View Full Version : Cemara/Akasia/Cendana FAQs
Pages :
[
1]
22-05-2007, 11:06 AM
since there are a lot of redundant questions being posted around in all kinds of threads over in this section, I've decided to write a short FAQ about the life over in Cemara/Akasia and to a short extent, INTEC.
The post that was formerly here has been copied into the wiki here (http://www.recom.org/wiki/Cemara_and_Akasia). I'd also appreciate if those who are currently staying there can update the details in the wiki page.
Extra threads to refer to:
Life in INTEC (http://www.recom.org/wiki/Cemara_and_Akasia)
Cendana FAQ (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7025&highlight=cendana+faq), wiki page (http://www.recom.org/wiki/Cendana) (formatting help needed)
jacys
22-05-2007, 11:24 PM
thank god for this!!! thanks a lot!!! i am goin to intec this july and i don't know what to expect... you said that laptops are essential for students doing ausmat? i am goin to take ausmat but i don't have enough money to buy one!!! is it really necessary? can you plz suggest a place or two which allows students like me to use comps?
thx a lot!!
THX a LOT!!
TQTQ
22-05-2007, 11:56 PM
thank god for this!!! thanks a lot!!! i am goin to intec this july and i don't know what to expect... you said that laptops are essential for students doing ausmat? i am goin to take ausmat but i don't have enough money to buy one!!! is it really necessary? can you plz suggest a place or two which allows students like me to use comps?1. com lab...
2. borrow from friends...
3. bring a PC along to your room, but it might take up one whole study table...
sweetiojj
23-05-2007, 04:40 PM
really thnkz vseehua for this..haha..are they many mosquitoes there? so far, we need to set up mosquitoes netting along the windows?
haagendaz
23-05-2007, 05:06 PM
okay thanks so much vseehua.. What bout dress code?
I know monday friday must wear b.kurung.. is it common for girls to wear baju kurung on other days of the week apart from monday and friday?
So jeans/slacks longgar is acceptable. What about top?
Are short sleeved allowed? If without collar is it allowed? And summore.. what about shoes?
:?:
helllllp! :D
23-05-2007, 07:01 PM
yeah, are short-sleeve t-shirt (wiv collar) + slacks/baggy jeans/trackbottom(?) allowed when we attend lessons? (for gurls)
how bout knee lenght skirts?
does anyone wear knee lenght skirts thr?
thx 4 yr info!!!
it's really useful 4 us!
23-05-2007, 10:13 PM
sweetojj: i doubt you can set up a proper mosquito netting with the system used to build the windows there... unless you live in the newly renovated blocks ;)
haagendaz & baby_ubake:
Dress codes are as follows:
For casual wear the guys are expected to wear long pants (we all went ahead and break this rule anyway :P).
The girls have to wear long sleeve shirts that cover their butts. Long pants or dress that covers the whole of the legs are mandatory. I am not sure if the shoes must cover the whole feet as well, but i think it's ok ;) Anything that doesn't cover the legs at least until the feet will land you a samam from the pak and mak guards. it's an unfair world, right?. Do yourself a favour and get a jacket...
Going to school:
Guys are required to wear formal wear on Mondays only (I'll whack you if you don't know what is formal by now). For the other days, you may wear collared T-shirts. Long pants and shoes that cover the whole feet are mandatory, sandals will land you a saman if you are caught.
Girls are required to wear formal on Mondays and Fridays. The best choice as far as i can see is baju kurung. Yes, there are girls that wear baju kurung everyday to school (Muslims and non-Muslims alike) Formal code same as for casual wear, nothing that reveals the legs. For the other days, you may wear casual wear but are still required to have long sleeves/pants. If you don't have the clothing that fulfills the requirements, get yourself a jacket ;)
sweetiojj
24-05-2007, 12:25 AM
hi..vseehua..thnkz for the info..btw, as for girls, we need to wear what colour of baju kurung?
24-05-2007, 12:30 AM
hi..vseehua..thnkz for the info..btw, as for girls, we need to wear what colour of baju kurung?
Any colour. :)
KoonHua90
24-05-2007, 01:43 AM
To vseehua:
Thanks 4 your FAQ.If rm10 is charged for each electrical appliances,then what will happen if I bring along my whole desktop(monitor,cpu,speaker,printer)?How will I be charged?
Why you said that laptop is essential to students taking Ausmat/ADFP?I'm kinda worried bcos I'll be doing ACTP at INTEC soon n I don't have the money to buy a laptop yet...
As to the dress code,can I wear a T-shirt without collar?
24-05-2007, 01:47 AM
For AUSMAT it's very important as there are lots of assignments which need to be typed out. However, I survived the majority of AUSMAT with a desktop computer just fine, and only switched to a laptop when my desktop stopped working one day.
KoonHua90
24-05-2007, 02:18 AM
For AUSMAT it's very important as there are lots of assignments which need to be typed out. However, I survived the majority of AUSMAT with a desktop computer just fine, and only switched to a laptop when my desktop stopped working one day.
What is the time now in Melbourne,youngyew?If there is a lot of assignments,can't I just bring along a printer n use the computer at INTEC to print things out?
24-05-2007, 02:38 AM
To vseehua:
Thanks 4 your FAQ.If rm10 is charged for each electrical appliances,then what will happen if I bring along my whole desktop(monitor,cpu,speaker,printer)?How will I be charged?
Why you said that laptop is essential to students taking Ausmat/ADFP?I'm kinda worried bcos I'll be doing ACTP at INTEC soon n I don't have the money to buy a laptop yet...
As to the dress code,can I wear a T-shirt without collar?it will be charged as one item as far as i know... T thirts without collar can be worn outside of INTEC itself, i.e. as casual wear...
launa
24-05-2007, 04:29 AM
Thank you vseehua. Make me remind of those INTEC days, where i kena saman, but gives false student detail.....
all the juniors, don't learn my style.... unless you want the pak guard n mak guard remember you till that day....
24-05-2007, 06:47 AM
and i shall be remembered as the guy who always stops by the guards to chat with them when i got to Intec during the days when my arms are in white plaster :p
I those were the days when i used my injury as alasan to break most of the rules available :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
bujanglapok
24-05-2007, 08:01 AM
Can i wear jeans and casual shoes to classes?
Or do we need to wear those black formal shoes too?
24-05-2007, 09:27 AM
Can i wear jeans and casual shoes to classes?
Or do we need to wear those black formal shoes too?besides monday, yes you can... sport shoes and boots are allowed, sandals and selipar jepun aren't
freesby90
24-05-2007, 12:37 PM
hey, i was just wondering...whaddya do at intec during the weekends? is midvalley or berjaya times square nearby? i'm asking this cos i like browsing thru bookstores during my free time [borders, mph]...awesome places...also harry potter and the simpsons movie coming soon..haha... :D
hmm.. INTEC in Shah Alam... Midvalley in KL... i think it is kinda far ...
24-05-2007, 03:31 PM
hey, i was just wondering...whaddya do at intec during the weekends? is midvalley or berjaya times square nearby? i'm asking this cos i like browsing thru bookstores during my free time [borders, mph]...awesome places...also harry potter and the simpsons movie coming soon..haha... :DMidvalley is just a 45 min travel and a 1 hour wait-for-the-bus away only :p
bihafana
24-05-2007, 04:01 PM
haiz..
im still confused bout d wear..
gurls can wear jeans rite??
but are they hav rules like 'tak boleh ketat' or 'kena bawah lutut' and so on..???
and shirt..
short sleeves or sleveless can or not??
n 'mesti labuh ke'??
hehe..im sorry to ask soooo many ques :oops:
specialized
24-05-2007, 04:55 PM
Make me remind of those INTEC days, where i kena saman, but gives false student detail.....
Thanks for the idea :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
haagendaz
24-05-2007, 07:32 PM
haiz..
im still confused bout d wear..
gurls can wear jeans rite??
but are they hav rules like 'tak boleh ketat' or 'kena bawah lutut' and so on..???
and shirt..
short sleeves or sleveless can or not??
n 'mesti labuh ke'??
hehe..im sorry to ask soooo many ques :oops:
From what I gathered from our seniors answers: -
jeans cannot be ketat and shirt must have long sleeve. And yah must be labuh.. and i don't think knee length or just below knee skirt allowed, must cover legs i think.. anybody care to confirm this?
I'm thinking of resorting to jackets and baju kurungs. 8)
You know.. the dress code seems so strict that even our school pinafore (short sleeve, knee skirt) cannot pass!!
24-05-2007, 07:52 PM
Thanks vseehua for setting this up. This would answer most of the questions that everyone has. For girls, a lot of them actually wear jacket, when they pass by the guard house. So, it is a "good" way to avoid getting saman.
Can't recount the number of times that the guard stops me for wearing shorts, but I guess I shall claim here that I haven't gotten a saman yet from those guards. Always have to find creative answers to why I wear shorts (Eg: Seluar panjang basahlah...hujan....(whenever it rains); sibuk belajarlar, tak ada masa nak cuci, takkanlar nak i pakai hari-hari; baru balik dari Pulau Pinanglar...bas agak lama, pakai seluar panjang, panaslar... etc) and make your innocent face.
-zephyr-
24-05-2007, 08:41 PM
er...what about season pants? forbidden or not?
Lightning_sHark7
24-05-2007, 08:58 PM
btw, how abt our hair?? quite concern abt it...hehe.. boys can have long hair?? if cant.. how can we determine how long is long and short is short.. thx :lol:
24-05-2007, 10:16 PM
bout the hair, i think any hairstyle tat's not allowed in school is not allowed thr...
& it's stated in the booklet tat u can't dye yr hair too...sigh...
i was going 2 dye my hair brunette red! :P
it's juz tat i dunno how strict they are...but they do sound strict 2 me...especially on our dressing...
24-05-2007, 11:51 PM
btw, how abt our hair?? quite concern abt it...hehe.. boys can have long hair?? if cant.. how can we determine how long is long and short is short.. thx :lol:no limit on the length of the hair for gals... for guys, i think it's better to keep your hair short up to the collar level...
the colouring of hair issue isn't that well defined. BUt try not to go overboard like colouring your whole head green :twisted:
Jeans aren't forbidden in class, but don't wear those which are too tight...
er...what about season pants? forbidden or not?
may i know what are season pants actually? never heard of it before.
they seem to cavil so much, instead too much, on clothing, in my opinion, this kind of matter is unnecessary except maybe on formal-wear days. anyway, rules ...rules to control the fellow students, nevermind, try to get used to it....
25-05-2007, 01:13 AM
thx 4 tis thread, i found my answer here....
btw, there r stil a few question tat i'm nt reli clear abt it:
1. izit long pants compulsory as long as v r in d campus including when v're in d hostel??? or izit jz compulsory when v attending class???
2. during da registration day, do v need 2 bring all those certified photocopy sijil as mentioned in d intec booklet???
25-05-2007, 09:51 PM
except for the mak/pak guard, is thr anyone else who will keep an eye on our dressing?
if we juz take off our jacket after we pass the guard & not wear it again in class...will the lecturers reprimand us too?
4 jeans, how tight is too tight?
thr seems 2 b not many loose jeans in the market ...
sweetiojj
25-05-2007, 10:24 PM
hey for u guys who are supposed to register on 1st of july at intec? can i know where r we supposed to register? intec campus or kolej cemara akasia? a little bit confused coz the letter jsut stated initc, kolej cemara /akasia? which one?
yea, pretty confusing, but register in INTEC i suppose...
sunflowerseed
26-05-2007, 03:32 AM
since there are a lot of redundant questions being posted around in all kinds of threads over in this section, I think I shall write a short FAQ about the life over in Cemara/Akasia and to a short extent, INTEC.
1. Accomodation.
You guys will be staying in an apartment style 'house' (as the admins like to call it).
There will be 2 bedrooms with 2 beds in each of them. In each room there will be 2 closets for you guys to store your clothes in. They can be secured using padlocks, but i frankly doubt it will really prevent thefts as they can be easily pried open (I did that several times because i accidentally locked my keys inside the closet :P). There will be an extra small cupboard to store other things and maybe a place for your watches, alarm clocks, books, diarys, etc etc etc.
There will be a living room with 4 study tables, 2 sofas, one large mirror, one white board for you guys to vandalize, show your artistic skills, notes, schedules, ramblings or whatever you want to do with it. It do have a small fan stuck at the ceiling. But if you guys still feel hot, feel free to pop up the money and buy a better one instead :p
As for the bathroom/washroom, its a small one in which you will take your bath/do your private business/wash your clothes. I shall talk about the water quality later.
There will be a small kitchen for you to boil water, wash your dishes, and store your junk foods. A balcony is provided for you guys to dry your clothes. The balcony used to be my favourite spot to sit and reflect on life/read/chat long long on my phone, and that action of mine had scared people into thinking that i am going to kill myself :p
Food
You guys aren't allowed to bring in a stove into the hostel, so hard luck for those who wants to cook their own meals. The good news is, rice cookers aren't disqualified as long as i know, so feel free to bring one in and cool your instant mees. If you are lucky enough to be able to stay in Cemara/Akasia, there are lots of hawker centres just outside of it. Go around and try some, you will find yourself surprised with the nice Malay meals ;)
One day of every week (forgot which day is is), there will be a pasar malam. Do take this opportunity to get very good deals with your food supplies, I usually get my fruit supplies there, as they are fresh and nice.
For fast food junkies, there are always McD, KFC, and Ayamas to go to... Nearby, there is a bread shop that sells really nice nasi rendang (It's been quite some time already, so the name escapes me now).
water
the water supply to Cemara/Akasia was really horrible at my time. Sometimes the water that came out of the tap looked really like mud water (replace mud with iron rust). It's recommended that you buy yourself a water filter to filter out that water before you drink it. The alternative way to get drinking water is to use the water vending machines located almost everywhere. Do your health a favour by boiling the water first before you drink it ;)
laundry
If you are rajin enough or just want more options to keep your arms toned, you may wash your clothes in your dorm's washroom by hand. Otherwise, there are 3 washing machines respectively in Cemara and Akasia for you to use.
Before I left INTEC, the price to wash the clothes amounted to Rm3 per wash, go and kumpul your laundry to maximise your savings ;) You will still need to find a way to dry your clothes though, go and hang them somewhere.
For those who are used to people doing everything for them, there are always a last option to send your weekly laundries to the laundry shop. The charges are reasonably cheap, counting in a about Rm5 per 2 kgs the last time i checked (2 years ago).
security
Like i said in another thread, i think the pak and mak guards are more interested in spotting who violated the dressing duides, esp with the girls.
So do take your own initiative in securing your belongings, thefts are regular here. Never leave your important stuffs unsecured, and never leave the dorm without locking it up. From my own experiences, most thefts occurred are caused by the foreigners stalking the area for potential targets, so be wary of people who looked suspicious. Sometimes the thieves will break into the dorm at night, as always, never leave your room unlocked if you are going to be unaware of it (sleeping/no one in the house).
it's not advisable to bring in very valuable stuffs like jewelery with you to INTEC, lest you want to donate it to the various thieves that hang around looking for things to rob/steal
Keep your smaller valuable but essential stuffs like cellphones secure (i.e. with yourself) or locked up in your closet. I usually put my cellphone right beside myself when i go to sleep because it's also my alarm clock...
laptops/desktop computers
essential for students taking AUSMAT/ADFP, not so essential for the A-Level-ers. keep it secure...
electrical items
each electrical items are subject to Rm10 fees per sem.
Note that Televisions, Fridges, Air-Cons and Bathroom-water-heaters are forbidden.
spot checks
The officials will come at random times to do spot checks on the dorms. If they come, hide your tv in your closet and keep it closed :p
If there are no one in the room, they will have the keys to open it (it's not fair -.-)
internet
I think subscription based wireless service is available here. As far as i know, the quality of service sucks.
Dress Codes
Dress codes are as follows:
For casual wear the guys are expected to wear long pants (we all went ahead and break this rule anyway :P).
The girls have to wear long sleeve shirts that cover their butts. Long pants or dress that covers the whole of the legs are mandatory. I am not sure if the shoes must cover the whole feet as well, but i think it's ok ;) Anything that doesn't cover the legs at least until the feet will land you a saman from the pak and mak guards it's an unfair world, right? Do yourself a favour and get a jacket...
Going to school:
Guys are required to wear formal wear on Mondays only (I'll whack you if you don't know what is formal by now). For the other days, you may wear collared T-shirts. Long pants and shoes that cover the whole feet are mandatory, sandals will land you a saman if you are caught.
Girls are required to wear formal on Mondays and Fridays. The best choice as far as i can see is baju kurung. Yes, there are girls that wear baju kurung everyday to school (Muslims and non-Muslims alike) Formal code same as for casual wear, nothing that reveals the legs. For the other days, you may wear casual wear but are still required to have long sleeves/pants. If you don't have the clothing that fulfills the requirements, get yourself a jacket ;)
anything that is not within the bounds of the forbidden areas are allowed
I have received a lot of querries about jeans. You are not forbidden to wear your jeans as casual wear or to class.
general view of the life there
Pretty relaxing for me, with lots of times to play games, chit chat until sunrise, reading my own stuffs, going out to jalan-jalan, visiting temples with the members of the buddhist group. It's my best time of my life. To add to that, I met my current girlfriend there ;)
I think that should be enough to answer lots of questions. If there are other questions, feel free to ask them, i will add them to this post if it's frequent enough.
This guide might or might not tell the situation in Kolej Cendana. The seniors who live there pls pm me about the differences and i will add them to this post...
to the mods: can anyone make this thread sticky?
vseehua, u r so right. However dear juniors-to-be, there are some things that already improved, or maybe vice versea .
1. the accommodation, it is still the same for girls I guess. Girls will be staying in akasia and starting last year, girls had invaded some blocks in cemara. I think, most of the girls staying in cemara are from a level. 1 thing to note, u r 2 be careful if u understand what ?skodeng? means?but, there is 1 advantage. The pak guards in cemara will not be as strict as the pak guards in akasia.
for boys, your life gonna be a bit different. U?ll be put in a room of six. no kitchen if I wasn?t mistaken. but, the rooms are pretty nice. according to my friends who stayed in cendana for the last 2 sems, cendana is far more peaceful n cleaner compared to cemara akasia. but, the internet connection there is not so good. last time, there was a trial connection, but now, the boys have to go to the CC to surf d net. Your hostel n college gonna be quite a distance. some boys bring their cars to make their life easier. not to really worry, coz the restu-barakah buses will be available for u. hurm..this coming sem, the cendanians are going to move to cemara to give chances for the juniors to live in cendana ;)
2. food is still abundant in seksyen 18. plus, mydin is opening soon just beside akasia. u don?t have to go to mid valley or sunway etc etc to get something or go to shopping (I hope I can?SACC mall is quite near). for boys, there is a mamak restaurant, Dawood. it is quite famous among cendanians. 7 eleven n kedai mesra not 2 forget.
3. bout laundry, I prefer 2 wash on my own. wash daily, then u wont feel d burden. or u can send ur laundry 2 a new laundry shop near wira sejati. if u send more than 3 kg, u can get RM1.50 per kg. nice bargain huh? oh ya, don?t forget 2 bring ur student ID along
4. security?hurm..security?just like what vseehua said?.but things are even worse. last month, there were outsiders trying to go inside the girls? room. hurm, hope this doesn?t scare u guys coz it happens rarely. but, be alert, aware of ur environment etc etc. look after ur laptops n phones. 1 of my frens lost her laptop, n had to redo ALL of her assignments because she didn?t have any hard copy.
5. about bringing laptop, it is advisable for the ausmat students 2 bring ur laptop coz u r going 2 learn C++ in d 1st sem. ur assignments need that very much. plus, laptop is very essential for ur research.
p/s : for ausmat juniors, enjoy ur life during year 11, coz u gonna regret it if u don?t enjoy it, later. good news, u will be finishing some of the course works such as issue analysis and text production in year 11. During our senior?s time, their works piled up, n up n up?..all in all what I can say, ausmat is not a tough course, it s rather hectic. don?t have 2 explain further lah, later u guys will know. just be prepared. it s not a play-play course. but remember, still enjoy ur life ;). welcome juniors!
syiang
26-05-2007, 09:35 AM
yea, pretty confusing, but register in INTEC i suppose...
the address written on the letter is INTEC, Kolej Cemara/Akasia.....Seksyen 18....
if seksyen 18, then should be in kolej cemara/akasia, intec is in section 17.
hey guys,i copied this info from this website:
http://www3.uitm.edu.my/hep/kolej/cemara.htm#tadbir
KEMUDAHAN YANG DISEDIAKAN
Kemudahan-kemudahan asas yang diberikan kepada pelajar-pelajar yang menginap di Kolej Cemara/Akasia :
1. Kemudahan Penginapan 11. Telefon Awam
2. Gerai Makanan 12. Kerusi Batu
3. Bilik Mesyuarat 13. Bilik Pelajar Kurang Upaya
4. Bilik Rekreasi/TV 14. Surau
5. Vending Machine 15. Bilik Seminar
6. Garaj Motor 16. Dewan Makan
7. Penginapan Tetamu 17. Bilik Komputer
8. Gimnasium 18. Cold Water Dispenser
9. Padang Permainan 19. Dewan Serbaguna
10. Astro
So seniors,is it true we have astro and tv in our room?If yes,then it'll definitely be a good news for us... :P
26-05-2007, 10:43 AM
hey guys,i copied this info from this website:
http://www3.uitm.edu.my/hep/kolej/cemara.htm#tadbir
KEMUDAHAN YANG DISEDIAKAN
Kemudahan-kemudahan asas yang diberikan kepada pelajar-pelajar yang menginap di Kolej Cemara/Akasia :
1. Kemudahan Penginapan 11. Telefon Awam
2. Gerai Makanan 12. Kerusi Batu
3. Bilik Mesyuarat 13. Bilik Pelajar Kurang Upaya
4. Bilik Rekreasi/TV 14. Surau
5. Vending Machine 15. Bilik Seminar
6. Garaj Motor 16. Dewan Makan
7. Penginapan Tetamu 17. Bilik Komputer
8. Gimnasium 18. Cold Water Dispenser
9. Padang Permainan 19. Dewan Serbaguna
10. Astro
So seniors,is it true we have astro and tv in our room?If yes,then it'll definitely be a good news for us... :Pnot in your room... at my time, there are 3 working tv rooms for all the cemara residents... and most probably you won't get to watch a more unpopular shows because there will be more people watching 'more interesting' shows... Which is the reason for me not watched much tv over the years in INTEC...
sunflowerseed: Duly noted, shall add the info when i have the time...
how do we know which hostel are we put into?On the registration day?And can we choose the room?
26-05-2007, 11:22 AM
yeah...can we choose our room?
& oso, how can we choose our room mates???
are we 2 register 2gether 2 become room mates or we can as them 2 put our names 2gether as room mates...?
26-05-2007, 02:19 PM
you can try registering together since they give out rooms on a first come first serve basis, but this only applies to people of the same course. They will always try to put people of the same course together. Then again, I managed to land myself in an area filled by the Ausmats and the ALM group...
vennila
26-05-2007, 02:48 PM
Are we allowed to bring cars to INTEC?
How do we travel from the college to the hostel?
By bus?
How safe is it there?
But back to my main question. Are we allowed to bring cars into the campus, or park it in the hostel?
haagendaz
26-05-2007, 03:36 PM
I checked Google Earth for Akasia, cemara and Intec.. how far apart are the hostels from the college? And also, are the hostels themselves in a group or far apart? Thanks in advance..
26-05-2007, 04:19 PM
Are we allowed to bring cars to INTEC?
How do we travel from the college to the hostel?
By bus?
How safe is it there?
But back to my main question. Are we allowed to bring cars into the campus, or park it in the hostel?you are allowed to do so, but not allowed to park in the dorm/campus compound itself (means security risk). There will be buses commuting between the dorm and the campus, so no worries about going to the uni ;)
Any Catholic seniors studying in INTEC?Is there any Catholic church around?Thanx :wink:
26-05-2007, 04:32 PM
For Christians: There is a Christians' group among the students of INTEC. Every friday there will be a gathering at a church at Section 25. No worries about the transportation, they will be vans to ferry you guys over. The seniors will will brief you guys during your orientation. There will be cell groups at one day of the week (most probably wednesday) when you guys can gather and share your beliefs among each other.
For Buddhists: There is also a Buddhist group, but the last i heard from them, it's now inactive. If you guys want contacts from the Buddhists' centres, PM me and I will give you the contacts. Like the Christians, there will be no need to worry about transportation to and from the buddhists centres, although the nearest one i know of is in Kota Kemuning (half an hour drive away). Over the few years I am stayed there, I had been to lots of centres all over Kuala Lumpur due to these kind people who are very willing to come and ferry us to their centres (some even from as far as Bandar Utama/Petaling Jaya).
For Muslims: There will be talks in the resident surau if you are interested. That's all i know of it...
vennila
26-05-2007, 08:40 PM
So what about those who want to bring our cars?
Where do we park? Is there anywhere we can park our cars without risking it getting stolen? Or do we just need a sticker of some sort to get it into the campus? No parking place near the hostel or anything like that?
But first of all, would it be advisable to bring a car there? I mean practicality-wise. Or is the transport system there efficient enough?
Another thing, what about cleaning of the rooms and bathrooms?
We do it ourselves? We wash the bathroom too??
:?
27-05-2007, 01:13 AM
according 2 da map in d booklet, Giant is jz near Cemara & Akasia, how far izit actually frm where v stay????
AtMostFear
27-05-2007, 01:30 AM
So what about those who want to bring our cars?
Where do we park? Is there anywhere we can park our cars without risking it getting stolen? Or do we just need a sticker of some sort to get it into the campus? No parking place near the hostel or anything like that?
But first of all, would it be advisable to bring a car there? I mean practicality-wise. Or is the transport system there efficient enough?
:?
you can park in front of your hostel (where at this moment is already packed with students cars) as it's totally prohibited to bring your car inside the hostel. so most students just park it along the road in front of the hostel.
at campus, you can however park your car inside if you have the 'UITM Sticker' regardless whether it's a staff or student sticker. just that if you have the sticker, you can get in. if not, the guards will stop you from getting in. however there's a catch, as a student, who's living in a hostel, you can't apply for a car sticker (only main campus students are eligible for the stickers-specifically, only those living outside hostel can apply for it). you'll have to find another way to get the sticker as you can't apply it yourself. on the bright side, guards only block students cars in the morning as the sun it's not that hot yet. at noon, just dash in with your car while the guards are relaxing at their post..
according 2 da map in d booklet, Giant is jz near Cemara & Akasia, how far izit frm where v stay????
if you're staying in Cemara & Akasia ( section 18 ), it's a just a minute away (no seriously). if you're in Cendana (section 6), that's a different case.
27-05-2007, 02:42 AM
so hw far izit then frm cendana 2 Giant?? is there any other supermarket near cendana?? anyway, thx 4 da info.....
AtMostFear
27-05-2007, 03:07 AM
so hw far izit then frm cendana 2 Giant?? is there any other supermarket near cendana?? anyway, thx 4 da info.....
if you're staying in Cendana, you wouldn't want to go to Giant as it's so far away, imagine from section 6 to section 18 :O but no worries, you can still head to Shah Alam Mall (section 9), Plaza Alam Sentral and SACC which is just 5 minutes ride away.
anyway, I've uploaded the map of Shah Alam at http://www.savefile.com/files/754830 . take note that it's a 11MB file, but very detailed that you can even know the name of the streets. hope it'll be useful :O
27-05-2007, 07:53 AM
:?time to learn about living on one's own... of course you clean your own dorm...
27-05-2007, 09:55 AM
do we get our hostels on right after we register??
how do we unload our luggages from our cars if we are not yet assigned a hostel?
& do we nid 2 clean up the hostel right after moving in or they alr leave it clean b4 we enter it?
27-05-2007, 10:07 AM
how do we unload our luggages from our cars if we are not yet assigned a hostel?
& do we nid 2 clean up the hostel right after moving in or they alr leave it clean b4 we enter it?you will get it right after you have registered... some will be clean, some will be dirty...
27-05-2007, 10:12 AM
& do we nid 2 clean up the hostel right after moving in or they alr leave it clean b4 we enter it?you will get it right after you have registered... some will be clean, some will be dirty...
thx...hope i gt the clean ones... :lol:
so tat means if we register 2gether most probably we can b room mates right away lar...^^
27-05-2007, 10:17 AM
so tat means if we register 2gether most probably we can b room mates right away lar...^^theoritically and 50% practically... if different course then it will not be the case...
27-05-2007, 10:40 AM
so tat means if we register 2gether most probably we can b room mates right away lar...^^theoritically and 50% practically... if different course then it will not be the case...
we are of the same course...
24 months A levels...
4 of us...
if you're staying in Cendana, you wouldn't want to go to Giant as it's so far away, imagine from section 6 to section 18 :O but no worries, you can still head to Shah Alam Mall (section 9), Plaza Alam Sentral and SACC which is just 5 minutes ride away.
anyway, I've uploaded the map of Shah Alam at http://www.savefile.com/files/754830 . take note that it's a 11MB file, but very detailed that you can even know the name of the streets. hope it'll be useful :O
A very nice and detail map... thx..
btw.. is the red circle with number represent section?
kitty
27-05-2007, 01:33 PM
do we need to wear baju kurung on the registration day? do JPA scholars need to pay the yuran pendaftaran? thx.
AtMostFear
27-05-2007, 02:18 PM
A very nice and detail map... thx..
btw.. is the red circle with number represent section?
correct. the map is a combination of several small maps. that explains why there's a repetition of the red circle for certain sections. some of the images weren't properly combined anyway, lol.
do we need to wear baju kurung on the registration day? do JPA scholars need to pay the yuran pendaftaran? thx.
baju kurung will surely be fine, about other attires, I'm not that sure. perhaps they have already explained it in the admission letter?
all students, including JPA scholars will have to pay the registration fee. it's up to their sponsors to refund back the fee when the academic session has started (which I can't recall for JPA if they usually refund it back).
-zephyr-
28-05-2007, 07:56 AM
n speaking of paying registeration fee, how we pay? i open the link on intec to print the bill as the intec book ordered so but nothing there...
i also no idea about it too!!
btw.. it's off topic already.....
Appolo
28-05-2007, 10:33 AM
For Christians: There is a Christians' group among the students of INTEC. Every friday there will be a gathering at a church at Section 25. No worries about the transportation, they will be vans to ferry you guys over. The seniors will will brief you guys during your orientation. There will be cell groups at one day of the week (most probably wednesday) when you guys can gather and share your beliefs among each other.
For Buddhists: There is also a Buddhist group, but the last i heard from them, it's now inactive. If you guys want contacts from the Buddhists' centres, PM me and I will give you the contacts. Like the Christians, there will be no need to worry about transportation to and from the buddhists centres, although the nearest one i know of is in Kota Kemuning (half an hour drive away). Over the few years I am stayed there, I had been to lots of centres all over Kuala Lumpur due to these kind people who are very willing to come and ferry us to their centres (some even from as far as Bandar Utama/Petaling Jaya).
For Muslims: There will be talks in the resident surau if you are interested. That's all i know of it...
Correction regarding the Buddhist group. The group is still functioning very well.I know that for a fact because I joined it.Normally the group(Dharma On Campus, DOC) has activities in Kota Kemuning and it is also affiliated with SABS( Shah Alam Buddhist Society), BUBS(Bandar Utama Buddhist Society) and Dong Zen temple.
The activities are normally concentrated on dharma talks(it is suitable for laymen like you and me), charity works,visits to orphanages, outings and more to come.The activities are normally held on Sundays.Transportation is provided.
As a matter of fact, there will be a dharma camp on the 14th and 15th of July organized by DOC.Interested juniors or seniors of Intec please feel free to pm me should you have any questions about the group.
As for the christian group, I think the name should be CA(Campus Alive).Any one who are interested can try to contact Leen(She's a member of it).I'm certain that she will be more than willing to help.
28-05-2007, 10:52 AM
Correction regarding the Buddhist group. The group is still functioning very well.I know that for a fact because I joined it.Normally the group(Dharma On Campus, DOC) has activities in Kota Kemuning and it is also affiliated with SABS( Shah Alam Buddhist Society), BUBS(Bandar Utama Buddhist Society) and Dong Zen temple.
The activities are normally concentrated on dharma talks(it is suitable for laymen like you and me), charity works,visits to orphanages, outings and more to come.The activities are normally held on Sundays.Transportation is provided.
As a matter of fact, there will be a dharma camp on the 14th and 15th of July organized by DOC.Interested juniors or seniors of Intec please feel free to pm me should you have any questions about the group.
As for the christian group, I think the name should be CA(Campus Alive).Any one who are interested can try to contact Leen(She's a member of it).I'm certain that she will be more than willing to help.Thanks for the info... as a founding member of the buddhist group, i am happy with this news... now... i am going to whack your senior for providing false info...
At my time, there are also contact with the Buddhist Gem Foundation in Petaling Jaya as well as the Subang Jaya Buddhist Association. As for the best Dharma camp of all, you guys must really go and check out the INCOVAR Camps... I joined it and have lots of fun while learning about life in general.
http://bgf.buddhism.org/
www.incovar.org
for contacts with these organizations, just send me a PM...
jacys
28-05-2007, 11:22 AM
are there any persatuan that holds meeting on weekdays? haha....on weekends, i plan to balik kampung... my mom insists on it!!! haiz.... happy to know that there is a really active persatuan buddhist in intec... :D
28-05-2007, 12:58 PM
are there any persatuan that holds meeting on weekdays? haha....on weekends, i plan to balik kampung... my mom insists on it!!! haiz.... happy to know that there is a really active persatuan buddhist in intec... :Dthere are... but the current number of clubs escapes me now, since i have been away for quite some time already. Perhaps the juniors can provide a better view of the current situation...
you are going back on weekends? schade, the more happening time is actually the weekends...
28-05-2007, 06:26 PM
where do we get chinese food???
how far from our campus?
-zephyr-
28-05-2007, 06:59 PM
any sport activities during the time in intec? if yes what sport is it...
jacys
28-05-2007, 10:57 PM
huhu.... is co-curricular activities compulsory then? i dun think i can escape from balik kampung...... :cry:
29-05-2007, 01:33 AM
info about food had been posted in the original article...
as for sports activities, within Akasia/Cemara, there are futsal, hockey and basketball courts. A building in Akasia houses the surau for girls as well as the badminton court (you may play ping pong there as well). Within the campus there are 2 tennis courts. Just outside of cemara/akasia, there is a park for your recreational activities, many students will go and jog there.
Most of the KK activities will be held during the weekdays, but the most exciting acvitities (hiking, camping, trips to churches/temples) can only be held during weekends because of scheduling difficulties...
29-05-2007, 02:29 AM
info about food had been posted in the original article...
as for sports activities, within Akasia/Cemara, there are futsal, hockey and basketball courts. A building in Akasia houses the surau for girls as well as the badminton court (you may play ping pong there as well). Within the campus there are 2 tennis courts. Just outside of cemara/akasia, there is a park for your recreational activities, many students will go and jog there.
Most of the KK activities will be held during the weekdays, but the most exciting acvitities (hiking, camping, trips to churches/temples) can only be held during weekends because of scheduling difficulties...
when v attend those sports activities, izit compulsory 4 us 2 wear tracksuit??? cn v wear short pants???
Appolo
29-05-2007, 10:29 AM
Attention juniors, there might be a week dedicated to Intec clubs and societies on the third week of July.
Such activity will strive to incorporate the 20 clubs and societies established in Intec.The week will be featuring club exhibitions , parades, multimedia presentation and roadshows.
The proposal is still under review by the director of Intec.However, keep our fingers crossed because this event is the first time in Intec history to have participation from all clubs and societies registered under Intec.
elizabeth
29-05-2007, 11:24 AM
are there any persatuan that holds meeting on weekdays? haha....on weekends, i plan to balik kampung... my mom insists on it!!! haiz.... happy to know that there is a really active persatuan buddhist in intec... :D
Lol, jacys... typical of mums. my mum will drag me home each weekend if needed. but i only plan to go home once a month. haha.
i'm very happy to know that the Buddhist Club in INTEC is still active. *grin* i go to a Buddhist association 4 times a week...(tuition and voluntary duties) till it's my 2nd home. glad to know i can continue this in Shah ALam. thanks to whoever that founded it!
Ok. i have several queries... How good/bad is the security anyway? I don't want my stuff to get stolen... Least of all my laptop. I'm gonna store lots of info in it, and it will be immensively troublesome if it gets stolen. can i install some extra locks on my 'bedroom' door in which only me and my housemates can have the keys to? Or can I fix extra locks on the lockers? Is it that easy to pry open? Sorry for asking so many questions about this, but I am a bit paranoid about this. Many thefts occur nowadays and i have absolutely no interest in becoming a victim...
Foreigners in college grounds? i thought strangers will be prohibited from entering? if yes, then no offense intended, but maybe the MAk and Pak Guard can pay more attention to the people skulking outside rather than whether my shirt covers my bum or not...
vseehua, you said that the water quality is bad, and the water looks like rust? hmm... if i drink it anyway (unfiltered but boiled), will i get severe stomach ache?
the internet connection... how slow is it? is it faster or slower than the usual Tmnet dial up connection?
lastly, where can i find the thread for the forum (discussing the payment of fees?) i'm having so much problem trying to pay!
Thanks to all! this forum certainly helps me a lot! *big smile*
29-05-2007, 01:01 PM
Lol, jacys... typical of mums. my mum will drag me home each weekend if needed. but i only plan to go home once a month. haha.I know of some mom who asked their daughters to go out and explore, there is no need to come back... My mom always complained that i didn't call back... Luckily i am from Kuching, there is no chance that she will be able to drag me back once per week... mwahahaha... :twisted:
i'm very happy to know that the Buddhist Club in INTEC is still active. *grin* i go to a Buddhist association 4 times a week...(tuition and voluntary duties) till it's my 2nd home. glad to know i can continue this in Shah ALam. thanks to whoever that founded it!credit to my seniors (ATU9, ALG 6) who took the initiative during my orientation to create the INTEC Buddhist Home...
Ok. i have several queries... How good/bad is the security anyway? I don't want my stuff to get stolen... Least of all my laptop. I'm gonna store lots of info in it, and it will be immensively troublesome if it gets stolen. can i install some extra locks on my 'bedroom' door in which only me and my housemates can have the keys to? Or can I fix extra locks on the lockers? Is it that easy to pry open? Sorry for asking so many questions about this, but I am a bit paranoid about this. Many thefts occur nowadays and i have absolutely no interest in becoming a victim...like i said in the original post, it's pretty easy to pry open because i did it myself last time :p if you want to keep your data safe, get yourself an external hard drive or back them up to dvd+r-s. Dvds are pretty cheap nowadays anyway. From what i can gather from my time, thefts only occur once every few weeks, the chance of a thief specifically targetting your place is low, but its always better to be safe than sorry.
Foreigners in college grounds? i thought strangers will be prohibited from entering? if yes, then no offense intended, but maybe the MAk and Pak Guard can pay more attention to the people skulking outside rather than whether my shirt covers my bum or not...people got their job description wrong ma
vseehua, you said that the water quality is bad, and the water looks like rust? hmm... if i drink it anyway (unfiltered but boiled), will i get severe stomach ache?i'll let you experiment with it first. Tell us the results when you have them, ok? ;) :twisted:
the internet connection... how slow is it? is it faster or slower than the usual Tmnet dial up connection?the ones in INTEC now should answer this question. the WiFi was not up by the time i left the College
lastly, where can i find the thread for the forum (discussing the payment of fees?) i'm having so much problem trying to pay!
search and ye shall find
Thanks to all! this forum certainly helps me a lot! *big smile*no problem. Glad to be of help ;) :twisted:
-zephyr-
30-05-2007, 12:04 AM
new news..
a fren of mine just GO to intec n ask them about the payment.
n she said to me "dia kata.. bil bayaran tu.. akan kuar kat web intec.. pada 6/6... so, if bukak skarang ... memang takde... nk bagi tau tu je.. " (too lazy to translete)
so..6/6 then. but if intec lie,that means she lie n i lie oso..so, sorry byk2 lah..hehe
tasha_choc_lover
01-06-2007, 02:04 PM
thanx!thanx!thanx!i'm goin 2 INTEC dis july too...doin ADFP.. :!: huhu..just about the dressing code//about the cover shoes or sandal we need to wear..i dun really prefer that way! :cry:
bihafana
01-06-2007, 04:54 PM
i hope they'll not very strict on dressin..huhu~
n 1 of my senior(former school) said like diz:
INTEC TU MACAM SEKOLAH JE
haiz..he really2 discourage me
(since he noes i really dun like our school's rule..huhu)
:( :( :( :( :(
bujanglapok
01-06-2007, 08:34 PM
is it okay wearing jeans and casual sneakers to lectures?
i did tat almost every single day and did not get caught or saman-ed, as far as i know, only during monday and friday we are required to wear formally to class (girls) guys only monday
Some of my seniors even ask me to ignore those rules...coz according to them,after 1 or 2 months..most of them wont really care bout the rules alr...
sweetiojj
01-06-2007, 11:26 PM
hi.. can i know which kind of co-curricular activitites in intec? such as? are they any music club, dance club, hiphop club and sport club? :)
sunflowerseed
02-06-2007, 03:42 AM
hi.. can i know which kind of co-curricular activitites in intec? such as? are they any music club, dance club, hiphop club and sport club?
There are lots of clubs being conducted in intec. For sports, basketball, netball, badminton, etc etc are available. Dancing n theater clubs are also there (they have their specific names, but I don?t remember)
Some of my seniors even ask me to ignore those rules...coz according to them,after 1 or 2 months..most of them wont really care bout the rules alr...
Dun dare 2 do this. Or else, RM50 will be gone or might have the chance to be in the HEP court?? if u were trapped, just prepare some good reasons? :D
bujanglapok wrote:
i did tat almost every single day and did not get caught or saman-ed, as far as i know, only during monday and friday we are required to wear formally to class (girls) guys only monday
Jeans, sneakers etc are allowed?..some girls even wear short sleeves t-shirt to college, but do wear ur sweater when u r passing the pak guard house.
Pat, r u pat kang yin?
i hope they'll not very strict on dressin..huhu~
n 1 of my senior(former school) said like diz:
INTEC TU MACAM SEKOLAH JE
haiz..he really2 discourage me
(since he noes i really dun like our school's rule..huhu)
dun worry, KMB is even more strict ;)
thanx!thanx!thanx!i'm goin 2 INTEC dis july too...doin ADFP.. huhu..just about the dressing code//about the cover shoes or sandal we need to wear..i dun really prefer that way!
shoes or sandals will be allrite. just dun wear toilet slipars
new news..
a fren of mine just GO to intec n ask them about the payment.
n she said to me "dia kata.. bil bayaran tu.. akan kuar kat web intec.. pada 6/6... so, if bukak skarang ... memang takde... nk bagi tau tu je.. " (too lazy to translete)
so..6/6 then. but if intec lie,that means she lie n i lie oso..so, sorry byk2 lah..hehe
i think, during the registration, RM11 is important for the library card payment. RM30 for the electrical appliances fees. that's all as far as i remember :roll:
the internet connection... how slow is it? is it faster or slower than the usual Tmnet dial up connection?
dun expect wifi to be as fast as ur streamyx at home, dun know bout tmnet. for ever true, it is damn slow....11.0 Mbps....18.0 Mbps...or the fastest 54.0Mbps, depending on which block u r staying. for girls, block 6 n 5 are having a stable wifi connection. n there will be a trafic congestion from 8pm to 12 am. so, it s preferrable to onl9 in the morning till evening.
Last sem, I was almost crying for not being able to connect to the internet sometimes during the weekend. Hate it, had to procrastinate my research!
The best thing to do, go to the intec computer lab or library. wahhh, super fast!
about the registration venue, i think, first u r to register for college registration in intec, which is in seksyen 17. complete it n get ur room number. Then only, go to seksyen 18 or seksyen 6, as directed during college registration. there, u ll get ur room's key n u can go straight to ur room. clean, unpack n in the afternoon u r required to go back to intec for minggu mesra siswa
vennila
02-06-2007, 04:04 AM
erm parents allowed in? i mean during the unpacking and stuff? or if they wanna see the place we'll be spending 2 years of our lives in. :D
hi.. can i know which kind of co-curricular activitites in intec? such as? are they any music club, dance club, hiphop club and sport club? :)
studying in intec doesn't require much participation in co-curricular activities. but there are some clubs which you can choose to join in and have one mesyuarat agung and then nothing happens for the rest of your 2 years in intec. :D
you can join CATs if u wan, i heard its something to do with theater, singing, acting and stuff...
erm parents allowed in? i mean during the unpacking and stuff? or if they wanna see the place we'll be spending 2 years of our lives in. :D
last year parents are allowed to go into the hostel compound but not into the rooms.
for sabahans and sarawakians, you can come 1 day earlier to report to the hostel. probably you can even choose your own room.
sweetiojj
02-06-2007, 04:06 PM
about the registration venue, i think, first u r to register for college registration in intec, which is in seksyen 17. complete it n get ur room number. Then only, go to seksyen 18 or seksyen 6, as directed during college registration. there, u ll get ur room's key n u can go straight to ur room. clean, unpack n in the afternoon u r required to go back to intec for minggu mesra siswa[/quote]
then do u need to bring all the cleaning miscellanous like brush, sweeper n etc?
Butters
02-06-2007, 08:22 PM
Wow!!!....i'm going to INTEC this July.....oh my goodness....it's like high school all over again.....can't wear this, can't do this, that, this and that....ARRGHH
02-06-2007, 10:42 PM
thank god for this!!! thanks a lot!!! i am goin to intec this july and i don't know what to expect... you said that laptops are essential for students doing ausmat? i am goin to take ausmat but i don't have enough money to buy one!!! is it really necessary? can you plz suggest a place or two which allows students like me to use comps?
Hi jacys, i was an AUSMATian before, AUSMAT 17 to be exact.. i would say laptops/desktops are a must must for an AUSMATian... get one by hook or by crook.. cos it'll make your life soo much easier.. but since having said that financial is a problem for you, i would suggest you get a desktop (since its cheaper).. well of course if its still a problem for you as well, there's always this place called cyber cafe. the cost is about 2 to 2.5 bucks per hour.. but having such amount of assignments especially ESLS.. getting one personal computer would be the most viable one...
sunflowerseed
03-06-2007, 12:22 AM
then do u need to bring all the cleaning miscellanous like brush, sweeper n etc?
the best thing to do, is bring them on our own. coz, i believe the rooms are pretty dirty. however, u can ask those things from the cemara office
sweetiojj
03-06-2007, 12:35 AM
can i know which program do i need to use to open the shah alam map? i have downloaded the map.but cnanot open.any body have any suggestion wher can i obtain the map?
sweetiojj
03-06-2007, 12:35 AM
can i know which program do i need to use to open the shah alam map? i have downloaded the map after cllick the link given in this thread.but cnanot open.any body have any suggestion wher can i obtain the map?
it is a RAR format... Download WinRAR and install it.. in order to play this file type..
http://www.download.com/WinRAR/3000-2250_4-10690736.html?tag=lst-0-2
bujanglapok
03-06-2007, 02:55 AM
you guys are very helpful. thanks a lot.
anyway, any (other than me) Petronas scholar goin to INTEC?
03-06-2007, 07:46 AM
it is a RAR format... Download WinRAR and install it.. in order to play this file type..
http://www.download.com/WinRAR/3000-2250_4-10690736.html?tag=lst-0-2
7zip works better...
Butters
03-06-2007, 07:41 PM
can i bring a kettle? just curious...
12.religious activities
[/quote]
Christians, there is a gathering every alternate Thursday at New Life Restoration Centre, Kota Kemuning. It is called Campus Alive. Cell group will be held every Thursday in one of the hostel room when there is no gathering at Kota Kemuning. Don't worry people, transport is always provided. In fact, i'm one of the driver too!!! Please PM me if you want to know more about Campus Alive.
Please visit
www.campusalive.blogspot.com
for more information abut INTEC food, accomodation and stuff.
sure you can!!
03-06-2007, 08:15 PM
12.religious activities
Christians, there is a gathering every alternate Thursday at New Life Restoration Centre, Kota Kemuning. It is called Campus Alive. Cell group will be held every Thursday in one of the hostel room when there is no gathering at Kota Kemuning. Don't worry people, transport is always provided. In fact, i'm one of the driver too!!! Please PM me if you want to know more about Campus Alive.
Please visit
for more information abut INTEC food, accomodation and stuff.thx... info added to the original post...
12.religious activities
Please visit
for more information abut INTEC food, accomodation and stuff.thx... info added to the original post...
the information on the previous post by Apollo is a bit outdated so could u please canceled it to prevent confusion... thanz in advance
Butters
03-06-2007, 08:37 PM
sure you can!!
thank god
does the hostel have internet connection? cause I'm a frequent internet user....
03-06-2007, 08:48 PM
12.religious activities
Please visit
for more information abut INTEC food, accomodation and stuff.
ah...CA sounds captivating lorr...but sadly i cant participate.. :(
03-06-2007, 09:08 PM
the information on the previous post by Apollo is a bit outdated so could u please canceled it to prevent confusion... thanz in advanceedited...
elizabeth
03-06-2007, 09:55 PM
about the registration venue, i think, first u r to register for college registration in intec, which is in seksyen 17. complete it n get ur room number. Then only, go to seksyen 18 or seksyen 6, as directed during college registration. there, u ll get ur room's key n u can go straight to ur room. clean, unpack n in the afternoon u r required to go back to intec for minggu mesra siswa
oh... thanks... but my letter reads
'INTERNATIONAL EDUCATION CENTRE
KOLEJ CEMARA/AKASIA
JALAN PINANG RAJA 18/2, SEKSYEN 18
40200 SHAH ALAM
SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN'
taken literally, shouldn't it mean that we are to register in the college/dorm in seksyen 18? help!!!!!!
eltinker
03-06-2007, 09:56 PM
ah...CA sounds captivating lorr...but sadly i cant participate..
why not? btw, thanks to Pat for such useful information bout d christians gathering and all..i'm so so excited to know that christians in INtec are so active and alive..i'll definately join Campus Alive, haha..
CA-here i come, 1st july
Butters
03-06-2007, 10:12 PM
those of you who are going to Intec....have you received a confirmation letter?
03-06-2007, 10:21 PM
KOLEJ CEMARA/AKASIA
40200 SHAH ALAM
SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN'
taken literally, shouldn't it mean that we are to register in the college/dorm in seksyen 18? help!!!!!!call and confirm with them...
-SHeaN-
03-06-2007, 10:32 PM
what do you mean by 'confirmation letter'? Do you mean the official offer letter from JPA? Or are we supposed to receive another letter from INTEC?
bujanglapok
03-06-2007, 11:24 PM
what conformation letter?
different from offer letter?
04-06-2007, 12:19 AM
Butters,
how much the fees that you paid as a private candidate in INTEC??
for ALG, if i'm not mistaken, it'll cost around 30K for 2.5 years... 8O 8O
pls rectify me if i'm wrong...
Butters
04-06-2007, 09:55 AM
what do you mean by 'confirmation letter'? Do you mean the official offer letter from JPA? Or are we supposed to receive another letter from INTEC?
i mean....just a letter or a call saying that you've been admitted to Intec....
Butters,
how much the fees that you paid as a private candidate in INTEC??
for ALG, if i'm not mistaken, it'll cost around 30K for 2.5 years... 8O 8O
pls rectify me if i'm wrong...
no idea...sorry
lisha
04-06-2007, 11:50 AM
KOLEJ CEMARA/AKASIA
40200 SHAH ALAM
SELANGOR DARUL EHSAN'
taken literally, shouldn't it mean that we are to register in the college/dorm in seksyen 18? help!!!!!!call and confirm with them...
I'm not sure bout this but according to the INTEC website, college registration (akasia/cemara) is on the 1st of July starting at 9.00 am.. and students registration is on the 2nd of July at Dewan Besar Intec starting 8.30am.. so i guess that means we gotta register at the hostel first...
04-06-2007, 12:38 PM
sure you can!!
thank god
does the hostel have internet connection? cause I'm a frequent internet user....
yes they do... but dont expect it to be any faster than your stramyx at home!!!
Butters
04-06-2007, 12:41 PM
sure you can!!
thank god
yes they do... but dont expect it to be any faster than your stramyx at home!!!
:lol:
vennila
04-06-2007, 01:13 PM
What's Minggu Mesra Siswa? What happens during that week? It takes a whole week??
Btw is ragging a tradition there? I hope not.
amcian
04-06-2007, 01:24 PM
What's Minggu Mesra Siswa? What happens during that week? It takes a whole week??
d senior told me dat v ll gt2 play sum games....
but nt interesting at all..
lasyr gt lompat katak dat kind of games...
omg..
n during d 1st week..v muz prepare2 hav our orientation until 10pm...
n attend d co-pln..sth blike dat til bout 6pm everyday...
n if d lecturers too rajin..mayb d 2hr class wilb delayed too...
vr boring d...
but in d 1st months v wil hav lotzz free time...
v can brin sum cards2 play too...
rae09
04-06-2007, 02:01 PM
must v pay some sort of registeration fee?
its written in the INTEC booklet, saying that u hav to get a bank islam receipt as a proof of payment.
Not sure bout it
04-06-2007, 02:06 PM
omg..
vr boring d...
minggu mesra siswa is something like an orientation week.. but dont worry there's no ragging so far.. cos some of the activities are still regulated by the admin people... esp if awang boon (he's the pegawai in charge of hal ehwal pelajar) is still around... i'm not sure if he's still there.. but if he is, den no worries!!! but u might hate him at other times.. lol!!
Butters
04-06-2007, 03:16 PM
omg..
vr boring d...
wow...the whole week just for the orientation....
04-06-2007, 03:53 PM
omg..
vr boring d...
haha.. yes.. one whole week for orientation.. enjoy it while you can.. especially those doin AUSMAT in INTEC.
Shannon
04-06-2007, 05:14 PM
omg..
vr boring d...
haha.. yes.. one whole week for orientation.. enjoy it while you can.. especially those doin AUSMAT in INTEC.
Lol...Why specifically Ausmat students?
Butters
04-06-2007, 05:17 PM
Lol...Why specifically Ausmat students?
yeah....why?
vennila
04-06-2007, 05:21 PM
why ausmat students in particular?
are there like random spot checks there to see if students bring in forbidden items? what if they're found, what happens? it gets thrown out? 8O
04-06-2007, 06:06 PM
haha.. well for ausmat students, you'll definitely be working your heads off for the assignments.. though you may enjoy your first six months in intec i.e. your year 11 studies, come next year i.e. year 12, you'll have no time to rest at all.. assignments comes one after another.. especially esls...
vennila : forbidden items eh?? like??
well generally, if lets say the forbidden items are plain harmless ones like fan, radio, or kettle, they'll just so called confiscate it if the items are small la... e.g. kettle (if you have not paid for the electrical fees.. you'll have to go to the hostel's admin office to claim it back the next day.. they would reprimand you for "tak ikut cakap", tak baca peraturan and stuff like that.. then u kept on saying sorry here sorry there.. they'd just wanna make a fool out of you only la.. that if you're lucky.. if not they might happily issue you a summon or writing down your name in the rekod kealahan book thingy.. that my advise (though you shouldn't be doing this) chuck them into your cupboard and lock it once you know they're coming to check you room. that's the only place where they dont check.. at least they have some respect for our privacy.. all in all be smart abit la..
but if its sensitive stuff, say like alcohol, or ehem.. adult magazine, then you'd be "saman"ed, and would require to attend somesort like a disciplinary court la.. but i dont think you all are thinking of these right? well, just in cae..
vennila
04-06-2007, 06:10 PM
hahaha NO. i was thinking more of a small fridge actually.
what happen's after we get saman-ed? It doesnt become like a pile-up and then they kick you out or something right?
btw ipod can bring? :D
04-06-2007, 07:23 PM
hahaha NO. i was thinking more of a small fridge actually.
what happen's after we get saman-ed? It doesnt become like a pile-up and then they kick you out or something right?
btw ipod can bring? :D
wow.. mini bar eh... first things first.. can you get the fridge into you dorm first?? you have to get past the guards first to enter akasia though. what if they come in and check and found that you have a fridge??
haha.. well.. tis has had happened before.. they manage to smuggle the minibar past the guards by the help of their friend's father who had a car. they put the fridge into the boot of the car and the smuggled in right in front of the guards noses!! haha.. well for the spot check, they were lucky though, the guards didn't check them at all throughout their studies in INTEC. so far never heard of anyone gettin caught with a fridge in their dorm. so i dont think i can answer that question of yours.
if you get samaned, you have to pay for fine.. haha.. well somtime later you might be called to attend a disciplinary court for the screw up.. you are given chance to explain yourself.. tis is the time when you should appreciate your lecturers... ask for their help to appeal for not guilty.. hehe.. they rarely do spot checks by the way.. i was in cemara for one and a half years, and never had the guards to come knocking onto our doors.. its all on your luck...
you can bring ipod definitely. bear in mind, theft is prevalent everywhere even in a sponsored students dominant college.. please please do not be a show off and tell everyone what you have.. jsut keep a low profile.. and your belongings would be much safer...
Butters
04-06-2007, 07:35 PM
you can bring ipod definitely. bear in mind, theft is prevalent everywhere even in a sponsored students dominant college.. please please do not be a show off and tell everyone what you have.. jsut keep a low profile.. and your belongings would be much safer...
damn......
rae09
04-06-2007, 07:47 PM
just out of curiosity- r the lecturers in INTEC gud?
04-06-2007, 07:53 PM
haha.. well.. i didnt say you can't bring .. jsut becareful with your belongings and everything would be just fine..
INTEC lecturers are not that bad.. most of them are malaysian lecturers who graduated from overseas unis... u might get oversea lecturers if you're in the russian, korean/japan, germany courses...
but no matter how good or how bad the lecturers are, its all up to you... work hard, and you shall reap its rewards
Fourthshifter
04-06-2007, 07:57 PM
is there racial tension where malays and non.malays fight?
haagendaz
04-06-2007, 08:06 PM
haha.. well for ausmat students, you'll definitely be working your heads off for the assignments.. though you may enjoy your first six months in intec i.e. your year 11 studies, come next year i.e. year 12, you'll have no time to rest at all.. assignments comes one after another.. especially esls...
vennila : forbidden items eh?? like??
well generally, if lets say the forbidden items are plain harmless ones like fan, radio, or kettle, they'll just so called confiscate it if the items are small la... e.g. kettle (if you have not paid for the electrical fees.. you'll have to go to the hostel's admin office to claim it back the next day.. they would reprimand you for "tak ikut cakap", tak baca peraturan and stuff like that.. then u kept on saying sorry here sorry there.. they'd just wanna make a fool out of you only la.. that if you're lucky.. if not they might happily issue you a summon or writing down your name in the rekod kealahan book thingy.. that my advise (though you shouldn't be doing this) chuck them into your cupboard and lock it once you know they're coming to check you room. that's the only place where they dont check.. at least they have some respect for our privacy.. all in all be smart abit la..
but if its sensitive stuff, say like alcohol, or ehem.. adult magazine, then you'd be "saman"ed, and would require to attend somesort like a disciplinary court la.. but i dont think you all are thinking of these right? well, just in cae..
Cupboard.. hmm..
well, that should work well for most things.. but somehow i dun think it'll be easy to chuck a whole small fridge into the cupboard! hehehe :lol:
Butters
04-06-2007, 08:14 PM
is there racial tension where malays and non.malays fight?
i don't think that's going to happen
04-06-2007, 08:19 PM
yeah.. of course you cant chuck the into cupboard.. but for most of the things, i can.. for the fridge, just pray that they dont come to your dorm to do spot checks..
"is there racial tension where malays and non.malays fight?"
definitely NO!!! in fact the students got along so well with each other irrespective of their religion or beliefs... and as malaysians is that the right way for us to act by fighting???
all of us are adults now.. or some still in the journey of becoming one.. but still i tink all of us should be able to think things rationally already right?? we always have the right channels to voice our concerns or disatisfaction, its about our choice of either to do it the right way or doing things our own way...
Shannon
04-06-2007, 10:01 PM
Oh man...case of enjoy first suffer later?? Lol...lazy procrastinator like me going to face problems...I'd better buck up... :D
Still looking for around for AUSMAT-ians...hoping to get to know you guys...got friend...lol... :D :D :D
haagendaz
05-06-2007, 01:12 AM
yeah.. of course you cant chuck the into cupboard.. but for most of the things, i can.. for the fridge, just pray that they dont come to your dorm to do spot checks..
definitely NO!!! in fact the students got along so well with each other irrespective of their religion or beliefs... and as malaysians is that the right way for us to act by fighting???
all of us are adults now.. or some still in the journey of becoming one.. but still i tink all of us should be able to think things rationally already right?? we always have the right channels to voice our concerns or disatisfaction, its about our choice of either to do it the right way or doing things our own way...
Hey jingguo, you r in IMU? I assume you're doing the twinning programme under JPA?? I just wanna ask you, when did you (if you already have) find out about your twinning country? are the particular countries dat JPA let you twin with?? And one more question.. does ur ALevel result affect anything - apart fr meeting the cut off point for IMU? Like, better ALevel, better twinning country, or something like that?
I'm asking u coz well, I got IMU too (duh) :lol:
And others, I know this is a bit out of topic, pls pls pls bear with me. Thanks..
lisha
05-06-2007, 10:14 AM
Hey haagendaz...check out the JPA IMU thread...jingguo has written a long answer to ur question there... :)
haagendaz
05-06-2007, 11:53 AM
Hey haagendaz...check out the JPA IMU thread...jingguo has written a long answer to ur question there... :)
ohkay lisha, i'll go and read. thanks :)
seekers
05-06-2007, 12:22 PM
hi guys...
im not sure if i terlepas baca...
does anyone talk about bathroom before??
is it already in each room or wut??
please any senior answer me.. :wink:
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
ill be taking ausmat too...
lets prepare ourselves before nightmare begin!! :twisted:
05-06-2007, 01:47 PM
Oh man...case of enjoy first suffer later?? Lol...lazy procrastinator like me going to face problems...I'd better buck up... :D
Still looking for around for AUSMAT-ians...hoping to get to know you guys...got friend...lol... :D :D :D
haha.. yeah.. better buck up.. but as long as you do your work consistently, AUSMAT ain't really that bad... just that assignments are quite suffocating...
05-06-2007, 01:59 PM
Hey jingguo, you r in IMU? I assume you're doing the twinning programme under JPA?? I just wanna ask you, when did you (if you already have) find out about your twinning country? are the particular countries dat JPA let you twin with?? And one more question.. does ur ALevel result affect anything - apart fr meeting the cut off point for IMU? Like, better ALevel, better twinning country, or something like that?
I'm asking u coz well, I got IMU too (duh) :lol:
And others, I know this is a bit out of topic, pls pls pls bear with me. Thanks..
hi, you would not know your partnering uni until you are in sem 5 (i.e. your last sem).. in sem 5 you have a chance to list down the partnering uni according to preference. and accordingly, JPA would not interfere with our selection of unis, unless it has been stated in your agreement that you are required to go to specific country. aslong as you get a twinning uni, JPA would let you go..apart from meeting IMU's minimum point, you need to meet JPA's cut off point aswell.. but dont worry, normally JPA's cut off point is lower of those that the unis. I don't think A levels would not affect your selection criteria.. its more about your achievements when you're in IMU..
05-06-2007, 02:02 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
lets prepare ourselves before nightmare begin!! :twisted:reread the first post of this thread...
one more thing, if you expect nightmare, nightmare will come to you...
i went to intec expecting fun, and lots of fun i have
specific courses about your respective courses should be diverted to their own threads. This thread is for general information about life in Cemara Akasia/Cendana only. Thank you for your coorperation.
05-06-2007, 02:15 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
bathroom eh... good question.. well, depends on where you're staying.. if its cemara, then four guys would be sharing one unit. and each unit would have 2 rooms. so 2 guys for each rooms. and each unit would have one common bathroom cum toilet. so IOW, four guys share one bathroom cum toilet. if cendana, there's a separate unit for bathroom and toilet in each unit. (i.e. each unit has one bathroom and one toilet. and six guys would be sharing one unit. so six guys share one toilet and bathroom.
and when you go in the first time, it depends on your luck on how good the condition of the toilet. if the previous tenants are good, then lucky you. if not, there be ready to do some cleaning up!!! get your own pair of gloves (just in case you need to remove those clumps of hairs in the toilet) and some toilet cleaning detergents..
(note: from past experience, Clorox, besides hydrochloric acid is the most effective in removing yellow stains and algal/fungal growth in the toilet..
is that helpful???
Butters
05-06-2007, 03:39 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
bathroom eh... good question.. well, depends on where you're staying.. if its cemara, then four guys would be sharing one unit. and each unit would have 2 rooms. so 2 guys for each rooms. and each unit would have one common bathroom cum toilet. so IOW, four guys share one bathroom cum toilet. if cendana, there's a separate unit for bathroom and toilet in each unit. (i.e. each unit has one bathroom and one toilet. and six guys would be sharing one unit. so six guys share one toilet and bathroom.
and when you go in the first time, it depends on your luck on how good the condition of the toilet. if the previous tenants are good, then lucky you. if not, there be ready to do some cleaning up!!! get your own pair of gloves (just in case you need to remove those clumps of hairs in the toilet) and some toilet cleaning detergents..
(note: from past experience, Clorox, besides hydrochloric acid is the most effective in removing yellow stains and algal/fungal growth in the toilet..
is that helpful???
Oh dear....
05-06-2007, 04:11 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
is that helpful???
Oh dear....
yeah.. that's the reality... the simplest thing i di last time was this.. went into the toilet the first time, wet the whole place up, pour a whole bottle of clorox all over the toilet.. wait for bout 15 minutes or so, use a brush and scrub everywhere, then splash the whole toilet with water again.. and voila!!! a clean looking toilet!!!
Butters
05-06-2007, 04:31 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
is that helpful???
Oh dear....
yeah.. that's the reality... the simplest thing i di last time was this.. went into the toilet the first time, wet the whole place up, pour a whole bottle of clorox all over the toilet.. wait for bout 15 minutes or so, use a brush and scrub everywhere, then splash the whole toilet with water again.. and voila!!! a clean looking toilet!!!
haha..ok...i'll try
05-06-2007, 04:35 PM
hi guys...
thanks!
btw....hi shannon 8)
is that helpful???
Oh dear....
haha..ok...i'll try
05-06-2007, 05:00 PM
i scrub my toilet regularly as part of my exercise regime :p
05-06-2007, 05:16 PM
i scrub my toilet regularly as part of my exercise regime :p
haha.. good for you... i'm kinda lazy to wash my toilet in INTEC last time.. so clorox would be my life saver.. once a week, i would splash clorox all over the toilet, then scrub a little here and there and its all cleaned up again.. hehe.. but the juniors should be more hardworking and start washing you toilet more often... hehe... :D
Kevin89
05-06-2007, 07:05 PM
I'm going intec to study russian course for 3 months, so i will be staying at cemara or cendana??? Thanks in advance :)
05-06-2007, 07:23 PM
I'm going intec to study russian course for 3 months, so i will be staying at cemara or cendana??? Thanks in advance :)
i tink you'll be staying in cendana.. not really sure on that tho...
Butters
05-06-2007, 07:56 PM
careful in Russia....loads of skinheads....
seekers
05-06-2007, 10:22 PM
is that helpful???
hu3...thanks jingguo..
very very detail description :D
it just...i think ill sent to akasia...nway,the condition still the same right?
argh!!cleaning toilet???
i wish i could run from that.. :cry:
huh..
05-06-2007, 10:51 PM
is that helpful???
hu3...thanks jingguo..
argh!!cleaning toilet???
huh..
akasia is almost the same...still remember last time when i visited akasia, i have noticed that girls there ain't good in housekeeping...perhaps they were too busy??!! XD...
elizabeth
05-06-2007, 11:23 PM
is that helpful???
hu3...thanks jingguo..
argh!!cleaning toilet???
huh..
akasia is almost the same...still remember last time when i visited akasia, i have noticed that girls there ain't good in housekeeping...perhaps they were too busy??!! XD...
thanks... i plan to keep my toilet clean... hope whoever that last resided the dorm I'm going to stay in has the same mindset!
seekers
06-06-2007, 01:00 AM
erm...anybody here willing to share sum pics..
myb the bedroom,bathroom,cafe,or wutever regarding akasia cemara college??
or any link,
i'd like to see through my naked eyes the reality
instead of reading the description given and just imagine... :wink:
i found nothing at intec wsite :? ...in fact,the pics so small and not detail.. :evil:
:) :)thanks!
06-06-2007, 09:23 AM
thanks... i plan to keep my toilet clean... hope whoever that last resided the dorm I'm going to stay in has the same mindset!it doesn't take that much to keep your toilet clean... just scrub is once per week or two...
illusions
06-06-2007, 09:27 AM
i was just wondering right does the bathroom has water heater or izzit just cold water?
06-06-2007, 09:33 AM
is that helpful???
hu3...thanks jingguo..
argh!!cleaning toilet???
huh..
you're welcome... i think the condition should be the same.. or maybe better, cos some of the blocks in akasia was under renovation by the time i was leaving... so expect some units to be much more better...
and about cleaning toilet.. be proactive abit la.. take the initiative to discuss with your roommate about cleaning the toilets and the place la.. take turns..
06-06-2007, 09:42 AM
is that helpful???
hu3...thanks jingguo..
argh!!cleaning toilet???
huh..
haha.. yeah.. the girls are always the busier ones.. busy studying all the time!!!! no wonder they score better than guys... haiz...
06-06-2007, 09:45 AM
erm...anybody here willing to share sum pics..
myb the bedroom,bathroom,cafe,or wutever regarding akasia cemara college??
or any link,
i'd like to see through my naked eyes the reality
instead of reading the description given and just imagine... :wink:
i found nothing at intec wsite :? ...in fact,the pics so small and not detail.. :evil:
:) :)thanks!
haha.. would you expect INTEC's website to show you all the dirty toilets and the uncleaned messy rooms of students??? i think i should still have some pics on cemara college's unit and toilets.. just need some time to find where are those pics.. so bear with me.. gimme a day or 2... and hopefully i still have them!!!
06-06-2007, 09:47 AM
i was just wondering right does the bathroom has water heater or izzit just cold water?
what do you expect?? "refreshing" cold water la!!! where got water heater one... if everyone uses heater everytime they bathe, imagine how much intec has to pay for the electricity man...
06-06-2007, 09:50 AM
jinguo, please use the edit button... multiple posts just serve to clutter the thread...
06-06-2007, 10:08 AM
jinguo, please use the edit button... multiple posts just serve to clutter the thread...
okie.. soreee.. will do so next time...
seekers
06-06-2007, 11:50 AM
haha.. would you expect INTEC's website to show you all the dirty toilets and the uncleaned messy rooms of students??? i think i should still have some pics on cemara college's unit and toilets.. just need some time to find where are those pics.. so bear with me.. gimme a day or 2... and hopefully i still have them!!!
hahaha...loooking forward for those pics :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
seekers
06-06-2007, 11:53 AM
what do you expect?? "refreshing" cold water la!!! where got water heater one... if everyone uses heater everytime they bathe, imagine how much intec has to pay for the electricity man...
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Kevin89
06-06-2007, 11:59 AM
No more hot water, noooo :cry:
College Registration
June 17, 2007 ()
(Activities) College registration for new students (Short Programmes) Kolej Cemara / Akasia
Students Registration (Short Programmes)
June 18, 2007 ()
(Activities) Kolej Cemara / Akasia Seksyen 18
I found these word in intec, uitm website. Does that mean i will be staying at cemara since i'll be going on 17 june ?
seekers
06-06-2007, 12:05 PM
it doesn't take that much to keep your toilet clean... just scrub is once per week or two...
yeah..u right vseehua..
in fact,look at on positive sight...cleaning toilet can be considered
as extra exercise to keep body fit right??!! :D :D
seniors know better i guess... :D
06-06-2007, 03:42 PM
College Registration
June 17, 2007 ()
(Activities) College registration for new students (Short Programmes) Kolej Cemara / Akasia
June 18, 2007 ()
I found these word in intec, uitm website. Does that mean i will be staying at cemara since i'll be going on 17 june ?
i suppose so.. since short programmes in INTEC meant dpt (dasar pandang timur prog) or french prog..
06-06-2007, 03:45 PM
:lol: :lol: :lol:and taking bath with cold is much more refreshing than with warm water... :p
06-06-2007, 03:51 PM
it doesn't take that much to keep your toilet clean... just scrub is once per week or two...
yeah..u right vseehua..
in fact,look at on positive sight...cleaning toilet can be considered
as extra exercise to keep body fit right??!! :D :D
seniors know better i guess... :D
:lol: :lol: :lol: haha.. yeah.. you'll be sweating after all the washing and scrubbing those stains... think it made my arms more muscular now.. haha...
and taking bath with cold is much more refreshing than with warm water... :p
yeah definitely.. especially in the morning.. it just makes you more refreshed to stay away during class.. :D :D
06-06-2007, 04:08 PM
haha.. i used to splash water all over the toilet and then scrub the whole thing... then open up the toilet cover and scrub the toilet bowl as well...
The algae can grow really fast there...
yeah definitely.. especially in the morning.. it just makes you more refreshed to stay away during class.. Very Happy Very Happyponteng? :lol: :lol: :lol:
illusions
06-06-2007, 04:13 PM
haha..better start practising to bathe with cold water.... :lol:
06-06-2007, 04:14 PM
haha..better start practising to bathe with cold water.... :lol:buy a pail or two, boil some water, mix with cold water... and warm bath water magically comes as a result...
06-06-2007, 04:29 PM
haha.. i used to splash water all over the toilet and then scrub the whole thing... then open up the toilet cover and scrub the toilet bowl as well...
The algae can grow really fast there...
yeah definitely.. especially in the morning.. it just makes you more refreshed to stay away during class.. Very Happy Very Happyponteng? :lol: :lol: :lol:
haha.. no la.. joking only.. of course it makes your stay awake in class la.. not good to ponteng.. the lecturers would remember you even more... and what happens?? lower scores for internal exams.. sad sad...
and algae really grow fast in cemara.. maybe the water in shah alam is richer in nutrients??? haha...
well, for a perfect warm bath, here's what i did las time. boil 2 kettleful of water and add them into the pail, fill up the rest of the pail with cold water... its just so nice in the morning especially..
illusions
06-06-2007, 04:35 PM
haha..better start practising to bathe with cold water.... :lol:buy a pail or two, boil some water, mix with cold water... and warm bath water magically comes as a result...
haha..lol...haha....warm bath water magically comes out....cool.. :P the seniors here are really helpful!!!! thanks a lot! :D
06-06-2007, 04:36 PM
haha..lol...haha....warm bath water magically comes out....cool.. :P the seniors here are really helpful!!!! thanks a lot! :D
:D :D :D
Kevin89
06-06-2007, 05:24 PM
If we want to iron our clothes, must bring our own iron (seterika) right ?
06-06-2007, 05:31 PM
yes... they dont provide such facility... :lol: :lol:
06-06-2007, 06:16 PM
yes... they dont provide such facility... :lol: :lol:throughout my 2.5 years time in INTEC, i had never ironed my clothes :p
Butters
06-06-2007, 07:42 PM
yes... they dont provide such facility... :lol: :lol:throughout my 2.5 years time in INTEC, i had never ironed my clothes :p
nice....
illusions
06-06-2007, 08:41 PM
nice....
i think it would be better if we bring clothes that don't need to be ironed...haha..easier and saves time too!
Butters
06-06-2007, 08:48 PM
i think it would be better if we bring clothes that don't need to be ironed...haha..easier and saves time too!
i agree....are you going to Intec?
illusions
06-06-2007, 09:10 PM
yup....this july.... see u at there soon! :D
Butters
06-06-2007, 09:16 PM
yup....this july.... see u at there soon! :D
what course?
sweetiojj
06-06-2007, 10:47 PM
btw....hi shannon 8)
hi..seeker and shannon. i am going to join both of u by taking ausmat!! :D
seekers
07-06-2007, 12:12 AM
btw....hi shannon 8)
hi..seeker and shannon. i am going to join both of u by taking ausmat!! :D
hi sweetiojj..see u there!! :wink:
seekers
07-06-2007, 12:43 AM
throughout my 2.5 years time in INTEC, i had never ironed my clothes :p
8O 8O
cool!!!
but...i dont think i could bear wearing such folded kind of clothes
(betol ke sentence nie?? :? :roll: ) or unironed clothes(sumthin like
that laa..)hi3
sory for da broken2 laa..peace :roll:
Kevin89
07-06-2007, 01:40 AM
But usually the formal long sleeve shirts are the cloths that need to be iron. And i can't bear to see the long sleeve shirt renyuk-renyuk especially after washing it.
launa
07-06-2007, 03:20 AM
i also don't iron my long sleeve for my 2.5 years at INTEC.
my long sleeves after wash, still look like it is ironed. maybe it is cause i always hang my cloth after wash?
07-06-2007, 11:46 AM
nice....
yeah.. that's a good idea.. even then, nobody cares whether you've ironed your clothes or not..
07-06-2007, 12:40 PM
But usually the formal long sleeve shirts are the cloths that need to be iron. And i can't bear to see the long sleeve shirt renyuk-renyuk especially after washing it.my shirt don't ;)
07-06-2007, 01:43 PM
my long sleeves after wash, still look like it is ironed. maybe it is cause i always hang my cloth after wash?
*DANG*
i used to iron my long-sleeve before i wear it (even t- shirts)...IMO, first impression is rather important...iron a shirt certainly won't take too long time right??
haagendaz
07-06-2007, 01:52 PM
One more question to all my seniors:
let's say for now I decide to not take tooo many things and take minimal clothes (only what is strictly needed for say, 2 weeks).. when i get there, after the orientation week say, will I have time and the place to go shopping for conservative clothes? Will it be.. i dunno, foolish, to go 1st and see what everyone else's wearing and then ony go shoppin? R there decent shopping centres, n will i have time?
07-06-2007, 01:56 PM
*DANG*
i used to iron my long-sleeve before i wear it (even t- shirts)...IMO, first impression is rather important...iron a shirt certainly won't take too long time right??
agree with you that first impression is important.. you mayb ironing your clothes the first few weeks.. but by then, you'll be too busy/lazy to do it anymore, and others wouldn't even care more or less if you've ironed your clothes or not.. haha.. anyway, if you're still lazy to do that, there's a few dobies around.. one buck for each clothes ironed.. quite reasonable la..
let's say for now I decide to not take tooo many things and take minimal clothes (only what is strictly needed for say, 2 weeks).. when i get there, after the orientation week say, will I have time and the place to go shopping for conservative clothes? Will it be.. i dunno, foolish, to go 1st and see what everyone else's wearing and then ony go shoppin? R there decent shopping centres, n will i have time?
for the first few weeks, you should be quite free to go around for shopping.. so no worries on that.. "conservative clothes"?? mind specify what do you mean by that??? i dont think you need to go 1st and see what other people wear.. cos everyone would be having the same type of attire, just variations in colour... for guys its always t-shirt n long pants/jeans with sport shoes or any other shoe would do.. so long its not sandals/slippers.. and for girls its almost the same la.. t-shirt n long pants with jackets to cover the rest of the 'exposed' parts of body... so you might as well bring your clothes all from your house.. you'll save more.. and JPA's allowances doesn't come that fast.. dont think you'll get the money once you registered in the college.. it took me 3 months for the money to be banked into my account last time...
07-06-2007, 02:36 PM
i am not sure what you meant by minimal...
but I only have enough clothes to last me a bit longer than a week... so my minimal is still less than yours :p
07-06-2007, 02:44 PM
i am not sure what you meant by minimal...
but I only have enough clothes to last me a bit longer than a week... so my minimal is still less than yours :p
same here... :lol: :lol: :lol:
zhuzhai89
07-06-2007, 02:58 PM
*DANG*
agree with you that first impression is important.. you mayb ironing your clothes the first few weeks.. but by then, you'll be too busy/lazy to do it anymore, and others wouldn't even care more or less if you've ironed your clothes or not.. haha.. anyway, if you're still lazy to do that, there's a few dobies around.. one buck for each clothes ironed.. quite reasonable la..
for the first few weeks, you should be quite free to go around for shopping.. so no worries on that.. "conservative clothes"?? mind specify what do you mean by that??? i dont think you need to go 1st and see what other people wear.. cos everyone would be having the same type of attire, just variations in colour... for guys its always t-shirt n long pants/jeans with sport shoes or any other shoe would do.. so long its not sandals/slippers.. and for girls its almost the same la.. t-shirt n long pants with jackets to cover the rest of the 'exposed' parts of body... so you might as well bring your clothes all from your house.. you'll save more.. and JPA's allowances doesn't come that fast.. dont think you'll get the money once you registered in the college.. it took me 3 months for the money to be banked into my account last time...
wat does tat t-shirt mean?collared or not?can we wear shirts without collars to lectures?I am sorry but i am really confused and don't quite understand this
07-06-2007, 03:18 PM
zhuzhai, read the first post of this thread...
07-06-2007, 03:20 PM
*DANG*
wat does tat t-shirt mean?collared or not?can we wear shirts without collars to lectures?I am sorry but i am really confused and don't quite understand this
for guys its definitely collared t-shirts la.. but for girls.. some of my friends (girls) did wore round collared t-shirts (read: no collar) as well.. they just have to wear their jackets so that the guards dont stop them la..
-zephyr-
07-06-2007, 04:28 PM
er... do we need 'baju batik'?
07-06-2007, 04:30 PM
er... do we need 'baju batik'?
no you dont need to..
Kevin89
07-06-2007, 05:23 PM
dont think you'll get the money once you registered in the college.. it took me 3 months for the money to be banked into my account last time...
3 months ?!?!?! But i am going to be at intec for 3 months only 8O
07-06-2007, 05:37 PM
dont think you'll get the money once you registered in the college.. it took me 3 months for the money to be banked into my account last time...
3 months ?!?!?! But i am going to be at intec for 3 months only 8Oit took me 6 months during my year...
haagendaz
07-06-2007, 05:51 PM
3 months ne? where r u going after dat?
Butters
07-06-2007, 06:05 PM
can the men have long hair in Intec...?
07-06-2007, 06:33 PM
can't touch the collar if i'm not mistaken...
what will happen if my hair touch the collar... (a little bit)....
Butters
07-06-2007, 07:48 PM
sh**.... i looked like a gay if i have short hair....
07-06-2007, 08:07 PM
sh**.... i looked like a gay if i have short hair....
easy...negotiate with those guards then... :P
Butters
07-06-2007, 08:24 PM
i'll try my best.....
07-06-2007, 08:53 PM
i'll try my best.....
almost all the guards there share a same hobby which is...
SAMAN students for their so-called "improper" attire... :twisted: :twisted:
p/s: and girls better refrain from wearing "ketat-ketat" jeans or you all will kena as well...
bihafana
07-06-2007, 08:53 PM
erm..im still confused bout d laundry..
do there are balconies or corridor for us to 'sidai' our clothes?
or we have to sidai them in provided areas(ampaian) after we wash them??
Butters
07-06-2007, 09:00 PM
almost all the guards there share a same hobby which is...
SAMAN students for their so-called "improper" attire... :twisted: :twisted:
p/s: and girls better refrain from wearing "ketat-ketat" jeans or you all will kena as well...
saman my ar**.......... i just want long hair(not too long)....that's all
-zephyr-
07-06-2007, 11:24 PM
so, hair not touching the collar is ok, but how about the top hair? is it ok if it long? like if i pull down my front hair now the tip of it will be at my lips... :D
08-06-2007, 12:00 AM
or we have to sidai them in provided areas(ampaian) after we wash them??yes they do...
Kevin89
08-06-2007, 02:29 AM
My course is persediaan rusia and the course take 3 months only.
Appolo
08-06-2007, 10:14 AM
so, hair not touching the collar is ok, but how about the top hair? is it ok if it long? like if i pull down my front hair now the tip of it will be at my lips... :D
If you think that you can find some way to hide it, I don't think you will be caught.Afterall, there are some long-haired guys in Intec.However, I would to advise you not to get caught by the head of programs and the director.
Butters
08-06-2007, 10:23 AM
If you think that you can find some way to hide it, I don't think you will be caught.Afterall, there are some long-haired guys in Intec.However, I would to advise you not to get caught by the head of programs and the director.
what will happen if we do get caught?
Appolo
08-06-2007, 10:34 AM
nothing big actually. Just the normal scolding and summon.But you don't want mess around with the administrators, do you?
08-06-2007, 12:17 PM
ah.. most probably japan/korea/french/ russia language courses la tu.. right??? dont worry, you guys in those programmes would get the money faster.... in a month's time or so...
and regarding the long hair thingy right, its better to keep your hair short.. not until that SHORT.. but make it manageable.. the guards would be more strict in the first months or so... so they will tick you off or SAMAN you if they feel like it.. but from time to time, they do catch students for long hair (guys i mean).. the worst would be caught by Mr Awang Boon, the hal ehwal pelajar guy.. he's the person that you must ever stay away from.. last time my friend kinda dyed his hair and it was not that long.. but the moment awang boon saw him, he reprimanded him right in front of the whole class man.. no joke...
Butters
08-06-2007, 03:29 PM
Mr Awang Boon
I'll remember his name.....
08-06-2007, 05:27 PM
keep your hair short la, easier to manage... and i can jus walk out after i woke up and no one will notice :p
Butters
08-06-2007, 07:46 PM
i must have long hair......
08-06-2007, 10:52 PM
i must have long hair......Buttlers should have almost no hair :twisted:
seekers
09-06-2007, 12:03 AM
keep your hair short la, easier to manage... and i can jus walk out after i woke up and no one will notice :p
:lol: :lol:
but ppl will notice the smell :wink: :lol: ..hi3
09-06-2007, 02:57 AM
:lol: :lol:
but ppl will notice the smell :wink: :lol: ..hi3
then long hair would be even worse larr....the "fragrance" lagi cannot tahan arr...XD
Butters
09-06-2007, 08:34 AM
Buttlers should have almost no hair :twisted:
:lol:
09-06-2007, 12:30 PM
Can gurls wear jeans on Tue, Wed & Thurs? (non-formal days)
i mean, not that ketat type...
mens' cutting ones...
09-06-2007, 01:37 PM
mens' cutting ones...it's already been stated casual wear, jeans included...
09-06-2007, 05:03 PM
Mr Awang Boon
I'll remember his name.....
yes.. remember him.. and never i mean NEVER step on his tail... or its the end of your life.. haha..
and one more advise, keep good rapport with the guards la.. just greet them good day or smile to them whenever you see them.. they do remember faces and it definitely makes your life so much better... they would definitely be more lenient to u at most times.. just let you off with warning rather than saman you immediately...
09-06-2007, 05:11 PM
oh good...hehehe
only that i don't know how tight does tight jeans mean...
:roll:
09-06-2007, 05:16 PM
oh good...hehehe
only that i don't know how tight does tight jeans mean...
:roll:
adui... just not tight la.. if the fabric wraps around your body, then consider those tight la.. :lol: :lol:
Butters
09-06-2007, 07:53 PM
and one more advise, keep good rapport with the guards la.. just greet them good day or smile to them whenever you see them.. they do remember faces and it definitely makes your life so much better... they would definitely be more lenient to u at most times.. just let you off with warning rather than saman you immediately...
does this mean i have to be a suck up?
-zephyr-
09-06-2007, 08:19 PM
and regarding the long hair thingy right, its better to keep your hair short.. not until that SHORT.. but make it manageable.. the guards would be more strict in the first months or so... so they will tick you off or SAMAN you if they feel like it.. but from time to time, they do catch students for long hair (guys i mean).. the worst would be caught by Mr Awang Boon, the hal ehwal pelajar guy.. he's the person that you must ever stay away from.. last time my friend kinda dyed his hair and it was not that long.. but the moment awang boon saw him, he reprimanded him right in front of the whole class man.. no joke...
whoaa... nasty, but i had experienced it before.hehe..thx..
bihafana
09-06-2007, 08:31 PM
or we have to sidai them in provided areas(ampaian) after we wash them??yes they do...
sorry..wut do u mean by 'yes'??
they hav a balcony or they have a provided area?
sweetiojj
09-06-2007, 09:56 PM
can i know how long it takes from seksyen 2 hotel uitm to kolej cemara akasia if by car?for future intec students , i have sent an email to intec, they said we have to register at kolej cemara / aksia on 1st of july. not at intec....don;t know whther it is true anot.
alice
09-06-2007, 10:36 PM
it's college registration on 1st of July right ? so, i guess it must be in cemara/akasia college.
btw, i also wan to no how far hotel Uitm is from cemara/akasia college. anybody know ?
09-06-2007, 11:13 PM
3 months ?!?!?! But i am going to be at intec for 3 months only 8Oit took me 6 months during my year...
if it takes 3 months for the money to b banked in2 d account, wil jpa pay back da allowance 4 da 1st 2 months tat time???
AtMostFear
10-06-2007, 12:42 AM
can i know how long it takes from seksyen 2 hotel uitm to kolej cemara akasia if by car?for future intec students , i have sent an email to intec, they said we have to register at kolej cemara / aksia on 1st of july. not at intec....don;t know whther it is true anot.it's college registration on 1st of July right ? so, i guess it must be in cemara/akasia college.
btw, i also wan to no how far hotel Uitm is from cemara/akasia college. anybody know ?
the most is 2km, and I don't think it even exceeds 1.5 km actually.
if it takes 3 months for the money to b banked in2 d account, wil jpa pay back da allowance 4 da 1st 2 months tat time???
yes of course they do. they'll bank in straight for one whole semester.
-zephyr-
10-06-2007, 11:48 AM
i take this from intec website
College Registration
June 17, 2007 ()
June 18, 2007 ()
im going to intec for 3 month so it count as short programmes rite?
and if it does, does this quotation means i have to go cemara/akasia 1st on 17hb tu register? n how about u senoir last time u register?
cleoy
10-06-2007, 02:31 PM
*DANG*
for guys its definitely collared t-shirts la.. but for girls.. some of my friends (girls) did wore round collared t-shirts (read: no collar) as well.. they just have to wear their jackets so that the guards dont stop them la..
girls can wear round collared t-shirts with their jackets...but what if the jacket also din hav collar?can it be accepted too?
bujanglapok
10-06-2007, 03:11 PM
can guys wear non-collared shirts during lectures and cover it with collared jacket?
Butters
10-06-2007, 03:44 PM
can guys wear non-collared shirts during lectures and cover it with collared jacket?
i was about to ask the same question
illusions
10-06-2007, 05:30 PM
i was about to ask the same question
sehati sejiwa..haha..jus kidding..... :lol:
Butters
10-06-2007, 08:09 PM
sehati sejiwa..haha..jus kidding..... :lol:
well....we're still waiting for the answer
beautiful_scars89
10-06-2007, 11:12 PM
can v bring pets thr? example:hamster, small gapi fishiesss???
AtMostFear
11-06-2007, 12:09 AM
of course. you can even take the jacket off and just wear the non collared shirt. you don't have to worry much about dressing code during class as most lecturer doesn't mind that much. the only time you need to be 'skema' is when going pass the guard, meeting some staff (the Director of Intec, etc.) or going to the library..
no, it is prohibited. but just bring it as long as the management doesn't know about it..
bujanglapok
11-06-2007, 01:11 AM
conclusion : INTEC dressing code isn't that strict, right?
sunflowerseed
11-06-2007, 01:59 AM
im going to intec for 3 month so it count as short programmes rite?
and if it does, does this quotation means i have to go cemara/akasia 1st on 17hb tu register? n how about u senoir last time u register?
u better call for a precise information coz they might use a different system for registration this year. as far as i know, that 17 n 18 is also the registration date for the ausmat seniors.
for the hostel, short programmes students (korean, russian, medic mesir, french, dpt) will be staying in cemara for guys. in fact, the a level education students will also occupy the cemara blocks. usually, ausmat, alm, alg n adfp/actp will be placed in cendana.
sunflowerseed
11-06-2007, 02:10 AM
beautiful_scars89 wrote:
Last year, i brought my turtle to college. sad to say, i was so busy, resulting in, my only turtle died. *hurm*. regret it very much
all i wanna say, the colllege set up rules n regulations to manage us. in a way to help us. however, sometimes, there is a need of breaking it. :lol:
just think of the rule of traffic light at 2 am. If the road is so empty n clear, where u r so confident an accident is impossible, n the light shown red, do u still wanna stop? dun have to think too much bout the remeh temeh things...what we r supposed to do in intec is to study right??
deaf-knee
11-06-2007, 08:33 AM
conclusion : INTEC dressing code isn't that strict, right?
lol you are so wrong. intec dress code is SO -_-