View Full Version : JPA American bound scholars
DarlingAngel
13-05-2007, 09:32 AM
Hi, wanna get to know you guys and girls first. I'm in for Social science.
Yea i'm in :D doing biotech......
And btw,are you from St.3 Kuching?
juliaroxxx
13-05-2007, 11:11 AM
Hi, wanna get to know you guys and girls first. I'm in for Social science.
hey...me too! :D
Sanddy
13-05-2007, 11:23 AM
Me 2 biotech...
cleoy
13-05-2007, 12:24 PM
Me 2 biotech...
I get biotech oso.....
darkpanda89
13-05-2007, 12:34 PM
hi.. looks like i'm the only one taking ICT... :P... anyways hope to get to know you guys,... i believe we should be studyinng american degree transfer program together?
mumeichan
13-05-2007, 01:22 PM
Hi. I am going to US too. Acturial Science here. Hope to meet you all at INTI Nilai on the 1st of June
Moozy
13-05-2007, 01:26 PM
actuarial science.. :D
samuellaw178
13-05-2007, 01:38 PM
Hi there!I am in too,for biotech..Do you all know when the INTEC starts?
DarlingAngel
13-05-2007, 03:46 PM
mumeichan Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 3:22 pm Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi. I am going to US too. Acturial Science here. Hope to meet you all at INTI Nilai on the 1st of June
What's happening there?
WiNd90
13-05-2007, 04:05 PM
Engineering in US here..
m i the only one.. =.=
btw wut do u mean by inti 1 June mumeichan?
galfera
13-05-2007, 07:30 PM
i'm also going 2 us 4 engineering....
13-05-2007, 08:03 PM
Going us for actuarial science eventhough I would prefer uk cause the prestigious uni in uk offer actuarial science while in us, all the iv league and top government uni didn't offer actuarial science.
13-05-2007, 08:10 PM
Mumeichan, I don't think jpa send their scholars to inti. And the course won't start that early in 1st of June. At least middle of June or 1st of July.
Going us for actuarial science eventhough I would prefer uk cause the prestigious uni in uk offer actuarial science while in us, all the iv league and top government uni didn't offer actuarial science.
You have not done your homework, haven't you?
brucesharky
13-05-2007, 08:25 PM
US - engineering. Anymore engineering students?
13-05-2007, 09:04 PM
How? The most I found in US is UPenn (Wharton) will in UK, LSE. Another reason is that most of my friends go to uk. So lonely :(
Can you explain how I haven't done my homework.
joe_lyy90
13-05-2007, 09:21 PM
Me too! US engineering..
Well I got UK, but I would've prefered US. No, I'm not complaining, before anyone tells me they want my place!
Anyway, I think the US Education system is more interesting. In UK it's more technical whereas in US they encourage you to explore and experiment more. Plus you get to take odd elective subjects like drama etc.. Sounds pretty fun.
How? The most I found in US is UPenn (Wharton) will in UK, LSE. Another reason is that most of my friends go to uk. So lonely :(
That's because, if you would have done your homework, you would have known that majoring in actuarial science is not a pre-requisite to becoming an actuary.
If so few unis offer actuarial science in the US and that is a requirement for becoming an actuary, where does the US get all their actuaries then? They certainly don't import them all from the UK.
caramel_nut
14-05-2007, 06:41 AM
Can you explain how I haven't done my homework.Well, most people would definitely agree that a degree from Wharton is much more prestigious than one from LSE. A lot of people can easily get into LSE provided their results are decent but the same cannot be said of Wharton.
caramel_nut
14-05-2007, 06:50 AM
That's because, if you would have done your homework, you would have known that majoring in actuarial science is not a pre-requisite to becoming an actuary.
If so few unis offer actuarial science in the US and that is a requirement for becoming an actuary, where does the US get all their actuaries then? They certainly don't import them all from the UK.I guess one thing that Capablanca is concerned about is not whether he/she can become an actuary in US but whether he/she has the choices of US universities to select. Since he/she'll be going under JPA for actuarial science, I doubt JPA would allow him/her to do any other subjects, considering how rigid (and silly) JPA is often times, thus restricting her to a few universities such as Wharton, Michigan Ann Arbor, etc. However, this is just my assumption of what JPA will most prob do and I still think Wharton is way better than LSE. :D
mumeichan
14-05-2007, 07:24 AM
AFAIK Wharton does not affer Actuarial Science. The University of Columbia does, but I think it is acturial maths. It is an Ivy League U by the way.
The most prestigious one that offer AS in US i can think off is Stern Business school, NY U.
Anyway, most, if not all, JPA scholars for AS in US, will be doing your preparatory course in INTI UC. Just wait for the letter. June 1.
DarlingAngel
14-05-2007, 11:59 AM
emzz, i was praying i didn't get UK. Us is great cos the top of the top Uni's are there and US is a field of opportunities. i'm so over the moon ahha
prince_J
14-05-2007, 12:52 PM
good luck juniors...
see you guys here in INTEC on either 15 june or 1 july...
hope to be you guys facilitator... :)
eggtart_90
14-05-2007, 01:45 PM
can anyone tell me y top uni is US(preferebly IVY LEAGUE UNI) dun offer actuarial science?
if one is 2 graduate wit an AS degree,but in the end does not end up as a acutuarist,wat will he/she be doing then?
LSE=London School of Economics? :wink:
<thank you for replying to my questions...>
appreciate it very much,muacksss 8)
14-05-2007, 02:04 PM
Moderator Note: Moved the thread to "scholarships" section.
eggtart_90
14-05-2007, 02:18 PM
hi,
i hv a few questions 2 ask...
*may i noe y those top uni in US(esp IVY LEAGUE U)does not offer
actuarial science?
*if one is to graduate wit a AS degree,but in the end does not end up as an actuarist,wat will he/she b then?
*LSE=London school of economics???
<thank you for replying to my question,appreciate it very much...> 8) :D
asdjkl
14-05-2007, 04:05 PM
Me me me!!
I'm in for social science. Hehhehheh.
Let's all be friends! :lol:
rEaL_adDicT
14-05-2007, 04:32 PM
i got engineering in US.....
as far as i can see, there are quite a number.....
nice to meet you all
chris1771
14-05-2007, 07:31 PM
hi,
i hv a few questions 2 ask...
*may i noe y those top uni in US(esp IVY LEAGUE U)does not offer
actuarial science?
*if one is to graduate wit a AS degree,but in the end does not end up as an actuarist,wat will he/she b then?
*LSE=London school of economics???
<thank you for replying to my question,appreciate it very much...> 8) :D
1. The Ivy League is prestigious for being an athletic conference and is by no means the top 8 universities in the US and, fyi, the Columbia University does offer AS http://www.ce.columbia.edu/masters/?PID=7
2. Mathematician, Lecturer, Statistician, Business Analyst, Financial Engineer, Economist etc. mostly business
btw, it's "Actuary"
3. Yes: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_School_of_Economics
14-05-2007, 08:11 PM
good luck juniors...
Arggg. I was hoping so much to be in the 1 July batch. I got a few school activities which I need to say bye-bye to if I enter the 15 June batch.
mumeichan
21-05-2007, 11:28 PM
Look like you guy are going to INTI. And the program is INTI's american degree transfer program, not the normal JPA US program. And it is 2 years her three years there.
evelynw
22-05-2007, 12:40 AM
Yeah, I was wondering about that. Looks like JPA's way of cutting costs, sending scholars overseas for 3 yrs instead of 4. But doesn't doing the ADTP reduce the chance of getting into a 'prestigious' uni as compared to ADFP (the previous INTEC batch)? As far as I know, the top unis such as Harvard, Yale, Princeton etc. do not accept transfer students. The best that do are University of Michigan, Purdue and Cornell.
mumeichan
22-05-2007, 07:57 AM
ADCT is American Credit Transfer Program
ADTP is American Degree Transfer Program
AUP is American University Program
ADFP is American Degree Foundation Program
ADCT, ADFP and AUP are the same. You study locally for a certain number of year and transfer your credits to a U in US. ADFP prepares you for your SAT SAT II and TOEFL. I presume this year's American bound scholars will do a 1 ADFP, then continue with a ADTP/ADCT/AUP(1 year here and 3 years there) So total 5 years.
By doing a transfer program we can easily exclude all Ivy League and the most top Unis.
But there are a few good one like University of Michiga, Ann Habour; Penn State University; Purdue; Cornell; and basically that is all.
However, I suppose that if we do very well in our SAT SAT II and TOEFL, we could apply to the top Unis and Ivy League Uni and then tell JPA we got a place and maybe they may consider sending us there.
But for Actuarial Science students, we don't miss out much. University of Michigan, Ann habour and Purdue is quite good. We would only be missing out U of NY, Stern Business School.
22-05-2007, 11:37 AM
But there are cases where the university does not accept the courses or modules thought here and insist that the person redo it in the us.
mumeichan
22-05-2007, 12:08 PM
But there are cases where the university does not accept the courses or modules thought here and insist that the person redo it in the us.
That is right. Top Unis like Harvard, Yale, Penn, NYU all won't accept our credits. I have just spoke to a person at the AUP department at INTI and this is basically how our program goes..for now(They may change it later when we start our course). (I am a student at INTI)
You will not be doing the ADFP. You will be doing the ADTP like every other student in INTI's AUP/ADTP program.
Here at INTI, you will do the various subject to prepare you for a transfer to a US uni. You will be doing a few subjects not related to your course also, just like US studnet in their 1st year. In the mean time, they will prepare you for the SAT SAT II and TOEFL. You are not required to take those subjects, but almost all Us will require them and you won't be going to any of the top Us without them. You won't be doing just English. And your first sem will be quite relaxed.
Basically, to enter a US uni bachelor's degree program, you will need 12 years or formal edu first. So for those vying for Harvard Yale, Princeton,Penn and all those top U, you can use the 1 year at INTI as your 12th years and then sit for the SAT and etc. But you won't be able to transfer your credits there. So if you get a place in any of those unis, you will have to start at year one and do a 4 years course. The problem is, JPA will sponsor is for 3 years only. One way we could get around this is by writing to JPA to ask them to sponsor us to that particular uni. Which is subject to their approval and will take time for sure.
But if you would settle for a lower rank uni (and actually getting into Harvard and Yale is not an easy thing to do) you can choose to go to a uni that accepts our credits. Some good ones would be Cornell, U of Michigan, Ann Habour, Penn State Uni(not Penn, they are different), Purdue and the rest I do not know. These unis accept our credits and you can do 1 year here, sit for the SAT SAT II and TOEFL and apply for those unis. Then you will go into the second year there if you are accepted.
Feel free to ask me anything else. I could ask the INTI people.
23-05-2007, 10:49 AM
Congrats for all of you who have successfully gotten JPA Scholarships to go to US to study.
There has been a few questions on Actuarial Science, for US, the top university for Actuarial Science would be Wharton Business School (UPenn). Over the past few years, if I am not wrong, 2 Malaysians have successfully further their studies to do Actuarial Science at Wharton over the past few years and both are JPA Scholars who did preparation at INTEC.
Other top universities in US which offer actuarial science would be University of Illinois and University of Michigan. A number of JPA Scholars are studying there. For those who are studying Engineering, many JPA Scholars have entered prominent universities in US for it. You name it, there are some JPA Scholars who have done preparation at INTEC have gone into - Stanford, MIT, Cornell etc.
On American Credit Transfer Program (ACTP) at INTEC, it was started last year, after JPA found out that only a small bunch of scholars manage to get admission to Ivy League and a few other Ivy League standard universities. So, what JPA has done last year (SPM 2005) batch is that JPA has a list of 18 top universities (which include all 8 Ivy Leagues, MIT, Caltech, Stanford, John Hopkins, Carnegie Mellon, Washington, Michigan etc) and if students get admitted to these universities in their 1st year at INTEC, they would get to go there for 4 years.
One of the students in ACTP program last year is going to Wharton Business School (UPenn). I'm not too sure what major she is going, but I believe it should be Economics. Another student is going to Dartmouth College, another Ivy League university.
So, on whether you are able to get into top universities in US after being in ACTP/ADTP, would really depend on your own ability. Ask yourself this question: Are you able to get admitted to those top universities? Are you willing to put in nights of efforts for your application essays, recommendation letters and other application material? Are you going to work hard for it?
On those who are going Inti, I believe at least 1 student there who has transferred to Northwestern University. Taylor's have had student who got transferred to Cornell.
So, it really depends on you. Whether you can make it to top universities in US, it is whether you want to give your best. For those going to US, you should definitely visit Discover U.S. Education - KL '07 (http://www.discoverUSeducation.org) held on 22nd July at Mid Valley Exhibition Center. A bunch of INTEC ADFP/ACTP and Inti ADTP students are in the committee of this event too, and a large number of alumni/current students of top US universities would be there to share, including many ReComers. As of now, 44 universities have signed up to participate.
In terms of number of universities one can apply, it depends on how much effort you are going to put into. JPA has a list of universities that one can apply, based on each major. Based on past experience, JPA is paying for application fees for 3/4 universities. You can pay on your own if you decide to apply for more universities.
It is possible that none of the universities that you apply accept you. So, you have to put in your best effort. However, from past experience, at least 99% of students would get admission. On which university you would be going, JPA would want you to go to the best possible university that you got into. So, if you get admission to Ivy League and you choose not to go, you might need to convince JPA.
Please feel free to post questions here in ReCom.org ~!
mumeichan
23-05-2007, 11:21 AM
Regarding Wharton, even though you can study actuarial science there, they are actually giving you a business course and then you can specialize abit in actuarial science. Compared to other Universities that offer can actuarial science major, Whartons syllabus for actuarial science is very shallow compared to those unis as Wharton is giving you a business degree not an actuarial science degree.
23-05-2007, 12:14 PM
Regarding Wharton, even though you can study actuarial science there, they are actually giving you a business course and then you can specialize abit in actuarial science. Compared to other Universities that offer can actuarial science major, Whartons syllabus for actuarial science is very shallow compared to those unis as Wharton is giving you a business degree not an actuarial science degree.
Wharton syllabus might be shallow and so does some of Ivy League actuarial science but if one has complete the exams, it doesn't matter does it?
elizabeth
23-05-2007, 12:51 PM
Congrats for all of you who have successfully gotten JPA Scholarships to go to US to study.
There has been a few questions on Actuarial Science, for US, the top university for Actuarial Science would be Wharton Business School (UPenn). Over the past few years, if I am not wrong, 2 Malaysians have successfully further their studies to do Actuarial Science at Wharton over the past few years and both are JPA Scholars who did preparation at INTEC.
Other top universities in US which offer actuarial science would be University of Illinois and University of Michigan. A number of JPA Scholars are studying there. For those who are studying Engineering, many JPA Scholars have entered prominent universities in US for it. You name it, there are some JPA Scholars who have done preparation at INTEC have gone into - Stanford, MIT, Cornell etc.
On American Credit Transfer Program (ACTP) at INTEC, it was started last year, after JPA found out that only a small bunch of scholars manage to get admission to Ivy League and a few other Ivy League standard universities. So, what JPA has done last year (SPM 2005) batch is that JPA has a list of 18 top universities (which include all 8 Ivy Leagues, MIT, Caltech, Stanford, John Hopkins, Carnegie Mellon, Washington, Michigan etc) and if students get admitted to these universities in their 1st year at INTEC, they would get to go there for 4 years.
One of the students in ACTP program last year is going to Wharton Business School (UPenn). I'm not too sure what major she is going, but I believe it should be Economics. Another student is going to Dartmouth College, another Ivy League university.
So, on whether you are able to get into top universities in US after being in ACTP/ADTP, would really depend on your own ability. Ask yourself this question: Are you able to get admitted to those top universities? Are you willing to put in nights of efforts for your application essays, recommendation letters and other application material? Are you going to work hard for it?
On those who are going Inti, I believe at least 1 student there who has transferred to Northwestern University. Taylor's have had student who got transferred to Cornell.
So, it really depends on you. Whether you can make it to top universities in US, it is whether you want to give your best. For those going to US, you should definitely visit Discover U.S. Education - KL '07 (http://www.discoverUSeducation.org) held on 22nd July at Mid Valley Exhibition Center. A bunch of INTEC ADFP/ACTP and Inti ADTP students are in the committee of this event too, and a large number of alumni/current students of top US universities would be there to share, including many ReComers. As of now, 44 universities have signed up to participate.
In terms of number of universities one can apply, it depends on how much effort you are going to put into. JPA has a list of universities that one can apply, based on each major. Based on past experience, JPA is paying for application fees for 3/4 universities. You can pay on your own if you decide to apply for more universities.
It is possible that none of the universities that you apply accept you. So, you have to put in your best effort. However, from past experience, at least 99% of students would get admission. On which university you would be going, JPA would want you to go to the best possible university that you got into. So, if you get admission to Ivy League and you choose not to go, you might need to convince JPA.
Please feel free to post questions here in ReCom.org ~!
Interesting... I got Biotech. 2years in INTEC for ACTP and 3 years abroad. But I want to try for Yale, Princeton, MIT too besides Cornell, NYU... I'm not certain if I can get it, but there's no harm in trying, right? And I would like to spend an extra year in US, compared to INTEC. lolz. Thanks for the advice. I'm gonna slog it out on my first year then, coz' I'll try my best to get into MIT or Yale. haha. Thanks everyone for the info! :D
cleoy
23-05-2007, 01:15 PM
It seems that most of the top university in US did not offer biotech, so can v just apply anything that is related with biology??
mumeichan
23-05-2007, 01:20 PM
Wharton syllabus might be shallow and so does some of Ivy League actuarial science but if one has complete the exams, it doesn't matter does it?
Well if you're concern about qualification alone then a degree from Harvard and passing the professinal exam would be great. But there are two problems. One the syllabus cover the topic needed to sit for one or at the most two actuarial exams only. However a proper actuarial course will prepared us for at least 4 papers(SOA). Well we could always study by ourselves but you have to be hardworking lah. The next problem is even worse. JPA will sponsor is only for the course that we are selected for. We got AS and not business so we would need to write an appeal letter to them and I suppose these people are rather square so AS is AS and not business to them.
23-05-2007, 02:02 PM
One thing about US Education is that it focuses on breadth, instead of depth. It provides full flexibility for you to choose how you want to structure your course. And even if say 2 students who both are doing actuarial science and Wharton Business School, both of you might never take the same class together.
For other countries, the syllabus is structured, whereas in US, you choose what you want to study. I major in electrical and computer engineering at Cornell University, and I only spend about 20% of my courses in engineering, the rest range from wine tasting, golf, terrorism, international relations, law, entrepreneurship, finance, accounting, human resources, social psychology, debates, ballroom dancing etc. A long list of courses, and it is full flexibility.
So, US education is about to create thinkers, and not to create people who just follow syllabus.
Wharton for instance might not be focusing on the actual knowledge of actuarial science, but it definitely provides the best breadth of knowledge available. Number of successful people that graduate from there are certainly enormous, for instance our Bank Negara Governor, Tan Sri Dr. Zeti and our Deputy Finance Minister, Datuk Awang Adek are product of Wharton Business School/UPenn.
On number of universities to apply, do definitely try to apply as many universities as you can. Those universities that you list are definitely top notch and you should put in a lot of effort from now. Application deadline is December this year, for admission next year. Of course, do make sure that you put in a lot of efforts into your applications. It is not the quantity that matter, but quality of applications.
For Biotech, I believe that's the general name that JPA puts. You can select courses that is related to it - Biomedical etc. Do check with JPA on the details. Each university just puts the naming of major slightly different.
23-05-2007, 02:16 PM
And what is more important about studying in US, or for that matter anywhere in the world, is to really learn from those opportunities. And there would be a lot of opportunities to learn from attending international conferences, talks happened around campus, research, international competitions etc.
During my time studying in US, I managed to attend conferences/programs in China/Hong Kong, Prague (Czech Republic) and several parts of US. Many more Malaysians have attended conferencese in various parts of America, Latin America, Europe, Africa, Asia etc. Those are fantastic learning opportunities.
In terms of learning from the top brain who go to campus, you would have a large array of such speakers. I have had the opportunity to sit for lectures by Bill Gates, Bill Clinton, many CEOs of world famous companies, many ex and current Prime Ministers/Presidents of various countries, Nobel Prize Winners, NASA Astronauts etc. And many of you would have such opportunities. The Professor who is teaching you could be a Nobel Prize winner. There is just immense opportunities to learn.
For those who desire to do research, you could have opportunities to do research with top-notch professors, even during your 1st year of undergraduate. It really depends on how you approach the Professors (initiative and knowing what the professor is doing is very crucial). You can always google the Professor's research and find those that you are passionate about and get involve since early. Try to obtain opportunities to present your research at international conferences. That would help you, especially if you would like to further studies to PhD.
So, strive for the best~! All the best~! And hope that you guys could share your experience here at ReCom.org to benefit other ReComers.
Sanddy
23-05-2007, 02:57 PM
And what is more important about studying in US, or for that matter anywhere in the world, is to really learn from those opportunities. And there would be a lot of opportunities to learn from attending international conferences, talks happened around campus, research, international competitions etc.
During my time studying in US, I managed to attend conferences/programs in China/Hong Kong, Prague (Czech Republic) and several parts of US. Many more Malaysians have attended conferencese in various parts of America, Latin America, Europe, Africa, Asia etc. Those are fantastic learning opportunities.
In terms of learning from the top brain who go to campus, you would have a large array of such speakers. I have had the opportunity to sit for lectures by Bill Gates, Bill Clinton, many CEOs of world famous companies, many ex and current Prime Ministers/Presidents of various countries, Nobel Prize Winners, NASA Astronauts etc. And many of you would have such opportunities. The Professor who is teaching you could be a Nobel Prize winner. There is just immense opportunities to learn.
For those who desire to do research, you could have opportunities to do research with top-notch professors, even during your 1st year of undergraduate. It really depends on how you approach the Professors (initiative and knowing what the professor is doing is very crucial). You can always google the Professor's research and find those that you are passionate about and get involve since early. Try to obtain opportunities to present your research at international conferences. That would help you, especially if you would like to further studies to PhD.
So, strive for the best~! All the best~! And hope that you guys could share your experience here at ReCom.org to benefit other ReComers.
Wow, thx a lot 4 de info.
brucesharky
23-05-2007, 05:41 PM
Well, I do have some questions. Can someone please enlighten me on it? If the application deadline is December this year, does that mean that we would be having our SATs (we sit for 1 & 2?)? in October/November? How about our TOEFL? Should we sit for that around that time as well?
24-05-2007, 11:37 AM
Does anyone know the JPA list for top universities in USA.
eltinker
24-05-2007, 12:05 PM
US - engineering. Anymore engineering students?
me me!! US-engineering..btw, those who got US engineering, where dey place u to do ur ADP? INTEC?
24-05-2007, 03:20 PM
For SAT Reasoning Test and SAT2, you would sit both of them (on separate sessions) in either Oct/Nov/Dec. Eg:- SAT Reasoning Test in Oct and SAT2 in Nov and you can resit either of the two in Dec. That's just a sample schedule. For TOEFL, it is offered everyday, so you can sit any day.
For list of unis, it varies by major. So, every major has its own list. Electrical Engineering list during my time (that's a few years ago), was MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Princeton, Cornell, Columbia, Illinois, Michigan, Purdue, USC. The list might defer now, as JPA updates it every year.
brucesharky
24-05-2007, 07:10 PM
Thanks for the info brother Chen Chow! Oh, so Berkeley was in the list!! Hopefully it's still in...... :D
24-05-2007, 09:04 PM
Thanks for the info brother Chen Chow! Oh, so Berkeley was in the list!! Hopefully it's still in...... :D
The tough part is still getting in. Every year, about 1-3 Malaysians get into Berkeley. At least 1 JPA scholar has gotten into Berkeley over the past few years (as in not every year, but in total, at least 1 Malaysian has gotten into Berkeley).
brucesharky
24-05-2007, 10:10 PM
Ermm.....well, getting the admission will be tough. :( Just gottta try I guess.... :wink: Definitely will put in hours of hard work.
KoonHua90
25-05-2007, 02:16 AM
Me engineering....All guys going US,what would be your dream university?what is your 2nd choice?
Tasslehoff
25-05-2007, 10:34 AM
Ermm.....well, getting the admission will be tough. :( Just gottta try I guess.... :wink: Definitely will put in hours of hard work.
International admissions are just as tough as Ivies. Average of 1-3 Malaysians get in per year. I would say the admissions process isnt tough, its all about luck. Two Malaysians were admitted last year and two this year.
brucesharky
25-05-2007, 11:02 AM
May I know what's the average score for the Malaysian students SAT? [/quote]
25-05-2007, 02:19 PM
My friend got 800-maths, 760-critical reading and 790-writing for SAT. Didn't get into any Ivy league uni.
25-05-2007, 09:19 PM
SAT is not too crucial in getting into top universities. They look more for overall achievements.
25-05-2007, 11:08 PM
How are we suppose to improve our other abilities such as sports or language skills if the college i am going have no clubs or participate in any competition?
elizabeth
29-05-2007, 11:00 AM
It seems that most of the top university in US did not offer biotech, so can v just apply anything that is related with biology??
that may be a problem... apparently both Yale and Princeton don't offer biotech. *frown* this may be a bigger problem than i anticipate. However, i found biotech under the school of Biology in MIT... Can anyone tell me if Cornell, Berkeley, NYU or the rest offers this course? Thanks a lot!
by the way, is it (confirmed) true that we have to take SAT this year itself? not that i doubt you guys, but it is certainly scaring me... is it even remotely possible to finish studying the whole thing in four months? i can't even score 7/10 for the vocabulary section! Heavens know where they excavated words like 'pulchritude'... Or maybe I'm just ignorant. *sigh* i'm using a totally outdated 1987 version as reference for the moment (i live in a small town, there's no SAT books sold here, so i had to borrow from a teacher first...) so can some seniors or more enlightened scholars tell me how the test is like? Thanks!
elizabeth
29-05-2007, 11:05 AM
that may be a problem... apparently both Yale and Princeton don't offer biotech. *frown* this may be a bigger problem than i anticipate. However, i found biotech under the school of Biology in MIT... Can anyone tell me if Cornell, Berkeley, NYU or the rest offers this course? Thanks a lot!
by the way, is it (confirmed) true that we have to take SAT this year itself? not that i doubt you guys, but it is certainly scaring me... is it even remotely possible to finish studying the whole thing in four months? i can't even score 7/10 for the vocabulary section! Heavens know where they excavated words like 'pulchritude'... Or maybe I'm just ignorant. *sigh* i'm using a totally outdated 1987 version as reference for the moment (i live in a small town, there's no SAT books sold here, so i had to borrow from a teacher first...) so can some seniors or more enlightened scholars tell me how the test is like? Thanks!
29-05-2007, 04:52 PM
I was hoping for some help from my cousin. She got perfect score for SAT but she took it a long time ago. Almost ten years before. A bit outdated.
29-05-2007, 04:55 PM
Elizabeth, at least MIT got biotech, I don't even know if any of them offer actuarial science.
elizabeth
31-05-2007, 09:49 PM
Elizabeth, at least MIT got biotech, I don't even know if any of them offer actuarial science.
Lol. Look on the bright side capablanca, US gotta get their acturial scientist? (sorry, i don't know the real terminology...) and bio tech scientists from somewhere. they can't all be imported. haha. i'm sure you'll find a good university that offers it. all the best to you!
01-06-2007, 07:22 PM
Each university might call it differently. Cornell would use the name Biomedical Engineering, Bioengineering, Biology, Food Science etc to define Biotech. Essentially, each university would call it a little differently.
01-06-2007, 07:28 PM
You can apply major related to Biotech. Essentially, as I mentioned earlier, each university in US just called it differently.
On SAT, there is no specific syllabus, especially for SAT Reasoning Test. It is about building up your vocabulary and also Mathematics. A lot of students have taken SAT with less than 2 months of preparation and often that's in the midst of studying for SPM/A Level etc. So, it is definitely doable. Moreover, for top US universities, SAT is just one of the many aspects that they are looking at.
What's more crucial is your application essays, recommendation letters, co-curricular activities (be it in school or outside, community service, other involvements/passions, competitions involved, sports, uniformed bodies), grades (Form 1-Form 5, PMR, SPM Trial, SPM, foundation year grade, SAT Reasoning Test, SAT2, TOEFL etc), and interview (for those universities with interview).
So, SAT is just one of the many things that they are looking at. Of course, do try to do well. There is no specific linkage that says if you get a certain SAT, you would get into a certain universities. Many SAT full score students have been rejected by top universities.
And poor SAT score does not mean you would not get admission. When I got into Cornell, I just got 1300+ for my SAT. There are students who got below 1000, who studied in Cornell (of course, that's very few people), but what matters is whether you have overall achievements.
I got into Stanford for Master's with 500 in my GRE Verbal (which is also out of 800), whereas the average students who get into Stanford get 600+. So, again grades are not too crucial.
They look for all aspects, that's the beauty of US Education.
And for those of you who don't believe me, do go to Discover U.S. Education - KL '07 on 22nd July at Mid Valley Exhibition Center (www.discoverUSeducation.org) to speak to those alumni/current students of those universities there.
01-06-2007, 07:41 PM
When u get into an ivy...................
U can change ur major. Nuff said.
I've got some insider information from INTEC here!
Here's JPA's list of Ivy League and Ivy League standard universities:
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
(It's funny that Duke and Chicago aren't in. The new ACTP students better bug JPA about this.)
Here's a list of the ACTP students (SPM 2005 batch) who got into the above universities:
1. Choo Yie Lyn - Wharton, University of Pennsylvania (Computer Science & Economics)
2. Lee Sheau Wen - Michigan Ann-Arbor (Actuarial Science)
3. Ooi Jin Sheng - Michigan Ann-Arbor (Actuarial Science)
4. Ryan Jinhan Kumbang - University of Pennsylvania (Engineering)
5. Seah Eu Jeen - Michigan Ann-Arbor (Actuarial Science)
6. Shalini Sehkar - Carnegie Mellon University (Biotechnology)
7. Yong Jia Zheng - Dartmouth College (Economics)
If you wanna contact them, I think I have all their email addresses. Hehehe.
tasha_choc_lover
02-06-2007, 12:36 AM
Engineering in US here..
m i the only one.. =.=
btw wut do u mean by inti 1 June mumeichan?
HEY.ME TOO..GOTCHA..I BEEN SEEKING 2 DA PPL IN MY COURSE!btw.i'm shasha,meet u @<hidden> INTEC!
strikingstar
02-06-2007, 01:34 AM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
(It's funny that Duke and Chicago aren't in. The new ACTP students better bug JPA about this.)
Eh yeah. Why isn't my school on the list? Is it cos our sports swamp the ivy-league standard? 4 JPA scholars just graduated this year leh. And oh yeah, we have the largest collection of lemurs outside of Madagascar. I would have thought that would have been a factor.
tasha_choc_lover
02-06-2007, 01:50 AM
good luck juniors...
huhu..thanx!seeking 4 u l8er 2 b da facee!
02-06-2007, 05:50 PM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
Eh yeah. Why isn't my school on the list? Is it cos our sports swamp the ivy-league standard? 4 JPA scholars just graduated this year leh. And oh yeah, we have the largest collection of lemurs outside of Madagascar. I would have thought that would have been a factor.
Ok then, what is your school name?
firebolt
02-06-2007, 09:54 PM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
Here's a list of the ACTP students (SPM 2005 batch) who got into the above universities:
1. Choo Yie Lyn - Wharton, University of Pennsylvania (Computer Science & Economics)
so can u give me 2,3, and 5's email?
strikingstar
02-06-2007, 10:24 PM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
Ok then, what is your school['s] name?
Uhhh, if I'm not from Duke then I'm from U Chic lorh.
FYI:
Most recent US News and World Report rankings:
Duke is ranked 8 and U Chic is ranked 9.
Most recent Times Higher Education Supplement World Rankings:
Duke is ranked 13 and U Chic is ranked 11.
03-06-2007, 12:29 AM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
Ok then, what is your school['s] name?
Uhhh, if I'm not from Duke then I'm from U Chic lorh.
FYI:
Most recent US News and World Report rankings:
Duke is ranked 8 and U Chic is ranked 9.
Most recent Times Higher Education Supplement World Rankings:
Duke is ranked 13 and U Chic is ranked 11.
Ok, message received. :D
Tasslehoff
03-06-2007, 10:36 PM
Ivy League:
1. Harvard
2. Yale
3. Princeton
4. Dartmouth
5. Columbia
6. Pennsylvania
7. Cornell
8. Brown
Ivy League standard:
1. MIT
2. Stanford
3. Caltech
4. Carnegie Mellon
5. Northwestern
6. Johns Hopkins
7. UC Berkeley
8. Michigan Ann-Arbor
9. Washington Seattle
so can u give me 2,3, and 5's email?
IMHO you should get 1 & 4's email, possibly 7's too. its harder to get into thier unis. UMich & CMU are relatively easier... tho both campuses are rather attractive :)
Erm, please don't trust rankings. Most rankings are biased cause they count the overall excellence of the school. This does not work to the advantage of schools like Brown which has one of the best undergraduate focus in the US, but very weak graduate departments.
strikingstar
04-06-2007, 12:02 AM
I never said I was a devout advocate of the rankings. In fact, I usually qualify that they be taken with a pinch of salt. But they're the only things available as yet to objectively quantify academic excellence.
Besides, the UNSWR ranks undergrad and grad schools separately; with graduate degrees ranked by subjects.
And besides, Brown was ranked 15 most recently on USNWR.
I'm not saying that you're a rankings-whore. Just saying that people should be cautious when considering rankings.
04-06-2007, 04:24 PM
Then, does anyone know where to get for subjects universities ranking?
mumeichan
04-06-2007, 08:24 PM
I think Princeton Review has some. But well, for Actuarial Sciece, you can't find any. Cause it is such is niche course. Probably Wharton will be the best. Next comes Michigan Ann Harbour or NYU. All in NY how nice.
To me world ranking means so much. I don't give a damn on how good the uni actually is. As long as it has good facilities especially the library that is enough. Cause at the end of the day, the employer doesn't even know how and what the uni actually teaches. So they rely on the rankings and the wow factor.
05-06-2007, 10:48 PM
Found this page from the Thailand Government Scholars and their applications to US universities. Their SAT, TOEFL results, with the outcome of all their universities are listed. Some ReComers could go in and do some analysis and share it here.
The link is at here (http://www.ts48.org/college/index.php?sort=toefli)
Try this website for the rankings:
http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/college/rankings/rankindex_brief.php
solely for referring!!Though i cant help much :oops:
05-06-2007, 11:12 PM
Some of the ReComers and non-ReComers who have gotten into Ivy League universities have shared their Success Story at Discover U.S. Education - KL '07's website. Do check it out at here (http://www.discoveruseducation.org/success_stories.html)
As of now, 55 premier U.S. universities have signed up already. Many of the facilitators there are actually ReComers! Look up for the list of universities in the website.
mumeichan
14-06-2007, 11:39 PM
This is one very important thing I want to let all ADTP and ACTP scholars know.
Under the our agreement JPA, we must work for the government for 6 years if we complete our studies within the sponsorship period. If we make any extension to the sponsorship period that amount to more than 6 months, we have to serve the government for 7 years.
Officially we are sponsored to study locally for 2 years and overseas for 3 years. Therefore if we which to go to any Uni that does not accept our credits and have to study there for 4 years, we need to apply for an extension of our sponsorship period overseas by at least 1 years. That would me we would be bonded for 7 years!
I think Princeton Review has some. But well, for Actuarial Sciece, you can't find any. Cause it is such is niche course. Probably Wharton will be the best. Next comes Michigan Ann Harbour or NYU. All in NY how nice.
To me world ranking means so much. I don't give a damn on how good the uni actually is. As long as it has good facilities especially the library that is enough. Cause at the end of the day, the employer doesn't even know how and what the uni actually teaches. So they rely on the rankings and the wow factor.
One problem with world rankings is that most focus too much on research. So this means that good schools which focus on the undergraduate experience like Williams, Dartmouth, Amherst and Swarthmore rank low in the world rankings such as THES and Shanghai Jiaotong rankings. However, these schools have been acknowledged by the top American firms to produce graduates of the highest quality. These top American firms are amongst the world's best and are spread out around the world.
So of course if you want to work at some tiny Malaysian company and you tell them you graduated from Dartmouth or Williams, they will definitely be like huh? But walk into the top firms in New York or Hong Kong or KL and they will definitely appreciate you there. Are these colleges ranked highly in the world rankings? No. Are they still valued among the top firms? I leave you to do more research.
15-06-2007, 11:19 PM
One problem with world rankings is that most focus too much on research. So this means that good schools which focus on the undergraduate experience like Williams, Dartmouth, Amherst and Swarthmore rank low in the world rankings such as THES and Shanghai Jiaotong rankings. However, these schools have been acknowledged by the top American firms to produce graduates of the highest quality. These top American firms are amongst the world's best and are spread out around the world.
So of course if you want to work at some tiny Malaysian company and you tell them you graduated from Dartmouth or Williams, they will definitely be like huh? But walk into the top firms in New York or Hong Kong or KL and they will definitely appreciate you there. Are these colleges ranked highly in the world rankings? No. Are they still valued among the top firms? I leave you to do more research.
You forgot to include Brown. It is only for undergraduate.
elizabeth
15-06-2007, 11:32 PM
Under the our agreement JPA, we must work for the government for 6 years if we complete our studies within the sponsorship period. If we make any extension to the sponsorship period that amount to more than 6 months, we have to serve the government for 7 years.
Officially we are sponsored to study locally for 2 years and overseas for 3 years. Therefore if we which to go to any Uni that does not accept our credits and have to study there for 4 years, we need to apply for an extension of our sponsorship period overseas by at least 1 years. That would me we would be bonded for 7 years!
try finding uni's that accept transfer programs. generally, ivy leagues don't accept it. but if you get admission into an ivy, apply to JPA to do 4 years straight there. if you get an ivy, they will generally allow that... if you don't, then only do you do the transfer program...
mumeichan
16-06-2007, 01:45 AM
try finding uni's that accept transfer programs. generally, ivy leagues don't accept it. but if you get admission into an ivy, apply to JPA to do 4 years straight there. if you get an ivy, they will generally allow that... if you don't, then only do you do the transfer program...
I wonder if JPA will consider to extend to 4 years or not if we get into a top uni but not an Ivy League one. NYU is one example. I wonder why JPA is so fixated on Ivy League because as far as I know it is a sports league and so happens all it's members are top unis.
16-06-2007, 04:43 PM
I wonder if JPA will consider to extend to 4 years or not if we get into a top uni but not an Ivy League one. NYU is one example. I wonder why JPA is so fixated on Ivy League because as far as I know it is a sports league and so happens all it's members are top unis.
JPA has a list of 18 universities that they allow to do 4 years. It is not just the 8 Ivy League.
Essentially, to graduate in US universities, 3 years is sufficient time, so whether you do credit transfer or otherwise, it is possible to finish your whole degree in 3 years.
Most JPA scholars who use up entire 4 years are just making full use of the opportunities. A lot of them do take a lot more courses than is required to graduate. For instance to graduate, require about 120+ credit hours, some JPA scholars do take beyond 150 or even more than 200 credit hours. I took 206.5 credit hours in 4 years (including 14 credit hours transfer from INTEC). So, I did 192.5 credit hours in Cornell.
To say Ivy League does not allow credit transfer is definitely wrong. I got 14 credit hours in Cornell. And there are Malaysians who have transferred more than 20 credit hours (including some that they take advanced placement exams).
Most of the top US universities, including Ivy League universities have advanced placement exam during your 1st week there. If you pass those exams, they don't even bother whether you have learned it before (formal or informal learning), they'll give you the credits.
firebolt
16-06-2007, 05:44 PM
then i have a question.
when do those america bound students take the SAT and TOEFL tests?
if they are interested in going usa for 4 years, then they have to take these tests during the foundation/pre-uni year?
then i have a question.
if they are interested in going usa for 4 years, then they have to take these tests during the foundation/pre-uni year?
yes, TOEFL exams are administered quite frequently and there's Oct, Nov and Dec SAT test (though some univs might still accept Jan scores). Do check out their official websites for the exact dates. The majority (with a few exceptions) of the universities in the US requires their application materials to be submitted before Jan 1st.
18-06-2007, 05:33 PM
then i have a question.
yes, TOEFL exams are administered quite frequently and there's Oct, Nov and Dec SAT test (though some univs might still accept Jan scores). Do check out their official websites for the exact dates. The majority (with a few exceptions) of the universities in the US requires their application materials to be submitted before Jan 1st.
I think there are also other time for SAT listed in the collegeboard website.
juliaroxxx
19-06-2007, 12:02 PM
does anyone know whether the elaun penempatan is paid monthly or once only?
mumeichan
19-06-2007, 12:33 PM
It s paid once only when you go overseas. It if for you to settle down in US. get a room, open a bank account etc.
juliaroxxx
19-06-2007, 12:47 PM
It s paid once only when you go overseas. It if for you to settle down in US. get a room, open a bank account etc.
oh.. that means your monthly rental is already included in the elaun sara hidup right?
22-06-2007, 01:31 PM
oh.. that means your monthly rental is already included in the elaun sara hidup right?
Yes. For other monthly expenses, it would be in Elaun Sara Hidup.
juliaroxxx
26-06-2007, 05:39 PM
Yes. For other monthly expenses, it would be in Elaun Sara Hidup.
I see...thanks :lol:
mumeichan
26-06-2007, 10:21 PM
I just spoke to a JPA scholar studying medicine in Russia,according to her they managed to send a collective request to the Malaysia embassy in Russia requesting extra allowance.
So maybe there is hope for us. As long as we group together and ask for more allowance.
27-06-2007, 02:59 PM
I just spoke to a JPA scholar studying medicine in Russia,according to her they managed to send a collective request to the Malaysia embassy in Russia requesting extra allowance.
So maybe there is hope for us. As long as we group together and ask for more allowance.
Oh, that is nice. How much exactly did they manage to ask for extra allowance.
digital_lifeform
27-06-2007, 04:42 PM
Oh, that is nice. How much exactly did they manage to ask for extra allowance.
I did not ask how much. But from the conversation it seemed like alot as they were originally getting allowance rate that has not been change for a few years. So cost of living woulds have raised significantly.
03-07-2007, 08:26 PM
On allowance, there shouldn't be much worry. The allowance is usually sufficient, unless you spend luxuriously.
Appolo
04-07-2007, 01:40 PM
yup, totally concur with Chen Chow's satement. I remembered spending out of control for the first few months and the consequences were devastating.Before I know it, I was broke and have to ask for money from my dad.For those of you out there, never follow what I did unless you are pretty sure that your parents will never ask about what the allowances had gone to.
comicguy89
07-07-2007, 08:11 PM
Hi, first time here. I would like to ask a question.
Lets say I do not get into these top-ranking universities. What other universities does JPA offer for USA bound scholars?(Non Ivy League or Ivy standard) I believe during our briefing JPA mentioned a list of around 70 universities, though my ear have frequently deceived me before. Thanks!
07-07-2007, 08:17 PM
Hi, first time here. I would like to ask a question.
Lets say I do not get into these top-ranking universities. What other universities does JPA offer for USA bound scholars?(Non Ivy League or Ivy standard) I believe during our briefing JPA mentioned a list of around 70 universities, though my ear have frequently deceived me before. Thanks!
Search up their site at the jpa portal. But then, don't worry. If it has good rankings then it will be acknowledge by jpa. By the way, where are you studying?
comicguy89
07-07-2007, 08:27 PM
Me, I'm an INTI student. I don't really know how to navigate JPA's website. I've tried to find it, and I'm sure it's there somewhere but I still can't locate this list. Thanks for any help.
07-07-2007, 08:34 PM
Me, I'm an INTI student. I don't really know how to navigate JPA's website. I've tried to find it, and I'm sure it's there somewhere but I still can't locate this list. Thanks for any help.
Oh, another INTI student. Did you visit the INTI thread here? There is still some time before we need to apply to the universities. So, don't worry so much about it first.
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.