View Full Version : JPA 07:Medicine- IMU
i would like to know who else will be going to IMU ?
lets know each other, get together n share what we know..
15-05-2007, 09:14 PM
yeah, count me in!!! :D
Nice 2 meet u all!!!
mebbe we can be in the same pre-u!!!
wad did u guys study? medicine or pharmacy?
haagendaz
16-05-2007, 04:14 PM
I am going to do Medic.. I called JPA up, you know, and they told me that my pre-u will be in INTEC.. so I suppose that applies for all IMU scholars??
bihafana
16-05-2007, 05:23 PM
me too..IMU
who has sum ideas bout diz programme?plz tell me..
i dun hav any idea bout it..
lisha
16-05-2007, 06:00 PM
Hey...count me in for IMU as well!! Nice to meet all of u... :)
lisha
16-05-2007, 06:39 PM
me too..IMU
who has sum ideas bout diz programme?plz tell me..
i dun hav any idea bout it..
Hey,you should read the "struktur pengajian" page on the JPA website...basically we spend about 18-24 months doing a-levels at a college of their choice..then if we meet the academic requirements, we will then proceed to study at IMU for 2 and a half years...after that we'll get to go overseas for another 2 and a half to three years...not sure if we get to choose the country or not...IMU does have partnerships with a number of prestigious universities in Australasia, UK, etc...correct me if i'm wrong though...
so we have 5 here...everyone study medicine?
i'm still waiting for the offer letter...
bihafana
17-05-2007, 08:01 PM
yeah..im going to do medicine..erm..i juz read da struktur pengajian at jpa website.. :oops:
18-05-2007, 06:55 PM
I'm studying medics too... :wink:
I phoned JPA too & ask them 2 check after many of my frens did tat...
but tat officer thr doesn't want 2 check 4 me!!! :(
he ask me 2 wait 4 the letter...
haiz........... :?
normally they will say "you will go INTEC" ....
just wait for the offer letter
some of my seniors went Sunway University College for pre-u session.
19-05-2007, 02:19 PM
Hehe, just give me free medical treatment when you guys graduate ok. :wink:
19-05-2007, 06:22 PM
free medical treatment?? :D
well ,anyway it's alr almost free right???
General Hospitals...only RM 1-RM 5... :lol:
Treat anything you want...
we'll b serving 4 10 years in GH... :roll:
see u there??? better NOT... :wink:
Yvonne89
20-05-2007, 05:58 PM
is it compulsary for u guys to serve the govt for 10 yrs? for doctors i mean?
haagendaz
20-05-2007, 06:40 PM
How come nothing was mentioned in the letter aabout the country we are going to twin with???
:?
Will it be decided later based on our a-levels results or how??
Anybody know? Was there anything in your letter, baby_ubake or any other IMU scholar who has received theirs??
20-05-2007, 09:40 PM
How come nothing was mentioned in the letter aabout the country we are going to twin with???
Will it be decided later based on our a-levels results or how??
Anybody know? Was there anything in your letter, baby_ubake or any other IMU scholar who has received theirs??
U got the letter?!!When? I think the country u twin wif depends on ur performance in ur 1st 2 years at IMU..
lisha
22-05-2007, 05:33 PM
Sue89 is right...according to the IMU website, we'll have to achieve a certain result to go overseas...if we don't, then its 5 years for us at IMU!!! :cry:
i've got the letter too.
going INTEC for 24 months A-level
22-05-2007, 06:17 PM
I got my letter too...
INTEC...
24 months... :D
I phoned JPA b4 & they told me thr r 5 countries we IMU ppl can twin to...
1. UK
2. Ireland
3. Australia
4. Canada
5. New Zealand
but i think the place depends on yr results.
22-05-2007, 07:02 PM
anyone here wiv IMU twinning course but got 2 do only 18 months of A-Levels???
Or r all those who got IMU twinning study 24 months of a-levels?
precious_amethyst
22-05-2007, 08:23 PM
Hey guys.
IMU for me as well.
24 months at INTEC, 60 months IMU.
Hey guys.
IMU for me as well.
haha welcome. register on 1st July as well?
precious_amethyst
23-05-2007, 08:04 PM
Hey guys.
IMU for me as well.
haha welcome. register on 1st July as well?
Yup, 1st July.
haagendaz
23-05-2007, 09:06 PM
anyone here wiv IMU twinning course but got 2 do only 18 months of A-Levels???
Or r all those who got IMU twinning study 24 months of a-levels?
I think everyone 24 months..
deathcraze
23-05-2007, 11:40 PM
i got 24 months as well. 1st july. guess i might be seeing you guys.
1st july = sunday... we're gonna report on a sunday?? 8O
24-05-2007, 10:19 PM
yeah...reporting on a sunday...
any idea how can we adjust our register number so tat our own gang can b room-mates?
cuz i heard tat the roommates are choosen according 2 the register number...
like no.1,2,3,4 in one room...no.5,6,7,8 in another...
my gang of four person...hope it's not going 2 b like no.3,4,5,6 or wat...then we can't b room mates... :(
atieQa
24-05-2007, 11:51 PM
hahaha i also got imu.. intec 24 months n imu 60 months..
nice to meet u all
:lol: :lol: :lol:
minaHarker
28-05-2007, 05:13 PM
hi, guys! count me in.. n i,m going 2 study a-level in intec as well.. 24 months is such a long period.. usually a-level only takes up 1.5 years.. dunno why it turns up 2 be 24months..
28-05-2007, 06:16 PM
hi, guys! count me in.. n i,m going 2 study a-level in intec as well.. 24 months is such a long period.. usually a-level only takes up 1.5 years.. dunno why it turns up 2 be 24months..
it's a special A-Level, called A-Level (medicine) :D
really? what subjects we are going to study le?
has anyone filled the forms?
institusi, negara, program, kolej... what u guys write?
30-05-2007, 11:34 AM
There is no such thing. You can take a-level whenever you want. They put two years just like others because the intake is only after two years.
30-05-2007, 11:38 AM
There is no such thing. You can take a-level whenever you want. They put two years just like others because the intake is only after two years.
yeah??
I heard my seniors call it A Levels medicine...
i tot it was a special A-Level... ???:?
30-05-2007, 11:44 AM
haven't yet...really vr lazy of me...can't bring myself 2 do tat... :P
I'll discuss wiv u when i start filling in the form...
by the way, do we nid 2 post the stuff (perjanjian etc) bek 2 them???
if yes, to wat address?
is thr a deadline?
i dun seems 2 see anything bout this written thr...
precious_amethyst
31-05-2007, 12:09 AM
This is what I wrote;
Kolej/Institusi: International Education Centre (INTEC) UiTM
Bidang Pengajian: Perubatan Berkembar
Negara/Program: International Medical University
precious_amethyst
31-05-2007, 12:12 AM
haven't yet...really vr lazy of me...can't bring myself 2 do tat... :P
I'll discuss wiv u when i start filling in the form...
by the way, do we nid 2 post the stuff (perjanjian etc) bek 2 them???
if yes, to wat address?
is thr a deadline?
i dun seems 2 see anything bout this written thr...
Nope, dont have to post it back to them.
I called them a few weeks back. I was told to just bring everything during the registration day.
what about the INTEC booklet?
can fill those thing during registration day ah?
anyone in PLKN kump 3 and postponed it using JPA offer letter?
precious_amethyst
01-06-2007, 03:03 PM
what about the INTEC booklet?
can fill those thing during registration day ah?
anyone in PLKN kump 3 and postponed it using JPA offer letter?
I think it'd be better to fill whatever you can now so it won't be such a rush on the day itself. Only things like our no. pelajar, kod program, etc, we'll need to fill it out there since if i'm not mistaken, we don't have those information yet.
bihafana
01-06-2007, 04:24 PM
i heard many of students in IMU didnt pass to go overseas..izzit true?
huh~if it's true..then it is not fair...(to compare wif scholars who oso get twinning pgramme but fly 1st n then continue in PMS or MMC)
so,we hav to struggle more5 compared to them.....haiz...
02-06-2007, 11:48 PM
Hi all, i couldn't help but noticing that some of you guys are rather not familiar with this IMU thing. Firstly, let me introduce myself first. I am a JPA scholar as well and currently in IMU, I have also spent my previous years in INTEC as well. secondly, i would like to clarify this few misconceptions about IMU or related stuff first.
1. if you do fail to get a place overseas, dont expect that you will definitely get to do it locally. this is because when IMU takes in students they have already had a projection on how many students would be going overseas and doing it locally. You can't change it once you've entered IMU cos you were required to make the choice during your application to IMU.
2. there might be definitely some students who didn't get to go to overseas. but i would say the figure is not that of significant one. and as JPA scholars, do you think you are that bad until you can't fly??
3. and some brief facts about IMU. you will study in IMU for 2.5 years then you would be twinned the partner medical schools during your semester 5 which is you last semester. there are 27 partnering unis over a few continents namely Aussie, NZ, UK, US and Canada.
dont worry much on all this IMU thing. worry bout your a levels first. my suggestion to all of you is when you guys have settled in INTEC, find a suitable time later and organise a formal trip to IMU, or if i am not wrong there would be an IMU open day some time in july or august.
visit this link as well,
www.imu.edu.my
if you still have any queries, you call always feel free to email me at victorwong87 [at] hotmail [dot] com
03-06-2007, 08:50 AM
Thx jingguo for the info...
i hav a question...do we have to apply for entry to the partner universities we twin to after our 5th sem ourselves?
or does IMU/JPA already choose it 4 us?
04-06-2007, 01:08 PM
i hav a question...do we have to apply for entry to the partner universities we twin to after our 5th sem ourselves?
yes you do have to apply for your partnering universities. there are 27 unis and you have to list all of them acording to your preference i.e. from 1 til 27.
IMU would not choose for us, it is up to ourselves. and "accordingly", JPA would not have any say in our choices of unis that we twin to.
haagendaz
05-06-2007, 12:00 PM
yes you do have to apply for your partnering universities. there are 27 unis and you have to list all of them acording to your preference i.e. from 1 til 27.
IMU would not choose for us, it is up to ourselves. and "accordingly", JPA would not have any say in our choices of unis that we twin to.
Oh. So even if we choose a country like US (Jeffersons) - JPA'll pay?
05-06-2007, 03:03 PM
accordingly yes.. but the thing is that entering in to jefferson is not that easy.. in IMU, the intake is about 10 people and there's about 30 something people fighting for it.. normally most scholars go to aussie and NZ unis.. fyi, uni of auckland has the most number of intake for imu students of about 20 students or so....
haagendaz
05-06-2007, 04:41 PM
accordingly yes.. but the thing is that entering in to jefferson is not that easy.. in IMU, the intake is about 10 people and there's about 30 something people fighting for it.. normally most scholars go to aussie and NZ unis.. fyi, uni of auckland has the most number of intake for imu students of about 20 students or so....
Oh I see.. Thanks for the info.. :)
05-06-2007, 04:58 PM
went or even applied to TJU (jefferson)...
Oh I see.. Thanks for the info.. :)
hi, just spoke to a senior just now.. and according to him, so far for there's no one of JPA scholar from his batch or the previous batch (i.e. now sem 4 and 5).. so there's JPA scholars going to ireland, aussie, nz canada and uk.. but no one to US... hope this stats would give you a clearer picture then..
btw, the senior's a sem 5 senior..
precious_amethyst
05-06-2007, 11:09 PM
Wow great, thanks a bunch Jingguo for the useful information. :)
06-06-2007, 09:24 AM
yep.. u're welcome... feel free to ask if you still do have any problems/queries with IMU..
cheers!!!
p.s. its jingguo.. not jinggou
06-06-2007, 11:27 AM
yep.. u're welcome... feel free to ask if you still do have any problems/queries with IMU..
cheers!!!
how about the intake to glasgow, scotland???
or Queensland?
are there chances?
wat's the qualification?
06-06-2007, 11:40 AM
cheers!!!
or Queensland?
are there chances?
wat's the qualification?
there are students, JPA scholars i mean who do go to glasgow.. but not that much... say less than 5.. i'm not sure if jpa wants us to go to UQ (queensland), cos to go to queensland, you have to stay in imu bukit jalil for another year to do your b med science (biomedical science), you have to do some research for that period, get a degree and then only you can go to UQ, so u're spending another year in IMU, so jpa doesn't really favour that...
there's no specific qualification that you need to enter these unis, it depends on your results actually, the better you are, the better chance you get to go to the unis that you want...
06-06-2007, 11:52 AM
cheers!!!
or Queensland?
are there chances?
wat's the qualification?
there are students, JPA scholars i mean who do go to glasgow.. but not that much... say less than 5.. i'm not sure if jpa wants us to go to UQ (queensland), cos to go to queensland, you have to stay in imu bukit jalil for another year to do your b med science (biomedical science), you have to do some research for that period, get a degree and then only you can go to UQ, so u're spending another year in IMU, so jpa doesn't really favour that...
there's no specific qualification that you need to enter these unis, it depends on your results actually, the better you are, the better chance you get to go to the unis that you want...
results,? u mean results in IMU or results for our A-Levels?
06-06-2007, 11:56 AM
cheers!!!
or Queensland?
are there chances?
wat's the qualification?
results,? u mean results in IMU or results for our A-Levels?
IMU results definitely...
06-06-2007, 12:04 PM
oh...ic...
thx for yr info...
great to have a senior like u here to explain stuff patiently 2 us...
cheerz! :D
06-06-2007, 03:37 PM
oh...ic...
thx for yr info...
great to have a senior like u here to explain stuff patiently 2 us...
cheerz! :D
:D :D you're welcome... wait till you've settled in your colleges, then i suggest you guys organise a trip to IMU here.. i think it'll be better for all of you to get to know IMU much better...
cheers!!!!
bihafana
07-06-2007, 09:02 PM
thanx jingguo.. :D
08-06-2007, 12:13 PM
thanx jingguo.. :D
you're welcome... :D :D :D
haagendaz
08-06-2007, 01:56 PM
And erm.. one more thing. I dunno if i'm getting ahead of my time or anything, but how is IMU? Better than Intec?
08-06-2007, 02:18 PM
And erm.. one more thing. I dunno if i'm getting ahead of my time or anything, but how is IMU? Better than Intec?
haha.. definitely IMU is better than INTEC... but you can't really compare both la... IMU's an university and INTEC's a college.. academically, its totally so different.. and about life here.. its superb.. at least this place has more of the Chinese touch to it.. as compared to cemara where you have to have mamak almost for every meal...
08-06-2007, 09:53 PM
haha.. definitely IMU is better than INTEC... but you can't really compare both la... IMU's an university and INTEC's a college.. academically, its totally so different.. and about life here.. its superb.. at least this place has more of the Chinese touch to it.. as compared to cemara where you have to have mamak almost for every meal...
& how bout the hostels?
how's the facilities & environment etc?
minaHarker
09-06-2007, 10:07 AM
do we have to buy the a-levels books ourselves? or JPA will provide the books, OR we use our 'elaun buku' to buy them? cz i think allowance of RM220 for books is not enough...
09-06-2007, 12:04 PM
do we have to buy the a-levels books ourselves? or JPA will provide the books, OR we use our 'elaun buku' to buy them? cz i think allowance of RM220 for books is not enough...
from what i heard, A-Levels students don't normally buy books...
they take notes or photostat books rather than buy the whole original book...
09-06-2007, 04:32 PM
& how bout the hostels?
how's the facilities & environment etc?
there are condos for you to stay near IMU here.. very close to IMU as well, its just across the road.. haha.. so saves time for traveling and no more INTEC buses!!!
facilities as in what sense??? if its sports facilities, then definitely you get to use our national standard sporting facilities la.. Bukit jalil what... but of course.. you have to pay for its usage la.. sad sad... environment is definitely nice.. its quite peaceful in your condos.. unlike INTEC's cemara.. come monday and all hell breaks loose.. haha..
from what i heard, A-Levels students don't normally buy books...
they take notes or photostat books rather than buy the whole original book...
hmm.. i'm not sure on that now.. before i left, i heard that now INTEC wants all their students to use ori books now, since having an ISO thingy.. but if you guys have to buy ori books, 220 is definitely not enough...
09-06-2007, 05:10 PM
oh...i mean facilities in the condo...
stay all by yourself or wiv a room-mate?
09-06-2007, 05:19 PM
facilities in condo eh.. erm.. depends on what type of condo you rent actually.. some of them are furnished some dont.. so depends.. for public facilities, the condos have swimming pools and badminton courts for residents.. security isnt that bad.. at least the guards does their rounds from time to time..
09-06-2007, 05:25 PM
facilities in condo eh.. erm.. depends on what type of condo you rent actually.. some of them are furnished some dont.. so depends.. for public facilities, the condos have swimming pools and badminton courts for residents.. security isnt that bad.. at least the guards does their rounds from time to time..
We JPA scholars nid to rent the condos ourselves???
or we are alr appointed condos?
09-06-2007, 05:34 PM
We JPA scholars nid to rent the condos ourselves???
or we are alr appointed condos?
JPA doesn't provide condos like in INTEC.. in IMU, you have to rent it yourselves.. or you can rent it from IMU.. but its the same condos you're renting it yourselves..
how long is the end of sem holiday?
the grade is based on exams only or coursework+exams?
12-06-2007, 02:52 PM
each sem holidays differ from one another.. sem 1 would have holidays for one week while sem 2 would have almost 3 months of holidays.. so it depends on which sem you're in.. grade is dependent on coursework as well as your exams.
refer to this link from time to time.. i shall update in soon.. and do post your questions there regarding IMU.. so ist easier for me to answer them.. hehe..
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=6023#129112
haagendaz
12-06-2007, 04:54 PM
http://istudent.uitm.edu.my/stp/academic/kalendar_akademik_julai2007.htm
the above link might help you. Look at the 4th jadual.
thanks for the info but i think u misunderstood me...i was asking about IMU not INTEC
12-06-2007, 05:36 PM
thanks for the info but i think u misunderstood me...i was asking about IMU not INTEC
Perhaps haagendaz give that because you start a-level in INTEC first then go IMU.
haagendaz
12-06-2007, 05:38 PM
Perhaps haagendaz give that because you start a-level in INTEC first then go IMU.
Oh sorry then wenn.. Yes capa, ur right, i misunderstood coz of that..
12-06-2007, 05:48 PM
haha.. but this thread is about IMU what..
sorry for not stated clearly....but this link sure is helpful. thanks
27-06-2007, 06:25 PM
sorry for not stated clearly....but this link sure is helpful. thanks
:D :D :D
niknasir
24-12-2007, 11:47 AM
I am JPA scolar bound to Aussie but my AUSMAT result is only 93 ..TER thus fail to Aussie.
please advice my if I were accepted to IMU twin program and after 2.5 years at IMU do we have to choose Aussie univerity as our partner Univ. OR I can choose UK or Ireland Univ. as a partner Univ. to do clinical
what about you jinggo are you JPA scolar bound to which country previously and which country is yourchoice of partner Univ. for clinical
wether JPA has determined that once you bound to Australia or NZ then your partner Univ. still fix ONLY at Assuie and NZ please advice me
ckckc
26-12-2007, 01:52 PM
Hi, niknasir,
For JPA scholars in IMU, JPA will review all their sems. exams scores/results before the uni. matching. The country of choice is fixed by JPA according to ur results. The top students(among the JPA scholars) will get to choose unis. in U.K 1st (about 6 of them this year), follow by Ireland, Australia, NZ & Canada. If u allow to choose UK as 1st choice, u can appeal to go to other countries thats below the list but not the other way round.
Joveen
10-06-2009, 05:54 PM
hihi seniors.. im your little junior who's going to begin my alevels soon in intec.. can I know if this statetement is true , being a medical student, u dont hv any social life and is almost like 24/7 studies?
Young
10-06-2009, 06:08 PM
hihi seniors.. im your little junior who's going to begin my alevels soon in intec.. can I know if this statetement is true , being a medical student, u dont hv any social life and is almost like 24/7 studies?
Hi there. :) I'm not exactly the best person to advice you on this, seeing that I'm only in my first year but I shall try.
I can understand your worry about having no life, needing to work your ass off and devouring fat anatomy books in medicine but I assure you, it isn't as bad as its played out to be. I will admit, the workload in medicine is considerably higher compared to other courses but with decent time management and consistent studying, one can easily have a good and enjoyable time in med school.
I have friends in med school who work part-time, go to church, play sports or simply just laze around. You'll definitely still have time to do the things you enjoy. Don't worry too much about it.
To give you a general idea of the workload, I shall brief you on my first semester workload. We have 20-30 contact hours (labs, lectures, tutes, etc) per week. This is not inclusive of assignment time. For that, you'll probably need to throw in an average of 1 extra hour per day. The study load can be pretty stressful without constant study so I highly discouraging last-minute cramming. I personally allocate 2-3 hours a day to study; more as exams draw closer.
Hope that helps. :)
PS - I'm in Australia so what I mentioned might differ from IMU. Either way, the time commitments are pretty comparable.
Joveen
11-06-2009, 10:02 PM
Hi there. :) I'm not exactly the best person to advice you on this, seeing that I'm only in my first year but I shall try.
I can understand your worry about having no life, needing to work your ass off and devouring fat anatomy books in medicine but I assure you, it isn't as bad as its played out to be. I will admit, the workload in medicine is considerably higher compared to other courses but with decent time management and consistent studying, one can easily have a good and enjoyable time in med school.
I have friends in med school who work part-time, go to church, play sports or simply just laze around. You'll definitely still have time to do the things you enjoy. Don't worry too much about it.
To give you a general idea of the workload, I shall brief you on my first semester workload. We have 20-30 contact hours (labs, lectures, tutes, etc) per week. This is not inclusive of assignment time. For that, you'll probably need to throw in an average of 1 extra hour per day. The study load can be pretty stressful without constant study so I highly discouraging last-minute cramming. I personally allocate 2-3 hours a day to study; more as exams draw closer.
Hope that helps. :)
PS - I'm in Australia so what I mentioned might differ from IMU. Either way, the time commitments are pretty comparable.
So after all , a medical student life doesnt hv to be mundane and revolves around books every second?! xD.. is such a relief to hear that.. either way, I have already excepted the worst to land on a medical student life..anyway young, mind I ask a rather unintelligent question.. is a firm mastery in the english language benefits the medical student? thanks for ur reply =] really appreciate that..
11-06-2009, 10:23 PM
Hi, there are already 3784 threads on Medicine, JPA and INTEC currently in ReCom. To avoid confusion, please kindly post in those threads instead of posting in an old thread. Thanks. This thread is now locked.
JonChua
11-06-2009, 10:23 PM
haha all of us have social lives!! And we dun study 24/7!! We play DotA, have relationships (some intimate... XD) and we go lepak at sunway and watch movies!! :)) Dun worry la. U'll have lots of fun in INTEC!!