View Full Version : International Baccalaureate
jojyi
26-05-2007, 07:23 PM
Seniors, We still not very clear about how's the grading for all the 6 subjects. And how's TOK, CAS and EE's grading? Still not really clear.And i heard it's not 100% depends on examintaions,is it 80-20? :?
As for seniors in KMB, we need to take how many cocuriculum meaning societies/sports/clubs?Juz wanna noe, because time management is vr important for students taking IB, rite?hehe..We like superman/woman rushing for time to do extra work as to compare to other pre-u courses...haha :lol:
I am copying my reply to sue89 from the Kolej MARA Banting; IS IT GOOD? thread under scholarships:
sue89: you really should visit the International Baccalaureate website at www.ibo.org. They provide some very good information for students who are interested in this programme.
Anyway, grades are given for each subject (you are required to take 6 subjects) based on a scale of 0-7, with 7 being the highest and 0 the lowest. This will give you a maximum score of 42 points (6x7). In addition to that, you will be eligible for an additional 3 bonus points based on your ToK and EE. the bonus points are allocated by a matrix based on your results for those two subjects.
So 7 would be probably equivalent to an A, and 6 a A- and so on. However, this is just an analogy. This is because based on the latest UCAS ratings which converts the results you obtain into a standardised point system (UCAS is the system you enter for application for universities in the UK), the maximum 45 points in an IB diploma gives you 768 marks, while an A in the A levels gives you 120 marks. SO the full score in the IB diploma gives you an equivalent result of 6 A's in the A levels (http://www.ucas.com/candq/tariff/index.html#gce). So this will probably tell you that the IB is a much harder course than the A levels.
HL and SL are different levels of the subject you choose to take. SL would be analogous to the AS in A levels, but not equivalent, and HL would be like your advanced paper. So basically you have to take 3 SL and 3 HL subjects for the IB Diploma.
As to why BM would be easier than English in Group 1, this is because Group 1, which is also known as Language A, is supposed to be the main language of the student, your mother tongue. The syllabus covered is purely literature. Also, BM or Bahasa is used only in a limited number of countries, and being Malaysian, you would have been exposed to 12 years of BM, so your background knowledge should be stronger and also the marking scale would be lower or the content significantly easier than if you took English. English being one of the major languages spoken in the world and also with a wider selection of literature material to choose from, plus more questions which can be asked.
On allocation of marks, each subject has a different allocation. Let's take Group 4 for example. You will be require to sit for 3 written papers at the end of your course, and this will contribute 76% to your final grades, the remaining 24% coming from lab reports and projects. In Group 1, you will write 2 papers for your final exams (and the duration and lenght of the paper differs based on whether it is HL or SL). These 2 papers contribute only 50% to your final grade, and the remaining 50% is based on coursework (the number of projects and the allocation of marks again differs if you take HL or SL). So as you can see, it is a very complex process, and you will learn about it as you go along the course.
Regarding the lecturers, I have no idea as this is specific to each school you attend. I attended the International School of Penang, and I had fantastic teachers who came from different countries and background, and this added to my IB experience, for which I am now a big advocate.
Lastly I am going to write something about ToK (Theory of Knowledge) and EE (Extended Essay) which I mentioned briefly above and of CAS (Creativitiy, Action and Service). These 3 "things" are central to the IB hexagon, and are what we call a "Failing Criteria" irregardless of what subjects you take. If you fail to submit an EE, or a ToK project, or do not achieve the minimum 150 hours of CAS, you will NOT receive your Diploma even thought you received the maximum 42 score.
However, I assure that these 3 "things" will probably be the best part of your IB experience. The EE is probably something no one else in any other pre-university course has done, and you will find out that you are one of the few when you reach university, who know how to reference properly, to write a 1000 word paper with ease (because you've written a 4000 word EE before). You will have explored and done so many other extracurricular projects, organised events for your CAS that you will be able to do this with ease in uni.
That comparison is flawed at best. If one takes 6 A-level subjects, what is there to compare? On the 3 extra points, it is only equivalent to an AS level.
UCAS points are a measure of the amount of work done, it is not a measure of which qualification is inferior to which.
Universities gve offers base on letter grades for A-levels and IB points for IB, UCAS points are hardly if never used for pre-u applicants.
Crezki
28-05-2007, 09:55 AM
Universities give offers based on letter grades for A-levels and IB points for IB, UCAS points are hardly if never used for pre-u applicants.
True, bush, because the UCAS Tariff only includes IB beginning in 2008 entry (next year).
So, let's not throw green apples between qualifications.
To kram, excellent overview.
To jojyi
Like kram said, there are "subjects", are arranged into groups, and the "failing criteria":
SUBJECTS
1: First Language
e.g. Malay A1 (SL)
50% Exam, 30% IA (Internal Assessment), 20% Externally-assessed assignment
2: Second Language
e.g. English B (SL)
70% Exam, 30% IA (Oral)
3: "Social Sciences"
e.g. IT in a Global Society (SL)
70% Exam, 30% IA
4: Experimental Sciences
e.g. Chemistry (HL)
76% Exam, 24% IA (Lab Reports)
5: Mathematics / Comp Science
e.g. Mathematics (HL)
80% Exam, 20% IA
6: Arts / Another subj from another group
(For KMB it's another Group 4 subject, same assessment)
Then of course you have the Grade Boundaries, specifying what mark is required for a 7, or a 6, or other grades (in a particular examination session). IBO regulates this.
"FAILING CRITERIA"
EE 40 Total marks
Grades are (probably) from A to E
ToK 60 Total marks: 40m ToK Essay, 20m IA (Presentation)
Grades are (probably) from A to E
CAS
Minimum requirement: 150 hours (KMB: 180)
Acceptable as long as it is documented and approved.
And the "clubs and societies", at least one club/society and at least one sports club per student. Up to you to join more :)
jojyi
28-05-2007, 12:23 PM
Thanks Crezki for ur explanation in grading..Thanks.hehe.Hope to meet u in KMB. :lol: Maybe I will need further help from u... :wink:
Crezki
28-05-2007, 08:46 PM
Hope to meet u in KMB.:wink:
LoL... Well, we'll meet if I can make it there during one of the weekdays. Coz (unfortunately, maybe) my 2.0 years are already done!
cyrus2909
29-05-2007, 03:14 PM
Thanks Crezki for ur explanation in grading..Thanks.hehe.Hope to meet u in KMB. :lol: Maybe I will need further help from u... :wink:
hey there joiyi , i'm going to kmb too.. heard that IB is a lot of work... *sigh*
THREEPOINTsix
30-05-2007, 04:23 AM
.:sighs:. :? Juniors! 8O
jojyi
30-05-2007, 10:24 AM
hey there joiyi , i'm going to kmb too.. heard that IB is a lot of work... *sigh*
Yea...haha...A lot of work + activities(which is my fav)!haha...don b soo stress...juz hav fun while studying...haha...
jojyi
30-05-2007, 05:06 PM
Seniors, one more question: Do we need to take ielts?or any other english language test?thx... :wink:
jojyi
31-05-2007, 07:47 PM
Answers please?do we need to take ielts??
forEVA
03-06-2007, 12:20 AM
Answers please?do we need to take ielts??
nop! unless required.
03-06-2007, 12:38 AM
No, it is not needed but it is better to take so that you can prove you got the neccessary language command.
Patrick
03-06-2007, 12:52 AM
IELTS is for Ireland bound students.
UK bound students need not sit for it.
jojyi
03-06-2007, 04:09 PM
Thanks forEVA,Capablanca n Patrick!
So for those who will be going to kolej mara banting,are they the students that will be going to UK/Ireland??for mara and jpa scholars i mean..
jojyi
03-06-2007, 09:15 PM
I don't think those Mara scholars know where they go...As for JPA scholars, I think so...
03-06-2007, 09:36 PM
I don't think those Mara scholars know where they go...As for JPA scholars, I think so...
I think they knew because I check the result for my friend and he knew where he was going.
rainyshark
04-06-2007, 09:26 AM
did he get medic?
because there's a foundation[poland, czech republic, indo and ramaya(where's that? :?: )]
one of my friend got it 8) 8)
Patrick
04-06-2007, 12:01 PM
Nope, MARA scholars doing the IB in KMB do not know where they're going. It really depends on them. If they get good scores and are able to get a place in the UK, they'll be sent to the UK.
rainyshark
04-06-2007, 01:12 PM
Nope, MARA scholars doing the IB in KMB do not know where they're going. It really depends on them. If they get good scores and are able to get a place in the UK, they'll be sent to the UK.
does this include biotech?
04-06-2007, 04:07 PM
does this include biotech?
I think so.
blaxice
23-05-2008, 09:56 AM
is it hard to get full mark or at least 43/45? one more question is it true ib students have 2 sit 4 interview by their future university?
jojyi
24-05-2008, 01:51 PM
is it hard to get full mark or at least 43/45? one more question is it true ib students have 2 sit 4 interview by their future university?
depends on which Uni u apply...not only IB students...everyone who wanted to go to great Uni such as Oxbridge...of course interview is a must....But for engineering students, most probably u won need any except for Imperial n oxbridge...(if u r going UK)...hmmm...about the marks, depends on our luck n our hard work....so study hard n pray hard...:)
passer-by
26-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Hi, jojlyi, if I were to study IB in Kmb, is it possible for me to take up mandarine for group 1:language A1 ? If not, do we get to choose other subjects under this group other than Malay ?
nigelsim
26-05-2008, 05:00 PM
its compulsory to take malay got yr language a1
jojyi
26-05-2008, 07:44 PM
Hi, jojlyi, if I were to study IB in Kmb, is it possible for me to take up mandarine for group 1:language A1 ? If not, do we get to choose other subjects under this group other than Malay ?
I hope i can take chinese duh...but there is no teacher!haha....
passer-by
26-05-2008, 09:39 PM
I hope i can take chinese duh...but there is no teacher!haha....
*sigh* If I were allowed to, even there's no teacher, I am still very eager to try it out myself. But, if there's restriction, and it's compulsory to take up Malay, then we don't really have a choice..; it's quite unfair.....
Come on, don't be upset...
You are a Malaysian and you are destined to learn Malay.
Generally, Malay is not really hard la like SPM.
i bet that the grade for your final exam would be at least 6, then....
Be relax...
passer-by
27-05-2008, 01:57 PM
Thanks,..Well,I just thought that we are supposed to learn our mother tongue under Group1. Won't it be harder than SPM level? I mean, it's Malay literature, right?
nigelsim
27-05-2008, 02:03 PM
its relatively easier compared to spm... just give it a try... we r learning world literature translated into malay... so actually it isnt dat bad... tak kenal maka tak cinta...
passer-by
31-05-2008, 04:43 PM
In KMB, can I take more than 6 subjects? Is there any other compulsory subject besides BM ?
jojyi
02-06-2008, 05:16 PM
Thanks,..Well,I just thought that we are supposed to learn our mother tongue under Group1. Won't it be harder than SPM level? I mean, it's Malay literature, right?
mmm...u see...Chinese history soooo long...if u learn Chinese Literature...It's challenging and hard...Although we shouldnt forget our root....but see the brighter side! Malay literature won be that hard...cz they don have so many dif types of literature compared to Chinese!haha...And we r malaysian...SO nevermind ba....Learn chinese in University then!haha :)
Yvette
13-06-2008, 01:58 PM
I was just wondering whether this year, juniors will be given the choice to pick up their own subject of choice in place of Malay A1. From what I've heard (might be just a rumour), juniors are given choices such as Arabic and even Chinese to take instead of Malay A1. And oh ya, everyone will be taking English HL from now on...is that a confirmed rumour?
In KMB, can I take more than 6 subjects? Is there any other compulsory subject besides BM ?
yeah..you may take an extra subject. Arabic Ab Initio.
amir15
13-06-2008, 04:47 PM
I was just wondering whether this year, juniors will be given the choice to pick up their own subject of choice in place of Malay A1. From what I've heard (might be just a rumour), juniors are given choices such as Arabic and even Chinese to take instead of Malay A1. And oh ya, everyone will be taking English HL from now on...is that a confirmed rumour?
yeah..you may take an extra subject. Arabic Ab Initio.
Arabic!!!
LOL... nothing else??
Yvette
14-06-2008, 01:13 PM
Lolz.. Yup, as far as I know that's the only extra subject available.. But things might be different this year. =) Who knows aite?
jojyi
14-06-2008, 10:47 PM
I heard from Ms. Loh, if the college can find a teacher to teach chinese then yes...i want too...it will be easy then!as u know our SPM standard soooo HIGH!!!even china accept SPM chinese...
nigelsim
14-06-2008, 11:23 PM
remember to pick BUSINESS MANAGEMENT for your group 3 subject! =D
saruhh
15-06-2008, 05:54 PM
remember to pick BUSINESS MANAGEMENT for your group 3 subject! =D
lolz, may i ask why? cos i'm thinking of taking that as my group 3 subject, but someone mentioned that it's hard to score...but i also heard that business is more enjoyable than econs. views?
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 06:01 PM
if u took accounting in spm i suggest u take business... its not veri hard la... not veri much about theory... more on application... der r no right or wrong ans... u just have to argue based on business theories and as long as it makes sense den shud be no problem... veri often den not students just memorize de text book and fail to apply it and argue in a critical way...
Yvette
15-06-2008, 07:45 PM
if u took accounting in spm i suggest u take business... its not veri hard la... not veri much about theory... more on application... der r no right or wrong ans... u just have to argue based on business theories and as long as it makes sense den shud be no problem... veri often den not students just memorize de text book and fail to apply it and argue in a critical way...
kudos to nigel!! =)
Danial
15-06-2008, 08:08 PM
What about ITGS??? What this subject got to offer?
Yvette
15-06-2008, 08:24 PM
What about ITGS??? What this subject got to offer?
From what my friends who are taking ITGS tell me, this subject requires quite a lot of reading. I heard the book is quite thick but then only certain specific questions will be asked. hmmm.. it's better for you to get in touch with seniors taking this subject and ask them directly.
Danial
15-06-2008, 10:45 PM
ITGS = Books? Business = exam questions got no definite ans? Econs = Boring?
Yvette
16-06-2008, 02:19 PM
ITGS = Books? Business = exam questions got no definite ans? Econs = Boring?
Apparently, most of the teachers at college have this to say about business: "It's a reading subject". But as Nigel already mentioned, application is the important thing.
My friends who are taking econs say that it's interesting though.
nigelsim
16-06-2008, 02:57 PM
we get to learn about macro/micro econs and demand supply in bss too...
Danial
16-06-2008, 06:07 PM
So....in terms of scoring the subject....which subject is better?
Yvette
16-06-2008, 08:20 PM
To be honest, well..statistically speaking (or myth if you may), Economics usually yield the best results. But in the end, it all comes down to the effort of an individual student. Don't use statistics to judge something exhaustively. For example, the statistics for ITGS are usually not very appealing but take note that only a handful of KMB students actually sit for the paper.
nigelsim
16-06-2008, 08:52 PM
yea true... i agree... it depends la... i have no regrets taking business... its fun... we learn a wide range of topics... n guess wad... when u finish yr IB... u will have a diploma in business management... cool rite?
Yvette
16-06-2008, 09:03 PM
hehe..never thought of it that way. But yea, it's cool! =)
Danial
16-06-2008, 09:13 PM
Only business get a diploma? the rest economics and ITGS dont have any?
nigelsim
16-06-2008, 09:17 PM
erm... u will be receiving a IB diploma cert... so meaning to say all de subjects dat u take will be diploma standard... so if u take econs... den it will be diploma in econs and so forth...
Yvette
17-06-2008, 01:21 PM
http://educationmalaysia.blogspot.com/2006/07/levels-vs-international-baccalaureate.html
Now this is quite interesting for anyone who wants to know more about the IB. =)
passer-by
18-06-2008, 05:54 PM
Sounds great,.....really anxious and looking forward to it, it would be perfect if we get to choose the subjects just like other countries as well.
Yvette
18-06-2008, 08:27 PM
Yeah, i agree. But well, on the bright side, the college sets out the subjects for us in packages according to our future courses because they know what to equip us with...I mean for those courses. =)
jojyi
23-06-2008, 10:03 PM
yea true... i agree... it depends la... i have no regrets taking business... its fun... we learn a wide range of topics... n guess wad... when u finish yr IB... u will have a diploma in business management... cool rite?
look who's talking...nigel wor...the GUY...haha...anyway i m his classmate...of course support wat he says!!!u can continue MBA next time...haha
to EVERYONE who's coming...MY JUNIORS-TO-BE...
U won regret coming here....ignore the bad location n equipment n facilities...
u will have fun...U WILL!!!
Danial
24-06-2008, 01:23 AM
Does ItGS require some minimum knowledge of computers. I mean during my secondary school i didnt take any IT course. Is it ok for me to take ITGS?
nigelsim
24-06-2008, 01:52 PM
by all means u can... it pretty much depends on yr interest
Yvette
01-07-2008, 11:07 PM
look who's talking...nigel wor...the GUY...haha...anyway i m his classmate...of course support wat he says!!!u can continue MBA next time...haha
to EVERYONE who's coming...MY JUNIORS-TO-BE...
U won regret coming here....ignore the bad location n equipment n facilities...
u will have fun...U WILL!!!
classmates? heheh..i sense something here..
defectivelasagna
21-05-2010, 08:28 PM
hi im a future KMB-ian and in wondering about the subjects to choose, im an arts stream student and in IB i have to pick a science subject, would it be extremely difficult for me to cope having no science background?
also, i did not take addmath and it seems that KMB only offers HL mathematics? would i be able to cope with mathematics?
alter_ego
21-05-2010, 08:32 PM
what's HL and SL ?
cuppycake
21-05-2010, 08:37 PM
hi im a future KMB-ian and in wondering about the subjects to choose, im an arts stream student and in IB i have to pick a science subject, would it be extremely difficult for me to cope having no science background?
also, i did not take addmath and it seems that KMB only offers HL mathematics? would i be able to cope with mathematics?
well, it depends. what course are u taking? kmb is currently offering both maths HL and SL. for engineering, maths HL is compulsory. but medic students are given the option to choose.
defectivelasagna
21-05-2010, 08:51 PM
well, it depends. what course are u taking? kmb is currently offering both maths HL and SL. for engineering, maths HL is compulsory. but medic students are given the option to choose.
im doing finance and economics, which is kinda weird to be sent for IB at KMB.
foodlover
21-05-2010, 09:44 PM
im doing finance and economics, which is kinda weird to be sent for IB at KMB.
oh, wow. means that next sem will be having economic students. thats new to kmb. well good luck. its gonna be a fun ride *no sarcasm detected* :D
manglish_lysia
21-05-2010, 11:45 PM
what's HL and SL ?
HL is higher level and SL is standard level.
In IB, you will have to do 6 subjects. 3 in HL and 3 in SL. IB covers the main language - English, additional language - Spanish, German, French etc..., science - Bio, Chem or Phy, art - visual art/music, and mathematics. You pick the three main one as HL and do restin SL, usually.
In addition, you will have extra 3 more things to do - do a 1500 research paper, community work and critical thinking skills.
Hope I answer your question! :)
Congrats alter_ego!!!!
defectivelasagna
22-05-2010, 01:44 AM
oh, wow. means that next sem will be having economic students. thats new to kmb. well good luck. its gonna be a fun ride *no sarcasm detected* :D
really? so does that mean my batch would be the first econs batch in KMB? or maybe my surat tawaran is messed up lol.
Tahniah anda berjaya
Tarikh Pendaftaran : 22.6.2010
Kursus : SASTERA IKHTISAS (KEWANGAN / EKONOMI)
Program / Tempat : INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE (IB) / KOLEJ MARA BANTING (KMB)
hmmm
cuppycake
22-05-2010, 12:02 PM
really? so does that mean my batch would be the first econs batch in KMB? or maybe my surat tawaran is messed up lol.
Tahniah anda berjaya
Tarikh Pendaftaran : 22.6.2010
Kursus : SASTERA IKHTISAS (KEWANGAN / EKONOMI)
Program / Tempat : INTERNATIONAL BACCALAUREATE (IB) / KOLEJ MARA BANTING (KMB)
hmmm
yeah. but way back when there is an actuarial science batch in kmb.
all i can say is good luck. and just take it as it go. kmb can be a great place only if u let yourself to experience it!
defectivelasagna
22-05-2010, 12:42 PM
yeah. but way back when there is an actuarial science batch in kmb.
all i can say is good luck. and just take it as it go. kmb can be a great place only if u let yourself to experience it!
yeah, i bet it is. i wonder which country would MARA send me to, i remember in the list of countries for my course its only the US, so does that mean im doing IB in prep for the US?
edit: is there a way to contact KMB? i'd like to find out about the subjects they're offering so i could prepare myself beforehand since i dont have a science background
edit: nvm found the number lol