hear that a few of my good friends didn't get admitted into their most precious choice...MIT...Don't worry so much yea...Just remember that there are many more universities out there or the ones that you have applied...they jus haven't reply to your application...think positive.... :D :D

Another thing is that maybe this is your fate. :) ...who knows you will get better school or maybe your career and you dreams will be realized in other school...dun worry....you have your friends here with you to support you... :D :D ME, I am one of your friend also..hehe

take care!!

gesar
18-03-2004, 09:09 PM

I'm sorry to hear that a few of my good friends didn't get admitted into their most precious choice...MIT...Don't worry so much yea...Just remember that there are many more universities out there or the ones that you have applied...they jus haven't reply to your application...think positive.... :D :D

Another thing is that maybe this is your fate. :) ...who knows you will get better school or maybe your career and you dreams will be realized in other school...dun worry....you have your friends here with you to support you... :D :D ME, I am one of your friend also..hehe

take care!!

wesleyanne
19-03-2004, 12:58 AM
digression. i know there's no specific answer but what do universities such as MIT look for in applications? i know someone who's in the 94th percentile in GRE physics and has a 4.0 CGPA from CMU with impeccable recommendations and research experience from prestigious places like Los Alamos and yet he still gets rejected from places like Princeton and Harvard. i'm just asking cos this is seriously discouraging my poor suitemate who's in her process of grad school applications :)

wesleyanne
19-03-2004, 12:58 AM
digression. i know there's no specific answer but what do universities such as MIT look for in applications? i know someone who's in the 94th percentile in GRE physics and has a 4.0 CGPA from CMU with impeccable recommendations and research experience from prestigious places like Los Alamos and yet he still gets rejected from places like Princeton and Harvard. i'm just asking cos this is seriously discouraging my poor suitemate who's in her process of grad school applications :)

cquayhl
19-03-2004, 02:14 AM
Wesleyanne,

She applied to physics programmes? Without knowing specifics, it's hard to say why she didn't get in.
In general they look for the usual things: coursework, GPA, research experience, recommendations, personal statement. Extra-curriculars are irrelevant.
One question: what did she say she wanted to do in her application? Different subfields of physics require different kinds of preparation (i.e. the list above will be weighted differently). Also, research experience is good to have, but it's better if a) it's in the subfield that you want to be in as a grad student b) you did it for an extended period of time and produced a thesis or paper.
For MIT in particular, you have to pick who to work with before you show up, so possibly nobody matched her interests.
In the end, it could just be the randomness of the application process. I know someone who was accepted to Princeton, Harvard, Stanford and Cornell...and rejected from CMU. :-) And there are lots of stories like that. The standard advice is: take a year off and apply again.
All the best to your suitemate. :-)

Charis.

cquayhl
19-03-2004, 02:14 AM
Wesleyanne,

She applied to physics programmes? Without knowing specifics, it's hard to say why she didn't get in.
In general they look for the usual things: coursework, GPA, research experience, recommendations, personal statement. Extra-curriculars are irrelevant.
One question: what did she say she wanted to do in her application? Different subfields of physics require different kinds of preparation (i.e. the list above will be weighted differently). Also, research experience is good to have, but it's better if a) it's in the subfield that you want to be in as a grad student b) you did it for an extended period of time and produced a thesis or paper.
For MIT in particular, you have to pick who to work with before you show up, so possibly nobody matched her interests.
In the end, it could just be the randomness of the application process. I know someone who was accepted to Princeton, Harvard, Stanford and Cornell...and rejected from CMU. :-) And there are lots of stories like that. The standard advice is: take a year off and apply again.
All the best to your suitemate. :-)

Charis.

BioTEch_GizMo
19-03-2004, 08:07 PM

take care!!

Yeap congrats to all who get admitted to MIT!!! Too bad some of our close friends who have good credentials din get accpted :( Life is unfair but somehow it's fair...probably some unis are better than MIT....or some would prefer otehr places than MIT :)....one of my fren is saying that im contradicting myself by saying life is unfair but fair....but then who cares if it's fair or not hehhee.....life is life, live it like u wanna live it 8)

BioTEch_GizMo
19-03-2004, 08:07 PM

take care!!

Yeap congrats to all who get admitted to MIT!!! Too bad some of our close friends who have good credentials din get accpted :( Life is unfair but somehow it's fair...probably some unis are better than MIT....or some would prefer otehr places than MIT :)....one of my fren is saying that im contradicting myself by saying life is unfair but fair....but then who cares if it's fair or not hehhee.....life is life, live it like u wanna live it 8)

19-03-2004, 08:13 PM
I understand the frustration, depression when the decision came out and it turned out not to be what you guys desired for. Take it easy, guys~! I know that it is very hard to accept, but come to think of it, there are so many people who applied and getting accepted and getting rejected is just part and parcel of the game. Life is full of ups and downs.

I think it is not where you get to, but where you make full use of the opportunities. If you get into "better" universities, you may have more opportunities, but it is up to you, on how much you utilize those opportunities. In any university, there are definitely way more opportunities than you can ever imagine~!

So, hopefully those who still feel sad, please stay calm... Who knows, it is a blessing in disguise.

To those that get in the university that you desire, Congrats~! and please make full use of your opportunities.

19-03-2004, 08:13 PM
I understand the frustration, depression when the decision came out and it turned out not to be what you guys desired for. Take it easy, guys~! I know that it is very hard to accept, but come to think of it, there are so many people who applied and getting accepted and getting rejected is just part and parcel of the game. Life is full of ups and downs.

I think it is not where you get to, but where you make full use of the opportunities. If you get into "better" universities, you may have more opportunities, but it is up to you, on how much you utilize those opportunities. In any university, there are definitely way more opportunities than you can ever imagine~!

So, hopefully those who still feel sad, please stay calm... Who knows, it is a blessing in disguise.

To those that get in the university that you desire, Congrats~! and please make full use of your opportunities.

gesar
19-03-2004, 08:29 PM
i wanna say that for those who didn't get...cool down....there are better school out there....MIT did not accept u
does not mean that you are not good or up to their standard....I know of a few with very good qualifications but they were rejected too.... :lol: What makes you good is not the university but you yourself

gesar
19-03-2004, 08:29 PM
i wanna say that for those who didn't get...cool down....there are better school out there....MIT did not accept u
does not mean that you are not good or up to their standard....I know of a few with very good qualifications but they were rejected too.... :lol: What makes you good is not the university but you yourself

windy_city
19-03-2004, 11:57 PM

Can?t agree more!!!
Try to think further when you choose your university, for example, do you really decided to pursue the major you declare??
If not, you can choose school that offers the major that you maybe wan to do after you have really decided.
Ranking is not everything, although, Americans here still care about the raking though. (They are obsessed with it actually that why you can see tones of ranking out there, the most expensive house, the richest person in the world, the most influential business man, the??? especially Forbes magazine, every month they will come out a ranking for sth)
I understand the ranking is important, but dun emphasize too much on it ok!!

windy_city
19-03-2004, 11:57 PM

Can?t agree more!!!
Try to think further when you choose your university, for example, do you really decided to pursue the major you declare??
If not, you can choose school that offers the major that you maybe wan to do after you have really decided.
Ranking is not everything, although, Americans here still care about the raking though. (They are obsessed with it actually that why you can see tones of ranking out there, the most expensive house, the richest person in the world, the most influential business man, the??? especially Forbes magazine, every month they will come out a ranking for sth)
I understand the ranking is important, but dun emphasize too much on it ok!!

20-03-2004, 02:01 PM
well...for writing assigment 3..the research paper...i wrote about US college rankings....and seriously....after finishing the paper...i think tad the rankings r quite crap la....as in we cannot rely on the rankings itself.....it is so flawed methodologically...so let me say this to those who did not get MIT...

Be still, sad heart :cry: . Cease repinning.
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining.
Thy fate is common fate of all
Into each life some rain must fall
Some days must be sad and dreary
(Henry Longfellow)

i :lol: donno i remember the poem exactly or not :?: ....my classmate recited it...eleanor roosevelt also has some beautiful quotes which encourages ppl to move forward in life but i cant seem to remember it now....

juz remember...
MIT IS NOT EVERYTHING!!!

20-03-2004, 02:01 PM
well...for writing assigment 3..the research paper...i wrote about US college rankings....and seriously....after finishing the paper...i think tad the rankings r quite crap la....as in we cannot rely on the rankings itself.....it is so flawed methodologically...so let me say this to those who did not get MIT...

Be still, sad heart :cry: . Cease repinning.
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining.
Thy fate is common fate of all
Into each life some rain must fall
Some days must be sad and dreary
(Henry Longfellow)

i :lol: donno i remember the poem exactly or not :?: ....my classmate recited it...eleanor roosevelt also has some beautiful quotes which encourages ppl to move forward in life but i cant seem to remember it now....

juz remember...
MIT IS NOT EVERYTHING!!!

gesar
20-03-2004, 03:21 PM
WOW.....that's the best speech ever.....go whoever supports that MIT is not everything.....You did not get admitted does not mean you are nothing more than just a fly.....you might be better than that........an intelligent human....yea!! :D :D :roll: :wink: :D

gesar
20-03-2004, 03:21 PM
WOW.....that's the best speech ever.....go whoever supports that MIT is not everything.....You did not get admitted does not mean you are nothing more than just a fly.....you might be better than that........an intelligent human....yea!! :D :D :roll: :wink: :D

FiAnS
20-03-2004, 03:38 PM
My advice to the juniors (everyone is welcome):

"Life is not all about getting what you want (or winning); but
rather upon how you make the most out of the opportunities that
are available to you"

Reflect on these words, and I hope you will be successful wherever you will end up in. After all, it is the individual who will create his/ her own path by utilizing the opportunities given to him/her; not MIT whatsoever.

All the best...

FiAnS
20-03-2004, 03:38 PM
My advice to the juniors (everyone is welcome):

"Life is not all about getting what you want (or winning); but
rather upon how you make the most out of the opportunities that
are available to you"

Reflect on these words, and I hope you will be successful wherever you will end up in. After all, it is the individual who will create his/ her own path by utilizing the opportunities given to him/her; not MIT whatsoever.

All the best...

widagdo
20-03-2004, 03:45 PM
I strongly agree with Fians that what most important is how a person makes the most out of the opportunities he/she has.

MIT? Top Engineering School? So what? Not that I am not as smart as you MIT folks.

widagdo
20-03-2004, 03:45 PM
I strongly agree with Fians that what most important is how a person makes the most out of the opportunities he/she has.

MIT? Top Engineering School? So what? Not that I am not as smart as you MIT folks.

10-Joules
05-04-2004, 09:14 AM
Who got into MIT this year?
What are the expected achivement?
Is there an interview?
Just curious

aquila
05-04-2004, 09:43 AM
I think a lot of us forget that college doesn't end with admissions. After you r admitted, your life has just begun!

Think of it this way, the better the school, the more pressure you'll get. Think abt the competition you face when you're with people who have won olympiads and have had tons of research experience. Yes, those are the kind of people you're going to get in MIT. So, if you didn't get into MIT, it's not the end of the world. :P

05-04-2004, 10:57 AM
Cool...MIT, the best engineering institution in the world.
Congratulations to those selected. I can feel that you are on top of the world now.

05-04-2004, 11:01 AM
2 malaysians offered admission 2 mit. 1 from intec, the other from taylor's. i heard the 1 from taylor's is not goin 2 mit becoz he got cambridge. b4 i forget, 1 from intec got in2 waitin list (spring). hope he gets in......

SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:32 PM
thank you zAiTsEv

yea... i'm stuck in between.... whether or not to be accepted, is still an unknown answer....

very 'kan cheong', at the same time felt really honored also.... just pray for the best to come.... but well, even if not successful also, i guess, it doesn't matter so much.... koz for me, i've gained more, in the process than the end result... hope u ppl noe wat i'm talking about...

05-04-2004, 05:37 PM
Don't know what you are talking :lol: haha just kidding.
Best luck and god bless you :D

05-04-2004, 08:47 PM
Haha ... If spring got MIT, then good lar.... Stay near Boston. Then can meet up with the Cornell guys and makan makan and borak borak...

dinna_g
06-04-2004, 10:47 AM
this statement is a little bit discourage but it is true. if you get into waitlist, your chance to get in is extremely small, so be prepared to move on.

cheers!

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:18 PM
MIT is great indeed but its not everything. Congrats to those who entered but don worry for those who didn..they are not supreme, they are still only humans, thus they are still defeatable..no offence anyone :wink: :wink:

07-04-2004, 02:14 PM
I need to know : Who's flying to Boston in Aug?

07-04-2004, 10:06 PM
from?

SpRInG
08-04-2004, 03:44 PM
this statement is a little bit discourage but it is true. if you get into waitlist, your chance to get in is extremely small, so be prepared to move on.

cheers!

ya, thanks for the concern.... it's true that it's hard to get in... but for me, the process of trying, in givign my best... gives me more satisfaction... perhaps much more than getting in.....
but it's very true that in case, then i must move on....
nevertheless.... there's always HOPE in times of despair