View Full Version : Kolej Teknologi Timur
zawir_91
24-06-2009, 11:33 AM
what textbook do they use? mcgrawhill???
Ken9119
24-06-2009, 02:43 PM
By the way, I'll be selling some books to juniors, so if anyone's interested PM me. I don't have the complete sets for all the subjects, but the books are in quite good condition. Some are original, not photocopied so might cost a bit but overall definitely cheaper than buying new ones.
Melzie
24-06-2009, 04:43 PM
i also think tge same way as u la...:laughthe previous thread that senior had write,said that the KTT admin will sell those books at the library during the registration day..do correct me if im wrong...:amusen the price was quite expensive...well,looking forward 2 meet all of u there...
Oh the question was asked and answered already??? :P Haha, I'm too lazy to read the post one by one.
Al-Bert
24-06-2009, 10:00 PM
Congratulation to all KI programme graduates!
Many lucks and all the best in your future undertakings in India!
dcwk04
25-06-2009, 12:52 PM
seniors, what should we on the 1st day of registration? formal?
and are we supposed to wear formal too during orientation?
thx.
For registration day and the whole week of orientation, everyone has to wear formal. Especially for registration day because JPA Officers will be there to register you, take your medical things/xrays, and taklimat...
Guys, blacks pants, ties, black shoes everything.
rudhra9
25-06-2009, 05:45 PM
for india bound students, do we hav 2 do LAN? If yes, does anyone teach us? how abt books and when are our exams?
brownie
25-06-2009, 07:52 PM
For registration day and the whole week of orientation, everyone has to wear formal. Especially for registration day because JPA Officers will be there to register you, take your medical things/xrays, and taklimat...
Guys, blacks pants, ties, black shoes everything.
wait, wait. X-rays?? we have to bring our xray film thing from the med checkup? i thought we only need to bring the report?.. :amazed
Al-Bert
25-06-2009, 08:51 PM
wait, wait. X-rays?? we have to bring our xray film thing from the med checkup? i thought we only need to bring the report?.. :amazed
Yes, only the medical report ( X-ray analysis info inside ) would be needed.
extell
25-06-2009, 09:01 PM
poof joining the fun answering juniors~~ seems like yesterday when I was reading through the thread for infos.
one piece of advice; bring your cleaning tools!! the apartments are in a mess after they repainted them.
xminx
26-06-2009, 12:13 AM
poof joining the fun answering juniors~~ seems like yesterday when I was reading through the thread for infos.
one piece of advice; bring your cleaning tools!! the apartments are in a mess after they repainted them.
huh? cleaning tools? do we have to bring broom or tissue will do?
Gabriel Daniel
26-06-2009, 01:40 AM
Hello, are they any juniors from St. Joseph's Secondary school, kuching coming over to ktt??
zawir_91
26-06-2009, 01:48 AM
it is such a relief to hear they repainted the apartments.
Gabriel Daniel
26-06-2009, 02:16 AM
it is such a relief to hear the repainted the apartments.
Still u guys may have to clean up ur respective apartments, coz after the paintings...it'll be very messy...btw zawir_91 where r u bound to?
zawir_91
26-06-2009, 06:05 PM
i'll do my a-level in ktt, then medicine in Indonesia
horizon_hunter23
26-06-2009, 07:57 PM
assalamualaikum..
hype.. i heard that some student have to stay in 'taman'.. dont know whether it is true.. haha.. i will b so lucky if i can stay in the appartment which will be very 'near' to my klass.. hahaha...
huh? cleaning tools? do we have to bring broom or tissue will do?
yes.. of course.. anyway.. u can bring your 'bibib' also.. haha..
but if u bring penyapu, charm, mop n sewaktu dgnnya.. u can keep it.. but i'm not sure whether ktt will allowed 'bibib' to stay with us.. hahahha...
p/s: bibib= org gaji la.. haha...
El Nino9
26-06-2009, 08:17 PM
i'll do my a-level in ktt, then medicine in Indonesia
wow...i thought jpa are no longer sending students to indonesia...:P
Gunners91
26-06-2009, 10:16 PM
Here i come Kolej Teknologi Timur:))
zawir_91
27-06-2009, 04:25 PM
wow...i thought jpa are no longer sending students to indonesia...:P
maybe the economics situation right now forces them to send us to indonesia (lower budget lol!)
El Nino9
27-06-2009, 04:50 PM
Not to scare the juniors or anything...but it would probably help if you bring some mosquito repellent with you. One of my friends recently got dengue( last week) most probably got bitten by a mosquito in KTT. There aren't that many mosquitoes in KTT to get alarmed or anything but it would be a good precautionary method.
zawir_91
27-06-2009, 07:26 PM
Not to scare the juniors or anything...but it would probably help if you bring some mosquito repellent with you. One of my friends recently got dengue( last week) most probably got bitten by a mosquito in KTT. There aren't that many mosquitoes in KTT to get alarmed or anything but it would be a good precautionary method.
thanx for the alert. :)
dcwk04
28-06-2009, 12:08 AM
One of my friends? Lol. I thought it was you, el Nino, who got dengue!
But true.. bring mosquito repellent! There are many mosquito here especially at night in the cafe... but in my apartment usually dont have.
Yes, only the medical report ( X-ray analysis info inside ) would be needed.
Is it.. erm.. I thought I passed up my XRAY. Lol!!
Amituofo
28-06-2009, 07:03 AM
sorry disturbing....
i want ask senior that if i want to have breakfast in cafe in ktt , is it ok?
when the cafe opened?
7am or when?
El Nino9
28-06-2009, 10:02 AM
sorry disturbing....
i want ask senior that if i want to have breakfast in cafe in ktt , is it ok?
when the cafe opened?
7am or when?
lol...sorry 4 disturbing??
yea..u can hav your breakfast in the cafe...it usually opens at about 7 sth...
but ppl normally hav their breakfast in their apartment...much easier:P
Amituofo
28-06-2009, 09:08 PM
thanks a lot for your all help...
erm..can i ask that anything we need to bring there?
any other important things than daily stuff?
=thanks a lot for your answer=
horizon_hunter23
29-06-2009, 03:27 AM
erm.. just few last question to ask..
1) jean r alowed there.. coz i'm 4rom boaarding school.. so,, seem pretty scary if anybody 'menyita' my jean.. haha..
2) ermm. ahaa.. the book that are sold by ktt.. how much it cost..
just wanna know... teksbook 4
bio??
chemy??
phy??
the other book i guess i'll buy from senior.. would u help me..
3) how if we sick in ktt?? what is the right channel to get to the hospital.. to whom must we tell.. warden??
4) 4 the orientation.. erm.. it must be very fun right.. so.. what we gonna wear.. wear properly or all must b uniform..??
5) i heard that jpa student will b sepate from mara?? is it true.. is there any different of syllibus..
6) in ktt.. we can go out n must come back on what o'clock???
7) 4 jumaat prayer,, do we hve to wear black melayu dress with sampin to go to the mosque??? huhu..
8) last.. there are also students dat from dffrent progrm aight??? diploma??
r there staying with a level student??? in the same appartment...???
key.. thankz....
phoenix1892
29-06-2009, 03:53 PM
erm.. just few last question to ask..
1) jean r alowed there.. coz i'm 4rom boaarding school.. so,, seem pretty scary if anybody 'menyita' my jean.. haha..
2) ermm. ahaa.. the book that are sold by ktt.. how much it cost..
just wanna know... teksbook 4
bio??
chemy??
phy??
the other book i guess i'll buy from senior.. would u help me..
3) how if we sick in ktt?? what is the right channel to get to the hospital.. to whom must we tell.. warden??
4) 4 the orientation.. erm.. it must be very fun right.. so.. what we gonna wear.. wear properly or all must b uniform..??
5) i heard that jpa student will b sepate from mara?? is it true.. is there any different of syllibus..
6) in ktt.. we can go out n must come back on what o'clock???
7) 4 jumaat prayer,, do we hve to wear black melayu dress with sampin to go to the mosque??? huhu..
8) last.. there are also students dat from dffrent progrm aight??? diploma??
r there staying with a level student??? in the same appartment...???
key.. thankz....
1) Normally you can't wear jeans to class, but some do wear, especially if they only have one class for the day
2) The original textbooks all cost more than rm100, except for maths
3) There's a clinic at BBST, the warden will take you there if you're sick; I think there's a discount for students. The nearest hospital is in putrajaya, for more serious cases
4) formal wear/ sports wear, depends on the activities. And yup, it is fun
5) Both JPA and MARA take the CIE a level, so the syllabus is the same. Just that MARA and JPA are in different classes
6) The curfew is 12.00 am, well it's suppose to be...
7) No, you can wear anything appropriate, but most wear baju melayu
8 ) There are some A level students staying with diploma students, depends on the availability of apartments
wanee
29-06-2009, 04:30 PM
do we have to buy new books for evey semester?because as im concern, once we have done with each semester examinations, we wont be learning it anymore for the next semester.so im just wondering if the books are being set up wholly for 2years or only for each semester and we have to buy another books for the following semester.
Melzie
29-06-2009, 05:34 PM
Anyone going to KTT hasn't take the Mantoux test??? Because when I ask around, some seems to have taken it, and some aren't even bothered about it :huh Is it necessary to take the Mantoux test???
Note: Friend A's scholarship is on hold because she hasn't take the Mantoux test but Friend B didn't have any problem during her registration eventhough she hasn't take her Mantoux test.
Somebody... H-E-L-P... :cry
axreus
29-06-2009, 07:01 PM
do we have to buy new books for evey semester?because as im concern, once we have done with each semester examinations, we wont be learning it anymore for the next semester.so im just wondering if the books are being set up wholly for 2years or only for each semester and we have to buy another books for the following semester.
1 book for whole 2 years...for the biology a level textbook is included as level and a level. same goes for chemistry textbook.
blahblahtan
29-06-2009, 07:17 PM
wo hoo... 6 days 4 hours and 42 minutes to July 6th.
anyway, 1 question for the seniors.
Are there any plug points in the apartment? If yes, where are they situated? bedside? near study table?
thx.
tadaa
29-06-2009, 09:07 PM
Anyone going to KTT hasn't take the Mantoux test??? Because when I ask around, some seems to have taken it, and some aren't even bothered about it :huh Is it necessary to take the Mantoux test???
Note: Friend A's scholarship is on hold because she hasn't take the Mantoux test but Friend B didn't have any problem during her registration eventhough she hasn't take her Mantoux test.
i took the mantoux test. why don't you just take it to be on the safe side...
i thought it was compulsary....:huh
Al-Bert
29-06-2009, 10:36 PM
If somebody is going to pursue the course relating to healthcare field like physician and dentist, normally he/she is obliged to be screened for TB by Mantoux Test.
missykikie209
29-06-2009, 10:50 PM
is it cmpulsory to do mantoux for tb? coz my doctor use other test 4 tb..sumthing called rapid blood test n he oreidy fill da mantoux column wif da rsult..i dun think ders much time 4 me to mantoux by now..as far as im free from tb is okay wut...:amuse
adie91
29-06-2009, 10:51 PM
huh? what's a mantoux test??
*googles mantoux test*
oh ok... i havent done this test also.. is it really necessary? i feel so malas to go to the hospital again, last time i went i had to wait 1 hour..
tadaa
29-06-2009, 10:55 PM
*googles mantoux test*
oh ok... i havent done this test also.. is it really necessary? i feel so malas to go to the hospital again, last time i went i had to wait 1 hour..
come on la people...you heard the senior....
i think it's pretty important...
don't be so malas la:notrust....
wanee
29-06-2009, 11:01 PM
*googles mantoux test*
yeah what is mantoux test?i didnt heard about it.is it only for jpa scholars only?
tadaa
29-06-2009, 11:08 PM
yeah what is mantoux test?i didnt heard about it.is it only for jpa scholars only?
owh wait....mara scholars no need mantoux test huh????
wanee
29-06-2009, 11:12 PM
owh wait....mara scholars no need mantoux test huh????
mara didnt state anything about mantoux test.so i guess it's only for jpa scholars.i just have to take blood test to trace HIV virus,hepatitis B virus and antigen and to trace others.
zheyan
29-06-2009, 11:16 PM
Can somebody tell me where is the nearest supermarket to KTT??? Thanks. =)
horizon_hunter23
29-06-2009, 11:34 PM
1 book for whole 2 years...for the biology a level textbook is included as level and a level. same goes for chemistry textbook.
oo.. so.. we dat doing preparation 1 year hve to study the whole book of two years just in one year.. wahwahwah.. seems like fun..
heee..:P
wanee
29-06-2009, 11:53 PM
oo.. so.. we dat doing preparation 1 year hve to study the whole book of two years just in one year.. wahwahwah.. seems like fun..
heee..:P
hmm i dont think he meant it that way.he's answering on the behalf of me.i guess.because i was asking the Q regarding that stuff.
not sure for 1year prog.
Melzie
29-06-2009, 11:54 PM
mara didnt state anything about mantoux test.so i guess it's only for jpa scholars.i just have to take blood test to trace HIV virus,hepatitis B virus and antigen and to trace others.
Actually JPA didn't state anything about taking the Mantoux test. I just heard it from other people :)
horizon_hunter23
29-06-2009, 11:56 PM
haa..biaq aku xpalen.. mantoux test ni.. nk test klu ssorg tu ada penyakit tb(tuberkulosis) ke tk.. or batuk kering..
dr akn cucuk kuman tb yg dilemahkan kt bawah kulit area lengan hmpa..
kwsn yg dicucuk tu akan kembung jap. dr bukan cucuk dlm salur darah.. so.. hell sakit dia..dh la dia x sapu ubat kebas.. huhu.. :cry
key.. pas 3 hari.. dr akan check balik.. klu kt kwsan yg dicucuk tu ada cam kayap api.. mknanya hmpa berpenyakit tb..positive..
n klu xda papa.. normal ja kwsan yg dicucuk tu.. so,, u're negative 4 tb..
understood klass?? haha.. jwb la "yes, sir!!"..:P
Melzie
29-06-2009, 11:59 PM
One of my friends? Lol. I thought it was you, el Nino, who got dengue!
:offtopic Wargh! How is he now??? Can I simply bring Ridsect instead of a mosquitoe repellent (I have no idea where to buy that in Sibu)???
wanee
29-06-2009, 11:59 PM
Actually JPA didn't state anything about taking the Mantoux test. I just heard it from other people :)
oh really?what is mantoux test actually?if u heard it from other ppl, u should clarify it properly.because maybe only previous years students only have to do mantoux test.
correct me if im wrong.
sand3
30-06-2009, 12:01 AM
tapi tempat i tu hanya 2 hari je.
dan sister yg buat kat kitorang, bukannya doktor...
mungkin dr tengah bz..haha
wanee
30-06-2009, 12:02 AM
haa..biaq aku xpalen.. mantoux test ni.. nk test klu ssorg tu ada penyakit tb(tuberkulosis) ke tk.. or batuk kering..
kwsn yg dicucuk tu akan kembung jap. dr bukan cucuk dlm salur darah.. so.. hell sakit dia..dh la dia x sapu ubat kebas.. huhu.. :cry
key.. pas 3 hari.. dr akan check balik.. klu kt kwsan yg dicucuk tu ada cam kayap api.. mknanya hmpa berpenyakit tb..positive..
oh.sounds scary and painful.well, im not gonna take it seriously as mara didnt state about mantoux test.but i will find out soon whether mara scholars have to take mantoux test or not.
horizon_hunter23
30-06-2009, 12:03 AM
hmm i dont think he meant it that way.he's answering on the behalf of me.i guess.because i was asking the Q regarding that stuff.
not sure for 1year prog.
ooo.. tenqiu2..:cry
u're asking the Q???? how bout p,r,s,t n the other.. ermm.. what is Q anyway??? question??:oh
Melzie
30-06-2009, 12:04 AM
oh really?what is mantoux test actually?if u heard it from other ppl, u should clarify it properly.because maybe only previous years students only have to do mantoux test.
correct me if im wrong.
Nope. I heard it from my friends and read it on other threads from this forum as well :)
wanee
30-06-2009, 12:06 AM
ooo.. tenqiu2..:cry
u're asking the Q???? how bout p,r,s,t n the other.. ermm.. what is Q anyway??? question??:oh
haha.yea it's question.so lazy wanna type.lol
Nope. I heard it from my friends and read it on other threads from this forum as well :)
oh i see.but why jpa didnt state it in the letter?can be quite confusing.
Melzie
30-06-2009, 12:06 AM
haa..biaq aku xpalen.. Mantoux test ni.. Nk test klu ssorg tu ada penyakit tb(tuberkulosis) ke tk.. Or batuk kering..
Dr akn cucuk kuman tb yg dilemahkan kt bawah kulit area lengan hmpa..
Kwsn yg dicucuk tu akan kembung jap. Dr bukan cucuk dlm salur darah.. So.. Hell sakit dia..dh la dia x sapu ubat kebas.. Huhu.. :cry
key.. Pas 3 hari.. Dr akan check balik.. Klu kt kwsan yg dicucuk tu ada cam kayap api.. Mknanya hmpa berpenyakit tb..positive..
N klu xda papa.. Normal ja kwsan yg dicucuk tu.. So,, u're negative 4 tb..
Understood klass?? Haha.. Jwb la "yes, sir!!"..:p
yes sir :))
horizon_hunter23
30-06-2009, 12:22 AM
oh.sounds scary and painful.well, im not gonna take it seriously as mara didnt state about mantoux test.but i will find out soon whether mara scholars have to take mantoux test or not.
eype..if any of ur form didn't complete or have problem.. u might have ur elaun n payment delayed.. so.. 4 money.. go 4 it gurl.. hahha.. just kidding lol..
4 us jpa.. it is state in the medical checkup form.."mantoux test".. so, we have to..:cry
well, it is also useful coz we cn know whether we hve of not tb right??
self satisfication....
abaikan::cry
(although u cn feel the syring needle in ur skin.. right after pain receptor..hell painful..:nuts)..
haha.yea it's question.so lazy wanna type.lol
oh i see.but why jpa didnt state it in the letter?can be quite confusing.
eype.. kn ada dlm borg mdcl ckup ruangan tok mantoux test.. page 6 no 4..:wink
so, baik buat wlupun xmintak coz skrg nie.. well, they have to consider our health also aight? 4 our own good gk sume nie.. well.. baik col pihak penaja n tnya dorg.. kn snang dripada kitaorg bagi jwpn yg xsure nie.. hahaha...:laugh
zawir_91
30-06-2009, 01:19 AM
memang x bley sapu alcohol swab sbb kuman tu mati la nanti. membazir jek cucuk. sakit tu x brapa la.
mantoux was stated in 'the surat tawaran' of mara...so i guess its a must.. :)
wanee
30-06-2009, 10:01 AM
its stated in the letter?but i didnt find any.are u sure?
dcwk04
30-06-2009, 10:36 AM
wo hoo... 6 days 4 hours and 42 minutes to July 6th.
anyway, 1 question for the seniors.
Are there any plug points in the apartment? If yes, where are they situated? bedside? near study table?
thx.
In each bedroom have one plug.
In the living room/study area got three plugs, situated at various places usually under your tables. My apartment extends a few of this through plug extenders... cause three is not enough to power all the laptops, fans, lamps...
Kitchen sadly got two plug; Not enough if you have stuff like water boiler, hot plate, fridge, washing machine etc...
Basically, its a must to buy plug extenders.
I dunno whats the electronic name for it, but you CANNOT use one of those multi-plugs. The cube shape thing you stick into the socket and many other electric appliance can connect to the cube. That cube will cause short circuit to the whole apartment.
In KTT, if you dont do mantoux text, they will send you to the government clinic to do. A lot of trouble, so might as well get it done early.
BTW, I saw a junior with her family visiting KTT! Its a girl in baju kurung... so... whoever you are, how do you find KTT?? =P lol
tuberculosis test is mantoux...lolz:nod
xminx
30-06-2009, 12:42 PM
i do the medical check up in a government hospital near my house but they told me they were only doing that mantoux test for me if i got the symptoms....:( quite confused me...n my friends who do check up in another government hospital had all the tests done....with cheaper fee too...:cryhaha
zawir_91
30-06-2009, 01:19 PM
In each bedroom have one plug.
In the living room/study area got three plugs, situated at various places usually under your tables. My apartment extends a few of this through plug extenders... cause three is not enough to power all the laptops, fans, lamps...
Kitchen sadly got two plug; Not enough if you have stuff like water boiler, hot plate, fridge, washing machine etc...
I dunno whats the electronic name for it, but you CANNOT use one of those multi-plugs. The cube shape thing you stick into the socket and many other electric appliance can connect to the cube. That cube will cause short circuit to the whole apartment.
that means adaport or orhe long power adaptors would do rite?
axreus
30-06-2009, 01:51 PM
hello guys.
i juz check out the prices for some textbooks.
kinokuniya and mph
-a lvl biology textbook(around rm 180)
-a lvl chemistry textbook(around rm 180)
there will be a or some bookshop which will come during the registeration day.
their prices are:
-a lvl biology textbook(rm 140 NETT)
-a lvl chemistry textbook(rm 160 NETT)
but my friend and some fasilitator or member of mpp ktt can help u guys buying those books with a great deal.
a lvl biology textbook is rm 140 and a lvl chemistry textbook is rm 160 plus A FREE cd of a lvl past year questions for bio, chem and may b math and physics.and also A FREE photocopy of step by step a lvl chemistry.
BUY TWO FREE TWO.:):)
*wanna know more details, plz pm me or email 2 me. tq
30-06-2009, 01:57 PM
In my understanding, both power strip and 3-ways plug adapter are equally safe.
Short circuit would typically be triggered in the case where the 3-way plug (inserted into socket) is not fused/properly fused/surge protected or stacked with another adapter.
matchgirl
30-06-2009, 02:18 PM
that means adaport or orhe long power adaptors would do rite?
yup, try to buy the long one.
But also try not to put boiler and fridge together, we bombed to adapters in my apartment because of that=)...
In my understanding, both power strip and 3-ways plug adapter are equally safe.
Short circuit would typically be triggered in the case where the 3-way plug (inserted into socket) is not fused/properly fused/surge protected or stacked with another adapter.
ohya albert, how much allowance we actually got for KI??
All the best in India!!
Al-Bert
30-06-2009, 02:48 PM
ohya albert, how much allowance we actually got for KI??
All the best in India!!
For my batch, the monthly allowance would be RM430 (1290RM for 3 months). For East Malaysian, there'll be extra flight allowance of plus minus RM400...
Thanks, all the best in KTT!
wanee
30-06-2009, 03:47 PM
tuberculosis test is mantoux...lolz:nod
the word tuberculosis also i didnt see there.which part?are u mara scholar?
30-06-2009, 05:32 PM
the word tuberculosis also i didnt see there.which part?are u mara scholar?
mantoux test is the test that detects tuberculosis. It is stated in Wikipedia.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantoux
wanee
30-06-2009, 10:25 PM
oh mary!it's in the letter!hahaha.my bad.
johnlau91
30-06-2009, 10:51 PM
Can anyone tell me when the Raya holidays start? i heard it starts on 17 of sept, pls clarify this as i need to book my ticket back to hometown in sarawak. thanks a lot!
horizon_hunter23
30-06-2009, 11:01 PM
Il y a deux mani?res d'?tre malheureux: ou d?sirer ce que l'on n'a pas, ou poss?der ce que l'on d?sirait.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There are two ways to become unhappy: to desire what you don't have or to have finally gotten what you have desired.
mais.. je suis tres heureux chaque minutes.. haha.. alors, est-ce que vous peux parle en francais??? ou vous se-prenez en internet??:laugh
how many of u guys that coming from sabah n sarawak???:amuse
wanna learn ur language.. hee.. would u all teach me in ktt soon??
its quite interesting really...:P
30-06-2009, 11:03 PM
Il y a deux mani?res d'?tre malheureux: ou d?sirer ce que l'on n'a pas, ou poss?der ce que l'on d?sirait.
There are two ways to become unhappy: to desire what you don't have or to have finally gotten what you have desired.
mais.. je suis tres heureux chaque minutes.. haha.. alors, est-ce que vous peux parle en francais??? ou vous se-prenez en internet??:laugh
I took it from Internet. I don't speak nor write french yet. Going to when I go to Malaysia France Institute under JPA France Engineering.
magical
30-06-2009, 11:34 PM
how many of u guys that coming from sabah n sarawak???:amuse
wanna learn ur language.. hee.. would u all teach me in ktt soon??
its quite interesting really...:P
I am from Sabah..I can teach u our language if u really interested...:amuse
horizon_hunter23
30-06-2009, 11:55 PM
I am from Sabah..I can teach u our language if u really interested...:amuse
thankz..:P
kitak mau blajar.. haha.. naik belon ka nnty..
I took it from Internet. I don't speak nor write french yet. Going to when I go to Malaysia France Institute under JPA France Engineering.
owh.. thats good.. french is quite interesting actually.. almost like english.. when u learn it,, u might as well sitting 4 french exam like delf A1, A2 n so on.. its helping..
haha.. a bientot..:amuse
oh mary!it's in the letter!hahaha.my bad.
haha.ok then.n yup, i'm a mara scholar.:)
axreus
01-07-2009, 08:59 AM
what textbook do they use? mcgrawhill???
i repost to answer this question. it is not mcgrawhill but it use cambridge book imported from oversea.
###################################################
hello guys.
i juz check out the prices for some textbooks.
kinokuniya and mph
their prices are:
but my friend and some fasilitator or member of mpp ktt can help u guys buying those books with a great deal.
a lvl biology textbook is rm 140 and a lvl chemistry textbook is rm 160 plus A FREE cd of a lvl past year questions for bio, chem and may b math and physics.and also A FREE photocopy of step by step a lvl chemistry.
*wanna know more details, plz pm me or email 2 me. tq
zawir_91
01-07-2009, 11:01 AM
well, i've finished my medical checkup,
it's actually simple, the blood and mantoux test made it looks complicated.
wanee
01-07-2009, 12:36 PM
well, i've finished my medical checkup,
it's actually simple, the blood and mantoux test made it looks complicated.
how the process of mantoux test?is it like the doctor have to recheck it back after 3days we get the injection?
axreus
01-07-2009, 12:44 PM
how the process of mantoux test?is it like the doctor have to recheck it back after 3days we get the injection?
yes. doctor will check the diameter of the injection area.
for more info http://www.immunisation.nhs.uk/files/mantouxtest.pdf
missykikie209
01-07-2009, 05:06 PM
huh..da day is gettin closer..
any1 hv started packing??:amuse
wanee
01-07-2009, 05:21 PM
haha yeah.and i havent started yet.medical check up also i havent finish yet.but im going to do it tomorrow.and im kinda lazy and nervous want to start studying back.haha
missykikie209
01-07-2009, 05:40 PM
haha yeah.and i havent started yet.medical check up also i havent finish yet.but im going to do it tomorrow.and im kinda lazy and nervous want to start studying back.haha
yeah!! same wif me..lol..me to0 lazy..kind of syndrome i guess..:laugh
n i dunno what to pack 1st coz ders like thousands things i wanna bring..
sand3
01-07-2009, 11:48 PM
whoa, lots of recommers r going to ktt...
missykikie209
02-07-2009, 12:07 AM
whoa, lots of recommers r going to ktt...
ya rite..quite a number..:amuse
zawir_91
02-07-2009, 12:11 AM
KTT here we come!!!
still lazy to packup stuffs lol.
wanee
02-07-2009, 12:19 AM
KTT here we come!!!
still lazy to packup stuffs lol.
yea me too.urs on 6 or 7of july?
missykikie209
02-07-2009, 12:27 AM
r they gonna class us according to da country bound or based on year of doin da alevel?
wanee
02-07-2009, 12:30 AM
r they gonna class us according to da country bound or based on year of doin da alevel?
according to seniors, MARA and JPA scholars will be separated for lecture.so i guess it depnds on sponsors.
Al-Bert
02-07-2009, 01:59 AM
The class is going to be determined by considering your year of doing A-level.
Heard last batch class allocation was taking their future course (medicine/dental) into consideration as well.
zawir_91
02-07-2009, 02:19 AM
yea me too.urs on 6 or 7of july?
6th of july. i'm gonna miss my internet connection.
dcwk04
02-07-2009, 10:22 AM
6th of july. i'm gonna miss my internet connection.
Theres rumours going about of a WIFI upgrade by the computer lab because the juniors are going to come in. But so far I havent managed to get a single web connection in 3 months so... dont get hopes up too high.
Come early on registration day!
If registration is following last years, when you enter the registration room you will get a number, and you will be placed in apartments according to your number. Ie. the numbers 111 112 113 and 114 will all be placed in the same apartment.
The earlier you register the better apartment you will get (meaning closer to the ground floor so dont need to walk so far up).
Some juniors (not sure if you will consider this lucky or unlucky) will be placed in senior rooms because there are still empty space available. The lucky thing is, seniors room will have fridge, washing machine, all the electrical appliance ready already. Unlucky thing is, super freakin messy for guys... hahaha...
shwinxx
02-07-2009, 12:04 PM
i wuld like to ask bout the rummate ting...can we choose our own rummates???n bout the orientation...is it 4 the whole week? i would appreciate it if any senior wuld reply my post...
pls refer 2 dcwk's post abt rummates, and if ur not happy with them u can always switch rooms haha.... yeah, the orientation is for a week..... have fun....
Amituofo
02-07-2009, 09:02 PM
erm...is ktt din hv washing machine?
so v nid to wash by hand?
hw cn buy so big washing machine...???
my house so far ..
then still need which electrical appliances?
thanks for those who are answering.
shwinxx
02-07-2009, 09:29 PM
hey....is there anyone here who would be goin to royal college of medicine perak after a-levels in ktt????
Anga91
02-07-2009, 09:50 PM
hey....is there anyone here who would be goin to royal college of medicine perak after a-levels in ktt????
Isn't KTT-bound students will be going to India,Czech,Poland,Indonesia?
missykikie209
02-07-2009, 10:18 PM
err..is der any pillow provided??:))
Erm, I don't think so because according to the booklet, we are required to bring along our own pillow and pillow case....err..is der any pillow provided??:))
I asked one of the seniors in KTT. The college doesn't provide washing machines. Yea, I guess we have to wash our clothes by ourselves. About the others, not very sure. erm...is ktt din hv washing machine?
so v nid to wash by hand?
hw cn buy so big washing machine...???
my house so far ..
then still need which electrical appliances?
thanks for those who are answering.
shwinxx
02-07-2009, 11:01 PM
Isn't KTT-bound students will be going to India,Czech,Poland,Indonesia?
hy
im guin to royal college of med perak n ill be duin my a-levels in ktt...so i was jus lookin out 4 some frens n looks like im dissapoointed...haha...:(
carol07
02-07-2009, 11:12 PM
hey..
ya i have started....lots of stuff to bring in man...*whew*
jus wanna ask...anyone from selangor area here?..or anyone who would be going home on weekends?
appreciate the replies...
wow lots of discusiion on a small mantoux test ah.....haha...
3 days to go ppl!!!
wanee
02-07-2009, 11:24 PM
hey..
jus wanna ask...anyone from selangor area here?..or anyone who would be going home on weekends?
3 days to go ppl!!!
im from gombak but it's very near to kl.at the border actually.but still in selangor.i dont think i'll be home everyweek.maybe once in 2weeks.because for me,it's kinda far.
carol07
02-07-2009, 11:43 PM
im from gombak but it's very near to kl.at the border actually.but still in selangor.i dont think i'll be home everyweek.maybe once in 2weeks.because for me,it's kinda far.
hey wanee..
i seee..welll maybe when i go home n ur planning to as well we can go together la...
missykikie209
03-07-2009, 12:07 AM
hey..
3 days to go ppl!!!
ya rite!! i guess ders tsunami struck my room till it turn into a hugee mess! n yikes! ders rily lots of stuffs to bring along..especially me comin way far from north..no tym to get home on weekends..hee:laugh
itekkiut
03-07-2009, 10:13 AM
no pillow??
xd state pun dlm offer letter...
kene angkut bantal dari umah la~
Melzie
03-07-2009, 11:15 AM
Can we bring induction cooker???
missykikie209
03-07-2009, 12:26 PM
Can we bring induction cooker???
sure u can..i guess its a need in ktt:))
carol07
03-07-2009, 12:32 PM
hey i don get the plug problem.. so multi purpose plugs are a big NONO..but wat else can we bring..esp my phone charger where the pins aree are close to one another and not the typical 2 pin plug ones..adaptors that are allowed, are these the round ones with a long wire...but this wont help much rite...
confused bout this la...anyone can explain please!!
on another note,has everyone had thier farewells already??...*for fun question*
missykikie209
03-07-2009, 12:41 PM
hee..farewells to my internet only..:laugh
wut time all of u goin to rgister at ktt? it says 9am rite? so wuts da ideal plan?? lets share together..:laugh
tadaa
03-07-2009, 01:05 PM
i did!!
went to my ex-school just now and met up with my friends who are in form 6,
a few of my junior prefects and a few teachers...even bumped into my primary school teacher ler:amuse!!
but my family haven yet la...
wanee
03-07-2009, 01:11 PM
hey wanee..
i seee..welll maybe when i go home n ur planning to as well we can go together la...
sounds like a good idea.but i think pj and gombak are quite far.around 30min drive.at peak hours might take more than an hour.
Ken9119
03-07-2009, 03:26 PM
no pillow??
xd state pun dlm offer letter...
kene angkut bantal dari umah la~
Oh right, for my year they provided new pillows and mattresses, but the pillows are damn uncomfortable and the mattresses sink, so I'll advise you to bring your own pillows, bedsheets and if you can afford it, get one of those thin but firm mattresses. I got something like the Japanese styled futon so it's more comfortable. Jusco sells a lot of those. My roommate simply discarded entire bed and sleeps on a mattress on the floor because it's too uncomfortable with what they give us, after a while.
hey i don get the plug problem.. so multi purpose plugs are a big NONO..but wat else can we bring..esp my phone charger where the pins aree are close to one another and not the typical 2 pin plug ones..adaptors that are allowed, are these the round ones with a long wire...but this wont help much rite...
confused bout this la...anyone can explain please!!
The only power sockets we have are those typical ones, for three pin plugs. Just get extensions or whatever else you need. We don't have sockets for round pins. Adaptors should be fine.
And where are all the seniors? Juniors have taken over this thread lol. Oh wait, the seniors are probably studying like mad. Btw you juniors can take over the Ktt chat thread if you want, I think that one has been inactive for quite some time. If you want to see what kind of seniors you'll be facing here, read through the whole Ktt chat thread. A lot of nonsense there.
hmm, u can bring in anything.... tv, washing machine, refrigerator, induction cooker and other stuffs....
abt the pillows, the college did provide a pillow for each bed last year... bt the pillow was so freaking hard, i used it as a support for my feet... so ill suggest u guys bring ur own pillows or buy one.....
oh, one more thing, mattress and pillow covers are not provided... so bring ur own also....
hmm, did i missed out anything???
matchgirl
03-07-2009, 04:29 PM
pails...you will need them especially during the obnoxious water crisis period
get own study table if possible, the one in college too small.
water filter, the water here are sometimes brown in colour..
amanina
03-07-2009, 04:55 PM
nway, about that mantoux test, how long it will take?
do u think, i can still do it on this monday? haha.. so last minute thingy..
zawir_91
03-07-2009, 05:41 PM
nway, about that mantoux test, how long it will take?
do u think, i can still do it on this monday? haha.. so last minute thingy..
well it takes 3 days after the injection of tb vaccine under your skin. They will measure it after 3 days.
amanina
03-07-2009, 06:30 PM
well it takes 3 days after the injection of tb vaccine under your skin. They will measure it after 3 days.
owh, okay.. thanks.. so, i'll not do it for now.. haha.. :P
sand3
03-07-2009, 10:24 PM
waa, 3 more days now....
juz want to ask, do we need to bring all those sijil asal (such as sijil berhenti sekolah, slip spm, etc...)
and one more thing, do u guys bring big, as in gigantic, luggage there?
pls answer me!!
hehe, thanks!!
missykikie209
04-07-2009, 12:11 AM
pls answer me!!
hehe, thanks!!
meeee!! 3 giant luggage..:laugh
wanee
04-07-2009, 12:27 AM
mine only 40% completed.last min shopping always works.
LOL
matchgirl
04-07-2009, 11:32 AM
waa, 3 more days now....
juz want to ask, do we need to bring all those sijil asal (such as sijil berhenti sekolah, slip spm, etc...)
pls answer me!!
hehe, thanks!!
BNasically they wont check your ori certs...
but bring lah, just in case...
I am so so so so so nervoous...
You guys are coming in liao!!!!=)
I already saw some juniors come to scope the place..
Its kind of a small quiet place but, the people there are awesome!!!
tadaa
04-07-2009, 12:01 PM
BNasically they wont check your ori certs...
but bring lah, just in case...
I am so so so so so nervoous...
You guys are coming in liao!!!!=)
I already saw some juniors come to scope the place..
Its kind of a small quiet place but, the people there are awesome!!!
ya, i'll bet you guys are awesome:)!
why are you nervous???
we're the one s who are supposed to be nervous rite..:huh
oh ya, wanna ask...you mentioned that ori certs won't be necessary...
does that mean we need to bring at least photocopy certs??
what for??
phenomena0251
04-07-2009, 02:37 PM
who wans to share a room wif me? i m chinese 18 male with no bad habits, love dota. hehe.. wat a funny intro..
patma
04-07-2009, 02:51 PM
who wans to share a room wif me? i m chinese 18 male with no bad habits, love dota. hehe.. wat a funny intro..
but as i noe...4 da 1st sem usually dey dun let us 2 choose our own room mate..da college will place us..
Actually you can choose your room mate/housemate.
Just meet each other and write down the name in the same apartment then you're officially room/housemate!! Make sure you don't write it wrong....
I did that with my room mate....
xminx
04-07-2009, 09:28 PM
i had my last badminton game with friends this afternoon...haha...we take that as farewell coz i probably will be using all the time to pack things tomorrow...then after that...setting off to ktt at 2 am!!:cryi'm from johor, it's really far away...
axreus
05-07-2009, 12:00 AM
hey guys,
i will be bz after 2day. if wanna contacts me ask about the books, here is my number 017-9027779. my name is saifu.
for ur info about textbook prices,
at kinokuniya and mph
their prices are:
u guy oso can pre-order from me using my phone number. thanks!~!
i had my last badminton game with friends this afternoon...haha...we take that as farewell coz i probably will be using all the time to pack things tomorrow...then after that...setting off to ktt at 2 am!!:cryi'm from johor, it's really far away...
It's ok.
You can go back after 1 1/2 months.
You'll have 1 week holiday after the mid-sem exam.
My friend from Sarawak stays here and her first time go back to Sarawak is during Chinese New Year Holiday....
At least you stay Johor is nearer than those staying at Sabah and Sarawak.
carol07
05-07-2009, 12:30 PM
hee..farewells to my internet only..:laugh
wut time all of u goin to rgister at ktt? it says 9am rite? so wuts da ideal plan?? lets share together..:laugh
hey...yea ur right bout the distance...
well im leaving my place at 6.30 a.m...shud be there by 8 la...guys how do we meet up?...any plan?...i dont know how u guys look like!!!..
less than 24 hours left ppl!!!
lets hope for the best!
Cookies
05-07-2009, 01:36 PM
im sure lotsa funny things will happen on the first day, hide n seek game to find ktt recomers, hehe..anyway enjoy your stay at home currently, u will totally miss home and long for holiday which the longest only last for a week! Be prepared..physically n mentally=)
zawir_91
05-07-2009, 01:40 PM
let's leave our pictures here, so that we can recognize each other tomorrow.
i'll start with mine.
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_prWanyo4iDc/SkuhZK5o4eI/AAAAAAAAADA/bx27Py0S6y8/S220/DSC00721.jpg
hehe, i have bad teeth lol.
wanee
05-07-2009, 02:44 PM
is it true that mara scholars have to stay in rumah sewa?
poutingdoll
05-07-2009, 07:09 PM
Owh good!!! I thought I brought too much, although I have another smaller luggage and another box of stuff. I hope i don't look like a freak on that day, since Giant is quite far from KTT and I don't think the kedai runcit sell things I need :laugh
carol07
05-07-2009, 07:42 PM
my pic on my page..im the one on d left!..
but i dunno if theres time la to see all d faces..haih..god bless us all!!!
zawir_91
05-07-2009, 08:41 PM
counting down the hours...
i hope tomorrow's gonna be a good day.
phenomena0251
05-07-2009, 10:58 PM
3 more hours and i will set off from my place to KTT... hurray!
extell
06-07-2009, 01:32 PM
3 more hours and i will set off from my place to KTT... hurray!
waaa...so happy? later dun be surprised lo...:) wish you all the best.
Whoever is lost and wants to purchase textbooks, feel free to pm me. I think I've got some set in KTT...it's a whole lot in a FedEx box weighing like 50kgs. Lol.
counting down the hours...
i hope tomorrow's gonna be a good day.
nice avi and siggy. :amuse
saranghaeyo
10-07-2009, 01:09 PM
Hi! Nice to c u guys here...:laugh i m new here...Phew...this one week orientation really knackered d juniors out, huh?? :P
But anyway,d most important thing is that everyone enjoys themselves...^^
Plus, "Thank you!!" to all d seniors in KTT...They r Very friendly n helpful... Thx guys!:)
phenomena0251
11-07-2009, 08:11 PM
hu... orientation is done.. its a good one indeed.. thx to everyone especially facillitators, MPPs, seniors, and all my frens~ Group 10 rocks!
mochitor
11-07-2009, 11:48 PM
waaa...so happy? later dun be surprised lo...:) wish you all the best.
Whoever is lost and wants to purchase textbooks, feel free to pm me. I think I've got some set in KTT...it's a whole lot in a FedEx box weighing like 50kgs. Lol.
How come you never tell anything bout the person who is selling it for you?...
horizon_hunter23
13-07-2009, 12:36 PM
hahahahaha... at last.. i'm a student of ktt..... hahahhahahaha....:laugh
waiting 4so lo0ng maaa...
missykikie209
15-07-2009, 04:33 PM
yow fellas..haha
ktt is lyk..hell cool! am i right?? haha
btw im in ALL 2..
n do all of u meet each other yet??
i only met some of da recommers here..
ders might b more who r still unknown..sorryyy..heee:P
hahahahaha... at last.. i'm a student of ktt..... hahahhahahaha....:laugh
waiting 4so lo0ng maaa...
haha..hello classmate!:laugh:laugh
mochitor
15-07-2009, 09:47 PM
yow fellas..haha
ktt is lyk..hell cool! am i right?? haha
Yes i totally agree with you bout tht. I used to hate staying in ktt tht i would look forward to go back! But then KTT is a nice place thanks to the people who live there...the place itself to be honest is condemned! Ahaha with all the leaks and all...Geee i erally should be saying all this in the chat thread...Oh well, moderators bertimbang sikit ya Wahaha..So how is A levels?
anita
16-07-2009, 12:30 PM
hi still new- india bound student. I'm really worried about coping with the subjects- physics, chem & bio; esp the 1st 2. So far classes have been !!! ?? not much... hardly anything 2 go by. Seniors pls advice; how do i cope? really need 2 do well and secure the s.ship. Is it true that those who fail 2 make the cut-off point of 12 r kicked out of jpa's s.ship? desperate ma!
mochitor
16-07-2009, 07:43 PM
hi still new- india bound student. I'm really worried about coping with the subjects- physics, chem & bio; esp the 1st 2. So far classes have been !!! ?? not much... hardly anything 2 go by. Seniors pls advice; how do i cope? really need 2 do well and secure the s.ship. Is it true that those who fail 2 make the cut-off point of 12 r kicked out of jpa's s.ship? desperate ma!
First of all, right now you don't need to think bout getting kicked out! Now you got to identify your problem with those 2 subjects. I did not take physics so i wont say anything bout it. As for chem, i would guess tht you are like totally blur when teacher says anything right? For a start you should read your textbook before you go for class. NEVER assume you know a word unless you really sure bout it. For example, overlapping of sigma bond orbitals ...is said to be head-on or in some books say collinear overlapping...be sure wht you read. If you are the hardworking type, you should spend some time reading good books such as the physical chem by tan yin toon (STPM orange book) beware for it is supa thick but you just read the chapter bout bonding, intermolecular forces, electronic structures and all and also the book Advance chem...and so on. If you are the lazy type then just go find one senior who likes to talk a lot and ask him/her bout it. Sadly i was one of them but i had to leave for i would be happy to clear your doubts. In fact you can pm me if you do have any doubts. I'll do my best to get it solved for you! Maths also can! Bio i might not be able to help because i sold my textbook already so might not have the text to refer. Wahaha all the best and remember, when the going gets tough the tough get going! Wahahaha
saranghaeyo
17-07-2009, 11:09 AM
First of all, right now you don't need to think bout getting kicked out! Now you got to identify your problem with those 2 subjects. I did not take physics so i wont say anything bout it. As for chem, i would guess tht you are like totally blur when teacher says anything right? For a start you should read your textbook before you go for class. NEVER assume you know a word unless you really sure bout it. For example, overlapping of sigma bond orbitals ...is said to be head-on or in some books say collinear overlapping...be sure wht you read. If you are the hardworking type, you should spend some time reading good books such as the physical chem by tan yin toon (STPM orange book) beware for it is supa thick but you just read the chapter bout bonding, intermolecular forces, electronic structures and all and also the book Advance chem...and so on. If you are the lazy type then just go find one senior who likes to talk a lot and ask him/her bout it. Sadly i was one of them but i had to leave for i would be happy to clear your doubts. In fact you can pm me if you do have any doubts. I'll do my best to get it solved for you! Maths also can! Bio i might not be able to help because i sold my textbook already so might not have the text to refer. Wahaha all the best and remember, when the going gets tough the tough get going! Wahahaha
Very inspiring...we juniors Really need such encouragement now...thx ya^^
anita
17-07-2009, 12:06 PM
Thanks. It's very explicit. However the nagging questions still arise-
-do all the students who meet the cut-off point (12) secure the s.ship?
- what happens 2 those who don't?
- based on previous KTT india bound medic students(2007), how many are currently in India n what abt the rest (how can i gert this kind info)
tadaa
17-07-2009, 12:17 PM
somebody help me with this....i'm thinking of dropping my maths. I have a doubt to be cleared...if i managed to get the 12 points but my physics is a C, is there any possibility that i may not get an offer from any university in india??
I heard that if u can't go to india, jpa might send u to indon...if i don't have maths, can i still go indon??
need help...
17-07-2009, 02:29 PM
Thanks. It's very explicit. However the nagging questions still arise-
-do all the students who meet the cut-off point (12) secure the s.ship?
- what happens 2 those who don't?
- based on previous KTT india bound medic students(2007), how many are currently in India n what abt the rest (how can i gert this kind info)For first question, yes. If you are talking about India, then you are guaranteed a place if you pass the cutoff point. For other countries with entrance exams, previously you will still be sponsored, but to other countries. I'm not sure whether this policy has changed.
In last few years, those who didn't make it were "downgraded" to other countries, and if your results are really terrible, scholarship will be terminated. I'm not sure if JPA continue with the same policy.
Perhaps you can try to ask the seniors for unofficial number, JPA or college may have the statistics, but I doubt whether they will disclose it. Some of those from my batch who didn't make the cutoff point are in Indonesia now.
somebody help me with this....i'm thinking of dropping my maths. I have a doubt to be cleared...if i managed to get the 12 points but my physics is a C, is there any possibility that i may not get an offer from any university in india??
I heard that if u can't go to india, jpa might send u to indon...if i don't have maths, can i still go indon??
need help...If I'm not mistaken, there was at least a similar case with Physics C or less (but with Maths), he was accepted. Not sure if it applies in all cases though. I have no idea on second question.
mochitor
17-07-2009, 08:16 PM
Actually, it is said that to go indonesia you need mathematics, but honestly the standard required for indonesia is just something more than SPM and you have to pass the entrance exams for respective universities. Previously, JPA did do the, as said by miracle seed, downgrading to indonesia..most likely to universities in bahasa indonesia because the medicine international programmes are only provided by UGM, Padjajaran and Udayana which all have entrance exams. So when you do become an india bound casualty due to lack of A-level points they might make you sit for those entrance exams and put you there. Don't really worry bout the subjects, for UGM and padjajaran our registration just asked for AS results! Nobody even bothered if we had maths! Because they give tremendous importance to the entrance exam. I still don't know why you juniors are so worked bout this issue..I mean just focus on your A levels la...India bound 1.5 years got nothing else to do la...no entrance exam also...SO JUST SIT DOWN AND WORK TOWARDS THOSE As...You can do it while runnin too Wahaha
renniefoo
19-07-2009, 04:44 PM
guys,I'm India dentistry bound. Should I drop math or not? Some of the seniors said that math can be used as a backup cause phy will getting harder during A2 examination. But for math,if you able to cope with questions in past year paper,an A waiting for you already.. But I'm feeling like not enough time to finish those 3 subjects. Just afraid that math will make me have lessser time to study. Help me guys,really confused now.. Thx~
mochitor
19-07-2009, 08:31 PM
guys,I'm India dentistry bound. Should I drop math or not? Some of the seniors said that math can be used as a backup cause phy will getting harder during A2 examination. But for math,if you able to cope with questions in past year paper,an A waiting for you already.. But I'm feeling like not enough time to finish those 3 subjects. Just afraid that math will make me have lessser time to study. Help me guys,really confused now.. Thx~
First of all, if you say tht you do not have time to study in KTT it is either a lie or there is a new night club/shopping complex/cyber cafe...etc opened near KTT! For maths all you need is to understand 'what it means' and have sufficient practice and voila you get an A! I agree with your seniors saying tht maths is a good back up because unlike in physics, maths doesnt have any application topic to study...any unexpected out of the universe kinda question to answer in the exams..Maths will always be erm..MATHS...good foundation and 'sufficient practise' not tonnes of practise ok! So don't go do 1000 sums a day then you probably won't have time to eat, sleep, go to toilet...wht more to study!!! Wahaha
Very inspiring...we juniors Really need such encouragement now...thx ya^^
Woot, you thank me for the post...and then anita thanks you for thanking me! so its a double for me and a single hit for you! Wahaha
renniefoo
19-07-2009, 10:30 PM
First of all, if you say tht you do not have time to study in KTT it is either a lie or there is a new night club/shopping complex/cyber cafe...etc opened near KTT! For maths all you need is to understand 'what it means' and have sufficient practice and voila you get an A! I agree with your seniors saying tht maths is a good back up because unlike in physics, maths doesnt have any application topic to study...any unexpected out of the universe kinda question to answer in the exams..Maths will always be erm..MATHS...good foundation and 'sufficient practise' not tonnes of practise ok! So don't go do 1000 sums a day then you probably won't have time to eat, sleep, go to toilet...wht more to study!!! Wahaha
Thx for your info. But I'm doing those micellaneous exercise and it really me feel the tense! :cry
19-07-2009, 11:04 PM
Thx for your info. But I'm doing those micellaneous exercise and it really me feel the tense! :cryMiscellaneous exercise is nowhere close to the actual exam questions, you can try to figure out all the answers if you want to challenge yourself, but if you just target A-Level examinations, don't worry if you couldn't answer all those questions, many are not going to come out in A-Level exam, you can refer to past year for the types of actual questions coming out.
mochitor
19-07-2009, 11:44 PM
Thx for your info. But I'm doing those micellaneous exercise and it really me feel the tense! :cry
The miscellaneous exercises are there just in case if you want to go an extra mile. It is totally OKAY if you are not able to solve them especially the ones with the * symbol at the side. But i got to admit if you can do the misc then the real exam would be a breeze through! Wahaha...if you are having trouble and had slept over the question for at least a day then you can start go looking for help frm teachers and seniors or even your friends...Mr. Razib is the last person you would wanna ask mainly because he is so busy you are really fortunate to make an appointment with him and be able to clear your doubts with him. Since i was one of the late entries into KTT last year in august i did not do my AS misc for maths. I passed my A2 misc solutions to Pn. Hazlina my maths teacher, feel free to go see her and if you must feel free to have a look at the solutions. I have to inform you tht i tried my best to do all the questions but time was not on my side being 1 year prg student so i think most of the questions i did do with the rest unable to solve as i just did not have the time to spend in doing it!. Hope this is helpful Wahaha...Hats off to you tht you are trying the misc exercises..believe me it is the best challenge and practise you can get on your own! So all the best
extell
20-07-2009, 01:36 AM
trust me juniors, all you need is past years past years and past years!
anita
20-07-2009, 12:48 PM
Thanks. Is it true that many 1.5 yr india-bound sts drop maths after the A2 exam bec of the intensity of esp physics combined @<hidden> the other 2 sciences which is compulsory. Truly we 'new' students don't mean 2 b fickle or annoying, but it is quite a worry - 2 drop or take maths. I really really want 2 study in India... and so the need to focus on the 3 compulsory subj(s) is serious; then again some say that maths is the 'safety-net' in the event....! Also so far lectures are pretty !!!!??? ..
confused ma
The miscellaneous exercises are there just in case if you want to go an extra mile. It is totally OKAY if you are not able to solve them especially the ones with the * symbol at the side. But i got to admit if you can do the misc then the real exam would be a breeze through! Wahaha...if you are having trouble and had slept over the question for at least a day then you can start go looking for help frm teachers and seniors or even your friends...Mr. Razib is the last person you would wanna ask mainly because he is so busy you are really fortunate to make an appointment with him and be able to clear your doubts with him. Since i was one of the late entries into KTT last year in august i did not do my AS misc for maths. I passed my A2 misc solutions to Pn. Hazlina my maths teacher, feel free to go see her and if you must feel free to have a look at the solutions. I have to inform you tht i tried my best to do all the questions but time was not on my side being 1 year prg student so i think most of the questions i did do with the rest unable to solve as i just did not have the time to spend in doing it!. Hope this is helpful Wahaha...Hats off to you tht you are trying the misc exercises..believe me it is the best challenge and practise you can get on your own! So all the best
tx 4 info. Cld u pls advice on who i can refer 2 for problems @<hidden> physics & chem...:huh
saranghaeyo
20-07-2009, 03:33 PM
so u mean the miscellaneous ex. are actually tougher than the actual exam Q.?not vice versa?? :huh emm...straight away focusing on doing past years Q. will save a lot of time?? thx...
mochitor
20-07-2009, 05:04 PM
tx 4 info. Cld u pls advice on who i can refer 2 for problems @<hidden> physics & chem...:huh
For physics, Mr. Zaini is the best person. Among the seniors i don't know who are the top guns because i was nvr among them. There is also a physics tuition around, try to find out more bout it frm your seniors. Well, for chemistry Pn. Mazlin was my teacher she was quite good but now she left already, you can pm me if you want i'll try to help you but the process would be slow. So you might itself identify the genius among your friends and ask from them! Wahaha, most importantly you must do your part and READ as much as you can...No LOST in tht!
so u mean the miscellaneous ex. are actually tougher than the actual exam Q.?not vice versa?? :huh emm...straight away focusing on doing past years Q. will save a lot of time?? thx...
Yes, NOT VICE VERSA. Straight away focusing on past year gets you an A too, doing misc and past year gets you an A too. You decide la which way you want it. Doing misc would help you get As for your internal exams! Wahaha...miscellaneous ex just to make your mind sharper la...like lebih berpengalaman..I liked maths so i did them...if you dont likemaths then just do past year bersungguh-sungguh also can already! Wahaha
Thanks. Is it true that many 1.5 yr india-bound sts drop maths after the A2 exam bec of the intensity of esp physics combined @<hidden> the other 2 sciences which is compulsory. Truly we 'new' students don't mean 2 b fickle or annoying, but it is quite a worry - 2 drop or take maths. I really really want 2 study in India... and so the need to focus on the 3 compulsory subj(s) is serious; then again some say that maths is the 'safety-net' in the event....! Also so far lectures are pretty !!!!??? ..
confused ma
Waaawaaawaa, i also really^100000000 wanted to study in india but i couldnt even when i took maths...Just take up maths la...you wont regret it. There would be some seniors who would tell you if don't take up maths can focus more on physics! But the truth is they who did not take up maths probably spend just as much time on physics as the ones who took maths! Wahaha, maths is about concept, you understand it you can do any sorta question. Physics involves maths (so if you take up maths you would know wth is natural logarithm!) but maths does not involve physics..Now can you see how one subject helps another? So go for it! I betul betul hairan la...masa SPM all berebut wanna take 10-20 subjects now easy subjects like maths got lot of confusion and dilemma to take it up...I tell you la, you all good students once you take up the subject you automatic will put in effort to do well but when you did not take it you probably become like lacking la nothing wrong in learning more! Wahaha
anita
24-07-2009, 09:49 AM
Cld the seniors pls recommend some good books 4 physics, chem & bio? i've bought the text books - recomended by the lecturers n also some past-yr papers. I'm looking 4 something that can be used progressively- as the topics r taught with some questions. kind of topical with questions. any good suggestions seniors? tx in advance
25-07-2009, 02:13 AM
Cld the seniors pls recommend some good books 4 physics, chem & bio? i've bought the text books - recomended by the lecturers n also some past-yr papers. I'm looking 4 something that can be used progressively- as the topics r taught with some questions. kind of topical with questions. any good suggestions seniors? tx in advanceRedspot topical can serve the purpose, but they must be coupled with syllabus, or else you would waste lots of time doing out-of-syllabus questions, unless you want to challenge yourself. This doesn't apply to Maths, don't ever try Redspot for Maths.
saranghaeyo
25-07-2009, 11:00 AM
Redspot topical can serve the purpose, but they must be coupled with syllabus, or else you would waste lots of time doing out-of-syllabus questions, unless you want to challenge yourself. This doesn't apply to Maths, don't ever try Redspot for Maths.
Why cannot use Redspot for maths subject? further explanation...thx :)
26-07-2009, 12:25 AM
Why cannot use Redspot for maths subject? further explanation...thx :)Redspot is for actually Singapore A-Level syllabus, not Cambridge A-Level. However, for the three sciences, they are about 60%-80% overlap in syllabus, so you can use it, with according to your own syllabus. However, for maths, Redspot is much more advanced than CIE's, perhaps CIE's is just 10% of it, and even so, most of them are A2 stuff, so I don't encourage to waste your time on Redspot, unless you're really interested, and have time for advanced self-learning, for self-satisfaction.
mochitor
27-07-2009, 01:23 AM
Redspot is for actually Singapore A-Level syllabus, not Cambridge A-Level. However, for the three sciences, they are about 60%-80% overlap in syllabus, so you can use it, with according to your own syllabus. However, for maths, Redspot is much more advanced than CIE's, perhaps CIE's is just 10% of it, and even so, most of them are A2 stuff, so I don't encourage to waste your time on Redspot, unless you're really interested, and have time for advanced self-learning, for self-satisfaction.
There are a whole gang of students contemplating to even take up maths as an additional subject at the chat thread...miracle seed you dont la scare them with all these dahsyat words...Wahaha
Honestly, if you guys can completely complete your past years in the best of effort, then nescaya boleh dapat A in the real exam. I mean to say that when you do past year, you do slowly, if mistake go read up, analyse, think,solve...haaaa...also can la...because thts all tht i did. I tak berani recommend any buku latihan because i nvr used any of them. A-levels not like SPM la, do gazillion latihan can pass edi, the mat salleh would test your understanding ... not your memory actually...memory still got la but u would understand wht i am saying when you sit for ur exams. Wahaha
horizon_hunter23
08-08-2009, 02:34 AM
layann jeeeee.... zassss!!!!
actually.. what u hve to do is learn, analayse n understand...
then u do the past year question while understanding the question n the learning bout the topic...
4 xmple.. when u do question bout momentum.. try to understanding what is the momentum "ALL" about... when u doing lots of exercise... u will become familiar with the same type of question n u can adapt if cie change the question a little bit in he real exam.... yosh!!!!!
extell
12-09-2009, 01:31 AM
I believe A levels for India bounds are coming up soon?
Good luck everyone!
And for juniors, study hard for AS levels. ;)
mochitor
17-09-2009, 12:19 AM
I believe A levels for India bounds are coming up soon?
Good luck everyone!
And for juniors, study hard for AS levels. ;)
Yeah thats right! Dont mess up AS like how extell did Wahaha...Nawh kidding, extell all top student one!
goodluck for AS 2010 everyone! :)
Thermometer
11-05-2010, 03:47 PM
Am I the only one here enroling for Graphic Designing?
ijah_91
12-05-2010, 10:52 AM
elloo everyone!!!!!!juz drop by to ask anyone want to buy any alevel books????if can i want to sell them all...notes,textbook,exercise and so on...anyone???
good luck to all ktt students whose taking alevel....everyone MUST fly!!!!chaiyok
xJing
27-05-2010, 03:49 PM
halo, juniors~
welcome to ktt.... :)
so what course are u taking?
if u're doing dentistry then u must be bounded to india~
Hi! going to do one year Cambridge A levels. I'm poland bound(medicine).
Are you a senior there? Can i ask a few questions here? Would really appreciate it if someone could chip in with some answers thanks
1. What is the internet connection there like? Is it stable? Is the entire campus and hostel wired? Are there any charges, if so, what are the rates?
2. If I'm not mistaken, we need to wear formal wear in KTT. Does this apply only to campus attire(during classes)? For girls, can we wear baju kurung/office attire(pant suit/ blouse and skirt)?
3. Is it necessary for us to wear formal shoes in campus? As in the black covered shoes. Or can we wear sandals?
4. Concerning the books that we'll be using in our A levels studies, where can we get them? Must we wait for the lecturers, or do we get them in some bookshop, or is there any other way to get them?
5. Do we need to bring along our own electrical appliances such as fans, etc, or can we buy them from the seniors? Is it even necessary to bring a fan?
6. Is it safe to bring a laptop there?
7. What is the most energy and cost effective way to do our laundry there?
8. What advice do you have for living in the hostel there, ie., studies, things we'll need, lifestyle, etc. Just any other miscellaneous advice.
CairParavel
27-05-2010, 05:11 PM
1. It's not that fast, but still okay. May cause extreme frustrations at times. The whole college is wired, but the signal strength depends on where you're at. Some apartments get sucky connections.
Buy the internet prepaid cards from the Comp Lab. As for the rates,
rm 5 - 7 hours
Rm 10 - 15 hours
rm 30 - i forgot.. but it's worth buying RM10x3.
2. Formal wear for classes. For girls, baju kurung or blouse with pants/skirt is totally fine. I occasionally wear skinny jeans to class, but as long as you look presentable, lecturers srsly dont mind at all, just go formal for some time, go informal slowly.
You can wear pretty much anything outside classes- hotpants, slippers.
3. Sandals are acceptable. Heels or whatever, as long as they're not toilet slippers.
4. Dont buy the books yet, briefings will be given. Usually, Bio textbook will have to b original, books for other subjects can be photostatted cz it's not worth buying original copies.
5. Fans will be provided. Just bring water heater, hotplate, rice cooker, etc. Extensions are important. Seniors will have mega sales when they're moving out, so you bring wht u already have from home, the rest you can buy from seniors.
6. Yes. For the first week, dont bring it though, see if u can trust the ppl around you. I can confidently leave my laptop in the living room and not locking the apartment door when i'm out, but safety first right?
7. Most ppl have washing machines. Discuss with your housemates if you need it, then buy together, preferably from seniors, before tht just use the coin-operated one at the back of the building, or send to the mini mart.
8. you'll figure it out :)
ngohhong
04-06-2010, 08:13 PM
anybody can tell me A-Level Cambridge is difficult 2 study or not? wat subject is included? wat marks i hav 2 achieve if i wan futher study in dentistry in India. thx ya....
munirahibrahim
07-06-2010, 03:05 AM
the only A level subjects you get in KTT is Biology, Chemistry, Physics & Maths.
Maths is optional as the compulsory subjects for India bound students are only the three science ones. But its maths is often advisable for backup points. :)
The marks are not consistent, they use thresholds for every paper in every subjects. It changes with every examination, but i read somewhere that the minimum marks (or something like that) for an A is 80 and A* is 90.
The minimum points for you have to get is 12.
A is 5 points.
B is 4 points.
C is 3 points.
D is 2 points.
E is 1 point.
But we've been told during briefing that you have to get at least BBB to secure a place in uni. you'd still qualify to fly if you get grades ABC = 12 pts, but the university will decide if you get in or not. :)
george1209
20-06-2010, 06:29 PM
after going thru this post.. i found that 1.5years alvl student will normally stay in those double storey house .. can any senior gv more picture/information on those house?do the house hv internet coverage from ktt? omg = ='' btwn house and apartment which one nicer? .....
El Nino9
20-06-2010, 09:33 PM
after going thru this post.. i found that 1.5years alvl student will normally stay in those double storey house .. can any senior gv more picture/information on those house?do the house hv internet coverage from ktt? omg = ='' btwn house and apartment which one nicer? .....
I doubt ktt will let u guys stay in those houses anymore..if im not mistaken,last year's batch..everyone stayed in the apartment.
staying in the apartment is definitely better la cz its just more convenient. Classes,cafe, library all nearby..
I also don't think you can get d wireless coverage from ktt when you're staying in those double storey houses
wanee
20-06-2010, 10:09 PM
another extra infos here. I heard some said that this year there will be more juniors.i mean a lot till some of them have to stay at the house. For previous years usually we have enough apartment but I dont know what happened this year.
george1209
21-06-2010, 03:07 PM
oh i see..thanks ya.. but then ktt is doing generalpaper or thinking skills?..
jaelern
21-06-2010, 06:57 PM
hi,i'm new here and i was offered by jpa to have my A level cambridge at KTT with medic bound Poland.i would like to ask a few questions as below:
-is chemistry,physics and bio are compulsory subjects while maths is optional sub in my programme?any other sub?
-wat is the minimum marks to b achieved by me in order to study oversea?is it 12 marks same as India bound students?
-is it necessary/mostly needed for me to have my own laptop for my A level programme ?
-the attire to class which is blouse can b short sleeve or must long sleeve shirt?
-may i know where can i buy the photostated copy of notes for those subjects tat no nid to b in original copy?
-is it okay if i complete some registrations forms(tat is blanked for those required details tat i'm nt sure) during registration time?
-can i further my medic specialist during the period of 10 years serving goverment/ housemanship?
Hopefully i can get solutions for the questions listed A.S.A.P as i have to register on next monday..i appreciate it so much..Thanks ya!!!
george1209
21-06-2010, 07:45 PM
hi,i'm new here and i was offered by jpa to have my A level cambridge at KTT with medic bound Poland.i would like to ask a few questions as below:
1.-is chemistry,physics and bio are compulsory subjects while maths is optional sub in my programme?any other sub?
2.-wat is the minimum marks to b achieved by me in order to study oversea?is it 12 marks same as India bound students?
3.-is it necessary/mostly needed for me to have my own laptop for my A level programme ?
4.-the attire to class which is blouse can b short sleeve or must long sleeve shirt?
5.-may i know where can i buy the photostated copy of notes for those subjects tat no nid to b in original copy?
6.-is it okay if i complete some registrations forms(tat is blanked for those required details tat i'm nt sure) during registration time?
7.-can i further my medic specialist during the period of 10 years serving goverment/ housemanship?
Hopefully i can get solutions for the questions listed A.S.A.P as i have to register on next monday..i appreciate it so much..Thanks ya!!!
i only can answer a few question only..i plotted number for those question so that easy for us to read ^^.
1.yes,bio,chem,phys is compulsory for your course country.
2.i don't know about this ..
3.not necessary and not mostly needed ..this i saw from previous post , stated that most students there will have their sport there when freetime..although may have presentation ,but just find your group member that have laptop is enough .. you'll not surfing internet that often when at ktt.
4.eiter short or long.
5.i read from previous post..got one uncle Beh..but i don't know whether he still around or not..need to ask senior that currently studying at ktt..
6.yes , you can.. i'm doing the same way too.. quite blur with some part.
7.about this question , i got asked a doctor when attending the PPKSD, he said you can futher your medic specialist only after 2years housemanship and 3 years M.O. but details about it i'm not sure too..^^
hope have senior come to explain more details ~ ! anyway i'm going ktt too.. see you there.~:)
lishilen92
22-06-2010, 02:08 AM
hello guys...i m india bounded n need 2 register at Ktt next monday...i have a few questions.
1.are there any indian seniors?
2.What subjects must i take 4 a levels?
3.are there any tuition 4 sciences and maths?
4.Is there any dobi service?
wanee
22-06-2010, 02:25 AM
i only can answer a few question only..i plotted number for those question so that easy for us to read ^^.
3.not necessary and not mostly needed ..this i saw from previous post , stated that most students there will have their sport there when freetime..although may have presentation ,but just find your group member that have laptop is enough .. you'll not surfing internet that often when at ktt.
4.eiter short or long.
5.i read from previous post..got one uncle Beh..but i don't know whether he still around or not..need to ask senior that currently studying at ktt..
7.about this question , i got asked a doctor when attending the PPKSD, he said you can futher your medic specialist only after 2years housemanship and 3 years M.O. but details about it i'm not sure too..^^
hope have senior come to explain more details ~ ! anyway i'm going ktt too.. see you there.~:)
2. yes it's the same as india bound.
5. uncle beh is stil here.actually he owns a shop at BBST so he will always be around.dont worry you'll get his nymber as you get here.just sms him what kind of books you want.bio and chem text books are recomended to be in original copy.other stuff like past years and referrence books are in photocopied.
hello guys...i m india bounded n need 2 register at Ktt next monday...i have a few questions.
1.are there any indian seniors?
2.What subjects must i take 4 a levels?
3.are there any tuition 4 sciences and maths?
4.Is there any dobi service?
1.do you mean indian seniors at KTT?sure got.a lot.
2.actually only 3 best subjects are taken into account but you can take 4 subjects as back up point
3.there's a phy tuition at batang benar.but this is not under college and actually lecturers kinda do not like students going out for tuition.but we still go.and you have to arrange the trasportation by your own.
4. dobi service is provided at mini mart but most of us own a washing machine as it's more flexible.
jaelern
22-06-2010, 02:46 PM
4.eiter short or long.
Thank you very much for ur information..meanwhile,wat is M.O. stands for?this year,is it the 1st year u go to ktt or?:huh
may i have uncle beh's hp no pls?or else can tel me the way to have it once i get there?hmm...quite worry to study there
ijah_91
22-06-2010, 04:05 PM
may i have uncle beh's hp no pls?or else can tel me the way to have it once i get there?hmm...quite worry to study there[/quote]
congratz being selectd 2 ktt!!!don't worry too much about it...uncle beh's no 0162782883
xJing
22-06-2010, 04:23 PM
Thank you very much for ur information..meanwhile,wat is M.O. stands for?this year,is it the 1st year u go to ktt or?:huh
may i have uncle beh's hp no pls?or else can tel me the way to have it once i get there?hmm...quite worry to study there
M.O. stands for Medical Officer, if I'm not mistaken. They are doctors. You'll be one after you've completed your housemanship.
axreus
24-06-2010, 09:44 PM
hello guys,
i know there is a lot of you getting hyped up for the new stage of education. congratulations and good luck with your new life here. its gonna be different and exciting. but don't forget you need books to study don't you? for those who want to save a lot on books, you can have a deal with me on the registration day. i can provide you textbooks, reference books and etc. its gonna be a specific book fair specially for you guys there. when i said fair, i mean its a lot cheaper than you can find anywhere else. seeing is believing. come have a visit to my booth on the registration day. i'm also getting hyped up seeing fresh faces of my junior there. see ya!