View Full Version : How imporatnt is result to you???
windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:23 AM
Academics results dictate many people lives
This is especially true with some Singaporeans scholarship holder (if they dun get 3.8 in their GPA, they will be send back)
So how important is result to you??
Just want to know discuss this topic after I saw the message about stress free studying environments.
I believe that some of us here regard academic result are the utmost important thing, at least that I what I think sometime, but I try my best to get involved and to have fun.
So guys, please share what you think about this topic, and what you guys do to get ?unstressed? while being successful in studies.
windy_city
20-03-2004, 01:23 AM
Academics results dictate many people lives
This is especially true with some Singaporeans scholarship holder (if they dun get 3.8 in their GPA, they will be send back)
So how important is result to you??
Just want to know discuss this topic after I saw the message about stress free studying environments.
I believe that some of us here regard academic result are the utmost important thing, at least that I what I think sometime, but I try my best to get involved and to have fun.
So guys, please share what you think about this topic, and what you guys do to get ?unstressed? while being successful in studies.
20-03-2004, 02:38 AM
I would think that maintaining a decent grade is essential, but a small difference between grade does not make a whole lot of difference.
I would say that my CGPA and GPA are just cukup makan. Nothing impressive and I am sure many will look down upon me after seeing my grades, but I would judge myself by how I fully utilize these 4 years. What have I done? Do I just want to judge merely by grades? It is difficult to dissociate ourselves from grades, but come to think of it, besides your entry-level job and graduate school, is grade important? Even within those domains, grade is not the sole-judging factor. They take into account a lot of other stuff.
I would like to share my application for China Synergy Program. My university is supposed to select 2 students out of many applicants. I am not sure how many applied, but Cornell University shortlisted 10 names and eventually the program organizer selected 2 students and I got selected. I found out that my CGPA was 0.4 lower than the 2nd worst applicant, and on average my CGPA was about 0.6 lower than average applicants, yet out of these many applicants, I got selected. The same when I applied to Cornell, my SAT was about on average 100 points lower than average UiTM applicants. So, is grade important?
I talked to a friend of mine, Ying Ying, a ReCom member who has gotten permanent job offer from JP Morgan in Wall Street. She was relating to me that you need a decent grade, to make sure that you get some visibility. And once you are within the frame work of grade that the companies want, what they are looking for are other qualities. So, those up to around 0.5 difference in CGPA wouldn't mean much.
I am not asking everyone to forget about studying and doing other stuff. But I am saying that strike a balance. Set a target for yourself, in the sense of what you want to see yourself achieving by your graduation. We each have our limitations. We may achieve some of our targets and fail to achieve our other targets. So, try our best~!
20-03-2004, 02:38 AM
I would think that maintaining a decent grade is essential, but a small difference between grade does not make a whole lot of difference.
I would say that my CGPA and GPA are just cukup makan. Nothing impressive and I am sure many will look down upon me after seeing my grades, but I would judge myself by how I fully utilize these 4 years. What have I done? Do I just want to judge merely by grades? It is difficult to dissociate ourselves from grades, but come to think of it, besides your entry-level job and graduate school, is grade important? Even within those domains, grade is not the sole-judging factor. They take into account a lot of other stuff.
I would like to share my application for China Synergy Program. My university is supposed to select 2 students out of many applicants. I am not sure how many applied, but Cornell University shortlisted 10 names and eventually the program organizer selected 2 students and I got selected. I found out that my CGPA was 0.4 lower than the 2nd worst applicant, and on average my CGPA was about 0.6 lower than average applicants, yet out of these many applicants, I got selected. The same when I applied to Cornell, my SAT was about on average 100 points lower than average UiTM applicants. So, is grade important?
I talked to a friend of mine, Ying Ying, a ReCom member who has gotten permanent job offer from JP Morgan in Wall Street. She was relating to me that you need a decent grade, to make sure that you get some visibility. And once you are within the frame work of grade that the companies want, what they are looking for are other qualities. So, those up to around 0.5 difference in CGPA wouldn't mean much.
I am not asking everyone to forget about studying and doing other stuff. But I am saying that strike a balance. Set a target for yourself, in the sense of what you want to see yourself achieving by your graduation. We each have our limitations. We may achieve some of our targets and fail to achieve our other targets. So, try our best~!
gesar
20-03-2004, 03:49 PM
hello.....I prefer a not so stressed education system.....So to me, I can never stand Singapore.....sorry...there's no offence, kays.... :D :D
I prefer to be involved in both academics and curricular activities...in that way, I'll feel more contented with my life
....Badan cergas otak cerdas.....
I feel so proud of this phrase.... :D :D
gesar
20-03-2004, 03:49 PM
hello.....I prefer a not so stressed education system.....So to me, I can never stand Singapore.....sorry...there's no offence, kays.... :D :D
I prefer to be involved in both academics and curricular activities...in that way, I'll feel more contented with my life
....Badan cergas otak cerdas.....
I feel so proud of this phrase.... :D :D
cquayhl
20-03-2004, 04:25 PM
At this point...I just want to get my degree and get out...hopefully within a finite amount of time. :-P
As an undergrad...hmm. I tried to space out difficult classes, but other than that, I don't think I worried too much about GPA.
During most of my time as an undergrad, I worked 10 hours a week. At first I worked in the dining halls, then I did some tutoring/grading for the department and some computer tech support. Although some might think of having to work as a burden, I found it quite enjoyable. It's good to do something once in a while that doesn't focus on you and your studies/efforts.
I also spent a few seasons on our cross-country/track and field teams, which at the very least taught me good running form, if it didn't make me run faster. :-) My friends and I found that doing scheduled things outside of class forced us to organise our time better. My two best semesters in terms of GPA were the ones where I was running and taking heavier-than-usual classloads! But there is of course a limit to this sort of extrapolation.
Again, I agree with Chen Chow. After a certain point, the amount of extra work that you have to put in for a marginal increase in GPA shoots up like crazy. You just have to know when and where to stop. Find out what works for you, strike a balance. :-) Also, make use of the unique opportunities you have as students abroad; do things that you wouldn't be able to do at home - take a golf class, go to the symphony, join an a capella group, go skiing, go to the library and look at the stained glass, join student government, play a sport, volunteer, participate in the crazy and cheesy traditions of your school, take classes outside your major...and have fun. :-)
Charis.
cquayhl
20-03-2004, 04:25 PM
At this point...I just want to get my degree and get out...hopefully within a finite amount of time. :-P
As an undergrad...hmm. I tried to space out difficult classes, but other than that, I don't think I worried too much about GPA.
During most of my time as an undergrad, I worked 10 hours a week. At first I worked in the dining halls, then I did some tutoring/grading for the department and some computer tech support. Although some might think of having to work as a burden, I found it quite enjoyable. It's good to do something once in a while that doesn't focus on you and your studies/efforts.
I also spent a few seasons on our cross-country/track and field teams, which at the very least taught me good running form, if it didn't make me run faster. :-) My friends and I found that doing scheduled things outside of class forced us to organise our time better. My two best semesters in terms of GPA were the ones where I was running and taking heavier-than-usual classloads! But there is of course a limit to this sort of extrapolation.
Again, I agree with Chen Chow. After a certain point, the amount of extra work that you have to put in for a marginal increase in GPA shoots up like crazy. You just have to know when and where to stop. Find out what works for you, strike a balance. :-) Also, make use of the unique opportunities you have as students abroad; do things that you wouldn't be able to do at home - take a golf class, go to the symphony, join an a capella group, go skiing, go to the library and look at the stained glass, join student government, play a sport, volunteer, participate in the crazy and cheesy traditions of your school, take classes outside your major...and have fun. :-)
Charis.
20-03-2004, 05:50 PM
I prefer a not so stressed education system
I think there are stress everywhere, but it depends on how we cope it. For example, in my Bio lecture, the course is very simple and yet I'm facing stress - to not to fall asleep... Not my fault though. The lecturer only lectures the front row students, neglect those who are sitting behind the class.
But I dislike doing things in a rush, or given a very limited time to do it. I love taking my time doing it. Pressure is never a good motivation, yes?
20-03-2004, 05:50 PM
I prefer a not so stressed education system
I think there are stress everywhere, but it depends on how we cope it. For example, in my Bio lecture, the course is very simple and yet I'm facing stress - to not to fall asleep... Not my fault though. The lecturer only lectures the front row students, neglect those who are sitting behind the class.
But I dislike doing things in a rush, or given a very limited time to do it. I love taking my time doing it. Pressure is never a good motivation, yes?
lilet
20-03-2004, 06:19 PM
I prefer a not so stressed education system.....So to me, I can never stand Singapore
Haha.. I don't like stress too but unfortunately, I'm in the pressure cooker (as Singapore is often described) right now. :lol:
This is very similiar to me too! But still, I have to admit that pressure can do all sorts of things to a person, be it positive or negative. I for one don't think of myself as someone who can cope with stress or pressure easily as I am still adjusting to the high demands of Singapore right now. The fact that I am under scholarship and have to perform well (though that is general knowledge) doesn't really help too. Wonder how those special people actually feels that pressure is kinda like a challenge to do better. Yes, it is a challenge but until a certain extent only. Go overboard and we ourselves will also go overboard, I think. :D So, in short, suffice to say that to me, how important grades are actually will have to depend on a person's situation as in to what extent the grades will affect his or her future... And also how high the person's expectations are on him/herself. Surely one wouldn't like it when he/she performs much more badly compared to past experiences...
lilet
20-03-2004, 06:19 PM
I prefer a not so stressed education system.....So to me, I can never stand Singapore
Haha.. I don't like stress too but unfortunately, I'm in the pressure cooker (as Singapore is often described) right now. :lol:
This is very similiar to me too! But still, I have to admit that pressure can do all sorts of things to a person, be it positive or negative. I for one don't think of myself as someone who can cope with stress or pressure easily as I am still adjusting to the high demands of Singapore right now. The fact that I am under scholarship and have to perform well (though that is general knowledge) doesn't really help too. Wonder how those special people actually feels that pressure is kinda like a challenge to do better. Yes, it is a challenge but until a certain extent only. Go overboard and we ourselves will also go overboard, I think. :D So, in short, suffice to say that to me, how important grades are actually will have to depend on a person's situation as in to what extent the grades will affect his or her future... And also how high the person's expectations are on him/herself. Surely one wouldn't like it when he/she performs much more badly compared to past experiences...
20-03-2004, 06:35 PM
I believe everyone wants a less stressful education system. But still I don't think Singapore is the only country that's famous for its study pressure. You want to see pressure in Malaysia? Take a look at Form 6. Failure for people like me means either not qualifying for a local uni or getting a course like 'teknologi kayu, kertas dan pencelup' in uni.
Just like NASA, the unofficial motto in Form 6 seems to be 'failure is not an option', though many may be unwilling to admit it. Everyone here seems to be staring at their books and doing exercises 24/7, stopping only to eat and sleep. Makes me geram sometimes just seeing their 'rajinness'. Also raises the level of competitiveness to the point that nothing else matters, even recreation.
Anyone here been in Form 6 before or is currently in Form 6?
20-03-2004, 06:35 PM
I believe everyone wants a less stressful education system. But still I don't think Singapore is the only country that's famous for its study pressure. You want to see pressure in Malaysia? Take a look at Form 6. Failure for people like me means either not qualifying for a local uni or getting a course like 'teknologi kayu, kertas dan pencelup' in uni.
Just like NASA, the unofficial motto in Form 6 seems to be 'failure is not an option', though many may be unwilling to admit it. Everyone here seems to be staring at their books and doing exercises 24/7, stopping only to eat and sleep. Makes me geram sometimes just seeing their 'rajinness'. Also raises the level of competitiveness to the point that nothing else matters, even recreation.
Anyone here been in Form 6 before or is currently in Form 6?
20-03-2004, 07:36 PM
Typical kiasu reply: "I don't care what grade I get. As long as it's an A i'd be happy"
I gave up on my grades a long time ago. It still feels good when you rape an exam (as opposed to getting raped on an exam). If I get good grades it would make me happier but if I don't I wouldn't think it's the end of the world. Most times I'm happy getting a B+ in class. Not very ambitious leh...hehe... but that's just me.
Right now though, I'm trying hard to get A's so that I can pull my GPA to meet the standards. sigh...I hate standards.
20-03-2004, 07:36 PM
Typical kiasu reply: "I don't care what grade I get. As long as it's an A i'd be happy"
I gave up on my grades a long time ago. It still feels good when you rape an exam (as opposed to getting raped on an exam). If I get good grades it would make me happier but if I don't I wouldn't think it's the end of the world. Most times I'm happy getting a B+ in class. Not very ambitious leh...hehe... but that's just me.
Right now though, I'm trying hard to get A's so that I can pull my GPA to meet the standards. sigh...I hate standards.
20-03-2004, 07:37 PM
I found that this forum is evolving from its original discussion- How important is result to you? into discussion on study stress. Just got confused for seconds when I go through again the forum pioneer post after reading all the post.
20-03-2004, 07:37 PM
I found that this forum is evolving from its original discussion- How important is result to you? into discussion on study stress. Just got confused for seconds when I go through again the forum pioneer post after reading all the post.
wesleyanne
21-03-2004, 03:29 AM
Results for me, unfortunately happens to dictate my life. And the saddest thing is that I don't get A's for myself, I get A's to live up to other ppls expectations. Heck, if it were up to me, I'd be happy with a B anytime :) but then, the occasional, "I don't see why you can't get A's in Wesleyan College. Its not like you're attending an ivy league or anything" esp when I did really badly one sem, really gets to me. So yeah, I pretty much live for grades ;)
And in many ways, I think its also social pressure. Once, I was given the option to enter the honors program, but cos I seriously don't see myself as someone who would spend an entire day researching for her thesis paper, and also cos I didn't wanna get totally stressed out, I declined, and boy oh boy, did everyone create a fuss over it! so much so that I'm totally regretting not saying yes and graduating with honors this coming May. so to answer your question, yes, results, at least for me, are crucial, no matter what anyone else says :) but that's just me :)
wesleyanne
21-03-2004, 03:29 AM
Results for me, unfortunately happens to dictate my life. And the saddest thing is that I don't get A's for myself, I get A's to live up to other ppls expectations. Heck, if it were up to me, I'd be happy with a B anytime :) but then, the occasional, "I don't see why you can't get A's in Wesleyan College. Its not like you're attending an ivy league or anything" esp when I did really badly one sem, really gets to me. So yeah, I pretty much live for grades ;)
And in many ways, I think its also social pressure. Once, I was given the option to enter the honors program, but cos I seriously don't see myself as someone who would spend an entire day researching for her thesis paper, and also cos I didn't wanna get totally stressed out, I declined, and boy oh boy, did everyone create a fuss over it! so much so that I'm totally regretting not saying yes and graduating with honors this coming May. so to answer your question, yes, results, at least for me, are crucial, no matter what anyone else says :) but that's just me :)
21-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Well, b4 SPM, getting A's is somewhat like a must ... I mean, if i dun get it, i would have this 'ashame' feeling. But then, laziness always got hold on me... So my grades always fluctuates between As and Bs. but it is quite easy to get As for test, as long as you do some exercise or get the exact copy of the book that your teacher has.
But in Singapore, i've just learned that getting A is a blessing... I have to earn every 0.5 marks. And those half marks count. It's normal if u get around B or C, but if an A, then everyone goes "wow". I mean, we need to write a 4 pages long essay for Biology just to get 15 marks, and believe me, that doesn't guarantee a full 15 marks. So unlike Malaysia... As long as we write something, we got something. We dun seem to appreciate As anymore, do we? After all, the value of A has dropped.
21-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Well, b4 SPM, getting A's is somewhat like a must ... I mean, if i dun get it, i would have this 'ashame' feeling. But then, laziness always got hold on me... So my grades always fluctuates between As and Bs. but it is quite easy to get As for test, as long as you do some exercise or get the exact copy of the book that your teacher has.
But in Singapore, i've just learned that getting A is a blessing... I have to earn every 0.5 marks. And those half marks count. It's normal if u get around B or C, but if an A, then everyone goes "wow". I mean, we need to write a 4 pages long essay for Biology just to get 15 marks, and believe me, that doesn't guarantee a full 15 marks. So unlike Malaysia... As long as we write something, we got something. We dun seem to appreciate As anymore, do we? After all, the value of A has dropped.
BioTEch_GizMo
21-03-2004, 05:08 PM
Results are just results...they dun really show much. What's important is how you obtain the results. Try to picture this: You work hard day and night to study your biology. Every assignment given to you, you do a comprehensive review of materials from many books, and you do the assignment with satisfactory results. After every quiz, every assignment and every test that you go through, you finally find that you get a C for your biology. What's that supposed to mean? The teacher is discriminating? Probably yes. But does the grades matter now? After all the work you've been through u only get a C????? Yeah so now wat's more important, the C or the A you could've obtained, or the work and effort that you put into the subject? Definitely not the 1st. Probably the 2nd one but the 3rd one matters the most. Every work every sweat and every effort that you put into ur assingments, quizzes and exams will give you enough experience to face the world. You did not do a mistake; you worked hard and you didnt lose anything even though u got a C. Well, for the teacher who discriminated against you, she'll taste it one day. You will emerge in the future as a leading scientist in biology, or you might not be a biologist at all: you'll earn big bucks in ur cosy skyscrapper office, and your biology teacher who gave you a C, sadly is still doin the teaching with low paying jobs, making enemies as she discriminated against each one of them. So how does that sound? is A better than big bucks or a bright future? Definitely No.... As long as you achieve what you aim for in life, and as long as you live life happily and FRUITFULLY, I believe all grades are worth it. 8)
BioTEch_GizMo
21-03-2004, 05:08 PM
Results are just results...they dun really show much. What's important is how you obtain the results. Try to picture this: You work hard day and night to study your biology. Every assignment given to you, you do a comprehensive review of materials from many books, and you do the assignment with satisfactory results. After every quiz, every assignment and every test that you go through, you finally find that you get a C for your biology. What's that supposed to mean? The teacher is discriminating? Probably yes. But does the grades matter now? After all the work you've been through u only get a C????? Yeah so now wat's more important, the C or the A you could've obtained, or the work and effort that you put into the subject? Definitely not the 1st. Probably the 2nd one but the 3rd one matters the most. Every work every sweat and every effort that you put into ur assingments, quizzes and exams will give you enough experience to face the world. You did not do a mistake; you worked hard and you didnt lose anything even though u got a C. Well, for the teacher who discriminated against you, she'll taste it one day. You will emerge in the future as a leading scientist in biology, or you might not be a biologist at all: you'll earn big bucks in ur cosy skyscrapper office, and your biology teacher who gave you a C, sadly is still doin the teaching with low paying jobs, making enemies as she discriminated against each one of them. So how does that sound? is A better than big bucks or a bright future? Definitely No.... As long as you achieve what you aim for in life, and as long as you live life happily and FRUITFULLY, I believe all grades are worth it. 8)
21-03-2004, 05:18 PM
Results...if I would to say it doesn't mean anything to me, that's impossible. After all, it does mean something to everyone, just the portion and the intense of the impact it has on each individual. Although I've learnt that, when you come out to the society later, companies would rarely require you must be an excellent student (there do have companies perceive results, CGPA as the core factor in hiring employee), yet when you're still in universities, or schools, results are the measurements to determine if a student is putting effort in his/her studies, he/she would be able to become a 'good citizen' later on.
Personally, I think that life experiences, the way you brought up, and aptitudes are much more important. However, I just seemed not be able to excape from the 'depression' of getting results, as this has clearly shown that results still mean something to me. Albeit I think that the accumulation of life experiences and practical skills stand more vital positions than results, but if you're still in your school days, results still perceived as more important than anything else.
Results...if I would to say it doesn't mean anything to me, that's impossible. After all, it does mean something to everyone, just the portion and the intense of the impact it has on each individual. Although I've learnt that, when you come out to the society later, companies would rarely require you must be an excellent student (there do have companies perceive results, CGPA as the core factor in hiring employee), yet when you're still in universities, or schools, results are the measurements to determine if a student is putting effort in his/her studies, he/she would be able to become a 'good citizen' later on.
Personally, I think that life experiences, the way you brought up, and aptitudes are much more important. However, I just seemed not be able to excape from the 'depression' of getting results, as this has clearly shown that results still mean something to me. Albeit I think that the accumulation of life experiences and practical skills stand more vital positions than results, but if you're still in your school days, results still perceived as more important than anything else.
As long as you achieve what you aim for in life, and as long as you live life happily and FRUITFULLY, I believe all grades are worth it.
That should be the way... But too bad, most big companies can't be there to see your progress of achieving your desired goal before hiring you. That's why they depend on result.
You did not do a mistake; you worked hard and you didnt lose anything even though u got a C.
Are you sure? Maybe not to some scholarship holders like the Singaporeans. If their CGPA falls below 3.8, their scholarship will be terminated.
As long as you achieve what you aim for in life, and as long as you live life happily and FRUITFULLY, I believe all grades are worth it.
That should be the way... But too bad, most big companies can't be there to see your progress of achieving your desired goal before hiring you. That's why they depend on result.
You did not do a mistake; you worked hard and you didnt lose anything even though u got a C.
Are you sure? Maybe not to some scholarship holders like the Singaporeans. If their CGPA falls below 3.8, their scholarship will be terminated.
windy_city
22-03-2004, 03:16 AM
Results are just results...they dun really show much. What's important is how you obtain the results. Try to picture this: You work hard day and night to study your biology. Every assignment given to you, you do a comprehensive review of materials from many books, and you do the assignment with satisfactory results. After every quiz, every assignment and every test that you go through, you finally find that you get a C for your biology. What's that supposed to mean? The teacher is discriminating? Probably yes. But does the grades matter now? After all the work you've been through u only get a C????? Yeah so now wat's more important, the C or the A you could've obtained, or the work and effort that you put into the subject? Definitely not the 1st. 8)
sadly to say, in this societies, A matters (a lot), although you put in a lot of hard work and you get self satisfaction, but a grade of C will bring you no where, people look at grade, like Chen Chow said, a 0.5 in difference in CGPA does not matters, but when that is the difference between A and an A- or a B+, a C is definitely a no no.
Grade is important whether you like it or not, even you work so hard for it, but it you dun get a good result in the end, all you get is self satisfaction and assurance of yourself, others people still look at your grades. For example can you tell JPA that you have work very hard and show that all the assignments and notes you make to justify a 2.0GPA result, no way!!!
The same goes to the Singaporeans scholar, if they dun get 3.8, then it will be goodbye and farewell to them off to Singapore they go.
It is important to work hard WHILE getting a GOOD grade, it is not about self satisfaction or assurance of one?s abilities, and it is the fact of life, the way the society works. Sad but true.
So the best way is to, work hard get a good grade and play hard get a good life here!!!
windy_city
22-03-2004, 03:16 AM
Results are just results...they dun really show much. What's important is how you obtain the results. Try to picture this: You work hard day and night to study your biology. Every assignment given to you, you do a comprehensive review of materials from many books, and you do the assignment with satisfactory results. After every quiz, every assignment and every test that you go through, you finally find that you get a C for your biology. What's that supposed to mean? The teacher is discriminating? Probably yes. But does the grades matter now? After all the work you've been through u only get a C????? Yeah so now wat's more important, the C or the A you could've obtained, or the work and effort that you put into the subject? Definitely not the 1st. 8)
sadly to say, in this societies, A matters (a lot), although you put in a lot of hard work and you get self satisfaction, but a grade of C will bring you no where, people look at grade, like Chen Chow said, a 0.5 in difference in CGPA does not matters, but when that is the difference between A and an A- or a B+, a C is definitely a no no.
Grade is important whether you like it or not, even you work so hard for it, but it you dun get a good result in the end, all you get is self satisfaction and assurance of yourself, others people still look at your grades. For example can you tell JPA that you have work very hard and show that all the assignments and notes you make to justify a 2.0GPA result, no way!!!
The same goes to the Singaporeans scholar, if they dun get 3.8, then it will be goodbye and farewell to them off to Singapore they go.
It is important to work hard WHILE getting a GOOD grade, it is not about self satisfaction or assurance of one?s abilities, and it is the fact of life, the way the society works. Sad but true.
So the best way is to, work hard get a good grade and play hard get a good life here!!!
22-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Tests and exams do not accurately tell how smart you are. I mean, in our education system, those with a good memory often have the upper hand! But in the end, what have you really gained? Sadly thoug, we pitiful Msian kids are often driven into chasing after the A's. I once had a friend who'd freak out everytime she misses to hit an A because her parents would be 'dissapointed' and take away privileges.
22-03-2004, 12:25 PM
Tests and exams do not accurately tell how smart you are. I mean, in our education system, those with a good memory often have the upper hand! But in the end, what have you really gained? Sadly thoug, we pitiful Msian kids are often driven into chasing after the A's. I once had a friend who'd freak out everytime she misses to hit an A because her parents would be 'dissapointed' and take away privileges.
b_ronick
22-03-2004, 03:31 PM
results do matter in a way or another..whether we would like to admit it or not..
it's easier to say that results doesn't matter all that much but in the end, it's harder to believe in that..
however, no matter what if one is excellent in academics and getting all the As in the world, what is probably more important is a high EQ; to have a good personality..IQ doesn't take a person all that far, at least not without a great EQ.
i would not say that results and grades are not at all important..but i would think that it is not everything...there's so many other thing that matters..at least more important things that just results and grades..life isn't about that only..
for me, i would have to admit i am a victim in wanting to get good grades sometimes...(NOTICE THE WORD 'SOMETIMES')...i mean i think i was brought up in such an environment that results do matter a lot but it isn't the only thing and everything in my life..that's why i said that it is easier said than it is to believe...hehe
b_ronick
22-03-2004, 03:31 PM
results do matter in a way or another..whether we would like to admit it or not..
it's easier to say that results doesn't matter all that much but in the end, it's harder to believe in that..
however, no matter what if one is excellent in academics and getting all the As in the world, what is probably more important is a high EQ; to have a good personality..IQ doesn't take a person all that far, at least not without a great EQ.
i would not say that results and grades are not at all important..but i would think that it is not everything...there's so many other thing that matters..at least more important things that just results and grades..life isn't about that only..
for me, i would have to admit i am a victim in wanting to get good grades sometimes...(NOTICE THE WORD 'SOMETIMES')...i mean i think i was brought up in such an environment that results do matter a lot but it isn't the only thing and everything in my life..that's why i said that it is easier said than it is to believe...hehe
hungwei
22-03-2004, 06:59 PM
Results are definitely very, very important to me.
Other than exam results, all other kinds of results like university admission, the recent general election, or even the result of bad/good eating habit. All these define my life, and the course of my life.
UNLESS, of course, u just want to concentrate on exam results.
hungwei
22-03-2004, 06:59 PM
Results are definitely very, very important to me.
Other than exam results, all other kinds of results like university admission, the recent general election, or even the result of bad/good eating habit. All these define my life, and the course of my life.
UNLESS, of course, u just want to concentrate on exam results.
sKYwalker
22-03-2004, 09:50 PM
is result really that important????
i don tink so..the most important thing is what we have learnt, not what grade is printed on the final result slip...
result is only a measure stick to determinate how well have you understand a course. therefore, we should not be overly concern with our grades...
if we get excellent scores because of luck, we should not be happy....instead, this is an omen...we will tend to overestimate our ability after this.....
and remember, there are more important stuff in the world, such as love, friendship and .......
learning is a lifelong process, yet studying is not the only method to acquire knowledge!!!!!
sKYwalker
22-03-2004, 09:50 PM
is result really that important????
i don tink so..the most important thing is what we have learnt, not what grade is printed on the final result slip...
result is only a measure stick to determinate how well have you understand a course. therefore, we should not be overly concern with our grades...
if we get excellent scores because of luck, we should not be happy....instead, this is an omen...we will tend to overestimate our ability after this.....
and remember, there are more important stuff in the world, such as love, friendship and .......
learning is a lifelong process, yet studying is not the only method to acquire knowledge!!!!!
23-03-2004, 07:14 AM
result is important but it's NOT the most important thing. results is like the key to get you where you want to go. but after u reach there, it all depends on other stuff. for eg, if your results are not good, can you get a scholarship to further your learning?
23-03-2004, 07:14 AM
result is important but it's NOT the most important thing. results is like the key to get you where you want to go. but after u reach there, it all depends on other stuff. for eg, if your results are not good, can you get a scholarship to further your learning?
sze_xian
23-03-2004, 02:30 PM
for me, i would have to admit i am a victim in wanting to get good grades sometimes...(NOTICE THE WORD 'SOMETHING')...i mean i think i was brought up in such an environment that results do matter a lot but it isn't the only thing and everything in my life..that's why i said that it is easier said than it is to believe...hehe
I can't help agreeing with her... yeah I feel the exact same way as she does when it comes to results... it's hard not to care....thogh I know that results isn't everything it is still hard to look at the C's or B's on the test paper.... hehe but I am trying to not care so much.. haha.... after all as said by so many before me... life is much more than results..... and I also agree with gesar when she says that she prefers a non-stressful life.... I know of people who totally enjoyed their brief time in S'pore under the ASEAN scholarship but hell.. i dun think I would have liked the round the clock running around life they described to me..... guess its just not my cup of tea.:))no offence though to those in s'pore:)
sze_xian
23-03-2004, 02:30 PM
for me, i would have to admit i am a victim in wanting to get good grades sometimes...(NOTICE THE WORD 'SOMETHING')...i mean i think i was brought up in such an environment that results do matter a lot but it isn't the only thing and everything in my life..that's why i said that it is easier said than it is to believe...hehe
I can't help agreeing with her... yeah I feel the exact same way as she does when it comes to results... it's hard not to care....thogh I know that results isn't everything it is still hard to look at the C's or B's on the test paper.... hehe but I am trying to not care so much.. haha.... after all as said by so many before me... life is much more than results..... and I also agree with gesar when she says that she prefers a non-stressful life.... I know of people who totally enjoyed their brief time in S'pore under the ASEAN scholarship but hell.. i dun think I would have liked the round the clock running around life they described to me..... guess its just not my cup of tea.:))no offence though to those in s'pore:)
23-03-2004, 02:59 PM
Yeah, quite true. Even if we don't care about our results, JPA does. And when JPA does, JPA makes sure we do as well ... And we'll have to clutch on any straws just to pull up our socks. And in the end, we'll be concerned and bothered by our grades as well...
23-03-2004, 02:59 PM
Yeah, quite true. Even if we don't care about our results, JPA does. And when JPA does, JPA makes sure we do as well ... And we'll have to clutch on any straws just to pull up our socks. And in the end, we'll be concerned and bothered by our grades as well...
BioTEch_GizMo
23-03-2004, 03:07 PM
[quote]That should be the way... But too bad, most big companies can't be there to see your progress of achieving your desired goal before hiring you. That's why they depend on result.
Oh so you're saying that u'll hire a jerk that comes into ur office during interview and put both his legs on ur table and toss you a certificate of his getting As for every subject....yeah he's gonna take over ur place man yeahhhh so great....wat's the big deal about As when the person who gets As might not work as hard and as well as a person who flunks his exam in school..... Some big bosses and leading figures in this world started from scratch...without a certificate of education....some even had to eat cow dung to survive. Despite being deprived of education they managed to survive and even bcome rich people in this world. Why do u think most people's job do not center around what they study? Obviously they only use their degree as a basis for preliminary knowledge.... They succeed anyway though they do not have a degree in their current field of job.
Wat do u think interviews are for when grades are so important? If As were really that important then i might as well hire without seeing the person. What matters most to employers is that employees exhibit the potential, quality, enthusiasm and commitment to their work, not excellence in academic results.
Yeah terminated scholarships for Singaporeans....well...too bad...im not a Singaporean...if i were one...i'll bcome a Malaysian instead. Happy?
BioTEch_GizMo
23-03-2004, 03:07 PM
[quote]That should be the way... But too bad, most big companies can't be there to see your progress of achieving your desired goal before hiring you. That's why they depend on result.
Oh so you're saying that u'll hire a jerk that comes into ur office during interview and put both his legs on ur table and toss you a certificate of his getting As for every subject....yeah he's gonna take over ur place man yeahhhh so great....wat's the big deal about As when the person who gets As might not work as hard and as well as a person who flunks his exam in school..... Some big bosses and leading figures in this world started from scratch...without a certificate of education....some even had to eat cow dung to survive. Despite being deprived of education they managed to survive and even bcome rich people in this world. Why do u think most people's job do not center around what they study? Obviously they only use their degree as a basis for preliminary knowledge.... They succeed anyway though they do not have a degree in their current field of job.
Wat do u think interviews are for when grades are so important? If As were really that important then i might as well hire without seeing the person. What matters most to employers is that employees exhibit the potential, quality, enthusiasm and commitment to their work, not excellence in academic results.
Yeah terminated scholarships for Singaporeans....well...too bad...im not a Singaporean...if i were one...i'll bcome a Malaysian instead. Happy?
FiAnS
23-03-2004, 03:26 PM
Everyone has their own priorities in life. Some take grades seriously while others tend to 'go with the flow.' What really matters to me is not all about results. Instead, it is a matter of how much effort I have given on that particular endeavour e.g. studies, sports etc., in order to successfully accomplish the mission set forth.
"And when all is set and done,
result is the mirror of your effort"
Think of it and All the Best.
FiAnS
23-03-2004, 03:26 PM
Everyone has their own priorities in life. Some take grades seriously while others tend to 'go with the flow.' What really matters to me is not all about results. Instead, it is a matter of how much effort I have given on that particular endeavour e.g. studies, sports etc., in order to successfully accomplish the mission set forth.
"And when all is set and done,
result is the mirror of your effort"
Think of it and All the Best.
23-03-2004, 03:44 PM
BioTEch_GizMo:
Uhmm... Sorry if you've got my message wrong, dude. What I meant is most companies see it this way. And I didn't say that the interviewee's behavior will have no affect on his success of emplyoment, did i? This totally doesn't make sense.
And let me give you two people who come in for interview. First guy, he works hard, studies consistently, about 8 hours a day (does it remind you of some people?). The second fellow, as long as you explain to him the basic concepts, he can manipulate those information given to him to generate new solutions in a short time.
Both candidates have excellent academic records - the first one takes the long and hard way, while the second one, though did not study hard and did not put in much effort, but still manage to solve.
In the end, who will you choose? The first or second? In most companies (take note, i say most ... dun get touchy again), they'll be most likely to hire the genius who can handle big things within a very short time. I mean, yeah, who wants to hire someone who takes hours and hours of effort to solve a problem where in a company, you need him or her to solve more than 1 problem at the same time.
By the way, you say that you've worked very hard but you still get a C. If that happens once, i say maybe that's rather unfortunate or perhaps that day you don't have the 'wind' to do your best, but yet if you struggle very hard and you still get Cs for the rest of the exam, face it dude! You need to change your study method. And i believe that universities grading system is rather spread out. Flunking one test doesn't mean that you'll get a C... am i right to say that? After all, you've studied hard and should pass other tests and assignments as well.
Face it BioTech, unless you can change the way society views results, or wait for it to happen (whichever your choice is), you'll get no where... If one gets an A and he doesn't even have to put in a large amount of effort, then he's the genius and the 'almost ideal' worker one would want to hire. There's no such thing as consecutive lucks in university exams...
23-03-2004, 03:44 PM
BioTEch_GizMo:
Uhmm... Sorry if you've got my message wrong, dude. What I meant is most companies see it this way. And I didn't say that the interviewee's behavior will have no affect on his success of emplyoment, did i? This totally doesn't make sense.
And let me give you two people who come in for interview. First guy, he works hard, studies consistently, about 8 hours a day (does it remind you of some people?). The second fellow, as long as you explain to him the basic concepts, he can manipulate those information given to him to generate new solutions in a short time.
Both candidates have excellent academic records - the first one takes the long and hard way, while the second one, though did not study hard and did not put in much effort, but still manage to solve.
In the end, who will you choose? The first or second? In most companies (take note, i say most ... dun get touchy again), they'll be most likely to hire the genius who can handle big things within a very short time. I mean, yeah, who wants to hire someone who takes hours and hours of effort to solve a problem where in a company, you need him or her to solve more than 1 problem at the same time.
By the way, you say that you've worked very hard but you still get a C. If that happens once, i say maybe that's rather unfortunate or perhaps that day you don't have the 'wind' to do your best, but yet if you struggle very hard and you still get Cs for the rest of the exam, face it dude! You need to change your study method. And i believe that universities grading system is rather spread out. Flunking one test doesn't mean that you'll get a C... am i right to say that? After all, you've studied hard and should pass other tests and assignments as well.
Face it BioTech, unless you can change the way society views results, or wait for it to happen (whichever your choice is), you'll get no where... If one gets an A and he doesn't even have to put in a large amount of effort, then he's the genius and the 'almost ideal' worker one would want to hire. There's no such thing as consecutive lucks in university exams...
23-03-2004, 04:01 PM
As a JPA scholar, personallity i am enjoying my study now because get to study what i wish to learn and gain those knowledge that i wish to know more about. :lol:
Results is not everything for me, but i care about it because i know my responsibillity under scholarship.But still, i am not pushing myself to get the best results. i just set up my own target for my results and try my best!
23-03-2004, 04:01 PM
As a JPA scholar, personallity i am enjoying my study now because get to study what i wish to learn and gain those knowledge that i wish to know more about. :lol:
Results is not everything for me, but i care about it because i know my responsibillity under scholarship.But still, i am not pushing myself to get the best results. i just set up my own target for my results and try my best!
windy_city
23-03-2004, 09:09 PM
Easier said than done. Maybe you are a little idealistic about this. Yes, companies do look for potential, enthusiasm, blah blah blah.................
But as long as you dun have a decent grade to begin with, you are out of the scene. Dun believe me; try to ask some people who went for an interview before. A 0.5 difference in CGPA dun make a big difference, but more than that, you will be in trouble, I know a few student that going to graduate soon, who have excellent curriculum, (president and whatever), good recommendation from profs, very active people and very enthusiastic in their work(but sadly, not so good in CGPA), they all fail their to get a job in the top companies for far, where else others people that I know who have excellent grade, but not so active as compare to the few friend I mentioned above, get into Morgan Stanley, Lehman Bro and etc.
You see, grade is important to begin with, even when you are super active, a not so decent grade or a big difference in grade with other applicants will put you in big trouble.
Maybe I am wrong, maybe the example I mentioned above is just a special case that I encounter, but I am sure grade does play an important part(very important part) in your application.
windy_city
23-03-2004, 09:09 PM
Easier said than done. Maybe you are a little idealistic about this. Yes, companies do look for potential, enthusiasm, blah blah blah.................
But as long as you dun have a decent grade to begin with, you are out of the scene. Dun believe me; try to ask some people who went for an interview before. A 0.5 difference in CGPA dun make a big difference, but more than that, you will be in trouble, I know a few student that going to graduate soon, who have excellent curriculum, (president and whatever), good recommendation from profs, very active people and very enthusiastic in their work(but sadly, not so good in CGPA), they all fail their to get a job in the top companies for far, where else others people that I know who have excellent grade, but not so active as compare to the few friend I mentioned above, get into Morgan Stanley, Lehman Bro and etc.
You see, grade is important to begin with, even when you are super active, a not so decent grade or a big difference in grade with other applicants will put you in big trouble.
Maybe I am wrong, maybe the example I mentioned above is just a special case that I encounter, but I am sure grade does play an important part(very important part) in your application.
Panda
23-03-2004, 10:16 PM
[quote=BioTEch_GizMo]
It is quite true for most people nowadays. But I still see outstanding people with my friend that believe that it is all about self satisfaction and the assurance of his abilities.
I really salute him because he study something because he is interested in it, not because of the exam.
Panda
23-03-2004, 10:16 PM
[quote=BioTEch_GizMo]
It is quite true for most people nowadays. But I still see outstanding people with my friend that believe that it is all about self satisfaction and the assurance of his abilities.
I really salute him because he study something because he is interested in it, not because of the exam.
windy_city
23-03-2004, 10:32 PM
sorry for the confusion, when i mentioned It is important to work hard WHILE getting a GOOD grade, it is not about self satisfaction or assurance of one?s abilities, and it is the fact of life, the way the society works. Sad but true. I mean that getting a good grade is NOT ALL about self satisfaction or assurance of one's abilities, it is what society expect from you to succeed. I am sorry if i make people think that working hard is not for self satisfaction or assurance of one's abalities. Sorry for the confusion, I will check my msg more carefully next time.
windy_city
23-03-2004, 10:32 PM
sorry for the confusion, when i mentioned It is important to work hard WHILE getting a GOOD grade, it is not about self satisfaction or assurance of one?s abilities, and it is the fact of life, the way the society works. Sad but true. I mean that getting a good grade is NOT ALL about self satisfaction or assurance of one's abilities, it is what society expect from you to succeed. I am sorry if i make people think that working hard is not for self satisfaction or assurance of one's abalities. Sorry for the confusion, I will check my msg more carefully next time.