View Full Version : JPA Medical Checkup
JackChin
25-05-2007, 10:40 PM
I went to medical checkup yesterday....
But,i fail my colour test!!!!!!!!
My friends are normal,but im ABNORMAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
That means i cannot figure out the number that hide in the mixture of many colours.....
I wana ask whether this will affect my medical course?Will jpa take back the scholarship??????
Thread moved to the JPA section
and do use a more neutral sounding title. Making it sound too sensational just irritates people
seehua
precious_amethyst
01-06-2007, 03:10 PM
That means i cannot figure out the number that hide in the mixture of many colours.....
I wana ask whether this will affect my medical course?Will jpa take back the scholarship??????
So sorry to hear.. I don't think anyone really knows for sure..
The best thing to do is to give JPA a call to find out.
Hope it all goes well.
mumeichan
01-06-2007, 03:32 PM
Are you sure you did the test correctly. Try ask your mom to show you a green and red item and a blue and yellow item and see if you can differentiate them. There is no way you would not have noticed you are colour blind by this age.
Kevin89
01-06-2007, 03:55 PM
Are you sure you did the test correctly. Try ask your mom to show you a green and red item and a blue and yellow item and see if you can differentiate them. There is no way you would not have noticed you are colour blind by this age.
Erm... i got a friend who also only knew that he is colour blind after doing the colour blind test in the school. After the test, he was yelling around like a mad dog. He keep saying, "How can i have colour blind !!!!!!! :evil: " As his freind, we did what you said, showing him things with different colours and yet he can differentiate them. He said, "This is blue ma, this is red ma, is IMPOSSIBLE that i have colour blind !! :evil: "
Actually, the green or red colour that those people (with colour blind) saw are different from us, e.g. maybe the green that they saw is actually blue or whatever. So when multiple tones of green and red was put together, they can't differentiate it.
P/S: I heard from my friend said there is a kind of test where only those with colour blind can see the number but normal people can't 8O .
windhoe2
01-06-2007, 06:02 PM
it is really big hurdle to medical students to have colour blind, u better check with JPA.
you might see the wrong label for medicine next time.
The colour test is a bit confusing too...some of the "3" looks like "8"
but most of us already did tat when taking the undang test rite...
i came to the last part of the test,and there is no number there,and i'm a bit shock how come i cannot see any number,haha then the assistant told me tat i'm done already..haha
Allan89
02-06-2007, 12:19 PM
I heard that some countries accept students with this kinda deficiency but some do not. Which country did you get? You got medic right? Where are you going to your pre-U before going overseas? It depends on the college you get too, see if they wanna accept or not...anyway, I think everything will be fine since you've already secured the scholarship. By the way, all the best to you!!! :)
03-06-2007, 12:07 AM
If you are colour blind, can you even differentiate syntoms of the patients which has to do with colours?
amcian
03-06-2007, 12:23 AM
Hope it all goes well.
may i noe where hav u gone 4 ur med chek-up?
i went 4 my med chek up oso but i did nt sit4 any colour test...
so weird...
only my eyesight was checked...
dun worry...
dun tink it wil affect ur slship....
i heard fr a fren dat lastime a student under jpa med gt hepatitis n nt allowed 2 go overseas..
so jpa allowed d student2 do med 5 yrs in imu...
n ur case is nt serious..
im sure ull pass ur med report d...
dun worry...
al d best..
05-06-2007, 04:50 PM
Hope it all goes well.
so weird...
dun worry...
i heard fr a fren dat lastime a student under jpa med gt hepatitis n nt allowed 2 go overseas..
dun worry...
al d best..
i understand your concern.. cos i am one of those who are slightly colour blind... go to an eye specialist and request for another colour test.. see what has the doctor has to say.. if its minor thing, ask the doc to write a letter stating that you condition is minor and it does not affect your studies in med..
regarding the hep b thingy.. the dean in IMU has also said this.. most overseas unis would not want the students to have hep B to go to their uni to study.. except for one or 2.. some unis would accept hep B carriers though.. forgot which one....
06-06-2007, 05:26 PM
Hope it all goes well.
so weird...
dun worry...
al d best..
i understand your concern.. cos i am one of those who are slightly colour blind... go to an eye specialist and request for another colour test.. see what has the doctor has to say.. if its minor thing, ask the doc to write a letter stating that you condition is minor and it does not affect your studies in med..
regarding the hep b thingy.. the dean in IMU has also said this.. most overseas unis would not want the students to have hep B to go to their uni to study.. except for one or 2.. some unis would accept hep B carriers though.. forgot which one....
The uni are scared that they will spread hep B around when they eat. But only those who are not vaccined are at risk, right?
06-06-2007, 05:35 PM
Hope it all goes well.
so weird...
dun worry...
al d best..
The uni are scared that they will spread hep B around when they eat. But only those who are not vaccined are at risk, right?
yes... and especially as med students, the unis are more afraid that u might spread it to their patients.. so better get vaccinated if you're not or your hep b test is not showing good signs..
06-06-2007, 05:44 PM
Colour blindness isn't always picked up from daily lives. People with colour blindness still see colour, it's just that they can't really differentiate between certain confusing colours. Most people aren't confronted with such confusing colours in daily life, so it doesn't get picked up easily.
You can read up more about colour blindness here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Color_blindness#Diagnosis
http://www.toledo-bend.com/colorblind/Ishihara.html
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ishihara_color_test
The ishihara colour test is commonly used to diagnose the most common form of colour blindness. Most doctors should have a copy of that test, where there are a lot of dot-filled plates from which you are required to read a number. The sites above give you some examples for ishihara colour tests, but for the most accurate result it's better to do it on the real paper version.
As far as I know, colour blindedness is not an impediment in studying medicine. Many of my coursemates are colour blind as well. It is only important for certain occupations, for example designers (but not always), and if I'm not mistaken, pilots.
Kevin89
07-06-2007, 01:48 AM
Thanks youngyew for giving a good explaination and useful links for us.
07-06-2007, 09:28 AM
btw, r u come fom Bedong????
If yes, then i know u la.
y u din mention it when we meet? :roll: :roll:
I think it is a not very big deal 4 u.
since u have lesen memandu liao....
Butters
07-06-2007, 10:11 AM
is this JPA test or JPJ test.....
they have color blind test too?!
07-06-2007, 12:20 PM
of course you have to test for colour blindness in JPJ test.. but for JPA's medical checkup, it was not stated in the borang that you need to do that.. so sometimes, the doctor might just want to know if you do have any problems with your colour differentiation... besides pilot, students having colour differentiation problem are discouraged not to take up certain engineering courses like electrical enad electronic..
mumeichan
07-06-2007, 01:53 PM
of course you have to test for colour blindness in JPJ test.. but for JPA's medical checkup, it was not stated in the borang that you need to do that.. so sometimes, the doctor might just want to know if you do have any problems with your colour differentiation... besides pilot, students having colour differentiation problem are discouraged not to take up certain engineering courses like electrical enad electronic..
In the medical checkup form the JPA gave up, we have to go for a colour blind test.
07-06-2007, 02:07 PM
In the medical checkup form the JPA gave up, we have to go for a colour blind test.
oh really??? my mistake then.. mine didnt have to do that last time... but still, if the doc found there's something wrong with you but its not gonna affect your studies overseas, ask them to write a letter to say that you have such problem but it will not affect your studies in anyway.. that should be ok..
08-06-2007, 12:00 AM
oh really??? my mistake then.. mine didnt have to do that last time... but still, if the doc found there's something wrong with you but its not gonna affect your studies overseas, ask them to write a letter to say that you have such problem but it will not affect your studies in anyway.. that should be ok..
Mine goes very fast. Flip some pages of a book. Recognise the numbers. All ok. Perfect vision.
08-06-2007, 02:30 PM
well of course that's if you're fine in vision.. but for those who are really having this problem, they just can't flip the few pages and get a perfect vision out of it... you might as well find out the right reason on why you;re having such problem.. if you do have of course...
08-06-2007, 02:54 PM
haha, the whole colourblind test that i have undergone ..not even 1 minute i think...
anyway, Thanks GOD :wink:
chenjun1128
05-06-2008, 01:38 PM
I think color blind is not so serious..but ME, I got positive mantoux test! I checked the forum on mantoux and found out that it could be due to the fact that I had BCG injection in standard 6..So, anyone got positive? If so, will JPA accept students with positive mantoux test??
05-06-2008, 02:26 PM
im red green colour blind....people always thought i was kidding before!sshheeeesh...the medical checkup confirmed my case.
vimal06
05-06-2008, 02:32 PM
Mine appeared all ok.. I just completed the whole ordeal a few days back..
Caprio
05-06-2008, 02:44 PM
Just want to make a survey here, how much do you pay for your medical check up?
So far the cheapest I found is RM80.
smile!
05-06-2008, 02:57 PM
Just want to make a survey here, how much do you pay for your medical check up?
So far the cheapest I found is RM80.
wher is the place that offers such a cheap medical check up??
megatfais
05-06-2008, 03:00 PM
haha yea 80 is kinda cheap.mine is 190.gov hosp.
05-06-2008, 03:13 PM
dont go govt hospital or policlinic!!!expensive and takes such a long time.and dont go to private hospital too,that one just too expensive.i did mine at a private clinic,rm120 and the results come out in 3 days.
smile!
05-06-2008, 03:28 PM
dont go govt hospital or policlinic!!!expensive and takes such a long time.and dont go to private hospital too,that one just too expensive.i did mine at a private clinic,rm120 and the results come out in 3 days.
i tot private clinic is not allowed? that's what the JPA officer told my friend..
Castle, did you have your mantoux test? FYI, my clinic just skipped that for me..:(
But my aunt says if you had Xrays the doctor will know whether the person have TB or not..
smile!
05-06-2008, 04:28 PM
Saudara/i,
Jabatan ini hanya menerima laporan pemeriksaan kesihatan samada dari Hospital Kerajaan atau Hospital Swasta.
Harap maklum
Bahagian Pembangunan Modal Insan
JPA
shark
05-06-2008, 04:42 PM
to those who have done the medical checkup at the government hospitals, how long does it take for the whole result to come out???how many days do we have to wait???please answer me bcoz i still havent done mine
05-06-2008, 04:56 PM
Castle, did you have your mantoux test? FYI, my clinic just skipped that for me..:(
But my aunt says if you had Xrays the doctor will know whether the person have TB or not..
:)) Mantoux test will be done after two years before you go aboard. It is done to everyone who wish to visit other countries and stay there for quite a long period of time there or probably also to those who have stayed in other countries for quite a long time which want to return to Malaysia. :amuse
Knew it from the nurses in Manjung Hospital yesterday.
to those who have done the medical checkup at the government hospitals, how long does it take for the whole result to come out???how many days do we have to wait???please answer me bcoz i still havent done mine
I have no idea about your case and your local hospital there. But for me, the results for blood test and urine test will reach us after a week after getting specimen from you. :P
05-06-2008, 05:34 PM
fail colour test? that's interesting. did u fail your driving test? anyway, even if u did, i think it won't effect anything as ask this question urself.. Do you need colour to study the course you are going to take?
cuteranger
05-06-2008, 05:41 PM
i did in a private hospital and is cost RM400++
dun remember exact value :laugh
damn expensive
05-06-2008, 05:50 PM
damn expensive
i did in state-owned private hospital.. but for petronas lah.. cost RM 177.00. It is called Normah Specialist Centre in Kuching.
Caprio
05-06-2008, 09:36 PM
damn expensive
You must be damn rich then. RM400++ is a huge sum!
05-06-2008, 11:29 PM
I have done mine in a government hospital in Manjung (actually there is only one there) and it charges me RM 165.00 for the check-up.
so how many days you have to wait for the result?
sherenesheep
05-06-2008, 11:38 PM
i did in state-owned private hospital.. but for petronas lah.. cost RM 177.00. It is called Normah Specialist Centre in Kuching.
hey i'm goin nx week!! kinteo ah... mind telling me what they do?? what are the procedures and stuff....
was dr khiew der??
how long did the whole procedure take??
05-06-2008, 11:45 PM
so how many days you have to wait for the result?
Seven days. I had given all the specimens required on this Wednesday and was requested to acquire the results on next Wednesday. Because I am not living in Sitiawan or Manjung, the nurses there refuse to do the other check-ups or measurements such as weight or height with me, they ask me to do in my hometown. So, I will be having my results next Wed and before this, making an appointment with the doctor here, who I will be meeting on next Thursday or Friday to do the follow-up checkups. :nod
hey i'm goin nx week!! kinteo ah... mind telling me what they do?? what are the procedures and stuff....
was dr khiew der??
how long did the whole procedure take??
It will take about a week time if you will be doing it in a government hospital. :P
n1dh0g
12-06-2008, 11:13 PM
Haha I think that a week is actually quite fast because I had a friend who went to General Hosp in KL and they were saying that they were quite fully booked so the test results could only come out on the 29th of this month. In the end she just went to a private hosp to do it.
Anyways I went to a private hosp, Assunta to do it. It costs around RM256.
13-06-2008, 12:09 AM
Haha I think that a week is actually quite fast because I had a friend who went to General Hosp in KL and they were saying that they were quite fully booked so the test results could only come out on the 29th of this month. In the end she just went to a private hosp to do it.
Anyways I went to a private hosp, Assunta to do it. It costs around RM256.
Wow, it is quite expensive. Mine only RM 165 :nod
music_freak28
13-06-2008, 12:23 AM
I did mine already at HKL.Now waiting for results and still need to see the doctor and take my Mantouks jab. They offer pretty good service there. But have to pay a small fee of RM175
Btw, just being curious, what is a Mantouks jab?
phoebe902004
13-06-2008, 11:07 PM
I did mine already at HKL.Now waiting for results and still need to see the doctor and take my Mantouks jab. They offer pretty good service there. But have to pay a small fee of RM175
Btw, just being curious, what is a Mantouks jab?
it's mentoux right, not mantouks.its done by injecting this solution jz beneath ur skin.its to detect whether uve T.B.if takes around 3 days to show its result.if u get red n swollen skin, then ure positive with T.B.if theres nthg,as in normal then ure safe=negative.
btw, anyone here has 0 antibody for hepatitis B although they've received vaccination last time?i hav to undergo 3 doses of vaccination til the end of this year.
michaelbyz23
14-06-2008, 10:07 AM
when are the petronas scholars leaving?
nadia.g
14-06-2008, 10:11 AM
it's mentoux right, not mantouks.its done by injecting this solution jz beneath ur skin.its to detect whether uve T.B.if takes around 3 days to show its result.if u get red n swollen skin, then ure positive with T.B.if theres nthg,as in normal then ure safe=negative.
btw, anyone here has 0 antibody for hepatitis B although they've received vaccination last time?i hav to undergo 3 doses of vaccination til the end of this year.
Ive never been vaccinated. Of course i haf 0 antibody for hepatitis B. Do i haf to get vaccinated??? Isit necessary?
dya_me
14-06-2008, 11:44 AM
Ive never been vaccinated. Of course i haf 0 antibody for hepatitis B. Do i haf to get vaccinated??? Isit necessary?
yea, it is necessary...hepatitis B is dangerous...i already got da vaccination when i was a baby...but my medical check up result, i'm not immune 2 hepatitis B at all!!:cry
me...its shocking!
unsleepable
14-06-2008, 12:56 PM
owh yeah?gee...sounds awful..hmm..btw,i'm waiting for the hepatitis B result now..woowoo..but i've passed the montoux test with success!!yay!..heh..but i hav far more detrimental problem,my x-ray film shows tht my spine is slightly rotated..hmm..i hope it would be okay..
Anderson
14-06-2008, 06:26 PM
owh yeah?gee...sounds awful..hmm..btw,i'm waiting for the hepatitis B result now..woowoo..but i've passed the montoux test with success!!yay!..heh..but i hav far more detrimental problem,my x-ray film shows tht my spine is slightly rotated..hmm..i hope it would be okay..
u have the same diseases like jay chow....lol:laugh
unsleepable
15-06-2008, 12:32 AM
haha..who is jay chow btw?heh..sory..i'm not into it..
so..is it dangerous?hmm..i'm afraid tht i wont past the mdcl exam!
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 12:40 AM
i had a veri interesting experience when i went for medical checkup last yr... i end up arguing with de ppl as at TB centre... hahaha...
i did my medical checkup at a private clinic and my doctor refered me to this TB centre for de montox test (i think) and he gave me a reference letter...
when i reach de place... de person at de counter ask for my x ray film which i did not bring along... i went back to take de film and returned to de clinic... when i reached de clinic de person dun even cared to look at my film or letter and straight away send me to de lab for, AND I QUOTE "suspected TB patient".
i told de person dat i only wanted to do de test for my medical checkup... not because i am suspected with TB... de lab guy said those who r refered here are all suspected TB patient... finally i went to de counter n make some noise and finally they read my doc's letter and perform de test for me... swt =.=
I did the Mantoux test 12 days ago (injected, then tested 9 days ago) and now I can still see red spots on my arm where the stuff was injected. During the test the nurse told me I was fine, even with the 6mm measurement.
Reckon anything's wrong with me? :p
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 12:01 PM
according to my frens... most of dem did not do de mantoux test... but it's stated as compulsory test in de form... weird
15-06-2008, 12:05 PM
During my time, i did my mantoux test in a different GH..
15-06-2008, 12:24 PM
We didn't have to do Mantoux test two years ago (not stated in medical checkup form), it seems they introduced this last year...
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 12:29 PM
according to my doc... as long as yr x ray is okay... der is no need for us to do de mantoux test... but since its stated... we have to do it anyway...
unsleepable
15-06-2008, 01:59 PM
to clep:
is it a flaming red or just a mild one?if it is mild,its okey.and it shouldn't swollen.
yeah,mind too is still in mild red(but it's almost gone today).no swollen(sweat?).
btw,hav u brush tht part while taking ur bath or putting some lotion on it?hmm..
as for me,evn after i've checked the result,i dont touch tht spot yet(with soap/lotion).
hmm..6mm is not okay,ryte..maybe u're mistaken 6 for 0?
source:my dad was a medical practitioner .
to nigelsim:
r u sure?my x-ray result is not okay,but i passed my montoux test with success~hehe..
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 02:13 PM
i mean if yr x ray of yr lungs appear to be ok... u wont have to do de montox test.. otherwise u have to go for it... but dat doesnt mean dat u will fail de test for sure... its just to confirm dat u r free from TB
duke23
15-06-2008, 02:36 PM
actually,a mantoux test is not needed at all for malaysian students..Most malaysians have had their BCG vaccinations so a positive reaction to the mantoux is ABSOLUTELY NORMAL.Somebody should point this out to JPA..
to clep:
is it a flaming red or just a mild one?if it is mild,its okey.and it shouldn't swollen.
yeah,mind too is still in mild red(but it's almost gone today).no swollen(sweat?).
btw,hav u brush tht part while taking ur bath or putting some lotion on it?hmm..
as for me,evn after i've checked the result,i dont touch tht spot yet(with soap/lotion).
to nigelsim:
r u sure?my x-ray result is not okay,but i passed my montoux test with success~hehe..
clep:no need to worry..
IM SURPRISED..no medical practitioner has told the millions of jpa scholars who have gotten this test done abt the probablity of getting a false +ve results if they had a bcg vaccination in the past..
to clep:
to nigelsim:
r u sure that 6mm is not ok? The nurse told me it is perfectly normal.and they dun oni look at the diameter of the rash but also our blood test and the x-ray result, to determine whether we have TB.
duke23
15-06-2008, 02:43 PM
r u sure that 6mm is not ok? The nurse told me it is perfectly normal.and they dun oni look at the diameter of the rash but also our blood test and the x-ray result, to determine whether we have TB.
nurse pun tak boleh pakai..doktor lagi teruk
firstly they have to check for ur BCG jab scars..itulah cara betul..
unsleepable
16-06-2008, 11:04 PM
owh..in tht case,everything should be okay clem..dont worry much lorh..
duke,u dont have to 'head-shot' people lah..complaining just makes u sounds annoying.
FYI,i've completed my medical exam this evening..everything's is find..including the hepatitis B test and my rotated spine..
clep,how much they charged u for the medical check up?and which hospital did u go?
vaanbalthier
16-06-2008, 11:10 PM
i did my test in the GH. need to pay rm80.....anyone else who did at GH paid for ur ME???
onejun
16-06-2008, 11:41 PM
yea, i did my test at GH too.. bt i paid RM175.
d day after my ME, i facilitated a camp... n when it ended after 3 days, the vein where my blood was taken was swollen and and a dark bluish colour. urgh.. how it throbbed! never m i gonna do strenuous work after MEs again!:P
Anderson
17-06-2008, 12:07 AM
i did my test in the GH. need to pay rm80.....anyone else who did at GH paid for ur ME???
why urs so cheap???
mine is rm 165......weird:huh
17-06-2008, 07:51 AM
why urs so cheap???
mine is rm 165......weird:huh
Same here, RM 165 for all tests. :P
Took mine at the GH, cost rm185 :|
unsleepable
17-06-2008, 11:53 AM
you guys can never beat me..
i paid RM290..290..cn u imagine tht??almost 300!!,hmm...spasang kasut nike pon lepas..haha..
mm..i dunnow lah..but i did it at Uni. Sains Malaysia which has been categorised as corporate hospital..hmm..regret it lah!
cuteranger
17-06-2008, 11:55 AM
you guys can never beat me..
i paid RM290..290..cn u imagine tht??almost 300!!,hmm...spasang kasut nike pon lepas..haha..
mm..i dunnow lah..but i did it at Uni. Sains Malaysia which has been categorised as corporate hospital..hmm..regret it lah!
i pay 400++ ok... in private hospital klang >.<
unsleepable
17-06-2008, 12:28 PM
tht is private!!no wonder if it is tht much!
but as for USM,they are half-gov hospital..huhu..
-fight for the most expensive ME charge-haha..
does the ME check-up eligible until we wanna further our study in degree(oversea study)? or we hav to make brand new one when we wanna fly?
Han1219
17-06-2008, 12:36 PM
haha,
Y there is no FIXED price?
I paid RM 175,in government hospital but have to wait for 1 month for my HIV etc etc blood test,did anybody same as me?:notrust
chen622
17-06-2008, 12:42 PM
One of my medical checkup form went missing in Klinik Kesihatan due to their clumsiness. Felt like wanna slap the nurse's face when she said, "tak pe lah.. pergi fotostat la.. " in a frustrated tone :rant
Luckily JPA told me one of the form will be kept with me as reference, so i will hand in the original one and keep the photostated copy. :knk
unsleepable
17-06-2008, 12:45 PM
1 month is long..mind is only 2 weeks..actually your blood has already been 'process', they cant take so much time to do it..bt since tht the hospital 'dah x cukup tangan' in handling patients,they hav to fidn suitable time to mke such appointment..
WHAT???hilang???that is unacceptable!wonder how can she passed the nursing course..
17-06-2008, 12:58 PM
tht is private!!no wonder if it is tht much!
but as for USM,they are half-gov hospital..huhu..
-fight for the most expensive ME charge-haha..
does the ME check-up eligible until we wanna further our study in degree(oversea study)? or we hav to make brand new one when we wanna fly?You have to do it again before you fly... I've just done mine... I think if you have sufficient time, go to government hospital, it would be cheaper...
unsleepable
17-06-2008, 01:01 PM
again?owh my...i'm afraid of hospital..!!i hate hospital as much as i hate my exboifren..heh..kiddin~
so miracle,r u under JPA?n does the test is as fussy as the ME for the pre-U(a-lvl,ausmat etc.)?i mean,is there any mantoux test,blood test again?
Han1219
17-06-2008, 01:03 PM
Ya, one month really take too long but wat can i do?
Adjure him? beg him? aiya,all i can do is just WAIT!!!!!
I am going to slap the nurse too,making me shout like a "something wrong girl" when she inject bla bla(i dnt know wat it called) for mantoux test,really PAINFul...Cos she is an on practice nurse, and i being given an HONOURED chance to be her GUINEA pig...after that, she get yelled by the head nurse for making me so pain...(what i had already expecte:Pd!haha..)
17-06-2008, 01:06 PM
again?owh my...i'm afraid of hospital..!!i hate hospital as much as i hate my exboifren..heh..kiddin~
so miracle,r u under JPA?n does the test is as fussy as the ME for the pre-U(a-lvl,ausmat etc.)?i mean,is there any mantoux test,blood test again?Yes, Mantoux test, urine test, blood test, eyesight test, and chest X-ray. Somehow, we didn't have to do Mantoux test when we go for our pre-U last time....Ya, one month really take too long but wat can i do?
Adjure him? beg him? aiya,all i can do is just WAIT!!!!!
I am going to slap the nurse too,making me shout like a "something wrong girl" when she inject bla bla(i dnt know wat it called) for mantoux test,really PAINFul...Cos she is an on practice nurse, and i being given an HONOURED chance to be her GUINEA pig...after that, she get yelled by the head nurse for making me so pain...(what i had already expecte:Pd!haha..)Then you're unlucky... I've mine done in 2 weeks, and the injection for Mantoux test, it's not painful...
unsleepable
17-06-2008, 01:09 PM
owh..ok..thanx!so..mean no more maggi and junk food..hmm..healthy diet..huhu..
is the ME for the visa??i've heard tht to pass ur visa,u hav to make ME first?
mochitor
21-06-2008, 09:22 AM
duke,u dont have to 'head-shot' people lah..complaining just makes u sounds annoying.
Wahaha, it seems you got a problem with duke...I can't understand how you can get annoyed when all duke said was the truth..there are some nurse or doctors tak boleh pakai...remember baby lai yok shan? Wahaha
HoLmEs_90
21-06-2008, 10:00 AM
kerana nila setitik,rosak smua susu sebelanga....
I don't think people should tend 2 blame all the mdical staff just bcoz only some of them r making de mistakes........*see de word highlighted???* = )
just 4 the record,i don't have any relatives working as a medical staff....so this is not a bias statement......
mochitor
21-06-2008, 11:23 AM
kerana nila setitik,rosak smua susu sebelanga....
I don't think people should tend 2 blame all the mdical staff just bcoz only some of them r making de mistakes........*see de word highlighted???* = )
just 4 the record,i don't have any relatives working as a medical staff....so this is not a bias statement......
Erm...geee..well i did use the word SOME in my post...Wahaha
queendom
22-06-2008, 03:53 PM
Hey guys, i just got my medical report and its written there 16mm for my mantoux test. I got the BCG vaccination before. Is this still considered as positive result for tuberculosis?
Im quite worried because many of my friends who also got their BCG vaccination before have measurements like 8mm, 6mm etc. None of them get higher than 10mm like me :cry
and my doctor said he doesnt know whats the NAD in the urine test so he left it blank. Is it okay?
plz help me with this! thanks alot!
digital_lifeform
22-06-2008, 05:18 PM
Hey guys, i just got my medical report and its written there 16mm for my mantoux test. I got the BCG vaccination before. Is this still considered as positive result for tuberculosis?
Im quite worried because many of my friends who also got their BCG vaccination before have measurements like 8mm, 6mm etc. None of them get higher than 10mm like me :cry
and my doctor said he doesnt know whats the NAD in the urine test so he left it blank. Is it okay?
plz help me with this! thanks alot!
1. Your doctor is stupid. Shouldn't have administered a mantoux test in the first place and doesn't know what a NAD test is.
2. Mantoux test only show whether you had exposure to TB or not. Of course you had since you have had BCG before. You'll only know you have TB after you have taken a spitum test which check for active TB virus in your saliva.
queendom
23-06-2008, 10:32 PM
1. Your doctor is stupid. Shouldn't have administered a mantoux test in the first place and doesn't know what a NAD test is.
2. Mantoux test only show whether you had exposure to TB or not. Of course you had since you have had BCG before. You'll only know you have TB after you have taken a spitum test which check for active TB virus in your saliva.
1. So is it a problem if it is left blank? Do I need to redo the test for the NAD only? :(
2. Erm my doctor din ask me to take the spitum test. If I straight away show this result to jpa, are they going to do anything with it?
thanks anyway :)
digital_lifeform
23-06-2008, 10:54 PM
1. So is it a problem if it is left blank? Do I need to redo the test for the NAD only? :(
2. Erm my doctor din ask me to take the spitum test. If I straight away show this result to jpa, are they going to do anything with it?
thanks anyway :)
As long as your doc signs the back of the form saying you are medically fit it should be ok.
If you are not satisfied, I suggest you see another doctor and talk to him and ask him to explain clearly what all the test are for. You are paying consultation fees so you have every right to know how the test are performed and the results obtained. Don't even let any medical practitioner intimidate you.
(intec)
In the LAPORAN PEMERIKSAAN KESIHATAN, it's stated that we need to attach chest X-Ray and report(large film).
So, we need to bring the LARGE X-ray film there?
What's the point?
The doctor has proved that I'm normal.
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 01:18 PM
they're gonna keep it for future reference. it's normal for them to do that
aitheng
24-06-2008, 09:46 PM
(intec)
In the LAPORAN PEMERIKSAAN KESIHATAN, it's stated that we need to attach chest X-Ray and report(large film).
So, we need to bring the LARGE X-ray film there?
What's the point?
The doctor has proved that I'm normal.
i think in d laporan its stated tat we only need to attach d film if it shows abnormality. correct me if im wrong...
erm,what I mean is the medical report in the intec booklet not the jpa medical report.
ktt_noob
25-06-2008, 11:52 PM
wow...i just realised the nurse didnt help me do the Mantoux test. They just put a dash. is it OK?
ainin
26-06-2008, 12:03 AM
Wow, a lot of people hv questions regaring the mentoux test. Anyone hv problems with the urine test? My problem is that at the medical form there, the nurse only filled in the glucose part and drugs part for me. The others she din even write anything. Not even a '-'. Is tat ok? A lot of people assured me tat it is ok but still i'm a bit worried........
yanni
26-06-2008, 04:34 PM
(INTI)
do we needa bring to x ray film along with the med check up report on our registration day?
Mantoux test is kinda expensive and wasting, that's why most hospital won't conduct the test unless you personally ask for it..
They seems to be ignoring that column in your medical check up form..
You don't really need to bring the X-ray..
The result of the X-ray is shown on your checkup form(normal/abnormal/etc..)
Mantoux test is unnecessary as I've asked my aunt who had worked as a nurse in government hospitals before this. A doctor can determine the symptoms of TB by looking at our X-rays result. Its necessary only if you're going overseas.
aitheng
26-06-2008, 05:22 PM
Wow, a lot of people hv questions regaring the mentoux test. Anyone hv problems with the urine test? My problem is that at the medical form there, the nurse only filled in the glucose part and drugs part for me. The others she din even write anything. Not even a '-'. Is tat ok? A lot of people assured me tat it is ok but still i'm a bit worried........
hurm.., my urine test even worst. they jus state there that im x pregnant n x containing drugs...
others all they leave it blank.
then the nurse filled in my heartbeat n pulse in d abnormal column. when i ask d doctor, she said my heartbeat n pulse is normal. but my doctor din cancel that part. she said nvm, just leave it there.
i din know what to do..i scare it will affect d schorlarsip..
hurm.., my urine test even worst. they jus state there that im x pregnant n x containing drugs...
others all they leave it blank.
then the nurse filled in my heartbeat n pulse in d abnormal column. when i ask d doctor, she said my heartbeat n pulse is normal. but my doctor din cancel that part. she said nvm, just leave it there.
i din know what to do..i scare it will affect d schorlarsip..
They leave those column ma you fill it up yourself or alter yourself lo..
shakira
27-06-2008, 01:37 PM
Mantoux test is kinda expensive and wasting, that's why most hospital won't conduct the test unless you personally ask for it..
They seems to be ignoring that column in your medical check up form..
You don't really need to bring the X-ray..
The result of the X-ray is shown on your checkup form(normal/abnormal/etc..)
I did my mantoux test in GH alor star. it cost me rm5. but according to them, one vial of medication is rm60 and it can be used for 10 ppl. so, they gathered students who wanted to do their mantoux test on a specific day and gave the jabs.i think if u do it privately you would have to pay rm60..
i would like to ask a question.
if someone is a hepatitis b carrier,ll he/she can get the chance to get the scholarship from jpa to study oversea?