View Full Version : US Universities Decisions for Fall 2004

Pages : [1] 2

aquila
22-03-2004, 02:30 AM
Hey guys (esp ATU 10)

Just curious to know, which unis have accepted u? Which are u considering?

Some general questions
Which uni is the most popular?
How many accepted by ivy leagues and ivy standard unis?

In making your final uni decision, don't hesitate to ask us!!!

aquila
22-03-2004, 02:30 AM
Hey guys (esp ATU 10)

Just curious to know, which unis have accepted u? Which are u considering?

Some general questions
Which uni is the most popular?
How many accepted by ivy leagues and ivy standard unis?

In making your final uni decision, don't hesitate to ask us!!!

27-03-2004, 10:17 PM
The ivy leagues results are coming out very soon. Stanford is posting the decision on Monday. Cornell is posting the result online on April's Fool.

For MIT, if I'm not mistaken, only one person from INTEC got it this year.

Just curious to know, I am majoring in electrical engineering. If I'm admitted by both Cornell and Princeton, which uni should I go to?
I have handed in my priority list and I placed Cornell above Princeton. Hope I'm not making a mistake.

27-03-2004, 10:26 PM
yeah chiunlin, plz come to cornell .. we need more malaysians here :P ... anyway, it's up to you to decide but cornell is as good as princeton and ivy league also what .. we have a bunch of EE malaysians here so you have access to lecture notes and lab reports :wink: (there are also reports inherited from seniors who have already graduated)

27-03-2004, 10:30 PM
Will the universities fool us on April fool? What if, for example, Yale congratulated you in the morning for being accepted to Yale, and then .... Boo!! April Fool!!!

27-03-2004, 10:52 PM
I'll defintely go to Cornell if I'm admitted and at the same time, Stanford rejects me.

windy_city
28-03-2004, 01:56 AM
If i were you , i will go to Princeton, that if Princeton accept you, there is only 1 Malaysian undergrad in Princeton now(junior year), I think Princeton need you more than Cornell.
Anyway, it is up to you to decide. Plus, JPA will not stop you even when you choose Princeton over Cornell, dun need to worry about the priority list.

aquila
28-03-2004, 04:22 AM
Go to princeton if you're accepted! I mean competitive wise, Princeton really doesn't accept too many students from our part of the world. There are only Spore freshman in Princeton. I think the whole undergrad dept, there r only 5 Sporeans and not even real Sporeans. Most of them weren't born in Spore.

But Princeton is in the middle of nowhere, same like Cornell. So not much difference. I heard Princeton campus is very pretty, a bit like Duke. I'm not complementing my own uni, my friend's friend from Princeton commented on that.

Princeton is near NYC though. I mean not very near but accessible. So keep that in mind too.

No, unis cant fool people. A lot of liability issues. They don't want to do that.

Wish you all the best!

28-03-2004, 04:50 AM
just want to clear up some misinformation.

there are more than one malaysian undergrads at princeton, something like 3-5 would sound right. And there are about 5-8 of Singaporean undergrad here, most of them come from the top Junior Colleges in Singapore.

Princeton has the reputation of offering one of the best undergrad education experience in the US, considering the amount of resources they spent on their undergrads.

aquila
28-03-2004, 05:07 AM
Oops, typo. I didnt mean there are only freshmen in Princeton. I meant there is only ONE Sporean freshman in Princeton.

windy_city
28-03-2004, 06:05 AM
opps, sorry, I should said, I only know that there is one Malaysian undergrad studying in Princeton.

28-03-2004, 10:58 AM
Huh? Huh?
I don't rate my chances of getting into Princeton very high. 5% chance perhaps. And of course I may still change my mind.
Anyway, I have my own set of criteria to judge the unniversity and I'm going to take into account every factor before making the final decision. Let's just hope that I'm admitted into Stanford and I can save the trouble from deciding which uni to go to.

z
28-03-2004, 11:53 AM
come to Stanford :)
1. nice weather/environment - it's California!
2. nice people/diversity - the "minorities" are the majority.
3. good departments/academic programs - techie, fuzzy, everything.
4. good varsity sports teams
5. silicon valley
and the list goes on...

chenghau
28-03-2004, 12:12 PM
Wish you all the best. Go Stanford...Cool weather, nice people(seniors there are extremely nice...hmm should I mention their names?no need lah, understood one...), also can see girls with less clothes more frequently?(almost topless?)

LOL

28-03-2004, 02:45 PM
also can see girls with less clothes more frequently?(almost topless?)

Uhmm... do you get this a lot in the States?

28-03-2004, 02:49 PM

eh. especially during spring. even naked if you are in michigan at the right time of the winter semester :D

28-03-2004, 02:54 PM
LOL. i don't know how it is in california, but you'd be surprised to find that generally, americans are still very conservative, especially when compared to european countries. nudity is illegal in public beaches (yeap, girls can't sunbathe topless), unlike in europe. no nudity on tv (except for hbo and pay per view...), while in europe (well, spain at least) you get porn after 11pm, iirc. why do you think there was such a big outcry over janet's fugly boob?

28-03-2004, 03:32 PM
Ok, good point. I dunno how would some of our reaction be when it comes to this ... I mean ..... yeah, i'm kinda conservative person... Dunno how 'comfortable' or uncomfortable i'll feel about this stuff. Cheng Hau, do you get this in Boston?

chenghau
28-03-2004, 04:11 PM
LOL, I will tell you when summer arrives, okay?

It has been cold since I came here, and people would rather wrap themselves in clothes than to show their sexy bodies.

But then, who knows if I would have such "culture shock" in summer?

z
28-03-2004, 05:04 PM
here at Stanford, it's only limited to a small select group of people who so happenly prefer to live together in a house.

apart from that i've never seen naked ppl wandering the campus. people do sunbath, but i don't recall seeing anyone topless (maybe i should go out more often?).

i do, however, know that it's illegal to walk around naked in the city (San Francisco).

tuinkle
28-03-2004, 08:03 PM
I live right by Hearst Memorial Stadium in Berkeley where they hold anything from Commencement Ceremonies to "Beat Stanford Bonfires," and last fall, let's just say I was 'slightly' disturbed by a show of public affection by a lesbian couple (who were lining up.......well...not really up...maybe lying down?.. waiting to get concert tickets...not even sure if they are Cal students). I won't go into details, but yes, it was a little too graphic for me. But besides that one time, I've not had any near experiences of that sort, not even on Telegraph Avenue. In public, people are generally clothed around here- despite the great weather and despite bezerkeley's reputation :D
Although..... showers here, are very 'open' especially in the gyms so shower there at your own risk.

28-03-2004, 10:13 PM
Chiun Lin, I think the main thing in your choosing would be your own criteria. That's the most important. It depends on what you are looking for and the most important thing is choosing the best fitted university for yourself. Princeton is a great university~! If I am not wrong, there are about 20 Malaysians who apply there and got interviewed this year, so guess there should be 1 of you who would most likely get in this year.

On Cornell, I would say that its main selling point is its diverseness. Cornell may not be at the very top. So, odds are you will find those very top students in other top institutions, like MIT, Stanford, Princeton, Harvard, Yale etc.

However, Cornell prides itself as the Largest Ivy League university. So, it claims to have the greatest diversity, due to the fact that it accepts 3000 pretty good students. These students may not get into those very top universities, but these students come in with great diversity and produce a good cohort.

So, most of the other top unis take in like 1000 students per year, where as Cornell has 3000 students per year. So, you will have great opportunities for networking. There are 3200+ international students from 126 countries currently here.

Anyway, choose the universities based on your best selection. Stanford will be a fantastic choice~!

29-03-2004, 10:56 AM
I heard that stanford was voted the best university in terms of students' satisfaction, was that true?

chillout
29-03-2004, 11:17 AM
hmm.. so much talk on this ivy leagues....

what should we America bound students expect in these universities? is there like loads of pressure and assignments do complete every week? Just what should I prepare for...

really curious...
anything new makes anyone curious anyway... =P

z
29-03-2004, 11:18 AM
never heard of that. word of caution: don't always believe what the magazines say.

but in this case, since it's a compliment, yeah... :)

i'm sure most ppl are satisfied with their college.
case 1: they really are because they have lots of new opportunities.
case 2: can't tell because they cannot make fair comparisons (unless they transfer to another college).

aquila
29-03-2004, 11:28 AM
I think I can safely say that there is a lot of work to be done! Stress level is high and whoever said ang mohs slack made the biggest mistake ever! People are serious about their studies here. No kidding!

Profs give you tons of work especially as the semester approaches an end (like now!) Research papers, lab reports abound. And mind you, all those are like 10 to 20 pages long.

This is my normal weekend.

Fri night : Party! Or watch movie! Do laundry and tidy room too.
Sat: Work (by this I mean do homework and study and read my 300pg book) Nighttime: Chill with family at the phone or with friends. Then work continues!!!
Sun: More work! Slack a little. Just a little.

Arghh... I miss the good ol' days in high school when weekends meant no work and play all day long!

I want my maid! Sob!!!

The next time I get a break, I want to do nothing and go nowhere. Just wake up, watch TV, slack all day and sleep! Sometimes I feel like I'm more busy than an executive. Out by 9am and back by 10pm. Exciting times! :P

I guess this is what college life is all about! You only have 4 yrs. Might as well make the most out of it!

z
29-03-2004, 11:34 AM
OR you could slack off like me and get mediocre grades :/

29-03-2004, 11:58 AM
I heard that stanford was voted the best university in terms of students' satisfaction, was that true?

stanford is my dream school, really. great climate, great academics, great reputation, great athletics (but their football team blows lol), great size, great location, great chicks (i guess, since it's california). hwo wouldn't want to go there?

aquila
29-03-2004, 12:07 PM
Aren't you already in Michigan Ann Arbor, Topdog?

29-03-2004, 12:11 PM
Aren't you already in Michigan Ann Arbor, Topdog?
yeah, but one can fantisize, no? actually one of the schools i applied to was stanford, but they didn't want me. it's still my dream school though, and should be for everyone.:P

tuinkle
29-03-2004, 12:19 PM

stanford is my dream school, really. great climate, great academics, great reputation, great athletics (but their football team blows lol), great size, great location, great chicks (i guess, since it's california). hwo wouldn't want to go there?

ahemmmm Berkeley's got all that, and more! Like a real football team! hahaha And you'll actually be surprised by the number of students who chose to come here not because they got rejected by ivy leagues :)

aquila
29-03-2004, 12:24 PM
i really want to visit the schools in california someday since you guys have such a high minority population! very interesting!

i'm not sure if i want my school to be predominantly asian though... dont see the point of coming all the way to US to be confined in an asian environment again!

of course, asian americans are diff from asians back home but still diversity is always better

29-03-2004, 01:43 PM

I wouldn't say "almost topless".. but it sure is a lot more skin than you'll get in M'sia. Not necessarily a good thing. Some skin are best hidden behind clothes. ;)

tree007
29-03-2004, 07:36 PM
talking about berkeley-stanford rivalry.... anyone here knows what is a stanford graduate and a yale graduate doing at the malaysian US emmbassy counter? are they really highly paid there? or r they doin it for fun...?

wawa
29-03-2004, 11:08 PM
I read (in this forum earlier) that Stanford's going to release their results on Monday. Is there any way we can obtain the results of our application(besides paper mail)?I am not a JPA scholarship but applied individually.

aquila
29-03-2004, 11:16 PM
Worry not. You'll either get an email or an express mail from the universities. Otherwise, you will go to their website to check. They will make sure you're informed by Apr 1.

I received my Duke admission earlier than the rest last year though because of the visa problems.

Best of luck to you all!

Do share your results and decisions with us!

We're curious (and busybodies!)

30-03-2004, 03:27 PM
OK...juz want to let the seniors know...
today, 3 of us got accepted by university of chicago...
me, jaclyn n yee fay....

YIIPPPEEEE!!!!
sorry for tad outburst....how do get in contact wif the seniors there...

z
30-03-2004, 07:24 PM
I read (in this forum earlier) that Stanford's going to release their results on Monday. Is there any way we can obtain the results of our application(besides paper mail)?I am not a JPA scholarship but applied individually.

interesting. do keep us posted on all university admissions. we're very kaypoh :P hahah... that's what "seniors" are for right? aquila will agree hehe

anyway, i first got to know about my stanford admissions through an email. got the letter (hardcopy) few weeks later. so yeah, go support the cybercafes :P and make sure it's not in the Junk Mail folder :/

30-03-2004, 08:57 PM
How many days after the official admission result was posted did you receive the email notifying you about the admission result?

jagganatha
30-03-2004, 10:23 PM
Sorry but someone here mentioned about calling families on Sunday. I jus wanna know how expensive it really is to make a call from the States to a Malaysian fixed line and a Maxis prepaid line also. Thanks a million.. :? :?

dinna_g
31-03-2004, 12:08 AM
Sorry but someone here mentioned about calling families on Sunday. I jus wanna know how expensive it really is to make a call from the States to a Malaysian fixed line and a Maxis prepaid line also. Thanks a million.. :? :?
Don't worry about making phone calls. They are relatively cheap. If you find a decent phone card online, it can be as cheap as 2 cents per minute for either land line or cell phone line. The phone card I normally use is a little bit expensive but the rate is 4 cents for land line and 7 cents for cell phones. It's still cheaper than the cost of my parents to call me here

aquila
31-03-2004, 12:43 AM
Hey,

Duke admission decisions are out! Go to the website and check! Cepat, cepat! Siapa masuk?

Congrats on gaining admission, UChicago folks! I believe there's a senior there, Leong Sing. Ask windy city. I think he knows him well.

31-03-2004, 02:01 AM
yeah, phone calls are very cheap, especially if you are in big cities. Typically you could get around 3 cents for a house phone and 5.5 cents for a cell phone call. I am using www.phonecard4sale.com Megatel Asia. It is pretty good.

z
31-03-2004, 08:25 AM
How many days after the official admission result was posted did you receive the email notifying you about the admission result?

if i remember correctly, it's + - one week.

31-03-2004, 09:49 AM
thanks!

i think there's one more who is accepted to chicago...she's may ying...so there's 4 now...2 for bio/biochem...2 for maths...

abt duke...
my poor friends...
they suffered the whole nite thinking abt their admissions status...
probably cant sleep...
then....
morning came....
finally, they thought....
rushed to the nearest internet access (CC)...
n to their utmost horror....
duke decided to delay admission decisions by 24 hours!!!!!
they r all still fretting...
so i guess we all haf to wait somemore...

31-03-2004, 09:52 AM
JPA is sponsoring people to do math? Wow, that's amazing!

31-03-2004, 10:01 AM
If I am not wrong, JPA also have scholarship for pure sciences too.

Congrats for those who get the positive decision. To those who get negative decision, don't feel too dejected, it is still not the end of the world.

windy_city
31-03-2004, 10:02 AM
Gal Flower, wow, 4 of your guys, your senior there must be very happy.
So far there is only 3 Malaysian undergrad there(all of them doing econ), 2 gals & one guy(econ n bio chem), I always tease them for being the lonely 3 musketeers there, but Leong Sing said he dun mind even no Malaysian come here this year, but i think they will be really happy to see u guys there.
I will post thier contect info later, when i am free, now in the library, dun have thier contact with me now.

windy_city
31-03-2004, 10:35 AM
Congrat to those who get into U Chicago, to the Harry Potter fans, U Chicago is the only school in Midwest who has dining hall and classes like the one u see in Harry Potter movie, nice gothic style buildings like Harvard and Yale. ?Nice? dorm also, they have an ex-hotel and an ex-brothel as their dorms, nice history right. Hei hei, but dun worry, I stayed in both of them before, so far did not see anything supernatural but did hear some strange sound though. Well I do like the school, even though we are rival school in term of academics (but U Chicago sucks in sports, they are in third division, so even themselves dun care about their school sports teams, the only thing interesting about sports in U Chicago is every year the track team will run naked in the library, yeah!!!!!) so sometimes I do go and visit some of my friends there because it is so near to Northwestern (while hoping to see people running in the library :D ) and they do visit me here sometimes too. So hope to see you guy there soon.

Ya, you guy can contact the senior there; his name is Leong Sing, same batch as me. (ATU9)His email is (thetempest1001night@<hidden>), just said Max give u the email address and he should know what to do. I have another American friend in U Chicago who I think can help you guy out too, since he is born and raised in Chicago. He will know more about Chicago than I do (although I think I know almost anything that I need to know about Chicago :D :D) His email is chicagodavemaes@<hidden> , just say Max tell you guy to contact him, he promise me to help you guy out already.

Hope that helps, contact me if you guy needs any help, I am glad that I can assist you guys.

P/S: The Americans friend?s name is David, you guy can just call him Dave.

Melo_15
31-03-2004, 12:37 PM
abt duke...
my poor friends...
they suffered the whole nite thinking abt their admissions status...
probably cant sleep...
then....
morning came....
finally, they thought....
rushed to the nearest internet access (CC)...
n to their utmost horror....
duke decided to delay admission decisions by 24 hours!!!!!
they r all still fretting...
so i guess we all haf to wait somemore...[/quote]

what an anticlimax..........guess it's another sleepless night with pacman and minesweeper...........sheesh......... :roll: :roll:

b_ronick
31-03-2004, 06:02 PM
rejected by MIT and Stanford..sigh..
:cry: :cry: :cry:
it's hurting my confidence..
sigh...
it's very very sad

31-03-2004, 06:42 PM
Stanford's result released already? Cool...
Do you know who got in??? Tonight must belanja liao!!!

31-03-2004, 07:13 PM
so sad la..... stanford didn't email me....guess i have to go to the office of students placement (OSSP) to check....but of course my chances are as thick as a piece of tracing paper...<sarcasm>

:( hah...check this out :(
These are students who find their greatest joy through both a high level of excellence and excitement. They have implemented recycling programs for their schools, won poetry slams, led anti-tobacco efforts in their communities and worked to foster peace and understanding in such global hot spots as the Middle East, Afghanistan and Cyprus. Our inventors have developed groundbreaking software in face recognition and have designed tools to increase online security. One student created her own written and spoken language, while another works as one of 80 worldwide maintainers of the Linux operating system. Several students have produced award-winning documentaries and one hosted her own show on Jamaican television. One admit has a patent for his innovative pen design, while another has discovered how to construct microchips using a molecular pencil. Clearly, these students already exhibit the initiative, entrepreneurial spirit and curiosity that have come to define the Stanford community." 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O
http://www.stanford.edu/dept/news/pr/2004/admissionsrelease.html

correction...my chances? :wink: 0.00000000000000000000000000000001%

31-03-2004, 07:35 PM
This is a good sign, since everyone who received the email was rejected, me included.
Anyway, sort of predicted. Looks like I should be content to be huilin's junior.

tree007
31-03-2004, 07:56 PM
sigh... so depressing ler... is this a drop in standard of ATU or other students in other countries gettin better?

anyway.. now that most Uni's r out... just left Duke n Ivy Leagues...... good luck to all of u guys waitin for ytheir results!!! all the best yar!!!!!

b_ronick
31-03-2004, 09:30 PM
sigh... so depressing ler... is this a drop in standard of ATU or other students in other countries gettin better?

anyway.. now that most Uni's r out... just left Duke n Ivy Leagues...... good luck to all of u guys waitin for ytheir results!!! all the best yar!!!!!

thanxx..i think i need all the luck that i can get!

31-03-2004, 09:44 PM
I would like to congratulate Lin Lee (wawa), a ReCom member who has been offered admission to Stanford~! Guess she may be too shy to break the news here, so I may as well break it right?

To those who receive negative reply, don't worry too much. Who knows you may get to a university with better fit?

tree007
31-03-2004, 09:59 PM
wah!!! congrats!!! at least got some1 enter stanford dy.... :)

01-04-2004, 06:36 AM
Congrats to all who have been admitted to their college of their dreams!

Remember, your success will mainly depend on your hardwork and determination in college, not so much as to which college you go to. So, no matter what college you're admitted to, strive to do excellent work. When you graduate top in your class, you can write to the Ivy leagues (e.g. Harvard) deans, thanking them "for making your decision easier" by rejecting you.

Here's a quote from Robert Rubin's (former US treasury secretary) book "In an Uncertain World" (I recommend this book to anyone who's interested in economics and politics).

Quoting Bob Rubin:
After graduation [with summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Harvard], I sent a tongue-in-cheek letter to the dean of admissions at Princeton, to which I had not been accepted four years earlier. "I imagine you track the people you graduate," I wrote. "I thought you might be interested to know what happened to one of the people you rejected. I just wanted to tell you that I graduated Harvard summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa."

The dean wrote me back, "Thank you for your note. Every year, we at Princeton feel it is our duty to reject a certain number of highly qualified people so that Harvard can have some good students too." 8)

01-04-2004, 08:48 AM
Fully agree with what prince said.

To those aspirants of MIT or those who just want to have a look at it, there will be a MIT Admission talk at Hotel Equatorial Kuala Lumpur, from 2pm to 3pm, on April 10.

For enquiries, e-mail: nci@<hidden> or log on to www.mit.edu.

It was publicized in http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/3/28/education/7610661&sec=education

Panda
01-04-2004, 10:23 AM
I would like to congratulate Lin Lee (wawa), a ReCom member who has been offered admission to Stanford~! Guess she may be too shy to break the news here, so I may as well break it right?

Wah... Congratulation Wawa. You are the best. Your family and friends must be really proud of you. By the where, where is she from? :oops: 8O

By the way,chen chow wrote "Guess she may be too shy to break the news here". May be she is just being humble!? :D

Panda
01-04-2004, 10:29 AM
Quoting Bob Rubin:
After graduation [with summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa from Harvard], I sent a tongue-in-cheek letter to the dean of admissions at Princeton, to which I had not been accepted four years earlier. "I imagine you track the people you graduate," I wrote. "I thought you might be interested to know what happened to one of the people you rejected. I just wanted to tell you that I graduated Harvard summa cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa."

The dean wrote me back, "Thank you for your note. Every year, we at Princeton feel it is our duty to reject a certain number of highly qualified people so that Harvard can have some good students too." 8)

Is that a true story?... :?: Unbelievable?? Did Princeton University really wrote back "we at Princeton feel it is our duty to reject a certain number of highly qualified people so that Harvard can have some good students too." Then are they not degrading Harvard already... 8O :?

windy_city
01-04-2004, 11:01 AM
Is that a true story?... :?: Unbelievable?? Did Princeton University really wrote back "we at Princeton feel it is our duty to reject a certain number of highly qualified people so that Harvard can have some good students too." Then are they not degrading Harvard already... 8O :?

It is normal in US to write things like this.
I saw some T-shirts sold in MIT that have Harvard logo printed and Harvard name on it, but under the word Harvard, there is"Harvard, because not everybody can get in MIT"

Haha, seems like Harvard is always being make fun by thier counterparts.

Yeah to freedom of speech!!!!

cryzpene
01-04-2004, 11:11 AM
Leong Sing is a very helpful senior in U of Chic. We were roommates in Shah Alam and our mothers were housemates when they were teachers 20 years ago. You can talk anything to him because he's extremely well read.

Btw, anyone got into Carnegie Mellon? Come to CMU. We have apartments even for freshmen!

Hey,

Duke admission decisions are out! Go to the website and check! Cepat, cepat! Siapa masuk?

Congrats on gaining admission, UChicago folks! I believe there's a senior there, Leong Sing. Ask windy city. I think he knows him well.

01-04-2004, 11:42 AM
There are quite a number of students who are admitted into CMU this year. So you seniors may expect at least 3 of us, unless Cornell admitted all of us.

tree007
01-04-2004, 11:46 AM
i think got at least 2 confirm going to CMU dy.. 'cos that's their top choice dy... i think....

jaclyn
01-04-2004, 11:48 AM
hey seniors out there
i need help. which is better for biology? duke or jhu? :?: :?: :)

z
01-04-2004, 11:49 AM
cool :)
so i guess our malaysian "kampung" here will stay alive.
congrats!

btw, i'm really thankful that MIT rejected me :D

01-04-2004, 11:52 AM
ok, here's some more news...

u of chicago
5 applied, 5 accepted...the new recruit is but our very own siaw ting ann (biotech, i think)
woohoo! so there's like 4 gals n 1 guy....haha...

BUT...
our dear jaclyn will not be joining us at chicago... :cry: :cry: :cry:
she has also been accepted to duke n JHU...
our wonder gal here has 100% acceptance....
guess she cant be my roommate anymore... :cry: :cry: :cry:

jaclyn will be the only dukie i think....the rest din get it....

tree007
01-04-2004, 11:58 AM
yo jaclyn!!
congrats man!!!!!!

01-04-2004, 12:02 PM
she's next to me now...
n she's damn confused...

she LOVES duke...
heart tells her duke...
but...
talk some sense into her man...

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 12:10 PM
Err... CONGRATS JACLYN! i really need to post this message to express my happiness for her.. my anger+sadness+nervous for myself !!

Wowww... 100% acceptance... .SOOOOOOooooo nice ! somemore got into DUKE and JHU !!! u r the gal !!!! Duke and JHU lorr... got two in one day.. .really cant imagine ur happiness now... hope i can be as lucky as u.. my BROWN decision will be out in a few hours time.... tomoro Cornell ! but i guess i will be rejected again... like rejected by MIT ! :cry: im really nervous.... and sad.... i know i cant get ade but still hoping... so stupid ah ! :cry: :cry: :cry:

tree007
01-04-2004, 12:21 PM
haiyah.. MIT n Cornell.. bigggggg difference lah...

01-04-2004, 12:23 PM
aiyo lonewolfhan...

y say until like tad...
knock ur head ar..

01-04-2004, 12:24 PM
wow you guys are great.

which is better for biology? duke or jhu?
don't know. but since you asked, i would choose johns hopkins.

b_ronick
01-04-2004, 12:26 PM
btw, congrats jaclyn!!!!!!!!!!
really happy for ya!!!
woo hoo!!

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 12:27 PM
i dun want to give myself false hope ade ahh.. very hurt one lor when kena rejected... very sad.... should get used to the sadness now ... so that i will be immuned by the time i get rejected... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

jaclyn
01-04-2004, 12:27 PM
lonewolfhan, ALL THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GOOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!
can strike one, i also thought won't get at all, hope exists and it prevails! YEAH!! :P :twisted: :D :D :D :D

all the rest out there, GOOD LUCK for the IVIES tomorrow!!!!!!!!

windy_city
01-04-2004, 12:28 PM
JHU is for sure better in Bio or anything related to medicine and bio.
This is a known fact in America.
Their bio stuff is also the toughest there because there are so many pre-meds doing bio and stuff like that there. They have one of the best med school and bio department.

My friend sister studying there, so I know quite a bit bout the school(about the name). anyway there is a Malaysian senior there doing EE if i am not mistaken, try to contact her, her name is win pin.

Hope u make the best choice!!

aquila
01-04-2004, 12:38 PM
Hey Jaclyn,

I want to say WELCOME TO DUKE!!! But obviously I can't because you're still deciding! And I won't psycho you into coming, because I want you to make your own choice!

It's only when you make your own hard decision, will you truly appreciate Duke (or JHU) when you come. Seriously, that's what I feel and I'm very happy here. Winpin is your senior at JHU and she can give you an excellent picture of JHU.

I've visited JHU too. THink it's nice.

Do email me or Shian Ling. Post me a msg or sth and I'll get back to you. Duke is awesome. You'll either love it with all your heart or hate it with all your heart. Seriously. :)

Oh, do try to catch our basketball team on ESPN this Sat 9pm EST. WE're playing UConn in the final four. Watch the game, and you'll see why so many of us here are hardcore basketball fans. I only support Duke, thank you very much.

Well, the four freshmen here, Tzuo Hann, Shian Ling, Teng Yee and myself have gone on very diff paths here. TH has his plans abt stuff which you'll have to ask him, SL's into pingpong (she's good, really good), activism, buddhism, yee is into anatomical bio?, and I'm into service (volunteriism also goes by the name service)! I've definitely found wonderful opportunities here. Are you doing bioeng? Ask TH then. He's the only one left doing that major. Muahaha...

Apply to FOCUS if you decide to come. It'll change your life! It certainly changed mine! Now, I want to work for the UN. :P BTW, I'm going to Tanzania and Kenya on a service project this summer. Betcha gonna be interesting! Ooo, and my roommate next yr is Bulgarian! I'm excited!

We have a marine lab. So if you're into marine bio, here's the place to be. In fact, I'll be there for a month in summer.

Don't be discouraged by our ugly stationery you'll get in the mail. Duke has funny ways of saving money. They don't call us Gothic Wonderland for nth though!

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 12:39 PM
Jaclyn: Sigh~ i oso hope i can strike.. but u think so easy meh ? i have some lousy teachers' recommendation letters and my own sucky essay.... SIgH~ no hope ade la..

anyway.. I AM REALLY HAPPY FOR U.... yesterday u juz said that u will get the 1st rejection letter.. but u get 100% acceptance now... COngrats... :)

hope u can have the chance to feel happy for me too.. ehhee,, :oops: :cry: :oops: :cry: :oops: :cry: :cry: :cry:

01-04-2004, 12:40 PM
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: F**K :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

jagganatha
01-04-2004, 12:42 PM
ya congrats jaclyn from the heart.. :D :D

windy_city
01-04-2004, 12:46 PM
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: F**K :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Dun get pissed off by it, it happens everyyear, maybe because the admisison officers are guy!!
heihei, dun worry, maybe you will be glad that the shcool u apply rejected you, maybe you will suit better in the universities that accepted you, calm down, i know it is frustrating on April fool day, i went through it before, and so as many seniors here, but dun worry, you will know what i mean when you come here!!!

b_ronick
01-04-2004, 12:47 PM
like lonewolfhan i'm also a bit nervous for cornell tomorrow..
gosh..the anxiety is killing me.. :( :(

sigh...guess i better be prepared...

jagganatha
01-04-2004, 12:49 PM
don worry gal, you'll do fine, trust jagganatha.. 8) 8)

lonewolfhan
01-04-2004, 12:52 PM
Hmm.. hope ppl wont go around saying "Can one la.. trust me.. u sure can get one.. ".... Bcoz... when that person is rejected... he will be very sad one le... and what r u going to do to console him? u were the one who assured him that he can get le.. so.. just wish him "good luck" can ade la... sigh~ im talking crap ade... too nervous... 4 hours left for BROWN decision to be out... :cry: :cry: :cry: hope i wont commit suicide.. .and hope i can still have the mood to study for final exams... :cry: :cry: :cry:

tree007
01-04-2004, 12:58 PM
haiyah.. u ah..always say commit suicide.. no good u noe!!!

dun think about anything else.. just hope for the best... then..it's time to party!!!!! posts-university-result-pre-final-exam-celebration... haha..

jagganatha
01-04-2004, 01:00 PM
wa lonewolfhan don hentam la :cry: :cry: i only meant it as a consolation.. anyway good luck to both of you.. :wink: :wink:

windy_city
01-04-2004, 01:01 PM
Hmm.. hope ppl wont go around saying "Can one la.. trust me.. u sure can get one.. ".... Bcoz... when that person is rejected... he will be very sad one le... and what r u going to do to console him? u were the one who assured him that he can get le.. so.. just wish him "good luck" can ade la... sigh~ im talking crap ade... too nervous... 4 hours left for BROWN decision to be out... :cry: :cry: :cry: hope i wont commit suicide.. .and hope i can still have the mood to study for final exams... :cry: :cry: :cry:

If you think this is worth dying for, congrat!!!!

b_ronick
01-04-2004, 01:03 PM
thanx..i need all the luck that i can get...sigh...
good luck for brown, lonewolfhan

jagganatha
01-04-2004, 01:03 PM
haiyah.. u ah..always say commit suicide.. no good u noe!!!

dun think about anything else.. just hope for the best... then..it's time to party!!!!! posts-university-result-pre-final-exam-celebration... haha..

I second that..

01-04-2004, 01:05 PM
<nostalgia>man i can still remember when my friends and i were waiting for admission results...i clearly remember chenchow almost losing his mind waiting for cornell. now i'm 16 credits away from graduation...how time flies...</nostalgia>

chenghau
I think now should be the time you go back to your room, take a shower, have some food, take a nap, and set the alarm so that u wake up after 4 hours.

The admissions decision was made, and you can't change it. Why make yourself suffer something (good or bad) that can't be changed?

RELAX...

windy_city

If you think this is worth dying for, congrat!!!!

sorry for being sarcastic, but not getting your first choice university is not the end of the world!!!

jagganatha
01-04-2004, 01:10 PM
sorry for being sarcastic, but not getting your first choice university is not the end of the world!!!

I agree..its jus a form of motivation to try harder and shoot for the best instead of mourning.. I sincerely hope you'll get it. Please post your result here and don despair k

01-04-2004, 03:52 PM
Hmm.. hope ppl wont go around saying "Can one la.. trust me.. u sure can get one.. ".... Bcoz... when that person is rejected... he will be very sad one le... and what r u going to do to console him? u were the one who assured him that he can get le.. so.. just wish him "good luck" can ade la...

i support u 110%!!!!! getting sick of waiting yer?.... me 2!!!!waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :x
*ehem*....thanx 4 letting me let go of my anxiety ...... :P hehe...sorry.....

btw.....CONGRATULATIONS to wawa....stanford is not easy to enter
and ting ann....my big bro... congrats for ur....entry to chicago.....
and jaclyn.... i know u had sleepless nites over waiting for duke....
and
GOOD LUCK

to lonewolfhan.... dun worry...watever happens....dun kill urself......remember ur frens here...... we need u to buy vanilla coke and seven up for us when we do a cook-it-urself party...even though it was oni gal_flower who cooked the rice ....haha...crapping la me....... sorry..... lar...... frustrated bout cornell ler....why tomoro....why??? i tot it was today!!!!

orestes
01-04-2004, 04:33 PM
hey... i just wanna say that its kewl even if u get rejected by ur first choice uni... im a dude with an SAT score of 1420 and yet Michigan Ann Arbor rejected me... I have a friend here who got a 1540 and she still got rejected by Michigan Ann Arbor... It puzzles me how they made their decisions but i was very pissed off back then... both my friend and i are currently studying at Penn State which was originally our "safety net"... however, what we thought was a skool reserved for "rejects" turned out to be a really kewl skool... minus the weather, im really lovin every minute of my time here... so, my points is, dun be depressed even if u get rejected by ivys or what not... the level of education here is very good and regardless of the uni emblem u will have on top of ur bachelors cert., u will still have a helluva time!

jaclyn
01-04-2004, 05:14 PM
[quote="aquila"]

Winpin is your senior at JHU and she can give you an excellent picture of JHU. do you have her e-mail address? thanks!

You'll either love it with all your heart or hate it with all your heart. Seriously. :)
actually, i really wanted duke since i came to intec, i only applied to jhu because suriana asked me to do so and give it a try. i wasn't expecting any good news from there. i dunno whether to trust the instinct of my heart that i will have more fun in duke, it seems like a very nice place, but i can't entirely judged that from the student's prospectus (JHU prospectus is kinda boring :P ) duke seems more outstanding and loud (more of my type) whereas jhu seems rather quiet and scholarly to me.... is that true btw?
oh, and i LOVE duke's campus!!!

Are you doing bioeng?
i'm majoring in biology, and jhu is definitely the better place for biology. i'm really torn between these two universities.
are there any seniors majoring in biology there?

i suppose i have to make a decision by next week, that's why OSSP will go to JPA with all the appeal letters.. can i have your e-mail address btw?

Panda
01-04-2004, 06:01 PM
[quote
btw.....CONGRATULATIONS to wawa....stanford is not easy to enter
and ting ann....my big bro... congrats for ur....entry to chicago.....
and jaclyn.... i know u had sleepless nites over waiting for duke....
and [/color]
GOOD LUCK

Same to me. Congratulations ting ann and jacyln. YOu are the man and woman. All the best to you all when you go there!!! :P

aquila
01-04-2004, 09:35 PM
Hello Jaclyn,

I"m glad you have positive feelings about Duke. :P I talked to a couple of seniors on your behalf (we really do care) and this is our conclusion:

If you're looking for top notch (the best) academics and nothing else, go to JHU.

If you like to have fun, and yet at the same time, get an extremely well rounded education, come to Duke.

There are two Sporean friends of mine who chose Duke over JHU. Both of them are doing bioeng. One's name is Shawn and he'd love to talk to you. jt25@<hidden>

Well, SL, Yee and myself are doing biology. But if there's one thing I've learned since coming here, it is that it doesn't matter so much whatever major you're considering because there're so many other wonderful classes that you'll want to explore. So if you want to do the liberal arts thingy, come here!

Add me to MSN so27@<hidden> or email me. Either way, I'd love to talk to you.

PS. The biology dept here is extremely good as well. We have a new center for genomic sciences and they're making big and important scientific advances. We also have a new president next yr. Exciting times to be at Duke!

jaclyn
01-04-2004, 10:44 PM
If you like to have fun, and yet at the same time, get an extremely well rounded education, come to Duke.

i hope this statement is true because i think my decision has been made :lol: :D :D

01-04-2004, 11:22 PM
To those who apply to Cornell, good luck on your admission decision~!

First of all, Cornell would like to welcome each of you with your first free gift. It is a free book, The Trial. Check out:-
http://www.cornelldailysun.com/vnews/display.v/ART/2004/03/31/406a5090962b8?in_archive=1

Also, to those Cornell aspirants, Cornell presents the world smallest nano-American flag and White House
http://www.cornelldailysun.com/vnews/display.v/ART/2004/03/31/406a57c7f18b2?in_archive=1

To those to Harvard, free of charge, read:-
http://www.cornelldailysun.com/vnews/display.v/ART/2004/03/31/406a5524d0a23?in_archive=1

To those who are waiting for Cornell admission decision, we welcome you~!

02-04-2004, 01:18 AM
To those to Harvard, free of charge, read:-
http://www.cornelldailysun.com/vnews/display.v/ART/2004/03/31/406a5524d0a23?in_archive=1

Schools like Harvard and Princeton are freaking rich. And their financial aid packages reflect that.

Harvard's endowment stands at US$19.3 billion - that's more than the total annual income taxes collected by the entire Malaysian government!

Plus, $19.3 billion is more than the total combined endowment of ALL the UK universities combined.

Princeton's endownment is about $8.7 billion, but it's a smaller school - if they distributed it equally to all their students, we get more than $1.2 million each! 8)

02-04-2004, 01:53 AM
too bad, Cornell's endowment was like $4 or $5 billion only...

wp_ng
02-04-2004, 03:57 AM
Hi Jaclyn,

My name is Win Pin and I'm currently studying in JHU.
I think both JHU and Duke are equally good in biology. Biology is one of the most popular majors here besides biomedical engineering and international relations. So, if you come here, you'll be able to interact with a lot of students who have same major as you. I don't think competition among bio major students here are too high. There are A LOT of pre-med students here but they are not too competitive, as far as I'm concerned. Also, JHU is known for its many research opportunities. After all, it IS a research university. It's not difficult for you to get a research job at the medical campus or with a professor even in your freshman year.

As for social life in JHU, well, it might not be as exiting as in Duke but it's not that dull. There are several hyperactive organizations and student groups in campus. If you like to do community service, there are definitely a lot of volunteer opportunities for you here. JHU is not really all about studies. You can enjoy life here if you want to.[/list]

chocoholique
02-04-2004, 04:02 AM
Hey guys, Nadiah here. Am in penn state for spring break and discovered this neat little forum. First of all, im doing biochemistry on the account that my professor and advisor thinks its better suited for biotech. Second of all, although harvard is rather well endowed, its an ENDOWMENT meaning its not freely spent on students. We dont have a student center! But then thats cos theres no land...Of course, i have to admit that there are advantages to coming to harvard....meeting famous people for one. Anyways, there is a malaysian who got accepted early action but he applied form the Rugby School in UK and so it remains to be seen how malaysian he is..

Damn, i hope you guys dont think im snobby...

orestes
02-04-2004, 04:10 AM
ex Sri amanians are always snobby... hahahaaha!!!

chocoholique
02-04-2004, 04:18 AM
Hey apasal sri aman pulak! Just cos youre in samad :P Anyways theres now way you couldve gotten in unless you get a sex change...

orestes
02-04-2004, 04:21 AM
apa kau cakap ni? aku tak faham... budak harvard selalu cakap macam ni ker? ish ish ish... what do they feed u over there...

chocoholique
02-04-2004, 04:25 AM
ok ok forgt this nonsense about schools. you know SA was better than SMKSAS :)

02-04-2004, 04:35 AM
erm chocoholique and orestes....don't tell me you guys are typing all these from the same place...

anyways, welcome to recom:D

lintwhite
02-04-2004, 04:41 AM
yes they are. in fact they're sitting on either side of me, yelling at one another.....

windy_city
02-04-2004, 04:45 AM
You guy got nothing better to do is it!!!
Hi Nadiah, how are you. Did not see you when you come here last time,
N hei Rafiq, when will you be visiting here!!

orestes
02-04-2004, 05:03 AM
Ok Max... ill visit u under 2 conditions:-
1. U pay for my flight ticket
2. U become my cash cow when i go shopping at Michigan Avenue

Hahaha... ok or not? anyway r u going back this summer? how abt the midwest games? u going? Twin Cities is not that far from Chicago...

aquila
02-04-2004, 05:16 AM
[quote="aquila"]If you're looking for top notch (the best) academics and nothing else, go to JHU.

Oops, I take that back. I'm pretty sure every university has its own range of academic and social life.

I really didn't mean JHU doesn't have a social life. What I meant was that I think Duke and JHU BOTH have good social life but if you place academics as your only priority and care about nothing else, you probably should go to JHU then. Because very obviously, JHU has the best bio dept in the US.

You get what I'm saying? :roll:

Good luck in making your final choice!

windy_city
02-04-2004, 05:21 AM
I will pay for ur flight and become ur money cow under these 2 conditions:

1. Kellog accept me immediately!!
2. I got an intern in Fed Chicago and can walk in and out with the money!!

So hope I can get these "conditions" materialize so that u can come here!

Anyway, I think i will go back to Malaysia after my summer class
90%
But by the time i go back, you guy will probably be back or prepare to get back to your university already, damn the quarter system!!!

Midwest game, emmm, not sure yet, maybe no, cause i dun know anybody there.

Sweelin
02-04-2004, 08:00 AM
Who's going to Midwest? :D

FiAnS
02-04-2004, 08:06 AM
Tak habis2 budak penn state and harvard ni. Got problems, don'y fight, come back to USC again. Nick GAY...

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 08:14 AM
to those who wish me luck: sorry to bring such a dissapointing news to u all... i failed.... i am only able to get myself into Brown's Waiting List... :cry: :cry: :cry: very very very sad.... Cornell's result still havent out... but.. after two rejections... i think i know where my standard is ade... :cry: :cry: :cry: will never make it into the Ivies..... :cry: :cry: :cry:

orestes
02-04-2004, 09:05 AM
Tak habis2 budak penn state and harvard ni. Got problems, don'y fight, come back to USC again. Nick GAY...

Thats why i tak nak pegi balik USC... sebab Nick is gay lar... takut aku... kau roomate dia dulu... r u still a virgin?

02-04-2004, 09:09 AM
hey guys..

guess i'll be going to chicago after all...

penn rejected me...of now, i only know lorraine got accepted...
yale put me on waiting list...

02-04-2004, 09:19 AM
hahaha.... see... i know it.... am i allowed to copy the letter and post it here??? hahaha

OUCH... it hurts.... hehehe... so...Wolfverine, i'm coming....

Going to Umich...

April 1, 2004
Dear Voon Seng,

I am sorry to notify you that after reviewing your application thoroughly, our selection committee is unable to offer you admission to the University of Pennsylvania's Class of 2008. All aspects of your application, the academic and the non-academic, were considered carefully and compared to those of the rest of the applicant pool.

Perhaps the most difficult and displeasing part of my job is writing similar letters to thousands of students like you, whose accomplishments are promising and exciting. I assure you that the selection committee gave your application every consideration, but, because of an unprecedented number of outstanding applicants we have to deny admission to a large majority of the remarkable students who seek admission to Penn. Most of our applicants are qualified to pursue successfully a program of study at Penn; however, only a relatively small percentage can be admitted.

We are pleased to have received your application to our University. I am sincerely sorry to disappoint you, yet trust that you will have other opportunities to attend another very good college. I wish you the best in the future.

Sincerely,

Willis J. Stetson, Jr.
Dean of Admissions

chenghau
02-04-2004, 09:23 AM
I am sorry for that.

windy_city
02-04-2004, 09:34 AM

Thats why i tak nak pegi balik USC... sebab Nick is gay lar... takut aku... kau roomate dia dulu... r u still a virgin?

100% for sure no, if he is, how come he know Nick is gay!!
sorry for you, but nvm, gay is still a person, it is his human right to be gay, dun discriminate ok!!!

BioTEch_GizMo
02-04-2004, 09:35 AM
Hello!! Havent been in recom for quite a while..... the university decisions have come out and these are the results for me

1. Yale (Rejected)
2. U penn (rejected)
3. Chicago (accepted :lol: )
4. Wisconsin (accepted)
5. Iowa (accepted)

So i got rejected by all the ivy leagues i applied to... but it doesnt matter anyway cuz i wanna go to Chicago hehehe 8)

Anyway...does anyone know ling leong sing's email address? I guess i'll need to contact him before i go to Chicago so that i can meet up with him when i reach there... Need to ask him about accomodation and stuff also... I havent seen the guide books for University of CHicago yet...it's kinda thick and it's sent to my house... :oops: must've made a mistake when i filled in the form...now i need to ask my parents to post it to me so that i can send to OSSP....

Hmm...laura is going to chicago with me i suppose...and we'll be roommates!!! haha... :lol: Well, that's all for now....bye bye all!! For those who havent check their uni applications...good luck!!

windy_city
02-04-2004, 09:39 AM
BioTEch_GizMo

You did not check the last few messages i posted. I have already given 2 contact info of the senior in University of Chicago few days ago!!

Next time pls check the thread before u post a question that already been ansswered!

02-04-2004, 09:39 AM
yeah..guess i shud b grateful abt chicago..
after all, i haf been raving abt how i love the place..

anyways...the waiting list thing is a killer...
i know the chances r near 0% but wad do u seniors out there think?

02-04-2004, 09:40 AM
oh yeah..

thanks windy_city for the 2 contacts...
i haf contacted both of them...
shud need it now tad i'm goin to chicago

windy_city
02-04-2004, 09:41 AM
yeah..guess i shud b grateful abt chicago..
after all, i haf been raving abt how i love the place..

anyways...the waiting list thing is a killer...
i know the chances r near 0% but wad do u seniors out there think?

i forget where i read the thing about waiting list already, but basically the waiting list almost = no chance.
Dun wan to discourage you guy, but this is especially true for ivy or ivy standard schools!!

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 09:45 AM
Congrats to Lorraine 1st !

OUCH !!! waiting list means NO CHANCE at all... hmm... then.. i oso no need to think about BROWN ade ahh... BROWN put me under Waiting List too... still waiting for Cornell... Traffic Jam now... can;t check the decision.. but quite certain that i wont get ade !

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 09:48 AM
Err.. seniors.... the senior named Nick is really a Gay ahh ? Hmm... no wonder he always come to Guys' junior rooms b4 this... scary ??? No discrimination here... is he in Recom too ??? Sorry.. :P

windy_city
02-04-2004, 09:53 AM
I dun know about Nick that well also. Maybe he is, maybe he is not??

Anyway i did not said waiting list means no chance. I mean waiting list ALMOST equal no chance. There is still chance, if not why they put you guy into the waiting list, the chance is low for ivy school because they put tones of people into the waiting list. This is very true for ivy and ivy standard school, i read it in an article before.

BioTEch_GizMo
02-04-2004, 10:02 AM
BioTEch_GizMo

You did not check the last few messages i posted. I have already given 2 contact info of the senior in University of Chicago few days ago!!

Next time pls check the thread before u post a question that already been ansswered!

Ahhhh sorry!!!....i havent been in recom for quite a while so i'm a little backdated on things.... *Sigh.. i didnt bother to check cuz i need to pick up a parcel from the office at cemara soon...cuz it's very important....so i just thought that i could post it here and get the emails later so i could mail the seniors later.... Well, thanks for the 2 contacts...i'm really sorry that i didnt bother to look back :oops:

windy_city
02-04-2004, 10:09 AM
Nvm!!
Anyway hope the 2 of them can help you guys!!
If you guy wan to get gals opinion can ask them to give you Amelia and Liana contact info. The 2 gals are ATU7 senior.

P/s: this post is for those going to U Chicago.

02-04-2004, 10:11 AM
Aarrghhh... The Cornell admission website is flooded with heavy traffic and I can't check my result. Guess I have to wait for a few more hours...I'm tired of waiting.

02-04-2004, 10:20 AM
ek kia got penn too...

sigh!
guess school of engineering is easier to get in...

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 10:25 AM
Now US primetime... the traffic will be jammed for the next few hours... can't wait ade ah.. :( ade under waiting list of Brown... sad..

windy_city
02-04-2004, 10:29 AM
Now cornell 9.30 already, just be patience and wait for a few more hours and all Americans will go to sleep. Then you guy can check the result.

Seems that i am addcited to this site, need to get back to work soon, for all you guy that are waiting for Cornell, good luck!!

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 11:33 AM
I GOT CORNELL ADEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE............ AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH............
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

02-04-2004, 11:49 AM
Congrats to lonewolfhan~! Anyone else got the positive decision from Cornell? Congrats~!

02-04-2004, 12:08 PM
Yeah!!
Cornell, here I come!!

yanmin
02-04-2004, 12:26 PM
Congrats to those who made it into your dream schools!! To those who didn't, don't be sad. I know going to an Ivy sounds really cool but it's not EVERYTHING in your life!! In fact, most of the schools we applied to are great schools. Make the best out of your college life and I'm sure you guys will shine (and shimmer and glitter!!) wherever you are!! :)

Oh well, I have been a member here for a while but I wasn't active. Let me re-intro. I'm Yan Min, ATU9, (going-to-be) Chem major at Penn.

Hey Lorraine and Ek Kia, I would like to welcome you guys to the Penn family!! (Oops I shouldn't assume... :P) Anyway, have you guys made your admission decision already? Coming to Penn?? ;) Feel free to send me email at yanmin@<hidden> if you have questions. I used to be in your position a year ago so I know how it feels. (I bombarded my poor seniors with all sorts of questions, haha! Since given the title the Ultimate Crap Queen aka YM 88.88, I should live up to my titleS...LOL...)

Alrite, enough crap. :P Just want to let you guys know that I'm more than glad to help!!

P/S: Anyone else made it into Penn??

JessLF
02-04-2004, 01:19 PM
to those who got in ur uni of choice, congrats... to the people who will be going to the University of Pennsylvania, can i know what ur majors are?

02-04-2004, 01:48 PM
well, haha...i'm speaking for ek kia n lorraine...

tis two--ek kia n lorraine--r doing biomed engineering....
good luck to both of u!

congrats to lonewolfhan and chiunlin..
way to go man!
(esp to my dearest son-in-law)

congrats to yee lyn to for stanford....

z
02-04-2004, 01:56 PM
yee lyn?
who? who?
congrats!

contact z.lim@<hidden>stanford.edu :)

shall we begin the Malaysians at Stanford brainwashing process? :)

02-04-2004, 02:16 PM
chan yee lyn
she's from taiping
i think her nick is iceberg..

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 02:16 PM
Thanks mum-in-law... THANK YOU VERY MUCH ! :D :) :D
Hm... Chiun Lin, u got Cornell oso ya? CONGRATS...... did anyone get too ??? Searching for company now.. keke..

Anyway.. i will still stay in Brown's Waiting List... no harm trying rite ? so.. juz wait and see la.. but my heart telling me that Cornell is a better place for me ?? The most important is that it has accepted me.. hehehe...

Ok.. COngrats to all those who got admitted today... =)
and Yee Lyn is Ic3B3rg laa.... she got into Stanford oh ! Wowww..

Mum-In-Law... dun be sad... cheers !!!! :)

chillout
02-04-2004, 02:44 PM
Congrats to Yee Lyn, Yon Han and Chiun Lin! I'm indeed very happy on behalf of you guys... All the way ppl! 8)

tree007
02-04-2004, 04:20 PM
yo lonewolf.. to me.. cornell is freakin appealing.. especially the food.. but dunno about brown lah.. aih.. wat to do... cornell dowan me.. so u continue my dream lah....

anyway.. carnegie mellon, here i come!! guess everyone acompanying me there are guys.. sob sob... haha... oh well.. err.. CMU seniors... just wanna noe... CMU there got badminton court ah? :P

jaclyn
02-04-2004, 04:22 PM
CONGRATS TO LORRAINE, EK KIA, YEE LYN AND HAN!!!!!! WAY TO GO MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

02-04-2004, 04:26 PM
good luck to both of u!

way to go man!

i second tht!!! :D
lonewolfhan wont be so lonely cos he got chiunlin.....yik han....and czar85 going to cornell....... :D

btw.....congrats to chillout.....for getting into mit...... :D
aiyer....this sounds like the academy awards pulak...... :oops:

~~~ME?.....stilll.....floating.... in.... the.... air........ too...good....to......be.....true........ is ..... this..... a .......dream?~~~
:oops: :oops: :oops:

btw......gal_flower....... wish u all the best....... dun b sad ler...... i believe tht u will have a bright future .....whichever uni u go to.......u r the BEST.........i believe in u......

tree007
02-04-2004, 04:30 PM
hey iceberg, lonewolf, chiulin... no one to thank ah?

lonewolf: u must say.. "1stly, i wanna thank tree007 for his undying support for me.... he even bathe later than usual to encourage me"... hahahahaha... :P

02-04-2004, 04:46 PM
okie......okie...... thanx to tree 007......if not for his cooperation......support....guidance....and ...and....and.....uptodate info.....when i was applying to all my universities.....esp cornell and cmu..... i would have freaked out!!..... :oops: :oops:

but u know who i should thank most? guess?!! :twisted:
SURIANA!!!

true!..... if not becos she brainwash me to apply to stanford...i would not even try......cos i tot it is impossible mar.... :wink:
guess i am indebted to her after all... :wink:

tree007
02-04-2004, 04:53 PM
okie......okie...... thanx to tree 007......if not for his cooperation......support....guidance....and ...and....and.....uptodate info.....when i was applying to all my universities.....esp cornell and cmu..... i would have freaked out!!.....

yeah rite.. that one more like i ask u plenty of questions wor.. haha.thanks for ur help.. and also thnaks to chiun lin for plenty of help...and every1 else.... haha!

yeah.. i agree with iceberg... we all owe it to suriana....

YO SURIANA!!! THANK YOU!!! :P
really... i mean it....

jaclyn
02-04-2004, 05:06 PM
[quote]

YO SURIANA!!! THANK YOU!!! :P
really... i mean it....

i second that :D btw, there's something i wanna ask u win pin, does it snow at jhu? :oops: :oops: :oops:

02-04-2004, 06:21 PM
First of all, let me say that all the while, I wanted very badly to get into Stanford (I have been dreaming for three years, to be precise)

Anyway, I take it as a consolation that I'm admitted into Cornell. I was very afraid before that I'm going nowhere as all the unis that I applied made their decisions very late.

However, on second thought, I still feel that I'm among the lucky ones to be admitted into an ivy. There isn't many of us who manage to do so. So, as tree007 suggested, let me thank a few person here. First of all, I would like to thank my secondary school principal, Mr Ong (Shien Jin's father, actually), my beloved physics teahcer, Pn Goh and my mathematics teahcer, Mr Lee for being willing to fill in my recommendation letters and secondary school report.

Not to forget tree007 who asked me to keep on pressing the refresh button until I see the congratulation note (my fingers are aching now... I must refresh my browser at least a thousand times this morning)

To iceberg: Congratulations!See, my prediction comes true after all.
Haha, I have never been much wrong in predicting other people's result though I always mispredicted my very own.

:D :( :o

lonewolfhan
02-04-2004, 06:49 PM
Hmm.. Well.. still floating around like iceberg... can't believe that i am admitted by my last hope coz Brown turned me down by putting me under its Waiting List...

Looks like still got others who r going to Cornell.. Great.. i wont be the only fresh msian there.. hehee..

As Tree007 sugested.. i would really like to thank some people..
Hmm... Tree007 for believing that i can get and risk being killed by "fren".... my mum in law and wife who have faith in me... hehe... Jaclyn for supports... Lorain for encouragement... Keng Yang for getting me Brown's password altho i din get... and all my frens who wish me luck while im pressing the refreshing button over and over again.... and my dad who almost shocked to death when i shouted... hehee.. and my mum for supporting me altho she dunno what is cornell.. kekee... and Suriana for "suggesting" me to apply to COrnell. finally one of her choices for me has succeeded... :P

So.. thanks a lot ppl !!! :D esp. Mr. Tu's Family !!! Thanks ! :D

jagganatha
02-04-2004, 08:17 PM
Hey congrats all of you, han, lorraine, ek ekia, jaclyn, and chiun lin. Hope I mentioned all. Very happy for all of you.. Sad to say I received the same letter like Decent Merson from UPenn. Sob..Sob.. :cry: :cry: but thats ok, UMich is the place to go. I hope I can get in contact with some of our seniors there. Can anyone help me please..
Anyway congrats to the Ivy's. See you all soon

Panda
02-04-2004, 08:22 PM
I would like to congratulate ek kia and lorraine for their acceptance to UPENN.
Ic3b3rg, congatulations for your aceceptance into Stanford!! Dont forget to treat!! :wink: just kidding!!
Congratulations to Chuin Lin, LoneWolfHan, Yik Han and czar85 for the acceptance into CORNELL. I and would like to say that, lonewolfhan, besides chuin lin, czar85 and yik han to accompany you to CORNELL, I will join you guys also!! :P It is nice to know that so many people from our class got into CORNELL!!! :P :wink: Still have anyone get into CORNELL, up tilll know there are five already???

I would also like to take this oppurtunity to thanks everyone I know for their support all the way!!!

Panda
02-04-2004, 08:41 PM
Not to forget tree007 who asked me to keep on pressing the refresh button until I see the congratulation note (my fingers are aching now... I must refresh my browser at least a thousand times this morning)

:D :( :o

This thing happen to me also. I had to press many times before I could enter the website!!!!! I am thankful that I never give up trying!!!!

b_ronick
02-04-2004, 09:10 PM
congrats to yee lyn for stanford..
lonewolfhan and chiun lin for the cornell..congrats to both of ya..
my bro ek kia!!congrats for penn!!
and also lorraine!!congrats for penn!!to others that i have not mentioned the names...CONGRATS for whatever uni you got in...

sadly and disappointingly i am rejected by cornell..think this is the most painful rejection out of the three rejections.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
guess i just have to get over it...sigh..very sad..feel like crying.. :cry: :cry:
guess i'd be heading over to northwestern..

02-04-2004, 09:21 PM
sorry..... wrong info...... czar85 jus told me tht yik han did not get cornell....... :( terribly sorry for the wrong info.....

02-04-2004, 09:23 PM
Congrats to all...

Now, i think everybody is certain about which Uni to go rite?

get in touch with our seniors... learn more about the place and the people and the Uni...

learn more about your hometown too... just in case u need to tell others where u came from and the details....

thanked the secondary school teachers for signing the recommendation which i wrote on theif behalf....hhaha

thank you Pn. Suriana for getting our application matters straight...

thank you JPA for giving this scholarship....

sounds like I got the Grammy Awards or something like that... Giving a speech ....hahaha

p/s: anybody know what yeefay get ar? harvard? ?? :?:

b_ronick
02-04-2004, 09:35 PM
can i ask is there anyone that are headin to northwestern?
and any seniors that are there?

02-04-2004, 09:36 PM
[quote="DecentMerson"]
Now, i think everybody is certain about which Uni to go rite?
quote]

Not yet, not yet, how about Harvard? Did Yee Fay get it?
And Princeton? Perhaps Teng will get it, who knows?

Save the best for the last, hope there will be more surprise when we return for our finals next week.

02-04-2004, 09:40 PM
yee fay didn't get harvard. :( princeton not out yet meh?

02-04-2004, 09:46 PM
any actuarial science students accepted by penn? i know poh yi got waiting list. what about the rest?

02-04-2004, 09:53 PM
HEY PEEPS,
Congrats to those who got to the U's that they are dying for ... hehe ... and those who got accepted to the IVYs. it's hard to enter this year, all the admittance rate plummeted very low.
You guys make me kind of envious. Sob sob ...

Anyway, all the best in your unis ... and to those who haven't belanja .... especially ICEBERG ... haha .... when is the promised McD icecream?

02-04-2004, 09:57 PM
oit...oit.... .u didn't show up wert....i was there....raining heavily also go there...but u didnt come....hmmph...... too much ler....

02-04-2004, 09:59 PM
no need 2 belanja elansar. belanja me enough.

Sweelin
02-04-2004, 10:53 PM
yo lonewolf.. to me.. cornell is freakin appealing.. especially the food.. but dunno about brown lah.. aih.. wat to do... cornell dowan me.. so u continue my dream lah....

anyway.. carnegie mellon, here i come!! guess everyone acompanying me there are guys.. sob sob... haha... oh well.. err.. CMU seniors... just wanna noe... CMU there got badminton court ah? :P

Hi to all!
Congratulations to those who made it into your dream unis. Like Yan Min, I was here for a while but not that active posting up messages. Let me introduce myself. I'm Swee Lin, ATU9, who is currently majoring in Electrical & Computer Engineering at CMU.
Hi tree07! Welcome to the CMU family. Yes, there are badminton courts in CMU although sports isn't the number one thing here compared to University of Pittsburgh which is situated nearby. If you are the type who likes computers, computers , yes computers (I stress that again :D ), you will like CMU a lot.
Feel free to send emails to me at swee@<hidden> or mizzwee@<hidden> or any other CMU seniors that you know. I'll be glad to help.

P/S: anyone else going to CMU ? :D

wawa
03-04-2004, 12:14 AM
I called up Princeton and they said they mailed the letters yesterday. But we will know only on April 7 ( meaning, can call up and ask about it)

lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 01:06 AM
Hmm.. woww... now only i know there r 3 other ppl going to COrnell with me... nice... :D is there any more ????? anticipating here... (still feel like floating when i recall the moment when i saw the "congrats" word... )... ehhe.

b_ronick
03-04-2004, 01:12 AM
Hmm.. woww... now only i know there r 3 other ppl going to COrnell with me... nice... :D is there any more ????? anticipating here... (still feel like floating when i recall the moment when i saw the "congrats" word... )... ehhe.

ouch for the ppl like me... :cry: :cry:
but am happy for you all..

windy_city
03-04-2004, 03:04 AM
congrats to yee lyn for stanford..
lonewolfhan and chiun lin for the cornell..congrats to both of ya..
my bro ek kia!!congrats for penn!!
and also lorraine!!congrats for penn!!to others that i have not mentioned the names...CONGRATS for whatever uni you got in...

sadly and disappointingly i am rejected by cornell..think this is the most painful rejection out of the three rejections.. :cry: :cry: :cry:
guess i just have to get over it...sigh..very sad..feel like crying.. :cry: :cry:
guess i'd be heading over to northwestern..

Northwestern is not bad too. At least you wil can shop all you like In Chicago, compare to some forest in up state New York.
Dun worry, maybe you can find more stuff that interests you here. Ivy is NOT the only best school. Come here and you will know. Wan to know anything about Chicago or Northwestern, you can just ask me, I am glad to help. For example, in Northwestern you have the oppoturnities to do internship in Federal Reserve in Chicago because the fed is so near and the Fed collaborate with the school. The location of Northwestern is strategic for many things also, I just point out the thing that interest me. I was like you guy last time, I got rejected by Cornell last time, sad, wan to cry, bla bla bla. But I still dun regret i did not get in.(i do regret I did not apply Stanford, the weather here suck :o :o ) Haha, so dun be despair, maybe you can write to the Cornell's dean next time and thank him for rejecting you.Plus there are people who reject Cornell for CMU too(a Malaysian senior), so dun be sad. Find a place that suit you and interest you most!!!

N U Chicago people, if those 2 person who i tell you guy to contact did not reply you guy, tell me, I will deal with them :evil: :evil:

03-04-2004, 03:10 AM
Congrats to everyone that get into their desired universities, although it may not be your first choice university. After all, many of those universities that you guys are going are fantastic universities~!

Now, after getting the university admission, I think the main thing is get everything settled down and remember you guys are going to among the world's most famous universities, be they ivies or not. So, get yourself ready for the challenge.

To those who get positive admission decision that you never expected it to me, remember that the university accepted you, because you fit their selection. They know that you are a good match, in that you will make the optimum value for yourself and the university will make the optimum value from you. It is a two-way thing.

One main thing that I would advise everyone is to make full use of your undergraduate life in US. You have 4 years and time flies. Before you realize, you are about to graduate. I still feel that I just like UiTM and I am graduating from Cornell in 13 months. My roommate for freshman, an ATU 4 Mara guy, who came in same time as me. He is graduating next month. Really, time flies. So, make full use of your Golden Opportunities in whatever unis you are going.

You may be asking how you can make full use of that opportunities? There are many ways:-

Main thing is before you come, think out by yourself what is your priority and target that you hope to achieve in these 4 years and it is not only concerning grades. Grade is just a small portion of it. It is how you make yourself a more marketable person.

If you have interest in research, explore the opportunities. I have known of many Malaysians who have gotten research position in their first year and you have that opportunities too, so make full use of it. You need to take the initiative to contact the faculties, as those opportunities do not come rolling, but if you try your best, you should be able to get those opportunities. I am not a good person to advise on this, since I have no interest in research, and I haven't done any.

So, do the stuff you like. Say, if you want to have a chance to talk to a Nobel Laureate and learn some stuff from there. Remember that the opportunities are there. I have taken a class taught by Nobel Laureate before. I wouldn't imagine that before coming. I have the opportunities to beam my voice to International Space Station, talk and discuss with many distinguished figures in the world. The opportunities are out there, it is you that chooses what you want to do.

For instance, public lecture, which are abundant over here, but I find that very few Malaysians making full use of it. I would not advise you to go to every public lecture, but I would advise you to go to those that interest you. For instance, if you look at Cornell, there are like 40-50 public lectures every week on any topic imaginable. I would say that I have met not less than 20 CEOs of companies, including some mega corporations and not less than 50 VPs of established companies. I have talked to most of them about investment possibilities in Malaysia. I am saying this, not to ask you to do the same thing, but are explaining to you, the abundance of opportunities for you. Do something you enjoy.

If you are deeply interested in building something real, join those international competition teams available in your campus. It will be tough workload, but you will learn a great deal. For instance, Ivan, ATU 7, he will be going to Portugal with the robots that play soccer that he jointly invent and build. It is the World RoboCup Competition. Siew Im, ATU7, she is going to compete in the Hybrid Electric Vehicle that she jointly created. There are Malaysians here who have created Autonomous Underwater Vehicle and other projects. The opportunities are there, so it is up to you to grab those opportunities. Although most of you wouldn't need to look for jobs after you graduate, but I would say that for many of these international competitions, the moment you get top ranks in the world, including World Champion, almost all of the team members in the team will get job offers from top companies in the industries.

I would strongly encourage all of you to explore courses out of your majors. Take some courses in the fields that you enjoy, be it in architecture, wine tasting, or some courses in Business Schools. Most unis allow you to choose courses from all over campus. For instance, every semester, you have a selection of 4000 courses in Cornell. And also foreign language, although for most unis, it may not be a requirement, it will be great if you can take the opportunities to take some courses in it. And also physical education. Some campuses, like Cornell offers a wide variety of Physical education (Cornell has 170 PE courses each semester). So, choose those that you wish to learn, be it golf, equestrian, massage, riflery, scuba diving, laccrose, baseball, ice hockey, ballroom dancing etc...

And remember that grade is not everything.... Getting a 3.5 and 3.8 does not make a whole lot of difference... It is whether you have improved on yourself and see yourself a learned person. I would quote a personal example. I applied for China Synergy Program (www.chinasynergy.org.hk) . It is a program, where I get to stay 18 days in Beijing, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Xian and HK fully-sponsored to tour around, and get to meet other scholars from all over the world, besides meeting government leaders, business leaders and students of those cities. Cornell has somewhere like 50 applicants and Cornell nominated 3 nominees and 7 alternates and the program organizer selected 2 students. My CGPA was about 0.4 worse than the 2nd worst applicant, but I get the selection to go this program. I never expected myself to get selected, and I would say that it is a golden opportunity. Moral value is that, grade is not everything that matters. Build yourself a good credential. I am not suggesting that you flunk everything, but strike a balance.

Guess I have gone too long, but main thing is make full use of your opportunities~!

Sweelin
03-04-2004, 04:03 AM
Yep, chen chow's right.

P/S: I'm looking forward to the RoboCup competition :wink:

03-04-2004, 04:24 AM
Swee Lin, all the best~! I am sure you have worked very hard for the competition, so make full use of the opportunities~! Perhaps you will get to meet Ivan there~!

chillout
03-04-2004, 07:55 AM
hey... I would really like to congratulate panda on his acceptance into cornell... finally huh... after such a long miserable wait...

hehe.. all you guys in cornell... don't forget me okay... I believe you guys will be the nearest to me so must meet up kays...

and I'll definitely bug u smart alecs for help... thanks in advance ler..=P

z
03-04-2004, 08:13 AM
good luck to both of u!

way to go man!

i second tht!!! :D
lonewolfhan wont be so lonely cos he got chiunlin.....yik han....and czar85 going to cornell....... :D

btw.....congrats to chillout.....for getting into mit...... :D
aiyer....this sounds like the academy awards pulak...... :oops:

~~~ME?.....stilll.....floating.... in.... the.... air........ too...good....to......be.....true........ is ..... this..... a .......dream?~~~
:oops: :oops: :oops:

btw......gal_flower....... wish u all the best....... dun b sad ler...... i believe tht u will have a bright future .....whichever uni u go to.......u r the BEST.........i believe in u......

floating in the air no more *smack* :P

lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 01:34 PM
Hmm.. no time to settle down with the accepted Uni yet... sigh sigh~ Final Exam is coming soon... Damn it... no time to celebrate oso... :( afterward screw up the Final Exam cannot fly even worse... esp the Ethics... its killing me... Grrr,,,

03-04-2004, 01:37 PM
Yeah, kinda regret didn't opt it in the first place.

03-04-2004, 02:23 PM
heheh.. if u really did it badly, u can still opt it....
Pn. Umi is really kind-hearted and really good...

Ethics...just try ur best to understand the main concepts and BS ur way thru... if it sounds logical, it will be accepted... hehehe :P :roll: :wink:

03-04-2004, 02:38 PM
not this time...cannot opt last minute d like last semester....

pn fara told me tad they have a meeting before our finals n they r suppose to finalize the no of ppl opting n auditing coz the meeting is wif our beloved new director!!! she wants to know the exact no...so...bad news la....cant opt or audit anymore....

kIdd0
03-04-2004, 03:08 PM
WOA!! CONGRATS TO ALL!! HEHE, i guess tree007's prediction that ATU10 isnt churning out any IVY standard people is wrong!! Hmmm.. quite an achievement i believe, We have one to MIT, one to Stanford, a handful to Chicago n Cornell!! Ermmm... Ya!! 2 to Penn as well...!! WAY TO GO U PPL!! Congrats to ALL OF YOU!! Just wanna let u guys know that i feel like, WOW, u guys!!

ps haha, now at least i can brag about having friends in the IVIES!! HAHA

lonewolfhan
03-04-2004, 07:53 PM
Sigh~ still got loads of Ethics notes to go thru !!! The joy of being admitted is overcome by the hatred towards Ethics ade... Duhh...
That new director.. sigh~ Talk Big... Fussy.... useless.... and did i mention Talk Big ? Yeah i did.. hehee..

03-04-2004, 10:03 PM
Huh? U mean can't opt last minute liao? Scheizer!!! Wad the!!! Then i'd better photostat those ethics notes into a bread and eat them ........ or sleep on it tonight. There are hundreds of pages to go but ii haven't started on one page. Sigh! Will reading the Quran work???

03-04-2004, 10:10 PM
Reading Quran? Wow...makes me remember how my coursemates did memorize some quran statements and used them in exam during our undergraduate course in UTM. I don't think that way can ensure you a pass grade as what they believed in doing so.

03-04-2004, 10:24 PM
Anyway, i think we have digressed way a lot liao. Back to the uni stuffs. Well peeps, as most of us here know where's our destiny, good luck yeah!!! Too bad, quite few people are going to Boston... can't crash at their place

lonewolfhan
04-04-2004, 12:22 AM
Hei ElansarGilmir.. heard that the Uni im going to is quite near ur place lehh. .err.. after 2nd thought... not really... Brandeis is near Boston... Cornell is near Boston too izzit ? (heard some ppl say like this.. ?? true ).... so.. are we near ? hehee..

tree007
04-04-2004, 01:07 AM
haha! glad my prediction (if that was one) as wrong! so proud of INTEC students!!!

yo lonewolf! cornell near boston? if u call that near, then u can also call pittsburgh near lah.. hehe.. yeah yeah.. those cornelians.. come visit me!!! who else near me ah.. let's c.. ahhhh... philadelphians!!.. hehe.. sa more who ah... hmmmm......................:P

muffa man.... been studying for ethics for like less than 2 hours.. n it's like eternity dy.. drat.. fear really kena brainwashed if i go on like this.. aaaaahhhhhhhhhh!!! y did i get a B+??!!! y???!!!!! aahhhhhh!!! now cannot op dy.. haih............. :P

windy_city
04-04-2004, 01:10 AM
Cornell and Boston near????
If you consider 6 or 7 hours driving is near, then Cornell and Brandeis are quite near!!

shigure
04-04-2004, 02:55 AM
congrats to all of ya :D

wp_ng
04-04-2004, 06:05 AM
Erm... is anyone going to Northwestern university?

lonewolfhan
04-04-2004, 09:40 AM
wp_ng: Hmm.. b4 this there were at least 10 ppl heading to Northwestern.. but after all the admission decision are out... i guess.. Err... less than 10 already?
1 going to stanford... 2 U Penn.... 2 Cornell... But of coz im assuming that they will choose these ivies over NW la... :P

tree007
04-04-2004, 04:06 PM
wah~~.. georgia tech in NCAA finals...

tuinkle
04-04-2004, 05:23 PM
My Heartiest Congratulations to those of you who are elated by the positive responses you've received from the various universities of your dreams. To those who are not extremely so, just remember that it is not you per se that the university is denying acceptance, but your application to the university for the coming year. Your application could have somehow been messed up. And they could very well have messed up as well. Alas, we as well as they, are human.

And all this talk about Ivies or near Ivies, I know at least two students who chose Cal over the likes of Cornell and Dartmouth. In fact one of them told me that Cornell was actually her safety school. So, do not despair....if you're worried about not meeting the best and the brightest in the US, that's outright false. You'll get to meet really bright and interesting students regardless of what school you attend. In fact, one of the brightest Math major I know is one whom I've known since Community College (who transferred to Cal)......and if you're worried about not getting the most out of your college career, I bet a whole lot of students at any school, be it and Ivy or not, can attest to either having the best time of their lives or vice versa. It's really up to the individual student.... and if you're worried about the school recognition thingie......it seems like most of you are under some sort of scholarship, and all of you applied to the better schools in the US......so there.... any other issues?

By saying so however, I by no means am trying to undermine the Ivies or other top schools. Can't and won't even try to. In fact, of the two that rejected Cornell, one was denied admission by MIT and another by Stanford. What I am saying however is that you shouldn't be too put down by not attending the college of your dreams. Sure, it is your dream school. And let it still be your dream school... for grad school or something (and have you heard about transferring?).........but just enjoy your undergrad years and be thankful for getting to that university (on a free ride, for most of you).

Hmm.... also, you might be a better fit at whatever college that you end up attending.

My Math professor once told me that he had to choose between UC Davis and UC Berkeley and was quite torn between those 2 schools. So he sought advice from his professors who told him to go to Davis 'cause Berkeley's "too big and too impersonal." And so he did. And found Davis to be "too big and too impersonal" and he hated it. But he is most thankful that he went to Davis though - for he met his future wife there : ) Life is full of choices, as well as chances.

Live it. Cheers!

ps: Anybody heading to Cal??????? *hopeful me* ^^

05-04-2004, 01:40 PM
tis may b a little irrelevant but i heard tad can opt....or audit... at least till the end of this week.....
so run to the office n get those forms ppl!

p/s: all info correct at time of posting

05-04-2004, 08:45 PM
Hei ElansarGilmir.. heard that the Uni im going to is quite near ur place lehh. .err.. after 2nd thought... not really... Brandeis is near Boston... Cornell is near Boston too izzit ? (heard some ppl say like this.. ?? true ).... so.. are we near ? hehee..

Yeah... Jon San just told me about that. Good ler... Can visit u guys and yam cha.... and maybe can stay at one of your places (if the uni allows).

aquila
06-04-2004, 10:14 AM
oh mi gosh. Today, the p frosh kids flooded our campus and competed with us for buses! They made me late! Darn!!!

It felt funny to have random high school kids sit in our classes though. However, I also think it's fun to see bubbly, idealistic high school students who really want to come here. This reminds me of myself a couple of yrs ago. :P

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 11:55 AM
Jus wanna know if CMU and Umich accepts Calculus 1&2 for credit transfer :?: :?: Can anyone help me please..

Sweelin
06-04-2004, 12:20 PM
Jus wanna know if CMU and Umich accepts Calculus 1&2 for credit transfer :?: :?: Can anyone help me please..

Hi Jagganatha,
If I am not wrong, most of us in CMU started out with Calculus 2. We managed to skip Calculus 1 by doing the math placement test. I don't think CMU accepts credit transfer for most courses unless you are doing A-Level. If you want to transfer some of your courses, you may want to talk to the advisors in CMU or take some other placement tests here, providing that you bring all your necessary and relevant course description and documents with you. There will be a session for the freshmen to discuss and change your courses during your first week in CMU.

Regards,
Swee Lin

06-04-2004, 12:57 PM
Die... Suddenly JPA did not allow us to go to our self-applied universities. Like me, instead of going to brandeis, was thrown to Michigan State... Waaaa............. want to cry liao!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

No one is allowed to go to Wisconsin or UIUC... Why??? If they do not allow us to go there, might have as well tell us earlier so that we won't waste a place for other unis!!!

chenghau
06-04-2004, 01:13 PM
That's is too bad.

For UIUC and U Wisc, did you guys apply under JPA or on your own?

06-04-2004, 01:17 PM
umich, as far as i know, accepts calc 1 n 2.

06-04-2004, 01:20 PM
Under JPA. So far, JPA allow only 1 guy to Wisconsin. Saharoc may have to go to Washington in lieu of UIUC

chenghau
06-04-2004, 01:25 PM
Why was he allowed? Any special reason?

If those people don't go to UIUC, where would they go? Michigan Ann Arbor?

06-04-2004, 01:30 PM
HE was allowed to Wisconsin because his next uni is Penn State ... JPA dun let him go to PEnn State... Dunno why also... Michigan Ann Arbor is only reserved to Actuarial Science Students... For us (who's unis are not allowed), we are to go to our safety nets unless we dun have other universities to go anymore.

windy_city
06-04-2004, 01:43 PM
How about those who apply on their own and get top university like Duke, U Chicago, Northwestern, Cornell, Stanford..........
Can they go there?
Or they need to go to whatever they have on their JPA list??

cryzpene
06-04-2004, 01:48 PM
I couldn't agree more. Not all the brightest students converge in one university although one can say that a top uni is dominated by many smart people.

One day we have to work with people who are more intelligent and also less intelligent than us. What matters then is the group's output so we do have to learn how to work with different kind of people. I believe that's one of the very core reason admission officers seek for diversity among the pool of applicants.

And all this talk about Ivies or near Ivies, I know at least two students who chose Cal over the likes of Cornell and Dartmouth. In fact one of them told me that Cornell was actually her safety school. So, do not despair....if you're worried about not meeting the best and the brightest in the US, that's outright false. You'll get to meet really bright and interesting students regardless of what school you attend.

wawa
06-04-2004, 02:20 PM
Regardless in the end what university we go to, what matters most is that we utilize whatever resources we have there to the most. :D

jagganatha
06-04-2004, 04:07 PM
what do you mean none of the u's applied by any self applicants are approved by JPA..Shocking..

06-04-2004, 05:37 PM
floating in the air no more *smack*

:D aahh..... feeling very much better....THANX!! :wink:

06-04-2004, 10:23 PM
I think if you really think you have a case to prove why you really want to go a certain uni, write a formal application letter. Get Intec lecturer who knows you very well, to support it and get it to Pn. Umiatun and hopefully she could support and get it across to JPA.

Anyway, main thing is utilize your opportunities whereever you go.

yanmin
07-04-2004, 03:22 AM
JPA probably thinks that UIUC, Wisconsin and UMich are 'over-populated'. (Considering the number of ATU 8 & 9 over there!!) They don't want us to form 'kampung M'sia' over there.
But they should have told u guys earlier b4 u applied... *sigh* weird JPA...

Die... Suddenly JPA did not allow us to go to our self-applied universities. Like me, instead of going to brandeis, was thrown to Michigan State... Waaaa............. want to cry liao!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

No one is allowed to go to Wisconsin or UIUC... Why??? If they do not allow us to go there, might have as well tell us earlier so that we won't waste a place for other unis!!!

z
07-04-2004, 03:53 AM
applications done through INTEC with approval from JPA right? =/

orestes
07-04-2004, 05:16 AM
HE was allowed to Wisconsin because his next uni is Penn State ... JPA dun let him go to PEnn State... Dunno why also...

huh?? why? whats wrong with penn state??

07-04-2004, 11:37 AM
let me clarify a few things...it's actually like this...

we all applied 3 unis under jpa rite...n the rest on our own rite...
according to en sohaimi, there's tis policy that if a student wants to go to a uni that he(or she) applied on his own, it has to be an ivy or ivy standard school. if not, they are given whatever choice on the 3 unis list. for example, if u get ur safety net only under jpa, u haf to go to the safety net if the other unis u applied on ur own is not ivy or ivy standard. i think its pretty dumb since no one ever told us tad n now all the good students r going to the safety nets. not tad i haf anything against the safety net schools, seriously. juz tad these ppl had their hearts set on goin to the schools they applied on their own. so, i advise everyone to quickly run to en sohaimi to check wad uni did jpa give. :!:

as for me, thank goodness u of chicago is somewhat ivy standard. tads y they approved it. so i can stiil go to chicago. but spring n saharoc haf been given washington instead of uiuc n many other cases.

as for elansir gelmir, he did not tell en sohaimi he got accepted to brandeis so he din noe about it when he went to see jpa about the unis...so everybody, go quickly n tell ossp which uni accepted u n which rejected u. ossp will not know everything if u don tell them... :!:

07-04-2004, 11:45 AM
but spring n saharoc haf been given washington instead of uiuc n many other cases.
hmm...you mean uiuc isn't considered "ivy standard" (god i hate that term, as if ivies are everything)? that's weird, coz illinois is regarded as one of the great major research universities nationwide, especially for engineering. i don't see how washington is better. you mean washington, not wustl right?

07-04-2004, 11:48 AM
precisely my sentiments!!!

i think that uiuc is like one of the best engineering schools...
n jpa's decision to give washington instead of uiuc is plain dumb...
it's washington seattle, not washingto st louis u know... :?:

en sohaimi tried telling them..but they wont listen....

windy_city
07-04-2004, 12:21 PM
Useless to argue about that. I tought we seniors told you guys about this things last year during the first week of orientation!!!
This thing happened last year too!!
A lot of appeasl and stuffs were being done but to no avail.
Sadly to say, there is almost nothing you can do now, except to hope for a miracle!!

07-04-2004, 02:05 PM
as for elansir gelmir, he did not tell en sohaimi he got accepted to brandeis so he din noe about it when he went to see jpa about the unis...so everybody, go quickly n tell ossp which uni accepted u n which rejected u. ossp will not know everything if u don tell them...

JPA knows about it lar ... Suhami told JPA liao, but Intan asked Suhami to put me under MSU first. Then, later after considering it, only she called Suhami and put me into Brandeis again. (Very weird, dun ask me, but i'm damn glad). Then i called her, and she said my case kao tim liao.

b_ronick
07-04-2004, 05:50 PM
seniors from northwestern?
can i contact some of them plz?
anyone here who is from northwestern?

windy_city
07-04-2004, 10:36 PM
I am from Northwestern.
I said that so many time in previous post!!
Just pm me or email me (max_lsw@<hidden>) for any question.
I will be glad to help!!!
Hope to hear from you soon!!

orestes
08-04-2004, 05:36 AM
I couldn't agree more. Not all the brightest students converge in one university although one can say that a top uni is dominated by many smart people.

converge? u study too much cal2 dude...

08-04-2004, 02:50 PM
Hey, can i ask some help from the seniors? Can you compile the lists of seniors (not all, but if possible, one from each uni) and post it here on the recom for us juniors so it would be very easy for us to look up for our own seniors and contact them? It would be very tedious, but i really appreciate it if you guys can do that. Thanks in advance :D :) :wink: :P :D :)

chenghau
08-04-2004, 02:55 PM
Actually you can get that from OSSP.

08-04-2004, 03:03 PM
Oh, really? From Mr. Suhami?

chenghau
08-04-2004, 03:07 PM
Last time from Suriana, so I would assume now from Suhaimi.

08-04-2004, 03:27 PM
Hehe, thanks .... But i dun think i'll get from him these days. Pity him, have to deal with the students everyday for changing universities requests due to the JPA's irresponsible policy

SpRInG
08-04-2004, 04:02 PM
JPA's irresponsible policy

???

hey hey, be thankful man, that they even offered you scholarship, dun need to complain so much already.... kena tarik balik biasiswa nanti barulah tahu...

08-04-2004, 04:47 PM
I can't deny that they are kind hearted in offering me the scholarship, but being irresponsible is another thing

windy_city
08-04-2004, 10:48 PM
but being irresponsible is another thing

Irresponsible???
Actually you should not put all the blame on JPA, they are trying thier best to accomadate all the students' requests. But again, want is infinite but what they can do is limited. You can put part of the blame for Malaysians who "Berkampung" in those big universities too. Because of that, JPA dun wan to send too many Malaysain to the same university.

Pls be considerate when you comment on sth like that.
JPA are not irreponsible, they are just human like you and me, they can't statisfy everybody!!!!! I dun think even God can do that!!!

chillout
08-04-2004, 11:18 PM
what windy say is true...
humans are only humans
we are imperfect... =P

chillout
08-04-2004, 11:19 PM
hehe... but God CAN!
do not limit the omnipotent God!

lonewolfhan
08-04-2004, 11:24 PM
Hmm.. juz want to say that En Sohaimi is a VERY VERY VERY nice fella.... Hmm.. he is much much much more helpful than Suriana... and oso Sharim ( of coz la.. hehee... :P ).....

He will help every student and answer every single question... definitely have to thank him personally b4 we fly !!!! :)

lonewolfhan
08-04-2004, 11:27 PM
Hmm.. although we are anticipating to go US soon... but... but.... from the descriptions by seniors.. the life there aint fun though.. . kind of WORRIED now.... have to study under pressure.. i cant handle it perfectly ah.... hope i can survive.... plz bless all of us !

12-04-2004, 10:31 PM
hey Elansir...be a little more tactful and considerate when u open ur mouth (literally or not)...not everything is perfect, including U... just remember that...
en sohaimi...he happens to be one really nice guy....n i think he knows his stuff...i do not feel worried putting my matters in his hands...if u haf questions....he's probably the guy to ask...and if he doesnt know the answer, he'd try to find out...i say he's doing a pretty good job... thumbs up for him!

13-04-2004, 01:29 AM
En. Suhaimi has been very helpful, since the time when we were applying and I guess he has been doing such stuff for a long time. I still remember those days that he would quietly told us the admission decision, SAT results, even though when we were not supposed to be told yet. Although that may be a few hours of difference, he definitely tried his best to accommodate many of our requests.

To lonewolfhan, I guess you will have lots of fun. Study hard and play hard. I would not say that you guys will have a honeymoon time in US, but measure yourself and take appropriate amount of workload and involvements.

13-04-2004, 03:00 PM
yeah man! precisely!
sigh....elansar....think twice before saying anything k...

azagoth
13-04-2004, 04:28 PM
well....for me MIT the best forever.....i'm the lucky one from malaysia can study there.......

graduate in 1996.........departmnet of EECS

even princeston, harvard, cambridge, or berkeley (Musician) have their own prestiges......same like MIT......only the different is MIT is a center for a intelligent and artificial for US military....(Pentagon ya)

whatever....good luck for all malaysians around the world...

azagoth
13-04-2004, 04:30 PM
hmm.....u try to means what..?

where are you now..?

13-04-2004, 07:02 PM
well....for me MIT the best forever.....i'm the lucky one from malaysia can study there.......

graduate in 1996.........departmnet of EECS

even princeston, harvard, cambridge, or berkeley (Musician) have their own prestiges......same like MIT......only the different is MIT is a center for a intelligent and artificial for US military....(Pentagon ya)

whatever....good luck for all malaysians around the world...

hmm.....u try to means what..?

where are you now..?

u don't look like 1 from mit

19-04-2004, 04:23 PM
hey Elansir...be a little more tactful and considerate when u open ur mouth (literally or not)...not everything is perfect, including U... just remember that...
en sohaimi...he happens to be one really nice guy....n i think he knows his stuff...i do not feel worried putting my matters in his hands...if u haf questions....he's probably the guy to ask...and if he doesnt know the answer, he'd try to find out...i say he's doing a pretty good job... thumbs up for him!

I suggest u read my posts properly. Sigh, i have to make myself clear... I didn't say En Suhami is irresponsible. And about the JPA irresponsible thingy... I actually meant that they approve our applying to this and that university and in the end they halted us from going to the unis that we've been accepted to...

20-04-2004, 05:09 PM
well, they did warn us abt applying to certain unis...n some of us did not even ask ossp whether is it advisable to apply to those unis we applied on our own...i'm not blamin u la...

lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 12:24 PM
Hmm... sorry for bring up this topic again... the last post was in April 20/.. now its already 19th June.. haha..

actually.. I was juz accpeted to Brown University a few hours ago.. previously..i was in the waiting list.. i juz received the package juznow..

Soo.. b4 this..i have already set my mind that im going to Cornell University... but now.. i will have to DECIDE again... so.. any advice ? i have to reply Brown by 28th June.. kinda in a hurry now.. hope everyone... seniors juniors frens can help me out ! thanks thanks! :D

19-06-2004, 12:41 PM
if u want to go to Brown, u'd better cancel ur bankdraft ASAP. anyway, congrats!

lonewolfhan
19-06-2004, 12:45 PM
Hmm.. i have posted the bankdraft... if wan to cancel still got enuf time ? Hmmm... dunno what to do ! :D

chillout
19-06-2004, 12:59 PM
hey... congrats..congrats...

if brown is better go brown ler..

u've been offered a place bah?!

all troublesome stuff can be settled one..

dun worry