View Full Version : PETRONAS or JPA or MARA better?
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 02:21 PM
Which is better?
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 02:22 PM
i got Petronas, but i'm still waiting for JPA.
if i get JPA, i'll have to choose. how?
haagendaz
09-05-2007, 02:25 PM
Well, I think it also depends on which course you want, dun think both will offer u same course.. and also bonding period.. place of study..
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 02:30 PM
petronas gives you more allowance.
they sponsor you 1 year, you have to serve them 2 years.
normally, it will be 10 years for engineers as they sponsor you 5 years for engineering course (including A-level).
for JPA (besides medicine, dentistry and pharmacy), you can run away from the bond. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
but you certainly can't do that for petronas.
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 02:34 PM
petronas will give you a job. it is good.
JPA wont.
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 02:40 PM
may i know what course are you applying? so that i can give you a better answer.
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 02:52 PM
may i know what course are you applying? so that i can give you a better answer.
petronas - geophysic
jpa - Chemical engineering
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 02:56 PM
petronas - geophysic
jpa - Chemical engineering
now it is a different situation already.
if you get both, you should go for the course you like the most.
white_black
09-05-2007, 03:21 PM
I would say that both of them is equally great..
Good for u..btw
If u get both, mind to "give" me the other one u dun wan? ^^
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 03:28 PM
if i can give the one i dont want to others, i will.
i met too many people out there who badly needs a scholarship, yet didnt get any.
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 03:35 PM
i met too many people out there who badly needs a scholarship, yet didnt get any.
indeed!
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 03:40 PM
09-05-2007, 03:54 PM
For Petronas, u get local UTP or overseas?
hey..so u dun need to worried about what u have told me before lar..right??
Petronas, higher allowances and you will secure a job(actually they said in EDUCAMP not every1 will be hired by PETRONAS, right)
They are give RM 3500per person to buy computer too, right?
Yvonne89
09-05-2007, 04:29 PM
yea, the worryness sudah hilang.
but i'm still waiting for jPA and Petronas offer letter.
Anyone get the letter already?
Somehow I think Petronas is better. But maybe others have different point of view.
hm.. yeah... yvonne89. i would do the same. i applied for MARA chem engineering for Japan and am still waiting for the results, then i'll choose (if only i do get it). however, my mum is seriously asking me to really consider petronas because it is so far the best as it's a well paved path. you are going to work with petronas for say.... 8-10 years. that's like haveing your future written down on pen and paper. can you imagine a career promised to you? a career, just by saying yes to this scholarship?
still.. the decision is up to you. you decide. :D
oh.. and to those who didn't get the scholarships that they got or even the interview...its never the end. some will get 2 or maybe more scholarships and surely they can't accept both can they? i suppose most of you out there still have a strong chance of securing at least 1 scholarship in your benefit. don't forget, there are scholarships from universities overseas as well. it may be tougher but there's always opportunities. good luck all.
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 04:40 PM
i applied twice and not even shortlisted for the interview.
wasted RM40 + courier.... :( :( :(
I applied twice too...didnt get shortlisted for Petronas also but nvm...so whats ur spm result?
evening_go_jogging
09-05-2007, 04:47 PM
I applied twice too...didnt get shortlisted for Petronas also but nvm...so whats ur spm result?
:( :( :(
09-05-2007, 04:51 PM
hm.. yeah... yvonne89. i would do the same. i applied for MARA chem engineering for Japan and am still waiting for the results, then i'll choose (if only i do get it). however, my mum is seriously asking me to really consider petronas because it is so far the best as it's a well paved path. you are going to work with petronas for say.... 8-10 years. that's like haveing your future written down on pen and paper. can you imagine a career promised to you? a career, just by saying yes to this scholarship?
still.. the decision is up to you. you decide. :D
oh.. and to those who didn't get the scholarships that they got or even the interview...its never the end. some will get 2 or maybe more scholarships and surely they can't accept both can they? i suppose most of you out there still have a strong chance of securing at least 1 scholarship in your benefit. don't forget, there are scholarships from universities overseas as well. it may be tougher but there's always opportunities. good luck all.
They told us in EDUCAMP that we are not 100% get hired by Petronas, or any company
bujanglapok
09-05-2007, 05:10 PM
Bagaikan sebelah kaki sudah berada dalam jaminan pekerjaan.
Other than that, we must study hard first!
09-05-2007, 05:16 PM
Bagaikan sebelah kaki sudah berada dalam jaminan pekerjaan.
Other than that, we must study hard first!
yea..They will kick us out if we cant get the level they want..right?~!~!!!
zureen
09-05-2007, 07:22 PM
well the best part about Petronas is, the oppurtunity for u getting a job is right on front of u.during educamp,they mentioned that they'll conduct an interview for the scholars to determine whether they are qualified to get a job with them.so it means that the peluang is obviously there.and i think with Petronas my future is looking bright(ditambah dgn usaha and my perseverance,it surely will be).im so grateful that Petronas selected me.i wanna go to KYUEM! Petronas..pls send me to KYUEM... :oops:
well,like u,i applied petronas and jpa too.i've got petronas and that is exactly what i want.i am practically,not waiting for jpa that eagerly anymore.so,i do hope,if i get jpa,i can give my chance to someone else who really needs it.
if ur courses are between geophysics and chem.eng,i will tell u to choose the one u like the most.choose the one u really really want.personally,i think geophysics is a better course.that's my personal opinion :oops: the decision is up to u!!
all the best!! :wink:
white 2020: yeah..we'll get RM3500 as our computer loan.my senior who is a scholar in utp now told me so.
yeah.. true... i'm seriously considering geophysics now but i will still weigh my options carefully. the course takes 3 years to complete in the UK and 4 for the masters... so less bond? :D hehehe....
for geophysics, my mum's friend's nephew... (long contact... :? ) is in his final year for geophysics and he went to kolej mara banting to do IB. so we'll most likely have to do IB. my mum told me too that they are going to send the students to the US. before, they mostly send them to AUS and NZ, but now its the US. of course, we still have to wait for the surat tawaran and official details.
and... if you do cadly in your a-levels, IB etc..etc... you have to do the pre-u on your own... finance your resit of exams, then reapply for a second chance if you still want the scholarship for the undergraduate programme. but that again is a different story... they might not give you another chance anymore. :(
10-05-2007, 11:54 AM
white 2020: yeah..we'll get RM3500 as our computer loan.my senior who is a scholar in utp now told me so.
Loan ar..that means need to pay back??
Anyway, do we(who get Local UTP programme) will be given The RM3500 LOAN as well??
Loan ar..that means need to pay back??
Anyway, do we(who get Local UTP programme) will be given The RM3500 LOAN as well??
Rm3500 is the amount of money that will be given to those who got the local utp programme.as for overseas,they will be given a different amount of money,judging by which country u r going.
well,according to the sources i found,if we r to work for petronas,we do not have to pay back the loan since it is part of the sponsorship programme.however,i'll ask for further details from my senior who is studying in utp under petronas scholarship.
well,i don't guarantee there will be no changes in this computer loan thing.the amount of money might be reduced or increased.nothing is for sure until the official letter REACH OUR HANDS!! ^_^
yeah.. true... i'm seriously considering geophysics now but i will still weigh my options carefully. the course takes 3 years to complete in the UK and 4 for the masters... so less bond? :D hehehe....
for geophysics, my mum's friend's nephew... (long contact... :? ) is in his final year for geophysics and he went to kolej mara banting to do IB. so we'll most likely have to do IB. my mum told me too that they are going to send the students to the US. before, they mostly send them to AUS and NZ, but now its the US. of course, we still have to wait for the surat tawaran and official details.
and... if you do cadly in your a-levels, IB etc..etc... you have to do the pre-u on your own... finance your resit of exams, then reapply for a second chance if you still want the scholarship for the undergraduate programme. but that again is a different story... they might not give you another chance anymore. :(
well..think well camy..and tell me whe u have decided. ^_^
Roy_ks
26-06-2007, 09:22 PM
petronas gives you more allowance.
they sponsor you 1 year, you have to serve them 2 years.
normally, it will be 10 years for engineers as they sponsor you 5 years for engineering course (including A-level).
for JPA (besides medicine, dentistry and pharmacy), you can run away from the bond. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
but you certainly can't do that for petronas.
halo???i m a petronas scholar but i do not thk we are given sufficient allowance... :?
petronas actually concentrates on engineering scholars...for medic, i seriously think jpa medic is better... :lol:
alepbing
30-06-2008, 01:43 PM
wow, this thread is like.. one year old.
btw, i dont think it is fair if we think of one scholarship better than the other one. they are all the same considering that they provide you with free education. despite difference in allowance etc, i dont think it will be a good thing to actually look up for one scholarship and think the other one as not so prestigious.
they best way to compare it is actually based on how they select the students. you know they said that for JPA, your spm results is 70%, and 10% each for socio-econ background, interview and something i forgot. but for petronas, we have interview, iq test, english test, reasoning test and stuff. now i will not say which is better, but it definitely makes a difference.
and i am glad that i got petronas because i failed to get jpa, even for the interview. so it is up to us to choose which one, that we think will provide us with higher chances of securing the scholarship.
nadia.g
30-06-2008, 02:20 PM
it doesnt matter actually.
But better in what sense?
U cant just compare all 3 judging by the allowance they give or the job oppurtunity u get after completing ur studies.
I prefer MARA cos u dun haf any bond but the downside its a loan not a scholarship.
As for JPA, its a scholarship plus bond to work for the govt
Petronas, well scholarship + bond
Its really up to u
B.T.SengYee
01-07-2008, 02:55 PM
haha..
bt then for non bumi..
they cant choose mara though it is gud...
Custom Bowl (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com)
01-07-2008, 03:08 PM
well, hard to tell but i think Bank Negara is number one.. abd don't you know that this batch petronas are sending scholars to Hong Kong, China and South Africa as well?? haha.. i got to go Australia though.. i am now in taylor's doin my a-level. Hidup petronas!
abuzar
01-07-2008, 03:13 PM
senksiang,petronas is a non-living thing.how can they be hidup?
i think petronas is good.
01-07-2008, 03:18 PM
erm.. haha.. what i am trying to say is Long live petronas-though i feel that our allowance should go up since oil prices are sky-rocketing high!!
Arif87
23-10-2009, 12:46 AM
I was a Petronas scholar, and I am regretting myself choosing Petronas as I hate them deciding my career and future. My other mates are regretting as well, but what else can they do, being stucked in a company for 10 years. Many of them are even running away by breaching the bond contract (10 years bond, thats way too long and the salary is way too low , RM3500 not combarable with other overseas companies such as Shell, Schlumberger, Middle East companies where you can earn roughly starting salary from rm10,000-rm15000 per month depending on your course) But........thank god I breached the contract last year and I am GLAD. I am currently being sponsored by Mara at University of Liverpool, UK, doing geology degree.. To be honest, I feel like I am more less like a blissful man, as I am free to path way my career and decide what best/suit for me, and yet I can still work with Petronas if I want. What I am thinking of is getting a geologist work in UK, USA or Europe, or even Middle east as the oil/gas curent economy is certainly booming in this part of region. Good money = Good international experience :)
For Bumiputera, choose Mara seriously, in fact they are giving extra 200 pounds more on your monthly allowance than Petronas (Mara=650pounds, Petronas=450pounds), hell ya NO 10 years BOND required compared to Petronas or JPA, and most importantly Mara does not have any 'other' intention on using you,
just having a genuine intention to help Bumiputera community on education.
I am really glad what I am doing now, Insyallah good things will happen in future.
We plan, we do our best :D
Best wishes from Liverpool
24-10-2009, 09:05 AM
I would like to stress the same too, and to all those out there who are considering scholarship with a bond, think carefully. A 10 year bond can be very miserable. The picture will not surface at the moment of applying for scholarship, the hype of going overseas is too huge at that time, BUT, as you progress from post-spm to post-undergraduate, you will see that your future is being tied down by one and only one direction for a whopping 10 years, 10 years is not a short period. Is about 1/10 of your life. So think very carefully!
Too many people, particularly fresh SPM graduates, fell into this overseas trap. To Arif87, I'm happy that you regain your freedom.
26-10-2009, 08:46 PM
For me as a non-malays, I will happy to get anyone of the scholarship which I am after getting the JPA scholarship this year. However, when one gets more than one offer, one has to think clearly of what they want to do. This is because Petronas doesn't give scholarship for all the courses unlike MARA and JPA. On the other hand, Petronas tend to give more money and beter universities to do your pre-uni studies.
Mara is the only scholarship without a bond compared to JPA and Petronas. However, sometimes and I said sometimes, bonding can come in handy as government will look job for you instead. Thus, you won't be unemployed. On the other hand, without the bonding, you will work and settle down in foreign countries. That I can't say anything as it depends on you.
For me, one should be lucky to get the scholarship and think on your ambition then the pros and cons of the scholarship.
Glassylicious
26-10-2009, 09:38 PM
For me as a non-malays, I will happy to get anyone of the scholarship which I am after getting the JPA scholarship this year. However, when one gets more than one offer, one has to think clearly of what they want to do. This is because Petronas doesn't give scholarship for all the courses unlike MARA and JPA. On the other hand, Petronas tend to give more money and beter universities to do your pre-uni studies.
Mara is the only scholarship without a bond compared to JPA and Petronas. However, sometimes and I said sometimes, bonding can come in handy as government will look job for you instead. Thus, you won't be unemployed. On the other hand, without the bonding, you will work and settle down in foreign countries. That I can't say anything as it depends on you.
For me, one should be lucky to get the scholarship and think on your ambition then the pros and cons of the scholarship.
I know for a fact that the highlighted is NOT true.
Last I checked, a Petronas scholar studying in London gets about 180 pounds a month for food and living expenditures [not sure if they've increased it yet, but apparently the scholars have been told to "live like a student", which is just rofl]. Khazanah gives you 500. JPA gives you 950 [though you're also expected to pay for your accommodation with that 950, unlike Khazanah which will pay that separately for you].
Even when you're doing your pre-uni course locally, the allowance you get from Petronas isn't that high if I recall correctly. I can't remember the exact amount you get, but my hazy memory puts the figure at around RM300 a month for food and allowance, but someone correct me if I'm wrong.
28-10-2009, 08:23 PM
I know for a fact that the highlighted is NOT true.
Last I checked, a Petronas scholar studying in London gets about 180 pounds a month for food and living expenditures [not sure if they've increased it yet, but apparently the scholars have been told to "live like a student", which is just rofl]. Khazanah gives you 500. JPA gives you 950 [though you're also expected to pay for your accommodation with that 950, unlike Khazanah which will pay that separately for you].
Even when you're doing your pre-uni course locally, the allowance you get from Petronas isn't that high if I recall correctly. I can't remember the exact amount you get, but my hazy memory puts the figure at around RM300 a month for food and allowance, but someone correct me if I'm wrong.
I am not that sure about the local one but my sister who is a Petronas overseas scholar is getting an allowance of RM 500 a month and food and other accommodation are already. I am sorry if i presumed that their higher allowance at Malaysia compared to JPA and MARA. Maybe JPA and MARA will give more than Petronas at overseas, that I am not sure.
MARA and JPA students locally get 700. Petronas 450-500.
The other thing to watch out for is regarding your results, for which you need to maintain in order to continue receiving the scholarship.
wiley
29-10-2009, 11:34 PM
MARA and JPA students locally get 700. Petronas 450-500.
The other thing to watch out for is regarding your results, for which you need to maintain in order to continue receiving the scholarship.
If u are JPA or MARA scholar, u wouldn't worry bout your result in oversea. As long as you credit, that's will be fine. U don't have the pressure to maintain your result (80% above). I am not sure about Petronas benchmark for student achievement in oversea university.
confuser008
29-10-2009, 11:40 PM
If u are JPA or MARA scholar, u wouldn't worry bout your result in oversea. As long as you credit, that's will be fine. U don't have the pressure to maintain your result (80% above). I am not sure about Petronas benchmark for student achievement in oversea university.
I wonder why JPA or MARA don't exert minimum academic performance for each semester to the scholars that they sponsor to study overseas? Earning credit means that as long as they pass, let say a grade C-, they will continue to enjoy the scholarship. Does it make sense?
wiley
30-10-2009, 12:34 PM
I wonder why JPA or MARA don't exert minimum academic performance for each semester to the scholars that they sponsor to study overseas? Earning credit means that as long as they pass, let say a grade C-, they will continue to enjoy the scholarship. Does it make sense?
Standard is different for every universities, some top university is hardly to score while some universities are easy. Common sense. Cheers!
technicolor
30-10-2009, 02:19 PM
As a JPA scholar, I would say JPA is so far so good to me. :D
wiley
30-10-2009, 04:28 PM
yeah......JPA and Mara obviously are better....
30-10-2009, 09:47 PM
LOL. I'm a Petronas scholar. But after being filled with the details on the OVS programme I have to say Petronas is not so kind when we go ovs as compared to JPA or MARA But we shall wait and see and I shall judge once I go OVS to pursue my studies.
xxshadowed
30-11-2009, 12:07 AM
My cousin went for the JPA scholarship (medical) and after he finished his study in UK, the goverment ushered him to get his ass back here and work here instead so, it's not that much of an opportunity since JPA doesn't offer you work but as for Petronas, it's getting really tough to get into and i think its best to go with Petronas (plus they give you more allowance money)
Good Luck on deciding :]
aizrh
30-11-2009, 04:09 AM
I would like to encourage anyone who's reading to apply for MARA engineering scholarship in Moscow , Russia ..... now you too stand a chance to suffer like me.....:cry
wiley
01-12-2009, 01:23 AM
I would like to encourage anyone who's reading to apply for MARA engineering scholarship in Moscow , Russia ..... now you too stand a chance to suffer like me.....:cry
u r suffering in what ways??? on financial or academics ?? would u mind to share ur experiences???
I am a Petronas scholar in the US. Urm, so far, the allowance has never been changed since 2002. its USD 674 now. MARA gets USD 700. UK Petronas scholars are complaining that their allowance is not enough to feed them esp in the city areas like London. As for the US.. hahaa.. despite how low or whatnot, most students here work! We want experience and besides, it fills up the time in between. We get satisfaction from it though sometimes we wish that our sponsors would realise how outdated this scheme of alloting allowance is and perhaps update it taking into account inflation and rising prices.
another thing. PETRONAS will give you all sorts of job training once you are hired. You also get to go for camps during your 4 year studies overseas and while doing your pre-U. their mission is to build human capital for the company and driving forces and leaders. So consider this not only as a scholarship but as you already being part of the company.
Urm.. PS: We PETRONAS scholars in the US... some own cars here and most end up having load of fun travelling during holidays and also after we mengumpul duit from work. Road Trips are awesome!!!!