View Full Version : JPA scholars, wats your SPM results?
i will start with mine.
course: pharmacy
spm:12 A1,(gceo A1)
aioxen
11-05-2007, 10:31 AM
i think its better to include cgeo too....
uk pharmacy
10a1, 4b cgeo
11-05-2007, 10:31 AM
Kindly please post your course, country, and complete results, don't count GCE as an A or, you can state it in brackets. I believe for JPA, results still matter the most.
Sorry to sound a bit racist, but perhaps we should clarify whether status of bumi or non-bumi has any effect on the application results. I hope if you all don't mind, post status together.
sweetiojj
11-05-2007, 10:32 AM
hi..
13A1
get medic-australia
11-05-2007, 10:33 AM
show off thread?
zhuzhai89
11-05-2007, 10:34 AM
i got pharm in aus...
10 1As in spm
1A in gce
p/s : May i suggest we include bumi or non bumi status?
i am a non...
11-05-2007, 10:35 AM
show off thread?Perhaps, but it could be used as other students' guide to think how many subjects to take.....Haha..... Rat race for A is ..............for scholarship after all
German Engineering
-SPM - 10A1+1A2+1B4
11-05-2007, 10:38 AM
show off thread?Perhaps, but it could be used as other students' guide to think how many subjects to take.....Haha..... Rat race for A is ..............for scholarship after alli seriously hope the MoE will limit the numbers of subjects to 12 for next year... its a pointless rat race now...
and i don't think the numbers of A's are an appropriate guide for future students... ifs your marks that matters...
11-05-2007, 10:45 AM
i seriously hope the MoE will limit the numbers of subjects to 12 for next year... its a pointless rat race now...
and i don't think the numbers of A's are an appropriate guide for future students... ifs your marks that matters...
I agree that MoE should limit the subjects, but we can't stop the students from taking more and more subjects, some Form 3 students now are already aiming for scholarship, what to do?
Number of A should not be the guide, but it's a fact that it matters most.... I agree that scholarship is not everything, but we can't change the world, or perhaps kiasu Malaysians.
sore_four_eyes
11-05-2007, 10:46 AM
show off thread?Perhaps, but it could be used as other students' guide to think how many subjects to take.....Haha..... Rat race for A is ..............for scholarship after alli seriously hope the MoE will limit the numbers of subjects to 12 for next year... its a pointless rat race now...
It's also for JPA rejects to see where they went wrong. So co-cu was fine, interview was fine. Oh wait, I didn't get enough A's. Oh. Rupa-rupanya.
Conclusion: you want the scholarship? 12 As or no need to bother.
11-05-2007, 10:47 AM
i seriously hope the MoE will limit the numbers of subjects to 12 for next year... its a pointless rat race now...
I agree that MoE should limit the subjects, but we can't stop the students from taking more and more subjects, some Form 3 students now are already aiming for scholarship, what to do?
Number of A should not be the guide, but it's a fact that it matters most.... I agree that scholarship is not everything, but we can't change the world, or perhaps kiasu Malaysians.just look at the number of people who are thinking that Armageddon is coming just because they didn't get it...
seriously, i am starting to think of scholarships (esp JPA) is becoming something of a tongkat for malaysians...
Tasslehoff
11-05-2007, 10:49 AM
I dont think that matters at all... the sad thing is that most them will disappear after that. only the truly exceptional ones shine and even those are a just a handful.
11-05-2007, 11:02 AM
just look at the number of people who are thinking that Armageddon is coming just because they didn't get it...
seriously, i am starting to think of scholarships (esp JPA) is becoming something of a tongkat for malaysians...
I've seen some already, within hours after the results are released.
11-05-2007, 11:03 AM
I dont think that matters at all... the sad thing is that most them will disappear after that. only the truly exceptional ones shine and even those are a just a handful.
Anyway, what do you mean by shine? Getting into top unis?
11-05-2007, 11:06 AM
Anyway, what do you mean by shine? Getting into top unis?i prefer: being successful on life and not whining over failures with things that are out of control...
amcian
11-05-2007, 11:07 AM
yea...
many students hu r good in coco n interview dinget it juz bcuz they hav 1 a2 in spm....
izit reali mean dat those with straight a1s r better?
they juz hav mor a1s..dats all....
n i doubt dat jpa reali consider one's coco performance n interview too...
dat's m'sia edu system....
despair
11-05-2007, 11:07 AM
course:architecture
spm: 8A1, 2A2, 1b3( gceo:A1)
11-05-2007, 11:12 AM
yea...
many students hu r good in coco n interview dinget it juz bcuz they hav 1 a2 in spm....
You might not like it, but you have to accept that's JPA's way of selection. I strongly believe interview is *just a process*.
sore_four_eyes
11-05-2007, 11:13 AM
Congrats with those results. :P
Tasslehoff
11-05-2007, 11:18 AM
Anyway, what do you mean by shine? Getting into top unis?
follow this and you'll see that the numbers decline
admission into top unis ----> done/won any awards that is notable
Take a look at our neighbour, Singapore. they hand out scholarships solely on meritocracy. check out the databases and you can see how well they all continue to excel in thier respective career paths.
11-05-2007, 11:18 AM
Course: Medicine
Results: 15A1, 1A2, GCE-O levels-A1
Tasslehoff
11-05-2007, 11:20 AM
yea...
You might not like it, but you have to accept that's JPA's way of selection. I strongly believe interview is *just a process*.
:D well actually its pointless talking about it now... lets see how the JPA 2007 batch fare in 3 years time.
the prospects for the JPA 2006 batch arent looking that good currently anyways.
iceelf_jy
11-05-2007, 11:35 AM
Course : Dentistry
Result : 11 A1 ,GEe O levels A2
par_mu
11-05-2007, 12:17 PM
Course:Social science.
SPM 2006 RESULTS:7A1,2A2,2B3 (GCEO:A1)
syiang
11-05-2007, 12:43 PM
12A1, 1A2, GCE-O: 3
Kevin89
11-05-2007, 12:43 PM
Result: 11 A1, 1 A2, gceo A2
Daniel_Chin
11-05-2007, 01:37 PM
I didn't get it although I got 8A1, 4A2, and GCE-A1. :(
Eternality
11-05-2007, 01:53 PM
Result : 11 A1 , GEe O levels B3
zureen
11-05-2007, 02:03 PM
Results: 15A1, 1A2, GCE-O levels-A1
your results are FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!
congratulations! i hope petronas send me to UK..
11-05-2007, 02:11 PM
course: eng
result:11a1, 1a2(spm), a2(gceo)
11-05-2007, 02:11 PM
Course: Engineering
Results: 9A1 3A2 1B4
starcatcher89
11-05-2007, 02:15 PM
SPM 2006 : 10A1 GCE-O A1
despair
11-05-2007, 02:23 PM
Congrats with those results. :P
thnks..
despair
11-05-2007, 02:24 PM
umm, did u apply for the same course??
11-05-2007, 02:27 PM
SPM 2006 : 10A1 GCE-O A1Bumi or non-Bumi?
Daniel_Chin
11-05-2007, 02:28 PM
umm, did u apply for the same course??
Ya, exactly...
jac6198
11-05-2007, 02:59 PM
result: 13a1 gceo a1
course: medic(ireland)
i have a fren wif 13a1 and was not offered any scholarships... i think besides looking at ur results, jpa do take into account other aspects
11-05-2007, 03:02 PM
my friend, top 100, got 14a1, same like me, was offered medicine in czech republic.
ken89
11-05-2007, 03:05 PM
11A1, 1A2, A1 for GCE-O
Shannon
11-05-2007, 03:06 PM
Course: Vet Science
Results: 12A1 1A2 (GCEO - 1A)
Congrats to everyone who got the scholarship!!! :D
course:medicine, IMU
results:12A1, GCE-O:A1
11-05-2007, 03:22 PM
German Engineering
12A1, 1A2 ( GCE O : A2 )
11-05-2007, 03:27 PM
UK Medicine
15A1, 1A2, GCE-O: A1
11-05-2007, 03:29 PM
UK Medicine
15A1, 1A2, GCE-O: A1 dear wat did u gt A2 ? i RELI admire u oh.. U r SO COOL ~
may we keep in touch ? Exchange no. ? 0168225665
11-05-2007, 03:34 PM
UK Medicine
Ekonomi Asas...which i still can't believe..anyway,nvr mindla...getting UK Medic is good enough for me :D ...thankss..
11-05-2007, 03:37 PM
UK Medicine
Ekonomi Asas...which i still can't believe..anyway,nvr mindla...getting UK Medic is good enough for me :D ...thankss.. ur hp no. pls ?
11-05-2007, 03:43 PM
UK Medicine
Why you seem so eager to reveal your personal contact number? There's something called PM. You should ask for personal contacts through that.
UK Medicine
Ekonomi Asas...which i still can't believe..anyway,nvr mindla...getting UK Medic is good enough for me :D ...thankss.. ur hp no. pls ?
y dont u just pm her??
tis a forum... nt cht room
mizi28
11-05-2007, 03:45 PM
5A1,3A2,4B3 GCE-O: 6C
how lucky am i?
11-05-2007, 03:47 PM
5A1,3A2,4B2 GCE-O: 6C
how lucky am i?Very lucky, indeed.
zureen
11-05-2007, 03:51 PM
UK Medicine
y dont u just pm her??
maybe jetlee was soo eager..he forgot the existence of pm..let him off the hook la guys..haha..
btw sue89,again i state,fantastic results!
how lucky am i?
extremely extremely extremely extrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeemmmmmmmeeeeeeelllyyyyyy lucky
Daniel_Chin
11-05-2007, 04:03 PM
how lucky am i?
The luckiest I can say............ 8O
11-05-2007, 04:06 PM
how lucky am i?
The luckiest I can say............ 8O yes lucky, I wld say. But u wont get tis without effort. I'm sure u done a good job in interview.
11-05-2007, 04:08 PM
UK Medicine
may we keep in touch ? Exchange no. ? REMOVED
y dont u just pm her??
maybe jetlee was soo eager..he forgot the existence of pm..let him off the hook la guys..haha..
btw sue89,again i state,fantastic results! yes very eager , indeed... so juz make it in public. huhu :P
mizi28
11-05-2007, 04:10 PM
i'm surprised too.really unexpected.
tq..tq..tq..
8)
11-05-2007, 04:18 PM
UK Medicine
y dont u just pm her??
Thanks, zureen...i bet u did well too...congrats to u...n as for the hp. no i don't feel comfortable sharing my hp. no with the WHOLE WORLD..no offence ya..
11-05-2007, 04:22 PM
UK Medicine
y dont u just pm her??
Thanks, zureen...i bet u did well too...congrats to u...n as for the hp. no i don't feel comfortable sharing my hp. no with the WHOLE WORLD..no offence ya.. em hmm ... how lah... :( :( :( :( :( got rejected
11-05-2007, 04:25 PM
em hmm ... how lah... :( :( :( :( :( got rejected
Man, there's something called PM, try there again, perhaps she'll accept.....
JackChin
11-05-2007, 04:27 PM
hi,everyone.
i get medicine to Australia!
my SPM result is 13A1,GCE(A1)...
11-05-2007, 04:30 PM
Straight A1 and dint get (gceo A1 as well) :cry:
nth much i can say now..
can i know how many JPA scholars out there are successful now?in life, career..anything...
starfire
11-05-2007, 04:47 PM
i have a fren wif 13a1 and was not offered any scholarships... i think besides looking at ur results, jpa do take into account other aspects
like...your parents' income? damn...where's the meritocracy??
i got 12a1 and 1a2 (chinese), gceo a1...yet nothing. :(
11-05-2007, 04:51 PM
em hmm ... how lah... :( :( :( :( :( got rejected
Man, there's something called PM, try there again, perhaps she'll accept..... I tried. No reply yet.
11-05-2007, 04:52 PM
like...your parents' income? damn...where's the meritocracy??
i got 12a1 and 1a2 (chinese), gceo a1...yet nothing. :(starfire u oso didnt get !? how come !?
u gt petronas meh ? u shd get u shd get
mumeichan
11-05-2007, 04:54 PM
acturial science here.
Got 13A1, 2A2 and 1B3. I fell quite lucky actually. You should pray more, it helps.
bihafana
11-05-2007, 04:56 PM
huhu??
i get it
medicine ---international medical college..(IMU)
im very curious to know..
1)how is d programme??full rite??
2)PILN(program ijazah luar negara) means outside d country rite??how come IMU???
3)n how they evaluate us??
my fwen only get 9As but she gets for canada..
haiz..haiz...
me n ma fwen got 12As but we just get IMU??(gceo oso A1)..haiz..haiz..
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
huhu..
11-05-2007, 04:56 PM
acturial science here.
Got 13A1, 2A2 and 1B3. I fell quite lucky actually. You should pray more, it helps. wat gt u A2 n B3 ? act I think interview section play its role...
mumeichan
11-05-2007, 04:58 PM
acturial science here.
Got 13A1, 2A2 and 1B3. I fell quite lucky actually. You should pray more, it helps. wat gt u A2 n B3 ? act I think interview section play its role...
A2 in moral and bio
b3 in bible knowledge.
I do think interview plays a small role as well as relevant subjects.
11-05-2007, 04:58 PM
huhu??
i get it
2)PILN(program ijazah luar negara) means outside d country rite??how come IMU???
haiz..haiz...
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
huhu..this shd be a twinning programme so u hv chance to study overseas... well... did u two did well enough in interview .. ?
Ehmmm... 12 A1- GCE-O LEVEL A2
ACCOUNTING - AUSTRALIA
Ai.... Actually i'm a science stream student, but i choose accounting for the jpa.. Sounds crazy n stupid, is it?? wuwuwu... :cry:
honginn89
11-05-2007, 04:59 PM
Australia, Actuarial Science
11A1 GCE-O: A2
11-05-2007, 05:07 PM
Ehmmm... 12 A1- GCE-O LEVEL A2
ACCOUNTING - AUSTRALIA
Ai.... Actually i'm a science stream student, but i choose accounting for the jpa.. Sounds crazy n stupid, is it?? wuwuwu... :cry: hey I dun think so.. bcoz any of those got JPA in accountancy are Science stream students.. less Art stream's hv Excellent result.. urs is great.
11-05-2007, 05:08 PM
11A1 GCE-O: A2 hey honginn u typed wrong for ur GCE O result ? u shd get an A1 wat...
Good on you man... Actually wat is Actuarial Science la?? i'm dunno le.. sorry... Could u please kindly explain 2 me??? :oops:
11-05-2007, 05:11 PM
huhu??
i get it
haiz..haiz...
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
huhu..
Normally, IMU are twinning programmes.....
11-05-2007, 05:17 PM
Good on you man... Actually wat is Actuarial Science la?? i'm dunno le.. sorry... Could u please kindly explain 2 me??? :oops: did u ever hear "actuarial science" dude ..? :? :?
sihan
11-05-2007, 05:18 PM
Results are not important. I wish to to tell you all honestly. Results are only the bridges that connect you to various kind of scholarships. But if you want to get direct programme for medicine and pharmacy, you must at least score more than 12A1s. My experience in Intec teaches me about this. For twinning programme like IMU, 11A1s is sufficient, Manipal India, most of them who appeal will get manipal. I'm not trying to discourage anyone. If you want to appeal for IMU or PMC, it's almost impossible...
Btw, good luck to all of the scholars. Hopefully can see you all in Intec
11-05-2007, 05:21 PM
Results are not important. I wish to to tell you all honestly. Results are only the bridges that connect you to various kind of scholarships. But if you want to get direct programme for medicine and pharmacy, you must at least score more than 12A1s. My experience in Intec teaches me about this. For twinning programme like IMU, 11A1s is sufficient, Manipal India, most of them who appeal will get manipal. I'm not trying to discourage anyone. If you want to appeal for IMU or PMC, it's almost impossible...
Btw, good luck to all of the scholars. Hopefully can see you all in Intec acting as d bridge to various scholarships is important enough. Dun u think so ? if u got 6As n u wan to study medicine.. is it possible ? U muz hv good result to proceed to next stage smoothly, although later it become useless.. but d life then is because of d result.
Good on you man... Actually wat is Actuarial Science la?? i'm dunno le.. sorry... Could u please kindly explain 2 me??? :oops: did u ever hear "actuarial science" dude ..? :? :?
Haiya.. Dun be so angry ma.. actually i only heard of it when i filled in the form to apply for the jpa scholarship... ya.. so wat is it la?? 8O
11-05-2007, 05:27 PM
Haiya.. Dun be so angry ma.. actually i only heard of it when i filled in the form to apply for the jpa scholarship... ya.. so wat is it la?? 8O I hv ntg to do on ANGRY.. I juz feeling weird coz u seem to be dunno this completely.. well.. in short, it is something to do with calculating, More to mathematics.
8O ohh... sorry ma, nobody told me tat words b4 ma.. ai.. thanx anyway.. u seem rather bz answering other recomers question.. kk then dun want 2 disturb u liao..hehe.. gud on u ...thanx.. 8)
Actuarial science is about calculating risks.... Hafta be good at math to take it.
11-05-2007, 05:46 PM
8O ohh... sorry ma, nobody told me tat words b4 ma.. ai.. thanx anyway.. u seem rather bz answering other recomers question.. kk then dun want 2 disturb u liao..hehe.. gud on u ...thanx.. 8) wat r u trying to imply ..? :?
Actuarial science is about calculating risks.... Hafta be good at math to take it.
Ai.. i wish i could find out about it earlier.. i luv math n calculating.. instead i apply for accounting for jpa... anyway.. i'm grateful. thnx for ur info... 8O
11-05-2007, 05:47 PM
Actuarial science is about calculating risks.... Hafta be good at math to take it. u syok luh... gt engineering in UK ! congrats !
8O ohh... sorry ma, nobody told me tat words b4 ma.. ai.. thanx anyway.. u seem rather bz answering other recomers question.. kk then dun want 2 disturb u liao..hehe.. gud on u ...thanx.. 8) wat r u trying to imply ..? :?
Chill... i hav nothing 2 imply la.. sorry if i offended u somehow.. sorry...
11-05-2007, 05:52 PM
Actuarial science is about calculating risks.... Hafta be good at math to take it. u shd be very happy in securing engineering in UK... huhu
jia you.
11-05-2007, 05:52 PM
Ai.. i wish i could find out about it earlier.. i luv math n calculating.. instead i apply for accounting for jpa... anyway.. i'm grateful. thnx for ur info... 8O woh.. U dun make thgs clear b4 u do anythg...
11-05-2007, 05:53 PM
Chill... i hav nothing 2 imply la.. sorry if i offended u somehow.. sorry... hey dun always say sorry to me.. tis makes me sound chicken hearted... bcoz d fact tat it is not.
zell_ll
11-05-2007, 06:59 PM
show off thread?
Agree with you..haha, show off thread...
zell_ll
11-05-2007, 07:06 PM
huhu??
i get it
haiz..haiz...
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
huhu..
Normally, IMU are twinning programmes.....
Yes IMU is quite a good programme..u study in IMU for 1st n 2nd year, 3 year onward u will continue ur study oversea...based on ur result in IMU...IMU do offer twinning with lots of uni in ireland, uk, aussie etc etc...
11-05-2007, 07:09 PM
show off thread?
Agree with you..haha, show off thread... things always hv two sides.
-SHeaN-
12-05-2007, 12:45 AM
hey mizi28
r u a bumiputra?
mizi28
12-05-2007, 12:52 AM
hey mizi28
r u a bumiputra?
by looking at my name u shud noe..btw off course i'm bumiputra
sweetiojj
12-05-2007, 12:58 AM
12A1, 1A2, GCE-O: 3
u r non bumi?
sweetiojj
12-05-2007, 01:02 AM
[quote="jac6198"]result: 13a1 gceo a1
u get ireland...same results with u..my coco is good..btw i didn;t get ireland. i get australia. i hope to go ireland.. my friends 12a1 and 13 a1 they all get ireland..sobs..anybody can sugest whether i can chnage the country?? haha..
groundum
12-05-2007, 01:13 AM
how lucky am i?
u r lucky to be born in malaysia...not bad..well done..good job
12-05-2007, 01:29 AM
ermmm...how about ALG???
before this, was there any applicants who managed to get ALG after appealed??? i seriously doubt that...pls give me some opinions... :? :?
i applied for german engineering...would they eventually send me to korea, japan or other country if there are spaces available???really need some opinions.... :? :? :? :?
much thankss in advance....
12-05-2007, 04:55 AM
jetlee, do you have to be reminded of the existence of the edit button? your posts looks like spam...
For those who think their various A's are worth a better place, you have been given a place in a scholarship that a lot more failed to get. Life isn't a bed of roses for you to lie on and get everything you want.
If you aren't satisfied, phone or write a letter to JPA detailing to why is it that you want the places in a different destination. The number of A's isn't the reason why they should give a place for you
Remember this as well, it's a gift to you from malaysians. If you still aren't satisfied with it, there is always an option to reject it. Let those who really need it to have your place...
12-05-2007, 05:46 AM
Firstly, congratulations to everyone who secured a scholarship.
Secondly, I don't wanna be a killjoy but let me warn you, there is still a long road in front of you.
I'm in Germany currently in my 4th year and graduating soon.
From what I saw during my A-Levels in INTEC, a lot of students took it easy and achieved less than desirable results.
Once you're in Germany, another bigger hurdle awaits. There are students sent home after not making the cut. There are no more 2nd chances from JPA/Government anymore here. Just to let you know.
P.S. If you fail a subject for the 2nd time in Germany, you have to appeal to resit a 3rd time. If you fail again, you are expelled from studying any course with this subject in any other Uni in the state.
Also not forgetting the embarassment of watching your juniors in a higher semester than you are. Sometimes it's better to just go home.
But all in all, take it as a challenge and enjoy! At least I am.
12-05-2007, 06:10 AM
Firstly, congratulations to everyone who secured a scholarship.
Secondly, I don't wanna be a killjoy but let me warn you, there is still a long road in front of you.
I'm in Germany currently in my 4th year and graduating soon.
From what I saw during my A-Levels in INTEC, a lot of students took it easy and achieved less than desirable results.
Once you're in Germany, another bigger hurdle awaits. There are students sent home after not making the cut. There are no more 2nd chances from JPA/Government anymore here. Just to let you know.
P.S. If you fail a subject for the 2nd time in Germany, you have to appeal to resit a 3rd time. If you fail again, you are expelled from studying any course with this subject in any other Uni in the state.
Also not forgetting the embarassment of watching your juniors in a higher semester than you are. Sometimes it's better to just go home.
But all in all, take it as a challenge and enjoy! At least I am.at our age frame, nothing is more satisfying that finishing your course in an unfamiliar environment ;)
galfera
12-05-2007, 08:30 AM
jetlee, do you have to be reminded of the existence of the edit button? your posts looks like spam...
For those who think their various A's are worth a better place, you have been given a place in a scholarship that a lot more failed to get. Life isn't a bed of roses for you to lie on and get everything you want.
If you aren't satisfied, phone or write a letter to JPA detailing to why is it that you want the places in a different destination. The number of A's isn't the reason why they should give a place for you
Remember this as well, it's a gift to you from malaysians. If you still aren't satisfied with it, there is always an option to reject it. Let those who really need it to have your place...
what r u trying 2 say?
btw,....
course: engineering
9A1 + 1B3( EST ) + 1A1 ( GCE-O )
12-05-2007, 08:33 AM
what r u trying 2 say? how good your results are doesn't completely justify the reasons why they should give the scholarship to you...
Zephyr
12-05-2007, 08:45 AM
course:biotech
spm:12A1 (GCEO A1)
may i noe anyone got d same course and country as me???
12-05-2007, 09:52 AM
Straight A1 and dint get (gceo A1 as well) :cry:
nth much i can say now..
can i know how many JPA scholars out there are successful now?in life, career..anything...
Any1?
i saw in newspaper today that alll the 13A1 can get the scholarships...did i see wrong??y shoudn't me??
Or those are top 100??
12-05-2007, 10:04 AM
u get ireland...same results with u..my coco is good..btw i didn;t get ireland. i get australia. i hope to go ireland.. my friends 12a1 and 13 a1 they all get ireland..sobs..anybody can sugest whether i can chnage the country?? haha..
It's almost impossible to change country, especially from country of lower cost to country of higher cost. However, they can still "downgrade" you if you can't achieve the cut-off point.
admin07
12-05-2007, 02:38 PM
result same w u.. but din get it...
Actuarial Science
honginn89 (Actuarial Science) - Australia
Moozy (Actuarial Science) - USA
dreychaith (Actuarial Science) - Australia
luvlyrose90 (Actuarial Science) - USA
mumeichan (Acturial Science) - USA
salary less than RM 1500 ( wat u rite there!)
ur family members r gov servants?
bumi or non bumi?
sorry...
galfera
12-05-2007, 03:41 PM
until, now i'm still in a shock because i got jpa... why i get it? i got only 9A1 1B3 ( EST ) + A1 ( GCE O ) in spm... how come? n i'm a 2nd class bumi... i didnt have high expectation coz of my not so excellent result.... n yet i got it....
:?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?: :?:
lurveadee
12-05-2007, 03:52 PM
i got 7a1 n2a2..n they send me to india for dentistry...
quite suprising..
sihan
12-05-2007, 03:53 PM
until, now i'm still in a shock because i got jpa... why i get it? i got only 9A1 1B3 ( EST ) + A1 ( GCE O ) in spm... how come? n i'm a 2nd class bumi... i didnt have high expectation coz of my not so excellent result.... n yet i got it....
Don't look down at the magnitude of 2nd-class bumi..... It can help you tremendously......
sihan
12-05-2007, 03:58 PM
ermmm...how about ALG???
before this, was there any applicants who managed to get ALG after appealed??? i seriously doubt that...pls give me some opinions... :? :?
i applied for german engineering...would they eventually send me to korea, japan or other country if there are spaces available???really need some opinions.... :? :? :? :?
much thankss in advance....
ALG.... Not sure.... I don't think so....
iceelf_jy
12-05-2007, 04:27 PM
quite suprising..
r u a bumi r non-bumi?
sihan
12-05-2007, 04:40 PM
UK Medicine
y dont u just pm her??
JetLee, too bad I think sue89 won't be coming to Intec lo.. She will probably go to KMB or KYUEM... Btw, sue89, really fantastic result and you deserve the scholarship
lurveadee
12-05-2007, 05:07 PM
quite suprising..
r u a bumi r non-bumi?
u simply can guess my status by looking at my username..btw,i'm bumi..
u think,i deserve dis schlrshp or not?(based on my spm)
12-05-2007, 05:10 PM
u simply can guess my status by looking at my username..btw,i'm bumi..
u think,i deserve dis schlrshp or not?(based on my spm)don't ask them. Justify them giving you this scholarship later on... prove yourself worthy of it...
bihafana
12-05-2007, 05:14 PM
huhu??
i get it
haiz..haiz...
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
huhu..this shd be a twinning programme so u hv chance to study overseas... well... did u two did well enough in interview .. ?
yup..i think i had done a very good job in ma interview..huhu..anywy,i really appreciate ur attention..thanx.. :D
firebolt
12-05-2007, 06:34 PM
so u r offered d scholarship to study locally?(IMU) correct me if i am wrong. :wink:
galfera
12-05-2007, 07:17 PM
Don't look down at the magnitude of 2nd-class bumi..... It can help you tremendously......
from ur answer, i assume u come from sabah or s'wak... u dont know anything bout us... r u hua ren?
shimmi
12-05-2007, 09:18 PM
huhu??
i get it
haiz..haiz...
very discontented maa...
but im thankful anyway..
yup..i think i had done a very good job in ma interview..huhu..anywy,i really appreciate ur attention..thanx.. :D
i got imu too.. did some research bout it.. it's a twinning programme. u have to do a levels in intec for 2 years, then 2 1/2 yrs in imu after that 2 1/2 yrs overseas ( the country will depend on our result and interview, i guess). it's quite the same with other twinning programme like pmc & mmc. it's just that we will study in msia first. i got 11A1(including gceo).. a few of my friends with the same result got imu too. two of my friends who didn't got full A1s got Russia. I guess which country doesn't matter, just have to work hard to become a good doctor :wink:
12-05-2007, 10:28 PM
15a1 and actuarial science to us.
jasmine_tea
13-05-2007, 01:31 AM
SPM 11 A1 (Gce-0 = A2)
accountancy
australia
13-05-2007, 10:35 AM
After so many students posted their results, you can see the trend for medicine, at least 11A1 for India, Poland, Russia etc...,12A1 for IMU, 13A1 for Australia...... It seems results still matter the most, but the status also helps..... Also, if you find someone without special status and uncommon results (i.e lower than normal results which the country is offered), you can check whether he/she has special relationship with some people......
13-05-2007, 11:58 AM
After so many students posted their results, you can see the trend for medicine, at least 11A1 for India, Poland, Russia etc...,12A1 for IMU, 13A1 for Australia...... It seems results still matter the most, but the status also helps..... Also, if you find someone without special status and uncommon results (i.e lower than normal results which the country is offered), you can check whether he/she has special relationship with some people......
My friend with 14 A1 get australia -medic...
Ireland or australia better for medic?
duke23
13-05-2007, 12:16 PM
Australia is definitely better.Some universities Like Melbourne uni and sydney Uni have very prestigious medical schools.On the other hand RCSI is basically a row of shophouses in dublin.Believe me.Australia medical degrees are highly sought after especially if u graduate from melbourne and sydney.THe standard of entry into these uni's are very high too.i've got friends who had 3b's for a levels and even bbc getting admission into irish med schools.You need all a's for a levels to just apply for admission into melbourne and getting in is another battle altogether.
13-05-2007, 12:23 PM
Australia is definitely better.Some universities Like Melbourne uni and sydney Uni have very prestigious medical schools.On the other hand RCSI is basically a row of shophouses in dublin.Believe me.Australia medical degrees are highly sought after especially if u graduate from melbourne and sydney.THe standard of entry into these uni's are very high too.i've got friends who had 3b's for a levels and even bbc getting admission into irish med schools.You need all a's for a levels to just apply for admission into melbourne and getting in is another battle altogether.
o..ok..thanks you
coffee_chiffon
13-05-2007, 12:24 PM
architecture in australia
7a1 3a2 gceo(a2)
so u r offered d scholarship to study locally?(IMU) correct me if i am wrong. :wink:
i thought its twinning program? like 2.5+3 or something like that.. its program ijazah luar negara afterall.
14-05-2007, 06:48 PM
i thought its twinning program? like 2.5+3 or something like that.. its program ijazah luar negara afterall.
yeah, it should b...
2.5+2.5...
to either UK / Australia...
14-05-2007, 06:49 PM
Moderator Note: Moved the thread to "scholarships" section.
14-05-2007, 06:51 PM
by the way, i got Medicine...
International Medical University....
12A1 , gce-o A1
limeuu
14-05-2007, 06:57 PM
too late for you all, both sydney and melbourne are now graduate medical schools, ie, you need a degree first............only 5 unis left taking undergraduate international students............
bihafana
14-05-2007, 08:36 PM
haiz..
one of ma frens only got 8A1s in spm..she gets medicine(india)
n a fren of mine oso got 10A1 in spm..she gets medicine(aussie)
bihafana
14-05-2007, 08:40 PM
haiz..
14-05-2007, 08:56 PM
haiz..
where is aussie???
i_yeani
14-05-2007, 10:15 PM
aussie is australia.. correct me if i'm mistaken..
pharmacy, UK
11A1, gce-o 1A
14-05-2007, 11:14 PM
aussie is australia.. correct me if i'm mistaken..
pharmacy, UK
11A1, gce-o 1A
u r right...
haiz..
where is aussie???
OMG! im sorry if i sound rude but i feel like slamming my head against the wall. i think aussie is in asia pacific. it's where ian thorpe is from and that's the country that slayed our reviving hockey team. it's australia. :p
haiz..
where is aussie???
OMG! im sorry if i sound rude but i feel like slamming my head against the wall. aussie is where ian thorpe came from and it's also the country that slayed our reviving hockey team. it's in asia pacific and it's archrival is New Zealand. It's australia. :P
sweetiojj
15-05-2007, 12:03 AM
[quote=sweetiojj]u get ireland...same results with u..my coco is good..btw i didn;t get ireland. i get australia. i hope to go ireland.. my friends 12a1 and 13 a1 they all get ireland..sobs..anybody can sugest whether i can chnage the country?? haha..
It's almost impossible to change country, especially from country of lower cost to country of higher cost. However, they can still "downgrade" you if you can't achieve the cut-off point.[/quote
ermm.. i think i won;t change the country.. i ll accept what has been offered to me..i have to be grateful of what i had been offered!!! :D CHEERS
sweetiojj
15-05-2007, 12:11 AM
too late for you all, both sydney and melbourne are now graduate medical schools, ie, you need a degree first............only 5 unis left taking undergraduate international students............
oh really? then what other medical schools that we can study exceot 4 uni of mel and sydney? why they wan to chnge the modules? so where can we get the prestigious bachelor degree!? it makes my dream to study in both of that unis scatteredd!! :cry:
nysha
15-05-2007, 08:48 AM
show off thread?
agreed!! :P
Ipad guides (http://ipadguides.info)
15-05-2007, 11:03 AM
show off thread?
agreed!! :P
Totally..
15-05-2007, 03:58 PM
haiz..
where is aussie???
Australia. Wow, are our friend all bumi. I don't think a non-bumi can get this scholarship with their results.
Certainly....usually for non-bumi 10/11A1 and above only can get medic...
limeuu
15-05-2007, 07:08 PM
oh really? then what other medical schools that we can study exceot 4 uni of mel and sydney? why they wan to chnge the modules? so where can we get the prestigious bachelor degree!? it makes my dream to study in both of that unis scatteredd!! :cry:
monash
uwa
unsw
utas
adelaide
newcastle (no international intake)
bond (new uni, not recognised by mmc)
all will train you well...............that is the difference between the 1st and 3rd world, the range of anything is narrow and wide respectively, whether in standards of education, income level, etc........ :)
15-05-2007, 08:23 PM
Does IMU twins 2 UK besides Australia?
anyone know of any other countries?
is the preparation course 4 UK different from that of Australia?
deathcraze
17-05-2007, 01:53 AM
16A1, GCE-O: A1
medic- IMU
:?
19-05-2007, 06:31 PM
medic- IMU
oh wow!!! 16 A1!!!! Congrats 4 nice results!
u should get UK lar...thr is one gurl here wiv 15A1 & 1 A2 gets UK...
anyway, it's faith...
sweetiojj
20-05-2007, 12:08 AM
so few unis in australia for us to choose...??? maybe jpa should have aanother choice for us to choose after aussie since they change their modules in most of unis...
medic- IMU
oh wow!!! 16 A1!!!! Congrats 4 nice results!
u should get UK lar...thr is one gurl here wiv 15A1 & 1 A2 gets UK...
anyway, it's faith...
agree with baby_ubake, with such good result, u should be given better place to study, deathcraze....
really admire u, excellent result!!
siewleng89
22-05-2007, 03:38 AM
wow...congratz to everyone here... :D
13A1 - GCE-O: A1
dentistry UK..
anyway, happy studying!
study hard, serve the community...hmmmm :lol:
yikming
25-05-2007, 04:51 AM
I get engineering in Germany.My Spm result is 9A1 and 1A2(Chinese).I never thought I will get the Jpa scholarship,perhaps is easier to get if choose Germany?s engineering because maybe is cheaper compare to the others country.In my opinion,I think go to America study sure will be better choice.Please correct me if I am wrong.
25-05-2007, 05:03 AM
You are wrong...and also right.
velvetteen
25-05-2007, 05:17 AM
wow,16 1A n to IMU?!agree wif everyone here,u deserve better!!
15 1A (GCE O 1A)
UK,Medic under JPA
Bumi
and this thread is hilarious! :lol: show offs?hahaha look at d positive side lah..n personally,because we don use our real names here,its more + than -ve!at d vry least,those who hvnt sit 4 their spm yet, can know how much does it take to get uk n others-bound schlrshps!I guess it also teaches us not to be overcndent (honestly,i wasnt confident also :) ) n not to expect too much in securing a scholarship esp JPA becoz there'r lots of xtra xcellent students out there!!
Congrats guys!
25-05-2007, 10:07 PM
wow,16 1A n to IMU?!agree wif everyone here,u deserve better!!
15 1A (GCE O 1A)
UK,Medic under JPA
Bumi
and this thread is hilarious! :lol: show offs?hahaha look at d positive side lah..n personally,because we don use our real names here,its more + than -ve!at d vry least,those who hvnt sit 4 their spm yet, can know how much does it take to get uk n others-bound schlrshps!I guess it also teaches us not to be overcndent (honestly,i wasnt confident also :) ) n not to expect too much in securing a scholarship esp JPA becoz there'r lots of xtra xcellent students out there!!
Congrats guys!
yeah...every year the straight A's students increase...
& the number of A's a student gets oso increase...
everyone try 2 get more & more straight A's...
& mebbe nex time, those who got 11A1's, 12A1's, 13A1's... are not even eligible for Jpa's medicine course...
the least: 15A1's. :?
wonder when this rat-race will end... :(
25-05-2007, 11:25 PM
It will never end. Human beings have an urge to improve themselves and always be better than their previous counterparts.
windhoe2
26-05-2007, 04:37 AM
For your information, FULL COURSE in RCSI under JPA scholarship is already not allowed last 2 years and wont be the case in the future too as the tuition fees cost about RM 1 million. Now only PMC + RCSI is allowed
For your information, RCSI is not row of shops in Dublin.
If melbourne is now off the list for undergraduate, then the fate of Aussie medical students end up in IMU twinning programme is most likely. Be prepared to accept the fate in 2 years time
ele911
26-05-2007, 09:58 AM
Result: 11 A1, 1 A2, gceo A2
Hi may i noe u gt A2 in wat subject? my result same as u 11A1 1A2 in bahasa cina bt my GCEO gt A1 so unlucky i din get offer. 8O :?: :?:
jojyi
26-05-2007, 07:27 PM
Course: engineering
13A1,GCE-O:A1...hehe nvr tot tat my english can get A1!haha...As i m chinese educated...haha
You are wrong...and also right.
Wrong : As Germany isn't cheaper if compared with other country.
Right : America study will be better choice for Engineering
Is it??
btw... for mechanical engineering.. German is an ideal place or not?
and can anyone in Baden-W?rttemberg c Porsche cars (new,concept,exotic) driving around? (as i know.. Porsche HQ located @<hidden> Baden)
26-05-2007, 08:27 PM
Germany is good in its engineering sector but the problem of going there is the language barrier.
yikming
26-05-2007, 09:46 PM
besides languages problem,education system there keep changing n not world recognised.
u sound regret for shortlisted for Germany Engineering... Regret that US engineering is better, Germany engineering is not world recognized.. if u keep thinking that ... better for u to reject it and it gives chance to others.... LOL
yikming
27-05-2007, 02:26 AM
helo,mister,i just voice out my opinion ok?recom is sumwhere we discuss n share our opinion.furthermore,i din thk tat german engineering is not good.i feel very lucky can get the jpa scholarship not like sum ppl.
not like sum ppl?
http://s14ever.freeforums.org/files/s14ever/smilies/sweat.gif
amcian
09-06-2007, 11:52 AM
i hav a question...
if a person wif straight a1 n family income lower den rm5000 n a person wif same results but income more den rm5000.....
will dis affect d country wic d 2 ppl wilb sent to?
09-06-2007, 11:55 AM
i hav a question...
if a person wif straight a1 n family income lower den rm5000 n a person wif same results but income more den rm5000.....
probably there is minor effect.
09-06-2007, 11:58 AM
i hav a question...
last time u said b4 sth bout groupings...A group & B group.......
i dunno but, logically thinking, i suppose income doesn't affect the country u'll be going to, it only affects the possibility for you to get the JPa scholarship.
It isn't fair that juz becuz u are poor u get to go to good countries although your results are much poorer than the richer ones...
I think for this year, the number of A1's is what counts most...isn't it???
we have very good proofs here... :wink:
amcian
09-06-2007, 12:02 PM
i hav a question...
i dunno but, logically thinking, i suppose income doesn't affect the country u'll be going to, it only affects the possibility for you to get the JPa scholarship.
It isn't fair that juz becuz u are poor u get to go to good countries although your results are much poorer than the richer ones...
my best fren told me d...
her dad's fren in kpm told him d...
im juz curious lorr....
my another good fren same result wif me but income lower den rm5000 din gt jpa...
but my dad is gov servant larr..income more den rm5000...
so..i oso duno y....
09-06-2007, 12:10 PM
Not only this year, but every year. Number of A1 decides where you'll be sent to. You could be real good with average of 90 marks, but if with only 11A1, you won't get western countries for medicine. It's still not applicable to other courses, for this year. I don't know what would happen next year. The rat race is still going on, and much stiffer.
For incoming students, if they want to get the scholarship,at least for medicin, join the rat race. Or else, even with good results, you can stand aside and watch the rat race, as well as the joy of people getting scholarship
09-06-2007, 12:11 PM
i hav a question...
my best fren told me d...
her dad's fren in kpm told him d...
im juz curious lorr....
my another good fren same result wif me but income lower den rm5000 din gt jpa...
but my dad is gov servant larr..income more den rm5000...
so..i oso duno y....
sigh...these things are hard to say...
who knows if there are any hanky-panky in the gov dept...
09-06-2007, 12:11 PM
This JPA sholarships are giving priviledges for the government servants, especially teacher, this is a fact, not rumour.
09-06-2007, 12:15 PM
Not only this year, but every year. Number of A1 decides where you'll be sent to. You could be real good with average of 90 marks, but if with only 11A1, you won't get western countries for medicine. It's still not applicable to other courses, for this year. I don't know what would happen next year. The rat race is still going on, and much stiffer.
For incoming students, if they want to get the scholarship,at least for medicin, join the rat race. Or else, even with good results, you can stand aside and watch the rat race, as well as the joy of people getting scholarship
Seems like 11A1 nowadays is like average students already...when the rat race ...becoming stiffer and stiffer..
09-06-2007, 12:17 PM
This JPA sholarships are giving priviledges for the government servants, especially teacher, this is a fact, not rumour.
yeah...it is very very true.
Those gov servants under JPA are vr privilledged...
but it's a good thing actually...they deserve it too for working for the gov...
juz like Petronas, it oso gives priviledges to those working thr isn't it?
amcian
09-06-2007, 12:20 PM
yea..my dad's fren who is a teacher...
his son hav 10a1 n gt uk pharmacy..
non-bumi..
at first i was so proud of my result coz i got BNM scholarship but when i step in into this thread!!! GOSH i feel like a small ant with ppl scoring 15A1
amcian
09-06-2007, 12:25 PM
Seems like 11A1 nowadays is like average students already...when the rat race ...becoming stiffer and stiffer..
yea..i onli realise dis afta d spm result was out..
i had owaz naive enough2 think dat as long as i remained among d top students in sch..quite active in koko...
n gt straight 11a1s in spm wil help me secure jpa slship easily...n including gettin my own preferred country....
reali feel so childish sumtimes when i think bout it... :)
11a1 is so common nowadays....
09-06-2007, 12:25 PM
yeah...it is very very true.
Those gov servants under JPA are vr privilledged...
but it's a good thing actually...they deserve it too for working for the gov...
juz like Petronas, it oso gives priviledges to those working thr isn't it?
and Since the JPA is government schoalrships, giving the priviledges to anak government is right also...
erm, well, for petronas, during the EDUCAMP, we were told that those who are anak Petronas are not given any priviledges.
09-06-2007, 12:27 PM
yea..my dad's fren who is a teacher...
his son hav 10a1 n gt uk pharmacy..
non-bumi..
wow, uk pharmacy...UK<----a country that seldom a non-bumi JPA scholar can get...
09-06-2007, 12:29 PM
at first i was so proud of my result coz i got BNM scholarship but when i step in into this thread!!! GOSH i feel like a small ant with ppl scoring 15A1
so, u scored 15 A1?straight A1?
what other extra subjects u got??
what u got for BNM??
wow, impressive ..
no i scored a mere 9A1 and 1A2... not that impressive thats why i feel like an ant..
anyway white2020 it seem that we known each other a long time i guess but we just didnt realise. if i am not wrong u got petronas scholarship to do in UTP right?
:?: :?:
09-06-2007, 12:33 PM
i had owaz naive enough2 think dat as long as i remained among d top students in sch..quite active in koko...
n gt straight 11a1s in spm wil help me secure jpa slship easily...n including gettin my own preferred country....
Actually, I was naive too...
09-06-2007, 12:35 PM
no i scored a mere 9A1 and 1A2... not that impressive thats why i feel like an ant..
anyway white2020 it seem that we known each other a long time i guess but we just didnt realise. if i am not wrong u got petronas scholarship to do in UTP right?
Ya, i am going to UTP under Petronas scholarship.
Well, we know each other for a long time? u mean via recom or in reality?
09-06-2007, 12:38 PM
[quote=amcian]
nvm, u'll sure get the best uni in India & come out & be a good doctor too!!!
Add oil ,add oil!!!
amcian
09-06-2007, 12:40 PM
n i agree totally n heartily wif one of my teachers.....
she told me on d day when spm result was released...
u hav owaz been in d limelight in sch...
but ur nt in d limelight tday anymore...
though they encourage me by saying dat 11a1 is good too...
but i understand wat d true reality is....
nw hav2 b prepared2 go india...
haha....
through recom
amcian
09-06-2007, 12:46 PM
[quote=amcian]
Add oil ,add oil!!!
thanks......
hope dat v can study happily tgeta4 2 mor yrs....
mayb studyin in india is a stepping stone2 my lifelong dream....
i told d interviewers durin my interview bout dat....
n mayb they felt dat india is better4 me...
:) :)
09-06-2007, 12:47 PM
[quote=amcian]
Add oil ,add oil!!!
haha...add oil add oil..
09-06-2007, 12:51 PM
through recom
oic... :D :D :D :D :D
PLAIN FUNNY (the adding oil part)
09-06-2007, 12:57 PM
everything is funny recently...
agree
09-06-2007, 01:13 PM
I knew this even back in Form 4 time, I knew with 11A, you won't get real good offer, but since I don't care much about scholarships that time (I think it's unreachable dream), I didn't take up extra subjects.
09-06-2007, 01:15 PM
I knew this even back in Form 4 time, I knew with 11A, you won't get real good offer, but since I don't care much about scholarships that time (I think it's unreachable dream), I didn't take up extra subjects.
I dunno what is JPA when i was in F4 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O
09-06-2007, 01:21 PM
I don't really know what is JPA that time, either. What I kew was it's a schoalrship, but I knew my school top scorer that year, was rejected by JPA, even with straight A1.
jane_gun
09-06-2007, 01:51 PM
My SPM 2003 (lol, I sound so old compared to the rest of you) results:
12 A1s and 1A2 (EST didn't exist during our time and nobody really bothered to take up Sains Teras as an extra subject, which many people do now)
GCE-O: A1
I'm non-bumi... Besides self-interest in the extra subjects I took (Accounts, Econs, Lit in English, Bible Knowledge), the extra motivation was to outdo the previous SPM record (the infamous wan tan mee seller's son), which I did (lol) but when the Kuen Cheng gal's results appeared the following year with 16As, I didn't really bother eventhough all my classmates were like "Go for it, gal! Beat her record!" (haha); plus the fact that I've registered my subjects eons before that... <wink>
Currently doing med in UNSW. Sydney - so anyone headed here feel free to message me or something! =)
If it's not med, dentistry or pharm, there are lots of other scholarships available out there for you guys so don't just apply for JPA alone! ^_^
09-06-2007, 04:52 PM
n i agree totally n heartily wif one of my teachers.....
she told me on d day when spm result was released...
u hav owaz been in d limelight in sch...
but ur nt in d limelight tday anymore...
though they encourage me by saying dat 11a1 is good too...
but i understand wat d true reality is....
nw hav2 b prepared2 go india...
haha....
u are too, now...all the teachers oso knows u got JPA & going to India... :D
AMCian's pride dude!!!
09-06-2007, 04:57 PM
agree
huh??? wat's so funny???
My fav Canadian Beauty Bernice Liu oso uses that word in her journal... :P
hehehe...
09-06-2007, 08:21 PM
I don't really know what is JPA that time, either. What I kew was it's a schoalrship, but I knew my school top scorer that year, was rejected by JPA, even with straight A1.
Smae case with me...hehe... :D
09-06-2007, 08:25 PM
agree
huh??? wat's so funny???
hehehe...
Bernice Liu is a Canadian?
09-06-2007, 10:13 PM
agree
huh??? wat's so funny???
hehehe...
Yeah, she came to Hong Kong from Canada.
-ELaiNE-
09-06-2007, 10:32 PM
agree
huh??? wat's so funny???
hehehe...
Bernice Liu was Miss Toronto/Vancouver(forgot which was it..)she took part in Miss Chinese International and won..so she developed her starbiz career in HK..kinda successful so far..i like her too baby_ubake! :D Sorry people, for being way off topic...haha :D
I get pure Science to US.(LOL i tried my luck as i thought only 1% ppl will apply thet course. 8O 8O
My result 10A1 1A2(FZ) & this really implicates that i am a germ compared to all the 1799 JPA scholars. :? :? Non-bumi.
GCEO A1 !! That's really a surprise becoz wht on earth my english is that good.i dont even dare to dream of it. :roll: :roll: :roll:
However, i always thank GOD for giving me this BIG gift.
Congratz to all the scholars who have made it!![/i]
10-06-2007, 11:41 AM
Bernice Liu was Miss Toronto/Vancouver(forgot which was it..)she took part in Miss Chinese International and won..so she developed her starbiz career in HK..kinda successful so far..i like her too baby_ubake! :D Sorry people, for being way off topic...haha :D
alright, Thanks for the info, capablanca and -ELaiNE-
I get pure Science to US.(LOL i tried my luck as i thought only 1% ppl will apply thet course.
My result 10A1 1A2(FZ) & this really implicates that i am a germ compared to all the 1799 JPA scholars. Non-bumi.
GCEO A1 !! That's really a surprise becoz wht on earth my english is that good.i dont even dare to dream of it.
However, i always thank GOD for giving me this BIG gift.
Congratz to all the scholars who have made it!![/i]
haha, well congratulations to you.
weizeng
10-06-2007, 06:23 PM
Number of A should not be the guide, but it's a fact that it matters most.... I agree that scholarship is not everything, but we can't change the world, or perhaps kiasu Malaysians.
actually MoE already limits the amount of subjects to 12,i think it's a wise decision,so that our juniors won't be victim of A's rat race.somehow malaysians are kiasu,but in most cases are the parents who are kiasu.
the amount of A's may b pointless,but it's still the guide for the government to differenciate the outstanding group and the weaker group,it just makes the outstanding group a larger populity,that's all...
and the amount of A's really matters especially for those who want to get JPA scholarships,don't forget that it's our A's which made who are we now,the JPA scholars.
rock on!
10-06-2007, 08:52 PM
actually MoE already limits the amount of subjects to 12,i think it's a wise decision,so that our juniors won't be victim of A's rat race.somehow malaysians are kiasu,but in most cases are the parents who are kiasu.
the amount of A's may b pointless,but it's still the guide for the government to differenciate the outstanding group and the weaker group,it just makes the outstanding group a larger populity,that's all...
and the amount of A's really matters especially for those who want to get JPA scholarships,don't forget that it's our A's which made who are we now,the JPA scholars.
rock on!
Wrong. Moe didn't limit the number of subjects to 12. Just provide it for free until 12. For the rat race, perhaps you can blame it that we are Asians. We are born and educated that way. That is why the entrance exam in Hong Kong and Japan are considered very tough.
rock on!
Wrong. Moe didn't limit the number of subjects to 12. Just provide it for free until 12. For the rat race, perhaps you can blame it that we are Asians. We are born and educated that way. That is why the entrance exam in Hong Kong and Japan are considered very tough.
yup...for every extra subject u taking,u must pay for urself...and for private candidate and private school's students they can take the amount of subjects they want coz government not paying for them
11-06-2007, 10:22 AM
Government should make them pay for all the subjects taken, not only extra subjects. Each subject costs only around RM 10, everybody can afford, right? However, even they have to pay RM 200 for all the subjects taken, the amount is just very small compared to scholarships worth RM 500k.
11-06-2007, 10:32 AM
easy, limit the amount of students who are going to get A1 to 1% of the top scorers...A2 to the next 5%, B3 to the next 5% and so... let's see how people are going to get their A1's...
11-06-2007, 11:16 AM
easy, limit the amount of students who are going to get A1 to 1% of the top scorers...A2 to the next 5%, B3 to the next 5% and so... let's see how people are going to get their A1's...
That would be a bit too strict.I suggest to set A1 at 80 marks for ever subject, at least half of the straight A1 students are gone....
11-06-2007, 11:43 AM
huh??? wat's so funny???
hehehe...
Bernice Liu was Miss Toronto/Vancouver(forgot which was it..)she took part in Miss Chinese International and won..so she developed her starbiz career in HK..kinda successful so far..i like her too baby_ubake! :D Sorry people, for being way off topic...haha :D[quote]
Bernice Liu was Miss Vancover 2001 & she took part in Miss Chinese International 2001 & won...she left her degree course in a university in Vancover...(4got which uni)...& went into starbiz career instead...She said she's going back to her studies after 10 years, which is the university's extend period for her...( i wonder how she'll do that, won't her brain get rusty alr after 10 long years???) :P
mebbe she did keep up with her studies while juggling her career...heard that she used to be really hardworking in her studies b4 she took part in Miss Chinese...(believe it or not, she's 900 degrees short-sighted!) 8O
anyway, she's always my top favourite...hehe...nice to meet another fan, Elaine!
*really sorry for spamming, I used to get carried away if anyone talks about my fav Bernice... :lol: *
bihafana
11-06-2007, 01:41 PM
huh??a good idea..haha..
11-06-2007, 01:49 PM
huh??a good idea..haha..
thats a great idea. seriously.
11-06-2007, 02:36 PM
huh??a good idea..haha..
Oooh, just like the SAT test. But I think the marks standard for SPM is also based on a bell curve although it is skewed.
[quote=vseehua]easy, limit the amount of students who are going to get A1 to 1% of the top scorers...A2 to the next 5%, B3 to the next 5% and so... let's see how people are going to get their A1's...
huh??a good idea..haha..
they do this on chinese subject...
weizeng
11-06-2007, 07:26 PM
rock on!
yup...for every extra subject u taking,u must pay for urself...and for private candidate and private school's students they can take the amount of subjects they want coz government not paying for them
ooo,ic...sorry for the wrong information... guess that rat race continues...
11-06-2007, 08:45 PM
Most of the people seldom appreatiate if it is free, I am afraid that the deteriorating of the grades are going on.
daffodils
11-06-2007, 10:41 PM
One shouldn?t be judged by the number of As one scores. Ask yourself if you are applying for engineering, what relevance is there to the course if you score extra As in Sejarah or Pendidikan Moral or Pendidikan Islam or EST or Pendidikan Seni?
It?s crazy for students to take unnecessary subjects just to ace themselves for the scholarships. They are burning themselves to take 16 or 17 or 18. It?s also unfair that JPA panel take into consideration the number of As scored rather than the core subjects that matters or the overall average score. There should be a points system whereby an A1 is assigned for eg 10 points an A2; 8 and so forth. Total up for all subjects taken and then divide by the number of subjects taken to get the average score obtained.
It is clearly obvious that for certain subjects the exam board has lowered the score to allow more students to score As. It wasn?t like that thirty years ago when the then Form Five major exam called the Malaysian Certificate of Education was conducted by the University of Cambridge. Standards were high then and the maximum number of subjects a person could take was eight. It was something if one could score something like 5 distinctions.
I remembered during my time I was one of the only five students who scored an A in Additional Mathematics and I came from a premier all girls school. We covered topics like vectors, navigation in the Ordinary Mathematics syllabus. In the Additional Mathematics syllabus, we covered topics on Mechanics and a bit of Newtonian mathematics which requires an understanding of physics. We have to depend a lot on our own. It?s not like the present moment; you have so many reference books in the market and also tuition classes to help students to ace in their lessons.
Now with the takeover by the Malaysian Exam Board, everything is so opaque. Just ask teachers who teach Additional Mathematics and they can swear that students who are not known to do well ended up getting As in the subject. It s a mockery to lower the standards to allow more students to score As. Even in the English paper students can hardly believe the grade that they achieve in the GCE O level. Thirty years ago to score an A2 in the English language paper was a formidable challenge. Anyway then there were no objective questions.
I am not saying that this applies to all. There are definitely outstanding students in our midst but put together with those who scored As with the lowering of standards, you cannot single out the really good ones unless the raw scores are indicated. That is why you have tons of students scoring As. This has made SPM meaningless. Just like the PMR science paper two years ago, people commented it was of UPSR standard. Where?s the respect for the exam system? Good students become victimized when they are grouped together with mediocre ones.
The exam board should have the courage to set high standards to filter the exceptionally good students. But I know(and some of you also know), it will never be implemented. If it is done some people will be sidelined. That?s the truth of the matter. It?s all a farce.
I rest my case. Full stop. No further comments.
12-06-2007, 12:11 AM
One shouldn?t be judged by the number of As one scores. Ask yourself if you are applying for engineering, what relevance is there to the course if you score extra As in Sejarah or Pendidikan Moral or Pendidikan Islam or EST or Pendidikan Seni?
It?s crazy for students to take unnecessary subjects just to ace themselves for the scholarships. They are burning themselves to take 16 or 17 or 18. It?s also unfair that JPA panel take into consideration the number of As scored rather than the core subjects that matters or the overall average score. There should be a points system whereby an A1 is assigned for eg 10 points an A2; 8 and so forth. Total up for all subjects taken and then divide by the number of subjects taken to get the average score obtained.
It is clearly obvious that for certain subjects the exam board has lowered the score to allow more students to score As. It wasn?t like that thirty years ago when the then Form Five major exam called the Malaysian Certificate of Education was conducted by the University of Cambridge. Standards were high then and the maximum number of subjects a person could take was eight. It was something if one could score something like 5 distinctions.
I remembered during my time I was one of the only five students who scored an A in Additional Mathematics and I came from a premier all girls school. We covered topics like vectors, navigation in the Ordinary Mathematics syllabus. In the Additional Mathematics syllabus, we covered topics on Mechanics and a bit of Newtonian mathematics which requires an understanding of physics. We have to depend a lot on our own. It?s not like the present moment; you have so many reference books in the market and also tuition classes to help students to ace in their lessons.
Now with the takeover by the Malaysian Exam Board, everything is so opaque. Just ask teachers who teach Additional Mathematics and they can swear that students who are not known to do well ended up getting As in the subject. It s a mockery to lower the standards to allow more students to score As. Even in the English paper students can hardly believe the grade that they achieve in the GCE O level. Thirty years ago to score an A2 in the English language paper was a formidable challenge. Anyway then there were no objective questions.
I am not saying that this applies to all. There are definitely outstanding students in our midst but put together with those who scored As with the lowering of standards, you cannot single out the really good ones unless the raw scores are indicated. That is why you have tons of students scoring As. This has made SPM meaningless. Just like the PMR science paper two years ago, people commented it was of UPSR standard. Where?s the respect for the exam system? Good students become victimized when they are grouped together with mediocre ones.
The exam board should have the courage to set high standards to filter the exceptionally good students. But I know(and some of you also know), it will never be implemented. If it is done some people will be sidelined. That?s the truth of the matter. It?s all a farce.
I rest my case. Full stop. No further comments.
Agree 100%....
the rat race should be curbed...
freesby90
23-06-2007, 01:18 PM
Erm, this may be random but only 2 students from my school got straight A1s [10A1], and they're the only 2 in my school who got jpa scholarship *hmm..*
a friend of mine scored 11A1 and an A2 in moral, prefect, pts student, active in sports and co-curriculum DIDNT get jpa 8O 8O
Erm, this may be random but only 2 students from my school got straight A1s [10A1], and they're the only 2 in my school who got jpa scholarship *hmm..*
a friend of mine scored 11A1 and an A2 in moral, prefect, pts student, active in sports and co-curriculum DIDNT get jpa 8O 8O
errr.... u are one of these 2 scholars??
prince_J
23-06-2007, 05:11 PM
no offense for my reply on this issue...
i really think this year is relatively easier to get JPA.. cause in my year(SPM 2005), if you are a non, getting only 10A1 eventhough straight A1, and with an A1 in gce, the chances to get JPA is rather slim... in fact, is very slim... unless u appeal and appeal~
hmmm.... I didn't JPA also.... very sad... but thinking back, pretty much is a relief! ha ha~
jane_gun
24-06-2007, 09:07 AM
I agree with you, prince_J... During my year (SPM 2003), even 10A1s with active co-curricular participation might not get you the scholarship - sometimes including the 11A1s students too! >.< But I think they opened up more spots this year...
24-06-2007, 09:20 AM
Yup, I agree. Anyway, I know the reason behind all these. They actually cut the cost of the countries given, so they can afford more places with the same amount of money. You can see this in medicine course. How many more students got twinning course this year, compare to last few years?
24-06-2007, 10:16 PM
haiz, I agree, sadly.
kinkin
25-06-2007, 12:35 PM
hearing there are people who got 12a1 didn't get scholarship makes me feel lucky enough.
i've a b3 and jpa offers me for ireland
*edited*
sorry for the mistake...
i'm a lousy typer.
freesby90
25-06-2007, 01:54 PM
haha..yeah.. :lol: Again, this may be random but plenty of pts student did very well in spm..those pelajar cemerlang in my school for the last few years running graduated a year ahead of their peers. the government shouldn't have abolished pts.. :?
hearing there are people who got 12a1 didn't get scholarship makes me feel lucky enough.
i've a b3 and jpa offers me for ireland
*edited*
sorry for the mistake...
i'm a lousy typer.
wow..wats ur result??are you a bumi or non??
u get medic in ireland??
slynn
26-06-2007, 11:35 AM
not to me...it's no longer a fact...not only 1 but both my parents are teachers in government schools...i also got straight a1s...applied 4 dentistry but when results came out, i din get...
so i think wat u say isn't true...i had to appeal then only get...
i also tot bcos of my parents i can get it 1st time...but was surprised...so no offense, but i think wat u said it just a rumour.....
26-06-2007, 04:28 PM
not to me...it's no longer a fact...not only 1 but both my parents are teachers in government schools...i also got straight a1s...applied 4 dentistry but when results came out, i din get...
i also tot bcos of my parents i can get it 1st time...but was surprised...so no offense, but i think wat u said it just a rumour.....
That is not true. My friend's parent are also teachers but he also didn't get it.
26-06-2007, 05:04 PM
O..Oppps...sorry, My mistake then.
slynn
26-06-2007, 09:29 PM
That is not true. My friend's parent are also teachers but he also didn't get it.
ur fren's parents r secondary school teachers????
slynn
27-06-2007, 01:10 PM
tat's exactly wat i meant...there're no privileges even 4 government servants...teachers included...sad huh???
Yea.. no privileges.. but stands a better chance if compared with the others (means NOT all civil servents' children will get)
My father's salary is about RM4k... a civil servant as well .. but i also shortlisted for JPA...
slynn
27-06-2007, 01:38 PM
Yea.. no privileges.. but stands a better chance if compared with the others (means NOT all civil servents' children will get)
My father's salary is about RM4k... a civil servant as well .. but i also shortlisted for JPA...
Good 4 u then...prob ur cocurriculum is really outstanding...ur mom's working too?? i think they also prob see the per kapita...u from a big family???
27-06-2007, 02:52 PM
Good 4 u then...prob ur cocurriculum is really outstanding...ur mom's working too?? i think they also prob see the per kapita...u from a big family???
I think the MCA got release that any parents combined income under RM7k is eligible to get it.
so so...
My mother is jobless :twisted: I come from small family...
slynn
27-06-2007, 09:38 PM
so so...
My mother is jobless :twisted: I come from small family...
oh i see...prob u're right then...not all civil servant's children will get...
30-06-2007, 01:04 PM
haha..yeah.. :lol: Again, this may be random but plenty of pts student did very well in spm..those pelajar cemerlang in my school for the last few years running graduated a year ahead of their peers. the government shouldn't have abolished pts.. :? yea yea yea.. PTS ROXXX ~ huhu
course- architechure
country- australia
spm result - 10a1, 1a2 moral a2
24-07-2007, 02:20 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
spm result - 10a1, 1a2 moral a2 hey tis thread had been sinked.. bt now u still brought it up.. full of old stories.
25-07-2007, 04:20 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
spm result - 10a1, 1a2 moral a2 hey tis thread had been sinked.. bt now u still brought it up.. full of old stories.
don blame ppl la, she is newbie ma, u ,as a senior should teach her, not scold her
to yeng: wow, good result, amazing
26-07-2007, 02:29 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
don blame ppl la, she is newbie ma, u ,as a senior should teach her, not scold her
to yeng: wow, good result, amazing oh. then u teach luh... of coz she gt good result.. tat's y we r here. and u auch.
26-07-2007, 02:43 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
to yeng: wow, good result, amazing oh. then u teach luh... of coz she gt good result.. tat's y we r here. and u auch.
so, we teach together, ok? deal
course- architechure
country- australia
wa... i become a victim...
26-07-2007, 03:11 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
wa... i become a victim...
hahaha, u will know later
27-07-2007, 01:20 PM
course- architechure
country- australia
wa... i become a victim... victim? u gt the chance to be teached by two of us. how nice. it is. and u said u r the victim !?
lol