View Full Version : Female better than male?

mystique_jasper
19-03-2004, 10:19 PM
Recently, a survey has been carried out at various of universities in Malaysia and the result shows that 70% of undergraduate students are females. I would like to know why females can perform better in their studies? Is it true that they work harder than males? What is the secret of their success? Why they are always on the top? More often than not, females are always the "Lecturer's pets". It seems like they can gain more attention from the lecturer as compare to the males. Why??? :?:

mystique_jasper
19-03-2004, 10:19 PM
Recently, a survey has been carried out at various of universities in Malaysia and the result shows that 70% of undergraduate students are females. I would like to know why females can perform better in their studies? Is it true that they work harder than males? What is the secret of their success? Why they are always on the top? More often than not, females are always the "Lecturer's pets". It seems like they can gain more attention from the lecturer as compare to the males. Why??? :?:

gesar
19-03-2004, 10:33 PM
CERTAINLY!!!....hehe......well, nola.....I'm a girl so I support that notion.....But the truth is everyone is equal.....no one can say that females are better than males :D :D

gesar
19-03-2004, 10:33 PM
CERTAINLY!!!....hehe......well, nola.....I'm a girl so I support that notion.....But the truth is everyone is equal.....no one can say that females are better than males :D :D

Panda
19-03-2004, 10:41 PM
Both have their strong fields. :D

Panda
19-03-2004, 10:41 PM

mish
20-03-2004, 12:14 AM
70% of the undergraduate students are females? Why? Hmm.... I think maybe it's because males sometimes are arrogant and think that they can suceed easily without too much effort? MAYBE, only maybe!!

or females are more 'kiasu'? maybe also....

mish
20-03-2004, 12:14 AM
70% of the undergraduate students are females? Why? Hmm.... I think maybe it's because males sometimes are arrogant and think that they can suceed easily without too much effort? MAYBE, only maybe!!

or females are more 'kiasu'? maybe also....

mish
20-03-2004, 12:21 AM

But I'm agree with panda. Maybe females are better in education and males are better in other fields.

mish
20-03-2004, 12:21 AM

But I'm agree with panda. Maybe females are better in education and males are better in other fields.

20-03-2004, 12:28 AM
If you ask me, guys are generally more 'playful' if you people get what I mean...

20-03-2004, 12:28 AM
If you ask me, guys are generally more 'playful' if you people get what I mean...

windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:05 AM
Male better than female, female better than male???
Intriguing question that I have been trying to answer since my stupid primary school debate!!

Haha, the true is, everybody is equal, who put in more effort, he/she will emerge the winner!!! ( so that seems like guys are more lazy, haha) :D

windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:05 AM
Male better than female, female better than male???
Intriguing question that I have been trying to answer since my stupid primary school debate!!

Haha, the true is, everybody is equal, who put in more effort, he/she will emerge the winner!!! ( so that seems like guys are more lazy, haha) :D

20-03-2004, 02:16 AM

holy crap. gimme a break. i've seen girls doing far worse than guys.

20-03-2004, 02:16 AM

holy crap. gimme a break. i've seen girls doing far worse than guys.

serenete
20-03-2004, 07:42 AM
There are various factors to consider when we try to understand the implications of a largely female uni undergrad community. Things like:

1. The nature of the university
2. The nature of the courses in the university
and the one I find most important:

3. Whether this is reflected in the workplace.

More often than not, and this is true even in Australia, universities are packed with very smart people, mostly female, but in the end this doesn't mean that 70% of workforce is women, or that the majority of high-end positions belong to women. What then appears to be an imbalance at the uni level more than unequally balances again when it comes to earning income.

In Malaysia I remember briefly last year a discussion that men were not so keen on uni because they thought it was a waste of time, and cultural and family values were part of the decision. For women however, education is still seen as an equaliser, so more decide to get in there for better chances. I believe women (at least at uni entrance stage) way outclass the men for scores required for entrance.

But this doesn't start at uni.

In Australia we are having a big problem with the state of our young boys - they are doing much, much worse compared to the girls because they don't behave the way they should be. Current theorists think this might be so as school, which tries to mass-produce workers for the marketplace, attempts to mould boys into behaving and sitting still, dampening their natural tendencies to get out there and... basically fight and fool around. So they do worse, say these theorists, and don't get their education because more time and energy is spent trying to break them down.

Following orders and behaving politely are given a premium at any educational institution, not perhaps up to uni, where you're expected to be able to stand your own ground. Anyone who has found themselves in the position of having to defend their thesis/assignment will attest to this :)

So, while it's a complicated debate and clearly not a matter of 'girls are better at this' and 'boys are better at that', this flooding of universities with girls is a modern social phenomenon - remember there was a time when women couldn't vote, couldn't work, and were denied even basic education. It would be interesting for the same people who did the statistics of the 70% female population to find out whether this is also the same percentage that graduates from uni. May not be the same.

:idea: serenete

serenete
20-03-2004, 07:42 AM
There are various factors to consider when we try to understand the implications of a largely female uni undergrad community. Things like:

1. The nature of the university
2. The nature of the courses in the university
and the one I find most important:

3. Whether this is reflected in the workplace.

More often than not, and this is true even in Australia, universities are packed with very smart people, mostly female, but in the end this doesn't mean that 70% of workforce is women, or that the majority of high-end positions belong to women. What then appears to be an imbalance at the uni level more than unequally balances again when it comes to earning income.

In Malaysia I remember briefly last year a discussion that men were not so keen on uni because they thought it was a waste of time, and cultural and family values were part of the decision. For women however, education is still seen as an equaliser, so more decide to get in there for better chances. I believe women (at least at uni entrance stage) way outclass the men for scores required for entrance.

But this doesn't start at uni.

In Australia we are having a big problem with the state of our young boys - they are doing much, much worse compared to the girls because they don't behave the way they should be. Current theorists think this might be so as school, which tries to mass-produce workers for the marketplace, attempts to mould boys into behaving and sitting still, dampening their natural tendencies to get out there and... basically fight and fool around. So they do worse, say these theorists, and don't get their education because more time and energy is spent trying to break them down.

Following orders and behaving politely are given a premium at any educational institution, not perhaps up to uni, where you're expected to be able to stand your own ground. Anyone who has found themselves in the position of having to defend their thesis/assignment will attest to this :)

So, while it's a complicated debate and clearly not a matter of 'girls are better at this' and 'boys are better at that', this flooding of universities with girls is a modern social phenomenon - remember there was a time when women couldn't vote, couldn't work, and were denied even basic education. It would be interesting for the same people who did the statistics of the 70% female population to find out whether this is also the same percentage that graduates from uni. May not be the same.

:idea: serenete

SpRInG
20-03-2004, 12:21 PM
in my humble opinion, there should not be this question of whether male or female is better.. because it has been proven, through our daily lives that, well, males are better in certain areas, females are better in certain areas, however there are also some exception in that, where some female who are very good at male's field and vice verse.

so, i guess it's more appropriate if we discuss on how to utilize this difference between male and female, for the better of the world? haha.. sounds very idealistic, but well, this is only an opinion, an idea perhaps :wink:

SpRInG
20-03-2004, 12:21 PM
in my humble opinion, there should not be this question of whether male or female is better.. because it has been proven, through our daily lives that, well, males are better in certain areas, females are better in certain areas, however there are also some exception in that, where some female who are very good at male's field and vice verse.

so, i guess it's more appropriate if we discuss on how to utilize this difference between male and female, for the better of the world? haha.. sounds very idealistic, but well, this is only an opinion, an idea perhaps :wink:

gesar
20-03-2004, 02:55 PM
ALL MEN ARE CREATED EQUAL!!

Everyone have their own good qualities.... :D :D
....no one can say who is better.....it all depends on the individuals like what mun hua and spring had said....This question is very subjective :wink: ....some people think that male are better and some may think that females are better...all these are just their opinions..... :? but to my opinion....everyone is equally good..... :wink: both females and males might be good at their own fields....okie..... :D

gesar
20-03-2004, 02:55 PM
ALL MEN ARE CREATED EQUAL!!

Everyone have their own good qualities.... :D :D
....no one can say who is better.....it all depends on the individuals like what mun hua and spring had said....This question is very subjective :wink: ....some people think that male are better and some may think that females are better...all these are just their opinions..... :? but to my opinion....everyone is equally good..... :wink: both females and males might be good at their own fields....okie..... :D

20-03-2004, 06:02 PM
females are better than males and vice versa? i don't think so...coz i view it as an individual thing.

Exactly what I have in mind. Gender does not really determine who is better in which field. It's more to our idiosyncrasies, a matter of interest or whether it is cultivated since young. Even quoting females are good in this, male in that, is stereotyping, except for some exceptional cases due to our difference in anatomy. I mean, do you wish to send a bunch of male cheerleading team to a football tournament?

But there's something about most Malaysian women... They like insisting they are better than men, but in reality, they can't even play football or basketball like men do. In Singapore, the gals play hockey and basketball as superb as the men do. The women are swift, the men are brutal. They balance each other, but the women seldom states that they are better than men... So to those feminist out there, proof yourself to be better than men before making such claims... P.s. I'm not an MCP. Just stating the fact.

20-03-2004, 06:02 PM
females are better than males and vice versa? i don't think so...coz i view it as an individual thing.

Exactly what I have in mind. Gender does not really determine who is better in which field. It's more to our idiosyncrasies, a matter of interest or whether it is cultivated since young. Even quoting females are good in this, male in that, is stereotyping, except for some exceptional cases due to our difference in anatomy. I mean, do you wish to send a bunch of male cheerleading team to a football tournament?

But there's something about most Malaysian women... They like insisting they are better than men, but in reality, they can't even play football or basketball like men do. In Singapore, the gals play hockey and basketball as superb as the men do. The women are swift, the men are brutal. They balance each other, but the women seldom states that they are better than men... So to those feminist out there, proof yourself to be better than men before making such claims... P.s. I'm not an MCP. Just stating the fact.

20-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Is this even a question? Definitely males are the superior species. Without a doubt.

20-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Is this even a question? Definitely males are the superior species. Without a doubt.

20-03-2004, 08:41 PM
So to those feminist out there, proof yourself to be better than men before making such claims...

:D Agree!!! in fact i don't think that anybody should claim that their gender is better than another gender... if u say that women are smarter than men, does that mean that an uneducated woman will defeat a male professor??? :?: ... vice versa....
Is this even a question? Definitely males are the superior species. Without a doubt

All i can say is... MALE is not a species..... HUMAN is a species.... 8) if males are the superior species... lets see them doing without females. :twisted: .. sorry for the sarcasm.....

20-03-2004, 08:41 PM
So to those feminist out there, proof yourself to be better than men before making such claims...

:D Agree!!! in fact i don't think that anybody should claim that their gender is better than another gender... if u say that women are smarter than men, does that mean that an uneducated woman will defeat a male professor??? :?: ... vice versa....
Is this even a question? Definitely males are the superior species. Without a doubt

All i can say is... MALE is not a species..... HUMAN is a species.... 8) if males are the superior species... lets see them doing without females. :twisted: .. sorry for the sarcasm.....

SpRInG
20-03-2004, 10:40 PM
well well well,
God created man at the first place... but then after that He created woman from a rib bone from Adam.... but that does not mean that man is superior over woman or the other way...

there's something interesting which i read once, which says which is it so... God didn't take a bone from Adams' head, so that woman will be superior to man, nor did God take a bone from Adam's leg, for woman to be under man.. but from the rib, see? so that woman can stand side by side with man... it was stated in the Bible that Woman are to be helper of man... but that doesn't indicate any superiority.... for none can survive without each other..
:lol: :lol: :lol:

SpRInG
20-03-2004, 10:40 PM
well well well,
God created man at the first place... but then after that He created woman from a rib bone from Adam.... but that does not mean that man is superior over woman or the other way...

there's something interesting which i read once, which says which is it so... God didn't take a bone from Adams' head, so that woman will be superior to man, nor did God take a bone from Adam's leg, for woman to be under man.. but from the rib, see? so that woman can stand side by side with man... it was stated in the Bible that Woman are to be helper of man... but that doesn't indicate any superiority.... for none can survive without each other..
:lol: :lol: :lol:

20-03-2004, 11:31 PM

That's interestingly true... It's like men and women are complementary bases; they depend on each other, just like how humans depend on animals, plants, and abiology elements to live.

All i can say is... MALE is not a species..... HUMAN is a species.... if males are the superior species... lets see them doing without females.

Yeah, men can't do much without females, and vice versa. But that doesn't mean that they can't live without each other, i guess....

20-03-2004, 11:31 PM

That's interestingly true... It's like men and women are complementary bases; they depend on each other, just like how humans depend on animals, plants, and abiology elements to live.

All i can say is... MALE is not a species..... HUMAN is a species.... if males are the superior species... lets see them doing without females.

Yeah, men can't do much without females, and vice versa. But that doesn't mean that they can't live without each other, i guess....

21-03-2004, 02:26 AM
sorry about my earlier post. It was 5 in the morning and I was bored.

Anyway, I really think that females are a fascinating species. I say "species" not in the scientific term. This is because though we're all homo sapiens, but we're so different from one another that I think we should be different "species".

My thoughts are that the male-female relationship is similar to that of the nut and bolt (no pun intended). One is useless without the other.

21-03-2004, 02:26 AM
sorry about my earlier post. It was 5 in the morning and I was bored.

Anyway, I really think that females are a fascinating species. I say "species" not in the scientific term. This is because though we're all homo sapiens, but we're so different from one another that I think we should be different "species".

My thoughts are that the male-female relationship is similar to that of the nut and bolt (no pun intended). One is useless without the other.

cquayhl
21-03-2004, 06:06 AM

I have also heard it said that woman was created to be man's 'helper' and the word there is the same one as in the Psalms where God is the 'help and salvation' of Israel. Interesting, eh? Hehe. But I don't know Hebrew, so don't quote me on that. :-)

Charis 'I went to a militant leftist feminist college' Quay.

cquayhl
21-03-2004, 06:06 AM

I have also heard it said that woman was created to be man's 'helper' and the word there is the same one as in the Psalms where God is the 'help and salvation' of Israel. Interesting, eh? Hehe. But I don't know Hebrew, so don't quote me on that. :-)

Charis 'I went to a militant leftist feminist college' Quay.

21-03-2004, 06:41 AM
If you believe literally the words of the Bible/Quran as truth (which I don't), it is clearly stated that women should subjugate to their husbands.

From the Book of Genesis:
3:16 Unto the woman He said, I will greatly multiply thy pain and thy conception; in pain thou shalt bring forth children; and thy desire shall be to thy husband, and he shall rule over thee

So, can one be a Christian or Muslim who believes in every word of the Bible/Quran and still hold that the husband and wife should be treated as equals?

21-03-2004, 06:41 AM
If you believe literally the words of the Bible/Quran as truth (which I don't), it is clearly stated that women should subjugate to their husbands.

3:16 Unto the woman He said, I will greatly multiply thy pain and thy conception; in pain thou shalt bring forth children; and thy desire shall be to thy husband, and he shall rule over thee

So, can one be a Christian or Muslim who believes in every word of the Bible/Quran and still hold that the husband and wife should be treated as equals?

21-03-2004, 07:16 AM
mmmm .. i wonder where we are heading to ... are we to decide who is better and who is worse? and then what are going to do after that? start all kind of discriminations that people around the world are trying to stop? come on ... if you are asking for equal treatment, why look at the differences? why ask who's better? *sigh* this is so perplexing and frustrating ...

21-03-2004, 07:16 AM
mmmm .. i wonder where we are heading to ... are we to decide who is better and who is worse? and then what are going to do after that? start all kind of discriminations that people around the world are trying to stop? come on ... if you are asking for equal treatment, why look at the differences? why ask who's better? *sigh* this is so perplexing and frustrating ...

cquayhl
21-03-2004, 01:22 PM

Prince, I can't speak for the Quran, but I don't think the Bible was meant to be taken literally. Some of it is history, some of it is poetry, some of it is prose etc. Everything has to be read in context. I always like to say...just because the Bible says we shelter under the wing of the Almighty doesn't meant that God is a chicken... :-P

Regarding the passage specifically...here's another way to look at it.

The problem with quoting single verses...is quoting single verses. :-) This passage comes after the description of the Fall, when man disobeyed God and sin came into the world. From what I have heard, most theologians take this passage to be descriptive rather than prescriptive, i.e. men lording it over women is one of the consequences of the fall. In this way, you might even understand this situation as something that should not be. Just because I say 'The BN will win this election' doesn't mean that I think this should be so. It's just a description of what's going to happen.

Having said that, the New Testament does say things like 'Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.' (Colossians 3:18, NIV) but they are always followed by things like 'Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.' (Colossians 3:19, NIV) I'm still thinking about the theology behind this. Any input or references would be welcome. (OK, yes, I am quoting single verses. :-) This is the apostle Paul's epistle or letter to the Colossian church. Generally the epistles contain instructions for Christian living. Often they are in response to questions the churches have asked. I forget the specific context of Colossians.)

Equals in what sense? Please define. Bible aside, I don't think men and women should be treated exactly the same...because they are not exactly the same. E.g. if some day I marry and give birth, I want to have maternity leave even though men don't get maternity leave. (OK, I know some places are now giving paternity leave, but I think you see the point.) And after that, I don't want to be passed over for promotion just because I took maternity leave and my male colleagues didn't. This is - I hear - one of the reasons Frances Perkins (who was Labour Secretary under FDR) opposed the Equal Rights Amendment to the US Constitution.

Charis.

cquayhl
21-03-2004, 01:22 PM

Prince, I can't speak for the Quran, but I don't think the Bible was meant to be taken literally. Some of it is history, some of it is poetry, some of it is prose etc. Everything has to be read in context. I always like to say...just because the Bible says we shelter under the wing of the Almighty doesn't meant that God is a chicken... :-P

Regarding the passage specifically...here's another way to look at it.

The problem with quoting single verses...is quoting single verses. :-) This passage comes after the description of the Fall, when man disobeyed God and sin came into the world. From what I have heard, most theologians take this passage to be descriptive rather than prescriptive, i.e. men lording it over women is one of the consequences of the fall. In this way, you might even understand this situation as something that should not be. Just because I say 'The BN will win this election' doesn't mean that I think this should be so. It's just a description of what's going to happen.

Having said that, the New Testament does say things like 'Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.' (Colossians 3:18, NIV) but they are always followed by things like 'Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them.' (Colossians 3:19, NIV) I'm still thinking about the theology behind this. Any input or references would be welcome. (OK, yes, I am quoting single verses. :-) This is the apostle Paul's epistle or letter to the Colossian church. Generally the epistles contain instructions for Christian living. Often they are in response to questions the churches have asked. I forget the specific context of Colossians.)

Equals in what sense? Please define. Bible aside, I don't think men and women should be treated exactly the same...because they are not exactly the same. E.g. if some day I marry and give birth, I want to have maternity leave even though men don't get maternity leave. (OK, I know some places are now giving paternity leave, but I think you see the point.) And after that, I don't want to be passed over for promotion just because I took maternity leave and my male colleagues didn't. This is - I hear - one of the reasons Frances Perkins (who was Labour Secretary under FDR) opposed the Equal Rights Amendment to the US Constitution.

Charis.

wesleyanne
21-03-2004, 02:08 PM
ok, I'm not trying to turn this into a religious debate, but I agree that the Bible hardly gets taken literally, and is not meant to. and yeah, if one really does take it literally, then there are verses in the Bible that say that women should subjugate to men. However, from what I've read so far, the Bible does also contain verses such as "But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already commited adultery with her in his heart." (Matthew 4:28 ) and other verses that in my opinion, offsets/appeases (maybe not the right words) the whole we are not equal thingy. (i dont know if i'm making any sense) but what I'm trying to say is that if one were to take the Bible literally, then women would be treated so well, and we would have the perfect husbands, that at least for me, as a woman, wouldn't even mind if we were not considered equal in the Bible, hehe (assuming of course we all agree that that's what the Bible says)

and oh yeah, this is just my personal interpretation, as a freethinker who does read but has not completed reading the Bible. and yes, I also agree that women really shouldn't be treated equally, and that if women really were treated equally, I don't think we would be happy :) and to add, it is just wrong to try to determine which gender is better than the other. no matter how much research you conduct, you won't be able to prove any hypotheses on whether or not males are better than females or vice versa :) hehe :)

wesleyanne
21-03-2004, 02:08 PM
ok, I'm not trying to turn this into a religious debate, but I agree that the Bible hardly gets taken literally, and is not meant to. and yeah, if one really does take it literally, then there are verses in the Bible that say that women should subjugate to men. However, from what I've read so far, the Bible does also contain verses such as "But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already commited adultery with her in his heart." (Matthew 4:28 ) and other verses that in my opinion, offsets/appeases (maybe not the right words) the whole we are not equal thingy. (i dont know if i'm making any sense) but what I'm trying to say is that if one were to take the Bible literally, then women would be treated so well, and we would have the perfect husbands, that at least for me, as a woman, wouldn't even mind if we were not considered equal in the Bible, hehe (assuming of course we all agree that that's what the Bible says)

and oh yeah, this is just my personal interpretation, as a freethinker who does read but has not completed reading the Bible. and yes, I also agree that women really shouldn't be treated equally, and that if women really were treated equally, I don't think we would be happy :) and to add, it is just wrong to try to determine which gender is better than the other. no matter how much research you conduct, you won't be able to prove any hypotheses on whether or not males are better than females or vice versa :) hehe :)

21-03-2004, 02:16 PM
prince wrote:

If women are to be treated as equal as men, i guess men would be happy as well. Take for example the Physical Education system in Singapore. Men are supposed to run 2.4 km within 11.5 minutes to pass, while women, 14 minutes. Men are supposed to do 5 pull ups, women, 3 inclines.

In normal school gotong royong or what, guys usually carry the tables, women, chairs. And i dun mean the normal study desk. I mean the long big table, the one u usually find in the canteens... Wanna swap places, ladies?

And to quote the paradox of today:
Women always wanted to be treated equal, but always remind men to be gentlemen and let ladies first ......

How ironic, isn't it?

21-03-2004, 02:16 PM
prince wrote:

If women are to be treated as equal as men, i guess men would be happy as well. Take for example the Physical Education system in Singapore. Men are supposed to run 2.4 km within 11.5 minutes to pass, while women, 14 minutes. Men are supposed to do 5 pull ups, women, 3 inclines.

In normal school gotong royong or what, guys usually carry the tables, women, chairs. And i dun mean the normal study desk. I mean the long big table, the one u usually find in the canteens... Wanna swap places, ladies?

And to quote the paradox of today:
Women always wanted to be treated equal, but always remind men to be gentlemen and let ladies first ......

How ironic, isn't it?

21-03-2004, 02:51 PM
Found this joke from a forwarded mail...
Why women talk so much?

A husband looking through the paper came upon a study
that said women use more words than men.
Excited to prove to his wife that he had been right
all along when he accused her of talking too much, he
showed her the study results.

It read: "Men use about 15,000 words per day, but
women use 30,000."

The wife thought for a while, then finally she said to
her husband,
"It's because we have to repeat eve! rything we say."
The husband said, "What?"

21-03-2004, 02:51 PM
Found this joke from a forwarded mail...
Why women talk so much?

A husband looking through the paper came upon a study
that said women use more words than men.
Excited to prove to his wife that he had been right
all along when he accused her of talking too much, he
showed her the study results.

It read: "Men use about 15,000 words per day, but
women use 30,000."

The wife thought for a while, then finally she said to
her husband,
"It's because we have to repeat eve! rything we say."
The husband said, "What?"

21-03-2004, 05:41 PM
now that is funny...lolz..
dun bother about this debate...
guys...respect the girls..
and girls....respect the guys..
all respect each other...no point arguing whether female or male is better...
so what if male is better than female or vice versa? u cant take this as generalisation..there are always extreme cases.

but if u still want to argue in this topic, just tell me who has the highest IQ in human history. and who won nobel prizes more than once? maybe thrice? cant remember... 8)

21-03-2004, 05:41 PM
now that is funny...lolz..
dun bother about this debate...
guys...respect the girls..
and girls....respect the guys..
all respect each other...no point arguing whether female or male is better...
so what if male is better than female or vice versa? u cant take this as generalisation..there are always extreme cases.

but if u still want to argue in this topic, just tell me who has the highest IQ in human history. and who won nobel prizes more than once? maybe thrice? cant remember... 8)

21-03-2004, 11:39 PM
but if u still want to argue in this topic, just tell me who has the highest IQ in human history. and who won nobel prizes more than once? maybe thrice? cant remember...

Definitely not you kua .... Is it??? :P

21-03-2004, 11:39 PM
but if u still want to argue in this topic, just tell me who has the highest IQ in human history. and who won nobel prizes more than once? maybe thrice? cant remember...

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:41 PM
Gee, this there's really no point in arguing about this.
Who would say that the opposite sex is better?
Each would be too egoistic to admit that they have their own strengths and weaknesses.

By the way, pandaboy, you can't generalize by numbers coze numbers can be misleading.

hungwei
21-03-2004, 11:41 PM
Each would be too egoistic to admit that they have their own strengths and weaknesses.

By the way, pandaboy, you can't generalize by numbers coze numbers can be misleading.

22-03-2004, 01:19 AM

if not me, takkan u meh? 8)

Actually the highest IQ goes to Albert Einstein(GUY- to those who dun understand) and Marie Curie (FEMALE - again who dun understand i will jump down the ....er...stool) won the nobel prizes more than once (am i right?). The point i am trying to make here is that these are the extreme cases lor...how can we say female is better than male and vice versa?

So if you all really free, nothing else better to do, and still wan to continue debating, then i got nothing else to say...

22-03-2004, 01:19 AM

if not me, takkan u meh? 8)

Actually the highest IQ goes to Albert Einstein(GUY- to those who dun understand) and Marie Curie (FEMALE - again who dun understand i will jump down the ....er...stool) won the nobel prizes more than once (am i right?). The point i am trying to make here is that these are the extreme cases lor...how can we say female is better than male and vice versa?

So if you all really free, nothing else better to do, and still wan to continue debating, then i got nothing else to say...

22-03-2004, 01:22 AM

why u repeating wat i said?

You dont seemed to get what i said. I said we CANT take this as a generalisation.....

22-03-2004, 01:22 AM

why u repeating wat i said?

You dont seemed to get what i said. I said we CANT take this as a generalisation.....

22-03-2004, 01:34 AM
Glad to see this argument is going nowhere. It is supposed to be going nowhere isn't it? I mean c'mon, its been proven that males and females are equal in every sense, though society still has a somewhat biased view I'm sure. But don't you people think that arguing over this is something like arguing about whether the chicken or the egg came first?

22-03-2004, 01:34 AM
Glad to see this argument is going nowhere. It is supposed to be going nowhere isn't it? I mean c'mon, its been proven that males and females are equal in every sense, though society still has a somewhat biased view I'm sure. But don't you people think that arguing over this is something like arguing about whether the chicken or the egg came first?

oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 09:52 AM
This will make an interesting essay topic! Alright, it's kind of shocking to know that 70 percent of the university is dominated by female undergrads which means that there is only a 30 percent left for guys! I have already gone through the statistics for the gender population in Malaysia. At first, when I read the first post I thought that the population of females are outnumbering the males (in malaysia I mean)! This is what I've got. The population of people in Malaysia was 23 100 000 in 2003 (the survey was done in July). And that the ratio of the number of males to the females from the age of 15 to 64 years old (which accounts for 61.9 percent of the population) is almost 1 to 1. When I looked at the statistics for the literacy percentage for males and females (15 years and above), the number of males that can read and write (92.4 percent) exceeds the females (85.4 percent) which accounts for 88.9 percent of the population who can read and write. So this means that we have almost an equal amount of males and females enrolling into junior and high school. The only difference made is the number of males and females enrolling into university. The rising number of female undergrads might be an implication of the awareness that the female gender is getting which is education is important. Guys have been exposed to teritary education since a long long time in the past (which means that teritary education is so usual to them and they think that they can get into university easily without doing much). The chance for females to enter university was eventually low in the past so the females had to work harder to prove themselves capable of what the guys are doing which accounts for the rise of number of females in university. Probably the sudden rise of number may also come from the certain interest in fields which were originally taken up by guys for example technical fields such as engineering and also practical skills such as practicing medicine. And because they work harder, they are admitted easily into university. But having a large number of females in university does not mean that they are better the guys. Generally yes but if you look specifically, number does not really count, quality does. It seems like guys are high achievers even though their number may be less. So do not underestimate the guys! And all the important people in science the really smart ones are also guys. So without guys, there wouldn't be any advancement to this world at all in the sense of technology and science. To sum it up, both genders are equal, the number of females undergrads may exceed the guys but the guys in turn are better!

oshmelvin
22-03-2004, 09:52 AM
This will make an interesting essay topic! Alright, it's kind of shocking to know that 70 percent of the university is dominated by female undergrads which means that there is only a 30 percent left for guys! I have already gone through the statistics for the gender population in Malaysia. At first, when I read the first post I thought that the population of females are outnumbering the males (in malaysia I mean)! This is what I've got. The population of people in Malaysia was 23 100 000 in 2003 (the survey was done in July). And that the ratio of the number of males to the females from the age of 15 to 64 years old (which accounts for 61.9 percent of the population) is almost 1 to 1. When I looked at the statistics for the literacy percentage for males and females (15 years and above), the number of males that can read and write (92.4 percent) exceeds the females (85.4 percent) which accounts for 88.9 percent of the population who can read and write. So this means that we have almost an equal amount of males and females enrolling into junior and high school. The only difference made is the number of males and females enrolling into university. The rising number of female undergrads might be an implication of the awareness that the female gender is getting which is education is important. Guys have been exposed to teritary education since a long long time in the past (which means that teritary education is so usual to them and they think that they can get into university easily without doing much). The chance for females to enter university was eventually low in the past so the females had to work harder to prove themselves capable of what the guys are doing which accounts for the rise of number of females in university. Probably the sudden rise of number may also come from the certain interest in fields which were originally taken up by guys for example technical fields such as engineering and also practical skills such as practicing medicine. And because they work harder, they are admitted easily into university. But having a large number of females in university does not mean that they are better the guys. Generally yes but if you look specifically, number does not really count, quality does. It seems like guys are high achievers even though their number may be less. So do not underestimate the guys! And all the important people in science the really smart ones are also guys. So without guys, there wouldn't be any advancement to this world at all in the sense of technology and science. To sum it up, both genders are equal, the number of females undergrads may exceed the guys but the guys in turn are better!

22-03-2004, 03:54 PM
In the process of protecting the rights of the women, do you think that the United States has somehow overprotected them and discriminated men? I mean ... There are a few all-women universities, and universities where its women:men ratio is higher, but can't find universities who has the other way round. What do you guys think?

22-03-2004, 03:54 PM
In the process of protecting the rights of the women, do you think that the United States has somehow overprotected them and discriminated men? I mean ... There are a few all-women universities, and universities where its women:men ratio is higher, but can't find universities who has the other way round. What do you guys think?

22-03-2004, 04:08 PM
The rising number of female undergrads might be an implication of the awareness that the female gender is getting which is education is important.

I agree with oshmelvin on this. If we look into the history of women's education, it was not until the 1960s (pardon if i'm incorrect) when women across the world began to recieve formal education. Before the era, only the upper class women had the privilege of attending schools (anyway most are merely finishing schools).

So now that women have finally achieved equality in terms of the rights for education, there is a sense of motivation instilled in the hearts of most women to do well. It's like when you finally get something you really want (but took you years of effort to get it), you tend to appreciate it more.

Anyway, these are just my thoughts...

22-03-2004, 04:08 PM
The rising number of female undergrads might be an implication of the awareness that the female gender is getting which is education is important.

I agree with oshmelvin on this. If we look into the history of women's education, it was not until the 1960s (pardon if i'm incorrect) when women across the world began to recieve formal education. Before the era, only the upper class women had the privilege of attending schools (anyway most are merely finishing schools).

So now that women have finally achieved equality in terms of the rights for education, there is a sense of motivation instilled in the hearts of most women to do well. It's like when you finally get something you really want (but took you years of effort to get it), you tend to appreciate it more.

Anyway, these are just my thoughts...

Melo_15
25-03-2004, 09:14 PM
:D erm actually just to increase rating....haha nola....well personally i think females more hard working lor...4 example, female dun involve in sports very often, then they also ermm....go out less...not like guyz....everyday go yam cha only....haha me too last time.....but now my housemates all very hworking one....so they dun go so i dun go lor! 8)
i actually admire the way gals study la.....they can concentrate n undisturbeb 4 few hours.....i know la i got gf ma...everytime study one....haha...... :roll:

20-06-2008, 01:36 PM
I came across the statistics on local universities intake 2008/09 yesterday, and the figures show that female undergraduates still outnumber male, by 64.5% to 35.5%

Even though this thread is 5 years old, but it seems the phenomenon is still there... Is this common in any other parts of the world? Or just so in Malaysia? What are the reasons behind this? Where have all the male students gone?

20-06-2008, 01:43 PM
You don't need to look at undergraduate level. Go further below and you will see that this phenomenon began at an even earlier age in the primary or secondary school. I assumed now that the females have higher expectations of themselves to want to achieve more.

Whereas males are considered breadwinners in the older days, working females now challenge that and thus, provide motivation for younger ones to join in the bandwagon. I still remember my Physics teacher theory on this. In the past, the females all get involve in relationship with boyfriends and thus, try to get lower marks than them so that they won't bruise bf ego. Now that less people are involved in relationship, the girls study while the boys still fool around. That's why the girls catch up with the guys in almost every single academic field.

20-06-2008, 02:04 PM
You don't need to look at undergraduate level. Go further below and you will see that this phenomenon began at an even earlier age in the primary or secondary school. I assumed now that the females have higher expectations of themselves to want to achieve more.

Whereas males are considered breadwinners in the older days, working females now challenge that and thus, provide motivation for younger ones to join in the bandwagon. I still remember my Physics teacher theory on this. In the past, the females all get involve in relationship with boyfriends and thus, try to get lower marks than them so that they won't bruise bf ego. Now that less people are involved in relationship, the girls study while the boys still fool around. That's why the girls catch up with the guys in almost every single academic field.I was in mix school back in secondary school, and I could see girls perform much better during lower forms, but most of them, their results drop significantly when they reached Form 4, where more science subjects come in... Boys started to do better then... Still, when it comes to undergraduate, the ratio is still very much unbalanced...

I don't really agree with the theory, I believe in the past, girls didn't have good chances to study, unlike males. 30 years ago, when education was not as affordable as today, parents will normally sacrifice the chances of education of daughters to save the money for son. Many girls didn't even have chance to finish secondary school. In this case, how many of them could get involved in relationship when during schooling days? Somehow, I've seen quite some examples of boys whose girl friends is academically better than them, eventually work hard till their results are on par, if not better than their girl friend's.

I used to think that boys are more playful and less hardworking, but when I went to college, I realised that this is not entirely correct, I've seen many hardworking boys actually outperformed some equally hardworking girls...

B.T.SengYee
20-06-2008, 02:26 PM
erm...!!
boys are smarter
but girls are more hardworking..
so for sure hardworking will give u a better score...
as u c..
boys ezy get a in school..
not girls..
but then the highest scorer is for sure a girl...
DeLuxeEris (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/DeLuxeEris/)

Al-Bert
20-06-2008, 03:28 PM
1. Women's brain are about 10% smaller than that of men. Men's brain weighs about 1.4Kg and women's weighs 1.25Kg. Women, however, have 10% more brain nerve cells than men.

2. Women use more parts of the brain than men do
Whatever they do, there are much more nerve cells' movements in female's brain than that of male's.

3. Women are sensitive to their emotions
When women face a sad situation, they feel 8 times more of sad emotion.
Women have 2 times more chances of getting depression.

4. Women are better at language uses
Females read and speak faster than men. Based on a test, women remembered more rhyming words than men did during a limited time period. Also women found more synonyms and color related words. It is because women use both right and left part of brain when they read.

5. Women have better memory then men
New York University conducted a research on memories of both men and women. They were shown some pictures in a certain order for a second. For the result, women had an average score of 105, which was higher than that of men. The psychologist, Dr. Thomas
Crook says that women have better memory at any age than men.

6. Women are weak at 3-D perceptibility
Women depend on existing buildings or landscapes when they are going somewhere. They take a look at the store across the street and the side hills. Men, however, remember the direction with specific distances; they think about heading to west for a mile and then going northward for 3 miles. This is why men are better at parking in even a tiny place.

Think about the fifth point! Education system in Malaysia is giving more priority in student's memory work. You would see that most students have to strive hard in squeezing the syllabus into their brain in order to perform well in the examination. Female student have advantage over male student in term of memory power, that's why no surprise when they could outperform male in the exam in overall.

V
V
V
Male chauvinist detected.

20-06-2008, 03:35 PM
Men is better than Women. I rest this case.

teiya_drumzaddict
20-06-2008, 07:08 PM
Men is better than Women. I rest this case.

wow.. that conclusion is rather unfair. may i know what's the reason for you to say that?

I think both men and women are just equal except for the fields they specialise in and the question on which gender is actually better is very very subjective. It depends on who you are and who you want to be and what you want to achieve in life. Everybody despite of gender has their own goals to fulfil and they set their own benchmark of what they're going to achieve. those who put on a higher target than the other and put in enough effort to accomplish their target will eventually be clarified better.So really no point claiming which gender is better.

And to answer the dilemma going on about the percentage of females getting admission into university being more than males, its not the question of who's smart and who's not. It's more to how both females and males seize the opportunities of getting admission into unis and other deciding factors or criterias that has been implemented by unis themselves. We certainly can't claim one gender is smart over another. It really depends on current situation which actually influences the number of females and males going to unis. And if you noticed, we've seen a lot of efforts to equalize the number of male and female graduates.

Eventually, the females will face a tougher challenge in seizing opportunities in various aspects mainly education. Nowadays, no matter in getting admission to universities or getting a scholarship, females have to fight harder for it. Even though hardly no one would point it out but I'm sure everybody realise that usually opportunities as such don't come for girls as easy as it is for guys. Guys have more weightage in being offered such opportunities as compared to girls. I'm not saying that females are better but I'm just pointing out the reason why girls just have to (or rather MUST!) be hardworking and perform extraordinarily nowadays compared to guys for the sake of getting the same opportunities as guys do. That's why they always try to outdo guys in academics and coco in schools. As for the guys, some of them just choose to use a much more laid back approach when it comes to grabbing opportunities because well, like I said above it's easier for them if they know how to appreciate the privileges given in order to equalize the number of male graduates. That's why they are somehow not as motivated as the girls to work hard and boost their achievements to gain admission in unis or seizing other opportunities.

For example, a girl who got 4A1s in her spm wasn't offered matriculation but a guy who got 4As only can get a place in matriculation. Girls have to achieve 10As and above to get into PASUM but guys wiv 8As can already get into the programme. For scholarships since most of you must have gone through the whole interview process you just do the maths whether in the end how many guys actually get the scholarship as compared to girls especially corporate ones. Not to forget a girl with 16As and good coco wrote to the paper claiming that she's not offered any scholarships including the PSD's scholar whereas a guy wiv 8As and average coco can get the scholar. You may say these cases might happen randomly but what if a guy wiv 12As,GCE O LVLs 3B and good coco achievements and a deputy HB and a girl who got 12A1S,GCE O LVLs 1A, good coco achievements just like the guy and also the Head Girl applied for medics under JPA, both requesting UK as the country of their choice, interviewed by the same panel of interviewers and end up that the guy got UK and the girl got NZ. I may be wrong in giving examples forgive me but this is something I just have to point out and share.

B.T.SengYee
20-06-2008, 10:17 PM
wow.. that conclusion is rather unfair. may i know what's the reason for you to say that?

I think both men and women are just equal except for the fields they specialise in and the question on which gender is actually better is very very subjective. It depends on who you are and who you want to be and what you want to achieve in life. Everybody despite of gender has their own goals to fulfil and they set their own benchmark of what they're going to achieve. those who put on a higher target than the other and put in enough effort to accomplish their target will eventually be clarified better.So really no point claiming which gender is better.

And to answer the dilemma going on about the percentage of females getting admission into university being more than males, its not the question of who's smart and who's not. It's more to how both females and males seize the opportunities of getting admission into unis and other deciding factors or criterias that has been implemented by unis themselves. We certainly can't claim one gender is smart over another. It really depends on current situation which actually influences the number of females and males going to unis. And if you noticed, we've seen a lot of efforts to equalize the number of male and female graduates.

Eventually, the females will face a tougher challenge in seizing opportunities in various aspects mainly education. Nowadays, no matter in getting admission to universities or getting a scholarship, females have to fight harder for it. Even though hardly no one would point it out but I'm sure everybody realise that usually opportunities as such don't come for girls as easy as it is for guys. Guys have more weightage in being offered such opportunities as compared to girls. I'm not saying that females are better but I'm just pointing out the reason why girls just have to (or rather MUST!) be hardworking and perform extraordinarily nowadays compared to guys for the sake of getting the same opportunities as guys do. That's why they always try to outdo guys in academics and coco in schools. As for the guys, some of them just choose to use a much more laid back approach when it comes to grabbing opportunities because well, like I said above it's easier for them if they know how to appreciate the privileges given in order to equalize the number of male graduates. That's why they are somehow not as motivated as the girls to work hard and boost their achievements to gain admission in unis or seizing other opportunities.

For example, a girl who got 4A1s in her spm wasn't offered matriculation but a guy who got 4As only can get a place in matriculation. Girls have to achieve 10As and above to get into PASUM but guys wiv 8As can already get into the programme. For scholarships since most of you must have gone through the whole interview process you just do the maths whether in the end how many guys actually get the scholarship as compared to girls especially corporate ones. Not to forget a girl with 16As and good coco wrote to the paper claiming that she's not offered any scholarships including the PSD's scholar whereas a guy wiv 8As and average coco can get the scholar. You may say these cases might happen randomly but what if a guy wiv 12As,GCE O LVLs 3B and good coco achievements and a deputy HB and a girl who got 12A1S,GCE O LVLs 1A, good coco achievements just like the guy and also the Head Girl applied for medics under JPA, both requesting UK as the country of their choice, interviewed by the same panel of interviewers and end up that the guy got UK and the girl got NZ. I may be wrong in giving examples forgive me but this is something I just have to point out and share.

nice explanation..
this is wat actually happen in malaysia..
how lucky are us as guys..
WildCATblond (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/WildCATblond/)

whui
20-06-2008, 10:46 PM
In East Asia, take an example Korea, females are discriminated. I can't get the real picture as I never been in Korea. Its unbelievable since it is one of the most developed countries. Most teenagers in Msia love everything about Koreans. If you managed to live there for a few years, you will realize lots of Koreans tend to discriminate foreigners. Believe it or not. Korea and Japan are really good in this unless ur "East-Asian" appearance and good KR/JP accent manage to fool them.

Sorry I'd digressed the latter part.

ken_cck_kid
20-06-2008, 11:23 PM
male needs female and female needs male..

conclusion: no one is better than the other..hahaha..

21-06-2008, 01:15 PM
For example, a girl who got 4A1s in her spm wasn't offered matriculation but a guy who got 4As only can get a place in matriculation. Girls have to achieve 10As and above to get into PASUM but guys wiv 8As can already get into the programme. For scholarships since most of you must have gone through the whole interview process you just do the maths whether in the end how many guys actually get the scholarship as compared to girls especially corporate ones. Not to forget a girl with 16As and good coco wrote to the paper claiming that she's not offered any scholarships including the PSD's scholar whereas a guy wiv 8As and average coco can get the scholar. You may say these cases might happen randomly but what if a guy wiv 12As,GCE O LVLs 3B and good coco achievements and a deputy HB and a girl who got 12A1S,GCE O LVLs 1A, good coco achievements just like the guy and also the Head Girl applied for medics under JPA, both requesting UK as the country of their choice, interviewed by the same panel of interviewers and end up that the guy got UK and the girl got NZ. I may be wrong in giving examples forgive me but this is something I just have to point out and share.Any clarification on this? So far, I've not seen any disadvantages to girls in the cases mentioned above... The guys who got scholarships are as good as girls, and mind you, in whatever preparatory courses (PASUM or matriculation), there are still more girls than guys... Most of the time, in term of allocating places, there are more things involved than sex...

By the way, I was wondering how about the situation in private colleges and universities, since the statistics quoted are for local public universities only...

fyza
22-06-2008, 01:33 PM
I think female and male are equal..
The 'better' only rest in the effort that one puts in theirselves..
For example, in a classroom.. first class to be exact,
It always contained equal amount of boys and girls...
so each have to fight to be the best..
it doesnt always have to be female right??

The 21A's student turns out to be a male!!

So,basically,it's the effort of someone that counts...

aitheng
22-06-2008, 05:24 PM
yes, males n females should be equal. it all depends on effort.
but y our society doesnt look at us equally., gives us equal chances....?????!!!!!
unfair!!!!

jingying
22-06-2008, 06:45 PM
yes, males n females should be equal. it all depends on effort.
but y our society doesnt look at us equally., gives us equal chances....?????!!!!!
unfair!!!!

i think there is chance and opportunity everywhere.just that we must make an effort to grab and utilise it...chance wont come to you by itself..so appreciate any opportunity to make urself a better person :nod

silent_man
22-06-2008, 06:51 PM
bt do u think gender equality exists in Malaysia? Only to a certain extent..

aitheng
22-06-2008, 06:58 PM
bt do u think gender equality exists in Malaysia? Only to a certain extent..

ya its only in certain extent. certain job opportunities r only open to males or only females. take engineer as example. ppl prefer n trust male engineers more than female engineers. one of my friend is facing that prob. she went for a few interviews n they rejected her with the reason that they prefer a male.

fyza
22-06-2008, 09:24 PM
Yea..true!!

Why cant they judge these people based on qualifications and the charisma that they have and not through their gender??

It's sad when female have to take courses that suit their style.. Think of it this way..why are we having a lot of male chefs instead of female?

jingying
22-06-2008, 09:28 PM
Kindda true but that doesn't make female lousier than male.

If female has the capability like male (or maybe more capable than male) i think there is still a lot opportunities ahead of her.

argh..i am going to take up engineering course..will that affect my career path? i hope not =(

fyza
22-06-2008, 09:38 PM
Yeap..true..

Hey, I dont think that will affect your career path..

One of my friend is going to do Geology and she turns out to be a Female!!

For long term, it will affect the future once a lady have her own family.. more and greater responsibilities for her to carry.. compared to males!

kintaro_kun
22-06-2008, 10:03 PM
i nvr go to pubs or clubs that offer ladies night or cheaper entrance fees for ladies. i do not support establishments that practise gender discrimination.

22-06-2008, 10:05 PM
Many girls wanna take up engineering nowadays..

hw bout if guys become a teacher? the phenomena is getting common to see guys become a techer nowadays though the salary of a teacher is quite low..low until they cant even support their family..it is very pity.

Gender should be equalised.

22-06-2008, 10:34 PM
How about a male who wants to become a nurse? I think the situation is still about the same as female engineers, if not worse... How would the society look at this?

Since someone mentioned about gender equality, I've a very simple question here. When two persons go for dating, who will pay for the bill? Male or female? If we are practising gender equality, is it that girls should pay as many times as boys? In general, boys are still be required to be "gentleman". So, I'm afraid in this case no gender equality has been achieved.

22-06-2008, 11:18 PM
The problem with some people touting gender equality is that they are actually championing "compensatory favouritism" towards the female instead of true equality.

skyrainbow
22-06-2008, 11:28 PM
That's not always true... because the culture still looks down on females.
And Females need to care for their family too when they do work. I think that's not fair, as male also should take up the resposibility in doinf the house chores. I know that some fathers helps thier wife, but it is not so widely practice. In terms of equal competition, not all companies gives priviledges to females, and most favours male more, because they are more deovted to thier career than their family, but females need to divide their time an energy to both career and family, and some even give up their career.

I think the society needs to give a little tolerance, which is refered to by some as priviledge or favourism to females, so that females can stand up in their career, not to empower males, but to live with meaning and dignity. unless, their cultural preceived roles as a home maker is equally taken by the males.

22-06-2008, 11:38 PM
I know, and agree that females need to be given more chance and understanding.

What I was referring to in my previous post, is occasion like splitting bills - sometimes you could hear girl say "I want equal rights" and "You pay the bill lar, I am a girl leh" in the same breath. And if you point out the contradiction between these two, they might retort, "But hey, girls are being discriminated against, so shouldn't you at least do something to compensate?"

NB: Not real conversation, just my imagination :P

jpysh2004@
22-06-2008, 11:44 PM
well, for me, we can't compare both female and male, it depends on the individual itself. For example, if we compare a male factory worker to a female manager, female is better; or we compare a male CEO to a housewife, male is better. It wont work even if we compare it in the same field. For example, designing, there are males and females in this field. Both are doing well in the field. The only difference is the numbers. And number of male or female in the particular field doesn't contribute to any sex being better in that field

skyrainbow
22-06-2008, 11:45 PM
lol...I havent seen girls who ask boys to pay bills. But, when doing the heavy work, mostly boys are asked to do it.

However, i personally dont think that reflects gender inequality, because it's just something individual. Not all gals ask guys to pay bills, and not all guys will pay the bills of gals. And paying bills or doing other micellacous things by whim or to get along with friends doesnt make much harm to guys. And gals dont really get much benefits from that as well.

In terms of opportunity in 'real' life, i think guys are still on the upper hand.

kintaro_kun
23-06-2008, 03:37 AM
lol...I havent seen girls who ask boys to pay bills.

In terms of opportunity in 'real' life, i think guys are still on the upper hand.

i havent "seen" guys on the upper hand in real life, but it doesnt mean such incidences dont exist.

anyway, some excerpts from an article in The Australian:

If, as seems likely, she is defeated by Obama in the coming weeks and months, then we can expect to hear more about the failure of Clinton’s candidacy as evidence of the inability of women to break through the ultimate glass ceiling.

The sight of Clinton and her sisterhood supporters crying victim, blaming her failure on gender discrimination, instead of accepting defeat gracefully, does women no favours. When women start to recognize that they may fail because of their own flaws, rather than some grand misogynist conspiracy, then feminism’s core aim to empower women will have prevailed.

Now, let’s try this scenario instead. Hillary is not losing because she is a woman. Maybe she is losing because she is Hillary.

perhaps when woman A complains why she is not at the top of the hierachy, its just because she is woman A? and not because she is a woman? feminist would so like to use gender as a weapon to explain everything deemed to be not working in their favour. get real.

now when men complain why they are required to pay for the dinner bill because they are men, or why they are charged double for club/pub entry because thay are men, THOSE are valid complaints in terms of gender discrimination.

we are not talking about saudi arabia here. we are talking about msia and anywhere else that "claim" to promote gender equality and criminalise gender discrimination. if women are really up for it to promote gender equality, perhaps they should start protesting at pubs, clubs, cinemas and bars that hold ladies nights, and free entry for ladies. unless, they subscribe to the flawed "gender discrimination is ok, as long as it favours us" theory.

i reckon those bars and clubs are liable for suing. tell me how they are not practising gender discrimination in those ladies-only offers?

whui
23-06-2008, 03:53 AM
More to add, if females are to seek for gender equalities, there shouldn't be "go let the man to do the heavy and dirty work" while "let the women to be spoon-fed and served" or such privileges to exist.

Leen
23-06-2008, 07:34 AM
^

The reason why women need men to help them with heavy loads is because men are born to have 2-3 times more energy than women have. Even if they seek equality (in terms of right), that does not mean they should also seek equality in workload because it is natural for a man to be stronger than a woman. So it is only fair that a man does more heavy jobs than a woman.

23-06-2008, 07:56 AM
More to add, if females are to seek for gender equalities, there shouldn't be "go let the man to do the heavy and dirty work" while "let the women to be spoon-fed and served" or such privileges to exist.Correct... Women never complain when somebody says "Let the men do the heavy jobs" but say that they're discriminated against when somebody says "Let women do the household job"... In fact in this case there isn't any gender discrimination involved, just that humans know to utilise the advantages of a gender. Male are physically stronger, so they should do heavy works (in the past, that is to earn money, as in ancient times, most jobs involved are physical work) while women are more caring so they can do a better job in taking care of a family. While female fight for equal rights, most of the time are actually fighting for the chances in jobs, not others... Nowadays there are more jobs that require brain work than physical work, so more jobs now open to women, yet the society is still under transition period to accept women in these jobs especially in the field traditionally dominated by men. Yet, nobody voice out for men when they're being looked down in the field traditionally dominated by women (housekeeping, nursing etc...) If you realise, the sentence "Come on, you're a boy/man/guy right? You should do this..."etc.. is also a form of gender discrimination, just like "You're a girl/woman/female, you should stay at home..." etc...

kintaro_kun
23-06-2008, 06:40 PM
chivalry (gentlemen-ness) was officially and legally abolished when gender equality was officially and legally adopted. hence, to be gentlemanly to a woman is actually an insult and offense to women.

skyrainbow
23-06-2008, 08:08 PM
Correct... Women never complain when somebody says "Let the men do the heavy jobs" but say that they're discriminated against when somebody says "Let women do the household job"... In fact in this case there isn't any gender discrimination involved, just that humans know to utilise the advantages of a gender. Male are physically stronger, so they should do heavy works (in the past, that is to earn money, as in ancient times, most jobs involved are physical work) while women are more caring so they can do a better job in taking care of a family.

I think that man should do the heavy work, but not a must... not because womeaan dont want to do them... many poor ppl do the deavy work even if they are women. But in this case, it's that women arent that strong and cant handle the heavy work. eg... They cannot carry 3 sacks of 30 kg rice like men can. even in weight carrying competition or runs, women and men and competed separately, because, biologically, men and woemn are different.

But in terms of caring for the family and doing the house chore, men cant just push their duties to women, only because women are persumed to be more caring than men, since for the past centuries, women were only mothers and wives and nothing else. A married man should care for their children together with their wife as well, the kids belong to both husband and wife, not the wife alone. So they so carry equal responsibility.

There's no excuses that man has less time than their working spouse to care for their family or do the houswork, as their spouse also divide her time between work and family. Even if their are less skillful in doing the housework, they should learn how to do it.

Take for example, a male say, 'Let my sister wash my clothes, becaus she can do a better job ' or ' let my sister take care of my younger brother, she's more considerate'(while he himself goes out to play, watch tv, play games, or study in the room and his sister equally wants to do those activities) or ' My wife should not work , as she must care only for our family. (she's more caring, so she can takes better care of 'OUR' children'.) For me, these males are just running away from their duties.

More to add, if females are to seek for gender equalities, there shouldn't be "go let the man to do the heavy and dirty work" while "let the women to be spoon-fed and served" or such privileges to exist.

In a construction site, do you see women are hired? No, because they are not as strong as the male workers. Even if they goes to the gym every day, their strength isnt as strong as men. A woman strenght is just as that of a 70 year old man. Many poor women wants to do those job, they are not throwing it to the men, but are they strong enough?

A man can learn to do housework, if they do them as frequently as their sisters. But women can never 'learn' to cary heavy loads, more than that of thier strength allows them to.

In school, teachers ask boys to carry books, because they are just picking someone to carry their stuffs. They ask boys just to make it easier to pursuade the students to help them, out of 'gentelman-ness'. But it's not the woman that benefits, but the teachers who get the priviledges.

It would be their wrong perception, if they force only the boys to do the heavy dirty work. Actually, girls are equally willing to be helpful to the teachers.

Women are never spoon-feeded. Most in the past are full-time housewife that needs to obey all their husband command. If not, the husband has the rights to divorce her and it would be made the wife's fault.

23-06-2008, 08:09 PM
I think gender equality can only be properly implemented when people stop seeing each other as gentlemen and ladies...

As long as we fight over whether guys and girls should do this and that, we can never put a stop to this argument.

(I especially hate it when some girls got irritated just because i said i cannot handle heavy work with my left arm due to 2 malformed fracture sites. Just because they have to carry their loads themselves.)

skyrainbow
23-06-2008, 08:17 PM
. Yet, nobody voice out for men when they're being looked down in the field traditionally dominated by women (housekeeping, nursing etc...) If you realise, the sentence "Come on, you're a boy/man/guy right? You should do this..."etc.. is also a form of gender discrimination, just like "You're a girl/woman/female, you should stay at home..." etc...

In this case, men should take up the effort, as women has already done in fighting to equal position with man, to explain to the society that doing works in field traditionally dominated by women isnt embarassing and in fact gender neutrality in those fields is something good.

(I especially hate it when some girls got irritated just because i said i cannot handle heavy work with my left arm due to 2 malformed fracture sites. Just because they have to carry their loads themselves.)

I also hates it when teachers complaint that i sholud do my work tidily because i'm a girl, when i got untidy in essays. While another of my male classmate is more untidy than i am. I know they are trying to advice me to do my work more tidily, but they put in the wrong reason.

ame.zost
08-07-2008, 02:13 PM
lelaki : 9 akal - 1 nafsu
wanita : 1 akal - 9 nafsu

mesti korg pernah dgr kan...???