View Full Version : MCA Treat for JPA scholars
some of my friends (JPA scholars) receive SMS from Ong Ka Ting ... he stated MCA help him/her get the JPA .. do y'all receive it? (not me)
btw.. MCA asked my ex-school about this year JPA scholars.. they gonna treat us a dinner next Thursday...
All this sounds very political....
Fourthshifter
13-05-2007, 11:15 PM
Agrees,
try saying stuffs like "I will support MCA" and "I will vote you" and you will get a nice abalone soup and big chicken. Of course late you vote otherwise lah. take the chance to politicalize the politicians :P
Agrees,
try saying stuffs like "I will support MCA" and "I will vote you" and you will get a nice abalone soup and big chicken. Of course late you vote otherwise lah. take the chance to politicalize the politicians :P
if i say i "anti-MCA" there.. dunno wat wil happen... LOL
Terminate my scholarship? nah
admin07
14-05-2007, 12:06 AM
some of my friends (JPA scholars) receive SMS from Ong Ka Ting ... he stated MCA help him/her get the JPA .. do y'all receive it? (not me)
btw.. MCA asked my ex-school about this year JPA scholars.. they gonna treat us a dinner next Thursday...
wat's Ong's hp no.?
I 1 call him
y i din receive his sms?
wat's Ong's hp no.?
I 1 call him
y i din receive his sms?
i heard from my friends that is 019-something... mostly not himself .. maybe his Political Secretary?
Daniel_Chin
14-05-2007, 12:37 AM
Huh? Then I hope I'll get it after appealing through MCA...
MCA I love you!!! (don't hate me pls) :twisted:
p4peace
14-05-2007, 02:22 AM
haha...i received the sms.
Feel surprise at 1st.
thought mayb it was my fren having fun v me or something else......
just simply unbelievable~~
wan d hp no. ??! private n confidential ??~~ :P
Feel surprise at 1st.
Hmm... if u post there.... i afraid somebody will abuse it, causing them to change the phone number in order to get rid of them.... then y'all can do nothing already.... :lol:
14-05-2007, 10:46 AM
erm..may i know their(jpa scholars who received SMS) results??
14-05-2007, 10:58 AM
Feel surprise at 1st.
Hmm... if u post there.... i afraid somebody will abuse it, causing them to change the phone number in order to get rid of them.... then y'all can do nothing already.... :lol:
Help DIGI to get more customers , perhaps
~ follow u, follow u, i will always follow u...~
beautiful_scars89
14-05-2007, 11:47 AM
is it true tat in 1800 places for jpa oni 190 for chinese?tel me if i m wrong
14-05-2007, 11:56 AM
is it true tat in 1800 places for jpa oni 190 for chinese?tel me if i m wrong
i think u are wrong..
i think i saw somewhere in newspaper..about 400/500 chinese get it..
anyway..tell me again if i am wrong
beautiful_scars89
14-05-2007, 12:02 PM
really? which newspaper is it? go check it out....coz i muz prove the person who told me tis wrong
14-05-2007, 12:44 PM
really? which newspaper is it? go check it out....coz i muz prove the person who told me tis wrong
not sure lo..cause some1 said that 190 is the 1st batch..or..those with lower 1500 income..or ...not relaly remember..
14-05-2007, 02:08 PM
Moderator Note: Moved the thread to "scholarships" section.
evening_go_jogging
14-05-2007, 05:07 PM
may i know which school do you from?
you can PM me. thanks!
teh888
14-05-2007, 08:02 PM
may i know ur friends r from which state?
FURTHER details pls !
THANKS!!! :D :D :D
My fren from Penang... unfortunately my friend already deleted the SMS.. 'cuz the SMS sent to her father HP.. then he don't like the political trick... ('cuz it stated : Hope u will contribute ur energy to MCA)..
i stated think to boycott the dinner... 'cuz we all still students... i feel like v are not the tool of the politicians to gain their power.. they will sure using the dinner to state how they help us to get JPA...
HEY.. MCA!! Hope u will help the others who din get JPA (my fren even scold by them when he wanna appeal for his JPA) .. don't juz use ppl who already shortlisted for it as ur UGLY politics tool....
windhoe2
15-05-2007, 12:00 AM
My fren from Penang... unfortunately my friend already deleted the SMS.. 'cuz the SMS sent to her father HP.. then he don't like the political trick... ('cuz it stated : Hope u will contribute ur energy to MCA)..
i stated think to boycott the dinner... 'cuz we all still students... i feel like v are not the tool of the politicians to gain their power.. they will sure using the dinner to state how they help us to get JPA...
HEY.. MCA!! Hope u will help the others who din get JPA (my fren even scold by them when he wanna appeal for his JPA) .. don't juz use ppl who already shortlisted for it as ur UGLY politics tool....
some food for thought :)
Fourthshifter
15-05-2007, 12:13 AM
why dont u bring a bunch of people to demonstrate there?
bring a big anti nanyang purchase banner :D
sweetiojj
15-05-2007, 12:26 AM
i heard from my friends said only 160 chinsese? he said he saw this from newspapers two days ago...
p4peace
15-05-2007, 01:17 AM
Maxx.
d sms i received din stated 'Hope u will contribute ur energy to MCA'. It just congrat me n said that MCA convinced government to offer scholarship to me n ask me to study hard n serve the society.
I don't think tis is a political trick... :roll:
Just an encouragement?! haha..dono la..
15-05-2007, 10:32 AM
Maxx.
d sms i received din stated 'Hope u will contribute ur energy to MCA'. It just congrat me n said that MCA convinced government to offer scholarship to me n ask me to study hard n serve the society.
I don't think tis is a political trick... :roll:
I want also dun have ler....
if it is encouragement... i prefer them use cash money as the reward to the students.. then we can buy books or things v like :D
if food... it is juz for temporary syiok only... who wants that?
15-05-2007, 11:22 AM
if it is encouragement... i prefer them use cash money as the reward to the students.. then we can buy books or things v like :D
if food... it is juz for temporary syiok only... who wants that?
assertive..win-win situations...how?
15-05-2007, 12:02 PM
Last year there was dinner also by MCA, but only for those whom they helped in appeal and succeed.
Fourthshifter
15-05-2007, 12:14 PM
GE coming
GE coming
i heard from my teacher that Suruhanjaya Pilihan Raya is starting to recruit the committees and the staff including herself... if yes... this year will be a lucky batch as so many ppl shortlisted for it....
Fourthshifter
15-05-2007, 12:25 PM
GE coming
i heard from my teacher that Suruhanjaya Pilihan Raya is starting to recruit the committees and the staff including herself... if yes... this year will be a lucky batch as so many ppl shortlisted for it....
nice tectic they used,
but the recent downpour of bad news and the lack of national good news is going to decease the peoples support for these politicians.
15-05-2007, 01:17 PM
GE coming
nice tectic they used,
but the recent downpour of bad news and the lack of national good news is going to decease the peoples support for these politicians.
but y i dint get?! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: should i vote for keadilan now?
GE coming
nice tectic they used,
but y i dint get?! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: should i vote for keadilan now?
u kinda "Blind" LOLz
15-05-2007, 02:02 PM
BLIND???
so..i should vote for BN?
Excal
15-05-2007, 02:46 PM
Vote not for yourself but for your country. Anyway, we are still young, about 4 years more before 21, so many things can happen by then.
15-05-2007, 03:47 PM
ok..Thanks
15-05-2007, 04:03 PM
white2020, you should not have said now but in the future. :lol:
15-05-2007, 04:14 PM
white2020, you should not have said now but in the future. :lol:
Perhaps, I have to collect some useful information since i am young... :roll:
tsueyxin
17-05-2007, 11:24 AM
i'm speaking as one whom MCA claimed had helped (the grammar seems wrong)
i suppose there is a certain extend of truth in the SMS they sent us. the fact that they DID help us to obtain the scholarship should not give us any excuse to go about saying that it's a good political tactic and that we should boycott etc etc (allow some exaggeration please)
when one helped us,what do we say naturally?well, it's 'thank you' albeit what the motive is.
yes,GE is coming soon and MCA gains votes from society by showing what they can do (what they will do,we just have to keep our fingers crossed :? ) and why shouldn't helping students getting scholarships be one of it?
haha,i always allow both sides to an argument. go on saying that we're ugly political tools.
and yeah, you can say i'm pro-MCA now 8) whatever lah.
i'm speaking as one whom MCA claimed had helped (the grammar seems wrong)
i suppose there is a certain extend of truth in the SMS they sent us. the fact that they DID help us to obtain the scholarship should not give us any excuse to go about saying that it's a good political tactic and that we should boycott etc etc (allow some exaggeration please)
when one helped us,what do we say naturally?well, it's 'thank you' albeit what the motive is.
yes,GE is coming soon and MCA gains votes from society by showing what they can do (what they will do,we just have to keep our fingers crossed :? ) and why shouldn't helping students getting scholarships be one of it?
haha,i always allow both sides to an argument. go on saying that we're ugly political tools.
and yeah, you can say i'm pro-MCA now 8) whatever lah.
hmm... isn't our Government not encourage students join political group?? ...
if they did help us... simple say "thank you" is ok.. y if they really din?? Wat will happen?? How bout our frens that din get JPA.. can go there (dinner) and seeks from their help directly... isn't sound more effective?
jiaer
17-05-2007, 12:25 PM
Maxx.
the sms i receive is same with u...
r u using maxis??
the number sent to me is 012-xxxxxx
jiaer
17-05-2007, 01:20 PM
the sms i received:
'MCA has convinced government to offer scholarship to u'
what does it mean?
17-05-2007, 01:35 PM
the sms i received:
what does it mean?
mayb..(no offece ya..) before this they are not intending to give u the scholarship, but after MCA's so-called "help" they gave to u..
(no offence)
jiaer
17-05-2007, 02:01 PM
the sms i received:
what does it mean?
mayb..(no offece ya..) before this they are not intending to give u the scholarship, but after MCA's so-called "help" they gave to u..
(no offence)
that means i'll feel sorry if i reject it.
anyway, i wont reject it. haha.
honginn89
17-05-2007, 08:29 PM
the sms i received:
what does it mean?
i received sms from mca today too.. but they din said that 'MCA has convinced government to offer scholarship to u' but just invite me to have lunch wif some mca leader next tue... they stated that during the lunch they will invite ex jpa scholar to gv us some tips.. so i dont think so mca do that for ge.. but just wanna help the student only.. correct me if i am wrong..
skygurl89
17-05-2007, 09:06 PM
the sms i received:
what does it mean?
i received sms from mca today too.. but they din said that 'MCA has convinced government to offer scholarship to u' but just invite me to have lunch wif some mca leader next tue... they stated that during the lunch they will invite ex jpa scholar to gv us some tips.. so i dont think so mca do that for ge.. but just wanna help the student only.. correct me if i am wrong..
yeah i received the invitation msg today too. it is stated "Graz, u r invited 2 meet up & hv lunch with MCA PRESIDENT & leaders on 22/5, 1030am at 12th flr, MCA HQ KL, & get some guidance frm ex-JPA scholar." it doesnt sound political to me. and fyi,they got my hp number from my school principal :D
p4peace
18-05-2007, 01:52 AM
i received tis invitation too.
all together i received 2 msg from MCA.
1st msg- 'MCA has convinced government to offer scholarship to u,
congrat n study hard n serve for d society later"
2nd msg- 'u r invited 2 meet up & hv lunch with MCA PRESIDENT
leaders on 22/5, 1030am at 12th flr, MCA HQ KL, & get
some guidance frm ex-JPA scholar."
so should i go for the lunch since they do help me 2 secure my scholarship?? anyway, i m from johor. Is kinda far for me ...
do you guys think that gathering is important?? (but just some of my fren receive tis msg. how bout others jpa scholar who din receive? they don need any guidance?? )
so should i go for the lunch since they do help me 2 secure my scholarship?? anyway, i m from johor. Is kinda far for me ...
do you guys think that gathering is important?? (but just some of my fren receive tis msg. how bout others jpa scholar who din receive? they don need any guidance?? )
guidance?? are u kidding me ?
try to ask the MCA whether they have any transportation allowance...
cleoy
18-05-2007, 01:43 PM
Yesterday some of my friends received those sms. When i knew it, i was interested to go n get some guidance about JPA n I din't know that they going to hav lunch with the leaders...so....i go n get the hp no. and then sms them to ask whether i can go without being invited ....so....this morning they forward the message to me too.Haiz....now I am so confuse that whether i should go caz I am not invited at the first place.... :cry:
sihan
18-05-2007, 01:56 PM
Well, congrats everyone who get the invitation.... I reckon most of you will know why you get the invitation... General election is drawing near....
But MCA is really trying to help chinese community...
I'm from yong peng and my area mp is Dr Wee from MCA(I think some of you might know him...). He has been very helpful in assisting me when I was going to apply for scholarships....
He even typed me a recommendation letter.... I think that letter helped me to secure my JPA scholarship...
The content inside SMS (MCA lunch @<hidden> MCA HQ)
U r invited to meet up n hv lunch wt MCA President n leaders on 22 / 5, 10.30am @<hidden> 12th flr, MCAhq, jln ampang, kl n to get some guidance frm some JPA's scholars who had completed their studies, RSVP to Ms Hang / Yong 0320947684, Ms Pang 0321618044 ext 310 or reply via sms latest by 19/5. Tq.
Remember the phone number
18-05-2007, 04:00 PM
I got a call instead of a sms. But I can't go. Transportation and school examination problem.
WiNd90
18-05-2007, 06:15 PM
gotta wear formal outfit?
siewleng89
19-05-2007, 04:58 AM
gotta wear formal outfit?
nonit...i asked them the same question also...just need to look tidy...hahaha
evan89
19-05-2007, 12:55 PM
no nid formal? tats nice...
sure they say no nid wear formal?
r u all going 2 ahve a stay in kl or how
hmm... the local MCA (Bkt Mertajam) gonna sponsor us to KL.... i think is one day program.....
Really??You get their sms too??I'm not invited but i feel like going also...so r u going??When r they bringing u all there??
Nope... the local MCA invites us to go....... Depart @<hidden> 22 May from Bukit Mertajam @<hidden> 5am....
If u have KwongWah or GuangMing (i dunno other newspapers have or not)... u can c they "used" my friends as promotion... (hehe.. some of my frens boycott it)
evan89
19-05-2007, 08:06 PM
ya its quite troublesome for us tat stay tat kinda far...
hope there r some allowance for us la...
so wat will u guys wearing to go there?
jeans? or how..
20-05-2007, 12:06 PM
Nope... the local MCA invites us to go....... Depart @<hidden> 22 May from Bukit Mertajam @<hidden> 5am....
If u have KwongWah or GuangMing (i dunno other newspapers have or not)... u can c they "used" my friends as promotion... (hehe.. some of my frens boycott it)
Ya, that happened to some of my friends as well.
22-05-2007, 07:17 PM
For the MCA JPA Scholars Gathering today, the group of JPA Scholars who were invited by YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting were:-
- Students with family income below RM1,500 and with at least 10A1s
- Students who scored at least 13A1s
So, this answers why some students were invited and some students were not invited. So as not to inconvenient those students in Sabah/Sarawak, the invitation for this gathering was extended to those in Peninsular Malaysia only.
For this year, YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting managed to ensure that all students who are from the above 2 groups are successful in obtaining JPA Scholarships.
In today's gathering, YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting shared on the history of JPA Scholarships and some ex-JPA Scholars shared on their experience to those students.
Besides that, there were a bunch of JPA Scholars who attended the gathering after contacting the Secretariat. For other students who are interested to attend future gatherings, please feel free to contact the Ms Hang / Yong 03-20947684, Ms Pang 03-21618044 ext 310. This is the same RSVP contact number for those who got the SMS from YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting.
For those who went,can share it with us what u all do there??and any tips given by them??ty
22-05-2007, 07:34 PM
For the MCA JPA Scholars Gathering today, the group of JPA Scholars who were invited by YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting were:-
- Students with family income below RM1,500 and with at least 10A1s
- Students who scored at least 13A1s
So, this answers why some students were invited and some students were not invited. So as not to inconvenient those students in Sabah/Sarawak, the invitation for this gathering was extended to those in Peninsular Malaysia only.
For this year, YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting managed to ensure that all students who are from the above 2 groups are successful in obtaining JPA Scholarships.
In today's gathering, YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting shared on the history of JPA Scholarships and some ex-JPA Scholars shared on their experience to those students.
Besides that, there were a bunch of JPA Scholars who attended the gathering after contacting the Secretariat. For other students who are interested to attend future gatherings, please feel free to contact the Ms Hang / Yong 03-20947684, Ms Pang 03-21618044 ext 310. This is the same RSVP contact number for those who got the SMS from YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting.
When will be the next gatherings?
22-05-2007, 07:37 PM
For this year, JPA actually scanned through Income Tax Department to check on whether income inputed by students is genuine. All those who cheat on parents' income are automatically disqualified from the scholarship.
So, for those who fail to obtain JPA Scholarships, one of the possible reasons could be that they have cheated on parents' income.
22-05-2007, 07:48 PM
For this year, JPA actually scanned through Income Tax Department to check on whether income inputed by students is genuine. All those who cheat on parents' income are automatically disqualified from the scholarship.
So, for those who fail to obtain JPA Scholarships, one of the possible reasons could be that they have cheated on parents' income.
If students dint give their parents income tax number, can JPA still know about their parents income tax??
22-05-2007, 08:10 PM
If students dint give their parents income tax number, can JPA still know about their parents income tax??
If part of the form requires you to fill up the name of your parents (especially if it asks for their IC Number), the computer system should have no problem in detecting it.
22-05-2007, 08:35 PM
For those who went,can share it with us what u all do there??and any tips given by them??ty
Basically, YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting gave a speech to share on history of JPA Scholarships, as well as gave advice to the scholars to make full use of the scholarships and reminded the students not to forget to come back and contribute to our country.
After which, 6 former and current JPA Scholars (including myself) shared on our experience being a JPA Scholar, covering various areas, including encouraging the students to make full use of the scholarships, hostel life, challenges studying abroad, reminding them of the value of the scholarships and touching on the bonds issues.
After that, the students and the leaders took a group photo and a lot of those students lined up to take individual photo with YB Dato' Seri Ong Ka Ting.
The students then headed for lunch and the former and current JPA Scholars do stay back to answer all questions from the students and parents.
20-06-2007, 11:58 AM
if food... it is juz for temporary syiok only... who wants that? who wants tat ?
Many.
20-06-2007, 12:00 PM
GE coming
nice tectic they used,
but y i dint get?! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: should i vote for keadilan now? bcoz u gt Petronas edy...
well .. bad news? oh oh oh tat wldnt be a big problem... barisan nasional will stand still.. out anti parties.. well "nt as strong as them".. much more weaker. ? em hm.. y r we talking bout politics here,,
jojyi
20-06-2007, 10:48 PM
Agrees,
It shows that next year is guaranteed to be an election year!haha :lol:
evening_go_jogging
20-06-2007, 11:47 PM
Agrees,
erection?
Agrees,
erection?
LOLxx Dont lost in translation!! :roll: :roll:
Its ELECTION n not that erection coz erection have another meaning :oops: :oops: :? :?
dnsz89
21-06-2007, 01:03 AM
Agrees,
sorry fer butting in.it aint goinna b next year cause then it would be legitimate for anwar to run as an election candidate n "someones" intimidated. its this year what with the payrise n all.
21-06-2007, 10:28 PM
Agrees,
They do the same thing every year. So, every next year got election? :lol:
Fourthshifter
22-06-2007, 01:13 AM
I thought the whole issue is settled already?
Lexxam
29-06-2008, 11:39 AM
I thought the whole issue is settled already?
i heard this yr MCA doesnt treat the scholars anymore?? is it true??? is it due to their failure in the election??
alepbing
29-06-2008, 11:53 AM
i heard this yr MCA doesnt treat the scholars anymore?? is it true??? is it due to their failure in the election??
tak cukup funding kot.
p/s: janganlah think of everything that political parties do have political motives. sometimes they are just being nice and doing their social responsibilities
Lexxam
29-06-2008, 11:58 AM
tak cukup funding kot.
p/s: janganlah think of everything that political parties do have political motives. sometimes they are just being nice and doing their social responsibilities
i heard a MCA representatives tell the scholars last yr that MCA is a very rich association..they own The Star..their own Wisma...
alepbing
29-06-2008, 12:00 PM
i heard a MCA representatives tell the scholars last yr that MCA is a very rich association..they own The Star..their own Wisma...
tak cukup funding for the dinner perhaps. i think they spent quite a lot for general elections campaign hoho
Lexxam
29-06-2008, 12:02 PM
tak cukup funding for the dinner perhaps. i think they spent quite a lot for general elections campaign hoho
rubbish.........
vaanbalthier
29-06-2008, 01:11 PM
lol, samy vellu already treated those indian students who got excellent results in spm this year on 11th june if nt mistaken at PWTC. i knw coz my friend went for it........
wonder y this year MCA doesn't treat us......i'd been studying so hard for it, lol:p
Lexxam
29-06-2008, 01:14 PM
flames warning.
Waste, is an unwanted or undesired material or substance. It is also referred to as rubbish, trash, garbage, or junk depending upon the type of material and the regional terminology. In living organisms, waste relates to unwanted substances or toxins that are expelled from them.
wonder y this year MCA doesn't treat us......i'd been studying so hard for it, lol:p
They wanna focus on rebuilding...neglecting d annoying scholars...
before the election, they are too free until can treat every chinese scholars...
What's next??
29-06-2008, 01:20 PM
Waste, is an unwanted or undesired material or substance. It is also referred to as rubbish, trash, garbage, or junk depending upon the type of material and the regional terminology. In living organisms, waste relates to unwanted substances or toxins that are expelled from them.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flaming_(Internet)
(Before checking wikipedia for your "Rubbish" entry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waste), check "flaming" first)
Lexxam
29-06-2008, 01:29 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flaming_(Internet)
(Before checking wikipedia for your "Rubbish" entry (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waste), check "flaming" first)
That's what i check
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flame
Perhaps Water?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water
29-06-2008, 01:33 PM
Yup, and that's not funny. Now back to the topic.
30-06-2008, 02:23 AM
lol, samy vellu already treated those indian students who got excellent results in spm this year on 11th june if nt mistaken at PWTC. i knw coz my friend went for it........
wonder y this year MCA doesn't treat us......i'd been studying so hard for it, lol:pSo you study for... the dinner?
Anyway, it seems the scholarships publicity didn't help them in last general election, I think they might not emphasize more on what have they done to help chinese to secure scholarship, in the next election. People care more about what closely related, how many voters actually have children who need scholarships? I'm not saying the MCA treats came with political motive, but the thought just came out when I saw these words: MCA--treats--scholarships--election....
01-07-2008, 12:29 AM
I was at the function last year, but I don't think that any of the speaker said so.
I was there too and did heard it as well..but not during the function..
I and my friends heard of this during our return to BM..(MCA sponsor a bus :) )
It's said by one of BM contestants in 308 election...