View Full Version : Vista VS XP
studioworks
14-05-2007, 12:06 AM
ok,i ll probably enrol jpa pharmacy pre-u in mid-june...i think so...
what laptop should i buy.... vista or non-vista...wat requirements is recommended
sorry now i prefer online than gaming...coz after spm,when i play 3D game,my head is quite dizzy...b4 that,i m ok n have no prob in gaming...so i think my laptop do not have to have great graphic card or etc...
i prefer dell laptop but ppl say hard to find service centre if something wrong as dell do not have middle-man...acer have middle-man n service centre all over M'sia,but of coz more expensive(i pay the salary of the service centre)..hohoho
pharmacy dont have to require hi-tech spesification,rite? no autocad blablabla? any special programme i need to know for pharmacy programme?
in ur case... i think XP will more suitable for u...
Dell centre can be found any big cities in the universe.. juz call them will do...
14-05-2007, 07:35 AM
vista sucks...
get it after the more manufacturers release their drivers for vista first...
vista sucks...
get it after the more manufacturers release their drivers for vista first...
+Microsoft releases Service Pack 1 for Vista.. I heard that is this november....
studioworks
14-05-2007, 10:01 AM
so,xp still rox?will xp end up like window 95?
probably yes...every OS sure have its ending age... XP system is quite good already... juz like DirectX 9.0c...already unlocked all potential power of DX9 graphics card... rite now DirectX 10 (include in Windows Vista) its power is remain locked... but DX10 surely will replace DX9.0C shortly...
since u don't prefer gaming anymore... XP still considered as a good choice...
Tourist
14-05-2007, 10:17 AM
i prefer dell laptop but ppl say hard to find service centre if something wrong as dell do not have middle-man...acer have middle-man n service centre all over M'sia,but of coz more expensive(i pay the salary of the service centre)..hohoho
You are wrong. Call Dell and their service comes to you. With Acer, you have to go to their center. Which would you prefers?
14-05-2007, 11:54 AM
How about Toshiba??
choogirl
14-05-2007, 01:12 PM
i'm using vista but so far no prob. my suggestion is that u wait longer till vista is upgraded. dell is better.
ps: try posting ur thread in a better section for more response :D
14-05-2007, 01:42 PM
How about Toshiba??
erm..izzit everywhere also get its shop for maintainanace?/
erm..izzit too expensive??
If my friends want to do engineering, izzit suitable for them to nuy Toshiba??
Anything i need to know about Toshiba?
14-05-2007, 02:04 PM
Moderator Note: Moved this thread to "hardware and software issues".
Fourthshifter
14-05-2007, 05:20 PM
most professional companies wont move into newest OS so soon.
They will wait until the OS development is stable and much less bug prone before they use the new OS.
Usually they will wait until service pack is available.
sore_four_eyes
14-05-2007, 06:26 PM
Plus Vista is still not secure yet. Seems that some hackers have managed to find loopholes in the system. I wouldn't want to keep on downloading patches upon patches to safeguard my PC. Wait for them to sort out all the huge security holes first (I know that no OS is ever really secure, BUT...)
XP is still the best bet.
14-05-2007, 07:35 PM
I wanted to buy a new one. Not Vista because most hardware specification nowadays still not that powerfull. Should I buy online from Dell but still insecure about online buying from Dell. How does it works?
Using credit card..... buying DELL computer online can help u to rebate ur money as high as RM300...
insecure?? juz make u din use other ppl computer to make the purchase... use ur own Personal computer... with firewall + antivirus software + antispyware software........
Kevin89
16-05-2007, 01:37 AM
My brother tried vista and he said most of the programmes became uncompatible cause now most of the programmes are designed for XP. So is better to wait until more programmes become compatible to vista and when more debugs for vista are done.
For laptop, depends what you want to do. If want to do basic things like suft net, type documents, dell or acer will do. For gaming and other stuff that need high requirement, go for toshiba or vaio.
P/S: All these are just my opinions only. If anyone don't agree, just ignore it, TQ.
specialized
16-05-2007, 01:09 PM
ok,i ll probably enrol jpa pharmacy pre-u in mid-june...i think so...
what laptop should i buy.... vista or non-vista...wat requirements is recommended
sorry now i prefer online than gaming...coz after spm,when i play 3D game,my head is quite dizzy...b4 that,i m ok n have no prob in gaming...so i think my laptop do not have to have great graphic card or etc...
pharmacy dont have to require hi-tech spesification,rite? no autocad blablabla? any special programme i need to know for pharmacy programme?
lol. i hav asnwered u in lowyat forum. tis is an edu forum, y suddently discuss IT? for more experts view/advise, visit computing forum is better.
specialized
16-05-2007, 01:15 PM
for more laptop info, pls visit tis site..
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showforum=100
quite good, i learnt a lot there. well, u can c me there oso, same nickname.
for those who need laptop recommendation, this is the place. go n take a look.
24-05-2007, 02:45 AM
Plus Vista is still not secure yet. Seems that some hackers have managed to find loopholes in the system. I wouldn't want to keep on downloading patches upon patches to safeguard my PC. Wait for them to sort out all the huge security holes first (I know that no OS is ever really secure, BUT...)
XP is still the best bet.strange... i still see more security patches for Windows Xp rather than Vista...
If you want a really secure PC, disconnect it from the internet. Or go and run linux... the most is that your personal files go missing or corrupted if they are infected... :p
launa
24-05-2007, 04:33 AM
i still prefer XP than Vista now.... till Vista getting improved in 1 year or so?
24-05-2007, 06:56 AM
lol. i hav asnwered u in lowyat forum. tis is an edu forum, y suddently discuss IT? for more experts view/advise, visit computing forum is better.while most discussions in ReCom are focused on education, it's just plain wrong to call ReCom an edu forum... we can discuss about anything here...
even in lowyat forum also has education thread... LOL
hmm... Dell juz held a promotion..juz for RM3300 u can have
-2GB RAM
-Vista Home Premium
-DVD Burner
-Core 2 Duo
-Nvidia GeForce 7300 Graphic cards...
Worth??
My brother juz buy one unit..... will be arrived today (+free delivery)
shade
24-05-2007, 01:36 PM
Dell sucks. I should know.
I had a Dell. It ran for like 4 years or so. But after some time, the power button was acting up and it wouldn't power up my PC. My warranty expired, and I needed to extend my warranty to get tech support, of which the online support site kept smacking across my face.
I'm not going to pay hundreds to extend my warranty for a faulty board about the size of my IC.
Oh yeah, Vista is a Mac rip-off above the surface. A real resource eating monster under it.
Butters
02-06-2007, 08:32 PM
Xp or Vista....
I'll choose XP...because it's simpler and easier to use....
also...Vista is a rip-off from Macintosh...watch this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-2C2gb6ws8
PS : Vista means Viruses, Intruders, Spywares, Trojans and Adwares
nice.... VISTA
btw.. my brother is using Vista rite now... so far so good...
Butters
02-06-2007, 08:58 PM
nice.... VISTA
for how long mate?
nice.... VISTA
for how long mate?
bout 1 month....
Butters
02-06-2007, 09:13 PM
nice.... VISTA
for how long mate?
bout 1 month....
just wait....trust me it will happen.....
03-06-2007, 01:07 AM
I think u all should see this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9P6igNcaKs4&mode=related&search=
03-06-2007, 07:48 AM
vista very strong in security...
but if you dont have special requirement...just normal working and gaming, XP should be it.
is it?
http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070530-windows-vista-no-more-secure-than-xp-report.html
Excal
03-06-2007, 08:24 AM
A few contrasting views for you to view...
By Bill Gates himself.. of course in support of vista
As secure as life support system LOL (http://www.our-picks.com/archives/2007/02/01/bill-gates-vista-is-so-secure-it-could-run-life-support-systems/)
Anti-view by
Webroot says it is not that way... (http://scmagazine.com/us/news/article/629072/webroot-windows-vista-secure-not-secure-enough/)
McAfee disagrees too... (http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,127379/article.html)
03-06-2007, 09:36 AM
The operation system is as secure as the users themselves...
Butters
03-06-2007, 10:26 AM
that's what Steve Ballmer (CEO Microsoft) have been saying for years. "Our new software will be secured bla bla bla". If their "new software" is secured, why we still have to pay RM100 for the anti-virus subcribtion? Why we still have to install anti-spyware software?
03-06-2007, 11:30 AM
that's what Steve Ballmer (CEO Microsoft) have been saying for years. "Our new software will be secure, bla bla bla". If their "new software" is secure, why we still have to pay RM100 for the anti-virus subcribtion? Why we still have to install anti-spyware software?Get Linux then...*by default* it's more secure than windows :P
Butters
03-06-2007, 03:36 PM
that's what Steve Ballmer (CEO Microsoft) have been saying for years. "Our new software will be secure, bla bla bla". If their "new software" is secure, why we still have to pay RM100 for the anti-virus subcribtion? Why we still have to install anti-spyware software?Get Linux then...*by default* it's more secure than windows :P
or Mac..... http://www.pcworld.com/zoom?id=129284&page=1&type=table&zoomIdx=2[/url]
jojyi
03-06-2007, 03:57 PM
I'm not an expert in computer but juz wanna say out my opinions...As u know our county, Malaysia has a lot of pirated software,this includes microsoft VISTA..If i'm not mistaken,Vista needs 1GB of RAM, but u can see most of the laptops sold here,their RAM only 512MB but they can still provide u Vista...Juz beware for those pirated stuff.. :wink: correct me if i'm wrong..
Excal
03-06-2007, 05:54 PM
it depends actually, you do not really need much RAM to support simple Vista like Vista Home Basic...512 should be enough although it won't be that 'smooth' or 'fast'. And pirated software and the originals are exactly the same in function. Just that with pirated ones you have to take the illegal way to download all those Microsoft goodies for genuine ones. For versions with better features like Vista Premium/Business/Ultimate....You will need a lot of RAM. Usually its 1G but IMO its better to have 2G of RAM
Vista Editions and Requirements (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/editions/systemrequirements.mspx)
03-06-2007, 08:21 PM
I'm not an expert in computer but juz wanna say out my opinions...As u know our county, Malaysia has a lot of pirated software,this includes microsoft VISTA..If i'm not mistaken,Vista needs 1GB of RAM, but u can see most of the laptops sold here,their RAM only 512MB but they can still provide u Vista...Juz beware for those pirated stuff.. :wink: correct me if i'm wrong..Most laptops do have original windows coming with them... if it's memory is less than one gig, get them to upgrade it for a small fee...
running Vista with less than 1Gb of RAM is like running Windows Xp with 64Mb of RAM...
Butters
03-06-2007, 09:04 PM
vista and xp....what's the difference....both of them have viruses....
03-06-2007, 09:14 PM
vista and xp....what's the difference....both of them have viruses....So do Macs and Linux and any other operating system that is usable on a x86 platform...
look like u more concern about virus thing..... look @<hidden> the bright side.. like gaming support.. Vista has DX 10....unlike XP (DX 9.0c)
Virus thing juz depend on ur surfing habit, knowledge about computer thing...
PS : My system already free from malware for more than 1 year....
Butters
03-06-2007, 10:13 PM
look like u more concern about virus thing..... look @<hidden> the bright side.. like gaming support.. Vista has DX 10....unlike XP (DX 9.0c)
what anti virus and anti spyware are you using currently?
03-06-2007, 10:16 PM
PS : My system already free from malware for more than 1 year....Microsoft is rumoured to be preparing DirectX 9.0L which can support DirectX 10 Games...
specialized
11-06-2007, 11:43 AM
U hav a DX10 gcard? If not, it's still the same, make no big different. Direct x9 keep updating for ur information, go check out at microsoft website. Vista ate a lot of resources. XP pro is still better for gaming for our information. I tried running 3Dmark06 on both os, guess what, xp pawn down vista with single hand. I'm using ATI X1600 for my laptop.
well, u can say u'r not a gamer and can ignore on those aspect. actually gaming represent ur pc's performance. gaming is a combination of huge calculation or visual, audio, heat, ram, hardisk speed.. everything. A pro can noe a pc's performance by just playing game on that pc.
go download 3Dmark06 from futuremark and run a test on ur pc/laptop to test the performance.
11-06-2007, 02:56 PM
U hav a DX10 gcard? If not, it's still the same, make no big different. Direct x9 keep updating for ur information, go check out at microsoft website. Vista ate a lot of resources. XP pro is still better for gaming for our information. I tried running 3Dmark06 on both os, guess what, xp pawn down vista with single hand. I'm using ATI X1600 for my laptop.
well, u can say u'r not a gamer and can ignore on those aspect. actually gaming represent ur pc's performance. gaming is a combination of huge calculation or visual, audio, heat, ram, hardisk speed.. everything. A pro can noe a pc's performance by just playing game on that pc.
go download 3Dmark06 from futuremark and run a test on ur pc/laptop to test the performance.
I buy a cheap laptop with Xp is enough for my daily usage already.
11-06-2007, 03:47 PM
go download 3Dmark06 from futuremark and run a test on ur pc/laptop to test the performance.What's the point of getting max performance if you aren't going to use it all, like non-gamers?
ur point is correct too... btw.. DX10 only exclusive for Windows Vista .. and right now... a DX10 game hasn't released yet.. no one will really know the REAL potential of a DX10 card which use different technology with DX9 card (DX9 card full potential already been used 100%).
For a hardcore gamer.. switch to Windows Vista is a must... enjoy the benefit brought by DX10...
~~All is the matter of TIME~~
12-10-2007, 12:39 AM
go download 3Dmark06 from futuremark and run a test on ur pc/laptop to test the performance.What's the point of getting max performance if you aren't going to use it all, like non-gamers? if u r not goin to use it then dun get it, bt r u sure u wont ?
18-10-2007, 07:30 PM
Vista SP1 will be released soon..
http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,1759,2176563,00.asp
Link (http://windowsvistablog.com/blogs/windowsvista/archive/2007/08/29/announcing-the-windows-vista-service-pack-1-beta.aspx)
Edit: Shortened the link.
18-10-2007, 07:36 PM
Windows XP SP3 to Include Some Vista Features (http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,138251/article.html)
18-10-2007, 08:42 PM
Windows XP SP3 to Include Some Vista Features (http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,138251/article.html) they already have them ..
sidebar, visualisation aero, etc...
18-10-2007, 11:11 PM
Windows XP SP3 to Include Some Vista Features (http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,138251/article.html)they already have them ..
which 'they ' u r referring to?
Vista?
looks like u don't understand the article
18-10-2007, 11:54 PM
Windows XP SP3 to Include Some Vista Features (http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,138251/article.html)they already have them ..
Vista?
I meant "window XP"s
19-10-2007, 12:01 AM
Vista?
I meant "window XP"s
oh I dun understand ..? mayb u can explain to me?
xp where got this features?
19-10-2007, 12:11 AM
Vista?
I meant "window XP"s
xp where got this features? oh..
then u hv to hv a look at my frends' laptop... they buy their laptop recently .. though they dun choose Vista.. but they still got stuffs like tat.. although the visual effect and graphic is not as good but at lleast the features, I meant some, look similar
19-10-2007, 01:38 AM
Vista?
I meant "window XP"s
then u hv to hv a look at my frends' laptop... they buy their laptop recently .. though they dun choose Vista.. but they still got stuffs like tat.. although the visual effect and graphic is not as good but at lleast the features, I meant some, look similar
oh, do u mean they have downloaded some additional feature, such as Google Desktop(what i m using), yahoo widgets, and many more?
Is that what u mean?
19-10-2007, 11:36 AM
Vista?
I meant "window XP"s
oh, do u mean they have downloaded some additional feature, such as Google Desktop(what i m using), yahoo widgets, and many more?
Is that what u mean?no.. they showed me those are frm microsoft company
19-10-2007, 12:13 PM
speechless..
I find that the comments about the vista sp1 is really good, compared to vista ultimate RTM
faster speed, better performance, fixed bugs
i want to give it a try, so i need to dual boot my laptop
19-10-2007, 01:02 PM
speechless..
I find that the comments about the vista sp1 is really good, compared to vista ultimate RTM
faster speed, better performance, fixed bugs
i want to give it a try, so i need to dual boot my laptop now urs is XP or vista ?
19-10-2007, 01:33 PM
xp pro. sp2
i still wanna keep my xp.
Those comments can be found here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/527117
21-10-2007, 05:53 PM
why?
I tot so too.. but after using vista i wld advise u to upgrade luh. . .
25-10-2007, 02:40 PM
vista still not so stable yet, in my opinion
It can't support many application.
Instead of upgrading, I would choose dual boot
27-10-2007, 02:26 AM
not stable? I tot so too.. but nt until u use it.. it is juz like.. running nike sportshoes or adidas ..
dual boot? tat's always a bad idea.. for me ..
08-05-2008, 01:09 PM
Vista Ultimate is stable now coz I am its User... Anyway, you should makesure your computer fulfill the following requirements:
Be sure that your RAM is 1 GB and above (actually 512 MB is okay, but may drive your crazy too wait), better to have graphic card, coz Vista takes significant account on visual. It wouldn't need a graphic card if you dun wan to apply Vista Aero for visual style. Vista will become gradually stable if you continually obtain updates from Microsoft.com. Dualbooting is recommended also for those who wish to have wxp and wvista at the same time. there are tips for users who wan practise dual-booting (but only in case vista is installed first....)
Please visit: http://apc.simbient.com.au/how_to_dual_boot_vista_and_xp_with_vista_installed_first__the_stepbystep_guide.htm
B.T.SengYee
10-07-2008, 02:32 PM
haha...
vista is okay...\coz i m using it nw...no prob i guess till nw
Wong Amat Tower Condominium Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)