View Full Version : JPA application-- family income
hi to all jpa scholars, jz wanna find out , did u guys state your true family income, or u all state a false one??
i hope this post will b a guidance to d younger ones
15-05-2007, 07:45 PM
yes, state true one.... payslip cannot tipu one la..... private sector what...
15-05-2007, 09:50 PM
I stated the true 1..but dint get..(perhaps because i got Petronas already)
i put genuine one...T.T...i guess dats y i din get it...too high wor my dad's salary...as if :evil: ...others so high income oso can get la...higher then me leh...drive Benz la...blabla wadever...n now mca said 'ur dad's income ar...over 1500 la...dats da problem la...' haiya...parents income higher than 1500 means i can study pharmacy on my own meh??!! please la...how cud they gif us da scholarship according to our parent's salary...so so sad :( ...unfair la those who gif fake pay slip...they snatch our chance...
Kevin89
16-05-2007, 12:45 AM
I put the real income, since they need slip gaji and they can always check our parents income tax.
devilz--tkp
16-05-2007, 12:55 AM
yeah..i put the real 1.cuz we hav to hand in the income tax slip right?so i dun think we can cheat...anyway if u want to cheat there is always a way for u to do so...y dun just be honest?
Kevin89
16-05-2007, 01:16 AM
And if they found out that you are cheating, they sure tarik balik the scholarship even u got string of A1s.
i stated the real ones as well, both my parents are government servants, and my dad has just retired. i think no point cheating them about the salary. A family with income rm5000 hardly afford their 3 or 4 children to study oversea...those income less than rm1500, how??
anti-cheat~~~
'cuz my father's salary is about RM3000 (Civil Servant)
i din get other scholarship (even interview) except JPA... what a relief..
YEA.. i wonder one thing... would anyone SURVIVE if their salary under RM1500 nowadays? ... don't think so....
JuDy89
16-05-2007, 11:30 AM
definitely put real income..y would u want to cheat n get urself disqualified for jpa?
koln_auhc
16-05-2007, 08:15 PM
Who would be retarded enough to admit this? D'uh.
agree... i won't think the cheater will say I cheat to get this scholarship ..
sun90
25-05-2007, 10:56 AM
agree... i won't think the cheater will say I cheat to get this scholarship ..
agree~~ :? :?
canada
02-06-2007, 12:22 PM
i put genuine one...T.T...i guess dats y i din get it...too high wor my dad's salary...as if :evil: ...others so high income oso can get la...higher then me leh...drive Benz la...blabla wadever...n now mca said 'ur dad's income ar...over 1500 la...dats da problem la...' haiya...parents income higher than 1500 means i can study pharmacy on my own meh??!! please la...how cud they gif us da scholarship according to our parent's salary...so so sad :( ...unfair la those who gif fake pay slip...they snatch our chance...
totally agree!! It is truly unfair!! Scholarships should be awarded based on academic merit, not family income!!! MCA said that those whose family income are less than 1500 should be given JPA scholarship bcoz they cant afford it, but that means slightly over 1500 can afford to study overseas? Even with income around 5000 also cant afford a child to study overseas!!
Nowadays it is very unlikely that a family income is less than 1500, esp for those in KL. Living expenses for a family of 5 in kl must be more than that....
Hopefully JPA will abolish the system that 10A1+ <1500= 100% guaranteed scholarship! Instead it should be straignt A1(>11A1)=100% guaranteed scholarship!!!
Under this system, one of my friend who get 11A1(straight A1) but income >1500 was not awarded scholarship, but another fren who scored 10A1+1B3 and <1500 was awarded for the same course instead. Is it fair?
windhoe2
02-06-2007, 12:54 PM
totally agree!! It is truly unfair!! Scholarships should be awarded based on academic merit, not family income!!! MCA said that those whose family income are less than 1500 should be given JPA scholarship bcoz they cant afford it, but that means slightly over 1500 can afford to study overseas? Even with income around 5000 also cant afford a child to study overseas!!
Nowadays it is very unlikely that a family income is less than 1500, esp for those in KL. Living expenses for a family of 5 in kl must be more than that....
Hopefully JPA will abolish the system that 10A1+ <1500= 100% guaranteed scholarship! Instead it should be straignt A1(>11A1)=100% guaranteed scholarship!!!
Under this system, one of my friend who get 11A1(straight A1) but income >1500 was not awarded scholarship, but another fren who scored 10A1+1B3 and <1500 was awarded for the same course instead. Is it fair?
to me.it is very fair. Even u think rm1500 per month is impossible, but if there are students got schorlarship under this system ,this implies it is credible.
canada
02-06-2007, 06:35 PM
i mean that a student who scored better(>11A1) and with higher income(>1500), but still cant afford overseas, is not awarded scholarship but another student who scored less A1(10A1) and family <1500 is awarded.
I think it is not that fair bcoz both of them also cant afford to study overseas. How come only those with <1500 are considered? This is unfair for those with excellent result and higher income. Of course, i do not mean for those rich family with monthly income of 5 figures, is for those 2500<x<5000.
evan89
02-06-2007, 06:48 PM
Nowadays its realli hard 2 survive with salary rm1500 i think...
If tat is the real salary they shuld given a chance but i think the qualification 10A shuld be make higher coz nowadays ppl score more than 10A1 is quite common....
Bubbly_Putsie
03-06-2007, 12:57 AM
I honestly do not think it has anything to do wif income...i also think it has nuthing to do wif the interviews...1 of my fren, i hate him so wateva, his parents both datuks, not a malay k?...he got petronas yet he got jpa...for me i think its fair for ppl who got 10a1s & above to get the scholarships...but it doesnt matter how matter a1s u got...i haf a fren days b4 spm going around in skul saying dat she took 15 subjects...memalukan betul when she only got 10as...wat i c now is dat rich ppl pun dpt biasiswa...
amcian
03-06-2007, 01:39 AM
dis yr family income is vr important4 jpa slship unless u hav other connection...
a fren of mine has bout rm4000sth 4 family income..straight 11a1s..active in koko..
dinget jpa afta appeal oso..
mca feel dat dis income is vr high....
personally..i dun tink a family with such income could afford2 send a child2 do med even locally...in private colleges...
it's vr xpensive....
many students out thr oso nid these slships too...
juz hope dat d gov would consider mor aspects b4 givin out slships...
Excal
03-06-2007, 07:29 AM
The middle class will always be the disadvantaged ones. Same case here also, rich friends also got JPA, some friends with no straight A1s also got JPA. The same word applies...
UNFAIR!!!
But sometimes we just have to accept it... :cry:
evan89
03-06-2007, 11:46 AM
there r 10k ppl apply for dis scholarship but the places onli 1800 and for nonbumiputera is lesser.
I think both academic performance and family income shuld be consider. There r ppl family income more than 10k still come 2 apply for dis scholarship coz human thinking is government pay better than they pay...
-ELaiNE-
03-06-2007, 03:54 PM
The middle class will always be the disadvantaged ones. Same case here also, rich friends also got JPA, some friends with no straight A1s also got JPA. The same word applies...
UNFAIR!!!
Agree! The middle class family are the ones who always lose out..especially middle class families in urban areas e.g. KL..i can understand if jpa rejects those with a monthly income of RM 33 000 as in one of the cases i've heard from MCA..but for those in between 5000-10 000(i mean those who lives in big cities and do not own acres of oil palm plantation, land, whatsoever..)it is most unjust! We have to accept it, you say? But i don't want to..i can't..this is cruel.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
jojyi
03-06-2007, 04:00 PM
States the true income as wat the MCA says in their talks...Maybe sometimes luck plays a big role.. :wink: calm down my friends..
canada
03-06-2007, 04:47 PM
anyway, the system that consider the family income before awarding scholarship is truly unfair for those middle-class family. They can't afford to study overseas but yet aren't considered by jpa.
like ASEAN scholarship is much fairer, it gives out the scholarship only based on academic merit and the performance of interview/ test. This is what meant by 'scholarship'.
Those 'scholarship' that put the family income as the prime concern is somehow like study-aid money.
03-06-2007, 05:40 PM
UNFAIR!!!
Agree! The middle class family are the ones who always lose out..especially middle class families in urban areas e.g. KL..i can understand if jpa rejects those with a monthly income of RM 33 000 as in one of the cases i've heard from MCA..but for those in between 5000-10 000(i mean those who lives in big cities and do not own acres of oil palm plantation, land, whatsoever..)it is most unjust! We have to accept it, you say? But i don't want to..i can't..this is cruel.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
I still can't secure anything even my family income is below 3K per month...in this case, i think that luck did play a vital role...what to do??
somehow, there're nothing fair in this world...accept it..
Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts. ~Winston Churchill~
WinnieWong
03-06-2007, 06:28 PM
Erm... parents salary add together quite high but we also need to look at other acpects such as do you live in rural area? do you active in cocurriculum and know how to speak well and smart during interview. How many certs do you have? Because these all are counted. If your parents rich but other acpects you cover up the marks and total higher then can better chance.
My dad is an interviewer also, tat's what he told me.
If you get 12A1 in SPM, but you not active in school activities and quite passive also no use.
05-06-2007, 09:17 AM
The SPM 2006 top scorer from Penang, whose father is specialist and mother is genaral practitioner, also got the scholarship. I can hardly believe her parents can't afford to send her overseas.....
05-06-2007, 09:43 AM
The SPM 2006 top scorer from Penang, whose father is specialist and mother is genaral practitioner, also got the scholarship. I can hardly believe her parents can't afford to send her overseas.....
hence, score more than 16A1s would guarantee you a scholarship even your parents earn more than 10K per month....yaya..let's the rat race becomes more prevalent...
05-06-2007, 09:53 AM
Didnt u guys read the newspaper on the issues tat JPA fail those who put fake income ?
Tat's is a better step on... although they are many, even though they put their real income, but their living is based on other income tat's not include in their real income.. get wat I meant ? many has extra income..
annwhat
05-06-2007, 09:56 AM
dont be unfair guys.She had 16a1's.
In the past i know of children who have both parents in the private sector working as surgeons getting JPA.(and they only had 9 or 10a's and were from private schools)So why the fuss now with our top scorer here?She had 16!she deserves it i believe.At the end of the day..she has the bond to honour if she takes up the scholarship OR pay back the scholarship amount.fair ain't it?
For those of you who were unsuccessful securing a JPA Scholarship.Dont be such sour grapes.I wasnt succesful too.I had straight a1's as well but im pretty sure i wasnt as good as those deserving ones who got it.Some are national level atheletes ,debaters,with fantastic results.i sure cant match up to them.Hence im not complaining.JPA WAS FAIR GUYS..(with a few exceptions of course) but generally they were fairer than in previous years.
-ELaiNE-
05-06-2007, 09:59 AM
Somehow JPA should reveal not just their selection criteria but how they allocate marks for each. Most importantly, how much marks minimum must we score in order to secure the scholarship. Hence, this debate on family income, co-curriculum, interview and what nots will not exist. Let candidates know why they fail instead of letting them draw their own assumptions. :?
canada
05-06-2007, 12:22 PM
Somehow JPA should reveal not just their selection criteria but how they allocate marks for each. Most importantly, how much marks minimum must we score in order to secure the scholarship. Hence, this debate on family income, co-curriculum, interview and what nots will not exist. Let candidates know why they fail instead of letting them draw their own assumptions. :?
This is really a good way. But this is very unlikely to happen. Like SPM, does the examination board announce how many marks to get A1? how many marks pass? This is like 'secret' and the candidates are not allowed to know. I believe that JPA thought that if they reveal the marks obtained by each scholar, there will be more controversy. Now only get or fail.
05-06-2007, 02:26 PM
oh, you didn't know about the percentage?? never mind.. let me tell you here now.. it was told to me by my interviewer last time.. not sure if its still valid.. mayb there might be some changes to the weightage la.. out of 100%, 70% is based on your SPM grades, 10% for your family's income, 10% on your co-curriculum achievement and last ly, 10% for the interview.. this was the calculations for the interview for SPMers 2004.. not sure if its changed this time..
06-06-2007, 12:52 AM
This is the point system for this year:-
70% is based on your SPM grades, 10% for your family's income, 10% on your co-curriculum achievement and 10% for the interview
For this year, guarantee scholarships are given to:-
- Those with at least 13A1s (straight A1s, with no A2) (irrespective of parents' salary)
- Those with at least 10A1s with parents' income below RM1,500
These scholarships were given on top of the normal 1,500 spots. So, JPA gives an additional 300 scholarships to these students. About 240+ students get at least 10A1s with parents' income below RM1,500.
Those who get at least 10A1s and fill in parents' income below RM1,500 and do not get the scholarships, it could be due to Income Tax Department has found that you cheat on parents' income. JPA submits your parents' name for income tax checking. Quite a number of students cheat.
So, with these 2 guarantee scholarships, these students would not fight for the original 1,500 scholarships spots. This would mean the rest of students have higher chances.
On actual point within the 100 points, for salary, I believe it is:-
10% for RM5,000 and below
5% for RM5,001 to RM10,000
0% for RM10,001 and above
For co-cu, it is believed that points are:-
1% for representing country
0.8% for representing state
0.6% for representing district
0.4% for representing school
0.2% for representing sports club.
(I don't know exact breakdown, but if you do not have anything for sports, you would get 0% for that category.)
For academic, core subjects are counted. Electives like Mandarin are not counted. However, Pendidikan Moral/Islam, History, BM and English, as well as other core subjects in science/commerce/art stream are counted.
06-06-2007, 01:27 PM
For academic, core subjects are counted. Electives like Mandarin are not counted. However, Pendidikan Moral/Islam, History, BM and English, as well as other core subjects in science/commerce/art stream are counted.
If someone get 14A1 including Mandarin, which means, officially, when come to JPA scholarships, he get 13A1 or 14A1?
06-06-2007, 03:34 PM
If someone get 14A1 including Mandarin, which means, officially, when come to JPA scholarships, he get 13A1 or 14A1?
well i think you can still consider 14A1s... its just mandarin is not taken into consideration...
06-06-2007, 03:53 PM
Awarding scholarships according to number of A1 will only encourage the rat race for A. Seriously, I don't agree the suggested method (awarding scholarships for those with more than 11A1).
If JPA is fair and award scholarships according to the scoring system, even she scores zero in family income, she can still make up other 90%. I'm sure she scored full in academic which carries about 60%. I have doubts on how JPA gives score in academic.... Suppose all the straight A1 scorers should be given full marks, but it's obvious that's not the case. You can see the number of A1 is proportional to the cost of countries given. We all can just guess, but can't break the code. Family income does play a part, but obviously not that important, otherwise our top scorer won't get the scholarship.
sore_four_eyes
06-06-2007, 07:12 PM
Those JPA ppl said that we are all divided into the course we apply for. Those who get better academic results than us get pushed into the list before us. I.e., i got 10A1s 1A2 but there are 11A1s so they get the place and not me. Income, apparently, isn't much of an issue. I asked the pegawai who handles the selection about the income but he said there are ppl who get higher income than me (that would be RM8k +) but who are on the list because they got better results than me.
HUHHHHHH??????
06-06-2007, 07:30 PM
well i think you can still consider 14A1s... its just mandarin is not taken into consideration...
so, when apply for JPA scholarship, 1 person with 13A1 without Mandarin, and 1 person with 14A1 with Mandarin, any other subjects all same, straight A1, do they possess the same chance of securing the scholarrhips?.(.let's not take other things into account, just compare this ...)
06-06-2007, 07:33 PM
Those JPA ppl said that we are all divided into the course we apply for. Those who get better academic results than us get pushed into the list before us. I.e., i got 10A1s 1A2 but there are 11A1s so they get the place and not me. Income, apparently, isn't much of an issue. I asked the pegawai who handles the selection about the income but he said there are ppl who get higher income than me (that would be RM8k +) but who are on the list because they got better results than me.
HUHHHHHH??????
overall score, i think.
07-06-2007, 11:31 AM
so, when apply for JPA scholarship, 1 person with 13A1 without Mandarin, and 1 person with 14A1 with Mandarin, any other subjects all same, straight A1, do they possess the same chance of securing the scholarrhips?.(.let's not take other things into account, just compare this ...)
well, if that's the situation, i suppose they do stand the same chance of getting the scholarship.. but in any case, the JPA might also say the 14A1 fella stands a higher chance since he has one more A1 than the 13A1 fella.. so, its all depends on what JPA has to say...
meiso
07-06-2007, 11:41 AM
Datuk Sri Ong Ka teng had clarified something in today's chinese newspaper regarding Jpa scholarship; 70% for academic,10% for interview, 10% for income and 10% for co-curi, And the income 1,500 one is not in this category.For the above category,income range from <5000,10%,from 5k to 10k 5% and >10k, 0%.It is very fair indee!So hope that who didnt get the scho, dont be sour grape and even drag the best scholar into it. Accept that you are not that excellent compared to the others who are chosen.JPA had indeed done a great job in selecting the excellent in academic, all rounder(co-cu) and more mature personality(in interview, guess sometimes the kia shu personality will affect the marks in the interview).
TOTALLY AGREE!!
07-06-2007, 12:14 PM
this proves that JPA has indeed done their best to cater for everyone.. but when there's too many wanting such scholarship, they have no choice but to filter them out...