View Full Version : Which Telco in Singapore would you recommend?
Telco here means telecommucation service.
I am going to study in Singapore this year. So, I will apply for a line over there for my own convenience. There are three Telcos in SG, that is, Singtel, M1 and Starhub. I need some advice and suggestions on which I should choose. What are the pros and cons of each Telco?
For those who studied or are studying in SG now, please feel free to voice out your opinions. Or those who know about these Telcos.
Thank you very much.
Telco here means telecommucation service.
I am going to study in Singapore this year. So, I will apply for a line over there for my own convenience. There are three Telcos in SG, that is, Singtel, M1 and Starhub. I need some advice and suggestions on which I should choose. What are the pros and cons of each Telco?
For those who studied or are studying in SG now, please feel free to voice out your opinions. Or those who know about these Telcos.
Thank you very much.
I would really appreciate if any of you would post some replies.
21-03-2004, 12:19 AM
ok....
this should help....
if u are those who only wait for others to call, go get a Starhub...
it has free incoming call package...they have promotion of free idd call to malaysia toooo
if u are a heavy user, go for SingTel....
dun ever go for prepaid because it will make u broke in a month or two....
if u plan to buy a new cell phone... get it there becoz it is cheaper...
and go for packages like Starhub...
they offer many packages if i'm not wrong...
and to tell u a fact.... Singaporean SMS alot because it is very very very cheap..
http://www.starhub.com/mobile/
try to go online and check it....
21-03-2004, 12:19 AM
ok....
this should help....
if u are those who only wait for others to call, go get a Starhub...
it has free incoming call package...they have promotion of free idd call to malaysia toooo
if u are a heavy user, go for SingTel....
dun ever go for prepaid because it will make u broke in a month or two....
if u plan to buy a new cell phone... get it there becoz it is cheaper...
and go for packages like Starhub...
they offer many packages if i'm not wrong...
and to tell u a fact.... Singaporean SMS alot because it is very very very cheap..
http://www.starhub.com/mobile/
try to go online and check it....
21-03-2004, 12:21 AM
one more thing.... if u really have to go for prepaid... then u shld go for M1 because it is the cheapest prepaid among all....
but before u sign up for a fix line, remember that u have to sign a 12 months contract at least , if u wish to terminate the line before that period, u will have to pay 200 dollars...
hope that these help
21-03-2004, 12:21 AM
one more thing.... if u really have to go for prepaid... then u shld go for M1 because it is the cheapest prepaid among all....
but before u sign up for a fix line, remember that u have to sign a 12 months contract at least , if u wish to terminate the line before that period, u will have to pay 200 dollars...
hope that these help
lilet
21-03-2004, 01:04 AM
Are you sure about this? Because most of the people I know here who are using prepaid uses SingTel instead of M1, including me! :lol: I'm not really sure about how does M1 costs though.
That's why the new batch of ASEAN students mostly use prepaid cause we have no choice but to terminate the line if we choose not to accept the scholarship or get kicked back (not so possible). But honestly, using prepaid really kills... :D
lilet
21-03-2004, 01:04 AM
Are you sure about this? Because most of the people I know here who are using prepaid uses SingTel instead of M1, including me! :lol: I'm not really sure about how does M1 costs though.
That's why the new batch of ASEAN students mostly use prepaid cause we have no choice but to terminate the line if we choose not to accept the scholarship or get kicked back (not so possible). But honestly, using prepaid really kills... :D
21-03-2004, 05:30 PM
Haha. I can't believe that I can survive with Starhub prepaid card for 8 months in Singapore. And still spend less than S$40 a month for the phone. DecentMerson's the dude. he didn't even own a handphone, did u?
21-03-2004, 05:30 PM
Haha. I can't believe that I can survive with Starhub prepaid card for 8 months in Singapore. And still spend less than S$40 a month for the phone. DecentMerson's the dude. he didn't even own a handphone, did u?
21-03-2004, 05:48 PM
well, i did not... but that doesn't mean that i dunno about cell phone package...or anything about cellphone... u dun have to take drugs to talk about how dangerous do you??? :P
when u are very active in CCA, if u have a cell phone, u will be really dead... u know, u can't really tell others not to call u... it's rude to try to end the call abruptly too...
that's why, i choose not to have a cellphone in Singapore....hehehe
and i did survive 8 months... and i did actively involved in CCA...
maybe i'm calculative on spending money on myself.... that's why i decided not to have a cellphone... It's not fair and not right for others to call me and yet, i still have to pay for the bill.... oh yar... i want to take this opportunity to thank my friend who see my thru with his SMS when i need it.... Thankx tremayne...
DecentMerson wrote:
Are you sure about this? Because most of the people I know here who are using prepaid uses SingTel instead of M1, including me! I'm not really sure about how does M1 costs though.
ok.... M1 gives quite some free credit every time u top up ur acc... and the more u top up, the more u get....this is still the case for 6 months ago...(hope that this info is still current and the service is still available) :P
21-03-2004, 05:48 PM
well, i did not... but that doesn't mean that i dunno about cell phone package...or anything about cellphone... u dun have to take drugs to talk about how dangerous do you??? :P
when u are very active in CCA, if u have a cell phone, u will be really dead... u know, u can't really tell others not to call u... it's rude to try to end the call abruptly too...
that's why, i choose not to have a cellphone in Singapore....hehehe
and i did survive 8 months... and i did actively involved in CCA...
maybe i'm calculative on spending money on myself.... that's why i decided not to have a cellphone... It's not fair and not right for others to call me and yet, i still have to pay for the bill.... oh yar... i want to take this opportunity to thank my friend who see my thru with his SMS when i need it.... Thankx tremayne...
DecentMerson wrote:
Are you sure about this? Because most of the people I know here who are using prepaid uses SingTel instead of M1, including me! I'm not really sure about how does M1 costs though.
ok.... M1 gives quite some free credit every time u top up ur acc... and the more u top up, the more u get....this is still the case for 6 months ago...(hope that this info is still current and the service is still available) :P
Thanks for the opinions.
One thing I wanna make sure... what do you really mean by free incoming calls? Does it mean that I will be charged or something if someone calls me from Singapore or overseas?
I heard Singtel is rather expensive. It's for those who need efficiency and excellent coverage. I am in fact considering between M1 and Starhub. I may opt for a fixed line as I think I am gonna be there for at least 4 years.
Some mobile phones can be obtained for free when we sign up for their 2-year plan. Is that right for both M1 and Starhub?[/quote]
Thanks for the opinions.
One thing I wanna make sure... what do you really mean by free incoming calls? Does it mean that I will be charged or something if someone calls me from Singapore or overseas?
I heard Singtel is rather expensive. It's for those who need efficiency and excellent coverage. I am in fact considering between M1 and Starhub. I may opt for a fixed line as I think I am gonna be there for at least 4 years.
Some mobile phones can be obtained for free when we sign up for their 2-year plan. Is that right for both M1 and Starhub?[/quote]
22-03-2004, 09:37 PM
Thanks for the opinions.
because both M1 and SingTel have a very 'dumb' system, which is even if others call u, u still have to pay the charges, just like u call others.... only Starhub has this free incoming calls services....
those cheaper packages like $30+ per month, comes with 900 free sms, and 100 minutes of call (outgoing) and incoming for 12 hours...(7am to 7pm or 7pm to 7am)
those more expensive one will be about $70+ per month, comes with 1500 free sms and 300 minutes ofoutgoing... and 24 hours incoming for free.... but beware, this incoming is only subjected to local calls(as in Singapore), incoming IDD calls may only be free if the promotion is on.... but not really sure, better check with those who are currently in Singapore... ASEAN J2's, pls reply on this....
last year, mobile phones like ericsson's t100 and nokia's 8250 are going for free with registration.... dunno what phone are there giving out FOC now.... :lol:
22-03-2004, 09:37 PM
Thanks for the opinions.
because both M1 and SingTel have a very 'dumb' system, which is even if others call u, u still have to pay the charges, just like u call others.... only Starhub has this free incoming calls services....
those cheaper packages like $30+ per month, comes with 900 free sms, and 100 minutes of call (outgoing) and incoming for 12 hours...(7am to 7pm or 7pm to 7am)
those more expensive one will be about $70+ per month, comes with 1500 free sms and 300 minutes ofoutgoing... and 24 hours incoming for free.... but beware, this incoming is only subjected to local calls(as in Singapore), incoming IDD calls may only be free if the promotion is on.... but not really sure, better check with those who are currently in Singapore... ASEAN J2's, pls reply on this....
last year, mobile phones like ericsson's t100 and nokia's 8250 are going for free with registration.... dunno what phone are there giving out FOC now.... :lol:
Thanks a lot, DecentMerson, for your posts.
Ermm.... I want to apply a new line in Singapore for convenience of my family. Most of the time, I have mobile because my family calls me every night. And, I got a number of Malaysian friends whom I always keep in touch with by SMS. I don't really call that much, but I think I will make a lot of local calls when I need help in studies or something. Hehe. Besides, I have a few very close friends who are from HK and NZ. So, I need free incoming IDD service. I may just call them using IDD card and not my mobile.
So, basically, I need a package with lotsa free incoming calls and reasonable SMS between M'sia and Singapore. Oh, yeah, what about SMS between Singapore and NZ or HK?
I don't think I would consider Singtel because I heard it's rather expensive. Now, it's either M1 or Starhub. But, DecentMerson, it seems that you prefer Starhub. I will think about it. Thanks.
I think I really need to go there and see for myself what they offer.
Thanks a lot, DecentMerson, for your posts.
Ermm.... I want to apply a new line in Singapore for convenience of my family. Most of the time, I have mobile because my family calls me every night. And, I got a number of Malaysian friends whom I always keep in touch with by SMS. I don't really call that much, but I think I will make a lot of local calls when I need help in studies or something. Hehe. Besides, I have a few very close friends who are from HK and NZ. So, I need free incoming IDD service. I may just call them using IDD card and not my mobile.
So, basically, I need a package with lotsa free incoming calls and reasonable SMS between M'sia and Singapore. Oh, yeah, what about SMS between Singapore and NZ or HK?
I don't think I would consider Singtel because I heard it's rather expensive. Now, it's either M1 or Starhub. But, DecentMerson, it seems that you prefer Starhub. I will think about it. Thanks.
I think I really need to go there and see for myself what they offer.