View Full Version : Medical Checkup

specialized
24-05-2007, 03:11 PM
I called JPA, private clinics' medical checkup reports are not approved by JPA, which means we have to go to GOVERNMENT or private HOSPITAL to do our medical checkup. The only condition is: MUST BE HOSPITAL.

Usually our family doctor has our medical history for many many years.. Some even have your records since the day you're born. Your family doctor should know you very well, what medicine you can take or cant, which one is effective for you n so on.. Now you're going to study in a far place, n JPA x allows our family doctor to write that report, this is simply funny..

For blood test, it is conducted by professional labs. Their reports are very detail and internationally recognised and yet JPA not approves the private clinic's reports.

We all know that, government hospitals are super crowded at all time.. This is because they offer the cheapest medical service in the country. You'll need super long time or maybe the whole day (depends on the number of the patients on that day and your local hospital's efficiency) to conduct all the medical checkup required by JPA.

If JPA allows us to do our medical checkup in private clinics, it'll certainly save us from all the hassels n the bustles.. Dunno how they think.. haiz..

honginn89
24-05-2007, 08:27 PM
I called JPA, private clinics' medical checkup reports are not approved by JPA, which means we have to go to GOVERNMENT or private HOSPITAL to do our medical checkup. The only condition is: MUST BE HOSPITAL.

Usually our family doctor has our medical history for many many years.. Some even have your records since the day you're born. Your family doctor should know you very well, what medicine you can take or cant, which one is effective for you n so on.. Now you're going to study in a far place, n JPA x allows our family doctor to write that report, this is simply funny..

For blood test, it is conducted by professional labs. Their reports are very detail and internationally recognised and yet JPA not approves the private clinic's reports.

We all know that, government hospitals are super crowded at all time.. This is because they offer the cheapest medical service in the country. You'll need super long time or maybe the whole day (depends on the number of the patients on that day and your local hospital's efficiency) to conduct all the medical checkup required by JPA.

If JPA allows us to do our medical checkup in private clinics, it'll certainly save us from all the hassels n the bustles.. Dunno how they think.. haiz..

thanks for the info.. i also think of doing medical check up in private hospital as the government hospital is too crowded and wasting a lot of time.. hiaz.. but since jpa wanna the report from government hospital then we cant do anything dy.. but i wondering is the government hospital can do all the medical check up in one month??

24-05-2007, 08:33 PM
Petronas Do listed out some Private clinics all over the country that we can make our medical check-up and in the same time we can do it at Gorvernment Hospotal.

Kinda better right?

I got the Petronas offer letter today and i have skimmed through it... :)

24-05-2007, 08:35 PM
I guess it is about recognition, as there might be bogus private clinics around. I guess the flexibility of government allowing private hospitals medical check-up is a good step forward, although its availability might only be limited to bigger cities.

I did my medical check-up in government hospitals, and I would say I manage to go through the whole process quite fast. Do give it a try. Go early (8am) when they open, and that would save you a bunch of time. Avoid Monday morning, as that's usually the pick. Choose either Tues/Wed/Thurs. It is usually less crowded on those days.

In fact, when you get admitted to those universities abroad and they would require you to do medical check-up again, and they would not take private clinic doctors' report.

JuDy89
24-05-2007, 08:53 PM
so we really cant do medical check up in private clinics?even though having the tibi test in the government hospital?the buku syarat-syarat tawaran did say that we can do medical check up in private clinics though..so is it alright?

nysha
25-05-2007, 08:05 AM
does the place where u r suppose to do ur medical checkup matter tht much....juz move on...if its to b in the govt hospital...so be it...i m sure jpa has their ownb reasons on y it shuld be conducted there...

btw according to my doctor ppl usually pay pvt clinic to fake their medical report so tht culd be one reason y it shuld be done in the govt hosp...
Vermont Marijuana Dispensary (http://vermont.dispensaries.org/)

Vint
25-05-2007, 01:20 PM
How much do we need to pay for the medic checkup??
i heard someone mention that she brought her offer letter there and get to do it for free of charge..

jiaer
25-05-2007, 01:33 PM
i heard someone mention that she brought her offer letter there and get to do it for free of charge..

free of charge? really?
i went to alor star GH, they asked me to pay RM170. :?
so, i jus did urine drug n hiv test there, costs RM90.

25-05-2007, 02:02 PM
Arghh, do we need a blood test for the medical checkup? I am scared of needles :cry:

specialized
25-05-2007, 02:52 PM
Arghh, do we need a blood test for the medical checkup? I am scared of needles :cry:

O course, blood test is compulsory. They take quite many bloods.. Vert scary 1 you know.. If you're too nervous and the needle 'patah' halfway, lagi scary.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

haha. juz relax lar

jac6198
25-05-2007, 03:01 PM
i e mail jpa.. and the reply is u can do it any private CLINIC or HOPSITAL... no restriction.. coz u will have ur copy of blood test report or others.. so, if they find it suspicious, they will refer to the report... or perharps asking u to undergo test agen...

25-05-2007, 05:07 PM
How long did u all take to have a medical checkk-up??

As, just now i phoned some private clinics listed by Petronas, they said approximately 1 hour...

And do we need to pay for the medical check-up in provate clinics or GH?

Kevin89
30-05-2007, 03:03 PM
I went for the medical check today and it cost me RM 147, but don't know whether they will charge extra when i go take my reports after 3 days :?

Eternality
30-05-2007, 04:03 PM

Yup .. i heard of tat too ... but u 'll get it free only if ur dad or mum(or both) is government servant ... n ur parent has 2 bring d offer letter ... (this is wat i heard)

Eternality
30-05-2007, 04:34 PM
i e mail jpa.. and the reply is u can do it any private CLINIC or HOPSITAL... no restriction.. coz u will have ur copy of blood test report or others.. so, if they find it suspicious, they will refer to the report... or perharps asking u to undergo test agen...

thx ...

Sanddy
30-05-2007, 04:43 PM

Yup .. i heard of tat too ... but u 'll get it free only if ur dad or mum(or both) is government servant ... n ur parent has 2 bring d offer letter ... (this is wat i heard)

No lar. Not all gov hospital give you free.
Juz went for my medical check up dis morning. Even though I brought both my parents' (gov servant) offer letter, they say that STUDENTS have to pay * Pemeriksaan untuk tujuan melanjutkan pelajaran kena bayar*(dunno why) . I paid RM 175.00. For others ( not students) they only need to pay RM20.00!
You need to bring a copy of your JPA offer letter and you need to fill in a lot of forms there. So, remember to bring along a ball pen there.
However, I am very satisfied with the service there. Very fast. Quite a lot of people but the longest you have to wait is only 10 minutes. Good service for a government hospital huh?
I reach there at 8am and completed my whole check up at 10am. Didn't expect it to be that early. The RM 175.00 is really worth it. The result can be obtained 2 weeks later.
Another thing, for the blood test, it is painless! You'll just feel a bit numb during the whole process. The place they cucuk is also accurate and only need to cucuk once. No mistakes made. Good. :-)

jojyi
30-05-2007, 05:02 PM
Mine here in Melaka is super duper SLOW!haih...the ppl work there showed me "the face" when i asked them what should i do??haih...mine costs rm 175...As for boys it's rm155...haha..we need the pregnancy test!haha..n for Melaka, we need to do medical check up in peringgit(mostly all) but for urine morphine we need to go back to melaka hospital...Rush here n there... :( n need to urine for TWICE!haha...luckily i drank a lot of water!haha :lol:

Vint
30-05-2007, 05:12 PM
I done part of the test today too...must go back to the hospital again for mantoux test....dunno why they only fix certain day for it...
how was the mantoux test like??just normal injection...is it painfull??haha...coz one of my friend told me that it's painful...but it is just a simple injection of 1/10 ML...into ur arm rite?

jojyi
30-05-2007, 05:19 PM
how was the mantoux test like??just normal injection...is it painfull??haha...coz one of my friend told me that it's painful...but it is just a simple injection of 1/10 ML...into ur arm rite?

Dont worry it's not painful.I watch the nurse inject into my hand.After 3 days we need to go back to let the nurse check the reaction of it.(Don't ask me why)haha.It's nothing!juz relax!

illusions
30-05-2007, 10:36 PM
joyjyi....ah siok here...u sure u have to go back to the hospital 3 days later for the mantoux test again? the nurse didn't ask me to that also......and how come u pay 175? i pay 155 including the pregnancy test also.....weird...

Vint
31-05-2007, 08:08 AM
joyjyi....ah siok here...u sure u have to go back to the hospital 3 days later for the mantoux test again? the nurse didn't ask me to that also......and how come u pay 175? i pay 155 including the pregnancy test also.....weird...
yup....must go back to hospital again to check for the mantoux test result after 3 days..

illusions
31-05-2007, 08:59 AM
sigh....i wonder what's wrong with my nurse..she didn't told me to that... :( .....

Vint
31-05-2007, 09:34 AM
Then you better go back to the department again after 3 days or give them a call,or else i'm afraid is the cannot get the result for the test,then they might inject the second time....tat is what i'm afraid of..so i'll go back there after 3 days..

Kevin89
31-05-2007, 06:20 PM
Dont worry it's not painful.I watch the nurse inject into my hand.After 3 days we need to go back to let the nurse check the reaction of it.(Don't ask me why)haha.It's nothing!juz relax!
Agree, the blood test and mantoux test is not painful. The blood test is interesting, you can see the doctor take out your blood from your vein. Mantuox test is a bit like BCG, th doctor or nurse will just inject something into yous skin. After 3 days they will take some readings. For more information, you can go here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantoux) to check.

jojyi
31-05-2007, 07:42 PM
Siok, sorry for late reply.So how's the test again?did the nurse inject today?hope everything is ok... :wink:

mumeichan
31-05-2007, 07:56 PM
I would like to know, did any of you fast(did not eat food in the morning and you last meal was 9pm the previous day) before taking the urine test(cos got glucose test). Cos I have wated so many days going here and there, I dun want to go to the Seremban Klinik Keshitan tommorow and then they tell me to go and go back cos I did not fast.

Kevin89
31-05-2007, 09:24 PM
I would like to know, did any of you fast(did not eat food in the morning and you last meal was 9pm the previous day) before taking the urine test(cos got glucose test). Cos I have wated so many days going here and there, I dun want to go to the Seremban Klinik Keshitan tommorow and then they tell me to go and go back cos I did not fast.
Erm... i didn't fast. But i think you better check it out

illusions
31-05-2007, 09:50 PM
Then you better go back to the department again after 3 days or give them a call,or else i'm afraid is the cannot get the result for the test,then they might inject the second time....tat is what i'm afraid of..so i'll go back there after 3 days

Siok, sorry for late reply.So how's the test again?did the nurse inject today?hope everything is ok...

thanks for your concern.. i went back to the deparment again and met the same nurse who attended to me the previous time. eventually, i found out that they didn't do mantoux test on me even though i paid for it already. my mum was really furious and questioned her how come she didn't do that test on me. and imagine what was her answer " Saya Pun Tak Tau"....i feel like strangaling her..i mean she was responsible to carry out that test but still she can answer me like that..sigh..tmr i have to return to the department again just for that test....sigh..now i truly understand the difference between a goverment hospital and a private hospital....in short, BAD experience for me for the medical checkup...

p/s: i will like to thank those who posted reply in this topic..if it wasn't because of you guys, i would not have even realised that i haven't done the mantoux test! thanks ya! big warm hug for u guys! :D

Eternality
01-06-2007, 12:15 AM

I fast ... i think it's necessary ... i jz drank water b4 i went 4 medical check-up ...

evan89
01-06-2007, 02:01 AM
anyone already go back for the reading for mantoux test after 3 days?
nid 2 take blood again?
i pay 155 for the whole test.. the hospital say they nid 1 month for the results so they call me 2 go a clinic 2 do... dunno y they nid so long but clinic say i can get my results after 5 days..

lavenderming
01-06-2007, 10:02 AM
nid 2 take blood again?
i pay 155 for the whole test.. the hospital say they nid 1 month for the results so they call me 2 go a clinic 2 do... dunno y they nid so long but clinic say i can get my results after 5 days..

i went 2 checked the mantouz test result 2day.
The nurse used a ruler to press n measure the diameter of the place where i got injection. According to the nurse, if the diameter(reddish area oso counted, weird~)is more than 10mm, then we are consider abnormal. I got 10mm, just passed , haha~one of my friend get 1mm only(actually he got nothing on his hand oredi, just a small dot).may b he is healthier than me, hehe~

Kevin89
01-06-2007, 10:43 AM
thanks for your concern.. i went back to the deparment again and met the same nurse who attended to me the previous time. eventually, i found out that they didn't do mantoux test on me even though i paid for it already. my mum was really furious and questioned her how come she didn't do that test on me. and imagine what was her answer " Saya Pun Tak Tau"....i feel like strangaling her..i mean she was responsible to carry out that test but still she can answer me like that..sigh..tmr i have to return to the department again just for that test....sigh..now i truly understand the difference between a goverment hospital and a private hospital....in short, BAD experience for me for the medical checkup...

p/s: i will like to thank those who posted reply in this topic..if it wasn't because of you guys, i would not have even realised that i haven't done the mantoux test! thanks ya! big warm hug for u guys! :D

"Saya pun tak tau" What a irresponsible answer, it sounds worse than "Maaf, saya terlupa buat." The only thing i don't like govt hospital is some of the staffs very irresponsible and they just want to finish off their work fast. Some even shows that face ( :x or :? )when you trying to ask him/her something.

evan89
01-06-2007, 11:16 AM
nid 2 take blood again?

The nurse used a ruler to press n measure the diameter of the place where i got injection. According to the nurse, if the diameter(reddish area oso counted, weird~)is more than 10mm, then we are consider abnormal. I got 10mm, just passed , haha~one of my friend get 1mm only(actually he got nothing on his hand oredi, just a small dot).may b he is healthier than me, hehe~

luckily no nid take blood again...
but i scare mine cant pass
reddish area oso counted??? omg mine de seem like very big ler
2molo i going to check de result
hope the reddish area will reduce...

Kevin89
01-06-2007, 02:15 PM
Reddish area also counted?? Cause i searched about mantuox test in wikipedia and it said something like this:
The reaction is read by measuring the diameter of induration (palpable raised hardened area) across the forearm (perpendicular to the long axis) in millimeters. No induration should be recorded as "0 mm". Erythema (redness) should not be measured.

mumeichan
01-06-2007, 03:44 PM
The medical checkup was a big hassle for me. First, on tuesday I went to Hospital Putrajaya, then they tell me to go to Klinik Kesihatan Putrajaya. Then after waiting and waiting, they say must make appointment and earliest is in July. So they say they will help me take X Ray only and the rest do in Nilai. So take X Ray and then wait for doctor. After an hour or so, see the doctor just for the doctor to tell me better i do everything in Nilai cause better one physician sign of everything.

Then on thurday I went to Klinik Salak Tinggi cause there they have better equipment and the place is very near to my house. But they say must go to nilai since I stay in Negeri Sembilan.(I stay at the border). So I went to Nilai, then they say there don't have drug test for urine, so tell me to go to Kelinik Kesihatan Rasah in Seremban, 30 Km from where I stay.

Friday I went there, they tell me have to pay RM165 and give me Borang Pemeriksaan Kesihatan IPTS even though I explain everything to her. And then tell me wait for three week for the result. So I scared it may be delayed. So I went to private hospital nearby. Two hours all the test done. Mantoux test must go back on monday to collect and urine/blood test must come on tuesday coz this is weekend. The HIV test also they did the Eliza method cause overseas only accept that one. But it cost me RM280 plus when I go and collect the result, pay more consultation fee. 50-80 each time I see the doctors face.And the urine test I am suppose to have my last meal 3 hours before the test.

jojyi
01-06-2007, 04:16 PM

Mine 9 mm..haha..still cant get off the reddish thingy...haha..itchy la! :lol:

evan89
01-06-2007, 04:30 PM

Mine 9 mm..haha..still cant get off the reddish thingy...haha..itchy la! :lol:

10mm so short?! How they measure ar? left to right or up to down? Mine looks like mosquito bite la how?? aiay hope 2molo will decrease la... 2molo i will be go for the result

lisha
01-06-2007, 05:58 PM
i just finished all my tests today...i had to go to three different places for the tests...so inefficient...some of the tests had to be done at pathlab so it was pretty expensive....the mantoux test was a blast...had to do it in klang hospital....mine only went up to 2mm...ahh well its all over now...

evan89
01-06-2007, 06:40 PM
Wats the normal blood pressure and pulse?

mumeichan
01-06-2007, 07:27 PM
Wats the normal blood pressure and pulse?

120/80

Vint
01-06-2007, 11:22 PM
nid 2 take blood again?

according to wikipedia...
5 mm or more is positive in
HIV-positive person
Recent contacts of TB case
Persons with nodular or fibrotic changes on chest x-ray consistent with old healed TB
Patients with organ transplants and other immunosuppressed patients

and urs is 10mm??
mine is just the first day and i didnt feel anything for now...

02-06-2007, 12:58 AM
When do u all do ur X-ray?

Is it same day with all that blood n urine test?

I will do when I receive my medical checkup report.(about 2 weeks from now).

Kevin89
02-06-2007, 09:05 AM

I did the same day with the blood and urine test. Today they called me and ask me to come for the mantoux test reading and also the report. They also said, "You need to pay another RM 109 for the lab research fee".

So total is 147 + 132 = RM 279 at private hospital.

Vint
02-06-2007, 09:59 AM

yup...mine everything on the same day except mantoux test..only during certain days...

Drew
02-06-2007, 10:04 AM
Haiz.. I went 2 gov hospital on 28/5/2007... N i paid RM105 only.. Weird though, coz i paid for the mantoux test but de nurse didn't inject me anything pun... Haiz.. They told me 2 come back 2 weeks later n do de x-ray n get other reports.. I went there on 8am n came home at 12.30pm(u know...Monday is oways like tat).... Haiz.. look like i will hav 2 do de mantoux test 2 weeks later.. wuwu... :cry:

Vint
02-06-2007, 10:08 AM
the medical checkup is quite troublesome as we have to at least go to hospital for 3 times for the whole process..

mumeichan
02-06-2007, 11:11 AM
the medical checkup is quite troublesome as we have to at least go to hospital for 3 times for the whole process..

Yeah it is troublesome. Maybe JPA wanna test us. But I have to pay consultation fee 3 times. Not to mention the petrol and toll.

I am getting worried, the injection area for the mantoux test isn't getting raised. Already 1 day.

The mantoux test is really expensive. I paid 94 for the test it self. The urine and blood test only came out to 100+.

Actually I wonder why we even need to do the mantoux test. We have received two BCG shots already. Plus BCG shot interfere with the mantoux test result. If the really want to test us for TB, might as well use a sputum test with is so much more accurate onlything you need to go back and forth for three days.

02-06-2007, 11:24 AM
i paid a staggering amount of rm250 for my medical checkup.

Vint
02-06-2007, 11:26 AM

Yeah it is troublesome. Maybe JPA wanna test us. But I have to pay consultation fee 3 times. Not to mention the petrol and toll.

I am getting worried, the injection area for the mantoux test isn't getting raised. Already 1 day.The mantoux test is really expensive. I paid 94 for the test it self. The urine and blood test only came out to 100+.

mine 2...but i thought it is a good sign??

evan89
02-06-2007, 11:58 AM

I am getting worried, the injection area for the mantoux test isn't getting raised. Already 1 day.The mantoux test is really expensive. I paid 94 for the test it self. The urine and blood test only came out to 100+.

mine 2...but i thought it is a good sign??

its not a good sign...
the area the goctor will measure after 3 days
den the are cannot more than 10mm
mine is 7mm and everything done
can i ask the pathlab medical report is juz very simple onli?
coz mine very simple onli wor

lisha
02-06-2007, 01:05 PM
yup, the pathlab report is pretty simple..all physicians will accept it...dont worry

evan89
02-06-2007, 01:32 PM
yup, the pathlab report is pretty simple..all physicians will accept it...dont worry

okok thx...

lavenderming
02-06-2007, 05:31 PM
nid 2 take blood again?

according to wikipedia...
5 mm or more is positive in
HIV-positive person
Recent contacts of TB case
Persons with nodular or fibrotic changes on chest x-ray consistent with old healed TB
Patients with organ transplants and other immunosuppressed patients

and urs is 10mm??
mine is just the first day and i didnt feel anything for now...

haha~ feel nth means good sign.
yes, according to wikipedia, more than 5mm is oredi consider smth wrong some where~ but it also stated there reddish compound are not counted, whereas the raised hardened area should b counted.
haha` , but,this web page has not been updated 4 quite a long time` so , i doubted 4 its trueness.... hihi~
besides , the mantoux test result differ for ppl from country to country, so malaysian calculations might b differrent, (correct me if i m wrong)

02-06-2007, 05:37 PM
Why are the test so expensive? My TB test only cost RM5. And my swelling is 7mm. Neat :D

evan89
02-06-2007, 06:50 PM
Why are the test so expensive? My TB test only cost RM5. And my swelling is 7mm. Neat :D

same as here :lol:

Susyi
03-06-2007, 03:06 AM
is it true that we really can't do our medical check up in private clinic? i have go and ask the private clinic and they only charge rm50 for all excluding the x-rays. And one of my freinds told me that we can do our medical check up in private clinic and take the medical report to the goverment hospital to ask them to fill in the medical examination form for us while we go for the last part of checking (x-ray)in the goverment hospital.

SO HOW?

evan89
03-06-2007, 11:04 AM
is it true that we really can't do our medical check up in private clinic? i have go and ask the private clinic and they only charge rm50 for all excluding the x-rays. And one of my freinds told me that we can do our medical check up in private clinic and take the medical report to the goverment hospital to ask them to fill in the medical examination form for us while we go for the last part of checking (x-ray)in the goverment hospital.

SO HOW?

i go to government hospital but tat nurse told me they nid 1 month for the result so they call me go private clinic... since dey call us 2 do so den i oso follow wat she say la dun care so much

Vint
03-06-2007, 11:26 AM
I thought someone posted b4 tat we can only go to either private hospital/government one to do the test???but i think as long as u check all the things written in the paper then i guess...it wont be any problem for u..

evan89
03-06-2007, 12:39 PM

here is the thread

evan89
03-06-2007, 12:39 PM

here is the thread

specialized
03-06-2007, 01:29 PM
Better don't go private clinic.. I called JPA myself, TWICE. Private clinic is not allowed although private clinic's report comes with pathlab blood test report and so on..

U can try ringing them up and see.. Maybe they accept it at the last minute.

My test is rm155 for all the tests required by JPA and INTEC, i did 2 times of urine tests, 3 blood tests, x-ray, TIBI test and other physical checkups.

pinkdolphin
03-06-2007, 03:09 PM
Sorry for my ignorance but may i know wether the Mantoux test is necessary for JPA scholars going to INTEC?

For those of you who went for the test are you all going to INTEC?

Vint
03-06-2007, 04:33 PM
Sorry for my ignorance but may i know wether the Mantoux test is necessary for JPA scholars going to INTEC?

For those of you who went for the test are you all going to INTEC?

i thought all jpa scholars have to do the mantoux test regardless where they go..

03-06-2007, 09:32 PM
The tibi test is necessary. Anyone knows when the swelling will come down as mine didn't really change for the past few days.

Vint
03-06-2007, 09:38 PM
Going to hospital tomorrow for the measurement...hope everything will be fine...

illusions
03-06-2007, 10:47 PM
same here..going to hospital too tmr...hoping that the measurement will not exceeds 10mm....

Vint
04-06-2007, 12:45 PM
same here..going to hospital too tmr...hoping that the measurement will not exceeds 10mm....

just back from hospital for the measurement and mine is 0mm...hehe

evan89
04-06-2007, 12:50 PM
juz now i phone jpa...
initially they told me i must do at government hospital den i told her the result nid around 1 month to process den she call me go do at private hospital but there is none private hospital here...
den she ask sum1 den she said tat private clinic is ok...

amcian
04-06-2007, 12:59 PM
i went2 private hospital too...
n d doc there blur blur bout d mantoux test...
actly..mine sure mor den 5mm...includin d reddish patch...
but d doc seemed blur on hw2 measure d patch..

n kept on sayin 'vr weak'
n den he checked my bcg injection..

n at last put down 5mm in my med report...

Vint
04-06-2007, 01:06 PM
i went2 private hospital too...
n d doc there blur blur bout d mantoux test...
actly..mine sure mor den 5mm...includin d reddish patch...
but d doc seemed blur on hw2 measure d patch..

n kept on sayin 'vr weak'
n den he checked my bcg injection..

n at last put down 5mm in my med report...

mine only slightly reddish...tat is why the nurse put there 0mm for me...so now i just have to go back for the full report...

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 03:09 PM
The tibi test is necessary. Anyone knows when the swelling will come down as mine didn't really change for the past few days.

Why don't you call up the doctor and see.

Mine was checked today. He did not measure the size with a ruler. He just poked and press and inspected if I has BCG or not. Then he say the result is negative.

If really JPA won't accept my medical check done in a private hospital. I 'll just tell them government hospital takes too long. One quoted my 3 week and another told me earliest I can do is in July. If the kick up a fuss then I'll just tell I'll go and do another one in government clinic.

evan89
04-06-2007, 03:11 PM
anyone do at private clinic?
I realli crazy with the jpa stuff dy
I phone to them and they say i could do at private clinic since there is no private hospital here
but when i email them they say must do at governemnt hospital and the result can pass up later
so what shuld i do?

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 03:15 PM
I phone to them and they say i could do at private clinic since there is no private hospital here
but when i email them they say must do at governemnt hospital and the result can pass up later
so what shuld i do?

Just play dumb.

One the day you report to the college, just tell them the government clinic said that they can't complete the report on time. So according to the blue book, you can do in private clinic if the report can't be done on time.

evan89
04-06-2007, 03:36 PM
so what shuld i do?

Just play dumb.

One the day you report to the college, just tell them the government clinic said that they can't complete the report on time. So according to the blue book, you can do in private clinic if the report can't be done on time.

can i take my medical report to government hospital call them certified for me?
hope they can accept my reason
anyway thx for the advice :)

04-06-2007, 03:41 PM
so what shuld i do?

Just play dumb.

can i take my medical report to government hospital call them certified for me?
hope they can accept my reason
anyway thx for the advice :)

The governmant hospital ask me to do it in private and then bring all the results to them to be analyse.

evan89
04-06-2007, 03:46 PM
The governmant hospital ask me to do it in private and then bring all the results to them to be analyse.

ur private means private hospital or private clinic

amin_inspired
04-06-2007, 04:26 PM
guys, if you read the Buku Panduan INTEC 2007 book, it clearly says:

Page 10
3. Membuat Pemeriksaan Kesihatan

- Anda perlu menjalani pemeriksaan kesihatan di klinik kerajaan/swasta dengan tanggungan sendiri...

:wink: :wink:

evan89
04-06-2007, 05:00 PM
I phone to jpa juz now and they very very very confirm tell me NO Private Clinic although i told her wat stated in book or how...
so i have 2 redo again medical checkup its realli terrible...
And now i hae 2 pass up the result later directly to jpa after my report done..

jojyi
04-06-2007, 05:24 PM

I tot we pass up evrything during the registration day in our respective college/U?Why u need to pass up the medical result directly to JPA?? :?

04-06-2007, 05:49 PM
I pay a total amount of RM 362 for my MEdical check up, how come?

Kevin89
04-06-2007, 06:01 PM
Where did u do your medical check up? Cause i done it in private hspital and it cost me RM 279.

Susyi
04-06-2007, 06:30 PM
I have called the Jpa hq this afternoon. And kindly be informed that we can't do our medical check up in private clinic.If yhe goverment hospital really can't make it on time, then we have to go to the private hospital but not hte private clinic. Or else u can make it in GOVERMENT clinic.

amin_inspired
04-06-2007, 07:17 PM
If there's one thing I've learned is that at Recom, recomers worry too much...

think logically. There are 1800 scholars. I bet reading that private clinics is allowed from the INTEC book, at least 30-50% will do it it private clinics.

Do you really think JPA/INTEC will tell around 900 students that the 100-300 ringgit they paid was a waste and had to do it again in government clinics/hospitals??? After THEY themselves say (in the book) that it was okay??

amin_inspired
04-06-2007, 07:17 PM

think logically. There are 1800 scholars. I bet reading that private clinics is allowed from the INTEC book, at least 30-50% will do it it private clinics.

Do you really think JPA/INTEC will tell around 900 students that the 100-300 ringgit they paid was a waste and had to do it again in government clinics/hospitals??? After THEY themselves say (in the book) that it was okay??

evan89
04-06-2007, 07:38 PM

If we were rejected at the moment we pass up the form then we have 2 redo again... Tat time the problem wil be more hectic...
Private hospital charge about rm200-300? wow its double the government hospital price..
Sure government clinic can?

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 08:19 PM

If we were rejected at the moment we pass up the form then we have 2 redo again... Tat time the problem wil be more hectic...
Private hospital charge about rm200-300? wow its double the government hospital price..
Sure government clinic can?

I am quite sure government clinic can. Cause I went to Hospital Putrajaya and the told me to go to Klinik Putrjaya, then after some problem here and there I ended up in Klinik Nilai which told me to do it in Klinik Rasah which is Hospital Besar Seremban's little sister.

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 08:20 PM
Where did u do your medical check up? Cause i done it in private hspital and it cost me RM 279.

Different private hospital will charge differently. I think if someone did it in Assunta Hospital, it would be about Rm400.

04-06-2007, 08:33 PM
to be safe, i would recommend all of you to do it in government hospitals or private hospitals. and, yes you have to bear the cost.

there was some last time who did it in private clinics initially, but JPA returned back their medical report and asked them to do it again in government of private hospitals. so they have to undergo everything again...

evan89
04-06-2007, 08:43 PM
to be safe, i would recommend all of you to do it in government hospitals or private hospitals. and, yes you have to bear the cost.

there was some last time who did it in private clinics initially, but JPA returned back their medical report and asked them to do it again in government of private hospitals. so they have to undergo everything again...

oic.. i juz discovered a private hospital here but not sure is hospital or not 2molo going to confirm bout it...
I have 2 redo my test but tibi and xray couldnt be repeat i heard..
so anothee problem for me
jingguo r u previous jpa scholar?

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 08:45 PM

I am wondering, how would JPA know if someone did it in a private clinic or a private hospital? Cause it is only like the private hospital is going to put down some chop on the form.

For governmen hospital it is easy cause the doctor for gamen servant grade. But private clinic and private hospital doctor is similar.

mumeichan
04-06-2007, 08:49 PM

oic.. i juz discovered a private hospital here but not sure is hospital or not 2molo going to confirm bout it...

You can do the mantoux test a few time. No harm.

But it is not advisable to do an x-ray more than one time as exposure to x-rays lead to cancer.

04-06-2007, 09:14 PM
yes i am a JPA scholar.. did my AUSMAT in INTEC and now doing medic in IMU...

as to the previous questions, you need to go to the hospitals (may it be government of private) just so to have the hospital cop... private clinics may not be as established... think of this.. private clinics can close down anytime... and the doctors might just vanish.. but for private hospitals, its a much larger institution and more reliable and trustworthy for the JPA to confirm the validity of the tests...

dont take x-ray too many times.. it does leads to cancer.. have a well three months before you do another x-ray.. if you do have taken the x-ray from provate clinics and it is taken within the last 3 months, bring them to the private hospitals and tell them you have taken them before.. they would not ask you to ge another one normally..

evan89
04-06-2007, 10:09 PM
okok... I could phone jpa again 2molo to confirm again
if they rejected private clinic den i would go to private hospital coz government hospital is definitely cant give me de result in time..
thx for the advice... Btw JPA realli call those do in private clinic redo dey test even they already start their study?

syiang
04-06-2007, 10:48 PM
do we have to go for suntikan Typhoid and TB?

Vint
04-06-2007, 11:21 PM

But it is not advisable to do an x-ray more than one time as exposure to x-rays lead to cancer.

once only???stupid nurse took mine twice coz she said the first time was not very clear...and must take the second time....

evan89
04-06-2007, 11:23 PM

once only???stupid nurse took mine twice coz she said the first time was not very clear...and must take the second time....

coz the xray all the radioactive not so good to our health
but since de nurse do like tat maybe she feel ok

mumeichan
05-06-2007, 12:53 AM

Is there such a thing as suntikan typhoid and TB. Do you mean vaccination?

Nurse? You mean a nurse took the X-Ray. I though only radiographers are allowed to do x rays?

evan89
05-06-2007, 12:42 PM
mine report done finally haha
from private hospital
but their mantoux test no say how many mm juz say negative..
could be accepted?

Vint
05-06-2007, 01:16 PM

Nurse? You mean a nurse took the X-Ray. I though only radiographers are allowed to do x rays?

yup...i think she's just a nurse but there is a radiographer there also but doing something else...

evan89
05-06-2007, 01:35 PM
How come the private hospiatl din rite my mantoux test how many mm juz rite negative?

jojyi
05-06-2007, 01:55 PM

I tot we pass up evrything during the registration day in our respective college/U?Why u need to pass up the medical result directly to JPA?? :?

Hey ppl i need an answer!!haha...tell me pls...i m confused..

Vint
05-06-2007, 01:57 PM

just bring everything including ur medical report on the registration day itself...no need to post anything back to jpa..

05-06-2007, 02:20 PM
mine report done finally haha
from private hospital
but their mantoux test no say how many mm juz say negative..
could be accepted?

yeah.. i think it is accepted la.. all they need to know if you're positive or negative for that test la.. takkan la they have to screen all the values of each person right??? they just need to know whether u're healthy or not.

and i am a JPA scholar as mentioned before, currently in IMU doind medicine. used to study AUSMAT in INTEC.

ivyconan
05-06-2007, 02:31 PM
Here is mine medical check-up experience. I'm in Penang, Perai. 1st,i go 2 Bukit Mertajam Hosp. After they see my form, they reject me n told me 2 go bac 2 Seberang Jaya Clinic 2 do,cz I'm Seberang Jaya resident."Kami Tak Buat Sebab Kamu Dari Seberang Jaya,Pergi Klinik Seberang Jaya Buat" Dats wat they say. 8O

FINE! Then I go 2 Seberang Jaya Clinic,tell me 2 cum bac the next morning (Wednesday) wif RM125. On Wednesday, I go at 8 a.m. n be the 1st 2 do medical check-up dat day.Process is quite fast.1st do my X-ray,then take blood pressure,height......,next,sight test,urine test,blood test.....bla...bla.....

Then, they tell me 2 do blood test 4 TPHA n Hepatitis at private cz they say the clinic din provide dis service .8O (Btw,I inject 4 times b4 they really get my blood, cz they say:"salur darah kamu terlalu halus la.. Tak nampak..." So, my hand all bruise over now :( )

Therefore, I go Pathlab n took blood test n luckily, they r more pro as they get my blood at the 1st injection.

Bout the mantoux test, the clinic told me 2 go 2 Hosp. Seberang Jaya 2 do. Go there on Friday, inject Tuberculin into my arm n tell me 2 cum bac on Monday (3 days later). They say they specify the days 4 mantoux test cz hv 2 check after 3 days n there's clinic days.(Nurses there r friendly)

My mantoux test is 7mm n the nurse say nothing. They even give me vitamin as they say I m thin,need 2 put on some weight.(I like them). Vitamin will increase my apetite.

Pathlab report's out n my Hepatitis B antibody is nonreactive. They recommended me to take immunization. So, injections again....Haiz..

evan89
05-06-2007, 02:32 PM

Be4 tat i tell them my medical report unable to done in time if do in governemnt hospital so they call me pass up later but bring directly to jpa
Now i done dy in private hospital so nth dy
i phone them be4 they say no nid post
everything bring to register and pass up there

ivyconan
05-06-2007, 02:32 PM
Here is mine medical check-up experience. I'm in Penang, Perai. 1st,i go 2 Bukit Mertajam Hosp. After they see my form, they reject me n told me 2 go bac 2 Seberang Jaya Clinic 2 do,cz I'm Seberang Jaya resident."Kami Tak Buat Sebab Kamu Dari Seberang Jaya,Pergi Klinik Seberang Jaya Buat" Dats wat they say. 8O

FINE! Then I go 2 Seberang Jaya Clinic,tell me 2 cum bac the next morning (Wednesday) wif RM125. On Wednesday, I go at 8 a.m. n be the 1st 2 do medical check-up dat day.Process is quite fast.1st do my X-ray,then take blood pressure,height......,next,sight test,urine test,blood test.....bla...bla.....

Then, they tell me 2 do blood test 4 TPHA n Hepatitis at private cz they say the clinic din provide dis service .8O (Btw,I inject 4 times b4 they really get my blood, cz they say:"salur darah kamu terlalu halus la.. Tak nampak..." So, my hand all bruise over now :( )

Therefore, I go Pathlab n took blood test n luckily, they r more pro as they get my blood at the 1st injection.

Bout the mantoux test, the clinic told me 2 go 2 Hosp. Seberang Jaya 2 do. Go there on Friday, inject Tuberculin into my arm n tell me 2 cum bac on Monday (3 days later). They say they specify the days 4 mantoux test cz hv 2 check after 3 days n there's clinic days.(Nurses there r friendly)

My mantoux test is 7mm n the nurse say nothing. They even give me vitamin as they say I m thin,need 2 put on some weight.(I like them). Vitamin will increase my apetite.

Pathlab report's out n my Hepatitis B antibody is nonreactive. They recommended me to take immunization. So, injections again....Haiz..

evan89
05-06-2007, 02:37 PM

the pathlab report very simple onli or very long?
they check for hepatitis B antibody?
i thought they juz check wheither u got hepitatais B or not only

05-06-2007, 03:06 PM

yeah.. they just wanna know if you have hep b or not.. so testing for hep b antibody isnt tht important...

mumeichan
05-06-2007, 03:12 PM

Be4 tat i tell them my medical report unable to done in time if do in governemnt hospital so they call me pass up later but bring directly to jpa
Now i done dy in private hospital so nth dy
i phone them be4 they say no nid post
everything bring to register and pass up there

Not every college is the same. There may be some colleges that will not have a JPA officer on the day you sign up. So better everyone call JPA and make sure that there will be someone at the college. If not they consider you reject the offer.

05-06-2007, 04:01 PM

yeah.. they just wanna know if you have hep b or not.. so testing for hep b antibody isnt tht important...

Yeah, but at least I know much immunity level. Lucky, my hep b antibody level was so low I need to take another vaccine asap.

jac6198
05-06-2007, 04:15 PM
i am from east m'sia.. and i did my check up in private medical specialist centre... is considered private hospital too.. but the problem is, how will jpa be abe to know that it is a private hospital not private clinic since the name ends up wif specialist centre?

05-06-2007, 04:21 PM

Yeah, but at least I know much immunity level. Lucky, my hep b antibody level was so low I need to take another vaccine asap.

haha.. good for you... at least you know your level's low.. when you get the jab, ask the doc to write you a letter to prove that you have taken the jab... so you dont have to do the blood test again next time....

anglerfish_9
05-06-2007, 05:01 PM
jojyi n siok , when will we get our medical checkup report actually ? after two weeks or three weeks ?

avonz
05-06-2007, 06:17 PM
Do we REALLY need the medical check up full report from the hospital?? Coz i thought jpa only ask for the laporan pemeriksaan perubatan JPA/BL/KESIHATAN/1/2006. We have to wait for 2 - 3 weeks for it, so the medical report might not get to be done in time. Can't we just see a doctor and ask him to fill in the health declaration forms after we already done the blood, urine & mantoux test & x-ray?? Somebody pls explain, I'm so confused :( :(

05-06-2007, 07:38 PM
Do we REALLY need the medical check up full report from the hospital?? Coz i thought jpa only ask for the laporan pemeriksaan perubatan JPA/BL/KESIHATAN/1/2006. We have to wait for 2 - 3 weeks for it, so the medical report might not get to be done in time. Can't we just see a doctor and ask him to fill in the health declaration forms after we already done the blood, urine & mantoux test & x-ray?? Somebody pls explain, I'm so confused :( :(

hmm... i thought the medical officers just have to fill in the borang laporan pemeriksaan perubatan only??? they just have to fill up all the things in the form based on the lab reports n x-rays only right???

evan89
05-06-2007, 08:16 PM
I did email the jpa to ask bout de emdical checkup
and the reply is we can onli do at government hospital or private hospital...

illusions
05-06-2007, 08:36 PM
jojyi n siok , when will we get our medical checkup report actually ? after two weeks or three weeks ?

hmm....i went for the medical checkup on 28th may..and i'll be receiving the report on 13th june since i'm doing it in government clinic..so roughly bout 2 weeks plus...pretty long...i think if u do it in private hospital, you will get your medical report earlier and even faster... :D

jojyi
05-06-2007, 10:50 PM
ya wat siok says is true...i did the day aft her but my report will b out the same day as hers which is 13 june...hehe..pin, u better do it earlier if u wanna do it in government hospital... :wink:

KA
05-06-2007, 10:51 PM
I have to wait for two weeks two.Din even do the mantoux test becoz the health officer there din say anything about it.I just got a simple check up following by X-ray urine test & blood test. Afterall, i even doubted that there is no such "high-tech" thingy test here in Miri although it is just a simple test.

06-06-2007, 04:44 AM
i hav 2 wait 4 another 3 WEEKS 2 get my blood test result....... i haven done my mantoux test yet.... so slow, dunno wheter cn i hav da report in time or nt...... btw, i do my checkup in government clinic... poor service...

evan89
06-06-2007, 09:14 AM
i hav 2 wait 4 another 3 WEEKS 2 get my blood test result....... i haven done my mantoux test yet.... so slow, dunno wheter cn i hav da report in time or nt...... btw, i do my checkup in government clinic... poor service...

If u cant finish in time u can pass up 2 jpa later but not too late coz may affect the payment jpa send 2 u
jpa must confirm everything juz will send money 2 ur cimb account.

06-06-2007, 09:30 AM

If u cant finish in time u can pass up 2 jpa later but not too late coz may affect the payment jpa send 2 u

yes.. JPA would delay their payment if you're late in sending all the related documents to them.. they need some time to run through everything, so the later you hand in your documents, the later you get your $$$...

jac6198
06-06-2007, 10:31 AM
i am geeting real confused by jpa now... my fren and i did recif e mail frm jpa saying going to private clinic or hosp will be accpetable if gov hops couldn't make it... but even89 recif email saying m,uz do either in private hops or gov hosp... can't jpa standardise their system? aor maybe because i did mention i am frm east m'sia.. so, an exception? since the gov hops here is real slow

06-06-2007, 11:31 AM
i am geeting real confused by jpa now... my fren and i did recif e mail frm jpa saying going to private clinic or hosp will be accpetable if gov hops couldn't make it... but even89 recif email saying m,uz do either in private hops or gov hosp... can't jpa standardise their system? aor maybe because i did mention i am frm east m'sia.. so, an exception? since the gov hops here is real slow

i'm not sure about doing it in private clinics.. but so far, my east malaysian friends all did their med scheck in hospitals, either private or gov.. but never heard of anyone who did theirs in clinics.. so the safest would be doing it in private hospitals la, if you dont want to wait..

pikachiu
06-06-2007, 11:31 AM
do we have 2 fil medical checkup fom in INTEC booklet?or juz fil te 2 foms provided by JPA?Coz in the yelow book,it states tat 1 copy has 2 b submited 2 jpa while te other copy give 2 institut pengajian.URGENT!!!!!! 8) 8)

evan89
06-06-2007, 11:52 AM

Ya jpa realli make ppl confusing
morning i phone them they say since i already done in private clinic dey say ok
den afternoon i phone again 2 confirm 1 more time they tell me NO must redo in hospital (private or government)
here is the email they replied me

Salam sejahtera,
Untuk makluman, pemeriksaan kesihatan hanya boleh dilakukan di hospital
kerajaan
atau hospital swasta sahaja. Keputusan tersebut boleh diserahkan kepada
pegawai JPA
semasa hari pendaftaran. Bagi yang bermasalah untuk menyerahkannya pada hari
tersebut,
pelajar boleh menghantar laporan selepas hari pandaftaran.

Terima kasih.

06-06-2007, 11:58 AM
aiyooo.. that's what i've said al this while la.. just do it in the private hospitals... then you'll save all the unnecessary problems of having to redo them again in hopitals if you did it the first time in the clinics... dont care what jpa says la... as long as you've done it in hospitals (either in private or government ones, then JPA would sure has nothing else to say la...

ivyconan
06-06-2007, 03:00 PM
I did my Hepatitis B & TPHA blood test in Pathlab For RM50.So, the total of medical check-up I spent is RM175.

Well, for the Hepatitis B, pathlab did the whole set for me. They test my antigen & antibody at the same time. Dat's why i noe my antibody is nonreactive. Some of my frens did it at other place, so they din test for antibody (RM 35,cheaper). But, now dat I noe my antibody is nonreactive, my dad said better go & take immunization before start my studies. I hav took the 1st dose, and have 2 more doses at July & Dec.1 dose =2 injections cz inject antibody of Hepatitis A & B together.

Btw, my report on TPHA written 'Negative'. But, some of my frens who did blood test at other place write 'Nonreactive'. Is there any difference? :roll:

I was told by Seberang Jaya Clinic 2 settle everything at private 1st n cotact them after 8 days. Then, I can get my report.

Seberang jaya Clinic told me dat it's ok 2 do at private as long as u get the report or everything done and give 2 government clinics or hospitals to check & sign (or cop) at last. Hope dat will help. :wink:

06-06-2007, 03:08 PM
I did my Hepatitis B & TPHA blood test in Pathlab For RM50.So, the total of medical check-up I spent is RM175.

Well, for the Hepatitis B, pathlab did the whole set for me. They test my antigen & antibody at the same time. Dat's why i noe my antibody is nonreactive. Some of my frens did it at other place, so they din test for antibody (RM 35,cheaper). But, now dat I noe my antibody is nonreactive, my dad said better go & take immunization before start my studies. I hav took the 1st dose, and have 2 more doses at July & Dec.1 dose =2 injections cz inject antibody of Hepatitis A & B together.

Btw, my report on TPHA written 'Negative'. But, some of my frens who did blood test at other place write 'Nonreactive'. Is there any difference? :roll:

I was told by Seberang Jaya Clinic 2 settle everything at private 1st n cotact them after 8 days. Then, I can get my report.

Seberang jaya Clinic told me dat it's ok 2 do at private as long as u get the report or everything done and give 2 government clinics or hospitals to check & sign (or cop) at last. Hope dat will help. :wink:

where do u live? I am kinda curious :wink:

ivyconan
06-06-2007, 05:17 PM
Well,I live in Seberang Jaya, Butterworth,Penang.

evan89
06-06-2007, 05:19 PM
yaya at the end if ur medical report got the "chop" from government hospital or private hospital is ok...
if u do in private clinic try to go hospital to get certified den it will be ok.. coz jpa will thought u did at hospital dunno u do in private clinic den go hosptal "chop" hehe dis is the way for u not to redo the test again... :D

06-06-2007, 05:28 PM
yaya at the end if ur medical report got the "chop" from government hospital or private hospital is ok...
if u do in private clinic try to go hospital to get certified den it will be ok.. coz jpa will thought u did at hospital dunno u do in private clinic den go hosptal "chop" hehe dis is the way for u not to redo the test again... :D

smart fella... haha... :D

Kevin89
06-06-2007, 05:28 PM
Wow, what a smart way :D

syiang
07-06-2007, 11:18 AM

not sure. it was written inside the INTEC booklet...
so do we have to take the injection?

07-06-2007, 02:42 PM

not sure. it was written inside the INTEC booklet...
so do we have to take the injection?

well, there's vaccination jab for TB.. and that vaccination is called BCG.. i suppose almost everyone if not all would have taken BCG jab in their lifetime... and there's no vaccination for typhoid fever... regarding on do you still nedd BCG jab, consult your doctor... that's the correct channel that you should be asking..

07-06-2007, 11:59 PM

Go PATHLAB, very fast to finish. The government doctor accept their report and then use it. But why they let you take in the first place if they cannot finish in time. Did you tell them the due date.

Mine also in government but they say can finish everything in 1 week.

evan89
08-06-2007, 10:07 AM

Go PATHLAB, very fast to finish. The government doctor accept their report and then use it. But why they let you take in the first place if they cannot finish in time. Did you tell them the due date.

I went on 30th May and i told the nurse i have to go at 3rd july den the "brilliant" nurse so act pandai say "tak sempat la awak pergi buat kat xxxxx"... I think is the lazyness of the nurse... :o

KA
08-06-2007, 10:23 AM
HAIZ.....how come the nurse dare to act like that as if she is the Director af the hospital already.A month's time yet they cant finish the report.This really make the public frustrated although they get their salary raised..not worth it :x :x :x :roll:

08-06-2007, 12:13 PM
HAIZ.....how come the nurse dare to act like that as if she is the Director af the hospital already.A month's time yet they cant finish the report.This really make the public frustrated although they get their salary raised..not worth it :x :x :x :roll:

well, that's a true malaysian.. tau cakap tak tau buat...

08-06-2007, 06:26 PM
for my case, the nurse actually said very hard to squeeze time for my result because some of the tests got a lot of people waiting to do. But then she check the calendar and said ok. There is some time before the end of this month.

Then, when I meet the medical checkup officer. He said, blood test take from private because it is not fast enough and not complete here. The rest he just ask me to go to what room and i finish everything and get result within one hour. Lastly, he said return in one week for my drug test result.

The irony, the nurse said there were a lot of person waiting in line for medical checkup but I finish mine in just one hour.

jojyi
09-06-2007, 12:01 AM
Thank goodness...our melaka melaka hospiatl(government hospital) juz called us to go to the peringgit clinic(government clinic) to do all the test(complete)except urine morphine and within three weeks we can get everything!thank goodness!haha... :wink:

forEVA
09-06-2007, 12:30 AM
just sharing something light here: my friend went for a medical checkup early this year before she could go to australia to further her studies, n the doc actually asked her if she was pregnant! 8O well that's up to him to figure that out, isnt it? that's y the gov wants it's scholars to get a medical checkup, right? haha.. anyways, if a doc had asked me this sorta question, i would reply "well that's for me to know, n for u to find out." then give him/her a wink, n a big, broad smile... :wink: :D

09-06-2007, 02:49 AM

actually i've paid everytin b4 doing my checkup in d gov hospital, n d officer there ask me 2 do my blood test n d other part of d check up in public clinic except 4 xray n urine test, since it's nearer 2 my place... bt yet da service there reli sux n i dun reli hav a gud time there... da way they carry up their job... haiz, dun wanna elaborate more on tat... later, i found out tat gov hospital onli need 1 wk 4 da blood test, so i go back there, told them i haven't done my blood test, n do it again there.... according 2 da nurse there, everytin wil b done by nx wk... btw, da service there is much more better compared 2 da public clinic...

j
09-06-2007, 10:27 AM
I have to fill in three health declaration forms(2 for jpa and 1 for INTEC).So should i prepare three medical reports and three X-ray films?BTW,my sister did her medical check-up in a private clinic and jpa didn't reject her report.so i guess it's not a problem for us to do our medical check-up in private clinics.

mumeichan
09-06-2007, 10:49 AM
I have to fill in three health declaration forms(2 for jpa and 1 for INTEC).So should i prepare three medical reports and three X-ray films?BTW,my sister did her medical check-up in a private clinic and jpa didn't reject her report.so i guess it's not a problem for us to do our medical check-up in private clinics.

No no. One x-ray is enough. Never take more than one. You should hand over all three forms to the doctor. Then the doctor will fill up all the forms with the medical report the hospital produced from the results from all your test. Don;t tell me three forms you wanna do three blood test, three mantoux test also. :D

But for x-ray, make sure it is one only no matter what. Cause x-ray is very harmful.

j
09-06-2007, 11:10 AM

No no. One x-ray is enough. Never take more than one. You should hand over all three forms to the doctor. Then the doctor will fill up all the forms with the medical report the hospital produced from the results from all your test. Don;t tell me three forms you wanna do three blood test, three mantoux test also. :D

But for x-ray, make sure it is one only no matter what. Cause x-ray is very harmful.

thanx for the reply.I was planning to ask the doctor to do three reports based on my medical check-up.In other words,ask them to type three copies...So we just hand in the forms and not the medical report?

mumeichan
09-06-2007, 11:31 AM

thanx for the reply.I was planning to ask the doctor to do three reports based on my medical check-up.In other words,ask them to type three copies...So we just hand in the forms and not the medical report?

Actually it goes like this. When you go for a medical checkup, you will see the doctor then he will check you up and write all the things down. The the lab staff will take your blood and urine and then the results will come in the form of a pathlab report. Then the doctor has all these reports in his hand. He will then transfer the data to the forms you have. So you give him three forms he will fill them up sign it and cop it.

chngyx
09-06-2007, 11:35 AM
me too gt frustrated when the Semenyih branch Klinik kesihatan pegawai said tat they dun offer blood test there.Damn man! A government hospital dun have blood test?! The pegawai just being very very lazy.So i have to go to another klinik,Klinik Kesihatan Bt 9. Totally diff ,the nurses n pegawai there r so polite n provide good service,explain all the test u'll go thru and make appointment straight away.It takes about 20 days for the final report but the Semenyih branch need 1 months! What the hell!

evan89
09-06-2007, 02:05 PM
Do we need to pass up our blood test result and xray film?
I thought just pass up only the medical checkup form completed by the doctor only.
Any idea?

mumeichan
09-06-2007, 02:39 PM
I thought just pass up only the medical checkup form completed by the doctor only.
Any idea?

We just need to pass up our medical checkup form that is given by JPA. All other stuff you can keep unless you fail you medical checkup or abnormalities are spotted. The you gotta bring the x-ray along and anything else the doctor gives you to explain your situation.

09-06-2007, 10:36 PM
Any idea?

We just need to pass up our medical checkup form that is given by JPA. All other stuff you can keep unless you fail you medical checkup or abnormalities are spotted. The you gotta bring the x-ray along and anything else the doctor gives you to explain your situation.

Yup, you just need the jpa medical form only. Btw, I saw a round dot in one of my lungs x-ray. Is that tumour?

Wits
10-06-2007, 12:10 AM
Btw, I saw a round dot in one of my lungs x-ray. Is that tumour?

check this site : http://www.pennhealth.com/ency/article/003804.htm. it might help you to discover something.

mumeichan
10-06-2007, 12:12 AM
Any idea?

Yup, you just need the jpa medical form only. Btw, I saw a round dot in one of my lungs x-ray. Is that tumour?

The round dot could be anything. Only further testing will be able to determine exactly what it is, assuming it is abnormal.

weizeng
10-06-2007, 11:39 PM
so we really cant do medical check up in private clinics?even though having the tibi test in the government hospital?the buku syarat-syarat tawaran did say that we can do medical check up in private clinics though..so is it alright?

i agree..and i hav done my medical check up in private clinic,i think it should be okay...please correct me if i m wrong before it's too late..thanks ya! :wink:

Vint
10-06-2007, 11:46 PM
I've took my x-ray twice and i notice that there is something not balance in my x-ray result and somehow they doctor tell me that it is normal and no prob with it....means wat??

evan89
10-06-2007, 11:57 PM

i agree..and i hav done my medical check up in private clinic,i think it should be okay...please correct me if i m wrong before it's too late..thanks ya! :wink:

well i had phone jpa twice and thier answer is no private clinic..
Btw maybe they will accept at the end maybe we dunno so the safest is to do in private/government hospital... I think it is better u all phone jpa and re confirm coz if u went there ur medical result get rejected then u will going to endure some predicament.. So check and ask properly be4 its too late...

11-06-2007, 11:20 AM
I've took my x-ray twice and i notice that there is something not balance in my x-ray result and somehow they doctor tell me that it is normal and no prob with it....means wat??

trust the doc.. if he says its fine, then it is.. i doubt anyone in this forum could confirm with on this actually.. everyone is not the same anatomically.. so there's definitely slight variations to everything.. if you still feel unsure about this, consult a specialist. that's the right way to do it...

wenn
11-06-2007, 02:40 PM
i went to the government hospital in my hometown....ask them how long would they take to complete the medical report.
guess what? the answer is ---- 6 weeks!! i wonder why

evan89
11-06-2007, 03:16 PM
i went to the government hospital in my hometown....ask them how long would they take to complete the medical report.

1st maybe they have alot of cases to handle so nid so long
2nd they lazy to do for u wan u to do at other place

11-06-2007, 03:20 PM

Too much people who wanted medical checkup at the same time. You must not forgot to include those MARA, go to other colleges or even IPTA. They are all required to do the same thing.

11-06-2007, 03:37 PM
I went to the privae clinic for medical checp-up for my Petronas medical check-up.

I have spent RM 362 and the working days counting from the 1st day I went to do the medical check-up until I get the full report, alltogether less than 3 days.

Can JPA scholars go to private Clinics? If can tr up private, JPA dont need so much medical check-up as Petronas' which means u dont need to pay as much as mine.

I even know that I am O positive..for blood test but I know JPA dun need to.

dpadma
11-06-2007, 05:46 PM
i did mine in assunta hosp. u can get ur report the same day.go in 8.30 am get ur full report by noon ( if u r nt taking mantoux) if u are taking mantoux test u get back to the hosp 72 hours later fr ur reading n consultation n off u go with ur report. cost me rm 280 ( breakfast provided too)

11-06-2007, 06:22 PM
wow..where that assunta located?

and..how on earth that they even provide u breakfast?

11-06-2007, 06:23 PM

mumeichan
11-06-2007, 06:49 PM

Assunta is somewhere near Subang Jaya. And yeah,you can get a full medical checkup including other test on the same day. Coz my dad always goes there as he has health problems. But my dad never once got free breakfast though. By the way I like the canteen food and the hospital food very much.

11-06-2007, 06:59 PM
alright..Thanks :P

dpadma
11-06-2007, 07:01 PM
yea Assunta hosp is in PJ . 20 min frm subang jaya(tht is if federal highway is not jampacked la) yes for health screeners they provide breakfast in the OPD health screening lobby. free. hot water provided,cofee,tea,and sandwiches (coz some of em fast. i didnt fast but then again free food :Dhahah)

galfera
11-06-2007, 07:04 PM
wanna ask u guys sumthin, did government hospitals have HIV test? how long 4 me 2 get the result?

please, enlighten me on this as i need 2 to my med check up which includes hiv test 4 my YTN.....

dpadma
11-06-2007, 07:11 PM
yep the assunta hosp food is nice! they have kuay teow goreng n soup , nasi goreng belacan ,biasa etc etc . I like going in to gt their currypuff . its best after the currypuff sold at a stall in bangsar :)

galfera it depends ur local gov hosp. depends how far they r willing to go. but for most gov hosp yes they do provide hiv test. its quite standard. about ur results u mean hiv test only? or fr full report? full report my best bet would be 2 weeks frm ur 1st visit.(may vary, some mre than 3 weeks, depending ur local gov hosp)

leinad
11-06-2007, 07:14 PM
i did my test ....but didt see the results cus i wasnt there when my dad took it

the receptionist told me that u can claim back the medical fees from petronas...
mine cost RM 250
1st time take blood
1st time peed into cup
1st time chest xray
LOL

galfera
11-06-2007, 07:18 PM
yep the assunta hosp food is nice! they have kuay teow goreng n soup , nasi goreng belacan ,biasa etc etc . I like going in to gt their currypuff . its best after the currypuff sold at a stall in bangsar :)

galfera it depends ur local gov hosp. depends how far they r willing to go. but for most gov hosp yes they do provide hiv test. its quite standard. about ur results u mean hiv test only? or fr full report? full report my best bet would be 2 weeks frm ur 1st visit.(may vary, some mre than 3 weeks, depending ur local gov hosp)

OMG, 2 weeks 2 get my result!!!!!!!!!! 8O 8O 8O oh no, dat means i hv 2 use a flight n go 2 the nearest pvt hosp-columbia asia.... *sigh*

weizeng
11-06-2007, 07:28 PM

well i had phone jpa twice and thier answer is no private clinic..
Btw maybe they will accept at the end maybe we dunno so the safest is to do in private/government hospital... I think it is better u all phone jpa and re confirm coz if u went there ur medical result get rejected then u will going to endure some predicament.. So check and ask properly be4 its too late...
thanks for the information,i will phone JPA and ask bout it....thanks again~

KA
11-06-2007, 07:38 PM

OMG, 2 weeks 2 get my result!!!!!!!!!! 8O 8O 8O oh no, dat means i hv 2 use a flight n go 2 the nearest pvt hosp-columbia asia.... *sigh*

Where is it??

KA
11-06-2007, 07:39 PM

Where is it???

Where is it??

dpadma
11-06-2007, 07:56 PM
galfera, i suggest u try calling ur local klinik kesihatan or local gov hosp to ask them whetehr they can finish ur report in time. n then go up personally to ur local gov hosp and ask them again ( u cant confirm over phone ) After tht u can go to private hosp, if gov hosp can't do it in time . i assume u live in est msia? it would be a hassle fr to fly to n fro. nt to mention u have to stay over near to the hosp fr 72 hours to get ur mantoux reading. better start now. so u'll get ur report in time.

well i called jpa too , and the ady said strictly NO private clinic . MUST be gov /Private hosp. but if u can get ur report verified in hosp(if u dint do in hosp) then it would be okay, i guess.

galfera
11-06-2007, 08:10 PM

Where is it???

Where is it??

KA: i live in sarawak... columbia asia is in Miri ( Our second bandaraya ).....

KA
11-06-2007, 11:09 PM

Where is it???

Where is it??

KA: i live in sarawak... columbia asia is in Miri ( Our second bandaraya ).....

:oops: :oops: :oops: OH well, I live in MIRI!!!!! :o :o :o :o LOLxxxx

galfera
12-06-2007, 08:01 PM
inside the med check up form there r sumthin like genitourinary and reproductive system... i wanna ask sumthin, did the doctor really check "THAT" part of your body?

thankx.

mumeichan
12-06-2007, 08:23 PM
inside the med check up form there r sumthin like genitourinary and reproductive system... i wanna ask sumthin, did the doctor really check "THAT" part of your body?

thankx.

Nope, but when you want to get a job, the employer may require a more complete medical checkup which may include a pap smear or a prostate and testis check(for cancer etc)

lisha
12-06-2007, 08:24 PM

thankx.

Lol...i don't think so...the doctor that did my report just did a very general checkup...altho u may have to remove ur shirt... :oops:
but that's about it really...thank God!! I was petrified by the thought of the doctor checking "there" !!

anyway, I'm surprised that u guys take so long to finish ur report...i took bout' 3 days...i did some of my tests at pathlab and the mantoux at klang hosp. then i took the reports to Kelana Jaya poliklinik and did the remainder tests there. After that i met the physician and she filled my report on the spot....didn't have to wait for weeks like some of u guys...

evan89
12-06-2007, 08:27 PM

thankx.

Nope, but when you want to get a job, the employer may require a more complete medical checkup which may include a pap smear or a prostate and testis check(for cancer etc)

so at tat reproductive system there the doctor just tick normal or still got write sumthing?

galfera
12-06-2007, 11:13 PM
let say if the doc is the "skema" type doc, n he/she checked "THAT", how is s/he gonna do that? :oops:

groundum
12-06-2007, 11:14 PM
edited

mumeichan
13-06-2007, 12:59 AM

thankx.

so at tat reproductive system there the doctor just tick normal or still got write sumthing?

They just tick normal. Coz don't need to write anything unless it is not normal or they is sum problem with your body.

I know this is a public forum and everyone has a right to sya what they want, but it really irritates me when people say 'that part" "down there" etc. Come on, we are 18 already, we studied all reproduction is school, we are well exposed to sex. We are already in tertiary level yet we still use that part. Please use genitals, penis and vagina next time. There is nothing wrong or shameful about it. It is just another part of our bodies like our mouth ears eyes.

evan89
13-06-2007, 01:19 PM

thankx.

They just tick normal. Coz don't need to write anything unless it is not normal or they is sum problem with your body.

I know this is a public forum and everyone has a right to sya what they want, but it really irritates me when people say 'that part" "down there" etc. Come on, we are 18 already, we studied all reproduction is school, we are well exposed to sex. We are already in tertiary level yet we still use that part. Please use genitals, penis and vagina next time. There is nothing wrong or shameful about it. It is just another part of our bodies like our mouth ears eyes.

same for both guy and girls? all juz tick normal rite?

13-06-2007, 06:28 PM

thankx.

same for both guy and girls? all juz tick normal rite?

Huh? I didn't see that option. Wait, let me recheck first.

jojyi
13-06-2007, 08:14 PM
Mine all normal...haha...So fast the doctor checked...i only wait for 1hour today for all the report including the doctor filled the forms...hehe :wink:

joe_lyy90
13-06-2007, 11:26 PM
whua so fast leh u do, jyi. i went and did the dental today b4 collecting the report and i had to wait so long.. then after i get the report, the doctor told me that the dentist din stamp on my forms!! i dunno why the dentist only stamped on ONE form and not on the rest.. haih.. and i have to go back again tmr just to get it stamped.

Kevin89
14-06-2007, 12:08 AM
I'm a bit blur, why is the dentist but not the doctor do the medical checkup?

haagendaz
14-06-2007, 12:41 AM

Coz the dental check up is part of the medical check up.

14-06-2007, 10:13 AM

Is it stated in the medical check-up form?

mumeichan
14-06-2007, 10:31 AM

The form has no item for dental checkup. Therefore we do not need to do it.

14-06-2007, 11:51 AM
i did my checkup 2day, n da doctor said tat my eyesight 'sangat teruk', wil tat affect me frm securing scholarship in engineering field??? kinda worry nw...

evan89
14-06-2007, 03:19 PM
i did my checkup 2day, n da doctor said tat my eyesight 'sangat teruk', wil tat affect me frm securing scholarship in engineering field??? kinda worry nw...

har? got wear spect cannot ar?
me onli can see 1st two row onli without glass

Vint
14-06-2007, 03:24 PM

r u wearing specs??

for me,i dun,and i cant see clearly when reaching the bottom 2 lines..

mumeichan
14-06-2007, 04:59 PM

Sangat teruk or not, as long as it is correctable with glasses, it is fine. Even pilots don't require absolute perfect eyesight nowadays. And I do not see any reason why an engineer need very good eyesight without specs.

illusions
14-06-2007, 10:10 PM
whua so fast leh u do, jyi. i went and did the dental today b4 collecting the report and i had to wait so long.. then after i get the report, the doctor told me that the dentist din stamp on my forms!! i dunno why the dentist only stamped on ONE form and not on the rest.. haih.. and i have to go back again tmr just to get it stamped.

have to agree..jyi...u just waited for one hour..lucky you.i waited for 2 1/2 hour just for the medical report..sigh....

haagendaz
14-06-2007, 10:25 PM

I have already done my medical chk up and i did it!!

The dentist cop and write at the empty space at the bottom of the form and also cop in the place for the Intec med check up (at the back of the intec book, which i filled up)

14-06-2007, 10:30 PM

I have already done my medical chk up and i did it!!

The dentist cop and write at the empty space at the bottom of the form and also cop in the place for the Intec med check up (at the back of the intec book, which i filled up)

Oh, it is for INTEC only? Coz I didn't have any dental checkup on mine. All in tiptop shape. :lol:

pinkdolphin
16-06-2007, 05:18 PM
Did any of you go for the typhoid & TB injection?

Not too sure bout JPA scholars for other colleges but for INTEC scholars, it is stated in page 11 of the INTEC booklet that it is necessary.

According to the doctor, TB vaccination should not be essential as the BCG vaccination which we have received is already adequate.

I was wondering if anyone actually went for the immunisation especially for the typhoid injection because most posts are regarding medical checkup but the TB & typhoid vaccination was not discussed. :wink:

Anyone care to shed some light on this matter? Thank you. :)

16-06-2007, 09:29 PM

Sangat teruk or not, as long as it is correctable with glasses, it is fine. Even pilots don't require absolute perfect eyesight nowadays. And I do not see any reason why an engineer need very good eyesight without specs.

i do wear specs actually.. bt i tin there r ppl who eyesight even worse than me, as i'm stil cn read, write n do anytin i wan without wearing specs, n of coz i din wear specs 4 most of da time... as i tin back da check up tat day, i felt reli nt happy... da nurse there look like nt serious in doing their job... when she measure my height, she edi got da measurement b4 i stand straight, n i bcome 'shorter'... when she check 4 my eyesight, she jz simply ask me stand there without fix a distance frm tat tin.. if i move forward a lil bit, perhaps i cn c clearer, n i dun tin she'll notice tat... it's reli annoying when seeing them carry up their job, as though they r nt wiling 2 do tat... jz afraid i'll fail any of da test bcoz of their 'carelessness n unseriousness'...

yhc
17-06-2007, 10:59 AM

Not too sure bout JPA scholars for other colleges but for INTEC scholars, it is stated in page 11 of the INTEC booklet that it is necessary.

According to the doctor, TB vaccination should not be essential as the BCG vaccination which we have received is already adequate.

I was wondering if anyone actually went for the immunisation especially for the typhoid injection because most posts are regarding medical checkup but the TB & typhoid vaccination was not discussed. :wink:

yea, same doubt, did anyone have that injection??

*Uncle_Bryan- no worries about their carelessness and inattention when doing their jobs, it will be fine.

lavenderming
17-06-2007, 05:53 PM
haiz...i have oredi went to GHKL for 4 times.
the forth time is to take the report,
but, guess what?
the doctor insist me to undergo a further checkup at IPR(LUng disease specialist) after they test my blood again on that day.
i just wonder is anybody facing the same trouble as me~ haha~
jz becoz of that 10mm TB mantoux test... got to go there again n again...hahaha... ...sigh... :roll: :? :roll:

pinkdolphin
17-06-2007, 09:29 PM

*Uncle_Bryan- no worries about their carelessness and inattention when doing their jobs, it will be fine.

So has anyone received the above mentioned vaccinations? Kindly provide some feedback, please. Appreciate it. :wink:

Smilehoe
17-06-2007, 10:19 PM

Just to add, if you have colour-blind, then there are certian fields of study which you can't take esp engineering. As to eyesight prob, I don't think is it a major problem. Good luck to your scholarship ya

mumeichan
17-06-2007, 10:52 PM

So has anyone received the above mentioned vaccinations? Kindly provide some feedback, please. Appreciate it. :wink:

The only TB vaccination so far is BCG. Unless a new type of TB vaccine was created just recently. So I have been vaccinated against TB already and so have all of you. There is alot of research done to find a better vaccine for TB but so far none has been trully successful and marketed. There are also a drug which has been created to boost the BCG but it has not been marketed yet.

I have not been vaccinated against typhoid yet.

yhc
18-06-2007, 02:38 AM

The only TB vaccination so far is BCG. Unless a new type of TB vaccine was created just recently. So I have been vaccinated against TB already and so have all of you. There is alot of research done to find a better vaccine for TB but so far none has been trully successful and marketed. There are also a drug which has been created to boost the BCG but it has not been marketed yet.

thanks a lot for the explanation regarding TB vaccination.
by the way, the typhoid vaccination is compulsory?

pinkdolphin
18-06-2007, 08:54 AM

Yea, thanks for the info, mumeichan. Now that TB vaccination is done, what about typhoid injection? Has anyone taken typhoid vaccination? or planning to take it?

18-06-2007, 06:05 PM

Yea, thanks for the info, mumeichan. Now that TB vaccination is done, what about typhoid injection? Has anyone taken typhoid vaccination? or planning to take it?

The tb vaccination is took from weaker one of the two tb virus existed. For thypoid, the cases in this country are slight. Only if you go to countries which has a record than it is dangerous.

Have you ever read the story of Typhoid Mary. Now, that is someone you should beware of.

mumeichan
18-06-2007, 08:33 PM

The tb vaccination is took from weaker one of the two tb virus existed. For thypoid, the cases in this country are slight. Only if you go to countries which has a record than it is dangerous.

Have you ever read the story of Typhoid Mary. Now, that is someone you should beware of.

Right for countries like us who have gas stoves and a good water treatment, typhoid is not a big problem. If you're off to India(I do not mean to be degratory in any sense, I'm half indian as well) then you should consider this vaccination as well as flu vaccinations. You may also want to get a booster shot for Hepatitis A,B, and C and tetanus as our immunity level drops as time goes by.

But, TB is a bacteria and actually they use the bacteria which is specially cultured so that is weakened and pose no risk of causing us to develop the TB disease but still active enough to cause our white blood cells to produce antibodies.

19-06-2007, 04:14 PM

Right for countries like us who have gas stoves and a good water treatment, typhoid is not a big problem. If you're off to India(I do not mean to be degratory in any sense, I'm half indian as well) then you should consider this vaccination as well as flu vaccinations. You may also want to get a booster shot for Hepatitis A,B, and C and tetanus as our immunity level drops as time goes by.

But, TB is a bacteria and actually they use the bacteria which is specially cultured so that is weakened and pose no risk of causing us to develop the TB disease but still active enough to cause our white blood cells to produce antibodies.

I think they will mention this when you wanted to go to places with such cases.

So many shots, ouch. 8O

S
23-06-2007, 09:10 PM
Are u guys going to take Hepatitis B vaccination?

digital_lifeform
24-06-2007, 12:21 AM

Those who have not gotten their booster JAB should. I will soon.

24-06-2007, 08:13 AM
yea.. i took it.... since my body still have little amount of Hepatitis B Vaccine... i juz been required to take it for one time...

for the one din have the vaccince.... need to take it for 3 times.....

26-06-2007, 04:42 PM
I need to take a booster shot after receiving my blood test result. Very low indeed.