View Full Version : Kolej MARA Banting; IS IT GOOD?

AlbertEinstein
22-05-2007, 10:45 PM
For those who were ex-KMBians, is this college good? How would u rate the facilities provided
For those who are going to KMB, let us use this thread to know each other..
I'll start first:

IB, Medicine, from Sarawak...

dragon_ex89
22-05-2007, 11:00 PM
IB,medic,from selangor.going to banting in selangor..(i always get places near my hometown..hehe 8) )

i read somewhere in the internet that kmb is the best ib school in the world 8O ..is it true..??? :?: (its in wikipedia if im not mistaken..)

chris1771
23-05-2007, 12:05 AM
no lah....it says one of the most prestigious...may not necessarily be d best but it's good nonetheless

freshmen_ad
23-05-2007, 12:11 AM
it's true le... kmb is the world no 1 in 2005 for ib programme..
if u guys dun believe it, ask mara themselves.. or d sniors

23-05-2007, 12:29 AM
i nevr study in KMB, but the place is less than 10 minutes wlk from my grandma's house.

So, its a little rural. There's bus to pekan Banting.

But the facilities are okay. Went inside few times coz my grandma used to work there for like few motnhs.

The place is really big and the roof is blue in colour. Basically, it is nice.

chris1771
23-05-2007, 12:53 AM
Sounds good...I'm really happy for some of my friends who are going there under MARA...

shahkang
23-05-2007, 01:21 AM
hye
why most ppl got medic for kmb
i got engineering
sob

about the facalities..it is good
hu im still searching for some info

eggtart_90
23-05-2007, 02:16 AM
hi,

KMB is one of the four institutions in m'sia dat offers an IB programme...in fact,it has THE BEST IB PROGRAMME in M'SIA!!!
i hv a few seniors studying there b4,good reviews from them...
n most of them r studying medic now in UK...

*btw,i hv a question...
most of u who got medic 4 JPA/MARA was sent to do IB in KMB?
if this is the case,will all of u b going 2 UK? :wink:

emzz
23-05-2007, 06:05 AM
I got engineering, KMB too, shahkang.
I'm thinking of paying the school a visit to check it out first. Haha. I live about a half hour drive away.

AlbertEinstein
23-05-2007, 07:37 AM
For those of us who are going to KMB, how are we going know each other? Suggest ways so that we fellow RECOMMERS will become best friends in KMB... How about constructing a discussion group? Besides, let's post our real name on this thread so that we will recognise each other the first day in KMB...

kram
23-05-2007, 07:37 AM
I do not contest the fact that KMB does produce one of the best IB results in the world... In fact, it is the silent killer among IB World Schools....

Nonetheless, I do question the lack of choice of subjects taught at the school. The main aim of the IB Diploma, and for that matter, the whole IB concept including the PYP and MYP, is based on the concept of a balanced education.

Students who choose to do the IB are asked to select 1 subject from each of the 6 groups at either higher or standard level. They are given the choice to choose, to focus on the subjects they like, and to try new ones (which is why they have the different levels, and in Group 2, there exists an ab initio course).

From what I hear, in KMB, Students take BM at HL for Group 1, compared with the rest of the world, it is obvious that it would be easier to achieve a 7 score in that rather than say English HL in Group 1.

In Group 2, English is the subject of choice. Kid yourselves not, but the aim of this group to is for someone to learn a new language, or to consolidate their non-native language. If we were to take English in this group as language B, then it would be really easy for a Malaysian scholar to obtain the level 7. Instead, I think that this should be done at the A2 level. Not only is this level significantly more challenging, but also, by doing so, you earn a bilingual diploma.

As for the rest of the groups, I think that more choice should be given for a student to pursue the subject of their choice, if the number of interested students suffice.

zulaikha
23-05-2007, 07:41 AM
hope im not too late to join in! :D

hi guys
im from penang
IB-medicine-under JPA

i really dont know much about IB
but some said its tougher than a-levels
:roll:

AlbertEinstein
23-05-2007, 07:42 AM
Kram, u r in Ireland under MARA aren't u? May i ask whether MARA provides enough allowance for its scholars to live there? Any accomodations provided? Coz I heard that MARA gave less than JPA?

shade
23-05-2007, 09:31 AM
@<hidden>: There are more than four IB world schools here.
http://www.ibo.org/school/search/index.cfm?programmes=&country=MY&region=&find_schools=Find

With so few IB schools in Malaysia and the fact that KMB is a popular choice for scholarship awarders to send their scholars for IB, I think it's not suprising that it's the top in the country.

A couple of my seniors came to back to school for their CAS and from what I remember they told us that the food sucks 10 times worse than dining at MRSM Taiping.

23-05-2007, 10:14 AM
Hello. I was wondering, how r grades given 4 ib? I mean how does one score 7? And also, what' s the difference between HL n SL subjects? Why is it that by taking BM at HL it is easier than taking Eng at HL? Is it true that 20% of marks will be given to coursework? What about the lecturers? Are they good?

eminemaniacena
23-05-2007, 12:44 PM
hi all recomers..im new here..hehe..i gt MARA scholarship 2 study in KMB IB..medic..bt can u all tel me gt anymore non-bumis gt this scholarship..cuz im a non-bumi and i gt MARA scholarship.. :lol:

jac6198
23-05-2007, 04:09 PM
i am from sarawak to.. medicine to ireland under jpa... and now i am happy to know that many got kmb... altho i prefer intec... aneway, is there broadband or wifi in it?

kram
23-05-2007, 08:57 PM
AlbertEinstein: I am not under a MARA scholarship but a JPA one. Nonetheless, I will address your concerns.

Firstly, for medicine (which I presume you have been offered), and for any other course for that matter, the MARA allowance is the same as the JPA one, as are the allowances of the Petronas scholars here. In previous years, they received more, but this has been changed so that there is no "favouritism" among Malaysian scholars here. The Petronas and MARA allowances are based on the allowances provided to JPA scholars, and so, any increase or decrease in allowance will be based on the sum JPA allocates.

Secondly, the question of whether the allowance you receive is enough or not is based on the individual. If you do not spend much and cook your meals, then it will more than enough. Conversely, if you decide to eat out and spend on unnecessary items, then you may find that the allowance is not enough. Generally, the scholars here receive enough allowance to live comfortably, but not lavishly.

Thirdly, regarding accommodation. The policy of JPA is that they will pay for your accommodation only if it is an official on-campus student accommodation. If you choose this option, then you will receive your allowance based on a 60-40 scheme. If you choose to stay off-campus, then you will receive 100% of your allowance. I am not too sure if this is the case for MARA, but I would think so (Petronas too, has this same scheme). However, on-campus student accommodation at most universities in Ireland are preferentially given to first-year students, and you may be asked to move out if there is not enough accommodation for them in your second and subsequent years.

sue89: you really should visit the International Baccalaureate website at www.ibo.org. They provide some very good information for students who are interested in this programme.

Anyway, grades are given for each subject (you are required to take 6 subjects) based on a scale of 0-7, with 7 being the highest and 0 the lowest. This will give you a maximum score of 42 points (6x7). In addition to that, you will be eligible for an additional 3 bonus points based on your ToK and EE. the bonus points are allocated by a matrix based on your results for those two subjects.

So 7 would be probably equivalent to an A, and 6 a A- and so on. However, this is just an analogy. This is because based on the latest UCAS ratings which converts the results you obtain into a standardised point system (UCAS is the system you enter for application for universities in the UK), the maximum 45 points in an IB diploma gives you 768 marks, while an A in the A levels gives you 120 marks. SO the full score in the IB diploma gives you an equivalent result of 6 A's in the A levels (http://www.ucas.com/candq/tariff/index.html#gce). So this will probably tell you that the IB is a much harder course than the A levels.

HL and SL are different levels of the subject you choose to take. SL would be analogous to the AS in A levels, but not equivalent, and HL would be like your advanced paper. So basically you have to take 3 SL and 3 HL subjects for the IB Diploma.

As to why BM would be easier than English in Group 1, this is because Group 1, which is also known as Language A, is supposed to be the main language of the student, your mother tongue. The syllabus covered is purely literature. Also, BM or Bahasa is used only in a limited number of countries, and being Malaysian, you would have been exposed to 12 years of BM, so your background knowledge should be stronger and also the marking scale would be lower or the content significantly easier than if you took English. English being one of the major languages spoken in the world and also with a wider selection of literature material to choose from, plus more questions which can be asked.

On allocation of marks, each subject has a different allocation. Let's take Group 4 for example. You will be require to sit for 3 written papers at the end of your course, and this will contribute 76% to your final grades, the remaining 24% coming from lab reports and projects. In Group 1, you will write 2 papers for your final exams (and the duration and lenght of the paper differs based on whether it is HL or SL). These 2 papers contribute only 50% to your final grade, and the remaining 50% is based on coursework (the number of projects and the allocation of marks again differs if you take HL or SL). So as you can see, it is a very complex process, and you will learn about it as you go along the course.

Regarding the lecturers, I have no idea as this is specific to each school you attend. I attended the International School of Penang, and I had fantastic teachers who came from different countries and background, and this added to my IB experience, for which I am now a big advocate.

Lastly I am going to write something about ToK (Theory of Knowledge) and EE (Extended Essay) which I mentioned briefly above and of CAS (Creativitiy, Action and Service). These 3 "things" are central to the IB hexagon, and are what we call a "Failing Criteria" irregardless of what subjects you take. If you fail to submit an EE, or a ToK project, or do not achieve the minimum 150 hours of CAS, you will NOT receive your Diploma even thought you received the maximum 42 score.

However, I assure that these 3 "things" will probably be the best part of your IB experience. The EE is probably something no one else in any other pre-university course has done, and you will find out that you are one of the few when you reach university, who know how to reference properly, to write a 1000 word paper with ease (because you've written a 4000 word EE before). You will have explored and done so many other extracurricular projects, organised events for your CAS that you will be able to do this with ease in uni.

I will end here, as I think this is already too long. Do feel free to ask more questions about the IB and I will try to clarify.

AlbertEinstein
23-05-2007, 09:11 PM
Thanks, Kram.. ur reply has been very informative. However, may I know the exact amount given by JPA for one month? How much? And, are those going to UK receive more? How about winter clothes???

P.S. please do not ask me to refer to the SIG.. They're not so iformative.I would prefer direct reply from u, Kram. Your answers gave me clearer view on this issue.....

kram
23-05-2007, 11:25 PM
The question I have for you is which country are you being sent to? As you may already know, Ireland is NOT part of the UK, contrary to what many people think, and so we deal in Euro over here. In the UK, which include England, Scotland, Wales and N. Ireland, they deal in Pounds.

I have no idea as to the exact amount of allowance the scholars in the UK receive, but there is what is known as a London and non-London rate. This means that if you study in a university in London, you will receive more allowance than if you study at a university somewhere else in the UK. However, this is due to the higher cost of living in London. So it will not make much of a difference because if you study in London, you receive more but you will be spending more.

As for Ireland, Dublin in my opinion , and in the opinion of many others, has a higher cost of living than London, or any other major city in Europe. There does not unfortunately exists a Dublin and non-Dublin rate for allowances.

Now, in my opinion once again, the exact amount is not important. Maybe that is why no one ever discloses it on Recom. The more important matter is that you should be concerned with is if the allowance you receive is enough to cover your cost of living wherever you are sent to.

If I disclosed the exact amount to you or anyone, you would have no use of it except to convert it back to the ringgit, and then exclaim in amazement at the large sum of money you receive. You also need to know what the cost of living here involved. What the rent is like? How much does electricity cost? What is the average price of a meal? These are more important than the exact amount of allowance you receive. If you received say 1000 Euro, and your cost of living is 1500, then it wont be enough. conversely if you received only 600 Euro and your cost of living was 300, then you would have an excess of 300 Euro left.

Right, I hope I got my point across to you, and if you read in my previous post, it is up to the individual, on what you spend and how you like to live your life, but generally it is enough for you to live comfortably but not lavishly.

Hope this helps.

Patrick
24-05-2007, 01:36 AM
During your Pre-U years in Malaysia....

If food and accomodation are provided,

MARA gives RM50 monthly
JPA gives RM70 monthly
and PETRONAS gives.....tadaaaa... RM350 monthly...

kram
24-05-2007, 03:40 AM
Hey Patrick, nice to you see you back here.... Are the IB exams over? Hope to see you in London next year

velvetteen
25-05-2007, 03:57 AM
hey guys!
i'm going to kmb,uk,med under jpa.am quite surprised though,thought it'll be intec,a level!

n i kno absolutely nothing on kmb :lol: except it's one of the best IB schools!it'll be really helpful if someone preferably the exs can tell me smthg about life there ? coz basically,hehe i'm already pening with the ukcat or bmat n i'm not even there yet! :roll:

n to all my future classmates,cant wait 2 c ya there! :wink:

bert
25-05-2007, 06:18 AM
Best IB school in terms of results doesn't really mean anything. I've heard that the range of activities and subjects offered at KMB aren't really that diverse.

cyrus2909
29-05-2007, 03:24 PM
hey guys!
i'm going to kmb,uk,med under jpa.am quite surprised though,thought it'll be intec,a level!

n i kno absolutely nothing on kmb :lol: except it's one of the best IB schools!it'll be really helpful if someone preferably the exs can tell me smthg about life there ? coz basically,hehe i'm already pening with the ukcat or bmat n i'm not even there yet! :roll:

n to all my future classmates,cant wait 2 c ya there! :wink:
see you there velvetteen :wink:

camy
29-05-2007, 11:07 PM
okay... i got KMB, from MARA to do IB (Engineering Course). MARA is definetely one of the BEST. and i mean the BEST IB world school. the results are excellent. maklumlah, all the students are scholars. last monday, i visited the college. (u can do so by calling them up and say you want to visit. office hours of course) Mr. Syed Anuar (principal) introduced a bit of the programme to me and told me about the conditions there. um.. its basically really big. (80 acres he claimed). football court, some volleyball court(i think), basket ball court, no swimming pool thoug, badminton... equipment room, canteen, hostels, academic block...etc..etc... the college is almost 15 yrs old and even with age, the place still looks hardy. well, i suppose its because of the students. scholars --->mature and wise enough to know how to care for the college :D. very teratur and conducive for learning. they have a co-op shop to buy necessary things and a dobi in the college to help you with laundry. i peeked at the hostel and i find the rooms very small. if you're used to boarding school life, this is no different. there's also a TV room in the hostel block. its not in banting by the way. to get there, you have to go to bukit changgang. not banting town itself. they put up the previous years's results and no kidding!!! a few have gotten FULL marks 45 out of 45!!!! most students here do medicine under MARA. MARA scholars constitute 80% and the remaining is JPA, PETRONAS and FELDA. and the way i see it, they seem to be naming the class after the courses they're doing. like medic i M06P with M for medic and E06B for Enginerring. and i think all the students go there for med. or eng. once you finish they'll assist you with university placement. um... i am not too happy with the subject combination and as i can see, its really limited an very traditional. i've met with the IB coordinator at Sri KDU, and they have theatrical studies, artsy kinda subjects. something they don't offer at KMB. plus, the ab intio subjects cover spanish, french and madarin. now, who wouldn't want to pass the chance to study these languages? so, after the short talk with mr. syed anwar, he allowed us to have a peek at the college. just walk around on our own really (me and my dad) and yeap... the college is good. ideal for making grades to go overseas, but doesn't really live up to the wholesome IB image (poor subject choice).

kram
30-05-2007, 03:13 AM
camy, now youve experienced first hand what I described... well, i have no doubt that the IB will be the best experience you've had yet... look out for the CAS bits... and the late nights staying up thinking what is absolute and what is not, what exists, how can i prove it, as part of your ToK assignments... You'll get the grades at KMB, and although there is a lack of subject choice, when you get to university, the world is wide open for you to explore, and with the skills you have honed from the IB, you will have the capability to do that, something not many other ppl who are doing different pre-uni courses can boast of having...

THREEPOINTsix
30-05-2007, 03:46 AM
.:gawd:. :? you guys are all gonna be my juniors... that's great :roll:

Chill guys, your first week in KMB (that is your orientation week) will tell you everything about the IB programme. So, there's plenty of time for you. Not to worry much about TOK,EE and CAS dudes...well not at least until ur in ur 3rd sem (which i am about to embark upon soon)

Now, my advise to you now is to enjoy your arses off while you can before coming here. Daily school kids, it'll be a totally new experience for you. You wont get as much freedom as you did when ur in ur sec school. Going out would be a pain as the head-warden is quite strict (and he's an Ustaz, get the picture?). Pekan "cowboy" Banting is like 30mins of drive and Alamanda Putrajaya is approximately 2 hrs ? 10 min. Then again, dont expect much from any of those two aforementioned places.

Have fun and enjoy KMB ! See you there, juniors!

LatinSnake
31-05-2007, 01:03 PM
Hi, I am new here. I will be going to KMB for further studies in UK engineering. I hope that seniors there can address some of my questions.

1)How and when are we able to leave the college and get to KL?

2)Are the hostel rooms equipped with internet network (wifi or
local area network?)

3)Are we allowed to bring a car to KMB?

Thanks in advance.

THREEPOINTsix
31-05-2007, 03:51 PM
Hi, I am new here. I will be going to KMB for further studies in UK engineering. I hope that seniors there can address some of my questions.

1)How and when are we able to leave the college and get to KL?

2)Are the hostel rooms equipped with internet network (wifi or
local area network?)

3)Are we allowed to bring a car to KMB?

Thanks in advance.

Yo, why need seniors there when u already have one senior here ?

1. U only get to go out on weekends, and two ways to get out of college. i) U "keluar bermalam" by booking the pas bermalam on Wednesdays or Thursdays (not sure they keep changing :p) from the warden's office and then go out of the college on weekends (starting Friday afternoon) and stay outside (in ur case KL) then comeback on sunday again. ii) On weekends we alternate the days to perempuan and boys outing. Say for this week, girls go out on sat and guys on sun. Then for the following week, its the other way round. During this outing to get to KL, u scan keluar at around 830am then catch a bus to Putrajaya from college. Then use komuter to get to kl sentral from putra. back b4 7pm.

2. No, we dont have intrnt conction in our hostels. That is to prevent student from staying up all night to play games (in our case DotA, we have a pool of DotA freaks here in MCB) and neglect their studies and then ending up wasting the people's money. LAME

3. No la my fren, u think this is private college ah ? Sorry lo. But even if you really need to bring in a car (desperate measures) you must register with the pak guard i think. so far no one has done this.

LatinSnake
01-06-2007, 03:05 PM
Thanks alot for all the info, senior "here". Guess it wont be as fun as i hoped, : ( But study comes first anyway. Thanks again.

01-06-2007, 05:31 PM
Hey...for college, is it compulsory to get a pair of BLACK shoes? well, i got this nice pair of dark brown shoes.....it fits all the other requirements ....is it allowed? :P after all, we'll b wearing baju kurung....

Rassius
01-06-2007, 09:25 PM
Hello, I'm very new here and would like to introduce myself. Much to my content, I was also given the chance to enroll in KMB by means of MARA. Pleased to make your acquaintances everyone. :D

By the way, I was wondering, has any of you received the letter of acceptance? It has been a while now since the results were made public on the official MARA website and I still haven't received any letter pertaining to this matter. Quite frankly, I'm a bit worried so would someone please clarify this?

Thanks in advance. :D

THREEPOINTsix
05-06-2007, 02:12 AM
Hey...for college, is it compulsory to get a pair of BLACK shoes? well, i got this nice pair of dark brown shoes.....it fits all the other requirements ....is it allowed? :P after all, we'll b wearing baju kurung....

haha.. for the day of registration, yes, u must wear a black pair of shoes. After that you can wear anything you like, footwear that is. heck, you can even colour your hair :-). Just be clever enough to stay away from the infamous Pn.Hanirus. Once you get caught breaking certain rules like having a mullet that touches the colar like me, shell set her eyes on you and fix you as a target. If anything she wants to find fault with you that would be the argument.. damn mean!

icy_cold88
05-06-2007, 02:23 AM
What about the lecturers? Are they good?

Heard they are..

Patrick
05-06-2007, 10:43 AM
Hey Patrick, nice to you see you back here.... Are the IB exams over? Hope to see you in London next year

Hey kram......you must've had a really nice IB experience in the UPLANDS....I bet you know Mark then.......oops you're MARK! Just noticed the inverted mark ---> kram....lol

See you in Cambridge la...people say that your visit to the UK won't be a nice one unless if you enjoy the nice scenery at Cam.

2. No, we dont have intrnt conction in our hostels. That is to prevent student from staying up all night to play games (in our case DotA, we have a pool of DotA freaks here in MCB) and neglect their studies and then ending up wasting the people's money. LAME

In defence of DotA players, and also those who play computer games, I'd say that these games are an outlet for students to release stress. You can't say that staying up at night just to play games is BAD cause everyone has got different lifestyles. Someone's bedtime means somebody else's wake-up time. And, about the neglecting their studies part, it totally depends on the individual. Some cannot resist the temptation of games but some are able to. And, I know many people who don't play games but get bad grades as well.

And another reason why they do not allow the internet to reach the rooms is = Porn. Self-explanatory.

And by the way, Super Juniors, KMB is indeed the best IB school in the world.

Oh yea, and about the lack of choice of subjects, it's because the college wants to specialise in certain subjects to cater the large number of students. (And to make sure that high grades are achieved as well)

jojyi
06-06-2007, 12:03 AM
haha.. for the day of registration, yes, u must wear a black pair of shoes. After that you can wear anything you like, footwear that is. heck, you can even colour your hair :-). Just be clever enough to stay away from the infamous Pn.Hanirus. Once you get caught breaking certain rules like having a mullet that touches the colar like me, shell set her eyes on you and fix you as a target. If anything she wants to find fault with you that would be the argument.. damn mean!

That's cool!I was famous in breaking rules b4 i was a prefect in sec. school..haha...But we still need to wear baju kurung evrday rite?tat's a really clear rules n definitely we cant break it!haha...I will say breaking rules is not a glamour thing but sometimes naughtiness contols me...haha

kram
06-06-2007, 12:48 AM
I will indeed be seeing you in Cambridge Patrick. But maybe we'll meet back home first, and then at the Nottingham games in November...

DoomScythe
06-06-2007, 01:37 AM
@<hidden>: There are more than four IB world schools here.
http://www.ibo.org/school/search/index.cfm?programmes=&country=MY&region=&find_schools=Find

With so few IB schools in Malaysia and the fact that KMB is a popular choice for scholarship awarders to send their scholars for IB, I think it's not suprising that it's the top in the country.

A couple of my seniors came to back to school for their CAS and from what I remember they told us that the food sucks 10 times worse than dining at MRSM Taiping.

There are actually only four truly established IB schools in Malaysia. The other two are new players in IB. Mara College Seremban basically import a bunch of experienced teachers from KMB to help to establish it. As for KDU, they are private, and I am not sure whether they got the technical expertise.

Lol..... Dude, DotA 'freaks' out there are the coolest bunch of people in KMB.... :D All night party and no sleep, and still they manage to go to class in the morning....... Heh, in fact, it is a really funny issue you know, sponsored students playing DotA all night long...... I bet you're a Medic student, for you to say such a thing..... The non-medics would definitely not say such a thing as DotA runs in their blood...... :D

As for the comments on KMB being the best IB schools in the world, the truth is that it is not an official thing. There is no official statistics that compare one IB school with another, thus it is impossible to make such a claim. So to those people who have just left KMB, please don't go to UK and brag too much about it :P, there is no official data, to my knowledge. But still, KMB is still one of the best.

Wow, I am really impressed to see so many people excited to get into KMB. It is good. Anyway, I wouldn't say the living condition is the best, and the food is now much better..... At least it is edible now, right Patrick? Lol....... All I have to say for the next batch of KMBians is this: be prepared mentally, for you need all it takes to get through KMB and IB. :-)

Patrick
06-06-2007, 09:51 AM
As for the comments on KMB being the best IB schools in the world, the truth is that it is not an official thing. There is no official statistics that compare one IB school with another, thus it is impossible to make such a claim. So to those people who have just left KMB, please don't go to UK and brag too much about it :P, there is no official data, to my knowledge. But still, KMB is still one of the best.

Wow, I am really impressed to see so many people excited to get into KMB. It is good. Anyway, I wouldn't say the living condition is the best, and the food is now much better..... At least it is edible now, right Patrick? Lol....... All I have to say for the next batch of KMBians is this: be prepared mentally, for you need all it takes to get through KMB and IB. :-)

Ooh, there are no official statistics? Well then. I wonder what's the motive of the teachers and admins in telling us that. Probably they wanna instill some sense of pride and belonging among the students.

Yeah, you juniors are very lucky. Last time we had to tolerate really bad toilets and food. IB = Ikan Batu. But now, things are getting better, and you guys shouldn't complain that much.

06-06-2007, 09:54 AM
All night party and no sleep, and still they manage to go to class in the morning.......
I thought there's a curfew and all lights out by 12?

Patrick
06-06-2007, 10:05 AM
All night party and no sleep, and still they manage to go to class in the morning.......

Yes there is. You have to be at your hostel by 10.45pm or the wardens will screw you up. Once you're there, you can do anything you want.

06-06-2007, 10:16 AM

Yes there is. You have to be at your hostel by 10.45pm or the wardens will screw you up. Once you're there, you can do anything you want.
Really? nothing like the private colleges where u hv to turn off ur lights by12? yay!

jac6198
06-06-2007, 11:20 AM
1 ques, i heard frn seniors taht if we register wif our fren, we can choose to stay in the same hostel.. is it true?

jojyi
06-06-2007, 01:31 PM
1 ques, i heard frn seniors taht if we register wif our fren, we can choose to stay in the same hostel.. is it true?

So cool that u hav fren going the same college as u!haih...I think i'm the only one from melaka..so sad...but nvm, can know new frens there!!haha

claypot
06-06-2007, 03:54 PM
Hello Juniors,

Welcome to KMB!! :lol:

aisyaisya
06-06-2007, 09:00 PM
do we need to reg online?
bcuz in kmb website they said the on9 reg 4 new student is opened until 23 jun.
it is compulsory 4 us to reg on9?

Patrick
06-06-2007, 09:03 PM

Yes, this is possible. But I'd suggest that you try to get hold of a non-(Insert your race here) person whom you do not know and share a room with that person. After all, what we want is something International, and you can play a role and begin with finding a non-(Insert your race here) roommate.

My friends and I suggested that roommates should be shuffled so that there will be minimal people with same-race roommates. So, probably this thing will be implemented in your year.

Good thing is, this might reduce the number of students who refuse to mingle with the caucasians once they're overseas. Not mixing with those 'orang putihs' will just beat the purpose of studying overseas.

No offence.

jojyi
06-06-2007, 10:51 PM
do we need to reg online?
bcuz in kmb website they said the on9 reg 4 new student is opened until 23 jun.
it is compulsory 4 us to reg on9?

Ya i phoned KMB edi...but i m quite worried as i submitted the form n it juz said fin..

DoomScythe
07-06-2007, 03:13 AM
Ooh, there are no official statistics? Well then. I wonder what's the motive of the teachers and admins in telling us that. Probably they wanna instill some sense of pride and belonging among the students.

IBO does not promote ranking schools according to the 'achievements' of their students in IB. The main aim of IB is to develop an individual, the results is sort of secondary, though still important. As for comments by our teachers that we are the best, it is quite true, to a certain extent. I think IBO publishes certain data regarding IB exam and it is from there that the analysis is done by our teachers. Thus the claim.

As for having roommates of different races, well, the experience is quite okay for me. It didn't make much of a difference for me when I was there. But I must say that I have one of the best roommate. Guess only he is able to live with me under one roof.... Lol...

hunny_chan
10-06-2007, 05:48 PM

So cool that u hav fren going the same college as u!haih...I think i'm the only one from melaka..so sad...but nvm, can know new frens there!!haha

Same fate la joyji, I dont hve any friends going there too, but I guess Its a lovely opprtnity 2 meet new ones.. Nice 2 meet u here joyji. Is that ur name in the real world as well?

jojyi
10-06-2007, 05:55 PM
Same fate la joyji, I dont hve any friends going there too, but I guess Its a lovely opprtnity 2 meet new ones.. Nice 2 meet u here joyji. Is that ur name in the real world as well?

Nope,not jo but jyi...haha..then u r chan??chinese??female or male??haha.. :lol:

LatinSnake
10-06-2007, 11:55 PM
Hi, seniors . I would like to know how do we connect to the internet in the college since we dont have network or wifi in the hostel?

Do we use the computer labs or something? But how many computers are there in the computer labs? And what is the time frame for us to use them? What if you have a laptop ? is there a way to connect with a laptop?

Patrick
11-06-2007, 12:08 AM
Hi, seniors . I would like to know how do we connect to the internet in the college since we dont have network or wifi in the hostel?

Do we use the computer labs or something? But how many computers are there in the computer labs? And what is the time frame for us to use them? What if you have a laptop ? is there a way to connect with a laptop?

There are certain areas for you to online using your laptop (wirelessly)
1. The Dewan Selera (Fondly called the DS)
2. The Concourse
3. The LRC
4. And some other places

If you don't have laptops, you can use the computers in the LRC (Learning Resource Centre a.k.a. library). The computers are really old......around 10 of them....of which only around 5 are working properly....and I think they're 10 years old -.-

And yes, there's a time frame...you'll know when you get there.

velvetteen
11-06-2007, 12:20 PM
aiyaya,kmb sounds very diffrnt from kyuem!kyuem well,visit the thread and you'll know what i mean....sounds like a golf resort (wif a swimming poool! 8O ),not to mention A lvl is easier than IB..

the computers are like 10 years old? 8O how bout the library then?guess most stdents there have their own comp. or laptops,rite?

how about the accomodation?i visited the website already n is it really a real pic?that means there'll be two pers/room..n how about d bathrooms etc?

how many clubs n socs are there exactly?do we have any crime there?can we bring as many electrical appliances as we want?(in intec,they charge RM 10 per appl n only 2 are allwed!!)

Tell us smthg good bout life there, seniors!!!!!!! :lol:

Patrick
12-06-2007, 12:33 AM
aiyaya,kmb sounds very diffrnt from kyuem!kyuem well,visit the thread and you'll know what i mean....sounds like a golf resort (wif a swimming poool! 8O ),not to mention A lvl is easier than IB..

the computers are like 10 years old? 8O how bout the library then?guess most stdents there have their own comp. or laptops,rite?

how about the accomodation?i visited the website already n is it really a real pic?that means there'll be two pers/room..n how about d bathrooms etc?

how many clubs n socs are there exactly?do we have any crime there?can we bring as many electrical appliances as we want?(in intec,they charge RM 10 per appl n only 2 are allwed!!)

Tell us smthg good bout life there, seniors!!!!!!! :lol:

Still, KMB sounds better....it's an IB WORLD SCHOOL after all. =P

The library's below par.....I prefer studying in the room instead. Not worth it to waste time in the library, other than to read newspapers or to access the internet.

Accomodation is twin-shared. Sorry to disappoint you, but there are no en-suite bathrooms for you guys. There are 2 large toilets (5 cubicles, 5 showers in each toilet) on each floor.

Couldn't be bothered to count the number of clubs/societies. Crime rates are very low. Let me tell you guys something that you can find ONLY IN KMB AND NOWHERE ELSE IN THIS WORLD (Perhaps)

You can actually leave RM10 somewhere and nobody will take it. Certain food are sold in the blocks. As you take the food, you put money into a plastic case. (Just don't be an @<hidden> and take both the food and the money instead!)

Most probably you won't require many electrical appliances. The rooms are small and you'll suffocate if you have too many things. No charges for electrical appliances.

velvetteen
12-06-2007, 11:07 AM
^^^Thanks Patrick!
after all,the swimming pool etc can be a mighty distraction from studies! :D

cant wait to go there n maybe ,just maybe after that,cant wait to get out from there :lol:

shahkang
12-06-2007, 11:31 AM
hye
thanks seniors for da information

hunny_chan
12-06-2007, 09:27 PM

Nope,not jo but jyi...haha..then u r chan??chinese??female or male??haha.. :lol:

Sori, spelt ur name wrong ;P 2nd time on recom I'm thought to b chinese, huhu.. I tot chan is japnese! My nationality? u'll find out.. ;) duz hunny_chan sound like a guy 2 you??! I'm a gurl.. N u r..? Juz curious ;D

Boy, patrick..I'm starting to get worried.. All da seniors make KMB seem awful.. 8O

Patrick
12-06-2007, 10:18 PM

Sori, spelt ur name wrong ;P 2nd time on recom I'm thought to b chinese, huhu.. I tot chan is japnese! My nationality? u'll find out.. ;) duz hunny_chan sound like a guy 2 you??! I'm a gurl.. N u r..? Juz curious ;D

Boy, patrick..I'm starting to get worried.. All da seniors make KMB seem awful.. 8O

Don't worry, your friends and teachers will make the place fun...

hunny_chan
12-06-2007, 10:23 PM
Don't worry, your friends and teachers will make the place fun...

You dont sound very convincing, huhu.. But i have no choice but to take ur word for it ;)

jojyi
12-06-2007, 10:26 PM

Girl too...haha..So u r malay eh...haha :wink:

blaxice
31-05-2008, 02:33 PM
huhuhu... i still dont understand wat differ between econ, it n bussines? any tip about how 2 select it? tq

jojyi
02-06-2008, 05:21 PM
huhuhu... i still dont understand wat differ between econ, it n bussines? any tip about how 2 select it? tq

I am taking business currently...mmm...for Business...it's really nice to study...Having FUN!really cz we get to apply wat we learn thru Business week...n business week is really fun! we got to sell, public speaking and so on...BUT a BIG BUT, it's hard to score...

Statistic shows higher score for Econs....AGAIN BUT, Econs is boring....u juz learn macro n micro econs...n the demand and supply....

Why not consider ITGS??haha

shahkang
02-06-2008, 06:08 PM
finally, u are back in action , ji!

Danial
15-06-2008, 01:40 AM
There is certain points to reach then only can go UK i think...plus the university's interview. Pass this then can go...i think so.....

nigelsim
15-06-2008, 11:56 AM
for medic students... yr interview is veri important... after yr interview... if u r successful... u're be given a conditional offer by de uni and u have to achieve de requirement in yr finals to enter de uni.... so basically its all up to individual effort...

luck n hope
15-06-2008, 03:14 PM
bt is the precentage high??
heard oni less than a quarter who actualli succeeded in enrolling into uk unis..

nigelsim
15-06-2008, 05:29 PM
dat im not sure... im engine student... =) maybe u can ask yr seniors when u reach kmb?

Yvette
16-06-2008, 02:29 PM
hey..i gt offered to do medic in uk too under jpa...IB 2 years in KMB...
wanna ask sth...do all the students who gt offered jpa scholarships to do medic in UK realli gt to attend universities in uk after 2 years IB?? How high is the percentage of students who DO gt to further their studies to UK?? cos i heard dat out of so many students who gt jpa scholarship offers to do their degree courses in UK, only a handful manage to pass all the interviews, requirements n tests b4 bein sent to uk...others'll jz continue studies here in IMU or other local medical unis here...is dat true?? it realli bothers me n my cousin a lot...haiz..

U'll have to secure an unconditional offer first in ur case. As a medic student applying to the UK, medical interviews are inevitable except when applying to places like Edinburgh and Queen Belfast. And after u have a place, you just have to meet the requirements. I am not so sure about the percentages tho..sorry.. Anyway, you coming to KMB with a cousin? That's cool! =)