Pages : [1] 2

evan89
26-05-2007, 01:12 PM
No idea about ausmat...
can anyone senior share bout it?

bujanglapok
26-05-2007, 02:30 PM
will be taking AusMat too.
can any senior tell us more about this programme?

chriss
27-05-2007, 03:59 PM
No idea about ausmat...

Ok, if you are going to intec, this course will be lke a matriculation course in australia, you will have a lot of work(not homework), assignments. Basically, you will have like 1 and half year thr.
Year 11(the half year)
you will be devided into classes according to the course you will take.....engineering, biology and commerce/art. you will have 5 subjects:
english (esls):- assignments--a lot. eg. speaking, writing reviews, investigating and stuffs like that. Just make sure you survive that because basically you only have 1 counted exam.
physics--nothing much like form 5+little form 6
chemistry--same
biology(for biology clss student only)--a lot harder than any form 5 and form 6 although you will just learn about a chapter
maths--better pay attention although it is not as tough as additional maths (form 5)
C++--a computer subject. hardest of all and don't ever dream you can get bookls from seniors in ausmat. only ADFP seniors have it because we sold it to them :twisted:

for commerce/art class sorry, i m not in that category.......

year 12: a lot harder than year 11. almost a very big gap
same subjects only with an addition of speciallised maths and also a deletion of C++. As i m choosing physics, sorry for those who wants to take specialised maths. Details cannot be provided here. only it is a lot harder that form 6's maths. Oh, you can choose package( for biology students only):

Engineering class--esls, physics, spec maths, chem, maths
Biology class--esls, physics/spec maths, chem, maths, biology

moral classes will be compulsory for all with 3 hours of lessons divided into 2 days.

basically ausmat is easier than IB but it is a 50 assignment 50 examination based course so makes it more difficult than A-levels(not the cambridge type). You can always find seniors there, so don't worry.

27-05-2007, 08:38 PM
No idea about ausmat...

Ok, if you are going to intec, this course will be lke a matriculation course in australia, you will have a lot of work(not homework), assignments. Basically, you will have like 1 and half year thr.
Year 11(the half year)
you will be devided into classes according to the course you will take.....engineering, biology and commerce/art. you will have 5 subjects:
english (esls):- assignments--a lot. eg. speaking, writing reviews, investigating and stuffs like that. Just make sure you survive that because basically you only have 1 counted exam.
chemistry--same
biology(for biology clss student only)--a lot harder than any form 5 and form 6 although you will just learn about a chapter
maths--better pay attention although it is not as tough as additional maths (form 5)
C++--a computer subject. hardest of all and don't ever dream you can get bookls from seniors in ausmat. only ADFP seniors have it because we sold it to them :twisted:

same subjects only with an addition of speciallised maths and also a deletion of C++. As i m choosing physics, sorry for those who wants to take specialised maths. Details cannot be provided here. only it is a lot harder that form 6's maths. Oh, you can choose package( for biology students only):

moral classes will be compulsory for all with 3 hours of lessons divided into 2 days.

basically ausmat is easier than IB but it is a 50 assignment 50 examination based course so makes it more difficult than A-levels(not the cambridge type). You can always find seniors there, so don't worry.

How about KBU? Any Kbu seniors here?

And, from the KBU browser, i didn't see any specialist maths in the subjects list.

Is it chemistry compulsory 4 engineering students?

Can somebody plz answer my questions?

evan89
27-05-2007, 09:35 PM
No idea about ausmat...

Year 11(the half year)
chemistry--same

How about KBU? Any Kbu seniors here?

And, from the KBU browser, i didn't see any specialist maths in the subjects list.

Is it chemistry compulsory 4 engineering students?

Can somebody plz answer my questions?

Is ausmat n intec and kbu de same?
i think its compulsory for engineering student to take chemistry
tats my view correct me if wrong
seem like year 11 r relax but year 12 =.=
anyway hope 2 hear from senior in kbu
chiachean thx alot it realli helps.

minjie
04-06-2007, 04:11 PM
hye..i m goin to study ausmat soon...is ausmat same wid foundation in curtin??anyone pls reply me..thanx yaa...

04-06-2007, 04:26 PM
hye..i m goin to study ausmat soon...is ausmat same wid foundation in curtin??anyone pls reply me..thanx yaa...

where are you going to study AUSMAT?? INTEC??
IMO, they're not same...
I'm in dilemma too..just wonder whether i'll still eligible for scholarships such as SimeDarby and SHELL if i take foundation course in curtin?? huhu...

04-06-2007, 04:36 PM
No idea about ausmat...

hi, i was an AUSMATian before this.. in INTEC as well, AUSMAT 17 to be exact.. well AUSMAT in INTEC is the same as SAM in taylor's. and its actually under the south australian matriculation board of examiners

go to this website for more info
http://www.ssabsa.sa.edu.au/

that's the pre-u that you will be doing.. another tips for those AUSMAT in INTEC, you can get the past year papers from the shops in front of taylors. hehe its call mac centre.. somewhere beside IDP.. just tell the boss u're from INTEC..

evan89
04-06-2007, 04:53 PM
wat the difference between ausmat in intec and ausmat in kbu college

04-06-2007, 06:08 PM
wat the difference between ausmat in intec and ausmat in kbu college

as i have mentioned before, ausmat in INTEC is under the south australian board. and this is the same as the SAM in taylors college though each bears a different course name..

as for ausmat in kbu, the matriculation is under the western board which is similar to the ausmat offered in sunway college.

seekers
04-06-2007, 07:19 PM
hi...i'll be taking ausmat too...

thanks for the briefing...

what is the different between spec math and math?
please anyone explain..

thanks!

04-06-2007, 07:35 PM
hi...i'll be taking ausmat too...

thanks for the briefing...

what is the different between spec math and math?
please anyone explain..

thanks!

spec math is totally different from math(or the full term : mathematical studies)

spec math is totally much more difficult that math studies. cos in math studies you just learn mostly on some algebra, differentiation and intergration.. and questions are mostly on these stuff..

where as for spec math, the questions are normally much more on proving equations like " show that this = that ", then you'll have to apply some theories or laws to prove that this = that. spec math is normally taken by engineering students. though some medic students does take it as well. say in AUSMAT 17, out of 300 students in our batch, about 70 were medic students. and out of this 70 medic students less than 5 did actually take spec math.

livern
04-06-2007, 07:46 PM
question! question!
in the KBU booklet, the subjects tat they offer got 3 different math subjects; applicable mathematics, calculus and discrete mathematics. can anyone tell me what's the difference between applicable math and discrete math? and we learnt calculus in f5 already rite? it's onli 2 babs (differentiation and integration).. don tell me we'll b studying those 2 babs for 18months??!

04-06-2007, 07:59 PM
question! question!
in the KBU booklet, the subjects tat they offer got 3 different math subjects; applicable mathematics, calculus and discrete mathematics. can anyone tell me what's the difference between applicable math and discrete math? and we learnt calculus in f5 already rite? it's onli 2 babs (differentiation and integration).. don tell me we'll b studying those 2 babs for 18months??!

sorry mate.. can't help you on this this time...

livern
04-06-2007, 08:15 PM
question! question!

awww man! do u think they'll brief us on this when we get there? i cant choose which subjects i wanna take if i don even noe what it is!

canada
04-06-2007, 08:18 PM
question! question!

Actually calculus is a broad subject with many areas are being covered. What we learned in form 5 is just the very very simple and basic knowledge of calculus.

How much do you know about limit? Just limit can be a very long chapter that can take up to 1-2 months' time.

Somemore, we hav learnt differentiation in form 4. But, that one is very very basic one. Hav u learnt about differention of trigonometric function, like sin, cos, tan, cot, sin-1... and e, ln?? Somemore got integration about all this. Somemore differential equations and system of differential equations.

Don't think that calculus is just form 5 like that. Many more for u to explore.

livern
04-06-2007, 08:23 PM
question! question!

Actually calculus is a broad subject with many areas are being covered. What we learned in form 5 is just the very very simple and basic knowledge of calculus.

How much do you know about limit? Just limit can be a very long chapter that can take up to 1-2 months' time.
ahhh... okay. okay. looks like calculus is gonna b a tough subject, huh? how bout the other question? the difference between applicable math and discrete math is??

Somemore, we hav learnt differentiation in form 4. But, that one is very very basic one. Hav u learnt about differention of trigonometric function, like sin, cos, tan, cot, sin-1... and e, ln?? Somemore got integration about all this. Somemore differential equations and system of differential equations.

livern
04-06-2007, 08:24 PM
question! question!

ahhh... okay. okay. looks like calculus is gonna b a tough subject, huh? how bout the other question? the difference between applicable math and discrete math is??

04-06-2007, 08:25 PM
yeah.. its quite true alright... what ever you study for your matriculation.. it might seem related to what you study in form 5.. in fact it is related.. but when you really get into it.. its a whole new level for you and definitely not as easy as it seems in form 5...

evan89
04-06-2007, 08:27 PM
question! question!

awww man! do u think they'll brief us on this when we get there? i cant choose which subjects i wanna take if i don even noe what it is!

i think they will give briefing
and the ausmat start on januari so u have lots time to ask from ur senior or who else there

seekers
04-06-2007, 08:27 PM
thanks jingguo!

thank god i'll be undergo dentistry course....that mean most probably
i can escape from taking spec math right?? :lol: hehe

act..im not really good in math and calculation.. :oops:

04-06-2007, 08:34 PM
thanks jingguo!

thank god i'll be undergo dentistry course....that mean most probably
i can escape from taking spec math right?? :lol: hehe

act..im not really good in math and calculation.. :oops:

haha.. you're welcome.. yeah, i dont think you need to do spec math.. all you need is esls, math studies, bio, physics and chem...

dentistry aint an easy course to get in mate.. better work hard!!!!

livern
04-06-2007, 08:35 PM
question! question!

and the ausmat start on januari so u have lots time to ask from ur senior or who else there
Mine starts on the 3rd of July this year!! how?! HOW?! HOW?!

04-06-2007, 08:41 PM
question! question!

Mine starts on the 3rd of July this year!! how?! HOW?! HOW?!

which pre-u r u taking?? ausmat in intec or in kbu?? no worries.. you would be given sometime to think about it la... you would definitely get to know some seniors there and then you can ask for their opinion.. can't help you much if u're in kbu.. but if its intec ausmat, feel free to drop me a message!!!

evan89
04-06-2007, 08:48 PM
me too going kbu 3rd july taking ausmat oso
but the booklet given there written ausmat duration is from January - Ocktober and the exam is on November...
So i think ausmat start on januari,,, But then wat we do when july?

04-06-2007, 09:04 PM
haha.. well.. i'm not sure about kbu.. but its the same as ausmat in intec.. cos its the same as SAM in taylors.. so supposedly the real course starts in January and finals in November.... so for ausmat in intec, we had english language classes for most of the time and introduction classes to the few subjects we're gonna take the next year... so i think it would be the same for yours in kbu..

livern
06-06-2007, 04:26 PM
ahaha.. mine is in KBU. so i guess i'll just quit worrying about it and decide when the time comes? ahaha. i guess that sounds like me. lazy fella. ahaha.

evan89
06-06-2007, 05:09 PM
ahaha.. mine is in KBU. so i guess i'll just quit worrying about it and decide when the time comes? ahaha. i guess that sounds like me. lazy fella. ahaha.

same here... see u there :D

06-06-2007, 05:22 PM

same here... see u there :D

hihi, c u all in KBU at 3/7!! :D :D

livern
06-06-2007, 05:33 PM
ahahaha! shouldn't this be in the KBU thread?? haha. anyways, see u guys there!

06-06-2007, 05:41 PM
ahahaha! shouldn't this be in the KBU thread?? haha. anyways, see u guys there!

well, the title's bout ausmat, but with no specification to ausmat in intec or kbu.. haha.. so as long as its got to do with ausmat then its fine!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

evan89
06-06-2007, 05:44 PM
Ausmat got 50% is depends to assignment rite?
How the lecturer give marks? Based on what?

07-06-2007, 11:54 AM
Ausmat got 50% is depends to assignment rite?
How the lecturer give marks? Based on what?

yes, its 50/50.. internal and external... you have a number of assignments and monthly/periodic assesments to do for your different subject.. each would have different weightage and stuff like that.. lecturers gives marks based on how well you have done la.. say chem for example, you would have lab reports to do, and in the reports there's a discussion part, and in that part, the lecturer would see how well you have presented your discussion la.. then they'll give marks according to your presentation of the report.. as long as you fulfil all the criteria that the lecturer wants, you would have higher marks if not full marks...

weikiat
01-11-2007, 10:27 PM
I am studying in INTEC for year 11. I am now in dilemma of whether to choose spect maths or physics in my year 12. Could any senior give some advise for me to make the wise choice?

01-11-2007, 11:27 PM
Do you choose between specialist and physics? During my time it's between specialist and biology.

I guess it depends on how confident you are in mathematics. If you are confident you can do well in maths, for example, if you have always scored 95 and above in all your maths exams throughout secondary school and INTEC, then you might want to consider specialist maths. If you are not too confident about it, then physics might be a better choice, unless you seriously hate it.

bluez_aspic
02-11-2007, 10:25 AM
Year 12 Physics is boring and stupid.

02-11-2007, 12:27 PM
Why Physics I study here (AUSMAT) is not same as in INTEC 1?
The number of chapters are also not same.
The INTEC 1 is much more than ours..

wuenwuen
04-12-2008, 10:51 AM
i know that ausmat is for the west and sam is for the south. So does that mean taking sam can't enrol into aus u in west and vice versa? haha as long as that's a aus matriculation program, there shld not be any problem of entering any aus u, right?

04-12-2008, 11:12 AM
That's correct. (Please refrain from using large font, it hurts people's eyes :P)

vikraman
04-12-2008, 11:36 AM
Year 12 Physics is boring and stupid.
Amen.

All Australian year 12 Physics is boring, stupid and easy. All the fun chapters are left out (as compared to a half-decent Pre-U Physics programme like Cambridge A-Levels A2 Physics, IB HL Physics etc.)

evening_go_jogging
04-12-2008, 03:28 PM
I am studying in INTEC for year 11. I am now in dilemma of whether to choose spect maths or physics in my year 12. Could any senior give some advise for me to make the wise choice?

Please refer to this thread http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7729

i know that ausmat is for the west and sam is for the south. So does that mean taking sam can't enrol into aus u in west and vice versa? haha as long as that's a aus matriculation program, there shld not be any problem of entering any aus u, right?

AUSMAT and SAM are by different exam boards. Nonetheless, both are accepted by universities in Australia.

04-12-2008, 04:04 PM
All Australian year 12 Physics is boring, stupid and easy. All the fun chapters are left out (as compared to a half-decent Pre-U Physics programme like Cambridge A-Levels A2 Physics, IB HL Physics etc.)
I don't know, I guess Australia is trying to provide a course of "practical physics" instead of exposing people to a full spectrum of physical fields, some of which will be relevant to very few people but will fail a lot of people.

uchai
20-05-2009, 10:34 PM
hi..
can anyone tell me more details about study for australian matriculation..
because this june i will futher my stdy at intec shah alam for australian matriculation..
cn anyone tell a little bit about the subjects and the books for ausmat???

Young
21-05-2009, 12:13 AM
Hi all. So yea, I'm a new member and I thought to myself 'Why not make a little contribution?'

I've been following Recom for a while now and noticed that there seems to be some confusion surrounding the AUSMAT and SAM programs. Despite being relatively popular courses, many misconceptions still surround them. Hopefully, this little FAQ here will clear a few doubts.

If a similar thread has been created, feel free to delete this. Now, on to the FAQ!

What's the difference between AUSMAT and SAM?
AUSMAT and SAM are Malaysian terms for Australian Year 12 programs. The only difference between them are the state education boards governing such exams. Since these two names are interchangeably used, it gets pretty confusing sometimes. Here are a few major providers of such courses and the Australian states associated with them:

AUSMAT Sunway = Western Australia Year 12
AUSMAT KBU = Western Australia Year 12
SAM Taylors = South Australia Year 12
AUSMAT Intec = South Australia Year 12

Will AUSMAT/SAM limit me to Western Australia/South Australia in terms of universities?
No. Both programs are recognised throughout Australia and in many parts of the world.

How recognised is AUSMAT/SAM?
They are highly accepted throughout Australia and in most private colleges/universities in Malaysia.
Contrary to popular belief, these courses are recognised in the UK, US, Singapore as well as in many other parts of the world. However, getting into critical courses such as medicine, dentistry or law in the country mentioned above will be difficult with AUSMAT/SAM as they would prefer a more comprehensive Pre-Uni qualification like A levels.

How long does the course take?
It usually takes 11 months to complete but some colleges have accelerated courses which end in 8 months. JPA scholars will have to go through 1.5 years of it.

How are the scores counted?
Both courses have a coursework (internal) component worth 50% and an exam (external) component worth the other 50%. Bear in mind that marks may be scaled, depending on various factors such as college performance and subject difficulty.

I don't understand the Tertiary Entrance Rank (TER) system. Wtf is that?
In both courses, results are not released in terms of As, Bs, Cs, Ds etc. Instead, they use a percentile system known as TER. The scaled scores of each candidate are put through a ranking system. For example;
TER99.00 places you in the top 1% of all candidates.
TER 85.50 places you in the top 14.5% of all candidates.

The highest TER achievable is 99.95. University entrance is based on the TER.

How easy/hard is it to obtain a high TER?
As a rough guideline, TER99 will require a scaled average of at least 85 marks. TER80 will require around 60 marks. I won't say it's easy but with hardwork, it's definitely possible to get high marks.

Is AUSMAT/SAM hard?
Depends on what you mean by hard. If you look at the syllabus covered, it's pretty easy (definitely not as deep as STPM, A levels, IB). However, there is a significant amount of coursework involved and if you want to score, be prepared to burn yourself out. Despite the shallow syllabus, the external papers are very tough; you'll find yourself fighting against time to complete the exams. Interestingly, the questions do not test much of your memory capabilities. Instead, there is very heavy emphasis on problem solving and critical thinking.

Should I take AUSMAT/SAM?
If you're absopositively sure of going to Australia, YES. It's cheaper than A levels or IB, gets you into any course of your choice and takes less time to complete.

If you're uncertain about your country of choice but know for sure that you will not take a critical course (med, dent, law, etc) outside Australia, YES. AUSMAT/SAM will bring you everywhere.

If you're not sure about anything at all, NO. Go take A levels or something else.

~

So yea.. That's about all the FAQs I can think off. If there's anything wrong with the info I put up, do let me know so I can correct it. Feel free to ask anything, anything at all. I'll try my best to help you out. :)

And if you're wondering how I knew all the stuff above, I did AUSMAT at Sunway.

Enjoy!

Xon merged this thread with previous Ausmat thread. Hope you dont mind.

21-05-2009, 01:34 AM
You might want to put your post to the wiki =)

Young
22-05-2009, 08:51 PM
You might want to put your post to the wiki =)

I will. Thanks.

Young
22-05-2009, 08:53 PM
hi..
can anyone tell me more details about study for australian matriculation..
because this june i will futher my stdy at intec shah alam for australian matriculation..
cn anyone tell a little bit about the subjects and the books for ausmat???

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8582
Some information regarding Ausmat.

22-05-2009, 09:21 PM
Very resourceful post !

A few online resources where you can read up more..

http://www.sam.sa.edu.au/

http://www.saceboard.sa.edu.au/

zaiy
22-05-2009, 09:32 PM
Is pharmacy considered as one of the critical courses?

22-05-2009, 09:40 PM

Sorry, but you've posted in wrong thread. Nevertheless, i'll help you once here and please continue your subsequent discussion in respective thread, eg, JPA pharmacy.

From the Bureau Of Labour Statistics, USA,

Excellent job opportunities are expected.
Earnings are high, but some pharmacists are required to work nights, weekends, and holidays.
Pharmacists are becoming more involved in counseling patients and planning drug therapy programs.
A license is required; the prospective pharmacist must graduate from an accredited college of pharmacy and pass a series of examinations.

you can read up the rest over here, http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos079.htm

and from the UK official graduate careers website. I found they have very comprehensive discussion on pharmacy. I strongly urge you to refer
http://www.prospects.ac.uk/p/types_of_job/hospital_pharmacist_job_description.jsp#section1

zaiy
22-05-2009, 09:47 PM
Sorry, but you've posted in wrong thread. Nevertheless, i'll help you once here and please continue your subsequent discussion in respective thread, eg, JPA pharmacy.[/URL]

I asked quoting Young's first post:
If you're uncertain about your country of choice but know for sure that you will not take a critical course (med, dent, law, etc)

JPA pharmacy thread is so dead *LOL* that I don't know who to ask :(. But thanks anyway! :)

Young
22-05-2009, 09:47 PM

Yes. If you plan to do pharmacy in Australia or in a private college in Malaysia, do take AusMat/SAM. If you intend to study pharmacy anywhere else, I would advise against it.

22-05-2009, 09:49 PM
I asked quoting Young's first post:
If you're uncertain about your country of choice but know for sure that you will not take a critical course (med, dent, law, etc)

JPA pharmacy thread is so dead *LOL* that I don't know who to ask :(. But thanks anyway! :)

My mistake. I'm sorry. Do use the 'Quote' function. :))

zaiy
22-05-2009, 10:28 PM
My mistake. I'm sorry. Do use the 'Quote' function. :))

nevermind. i forgot to quote :P my bad.

Jan
06-06-2009, 11:16 PM
for ausmat, intec, we have to choose either specialist mathematics or physics right..?
dear seniors, which one would you recommend for pharmacy course..?

thanks for the info.. ^^

hongjy
10-06-2009, 04:10 PM
question! question!

i search thru KBU web n found that they do not offer discrete math anymore.izit true?

KBU offers these subjects for AUSMAT students:
applicable mathematics, calculus, bio, phy, chem, economics, accounting, information systems and german.

I m going to do ausmat at kbu tis july..since i m taking accounting, my choice will definitly be accounting, economics,information system and _______. I dun really think i need applicable mathematics and calculus but discrete math. Bio, chem, phy and german are totally out..

can anyone pls giv me some ideas...

Young
10-06-2009, 06:29 PM
i search thru KBU web n found that they do not offer discrete math anymore.izit true?

applicable mathematics, calculus, bio, phy, chem, economics, accounting, information systems and german.

I m going to do ausmat at kbu tis july..since i m taking accounting, my choice will definitly be accounting, economics,information system and _______. I dun really think i need applicable mathematics and calculus but discrete math. Bio, chem, phy and german are totally out..

I would advise you to take Applicable Maths. Many universities require/recommend either Applics or Calculus for business-related courses. Only take Discrete if you hate maths/are not doing a Maths-related course. (like me :P )

hongjy
11-06-2009, 11:42 AM
But i tot applics and calculus are for science-related course? I dont hate maths but i dislike it >< Anyway, thanks young for ur advice!

Young
11-06-2009, 01:04 PM
But i tot applics and calculus are for science-related course? I dont hate maths but i dislike it >< Anyway, thanks young for ur advice!

Nop, it's not a exclusively for Science. Applics has many links with business and statistics while Calculus is the basis of Engineering.

hongjy
11-06-2009, 01:53 PM
I hv a doubt :( My fren explained to me that applics is pure math.. She said is most likely to physics math (Applics involves lotsa calculus, dy/dx, sin, cos, tan and etc ) Is that true?

Young
11-06-2009, 02:13 PM
I hv a doubt :( My fren explained to me that applics is pure math.. She said is most likely to physics math (Applics involves lotsa calculus, dy/dx, sin, cos, tan and etc ) Is that true?

Nah, that's not true. Applics and calculus don't really overlap alot. There might be some bits of calculus in Applics but there's hardly alot to worry about. I assure you, Applics is a lot more relevant to business than it is to Physics or Engineering. The pure mathsy stuff is in Calculus.

Some of the topics in Applics are linear equations, matrices, graph analysis, statistics, probability, random variables and distributions. The best way I would describe Applics is a tougher version of SPM Modern Maths. I would say it's about.. twice as difficult as SPM Add Maths.

Check out this link; it might give you a better idea of Applics.

http://www.curriculum.wa.edu.au/pages/syllabus_manuals/volumes/IV_maths/syllabus_manuals_0809/pdf/E504.pdf

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
11-06-2009, 02:38 PM

If you're going to take accounting, you'll hav to take EALD, ACCOUNTING, COMPUTER SCIENCE, ECONOMICS, APPLICS....:)

hongjy
11-06-2009, 07:40 PM
Thanks Masterz-takings! Btw, what are the differences between information systems and computer science?

holycreeper
13-06-2009, 01:34 PM
Are the syllabus of the subjects taught in AUSMAT the same as Form 6? Or at least a little?

13-06-2009, 05:36 PM
It's much easier to study than Form 6; but it's probably harder to score the very top score compared to scoring a 4.0 in STPM.

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 04:20 PM
It's much easier to study than Form 6; but it's probably harder to score the very top score compared to scoring a 4.0 in STPM.

you mean that, its really hard to score the "TER" thing, harder than to score 4.0??? sounds scary..give me headache

14-06-2009, 04:42 PM
Depends on what kind of TER you are aiming for, and what course you want to study. For medicine, as an international student, you need to get TER of at least around 97 to have a chance of being accepted by any medical school at all.

Unfortunately I don't have the number for the people who get 4.0 in STPM and the number for people who get TER 97 and above, so I can't give you a direct comparison for both.

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 04:48 PM
Depends on what kind of TER you are aiming for, and what course you want to study. For medicine, as an international student, you need to get TER of at least around 97 to have a chance of being accepted by any medical school at all.

at least 97?? crazyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!
what bout pharmacy?? i'll be taking pharmacy

Young
14-06-2009, 04:50 PM
Hmm.. I don't know anyone in UWA doing Med using STPM but many of my friends here got in with A levels.

Their A level results range from 3As to 5As. If you're talking from the TER perspective, I'm the only sesat international student who managed entered with Year 12 so... No comparison from that sense. Sorry. :(
As a rough indicator, stick to >TER98 and make sure you ace your ISAT and interviews. :)

The university with the lowest requirement for Pharmacy is the University of South Australia. They need you to achieve at least TER90. Better start studying. :P

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 05:14 PM
As a rough indicator, stick to >TER98 and make sure you ace your ISAT and interviews. :)

The university with the lowest requirement for Pharmacy is the University of South Australia. They need you to achieve at least TER90. Better start studying. :P

lol..i'm NZ bound lor..TER 98 seems so high..and hard..

holycreeper
14-06-2009, 05:17 PM
Thanks for the feedbacks.

i have another questions regarding the books used.

Does INTEC provide us with free textbooks for each subjects? This is because JPA does not provide allowance anymore for books for pre-U purposes.

If INTEC does not provide the books, then I plan to buy them in Kuching before registration. Thus, I need a list of books (with the name of publisher stated) for each subject. Can anyone provide me the list?

Young
14-06-2009, 05:20 PM
lol..i'm NZ bound lor..TER 98 seems so high..and hard..

Ooops, my apologies. XD Didn't know you're NZ-bound. Hmm, then your task should be slightly easier. I'm not sure if you know this but NZ universities have a different system. They do not have direct entry into medicine/pharmacy/dentistry. Instead, you'll have to do first year of Health Sciences and compete with everyone else for a spot. That means you don't have to work like crazy in AusMat but you'll have to give it your all in first year.

holycreeper
14-06-2009, 05:27 PM
how much should we score to get a TER 98? I'm Australian bound scholar for Pharmacy.

Young
14-06-2009, 05:30 PM
how much should we score to get a TER 98? I'm Australian bound scholar for Pharmacy.

For TER98, you'll need an average scaled score in the region of 80. If you can attempt the past year papers and get around 80 marks, you should be fine.

PS: And I must add, the average scaled score of 80 applies to WA Year 12 only. :) I dont think the South Australian board releases individual student marks. Instead, they convert your marks into a standard scale where 20 is the highest achievable score.

14-06-2009, 05:32 PM
TER is a percentile system, and scoring 98 means that your result is better than 98% other candidates in your batch. So there isn't really a particular score that corresponds to a particular TER, it all depends on how everyone else is doing. But as a rough guideline, you need to score at least an average of 18-19 out of 20 for each subject to score 98 and above. And it's actually not that hard.

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Ooops, my apologies. XD Didn't know you're NZ-bound. Hmm, then your task should be slightly easier. I'm not sure if you know this but NZ universities have a different system. They do not have direct entry into medicine/pharmacy/dentistry. Instead, you'll have to do first year of Health Sciences and compete with everyone else for a spot. That means you don't have to work like crazy in AusMat but you'll have to give it your all in first year.

oh..like that ke..haha..but i'm still scared..for pharm students only one uni in NZ offers the course, uni of otago..seems like it 'll be competitive maa..

TER is a percentile system, and scoring 98 means that your result is better than 98% other candidates in your batch. So there isn't really a particular score that corresponds to a particular TER, it all depends on how everyone else is doing. But as a rough guideline, you need to score at least an average of 18-19 out of 20 for each subject to score 98 and above. And it's actually not that hard.

waa..not actually that hard?? r u an AUSMATian?? any tips for assignment or exams to score high and get high TER?

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
14-06-2009, 06:31 PM
Thanks Masterz-takings! Btw, what are the differences between information systems and computer science?

im not sure coz i didn't take both of them..
sorry:oh

14-06-2009, 06:43 PM
oh..like that ke..haha..but i'm still scared..for pharm students only one uni in NZ offers the course, uni of otago..seems like it 'll be competitive maa..

waa..not actually that hard?? r u an AUSMATian?? any tips for assignment or exams to score high and get high TER?
I was in AUSMAT (SAM) six years ago. In Melbourne University now. The AUSMAT format has undergone quite a bit of change since I entered uni so I am afraid I can't provide much relevant advice to you here. :(

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 06:52 PM
I was in AUSMAT (SAM) six years ago. In Melbourne University now. The AUSMAT format has undergone quite a bit of change since I entered uni so I am afraid I can't provide much relevant advice to you here. :(

oh..its okay..at least a few infos above do help me..thnx a lot, senior..lol

Young
14-06-2009, 07:06 PM

Are you doing AUSMAT at INTEC or AUSMAT at KBU/Sunway? If it's the latter, I can try to help. :)

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 08:38 PM
Are you doing AUSMAT at INTEC or AUSMAT at KBU/Sunway? If it's the latter, I can try to help. :)

i'm going to intec 2 weeks from now..AUSMAT, pharmacy..i'm glad if u can help..:))

14-06-2009, 08:40 PM
i'm going to intec 2 weeks from now..AUSMAT, pharmacy..i'm glad if u can help..:))

yo yo linda
hehehe im also glad of i can know at least roughly about AUSMAT
try to PM those AUSMATian like runninghorse and ask them....
faster reply maybe

yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 08:43 PM
AUSMAT differ from different college?

14-06-2009, 08:49 PM
i was wondering about the TER
if i got TER90 means i was above 90 percentile of all AUSMAT students is it???

14-06-2009, 09:01 PM
Yes. Which means, if there are 20000 students, you are at the top 10% i.e. you are ranked at around no. 2000.

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 09:01 PM
yo yo linda
hehehe im also glad of i can know at least roughly about AUSMAT
try to PM those AUSMATian like runninghorse and ask them....
faster reply maybe

aiyo ko..i think if i PM them myb it 'll disturb them lah..coz they're all busy.
no seniors in our skol amek ausmat ek?? rmy of them do IB, but not our batch.

Young
14-06-2009, 09:06 PM

Awh, I'm afraid I can't help you with too many things then. I did AusMat at Sunway and although the two courses are similar, the syllabus is slightly different.

The best advice I can give you is to study consistently. AusMat isn't a course where you can leave everything till the end and mug like crazy; it's not SPM anymore.

Try and perform well on those monthly tests and assignments because remember, half of your marks are internal. Every single mark counts so I'd suggest dropping any "Aiya, it's just 5% only ma" mentality as soon as possible. :P Trust me, all the marks add up real quick.

Also, when you're nearing your exams make sure you get hold of every single past year paper you can find; they give you a very good idea of what's going to come out and also allows you to determine where you stand. :)

Basically, just work consitently and dilligently. You'll need to get through alot of assignments so be prepared for that. Don't let any work pile up because you'll seriously suffer when the deadlines are approaching.

Don't worry about the syllabus; it's pretty easy. You should have no (or at least, minimal) problems coping with the material. :)

AUSMAT differ from different college?

Yep, it's different. INTEC's AusMat is based on the South Australian board while Sunway/KBU's AusMat is based on the Western Australian board. Both are equally recognised so it doesn't really matter which board it's from.

That's correct. :)

hongjy
14-06-2009, 09:34 PM
Young, where can we find those past year papers? Is there any guideline to do our assignments? Well, i m going to do ausmat at kbu:-)

lindafeehily
14-06-2009, 09:45 PM
Young, where can we find those past year papers?

yeah, i also wonder bout it.btw, i'll be taking ausmat at intec

Young
14-06-2009, 09:50 PM
Young, where can we find those past year papers? Is there any guideline to do our assignments? Well, i m going to do ausmat at kbu:-)

Haha, I can try and help. :)
For the past year papers, there are books which compile up to 5-6 years worth of past year papers along with detailed answers. I'm pretty sure your college bookshop has them. For official examination reports and some answers (not all, only some), you can check out the official WA Curriculum Council website at:
http://www.curriculum.wa.edu.au/internet/Communications/Reports_Statistics/TEE_Examiners_Reports

I think your lecturers will provide past year papers as well. Most colleges have a big stock exam papers; Sunway College had papers dating back to 1982... :laugh

About the assignments, they are marked internally (ie; by your lecturers) so it depends on what your lectuerers want. Don't worry too much about it, they'll give you all the guidance you need when it comes to assignments.

yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 10:08 PM
Young, is there any recommended website for AUSMAT study? Wanna get a clear picture on it before going to Sunway:P

Young
14-06-2009, 10:24 PM
Young, is there any recommended website for AUSMAT study? Wanna get a clear picture on it before going to Sunway:P

Wow, you're really spirited aren't you? :P
But really, there's nothing to be worried about. Don't be frightened by the TERs and all, it's really not that hard to score. :)
Unfortunately, there are no helpful websites which I know of. You could always drop by the bookshop at Sunway and glance through a few of the AusMat books but I really wouldn't recommend getting stressed out over it. :)

yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 10:28 PM
Wow, you're really spirited aren't you? :P
But really, there's nothing to be worry about. Don't be frightened by the TERs and all, it's really not that hard to score. :)
Unfortunately, there are no helpful websites which I know of. You could always drop by the bookshop at Sunway and glance through a few of the AusMat books but I really wouldn't recommend getting stressed out over it. :)
Haha, I'm not stress over the TER. Just afraid I couldn't make it to Australia. You told me before, it's tough, haizzz....:cry

MaSterZ-TaKinGs
14-06-2009, 10:42 PM

u can find past year papers in the library as soon as u're here..the books are in the library..:):)

Young
14-06-2009, 10:55 PM
Haha, I'm not stress over the TER. Just afraid I couldn't make it to Australia. You told me before, it's tough, haizzz....:cry

I won't deny that it's tough but you received the scholarship so you can't possibly be half dumb, right? :amuse The only thing standing in your way would be effort. If you work hard enough, I'm sure you'll get there. :)

Trust me, by the end of 2010, you'll be saying "Damn, why did I worry so much for nothing..?"

I'm serious. :)

lindafeehily
15-06-2009, 01:19 PM
Trust me, by the end of 2010, you'll be saying "Damn, why did I worry so much for nothing..?"

I'm serious. :)

waa,, is it true?? we'll be saying that?

feel a lil bit relieved..coz i'm not a genius, and i'm a type of person who need to strive and go all out to perform high in my education,like in my spm.lol

ilyyy
15-06-2009, 03:24 PM
If you plan to do pharmacy in Australia or in a private college in Malaysia, do take AusMat/SAM. If you intend to study pharmacy anywhere else, I would advise against it.

arh. i got twinning program uk. im taking pharm later, n ausmat this june that in intec. then??

15-06-2009, 07:36 PM
arh. i got twinning program uk. im taking pharm later, n ausmat this june that in intec. then??

uk twinning will take a-lvl medicine

lesto
15-06-2009, 08:08 PM
uk twinning will take a-lvl medicine

Nope... Those doing twinning with Uni. of Nottingham are told to do Ausmat. No idea why though...

yuan_renn
15-06-2009, 08:30 PM
waa,, is it true?? we'll be saying that?

feel a lil bit relieved..coz i'm not a genius, and i'm a type of person who need to strive and go all out to perform high in my education,like in my spm.lol
Haha, yeah, provided you're willing to work your ass off. Hope that really works. Me too, is not a genius type, plus not the hardworking type, guess I should change my attitude starting from now:P JYJY

15-06-2009, 08:33 PM
Nope... Those doing twinning with Uni. of Nottingham are told to do Ausmat. No idea why though...

oh
i heard that ausmat is recognised in UK
actually,almost all commonwelth countries' educations and exams are standardised

Jan
15-06-2009, 11:11 PM
just out of curiosity..
biology, physics and chemistry in ausmat,
in any way, kinda similar to spm scope...?
as in the things we learn in form 4 and form 5
will most of it be applicabe in ausmat syllabus
or it will be more in details until you just learn it again there..?

Young
15-06-2009, 11:29 PM
just out of curiosity..
biology, physics and chemistry in ausmat,
in any way, kinda similar to spm scope...?
as in the things we learn in form 4 and form 5
will most of it be applicabe in ausmat syllabus
or it will be more in details until you just learn it again there..?

Biology is almost 50% on SPM. Frankly, AusMat bio is crap.
Chemistry and Physics overlap with SPM slightly. They are extensions of the topics you've covered in SPM.

The questions set are very different from those in SPM. No more direct, no-thinking questions. Most of them require some bit of processing, especially Chem and Physics.

Jan
15-06-2009, 11:43 PM
Biology is almost 50% on SPM. Frankly, AusMat bio is crap.
Chemistry and Physics overlap with SPM slightly. They are extensions of the topics you've covered in SPM.

The questions set are very different from those in SPM. No more direct, no-thinking questions. Most of them require some bit of processing, especially Chem and Physics.

crap..
haha.. why so...?
thats means basic in form 4 and form 5 is important also la...?

atiks
15-06-2009, 11:45 PM
wat i noe is dat we need 2 take 5 subjects..18 months in malaysia n 4 years in Australia,..if u gonna study there..well,i heard half of the result is taken from assignment n projects n the other half from the exam....

yuan_renn
15-06-2009, 11:47 PM
crap..
haha.. why so...?
thats means basic in form 4 and form 5 is important also la...?
Wow, guess I should start digging out those F4 and F5 books.:)

wat i noe is dat we need 2 take 5 subjects..18 months in malaysia n 4 years in Australia,..if u gonna study there..well,i heard half of the result is taken from assignment n projects n the other half from the exam....
4 years in Australia? What course are you taking? Yes, according to Young, 50% assignment, 50% exam.

Young
15-06-2009, 11:48 PM
Yep, 18 month's if you're a scholar. 12 if you're in a private college.
And yes, it's 50% 50% in terms of assignments and exam.
And yes, get those F4 and F5 books dusted. :P

yuan_renn
15-06-2009, 11:53 PM
Yep, 18 month's if you're a scholar. 12 if you're in a private college.
And yes, it's 50% 50% in terms of assignments and exam.
And yes, get those F4 and F5 books dusted. :P
Young, are the lecturers strict in giving the 50% marks? Or as long as you get it done in time they will give you full?:P

Young
16-06-2009, 12:24 AM
Young, are the lecturers strict in giving the 50% marks? Or as long as you get it done in time they will give you full?:P

Haha, unfortunately some of them are pretty stingy when it comes to marks. However, most of your 50% are from monthly tests so it's no big deal.

Be careful though.. Internal marks can put a serious dent in your final score so work hard for those. :) I'm saying this out of experience because my Physics internal brought down my overall score and prevented me from getting a higher TER.. XD
Bummer.

lindafeehily
16-06-2009, 12:22 PM
Haha, unfortunately some of them are pretty stingy when it comes to marks. However, most of your 50% are from monthly tests so it's no big deal.

Be careful though.. Internal marks can put a serious dent in your final score so work hard for those. :) I'm saying this out of experience because my Physics internal brought down my overall score and prevented me from getting a higher TER.. XD
Bummer.

that's why our ausmat senior always told that we have to study consistently, right?? every tests count..cant play-play even in one small test, like that eh??

Jan
16-06-2009, 04:30 PM
after reading the previos explanation,
i still don't understand TER...
can someone please explain again...?
thanks...

16-06-2009, 05:23 PM
thanks...
The TER score means you are better than that many percents of candidates in the same exam.

Say there are 10000 students in the exam, and you are ranked no. 200. So you are better than 9800 other students, or, 98% of all candidates. In this case, your TER would be 98.

Young
16-06-2009, 05:26 PM
thanks...

Erm.. TER is basically a percentile. Unlike SPM, STPM or A-levels where you are allocated grades A,B,C,D and so forth, AusMat/SAM uses the TER system.

When you complete the course, your internal (school) marks and external (exam) marks are put through a complicated scaling process. Your final marks are then ranked with respect to every other candidate who took the exam. Your 'rank' is basically your TER.

Example;
A TER of 90.00 means you're in the top 10% of all candidates. Out of a candidate pool of.. say 20 000, you're roughly ranked number 2000.
TERs are displayed in increments of 0.05; ie, 90.05, 90.10, 90.15, 90.20, etc.
The highest possible TER is 99.95.

That's the best I can explain it. Hope it helps.

Jan
16-06-2009, 05:30 PM
o... i think i understand...
thanks youngyew and young... ^^

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 05:36 PM
So our TER is actually depends on our batch performance? Err, another confusion here, does Sunway really have that much students taking AUSMAT?

holycreeper
16-06-2009, 05:37 PM
A question here.

Is Ausmat a program that is taught ONLY in Malaysia, or is it taught worldwide?

when you refer 10 000 candidates (youngyew's post), does that mean only 10 000 MALAYSIAN candidates?

Young
16-06-2009, 05:45 PM
So our TER is actually depends on our batch performance? Err, another confusion here, does Sunway really have that much students taking AUSMAT?

To a certain extent, yes. If your entire batch performs like crap, chances are your scores will be scaled down slightly. Don't worry though; Sunway, KBU and INTEC all have fairly large AusMat popuations, making the entire cohort very resilient to anyone who screws up. The largest influence on your score is the external exam. That can make you or break you.

If you take into account both January and March intakes, Sunway has a little over 300 students.

A question here.

Is Ausmat a program that is taught ONLY in Malaysia, or is it taught worldwide?

when you refer 10 000 candidates (youngyew's post), does that mean only 10 000 MALAYSIAN candidates?

No. AusMat is actually Australian Year 12. It is taught worldwide but the bulk of students are from Australia (obviously) and South-East Asia. The candidate count refers to the TOTAL number of candidates, regardless of country. Therefore, there is direct competition between AusMatians in Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Indonesia, etc.

holycreeper
16-06-2009, 05:49 PM
No. AusMat is actually Australian Year 12. It is taught worldwide but the bulk of students are from Australia (obviously) and South-East Asia. The candidate count refers to the TOTAL number of candidates, regardless of country. Therefore, there is direct competition between AusMatians in Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Indonesia, etc.

Cool... Thanks ya.

Jan
16-06-2009, 08:33 PM
for ausmat in intec,
what english test do we take
TOEFL, MUET or others...?

16-06-2009, 08:36 PM
The English test is IELTS.

Jan
16-06-2009, 08:46 PM
The English test is IELTS.

o.. thanks a lot but
can you explain a little bit details on it...
cause i have no idea about it...
by comparing with muet or anything please..:)).

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 08:48 PM
How about Sunway? Do we have to take both IELTS and SAT?

16-06-2009, 08:57 PM
Read up about IELTS in wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IELTS

It's pretty difficult but most people should be able to score 7 and above.

Young
16-06-2009, 09:01 PM
o.. thanks a lot but
can you explain a little bit details on it...
by comparing with muet or anything please..:)).

IELTS is divided into 4 sections; Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking. It is scored by Bands; Band 1 being the lowest possible score and Band 9 being the highest. Bands are allocated in increments of 0.5. To gain entry into a decent university, a score of 6.5 or 7 is usually required.

I did both IELTS and MUET and I must say quite honestly, MUET was a joke. IELTS is a lot harder.

I'm pretty sure you don't need SATs. That's only for US admission.

I'm also quite doubtful about IELTS because it's possible to enter Aussie universities as long as you pass your AusMat English. It's up to JPA to decide if you need IELTS.

Jan
16-06-2009, 09:04 PM
Read up about IELTS in wiki:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IELTS

It's pretty difficult but most people should be able to score 7 and above.

thanks a lot....
really appreciate it....:))

[quote=Young;265736]IELTS is divided into 4 sections; Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking. It is scored by Bands; Band 1 being the lowest possible score and Band 9 being the highest. Bands are allocated in increments of 0.5. To gain entry into a decent university, a score of 6.5 or 7 is usually required.

I did both IELTS and MUET and I must say quite honestly, MUET was a joke. IELTS is a lot harder.

just to confirm, my ausmat will be to uk instead of aus or nz wo...
is it still IELTS...?
sorry about the confusion...:P

Young
16-06-2009, 09:11 PM
UK uses IELTS as well. :)

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 09:29 PM
UK uses IELTS as well. :)
So Young, we need not to take any additional english test unless required by JPA?

Young
16-06-2009, 09:32 PM
That's correct. Just follow whatever JPA says and you'll be fine. XD

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 09:40 PM
Sorry, I made a mistake here, what i meant here was ISAT...:P paisay, mix up both =x

Young
16-06-2009, 09:49 PM
Haha, no worries. :)

Then yea, you will need to take both IELTS and ISAT (if JPA wants you to take IELTS).
ISAT is the more important test for dentistry. For IELTS, all you need is band 7. Nothing more, nothing less.
For ISAT, you need to score as high as you can to beat the competition. :)

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 09:52 PM
Haha, no worries. :)

Then yea, you will need to take both IELTS and ISAT (if JPA wants you to take IELTS).
ISAT is the more important test for dentistry. For IELTS, all you need is band 7. Nothing more, nothing less.
For ISAT, you need to score as high as you can to beat the competition. :)
I see, thanks Young. Is ISAT just like IELTS? Or harder? Can briefly tell me about ISAT?

Yes, I should worry, this is what I quote from dentistry's thread, how cruel, it's either hit or miss for me:cry
You can opt for specialist maths instead of physics in sem 2, but for sem 1 I'm afraid you have to take physics, but the things that you will learn in sem 1 will mostly be the basic knowledge in physics that you have learnt in spm level.That is the situation here at intec.I'm not sure about the situation for sunway.

Oh,BTW,there are now 2 universities in australia offering dentistry which jpa-sponsored students are able to go.
University of Western Australia and University of Adelaide.Both requires placement test-ISAT for UWA and PQA for UA.You have to pass the tests in order to get the interviews, and you have to get TER of 98 and above to secure a place.Even you get TER of 99.95,but you don't pass the placement test, you can forget about getting a place in those two unis.
Bad news-this year for my batch, if you can't get a place in aus, you are on your own. JPA won't continue to sponsor you and you will not be arranged for india.

Young
16-06-2009, 10:01 PM
I see, thanks Young. Is ISAT just like IELTS? Or harder? Can briefly tell me about ISAT?

http://isat.acer.edu.au/

Basically, ISAT is like a modified version of an IQ test. It tests you on your reasoning ability as well as your aptitude with figures and data management.

It consists of 100 questions and you have to finish it in 3 hours. There's no way to prepare for the test because there's no syllabus; it's all logic, reasoning and semantics. Most people just walk in, rack their brains for 3 hours and walk out. :P

For dentistry, the minimum score to aim for would be the top 30% of all ISAT test takers. Of course, the higher you get, the better your chance of admission. :)

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 10:12 PM

Basically, ISAT is like a modified version of an IQ test. It tests you on your reasoning ability as well as your aptitude with figures and data management.

It consists of 100 questions and you have to finish it in 3 hours. There's no way to prepare for the test because there's no syllabus; it's all logic, reasoning and semantics. Most people just walk in, rack their brains for 3 hours and walk out. :P

For dentistry, the minimum score to aim for would be the top 30% of all ISAT test takers. Of course, the higher you get, the better your chance of admission. :)
I'm confused now, as you said aussie universities don't require us to take other english tests as long as we pass the Ausmat english. Then will IELTS and ISAT still play their role when we apply for the U?

Jan
16-06-2009, 10:21 PM
for pharmacy only IELTS right...?
no others right..?

Young
16-06-2009, 10:27 PM
I'm confused now, as you said aussie universities don't require us to take other english tests as long as we pass the Ausmat english. Then will IELTS and ISAT still play their role when we apply for the U?

Erm.. IELTS is an English test and as I said, I'm not sure if JPA wants you to take it.

Do not confuse ISAT and IELTS. :) They are completely unrelated. ISAT is an aptitude test, not an English test. ISAT is only used by Australian universities in selecting candidates for Medicine and Dentistry. You HAVE to take ISAT. Otherwise, you can't get into dentistry in Australia.

for pharmacy only IELTS right...?
no others right..?

I think so.

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 10:29 PM
Erm.. IELTS is an English test and as I said, I'm not sure if JPA wants you to take it.

Do not confuse ISAT and IELTS. :) They are completely unrelated. ISAT is an aptitude test, not an English test. ISAT is only used by Australian universities in selecting candidates for Medicine and Dentistry. You HAVE to take ISAT. Otherwise, you can't get into dentistry in Australia.

I think so.
So IELTS is optional whereas ISAT is a must, correct? So does IELTS still come into consideration when we apply for the U?

lindafeehily
16-06-2009, 10:38 PM
after reading all those explanations, what more can i say than..
AUSMAT SCARES ME!!!!!!!!!WAAA!!!

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 10:40 PM
YAYA!!!! It scares me too!!!:cry But AUSMAT is easier than A level right? Guess we shouldn't worry too much.

Jan
16-06-2009, 10:43 PM
i read the wikipedia website given but i only notice us, australia, but not uk wo...
i heard from someone who was in nottingham saying that he took TOEFLS...
what is the difference...? between IELTS and TOEFLS...?
just to avoid confusion
-pharmacy,ausmat to uk...
thanks ya... ^.^

Young
16-06-2009, 10:53 PM
So IELTS is optional whereas ISAT is a must, correct? So does IELTS still come into consideration when we apply for the U?

The university will only see if you've satisfied the minimum Band 6.5/7 requirement for IELTS. Nothing else matters.

YAYA!!!! It scares me too!!!:cry But AUSMAT is easier than A level right? Guess we shouldn't worry too much.

Haha, seriously guys. Don't worry. :) AusMat isn't that hard. The syllabus is pretty shallow.

i read the wikipedia website given but i only notice us, australia, but not uk wo...
i heard from someone who was in nottingham saying that he took TOEFLS...
what is the difference...? between IELTS and TOEFLS...?
just to avoid confusion
-pharmacy,ausmat to uk...
thanks ya... ^.^

Really? I'm almost certain that UK requires IELTS. TOEFL is the English test for entrance into US universities.

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 10:56 PM
The university will only see if you've satisfied the minimum Band 6.5/7 requirement for IELTS. Nothing else matters.

Haha, seriously guys. Don't worry. :) AusMat isn't that hard. The syllabus is pretty shallow.
Thanks Young. Just can't help from being worried. Young, is that true that JPA will stop our sponsorship if we can't get into any U in Australia? Please refer to my previous post:)

Young
16-06-2009, 11:07 PM
Thanks Young. Just can't help from being worried. Young, is that true that JPA will stop our sponsorship if we can't get into any U in Australia? Please refer to my previous post:)

Haha, sorry. That's one question I can't answer because I'm not a JPA scholar. :)

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 11:10 PM
Haha, sorry. That's one question I can't answer because I'm not a JPA scholar. :)
Owh, nevermind then. Anyway, thanks for your time:)

Vermaine
16-06-2009, 11:34 PM
same with me~:))
u can actually drop by to the shop in front of taylors college(MAC center) to get some books like study guide and what not as the original books could be expensive:)

ya, it depends on our batch performance
so, selfishness should be out of our mind becoz u will be affected as well if the overall result drops:))

either SAM/ AUSMAT is pretty scary if u did not study consistently
what is needed is study consistently and follow instructions from lecturer in order to score in your assignments~
be prepared. AUSMAT/SAM can be pretty busy and stressed esp when u r about to hand in ur assignments
but, this is all about growing up~
so, no worries:)

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 11:37 PM
Haha, Vermaine, where are you going after this? Will be taking AUSMAT too?

Vermaine
16-06-2009, 11:41 PM
Haha, Vermaine, where are you going after this? Will be taking AUSMAT too?
i will be taking AUSMAT in sunway college and will be doing medicine in new zealand :))

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 11:45 PM
i will be taking AUSMAT in sunway college and will be doing medicine in new zealand :))
Wow, same here. Nice to meet you:)

Vermaine
16-06-2009, 11:46 PM
Wow, same here. Nice to meet you:)
haha~
nice to meet u too:)

Young
16-06-2009, 11:50 PM
I see another Sunway AusMatian in our midst.. XD

assassins
16-06-2009, 11:53 PM
waa!!
after i read all about ausmat here..
seem like its soooo tough n hard...
so scary!!waa!!

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 11:59 PM
There are a lot more out there Young. I wonder why Sunway's thread is so "cold". And it's in the scholarship section instead of thr pre U one. This makes it hard to be noticed by others:P

waa!!
after i read all about ausmat here..
seem like its soooo tough n hard...
so scary!!waa!!
Haha, Young, this time I help you to comfort him, "Relax dude, take it easy":P

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:00 AM
There are a lot more out there Young. I wonder why Sunway's thread is so "cold". And it's in the scholarship section instead of thr pre U one. This makes it hard to be noticed by others:P
there aren't a lot of sunway ausmatian out there, i think
i only know a few of them:)

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:01 AM
there aren't a lot of sunway ausmatian out there, i think
i only know a few of them:)
There are 5 of us who are taking Dentistry, how about medicine's side?

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:05 AM
There are 5 of us who are taking Dentistry, how about medicine's side?
there r four of us that i know
including myself:))

may i know what is tested in the english paper?
is it something like letter writing/extended response essay ?

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:07 AM
there r four of us that i know
including myself:))

Nice, perhaps we should chat in Sunway's thread next time:P

Young
17-06-2009, 12:08 AM
I don't know anyone except the both of you. XD
Better make Malaysia (and Sunway) proud ohkay?
As a senior, I'm putting pressure on you two to perform well in AusMat.. (joking)
And with a bit of luck, I might just see Yuan Renn at UWA in 2011. :P

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:11 AM
As a senior, I'm putting pressure on you two to perform well in AusMat.. (joking)
Waa, I can feel the stress now:cry Thanks for having faith in us, Young. We won't let you down XD

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:13 AM
Nice, perhaps we should chat in Sunway's thread next time:P
is there any sunway's thread?
i never notice this
haha:))
==

Young
17-06-2009, 12:14 AM

English paper as in, English in AusMat?

Well, you have two options; English as an Additional Language and Dialect (EALD) and English Advanced.

Due to time-tabling irregularities, I ended up taking EALD despite wanting to take the latter.

EALD pretty much tests you on every aspect of English; reading, writing, listening and speaking (during presentations and plays which are both parts of your assignments). The level of English is high and it's perfectly normal to struggle a bit initially.

Don't worry too much about it as most people will grow accustomed to the demands of EALD within a few months. If your English is good, I suggest you take English Advanced because the subject has a favourable scaling.

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:14 AM
haha~
stressed~:P
just strive for our best and believe in God:))

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:16 AM
is there any sunway's thread?
i never notice this
haha:))
==
Yes, go find in scholarship section. I think we better have a new one under the pre-U section. Hopefully won't end up being closed by mod:P

Young
Nah, don't stress. The both of you are JPA scholars and there's a good chance I'll be outperformed by you two. XD
My ego is at stake ohkay..?! :D

Vermaine

Well, you have two options; English as an Additional Language and Dialect (EALD) and English Advanced.

Due to time-tabling irregularities, I ended up taking EALD despite wanting to take the latter.

EALD pretty much tests you on every aspect of English; reading, writing, listening and speaking (during presentations and plays which are both parts of your assignments). The level of English is high and it's perfectly normal to struggle a bit initially.

Don't worry too much about it as most people will grow accustomed to the demands of EALD within a few months. If your English is good, I suggest you take English Advanced because the subject has a favourable scaling.
ya, english in AUSMAT
i am curious about what is tested in the writing part as in SAM formal letter writing and extended response essay is tested:)

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:18 AM

So we can choose either one? And English Advanced is tougher? I prefer the more relaxing one =x

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:20 AM
Yes, go find in scholarship section. I think we better have a new one under the pre-U section. Hopefully won't end up being closed by mod:P
haha~
maybe we should do so~:)

Nah, don't stress. The both of you are JPA scholars and there's a good chance I'll be outperformed by you two. XD
My ego is at stake ohkay..?! :D
then we should really word hard to perform better than u~:laugh
kidding only~ dont think it is possible lolzzzz:P

Young
17-06-2009, 12:25 AM

Haha, technically, we're still taking about AusMat and SAM so I don't think it warrants a closing..
Then again, I may be wrong. :)

ya, english in AUSMAT
i am curious about what is tested in the writing part as in SAM formal letter writing and extended response essay is tested:)

In EALD, there are two extended writing questions in the exams. One requires you to compare and contrast three texts while providing some of your own opinions. The other is a normal essay question which allows you to choose one question out of the 5 (or 6, cant remember) available. Formal letters are usually present among the choices.

So we can choose either one? And English Advanced is tougher? I prefer the more relaxing one =x

Yes, you can choose either one. English Advanced is tougher but as I said, it is favourably scaled up. :)

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 12:28 AM
Haha, technically, we're still taking about AusMat and SAM so I don't think it warrants a closing..
Then again, I may be wrong. :)

In EALD, there are two extended writing questions in the exams. One requires you to compare and contrast three texts while providing some of your own opinions. The other is a normal essay question which allows you to choose one question out of the 5 (or 6, cant remember) available. Formal letters are usually present among the choices.

Yes, you can choose either one. English Advanced is tougher but as I said, it is favourably scaled up. :)
so EALD is quite similar as in SAM where we r required to read 4 texts and make a stand then provide the supporting statements with quotations
haha~
wow, there is choices available in AUSMAT:laugh
there is no options in SAM. sad:notrust

yuan_renn
17-06-2009, 12:31 AM
Oh ya, Young, can I drop physics in the 2nd sem? I asked in Sunway's thread just now, was expecting you to answer:P

Young
17-06-2009, 12:40 AM
Oh ya, Young, can I drop physics in the 2nd sem? I asked in Sunway's thread just now, was expecting you to answer:P

Oops, sorry. I'm not sure about that but if you've taken a subject for longer than a certain duration, you're not allowed to drop it. Still depends on JPA, whether they want to make Physics mandatory or not.

Jan
17-06-2009, 11:03 PM
why for ausmat it is adviseable to have your own laptop..?
can seniors please enlighten me on this..
thank you

lindafeehily
17-06-2009, 11:07 PM
coz there will be alot of assignments needed to do by laptop, thats mean, you have to type it and print it.
you'll be doing a lot of research and need to surf internet.

i wanna ask one question, do ausmatians usually active in cocurricular activities??
or are they too busy to take part in other organisation or clubs??

Jan
17-06-2009, 11:10 PM
coz there will be alot of assignments needed to do by laptop, thats mean, you have to type it and print it.

i wanna ask one question, do ausmatians usually active in cocurricular activities??

can't we use the computers in the computer labs...
is it too troublesome...
or too slow...?

Young
17-06-2009, 11:15 PM

You'll have heaps of time to do the things you like. Don't worry. :)

From what I see, all of you are so stressed out about AusMat being crazily difficult. Understandably, it's a new adventure and it's only normal to be a little afraid and apprehensive but really, I have one very important message to get through:

DON'T WORRY TOO MUCH.

Seriously, AusMat isn't all that hard. :) Take it easy, guys and girls. I'm sure all of you will survive just fine.

lindafeehily
17-06-2009, 11:21 PM
frankly speaking, young, yes..i'm scared with ausmat..but i think it'll be challenging because we'll do assignments right and not just stick our faces to books and books..

i just curious if co curricular activities are required for uni application like in high school.

thank you so much, young. u r a very supportive senior

Vermaine
17-06-2009, 11:24 PM
You'll have heaps of time to do the things you like. Don't worry. :)

From what I see, all of you are so stressed out about AusMat being crazily difficult. Understandably, it's a new adventure and it's only normal to be a little afraid and apprehensive but really, I have one very important message to get through:

DON'T WORRY TOO MUCH.

Seriously, AusMat isn't all that hard. :) Take it easy, guys and girls. I'm sure all of you will be survive just fine.
totally agree~
by the time we graduate,we will be good in time management~
then also be used to the ways of doing assignmentssss~:laugh

lindafeehily
17-06-2009, 11:36 PM
jan, its okay to use the comp at the lab..
laptop is not compulsory, but digalakkan.
ok?

aea91
18-06-2009, 12:01 AM
hey i realised that most of you people here talk about ausmat. any SAMians here? like me? :))

Vermaine
18-06-2009, 10:01 AM
hey i realised that most of you people here talk about ausmat. any SAMians here? like me? :))
haha~
i am a past SAMians lolzzz~
but i drop my programme after sem 1 due to JPA scholarship~:)

atiks
18-06-2009, 01:09 PM
so EALD is quite similar as in SAM where we r required to read 4 texts and make a stand then provide the supporting statements with quotations
haha~
wow, there is choices available in AUSMAT:laugh
there is no options in SAM. sad:notrust

err..what u mean? i tot AUSMAT is the same as SAM??..
haih..SAM seems quite tough..it does scare me..:(..
almost everybody here gets scholarship..anyone gets scholar from Ministry of Education??..then,we r in the same boat..hehekss..:))

lindafeehily
18-06-2009, 01:34 PM
seniors..help please..
my friend once told me that her sister bought a multi-purpose calculator during her preparatory programme..it costed her rm460..
waa

do we ausmatians need to buy that kind of calculator?? or we can just use our spm calculator??

18-06-2009, 01:39 PM
seniors..help please..
my friend once told me that her sister bought a multi-purpose calculator during her preparatory programme..it costed her rm460..
waa

do we ausmatians need to buy that kind of calculator?? or we can just use our spm calculator??
you can use your spm calculator for the first few semesters but it can be a disadvantage after that.

atiks
18-06-2009, 02:12 PM
Wow, guess I should start digging out those F4 and F5 books.:)

4 years in Australia? What course are you taking? Yes, according to Young, 50% assignment, 50% exam.

sorry 4 replying late..very2 laTe actually..hehehh..i get scholar for PPC programme(program penghantaran plajar cemerlang keU terkemuka luar ngara)..that's what they say..it's under ministry of education..yeah,not many people aware of it..n this year,they only send 93 or 95 students..phewh..lucky,i'm selected...so,i gonna have 2 be a teacher when i'm back..i'm applying as a special education teacher..so,i think i have to take psychology..they send me to taylor's college this 11/7 taking SAM..ANYBODY REGISTER ON THIS DATE TOO???

my questions: i'm thinking of taking IT instead of chemistry later..is it allowed??..in the form,they ask 2 choose 5 subjects that i wanna take..
2.i'm quite confused about the semesters in SAm.,..can someone explain briefly??..thank you..:)

seniors..help please..
waa

what model ???

to seniors,..what should i prepare now for takin SAM in Taylors??..u think,memorising back everything in bio n chemistry frm 4 n 5 books necessary??:(..thank u:)

ayja
19-06-2009, 03:49 PM
seniors..help please..
waa

yes, it's called a graphic calculator. and it's really handy. and since you're doing ausmat in intec, it's compulsory to buy, although it costs RM460. You'll have to buy it in the first sem, like..towards three quarters of the first sem cause you'll need to use it for maths. so, put aside some money for that =)

what model ???

to seniors,..what should i prepare now for takin SAM in Taylors??..u think,memorising back everything in bio n chemistry frm 4 n 5 books necessary??:(..thank u:)

it's called texas instruments, and the model we usually use is TI-84Plus. I doubt you need to memorise everything you've learnt in form 4 and 5, instead you should start reading up on the books given in SAM, cause the syllabus is slightly different

aea91
19-06-2009, 04:03 PM
yes, it's called a graphic calculator. and it's really handy. and since you're doing ausmat, it's compulsory to buy, although it costs RM460. You'll have to buy it in the first sem, like..towards three quarters of the programme cause you'll need to use it for maths. so, put aside some money for that =)

it's called texas instruments, and the model we usually use is TI-84Plus. I doubt you need to memorise everything you've learnt in form 4 and 5, instead you should start reading up on the books given in SAM, cause the syllabus is slightly different
do SAM-ians have to buy this graphic calculator as well? :(

ayja
19-06-2009, 04:06 PM
do SAM-ians have to buy this graphic calculator as well? :(

yeap. cause sam in taylor's/inti is the same as ausmat in intec.

aea91
19-06-2009, 04:12 PM
yeap. cause sam in taylor's/inti is the same as ausmat in intec.
but so mahal laa... :(

Young
19-06-2009, 04:15 PM
If you're worried about the pricey calculators; don't fret.

When I was in AusMat, I bought my calculator for Rm440 and kept it in really good condition. After finishing my course, I sold it off for Rm330 so the effective cost of the calculator's only around Rm110. XD
Heaps of people are fighting for secondhand calculators. Don't worry about it. :)

aea91
19-06-2009, 04:21 PM

When I was in AusMat, I bought my calculator for Rm440 and kept it in really good condition. After finishing my course, I sold it off for Rm330 so the effective cost of the calculator's only around Rm110. XD
Heaps of people are fighting for secondhand calculators. Don't worry about it. :)

thanks. :) so i would actually save more by keeping it in good condition and reselling it, rather than buying a 2nd hand one right? :))

Young
19-06-2009, 04:26 PM
thanks. :) so i would actually save more by keeping it in good condition and reselling it, rather than buying a 2nd hand one right? :))

Most definitely. :) 2nd hands are much easier to sell than 3rd hands and there's a smaller chance of your calculator breaking down if it's newer.

lindafeehily
19-06-2009, 04:32 PM
omg..a rm460 calculator costs more than one month of our allowance..i'll be dead..

if we sell our calculator, then what will we use in uni??

aea91
19-06-2009, 04:38 PM
omg..a rm460 calculator costs more than one month of our allowance..i'll be dead..

we only sell our calculator AFTER we graduate. that's what he meant.:)

Young
19-06-2009, 04:41 PM

If your course does not require alot maths, chances are you won't even need calculators.

Even IF your course requires maths, you will most probably not need a graphical calculator unless you're majoring in Mathematics or Engineering.

I have friends in university who took units like chemistry, calculus, physics, statistics and economics but all they need was the normal scientific calculator we had back in secondary school.

we only sell our calculator AFTER we graduate. that's what he meant.:)

Err, no. I sold mine right after AusMat. XD If I kept it till after my graduation, I doubt the calculator would still be working seeing that my course is 6 years long.. lol.

lindafeehily
19-06-2009, 04:44 PM
if i take pharmacy, do i need that kind of rm460 calculator?

Young
19-06-2009, 04:45 PM
if i take pharmacy, do i need that kind of rm460 calculator?

I highly doubt it.

lindafeehily
19-06-2009, 04:48 PM
so, i dont need it lah? hope soo..i cant afford it..

aea91
19-06-2009, 04:54 PM
hey young. i'm doing SAM at inti and taking actuarial science. will I need the graphic calculator? :nuts

Young
19-06-2009, 04:57 PM
hey young. i'm doing SAM at inti and taking actuarial science. will I need the graphic calculator? :nuts

Haha.. There'sa pretty good chance you'll need it. XD Actuarial science is one hardcore number-crunching course.. lol..

Don't take my word for it though.. None of my friends did actuarial science so I can't give you a certain answer. Sorry. :)

ayja
19-06-2009, 05:02 PM

I'm not Young but yes you do need the GC. the GC is for math, regardless of which field you're planning to pursue. but the GC in INTI will be on loan to you, so you don't have to spend rm460 on it. that's according to a friend of mine who's also there.

to make it short: if you're doing SAM/the equivalent of SAM (such as ausmat in intec) then yes you need the graphic calculator. you're using it for mathematics in SAM, which is a compulsory subject regardless if you're pursuing pharmacy/act science later.

aea91
19-06-2009, 05:18 PM
i can feel rm460 flying away out of my pocket. :cry

awah91
19-06-2009, 10:29 PM
have anyone fail sam/ausmat before? what will jpa do if we fail to deliver good results?

Young
19-06-2009, 10:42 PM
Cut your scholarship, I guess? It's a scholarship, what do you expect? :P

holycreeper
20-06-2009, 06:09 PM
have anyone fail sam/ausmat before? what will jpa do if we fail to deliver good results?

This shud be the least of our concern. Just try your best and strive. :)

if u want an answer, well... you can read your perjanjian and your "yellow book". It's written in there.

aea91
20-06-2009, 08:56 PM
hey people. i would just like to ask. let's say that we score really really well in SAM. for example, i'm the world top scorer for SAM, etc, will JPA still send me to Australia? :) or will they want to send us to other countries that they deem are suitable for our top scorer qualifications? :huh

Young
20-06-2009, 09:00 PM
hey people. i would just like to ask. let's say that we score really really well in SAM. for example, i'm the world top scorer for SAM, etc, will JPA still send me to Australia? :) or will they want to send us to other countries that they deem are suitable for our top scorer qualifications? :huh

I'm pretty sure JPA will still send you to Australia.
Isn't Australia top enough for you? :P

aea91
20-06-2009, 09:06 PM
I'm pretty sure JPA will still send you to Australia.
Isn't Australia top enough for you? :P
haha. i'm gratified and satisfied with Australia. i'm just curious. :)

ayja
20-06-2009, 09:41 PM
haha. i'm gratified and satisfied with Australia. i'm just curious. :)

if you're really really really really good and are the top of the top of the top-pest student in the whole wide world... they just mmmiiiiigggggghhhhttt consider. but they actually stated quite clearly that 'sebarang permohonan utk tukar negara/jurusan tidak akan dilayan".

hope that cured your curiousity =)

aea91
20-06-2009, 09:51 PM
if you're really really really really good and are the top of the top of the top-pest student in the whole wide world... they just mmmiiiiigggggghhhhttt consider. but they actually stated quite clearly that 'sebarang permohonan utk tukar negara/jurusan tidak akan dilayan".

hope that cured your curiousity =)
thank you. no lah, i just heard rumours by friends. i'm not interested. just purely curious. :)

20-06-2009, 10:00 PM
If, at some point during your preparatory course, you manage to get into a top-notch university (Oxbridge, Ivy league etc) through your own initiative, there is a small chance that JPA will still sponsor you there. I have heard of cases like this. But it's not guaranteed.

aea91
20-06-2009, 10:07 PM
If, at some point during your preparatory course, you manage to get into a top-notch university (Oxbridge, Ivy league etc) through your own initiative, there is a small chance that JPA will still sponsor you there. I have heard of cases like this. But it's not guaranteed.
yes i have heard cases like these too where the scholar does so well in his AUSMAT/SAM, he gets offers from Cambridge, Oxford and Yale. so the supposed scholar will get a JPA scholarship to study in that particular country?

Young
21-06-2009, 12:59 AM
You can most certainly try to get into Oxbridge universities if you want. The official academic requirement for Oxford/Cambridge for SAM/AusMat is around TER98. That's very very very achievable. :) Go for it!

lindafeehily
21-06-2009, 07:33 PM
why there wasnt anybody that answer my question?? feel so sad.
is there any additional fees that we have to pay during registration day?
maybe like rent fees, "yuran khas", or "yuran lain-lain" like in school?

jpa sholars need to pay rm195 but do we have to pay more at any counter during this 28th?
i want to plan my financial meticuliously. thnks 4 ur concern

zorro
23-06-2009, 11:07 AM
anyone can tell the books AUSMATians gonna need????? i need to know so badly..lindafeehly, are u taking any books along with u to intec? or u just will go there lenggang kangkung without any books?

i wonder if the books we're need are all in the library and we need to actually berebut to get to use the books?

or we have the same like the SPBT we had back in our schooling days?

or we need to buy????
if yes, how much will it/them cost???

ilyyy
23-06-2009, 11:33 AM

jpa sholars need to pay rm195 but do we have to pay more at any counter during this 28th?

em, u have to pay rm10 for each electrical appliances like charger, iron, hairdryer...

Young
23-06-2009, 12:19 PM
anyone can tell the books AUSMATians gonna need????? i need to know so badly..lindafeehly, are u taking any books along with u to intec? or u just will go there lenggang kangkung without any books?

i wonder if the books we're need are all in the library and we need to actually berebut to get to use the books?

or we have the same like the SPBT we had back in our schooling days?

or we need to buy????
if yes, how much will it/them cost???

AusMat/SAM books are pretty pricey. Expect to fork out RM70 - RM100 for a brand new book. In the event that you DO buy a new book, the good news is that you can easily sell-off the book when you're done with your course and therefore, are able to cut down on costs.

Another option would be getting second hand books from seniors, which would cost 50% or less of the original price. The downside would be the possible poor conditions of the book as they tend to be full of scribbles and pencil marks.

There's also the option of getting photostated books but I wouldn't recommend that, simply because it's illegal and the quality of the print leaves much to be desired.

I'm not sure if your library has the books but as a word of advice, I would encourage you to get new books. It's much better to study with and allows you to make neat notes on them without clashing with any handwriting from the previous owner. If you keep it in good condition, you can easily sell it off when you're done with them.

atiks
23-06-2009, 02:22 PM

wow..kinda good bussiness..hehekss..SO,ANY SENIORS WANNA SELL YR GRAPHIC CALCULATOR??..

Giselle
23-06-2009, 11:26 PM

I'm aiming to complete my pharmacy degree at the University of Sydney, and I read at the university's website that since pharmacy is a quota-restricted program, applicants will have to sit for a special exam called STAT (multiple-choice questions). Is STAT the same as ISAT? Only the University of Sydney requires this, as other unis such as Queensland and Monash will only look at the TER scores. The exam fee is about AUD245, which I hope that JPA will cover for me.
Are there any seniors who will be sitting for the STAT exam? Please help!
http://www.acer.edu.au/documents/STAT_CIB2009.pdf

Atiks!! Ni atikah lokman kan??:))

24-06-2009, 12:15 AM

If I'm not mistaken, RM 85 during registration (no idea what's it for) and RM 10 for electrical appliance

Jan
24-06-2009, 12:42 AM
can any seniors please let me know the upcoming holidays for ausmat in intec...?

ayja
25-06-2009, 02:31 PM
if you're curious, the price of the books for ausmat in intec/sam is:

physics part 1: RM109
physics part 2: RM109
biology: RM190 (but the sole distributor never seems to have any stock)
chemistry: RM99
math RM 160.

there is only one distributor for south australian matriculation books - and that's UBS near taylor's college. so you have to go through a bit of trouble and get them. however, better call them up beforehand seeing as how original books are very hard to get as there is very little demand for it.. it's also quite difficult to get original workbooks as well. again, supply-demand. sometimes the distributor will come to college, and you can buy in bulk from them (for your class). if you can get the info on when they're coming etc from the teacher, perhaps you can call them up and ask them to reserve the books that you'd like (just PERHAPS). as for the library...it does have a number of physics books, but I'm not about the other subjects.

(digression) I'm also selling my books second hand - but it'll have to be at the end of my final sem..if you'd like you can pm me, and we'll try to work it out cause you don't use some books in the first sem.

as a senior I'm warning you - don't complain publicly about the price of the books. no one wants to hear you whining, esp when you're on scholarship. if you want to express your dissatisfaction - do it privately. these books are not cheap as they are imported from adelaide, so after conversion etc - it actually works out to be the same price as if you bought it in australia. so if you think of it, the bookseller makes little profit of it.

steph91
25-06-2009, 07:31 PM
I'm going to study AUSMAT in INTEC. As i know, we have to take Moral Studies. Can i be exempted if i have already taken the subject when i'm doing A-Levels?

ayja
26-06-2009, 03:28 PM
I'm going to study AUSMAT in INTEC. As i know, we have to take Moral Studies. Can i be exempted if i have already taken the subject when i'm doing A-Levels?

we learn moral studies in second sem (if your course is 1.5 years). as for the first and third sem, we learn ethics i.e. understanding of religions in first sem and third sem we learn civilisation. so if you'd like exemption for moral studies in second (which I'm not sure if they allow), try posing that question to the head of programme during q&a or something like that.. you can go and see her personally too if you'd like..

rockettan
26-06-2009, 06:15 PM
hi....is anyone taking law under jpa ? is australia law good? king of sad....i wan UK actually...but nvm la...

Young
26-06-2009, 06:54 PM
hi....is anyone taking law under jpa ? is australia law good? king of sad....i wan UK actually...but nvm la...

Law in Australia's pretty good. Admission requirements are on par (if not more stringent) with (than) the UK. For international students, law at most Australian universities are quota-controlled courses so expect to face some considerably stiff competition.
You should be happy to be offered law in Australia. Many would kill to be in your shoes. Why glorify the UK anyway?

aea91
26-06-2009, 08:50 PM
While you deem UK to be more favourable than Australia, do remember the high cost of living in the UK as well as the expensive flight tickets(rm5000++ during promotion). Australia is the most Asian friendly country offered by JPA for law so you'll met plenty of Malaysians there too. Do be thankful for Australia as the country does not matter, but the integrity of your degree from the university does matter.

atiks
01-07-2009, 01:23 PM
If I'm not mistaken, RM 85 during registration (no idea what's it for) and RM 10 for electrical applian

err..where is this??..taylor need 2 pay rm650..so xpensive..

i can feel rm460 flying away out of my pocket. :cry

we r given 430 per month..it's even more xpensive..huhu..

i search in the public library..n i cant find any SAM book :notrust the syllbus is olmost d same as stpm eh?

p0laris
21-09-2009, 02:36 AM

not at all...applics is basically the business maths...
students who plan to continue their degree in business field is strongly recommended to take applics...
Syllabus in applics are matrices...graph and solutions..statistics and probability

chunkit
24-04-2010, 02:53 PM
yo
what is the minimum ielts cut off point set by jpa ?
ausmat student here, from intec

ayja
24-04-2010, 03:05 PM
no min by jpa but u have to achieve min by uni

defectivelasagna
24-04-2010, 06:52 PM
hey guys, i applied for accountancy in Aus under MARA scholarship.

the interviewer told me that they would send me to KMS for A-levels if i were to get the scholarship that is, which is strange since Australia-bound scholars usually do AUSMAT/SAM right? i think the interviewer wasn't sure at all lol. anyway, for my SPM i didn't take additional math and im wondering if i need add math if i were to take applicable maths?

ayja
25-04-2010, 09:35 AM
hey guys, i applied for accountancy in Aus under MARA scholarship.

the interviewer told me that they would send me to KMS for A-levels if i were to get the scholarship that is, which is strange since Australia-bound scholars usually do AUSMAT/SAM right? i think the interviewer wasn't sure at all lol. anyway, for my SPM i didn't take additional math and im wondering if i need add math if i were to take applicable maths?

Unis in Australia do accept A-Levels too. Not specifically SAM/AUSMAT only =) In fact they also accept STPM (yay!) lol. So no worries about that.

Sorry I can't help with your second question though.

defectivelasagna
25-04-2010, 10:10 PM
yeah, i get the feeling that Aus Unis aren't as strict as UK unis when it comes to admission? correct me if i'm wrong dudes

ayja
26-04-2010, 03:58 PM
they actually are. depending on which course you pursue. for science (medicine, dentistry etc) related the min requirement is quite high. That's as much as I can tell you, that is, for the science-related courses.

immabee
05-05-2010, 11:51 PM
In order to achieve TER of 75, what are the estimated minimum grades in equivalent?

acgerlok7
06-05-2010, 12:11 AM
at least A for most and maby a B is llowed oni i tink..oni my assumption..

06-05-2010, 12:22 PM
No, if you get A for most and some B you are actually in the TER 90+ range.

ayja
06-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Dunno bout 75, but I heard once a girl didn't sit for like, 2 out of 5 papers and she got ter 55 lol.

In conclusion, do all your work, sit for all your papers and you should do quite well =D

defectivelasagna
14-05-2010, 08:57 PM
hey guys are you allowed to choose your subjects in SAM if you're under JPA/MARA for accountancy? im worried because i didnt take add math for SPM so im worried i wont be able to catch up :S

cycycy
15-05-2010, 09:05 PM
Dunno bout 75, but I heard once a girl didn't sit for like, 2 out of 5 papers and she got ter 55 lol.

In conclusion, do all your work, sit for all your papers and you should do quite well =D

Cos they count the best 4 subjects, so, she is considered to have taken 3/4 subjects in the external exam.

And due to the 50% 50% system, the coursework and internal exams helps a lot (:

ayja
15-05-2010, 09:16 PM
Cos they count the best 4 subjects, so, she is considered to have taken 3/4 subjects in the external exam.

And due to the 50% 50% system, the coursework and internal exams helps a lot (:

For SAM: they take the best 4/5 subjects, and half of the fifth subject. everything is counted.

Young
15-05-2010, 09:54 PM

no they don't. they take the best 4/5 subjects, and half of the fifth subject. everything is counted.

You're BOTH right.

For the Western Australian board, only the best 4 subjects are considered.

For the South Australian board, they take into account the best 4 subjects and half of the fifth subject.

Both have their pros and cons.

immabee
17-05-2010, 09:40 PM
What do you think is the safest TER score to enrol all courses in Australia universities except for Law, Vet, Medical, Pharmacy and Dentistry which requires about 96++ of TER.?

Young
17-05-2010, 09:54 PM
What do you think is the safest TER score to enrol all courses in Australia universities except for Law, Vet, Medical, Pharmacy and Dentistry which requires about 96++ of TER.?

To be on the safe side, try to score as high as you possibly can.

If that's not an opinion (even though it SHOULD be), most universities will list their minimum/indicative entry requirements which, upon satisfying, would usually guarantee entry.

However, certain courses may experience a rise in demand and this increase in competition may push up the minimum score by a few points.

Again, to be on the safe side, score as high as you can or at least aim to be 3-5 points above the indicative TER.

defectivelasagna
18-05-2010, 09:08 PM
how difficult is mathematical studies for SAM? I did not take Add Math for my SPM and so im very worried that it would cripple my studies for that subject. Does the syllabus assumes you already know some add math components or does it start all over again?

ayja
19-05-2010, 01:56 PM
how difficult is mathematical studies for SAM? I did not take Add Math for my SPM and so im very worried that it would cripple my studies for that subject. Does the syllabus assumes you already know some add math components or does it start all over again?

In the background knowledge section of the mathematical studies (for SAM) you will go through certain basics.

The 'add math' component in the yr 12 text book is quite little, and even if there is any the text book guides you step by step (or at least, my lecturer did).

Mostly it's like general mathematics - shouldn't be a problem.

But they do have like basic differentiation, integration - that you need to know. Also, the 'difficult' ones will include derivatives of graphs based on its equation.

First principles differentiation - while it's good to have some background knowledge, will be gone over again in the syllabus.

if you're free now, look up some basic calculus. it will help =D

immabee
19-05-2010, 08:52 PM
Because my current Ausmat Semester 1 College Raw score is pretty much screwed up. From my results, do you think I am able to achieve at least a TER of 85-88, provided my average is around this corner? I am not only expecting for a pass or just the Wace Certificate.

Physics -56
Chemistry - 62
Maths - 58 [You wouldn't want to know why]
EALD - 75
Accounting & Finance- Assuming it's 66

Young
19-05-2010, 09:38 PM
Because my current Ausmat Semester 1 College Raw score is pretty much screwed up. From my results, do you think I am able to achieve at least a TER of 85-88, provided my average is around this corner? I am not only expecting for a pass or just the Wace Certificate.

Physics -56
Chemistry - 62
Maths - 58 [You wouldn't want to know why]
EALD - 75
Accounting & Finance- Assuming it's 66

Owh... To be very frank, it'll be pretty tough to get TER85+ with that. I don't mean to rub salt, but people usually score quite well for Semester 1 and as the course progresses, their average marks start to mellow down to what they expect to achieve in the TEE.

It's still not too late though; with a bit of extra work, I'm sure you'll get 85+ with ease. :)

immabee
20-05-2010, 02:32 PM
Indeed, I totally agreed with what you said and I have predicted with that kind of marks, getting TER 85-88 is merely impossible. Should I drop Ausmat and move on for foundation course to make a safe move because I think that it's too late to keep up to achieve TER 85-88 in order to secure my place in decent Go8 uni [that's my first plan after Ausmat]?

defectivelasagna
20-05-2010, 09:22 PM
In the background knowledge section of the mathematical studies (for SAM) you will go through certain basics.

The 'add math' component in the yr 12 text book is quite little, and even if there is any the text book guides you step by step (or at least, my lecturer did).

Mostly it's like general mathematics - shouldn't be a problem.

But they do have like basic differentiation, integration - that you need to know. Also, the 'difficult' ones will include derivatives of graphs based on its equation.

First principles differentiation - while it's good to have some background knowledge, will be gone over again in the syllabus.

if you're free now, look up some basic calculus. it will help =D

Thanks alot! i borrowed my friend's SAM textbook for math studies and found it to be not as daunting as i thought it would be. It looks alot like form 5 math text book actually.

20-05-2010, 10:49 PM
Thanks alot! i borrowed my friend's SAM textbook for math studies and found it to be not as daunting as i thought it would be. It looks alot like form 5 math text book actually.

It may not look daunting, but the questions can be tricky...

kehoewong_08
31-05-2010, 08:33 PM
Year 11(the half year)
chemistry--same

where can we get the syllabus about thausmat in intec???
from any website??