View Full Version : To be or not to be a university student
21-03-2004, 04:00 PM
I read this from Star Online entitled " To be or not to be a university student "
Here's the link for this article...personally I quite feel the same way as the author does. Welcome feedback. :wink:
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2004/3/21/features/7586585&sec=features
21-03-2004, 04:00 PM
I read this from Star Online entitled " To be or not to be a university student "
Here's the link for this article...personally I quite feel the same way as the author does. Welcome feedback. :wink:
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2004/3/21/features/7586585&sec=features
21-03-2004, 04:13 PM
Uhmm... quite true. I found myself studying harder for quizzes and tests, which of course, will be automatically erased from my memory after the test. And when finals come, I'll have to revise again... Definitely not a good system for a procrastinator for me.
21-03-2004, 04:13 PM
Uhmm... quite true. I found myself studying harder for quizzes and tests, which of course, will be automatically erased from my memory after the test. And when finals come, I'll have to revise again... Definitely not a good system for a procrastinator for me.
21-03-2004, 04:30 PM
ya...sometimes i wonder, why the more i study ...the more i forget. there was once my little sis studyin in standard 4 asked me, how how do snails breathe? i am a science stream student, learnt science from standard 4 till a levels, yet i cant answer a standard 4 questions.....sigh!
another thing i'd observed is that, i can do very well in exams right after my lecturers finish teaching the topic. For example, my maths lecturer just finished teaching Complex Numbers, and I can do really well in the class test, I even got the highest. But after few months, u ask me some simple complex numbers question, 80% chances is that i cant answer them.. :(
so what is study all about actually? i still feel that hands-on learning is the best way to study. u do things, u experience things, and u learn from there. we ourselves are actually the best teacher in the world...
what do u guys think? sigh, my exams are coming! time to sleep with my books again, lolz....
21-03-2004, 04:30 PM
ya...sometimes i wonder, why the more i study ...the more i forget. there was once my little sis studyin in standard 4 asked me, how how do snails breathe? i am a science stream student, learnt science from standard 4 till a levels, yet i cant answer a standard 4 questions.....sigh!
another thing i'd observed is that, i can do very well in exams right after my lecturers finish teaching the topic. For example, my maths lecturer just finished teaching Complex Numbers, and I can do really well in the class test, I even got the highest. But after few months, u ask me some simple complex numbers question, 80% chances is that i cant answer them.. :(
so what is study all about actually? i still feel that hands-on learning is the best way to study. u do things, u experience things, and u learn from there. we ourselves are actually the best teacher in the world...
what do u guys think? sigh, my exams are coming! time to sleep with my books again, lolz....
21-03-2004, 05:31 PM
never forget studies is nothing more than to gain more knowledge on this planet. if study merely for exam n not enjoying it at all , wat is the point??? not knowing how a snail breath is not something queer even u r science student for years! the world is enormous huge n does it normal to know everything??? even genius do not .
21-03-2004, 05:31 PM
never forget studies is nothing more than to gain more knowledge on this planet. if study merely for exam n not enjoying it at all , wat is the point??? not knowing how a snail breath is not something queer even u r science student for years! the world is enormous huge n does it normal to know everything??? even genius do not .
21-03-2004, 06:04 PM
hmm...wat i am trying to say is that...i learnt that during standard 4 as well, and study is supposed to be what we do to gain knowledge. But if we learnt something and then we forget about it, is that called gaining knowledge? Why the more we study, the more we forget? We cant call this enjoying, can we?
21-03-2004, 06:04 PM
hmm...wat i am trying to say is that...i learnt that during standard 4 as well, and study is supposed to be what we do to gain knowledge. But if we learnt something and then we forget about it, is that called gaining knowledge? Why the more we study, the more we forget? We cant call this enjoying, can we?
21-03-2004, 06:19 PM
actually i find that it's quite true that, with a Uni cert doesn't really guarantee one's future. Take an example of those successful businessmen, some of them don't even complete their secondary education. In fact, they're more adventurous, more daring than those who are more educational. These businessmen dare to venture their businesses, they never afraid failures, instead they stand up and try again and again. On the other hand, most of the educational people, they tend to be follow the rules and regulations, they hardly have the 'never say die' spirit, nor willing to take the risk to venture in something new.
Anyway, i can't deny that there are definitely people, who are well-equipped with knowledge, and the high commitment to venture.
21-03-2004, 06:19 PM
actually i find that it's quite true that, with a Uni cert doesn't really guarantee one's future. Take an example of those successful businessmen, some of them don't even complete their secondary education. In fact, they're more adventurous, more daring than those who are more educational. These businessmen dare to venture their businesses, they never afraid failures, instead they stand up and try again and again. On the other hand, most of the educational people, they tend to be follow the rules and regulations, they hardly have the 'never say die' spirit, nor willing to take the risk to venture in something new.
Anyway, i can't deny that there are definitely people, who are well-equipped with knowledge, and the high commitment to venture.
gesar
21-03-2004, 09:50 PM
YEA.....let us take a look at the revolving world around us...Bill Gates, Einstein, Bill Clinton.....and many more....they have all flunked high school or did not even enter university....what do you think of them....they did invented something great, right??? either that or they have already made their country proud.,... :D :D 8O
And I totally agree to what he said!!
gesar
21-03-2004, 09:50 PM
YEA.....let us take a look at the revolving world around us...Bill Gates, Einstein, Bill Clinton.....and many more....they have all flunked high school or did not even enter university....what do you think of them....they did invented something great, right??? either that or they have already made their country proud.,... :D :D 8O
And I totally agree to what he said!!
21-03-2004, 10:11 PM
actually i find that it's quite true that, with a Uni cert doesn't really guarantee one's future. Take an example of those successful businessmen, some of them don't even complete their secondary education.
Studies and academic is one thing ... Experience is another ... One mistake made by most employers while employing ppl is by judging the workers through their certificates, and not by other factors.
University certs only shows how much you've learned and how good u are at memorizing facts, not how much you can do, or how good you are in handling things, or how experienced u are. I can't deny that uni certs are important, but experience and work ethics are important as well... They should carry the same weightage.
21-03-2004, 10:11 PM
actually i find that it's quite true that, with a Uni cert doesn't really guarantee one's future. Take an example of those successful businessmen, some of them don't even complete their secondary education.
Studies and academic is one thing ... Experience is another ... One mistake made by most employers while employing ppl is by judging the workers through their certificates, and not by other factors.
University certs only shows how much you've learned and how good u are at memorizing facts, not how much you can do, or how good you are in handling things, or how experienced u are. I can't deny that uni certs are important, but experience and work ethics are important as well... They should carry the same weightage.
22-03-2004, 02:18 AM
YEA.....let us take a look at the revolving world around us...Bill Gates, Einstein, Bill Clinton.....and many more....they have all flunked high school or did not even enter university....
Bill Clinton?!? I'm sure that was a typo.:)
22-03-2004, 02:18 AM
YEA.....let us take a look at the revolving world around us...Bill Gates, Einstein, Bill Clinton.....and many more....they have all flunked high school or did not even enter university....
Bill Clinton?!? I'm sure that was a typo.:)
22-03-2004, 04:45 AM
look at it this way.
those that succeed in life without going to college is small.
those with a degree have a better prob to have a successful life.
for the einstein, gates example, get real dude. do you think you have the chance to emulate their path without a degree?
22-03-2004, 04:45 AM
look at it this way.
those that succeed in life without going to college is small.
those with a degree have a better prob to have a successful life.
for the einstein, gates example, get real dude. do you think you have the chance to emulate their path without a degree?
22-03-2004, 05:07 AM
okay...it's really pointless and silly to compare yourself to albert einstein, but just to set the record straight, einstein did go to college, although the road he took through college was by no means conventional. he eventually earned a doctorate from the university of zurich.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/Mathematicians/Einstein.html
22-03-2004, 05:07 AM
okay...it's really pointless and silly to compare yourself to albert einstein, but just to set the record straight, einstein did go to college, although the road he took through college was by no means conventional. he eventually earned a doctorate from the university of zurich.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/Mathematicians/Einstein.html
22-03-2004, 06:24 AM
Actually, i think going to university is the best choice i had ever made in life. i can tell you that because we now live in the age where knowledge is power. Having a higher educated and more 'mature' society is very important to achieve the standards of a first world nation.
If we were to compare Malaysia/korea/japan/singapore, we can see an actually difference in the society. their society is more sophisticated and technologically advanced. Right now, we are at where korea is 30 years ago, a user and assembler. Much as i'm proud that all AMD chips are made in Malaysia, i still think we are one society that are really poor in receiving new tech.
22-03-2004, 06:24 AM
Actually, i think going to university is the best choice i had ever made in life. i can tell you that because we now live in the age where knowledge is power. Having a higher educated and more 'mature' society is very important to achieve the standards of a first world nation.
If we were to compare Malaysia/korea/japan/singapore, we can see an actually difference in the society. their society is more sophisticated and technologically advanced. Right now, we are at where korea is 30 years ago, a user and assembler. Much as i'm proud that all AMD chips are made in Malaysia, i still think we are one society that are really poor in receiving new tech.
22-03-2004, 10:46 AM
Mmm..I don't know if my University education can make me better off later, however it definitely teaches me alot of of things, accumulate more of my life experiences, and it's like a small 'society' before I actually step into the real world. When you have all the tonnes of projects, assignments, deadlines to met with, then you'll find that Uni life is like hell; yet when you're enjoying the life with friends during Uni life, then you'll feel that how nice to stay in Uni forever. Haha, that's how contradict human beings are.... :lol:
22-03-2004, 10:46 AM
Mmm..I don't know if my University education can make me better off later, however it definitely teaches me alot of of things, accumulate more of my life experiences, and it's like a small 'society' before I actually step into the real world. When you have all the tonnes of projects, assignments, deadlines to met with, then you'll find that Uni life is like hell; yet when you're enjoying the life with friends during Uni life, then you'll feel that how nice to stay in Uni forever. Haha, that's how contradict human beings are.... :lol:
22-03-2004, 11:10 AM
Mmm..I don't know if my University education can make me better off later, however it definitely teaches me alot of of things, accumulate more of my life experiences, and it's like a small 'society' before I actually step into the real world.
it's true that going to a uni does not guarantee cash and posh cars but I think getting a good degree helps. Having the proper qualifications mean you have a ticket for the ride, without which you might not even be given a chance to try. Experience and skills count but you need a good, recognised degree to get people to even notice you.
Nevertheless, degree itself is not sufficient. You need to acquire skills and experience and this is where, I believe, our local universities fail to give us. Students memorize facts but do not understand how the facts could be applied into real life situations. Many of our grads lack communication skills because universities do not foster an environment where students are encouraged to speak out and be heard.
Despite the setbacks, I'm still pretty much optimistic about university life and that there is a significance to my being in one. Just be positive and you'll sail your way through! :wink:
22-03-2004, 11:10 AM
Mmm..I don't know if my University education can make me better off later, however it definitely teaches me alot of of things, accumulate more of my life experiences, and it's like a small 'society' before I actually step into the real world.
it's true that going to a uni does not guarantee cash and posh cars but I think getting a good degree helps. Having the proper qualifications mean you have a ticket for the ride, without which you might not even be given a chance to try. Experience and skills count but you need a good, recognised degree to get people to even notice you.
Nevertheless, degree itself is not sufficient. You need to acquire skills and experience and this is where, I believe, our local universities fail to give us. Students memorize facts but do not understand how the facts could be applied into real life situations. Many of our grads lack communication skills because universities do not foster an environment where students are encouraged to speak out and be heard.
Despite the setbacks, I'm still pretty much optimistic about university life and that there is a significance to my being in one. Just be positive and you'll sail your way through! :wink:
miraclesnfantasy
23-03-2004, 10:03 AM
well for me...after a 2 year foundation course(where we have a major exam after the 2 years), its a bit weird to suddenly enter into this so called university life. before this we (the foundation course students) could redo our assignments if we didn't reach the passing mark (haven't been in that situation though) :D and we had 2 years 2 study for 1 exam...but now i often get this feeling that 'my exams are near...i'll won't be able to absorb everything'. and that sometimes freaks me out.. :(
miraclesnfantasy
23-03-2004, 10:03 AM
well for me...after a 2 year foundation course(where we have a major exam after the 2 years), its a bit weird to suddenly enter into this so called university life. before this we (the foundation course students) could redo our assignments if we didn't reach the passing mark (haven't been in that situation though) :D and we had 2 years 2 study for 1 exam...but now i often get this feeling that 'my exams are near...i'll won't be able to absorb everything'. and that sometimes freaks me out.. :(
23-03-2004, 01:51 PM
yeah, uni's life is pretty interesting, but i dun think it applies to UiTM's. We don't get the fun... We even need to share the mice to for dissection... And there's not much fun stuff around, except for the boring "sports day", which is boring and racist ...
23-03-2004, 01:51 PM
yeah, uni's life is pretty interesting, but i dun think it applies to UiTM's. We don't get the fun... We even need to share the mice to for dissection... And there's not much fun stuff around, except for the boring "sports day", which is boring and racist ...
23-03-2004, 03:33 PM
yeah, uni's life is pretty interesting, but i dun think it applies to UiTM's. We don't get the fun... We even need to share the mice to for dissection...
Years have gone by, yet university folks are still facing the same age-old problem of insufficient funds. The government continues to allocate more money each year for education (or at least that's what is promised in every Budget) but problems concerning finance persist. Share a mice for dissection? Back then when I was in school, one simple Biology experiment had to be conducted by five or six students because there weren't enough test tubes and microscopes for the teachers to put students in smaller groups.
Why leh...?
23-03-2004, 03:33 PM
yeah, uni's life is pretty interesting, but i dun think it applies to UiTM's. We don't get the fun... We even need to share the mice to for dissection...
Years have gone by, yet university folks are still facing the same age-old problem of insufficient funds. The government continues to allocate more money each year for education (or at least that's what is promised in every Budget) but problems concerning finance persist. Share a mice for dissection? Back then when I was in school, one simple Biology experiment had to be conducted by five or six students because there weren't enough test tubes and microscopes for the teachers to put students in smaller groups.
Why leh...?
23-03-2004, 03:37 PM
Yeah, same here. We only have 4 mice to be shared by 20 students... Years have passed, but no improvements are made. Why leh?
23-03-2004, 03:37 PM
Yeah, same here. We only have 4 mice to be shared by 20 students... Years have passed, but no improvements are made. Why leh?
mystique_jasper
24-03-2004, 06:08 PM
well,actually this also happens in the computer labs. The computer system available in the intec campus is already obsolete but no one cares to upgrade the system. As a result, we need to go to the cc very often.
24-03-2004, 06:22 PM
Yeah, and I've been wasting about 20 bux a week in CC just to do my research for my research paper and resource file ... If only they upgrade the comps and printers, not to mention the lab assts as well... :twisted:
oshmelvin
24-03-2004, 06:31 PM
I think that it is important for someone to have higher education (teritary education). This is to better equip our modern society with more knowledge to propel our technology and life-style even further into the future. If there happens to be less and less people going to universities, our knowledge will be lost and if not lost not upgraded. We have had many advancement throughout the past few decades which is due to the increasing number of people going for higher education. People don't just go to university to listen to plain lectures, study and take exams. We go to the university to inherit the knowledge passed down to us and learn how to apply this knowledge into our daily life. Besides that, it is our responsiblity to build on this knowledge to unlock even more mysteries the universe has to offer. I must say besides the string theory in physics, the other theories can still be improved. So it is important for us to go to universities not just to study and take exams but to help build on the knowledge that we have now to attain even more knowledge that is more suitable for the 21st and 22nd century. You might be surprised but undergrads do give their part into researches that could further improve our technology or life-style. So, I think it is important for us to learn as much as we can comprehend which includes going for post-graduate study after getting a bachelor's degree. Learning is a process that never stops until one's last breath, that's why there are people who still want to go to university at an old age. We should embrace the knowledge and be willing to learn! :D
24-03-2004, 06:52 PM
Very good thinking, oshmelvin.
I agree very much to that. Our government has forseen this that they are giving out more funding to academic and industry research activity as compared to the past few years.
We have had enough foreign technology transfer and it's time to build our own now.
29-05-2004, 05:01 AM
Didn't realize of this thread earlier. The article that Pei Wen points out is a pretty good one.
In fact, come to think of it, I think what I learn from my tertiary education is through the experience and not really from those courses. Through the interactions with those former/current presidents/prime ministers/CEOs/Senior VPs/CFO/NASA Astronauts/Nobel Prize Winners or those without real position, but have done something. I learned a great deal. Those are the reasons I go to university each day, so that at 4:30pm, I would attend a public lecture and learn from them.
Although I would say that many of my faculties are top notch and I do enjoy quite a number of lectures, I would say that the experience gained through the experience of various speakers are enormous. Sometimes, an hour of chatting with some corporate people over dinner (of course my university pays for it), will help me gain understandings on various issues.
Perhaps not many look at university, from the way I look at. Perhaps, the choice to major in something that I have no interest on may be a wrong decision, but I think it is worthwhile experience.
In tertiary education, and in fact, it is not just tertiary education, but in tertiary education, you have a platform to meet with people. Every single person you meet, no matter who they are, whether they are famous or not, do have something that we can learn enormously from. Living is an experience by itself.
aquila
29-05-2004, 08:18 AM
I read the article with a lot of interest. I think the author needs to take life with a grain of salt.
Two tests and one exam in a semester? Try ten quizzes, three exams and one final in a semester for one course. Times that with four courses that an average student takes per semester. What I'm describing is the average workload of a science student in the US. Social science and arts students don't get much relaxation either. They probably have a 3 page paper due and 2 books to read every week. Add to that a 20pg final research paper.
It is interesting how people often generalize that the US education system is lax compared to the British one. That is just not true. American students are lazy? Think again! With so much work to be done, you wonder how they get time to party and have fun. Well, some of them just don't. Those who do are the smart ones who don't need much effort to do well. That's why they end up in good colleges in the first place.
I think Malaysians need to learn that exams are means and not an end. University life is supposed to be challenging. If you cannot handle college work, how will you face the far more vicious working world? No professor will be on the lookout for you. No RA (or matron in Malaysia?) will report you for irresponsible behavior (aka excessive drinking in the US). No advisor to tell you you're headed the wrong direction.
University / college is about a big change in lifestyle. The author has just finished his/her second semester in university. Probably he/she is not accustomed to the pressures of college life yet. Work hard, relax after that because there is nothing else you can do, and everything will turn out fine. After all, your peers are on the same level as you are. If you're doing badly in the first few tests, they probably are too because everyone is still adjusting.
Accustomed to being the best in your old high school? Well, college or university is more like natural selection where the strongest end up. If you are in university, and the deans accepted you because of your qualifications, perhaps other students were also accepted because of their sterling qualifications? Therefore, look again. Once, you were an A student among average students. Now you are among A students, so the curve will inevitably be higher.
Complaining about the workload of college life makes no sense to me. No one is going to make it go lighter. I most certainly hope not. Otherwise, the quality of Malaysian colleges will decrease yet again. The best thing you can do is to adapt and find out how to thrive in the new super competitive environment. Do what you love doing. Join activities and make your life less mundane. Then, your heavy courseload will seem more bearable.
Also, I agree with ChenChow that attending public lectures is perhaps one of the best aspect of college life. You can meet famous public figures and listen to what they have to say. Sometimes, if you are in the right classes, pull the right strings or just at the right place, you may have the opportunity to talk to those famous and important people one on one. In US colleges, public lectures are definitely a staple (more so in elite colleges). I know for sure that Singapore universities (NUS particularly) have some interesting public lectures as well. I'm not sure about Malaysian ones. If there are any, it'll be best to go to them. Take the chance to network with those business leaders, political figures and etc. Connections will prove to be very beneficial in the future. Even networking with your fellow students with similar interests will be very useful in the future as well.
Note: I've used the words college and university interchangeably. That's how it is applied in the US anyways. ;P
tzuohann
29-05-2004, 12:34 PM
Heh,
So happen Imma in the same place as Sally, so I'll not go into the horrors of chugging coffee and cramming stuff. And I also dun have the time to go to public lectures, but there is one thing that I appreciate there, which is choice.
I'm bound by the same pressures that bind students who want to do well in school but beyond that, I think the freedom granted in Uni is more than that of any other time to come. 85 year old senile doesn't count. No parents, no kids, no job, just eat, poop and study, then got time for anything else that fancies, what more is wanted huh? I dun think parents or working adults got that.
Like I take classes that I want, do bad in those that the prof are not visually appealling, do well in those that are easy, graduate anyways, drink some beer along the way, sleep through some alarm clocks sometimes, go playing poker with professors, having them come to house for dinner and BS about Malaysian Food ie badly self cooked food described suavely to those gullible mat Salehs. I mean, there is so much more to 'university'. And, most of it is fun.
If if a consolation is needed for all that slugging and mugging, go back to the root meaning of university, which is the exact reason why we are there. There is a broad spectrum in Uni to expplore, so don't, although its hard not to, be pressured into only a narrow band of that colourful(especially after a couple of drinks) spectrum. So, chill, be happy and hope god is happy too. Peace out. And, if you really hate university, there is this easy way out. Rob Bank Negara.
Tzuo Hann @<hidden> Duke
29-05-2004, 11:53 PM
It is interesting how people often generalize that the US education system is lax compared to the British one.
!! Who ever had that impression!? Or did you hear wrongly? The stereotype is that UK education is harder because you have to be exam-smart, your entire year's grade depends on only your effort towards the end, while US system tend to pace things out, assigning microgrades to everything you do. And even that itself is a stereotype, or else I won't be facing so much pressure towards the end of my semester here.
Rob Bank Negara
Don't do that... Try Citibank or DBS or HSBC... There isn't much left @<hidden> Bank Negara...
I find it surprising that one thing wasn't mentioned a lot (except for tzuohann) --> Learn to Take Charge of Your Life. For many undergrads, it's the first time you have to leave your family behind, have your own personal space to do whatever you want, to party and forget about studies if you want, or to mug and become a hermit if you want etc. There's no one "monitoring" you anymore. You can switch your personality anytime anyhow. But there are limits in society - and you know it when you hit an extreme. Then you learn to scale back.
Studying is one. How much to study? How little studying can I afford? How to learn about the expectations of each different lecturers before the exam? More fundamentally - should I take this course? Why should I work so hard for something that I won't use in the future? Is my attitude in line with the moral standards of my ancesters or should I be? etc. etc.
University becomes a Testbed for life. You try to make sense of "living out there" in the university, so that you're more prepared to handle what's coming. You learn to juggle work and play. You open your eyes to many many new things, weird dressing style, absurd working hours, range of very strict to very lax classes, and all sorts of activities to participate in etc. Attending public lectures also fits in to this group.
In the university, if you made a mistake, it's not as "costly" to you as if you made a mistake "out there". You might just lose a letter grade instead of losing your job.
Therefore I think university should just be a staging area. And one have to make the most out of it without expecting guidance anymore (well, depending on which high school you come from, some have made all the possible mistakes in high school already...) And more importantly, you need to create alliances that you can carry into the next phase of life. And a university can give you that kind of resource. In certain cases, you might find it easy to get a job at a company that your alumnis have already conquered.
aquila
30-05-2004, 03:13 AM
Who ever had that impression!? Or did you hear wrongly? The stereotype is that UK education is harder because you have to be exam-smart, your entire year's grade depends on only your effort towards the end, while US system tend to pace things out, assigning microgrades to everything you do. And even that itself is a stereotype, or else I won't be facing so much pressure towards the end of my semester here.
That's exactly what I meant. People usually think the British system is harder because everything's weighted on the final exams. (eg, SPM, STPM, A levels, O Levels, etc)
For me personally, the US education system is harder because you have to be vigilant at all times and do well for every mini assignment and test you get in order to obtain a good grade for a class.
For the British system, you just have to show up during the finals and do well. You can pretty much relax throughout the year and study super hard at the end. Perhaps, I've already been trained that way and thus I feel the US system is harder.
tzuohann
30-05-2004, 03:27 AM
In the university, if you made a mistake, it's not as "costly" to you as if you made a mistake "out there". You might just lose a letter grade instead of losing your job.
Yeah man, UNI is the place to poke around without much to lose. I mean, if you screw up badly, at least you still got a UNI degree. Can find a good job. If you screw a little, you can tell ppl that (I tried) and if you screw up really badly, hey, you got a high school degree, MCDonalds will take ya, and that dun mean that you lose the liscense to get married to be be the next Boon Siew. So, just pokey around, take it easy chill, make sum mistakes, coz there is always McDOnalds.
Errr... my point really was, it is THE place to try things out. Agreeing with what many ppl have already pointed out. And whats special about UNI is, you will find it easy to locate ppl like yourself who are as passionate as you are about trying things out.
Don't do that... Try Citibank or DBS or HSBC... There isn't much left @<hidden> Bank Negara...
That is true, is you rob Bank Negara, composite index will go down. Rob Citibank, let ringgit go up. Ah, and robbing Bank Negara is proabably ISA too, dun mess with Kamunting.(just drama) Very true. Jiin Joo musta been one of the ppl writing Ocean's Eleven.
Sumone tell me how to use that quote thing. I can't attribute the quote. Both quotes by Jiin Joo
30-05-2004, 04:33 AM
In fact, I would say that we would experiment and try out stuff the whole life. Taking risk is part and parcel of the game and university will be a good place to start it, although ideally high school would be a great place too.
I would suggest that each of you take charge of your life, as Jiin Joo suggested. Have some vision of what you want to achieve for your undergrad/graduate life, or for a semester and try your best to try out stuff to achieve it. Many things that you could do in university, may not something that you have imagined, but it is possible. I got my voice beamed to International Space Station and got a NASA Astronaut there replied my question.. That is a new experience. Getting Bill Clinton putting his hand over my shoulder taking a photo with me, is an experience for me too....(although i will only get to see the photo after a few months, as my friend was using a normal camera, and she still has half a roll of film to burn and she will go back to Taiwan soon)... Sometimes, even getting a breakthrough in your lab, attending a cultural event, or playing a new sport that you have never tried (I can call myself lucky, to get to try equestrian, golf, archery, rifle, pistol by the time I grad...)
However, as I was attending the convocation here today. One sentence spoken by the MC struck in my head. The MC was saying," To those who have been partying all nights throughout your 4 years here and skip most of your classes, look to your left and your right, and laugh at those who wake up 8 in the morning, attending every lecture and section, studying on Friday and Saturday night. Eventually, you are going to get Exactly The Same Diploma as them." I guess this may be true to those who really care about paper qualification. The diploma you are getting will be exactly the same. Nevertheless, I guess the experience will be worthwhile experience!
Make full use of your life as a university student, before you regret.
30-05-2004, 09:56 PM
my thoughts?
well, uni should b the best years of our life. after uni, we would be bounded by life-long responsibilities and duties. n we r at the age where we can gauge better what is better for us and wad is not. we decide for ourselves wad we want from our life. we choose how we want to spend our uni life. study or not, tad is not really the question is it? tads the whole point of going to uni, rite? to study!?
02-06-2004, 02:30 PM
However, as I was attending the convocation here today. One sentence spoken by the MC struck in my head. The MC was saying," To those who have been partying all nights throughout your 4 years here and skip most of your classes, look to your left and your right, and laugh at those who wake up 8 in the morning, attending every lecture and section, studying on Friday and Saturday night. Eventually, you are going to get Exactly The Same Diploma as them." I guess this may be true to those who really care about paper qualification. The diploma you are getting will be exactly the same. Nevertheless, I guess the experience will be worthwhile experience!
Wah, we have kia sus in US? Anyway, everyone needs to strike a happy balance between entertainment and studies (feeling guilty here coz have been slacking way too much here). For those who party all night and yet getting the same diploma as those who mug and mug, well, all i can say is that they have had their fun, but they don't have the knowledge and discipline. To those who mug and mug and mug, they can stressed out themselves and become cuckoo... And they will never get to enjoy life if they keep doing this for the rest of their uni life. Study hard, and play hard. That's my motto.
02-06-2004, 10:24 PM
Remember what my korean classmates told me today.
They said those join the gang when the gang are hanging out, join the gang when the gang are studying hard for exam or doing reports, can be considered as good partner to be with, but that's a way round for those just study all the time and without join the gang.
Errr..... can get what I mean? hahaha... my english is damn sucks!!! :P
03-06-2004, 12:19 AM
Well, not necessary going to class would mean better grade.
There is a scholar here (I won't disclose his name). He skipped all classes for 6 weeks, playing games most of the time, doing homework/project on his own, and learning on his own, and just submit assignments and taking exams, and he is still doing very well (guess better than I am, when I go to every single class every day...)
So, I guess it depends on how good you are learning...
ydho_6
03-06-2004, 01:00 AM
being a university student does not only mean a further cultivation on our knowledge and skills.
so many aspects in university life... for me, i realize, this is the time to discover myself. to find the direction of life. to try out my potential. to start thinking logically n make decisions.
academically, my uni has really made me learn the way to think. its concept of self study (only 12 hours lectures PLUS classes per week!!) leaves much thinking and exploration to ourselves. learning is hard, but the process of discovering the path by yourself is rewarding.
and many will agree university life is not just THAT. there are alwys activities, projects, etc going on... cooperating with ppl n organizing events really made me grow. university is a great breeding ground for social interaction.... u will meet so many different kinds of ppl!
uni life - is a transition from ignorant kid to a person who can think for his/her own!
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.