View Full Version : Kolej MARA Seremban
rainyshark
01-06-2007, 07:48 PM
i got the mara scholarship to do ib in this college.
my questions are...
1. what combination of subjects that i have to take for my ib if i'm going to biotech course later?
2. how's the accomodation and foods there?
3. is there any church nearby?
thank you in advance for answering
dinosaur24
04-06-2007, 07:02 PM
i got this college to do a-lvl..
i have no idea about this college...
rainyshark
04-06-2007, 07:05 PM
finally! a friend. . 8O lol :lol: :lol:
icy_cold88
05-06-2007, 01:47 AM
1. what combination of subjects that i have to take for my ib if i'm going to biotech course later?
Hi there, I'm currently doing A-level at this college until June 2008; but I can share with ya some info that I know about the IB programme here.. err.. so far for my batch the IB programme is only for the Medicine & Maths/Science (Education) students.. there are 6 core subjects which are BM, BI, Maths, Physics/Bio, IT/Business and Chem. Oh yes! And TOK, CAS resports, EE (Extended Essays) and whatnot.... hmmm.. what else..I suppose that the muslims are also studying religious studies as well, which is counted for the internal exams only.
KMS is really small... hmmm.. 3 people per room. If you're an ex-MRSM student, then I can tell ya the room is more or less..quite similar to mrsm..
As for food.. well, frankly speaking, the food is getting better; but of course sometimes the food can be hardly edible (to me).. BUT the good news is you can always, always buy food from outside since KMS is located near seremban parade, Terminal One.. etc.. If you're craving for sushi you can always take a cab to JJ Seremban.. =) Easy-peasy ;)
Well, yes ;)
Good luck !!!
rainyshark
05-06-2007, 09:34 AM
thank you! btw, i'm not from mrsm. . i'm from daily school. .
another question, how 'bout attire? do we have to wear formal clothes everyday? 8O
icy_cold88
05-06-2007, 02:14 PM
thank you! btw, i'm not from mrsm. . i'm from daily school. .
another question, how 'bout attire? do we have to wear formal clothes everyday? 8O
Yeap me too... well, sorta.
Well, uhh, all I know is that you only have to wear formal clothes (Baju kurung for the ladies) during classes... ;) Don't worry too much, you'll get used to it ;)
CrosshaRe
05-06-2007, 02:34 PM
Hi Im doin A Levels at KMS. Rainyshark, u one of Jason's juniors? Jus wonderin coz he said 2 of his juniors r coming. IB biotech? That's new. Which country u headin?
Churches? There r 2 close by. And food? Dont worry, KMS students have devised all sorts of ways to eat good food.
rainyshark
05-06-2007, 08:04 PM
Hi Im doin A Levels at KMS. Rainyshark, u one of Jason's juniors? Jus wonderin coz he said 2 of his juniors r coming. IB biotech? That's new. Which country u headin?
Churches? There r 2 close by. And food? Dont worry, KMS students have devised all sorts of ways to eat good food.
yep2! is it so obvious? 8O 8) 8)
i'm heading towards the country of undecided. .
how 'bout the facilities there? just wondering anyway. . sorry if i asked too much. . :oops:
to icy_cold88
i'm also going 2 kms to do a-level 4 engineering
juz want to ask u...
am i able 2 use da internet in the hostel if i bring along a laptop ???
haha..i'm just curious... :) :)
Patrick
06-06-2007, 10:57 PM
Which Jason? Jason Alfons Undan?
hello all! i will also go to KMS to take IB there.
@<hidden> : 'bout the attire, boys will wear shirts and tie with black shoe, huh?
CrosshaRe
08-06-2007, 02:29 AM
Hmm.. wonder why evryone asks icycold. As if my answers r inferior to hers or sumthin. Anyways, boys dont haf to wear ties. A PAIR of black shoes, yes. wits, u don't wear A shoe to school. Patrick, I talkin bout sumones senior there. From St. Michaels or sumthin. And no, its not Jason Alfons Undan.
k-f, wiFi is only at the academic block and the Co-op (i have yet to use the co-op's wiFi). Reason? U will see.
Rainyshark; Facilities? Lets see.. Badminton, takraw, volley-ball, futsal, and basketball courts (basketball is half-court), darts, squash court (I made ths myself frm an empty room haha), Astro (girls wanna watch AF while boys wanna watch football), wiFi, laundry, co-op, n thats bout it. But as I said, be creative. The town centre is just 5-10 minutes walk or RM7 fare by taxi.
rainyshark
08-06-2007, 10:00 AM
Astro (girls wanna watch AF while boys wanna watch football
i don't watch AF 8O
Astro (girls wanna watch AF while boys wanna watch football)
i also don't watch football
thanx crosshae 4 da information.
i really appreciate it
hmmmm
no internet in the hostel... :( :( :( :(
it's ok anyway..juz be grateful... :)
CrosshaRe
10-06-2007, 01:35 PM
Sure thing. Ask me anythin.. And my room is B105, feel free to drop by. When u guys clocking in anyway?
Another thing, IB and A Level students usually don't mix around much. They're like different species haha.. It might help to know each othr, ya know.
hmmm...
so far i still don't get the letter from mara..
it will arrive in this week..
my friend phoned mara and he was informed that the registration date is on july 3rd....
so MARA where is my letter??? :( :( :(
huhu...
Everyone is waiting for the letter. *sigh* I got nothing to do but waiting for the letter.
3rd july? *another sigh*. I heard KMB students will go there 26th june. Wonder why it is so late. I'm so boring here at home. :(
rainyshark
11-06-2007, 08:15 AM
on the 3rd?!
8O 8O
my brain has to be 'berkarat' by then. . :wink:
amir2
11-06-2007, 12:28 PM
how's bout boy attire??
do we have to wear "baju kemeja" or allowed to wear t-shirt with collar?
n can we wear jeans there? i mean when 'prep' time..
on the 3rd?!
8O 8O
my brain has to be 'berkarat' by then. . :wink:
me too. so i guess i'll study a little before going there. <------lazy!
icy_cold88
12-06-2007, 07:59 PM
how's bout boy attire??
do we have to wear "baju kemeja" or allowed to wear t-shirt with collar?
n can we wear jeans there? i mean when 'prep' time..
Kemeja. =)
And the rules stated that the students aren't allowed to wear jeans in college, but hmmmmm.. :D honestly, nobody really cares much about this particular rule.. err..well, unless you get caught with the fellow (@<hidden>), then you'll have to face the consequences
Btw- We don't have "prep" classes..
Thanks icy_cold88 for the info.
No prep? Then we need to make our own prep, right?
icy_cold88
13-06-2007, 12:49 AM
No prep? Then we need to make our own prep, right?
Absolutely.. you're on your own =)
It's up to you.
I find myself difficult to be really discipline on study leave, though. Tend to get distracted easily by petty things...sigh..
Enjoy your college life =) The teachers here are totally helpful, and the environment is not so bad ;)
Good luck.
arrghh
4 those who will going to kms 2 do a level..
have u got da letter..
i'm sick of waiting 4 the letter...
................................................................................
:evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
ajeem
14-06-2007, 09:08 AM
my questions are...
hi nice to meet u...so u r going to enter KMS on this 26 june is it? same as me doin' IB for medicine course...
rainyshark
14-06-2007, 09:23 AM
my questions are...
hi nice to meet u...so u r going to enter KMS on this 26 june is it? same as me doin' IB for medicine course...
not sure yet. . letter haven't arrive eh. .
ajeem
14-06-2007, 11:18 AM
not sure yet. . letter haven't arrive eh. .[/quote]
but i've got the letter and the date 4 registeration is going to be on 26 june.....see you there ya...[/quote]
oic... then IB will go to KMS on 26th june while A-level will go on 3rd july.
1 question, is there any case of stolen laptop in KMS? i want to know the risk.
icy_cold88
15-06-2007, 12:12 AM
As far as I'm concerned, no. :)
hunny_chan
15-06-2007, 10:51 PM
Ya know when first in KMS when I got to know that the rooms have no locks, I was agahst. But the kids here are really honest. You always see rooms with no ppl, door wide open, laptops and expensive phones in plain view. No cases of anythin getting stolen.. YET. Dunno if the juniors r gonna be such goody 2 shoes 8) ...
8O 8O 8O wow... such a peaceful college with no crime....
ajeem
20-06-2007, 10:39 AM
but i've got the letter and the date 4 registeration is going to be on 26 june.....see you there ya...
1 question, is there any case of stolen laptop in KMS? i want to know the risk.[/quote]
hum bout that ...i'm not so sure...by the way we hv to check for it first rite...hehe..ha wits what course are u in...i'm medic...ib...
I'm math IB. A really weird + freak course since most people take medic or engineering.
ajeem
21-06-2007, 07:40 AM
hey maths is okay what...never think that medic n engineering is that professional.....hehe btw being a teacher is also great rite...as long as u can serve the country...plus, if medic, u need to go trough the 6 yrs of studying that course only for degrees...then when it comes to the work,s life.....maybe u hv to miss ur child,s burfday...hehe...only for ur job as a doc.....BUT if u r in maths, u can further ur studies until master or phD...hehehe...... :o
ajeem
21-06-2007, 07:43 AM
I'm math IB. A really weird + freak course since most people take medic or engineering.[/quote]
hey maths is okay what...never think that medic n engineering is that professional.....hehe btw being a teacher is also great rite...as long as u can serve the country...plus, if medic, u need to go trough the 6 yrs of studying that course only for degrees...then when it comes to the work,s life.....maybe u hv to miss ur child,s burfday...hehe...only for ur job as a doc.....BUT if u r in maths, u can further ur studies until master or phD...hehehe...... :o
to be honest, I don't want to be a teacher.
I want to take math because I want be a reseacher, lecturer, tutor or professor.
I have another question, will IB medic, actuarial science and math/science study in the same class or they will not?
ajeem
21-06-2007, 12:42 PM
I want to take math because I want be a reseacher, lecturer, tutor or professor.
I have another question, will IB medic, actuarial science and math/science study in the same class or they will not?[/quote]
well...i'm not sure bout that....maybe yes n maybe not...hehe... btw what's ur name....i am hazim....nice to meet u....
i'm happy that u've aimed to the highest level...that's good n who knw one day u will b the world class professor....hehe good luck...
amir2
21-06-2007, 01:07 PM
elo2..i've got actuarial science..
so i need some help in choosing subject..
math,eng,malay n wat the other 3 subject shoud i choose..
conpius2..
I have another question, will IB medic, actuarial science and math/science study in the same class or they will not?
well...i'm not sure bout that....maybe yes n maybe not...hehe... btw what's ur name....i am hazim....nice to meet u....
i'm happy that u've aimed to the highest level...that's good n who knw one day u will b the world class professor....hehe good luck...
my name is........ hilmi :D (although my avatar is cute, i'm a male)
nice to meet you to hazim. actually i already knew that i will be a good professor (just kidding, but i'm serious)
any seniors bother to answer my question?
" will IB medic, actuarial science and math/science study in the same class or they will not?"
icy_cold88
23-06-2007, 12:57 AM
" will IB medic, actuarial science and math/science study in the same class or they will not?"
sorry, no idea.... most probably not?
i see.... nah... it's okay for me not to know the exact answer.
besides, there are only some days left for me to go there (i'm sick worried not to be ready)
icy_cold88
23-06-2007, 02:30 AM
besides, there are only some days left for me to go there (i'm sick worried not to be ready)
8O OMG.. stop worrying. You'll be fine. Everyone's nervy when it comes to starting college...
worrying is fine... as long as i don't do anything stupid :P . it's normal.
to icy_cold88
hi..im liz..i juz got da a-level offer-engineering.
my question is..is it true..da universities offered are just australia n n.zealand?
how about uk?i am so eager for uk.....huhu
sherenesheep
09-05-2008, 09:44 AM
hermz they changed the kms website... now i cant find the part wer they show all the oversea locations that they will post the MARA scholarship students to....
can anyone confirm with me that dentistry in only india and middle east???
Danial
09-05-2008, 01:43 PM
As far as i know....dentistry they send to jordan and india (not really sure which part). The rest i don't really know. However, you can confirm this by calling mara. Sherenesheep, you still goin KMS rite? or are u goin to UM? Life in KMS sounds fun but not as fun as UM tho. Can we bring laptops to KMS??
anybody....??
i juz got da a-level offer-engineering.
my question is..is it true..da universities offered are just australia n n.zealand?
anybody wit any answer??pleeaassseee...
Danial
15-05-2008, 02:49 PM
anybody....??
i juz got da a-level offer-engineering.
anybody wit any answer??pleeaassseee...
Are you JPA or MARA scholar?
hi danial...
im mara scholar...
Danial
16-05-2008, 11:48 PM
Erm....i'm not really sure about this but according to this http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/Syarat-syaratPermohonanPILN2008.pdf
There is U.K ,Australia, New Zealand, German, and France.
You can double check here
http://esila.jpa.gov.my/pdf/StrukturPengajianProgram-ProgramPILN2008.pdf
To Really Really confirm, try calling Mara...ask them personally. I'm sure they wan to help too.
hahaha~ let your senior pass through here (seriously, I'll be in charge of both IB and a-level orientation)
Q1 : "my question is..is it true..da universities offered are just australia n n.zealand?"
A1 : unfortunately yes for alevel eng. There will be no way for you to go to UK. Relax... Australia and newzealand is not as bad as you thing.
Q2 : "Can we bring laptops to KMS??"
A2 : Yes of course! Almost every IB student brings laptops. For A-level, laptop usage is very rare except for online purpose. Not many a-level students bring laptops but you can anyway.
Q3 : "can anyone confirm with me that dentistry in only india and middle east???"
A3 : I can't confirm it. Because dentistry is a new course in KMS. Congratz! Your batch will be the first one! For medic, KMS is where Mara put all the indians (ngeheh). Anyway, it's better to call MARA for confirmation.
Feel free to ask... I'll try answering ur questions for I am now in a two-week holiday (2 weeks only... sigh~).
Danial
25-05-2008, 01:32 AM
u from KMS??? Wow...finally know someone from KMS...mostly also from KMB....By the way, some people from KMB said you don't need to bring your laptop to kolej on the registration day...only bring after a few months....is it true? By the way, is IB is extremely hard to score?
Oh, sorry for not seeing a KMS student. We were busy. Actually, there are some ReCommers who are KMS student.
Yes, most student don't bring laptop on registration day. Mostly because they don't need it yet or they don't know that they need it. But it's up to you to bring it on the first day or not.
To answer whether IB is extremely hard to score or not... I'm not sure myself. That depends I think. But if you ask most seniors, they will say IB is hard and the reason is time management. For example, I am now getting into the third sem and this sem I must finish tons of work. For the first and second sem, it's actually not so challenging as the 3rd sem.
to icy_cold88
i'm also going 2 kms to do a-level 4 engineering
juz want to ask u...
am i able 2 use da internet in the hostel if i bring along a laptop ???
haha..i'm just curious... :) :)
nope...internet only available at the academic block and koop....
don't worry...the academic block not too far from the hostel..
just bring it....:amuse
Danial
25-05-2008, 02:25 AM
Can i know any curfew in KMS? Or is it very loose...jus wondering...what do we have during the orientation week? I heard someone said that math is kinda hard...and also heard that my batch is going to take physics but only SL.(for medic). This is what Puan Rohanna told me(IB coordinator)
Curfew in KMS? It is very-very-very-very loose. You can go out every evening, can go back home every weekend (unless if there's any program). Going out at night is prohibited but still when there's a will, there's a way.
Orientation week... Uhh... In simple words, you will be divided to groups then have most activities together. There will be also talk from teachers... bla... bla... Ala... Just like any other orientation thingy la.
Math is kinda hard?? No comment. Most people said so.
Medic taking Physics? That's insane! As fas as I know, medic will only take Chem HL and Bio HL as the science subjects. The other subject includes Malay, English, Math HL, and Business/Economy. Physics will only be taken by people who chooses Tindikan aka education. But i don't know if there will be any changes for the new intakes.
@<hidden> : ceh... nk ikut aku plak join ReCom...
Danial
25-05-2008, 04:17 PM
Basically life in KMS is much more fun than in KMB? Erm....another question, is there any people whose handphones and laptops got stolen? Is it a lot or is it totally safe?
KMS is much more fun that KMB? That's something to be argued about. Each place has its own weakness and strength for example KMS has no field and less facilities compared to KMB. But rules in KMS are not as strict as in KMB and KMS is much more nearer to the town compared to KMB.
There are some cases where laptops and handphones got stolen but very very few. And most of the time, the thief is the outsider, not the student or pakcik asrama. Well, as long as you keep your laptop in your locker, it will be safe enough. Believe it or not, I left my laptop on my table for a few days and it's still there.
Danial
25-05-2008, 06:41 PM
Wow...left just like that? Thats something uncommon to do...but i will surely be surprised if its still there....XD...ermm....does anyone bring any usb modem to the hostel? like the maxis broadband or celcom...
Only few students bring maxis broadband or celcom there because we have wifi although not in the hostel area. But you can bring it if you wish.
i m taking ib medic in kms.. quite disappointd actually since my aim was kmb.. but mayb this is the best for me i guess.. hey wits ur name is hilmi rite?? i read ur blog to find out more bout kms.. but from what u've written there it makes kms look so bad compared to kmb.. just to cheer me n others who r going to kms, y dun u tell us more bout the good things studyg in kms..
owh... sorry 4 that. actually, i was just like u, aiming to go to kmb since i was form 3. but then, i got kms and felt really disappointed. so, i keep flaming kmb. :D
there are many good things about kms. let me just list it down.
-kms is near to the town. so, it'll be easy for students to go out to buy things, eat or watch movies. if u are in kmb, it'll be very hard to go out to town or etc. some kmbians felt really envy with us for that fact.
-the rules are not very strict. for example, u can go out every evening before 7. pretty cool huh?
-what else... errr... ahah! u'll be in ib kms, and ib in kms does not have so many people. so, basically, u'll be close to almost all ib students. i myself, there are only 28 boys and we are pretty close together. in kmb, one batch consists of about 350+ students.
anyway, most of us feel lucky to be here. i just came back from kmb because i had to attend a camp in there. when we were there, a lot of things happened such as no electricity, no water, etc. and we kept saying to ourselves, that we are lucky to be in kms.
-what else... errr... ahah! u'll be in ib kms, and ib in kms does not have so many people. so, basically, u'll be close to almost all ib students. i myself, there are only 28 boys and we are pretty close together. in kmb, one batch consists of about 350+ students.
anyway, most of us feel lucky to be here. i just came back from kmb because i had to attend a camp in there. when we were there, a lot of things happened such as no electricity, no water, etc. and we kept saying to ourselves, that we are lucky to be in kms.
thx a lot wits.. really only 28 boys?? quite disappointed since i'm a girl.. haha lol..:laugh
well, i hav a few questions tho.. i'm nervous since the registration date is soooo near n i havent finishd shopping yet..
i'm curious bout the labcoat.. do we have to buy it ourselves or in kms later?? one more bout the bed sheet.. white is soo not my colour.. planning to bring colourful bedsheets tho.. it wont be a prob aite??
rainyshark
13-06-2008, 11:56 AM
thx a lot wits.. really only 28 boys?? quite disappointed since i'm a girl.. haha lol..:laugh
well, i hav a few questions tho.. i'm nervous since the registration date is soooo near n i havent finishd shopping yet..
i'm curious bout the labcoat.. do we have to buy it ourselves or in kms later?? one more bout the bed sheet.. white is soo not my colour.. planning to bring colourful bedsheets tho.. it wont be a prob aite??
yea, they will be selling lab coat for rm40. your gonna get it after a few weeks.
we never...NEVER use d white bed sheet...
It's so depressing.. Yea, you can use any bed sheet you like... we even did a room rearrangement... gonna be dead if the warden want us to rearrange the room to its original position...
good thing about studying in KMS
the teachers are very2 dedicated
they can be reached easily for consultation
most of the rooms there are air conditioned
Small size class=more attention
whaaaatttt else?...that's all that I can think of for now...
room rearrangement is cool..
dulu time kat asrama xleh wat, skrg la nak wat kn..
if warden blamed, just say "senior ajar"...
ok??
rainyshark
13-06-2008, 01:36 PM
then we're gonna act innocent larr...
works every time
rainyshark and wits,
r u from the same class?
doing ib medic??
rainyshark
13-06-2008, 09:02 PM
rainyshark and wits,
r u from the same class?
doing ib medic??
Yep. same class. taking different course thou...
No...am too inpatient, uncaring and not hardworking enough to take that course...
am going to take biotech..soon..
anyway, for my batch, medic and biotech learn the same thing... same subjects that is...
rainyshark and wits,
r u from the same class?
doing ib medic??
yup, same class... but not medic.
she's taking biotech and i'm taking tindikan (education)...
ok.. can u tell me about ur batch?
i mean how many students are doing ib for medic, biotech, tindikan..
ib for dentistry is only introduced dis year rite??
n i guess dat a level students are more than the ib students..
am i rite??
ok.. can u tell me about ur batch?
i mean how many students are doing ib for medic, biotech, tindikan..
ib for dentistry is only introduced dis year rite??
n i guess dat a level students are more than the ib students..
am i rite??
-----my batch (IB batch 3)-----
Medic - 2 classes, about 40 students
Tindikan - 9 students, same class as biotecth
Biotech - 5 students, same class as tindikan
Actuarial science - 21 students, all in 1 class
boys - 28
girls - 45+
total - 70+
--------------------------------
yes, ib dentistry is a new course here in KMS and yes again, alevel students are more than IB... especially for the new intake..
basikal
15-06-2008, 08:20 PM
hello there!i'm so glad i found this site since i have so many questions bout KMS.i'm going to do IB maths/science.to wits,icecold and other KMSian thank you for providing do many info about KMS and almost all my questions are answered.i'm so excited now bout the idea of going to KMS and to leave home(finally!).i have to admit i was a bit scared since i know nothing bout KMS and maths science is not my cup of tea really.i actually prefer social science but wasnt offered by MARA.
but i've got some more questions,the tv is located where?can i watch tv anytime i want?by anytime i mean in the middle of the night?i'm a BIG football fan so i dont want to miss EURO.is it possible if i watch euro?
and i plan to bring my guitar and football,do you think its okay?can i play kickabouts in the evening?is there any active futsal players in KMS?i'm a girl by the way.
Danial
15-06-2008, 10:48 PM
a girl??? wow....for a moment, i tought you were a guy!! Haha....sorry if offended you...i think there's a futsal court if i'm not mistaken. They also have half basketball court....erm, tennis court mayb. Not really sure also.. i too entering KMS...but i already visited the place. A very conducive place to study...surprisingly quiet altough its in the middle of the city. During the evening i think you can do whatever you want as long as dont break the college rules. You also free to go out but must return to hostel by 7 p.m....Other regulations, you need to ask Wits or Rainyshark.
rainyshark
15-06-2008, 11:22 PM
hello there!i'm so glad i found this site since i have so many questions bout KMS.i'm going to do IB maths/science.to wits,icecold and other KMSian thank you for providing do many info about KMS and almost all my questions are answered.i'm so excited now bout the idea of going to KMS and to leave home(finally!).i have to admit i was a bit scared since i know nothing bout KMS and maths science is not my cup of tea really.i actually prefer social science but wasnt offered by MARA.
but i've got some more questions,the tv is located where?can i watch tv anytime i want?by anytime i mean in the middle of the night?i'm a BIG football fan so i dont want to miss EURO.is it possible if i watch euro?
and i plan to bring my guitar and football,do you think its okay?can i play kickabouts in the evening?is there any active futsal players in KMS?i'm a girl by the way.
TV is located in the dining hall..and yes...there's a lot of football fanatics here...just follow their their screams and eventually you'll find your way to the dining hall..
You should bring whatever that you can to keep you occupied during the boring hours in the evening..
and we have a futsal club here and once in a blue moon we do go to seremban 2 to play . .
hope this helps
basikal
16-06-2008, 05:08 AM
thanks rainyshark!so glad for this,i hope there are some other football crazy girls to keep me company.hello danial,what programme you are taking?
Danial
16-06-2008, 01:32 PM
I'm taking IB medic....
basikal
16-06-2008, 04:22 PM
you're going to India right?see u in KMS next week
there are several boys who bring guitars and you can even bring keyboard (not computer keyboard) to KMS like my friend did. Futsal for girls, i'm not really sure but i don't think that it's really active but just for a shocking fact, we don't have any field. But we have futsal courts anyway.
anyway, finally i meet one of the tindikan students!!! but unfortunately, not a boy...
basikal
17-06-2008, 10:54 AM
unfortunately not a boy?are you some kind of a sexist?hehe..come onn,i'm sure we can get along fine!
i'm not sexist but u see... i just wonder how many boys will take tindikan for the new intake. fyi, there are only TWO boys in my class and for the new intake, maybe the number will be lower than that...
Danial
18-06-2008, 12:34 PM
2 only? The rest is girls? wow....man is goin to extinct
basikal
18-06-2008, 06:22 PM
eh wits,what subjects you are taking?and also,do you guys have washing machine in KMS?thanks
Danial
18-06-2008, 07:11 PM
There is a dobi service i think.
basikal
18-06-2008, 08:50 PM
thanks danial!you've been really helpful you know!thanks
we have to pay rm100 per year for the dobi service kan..
Danial
19-06-2008, 01:59 AM
Erm....i can wear short sleeves shirts to classes right?? Not necessarily must be long-sleeves all the time?
rainyshark
19-06-2008, 11:17 AM
There is a laundry service located behind the ko-op.
No fret, there's a schedule so everyone gets to send their laundry...
and yes, you can wear short sleeves to class. Provided that the shirt is clean, appropriate ..etc...etc...
eh wits,what subjects you are taking?and also,do you guys have washing machine in KMS?thanks
if u ask me about the tindikan stuffs, i'm taking mathematics... and i'm very good at it :D
we have dobi service but u can't operate the washing machine urself. this means that there's a limit on when and how much u can send to the dobi.
last sem, the koopers introduced dobi malam where student can operate the washing machine themselves but unfortunately, after some washing machines already broken, the service may not be available anymore.
and btw, u can wear short sleeve t-shirts to class (for boys).
basikal
19-06-2008, 03:53 PM
meaning i can choose either to take maths or science?what are teh subjects you take.for sl and hl?
when u were registering for the scholarship, which one did u take? math/science?
basically, if u r taking tindikan, u can choose physics/bio hl .and for the new intake, u can choose either business/economics/itgs sl. so, below are the subjects u'll take
1. malay sl
2. english sl
3. math hl
4. chem hl
5. physics/bio hl
6. buss/econ/itgs sl
but i can't say this for sure because some changes may happen for this new intake, especially for the medic students.
reglog
09-06-2009, 10:06 PM
hye guys i actually managed to get a place at kms seremban :) :)
so what do you wear for classes? how big is the room? what to do and what not??
eka22
09-06-2009, 10:21 PM
hey there reglog! u got kms? congratz btw.! same :D
so, what course r u takin?
reglog
09-06-2009, 10:38 PM
ill be taking a-level, accountancy for australia. :D
so what about you?
eka22
09-06-2009, 10:44 PM
oohh..ic. am takin IB for biotech (aussie/nz)
ready for ur new start? :p
reglog
09-06-2009, 10:52 PM
anytime they call. :)
still don't know what to wear..can we wear jeans+collar t-shirt to class..
i don't really like kemeja...
eka22
09-06-2009, 11:00 PM
hurm. i think for guys they really hve to wear kemeja. what to do. n it hs been stated in the borang keperluan pelajar (if im xmistaken). girls as usual baju kurung to attend the class. this is like mrsm. the difference is we xhave to wear 'baju sekolah'~ ahaha :p
r u from boarding school btw ?
reglog
09-06-2009, 11:05 PM
so the rumor is right, kms is close to school..well its okay as no uniforms.
yeah,im from boarding school.what about u?
khazry
10-06-2009, 12:30 AM
Salam~
i'm damn dilemma rite now... family crisis :notrust+ $$$ prob :notrust+bla3.:cry.......huuh:(
n surprisingly,, i've got IB!!:nuts hmm..this is life..
To be frank, i'm a very2 morderate student.. getting Mara scholarship and IB are too much from what i had expected.. but then,,, Alhamdulillah.:amuse.
The thing is, from what i heard, IB is one of the toughest foundation ever..n tat sent me shivering... haiyaa,,,, no pain no gain.:notrust. yala... but, ive to be realistic too...n tis made me hesitated + confussed + susah ahti lorh.....huaaaa:cry
So guys, i really need your favor..
i just wanna noe, whats the solution or alternative if i'm not up to mark 4 IB? Is the IPTS is the only place tat i can pursue my study then? n,,, whats the particular subject 4 engineering+ IB student?.... pls..help me..:nod
reglog
10-06-2009, 02:53 PM
well, afaik mara will still support by sending you to any ipta/ipts in malaysia..
hey guys, the registration day is on 1st July right?? then we got orientation from 1-4 July,class start on 6th. so we are free at 5 july??
and2,do u bring laptop during the 1st day?
eka22
10-06-2009, 05:19 PM
Salam~
i'm damn dilemma rite now... family crisis :notrust+ $$$ prob :notrust+bla3.:cry.......huuh:(
n surprisingly,, i've got IB!!:nuts hmm..this is life..
To be frank, i'm a very2 morderate student.. getting Mara scholarship and IB are too much from what i had expected.. but then,,, Alhamdulillah.:amuse.
The thing is, from what i heard, IB is one of the toughest foundation ever..n tat sent me shivering... haiyaa,,,, no pain no gain.:notrust. yala... but, ive to be realistic too...n tis made me hesitated + confussed + susah ahti lorh.....huaaaa:cry
So guys, i really need your favor..
i just wanna noe, whats the solution or alternative if i'm not up to mark 4 IB? Is the IPTS is the only place tat i can pursue my study then? n,,, whats the particular subject 4 engineering+ IB student?.... pls..help me..:nod
hey there khazry~ takin up enginnering? in a way, congratz!!
I heard from seniors that IB is kinda hectic programme. some of em said we xhave life for IB unless we hv an efforts 2 hve one la. not sure bout this but just wait and see ya? :P
for IB we hv 3 higher level sub (this is depends on wht course we r takin)
1. Bio/Phy
2. maths
3. Economics/chemistry
3 standard level
1. BM A1
2. english B
3. business/ITGS(information technology in a global society)
bout 6 subjects i guess? am not really sure yet bout this whole thing. sorry if am wrong.~
reglog : am not from boarding school.
yup, ill bring laptop on the first day. u?
Koschei
10-06-2009, 06:02 PM
I was wondering when this thread would pop up again. :))
@<hidden>: For guys you have to wear a shirt (kemeja, long/short sleeve), proper pants (trousers, preferably dark coloured. No jeans.) in the morning. In the afternoon, you can wear collared shirts to class. For shoes, it has to be black shoes in the morning. Sandals can be worn at other times. For girls, it's baju kurung all the way. Please note that these dressing rules only apply to the academic block.
:laugh Its 3 people to a room. The room is about 200cm x 550cm. Kot.
@<hidden>: It seriously depends on the person. So far it's been alright for me, but if you are going to compare it to other foundation courses, then yes, you are going to feel like you've been tricked into it, because you do more subjects and you have to do all sorts of extra stuff like ToK, CAS, EE, and IAs. I'll elaborate later (if you want.) In my opinion, the syllabus isn't actually that hard (I'd rate its difficulty at around A levels); it's just all the extra stuff that they ask you to do (refer to the above acronyms.)
All IB students take 6 subjects. There are two levels of difficulty - Standard Level (SL) or Higher Level (HL). Biotech students take Bio HL, Chem HL, Maths HL, Malay A1 SL, English B SL, and ITGS/Business/Econs SL. Medic students take the same subjects, but some students replaced their art subject with Physics SL. Dentistry students are forced to take triple science.
If you guys need any more info regarding the IB program, you can ask me, or you can go to their website : http://www.ibo.org
eka22
10-06-2009, 06:20 PM
@<hidden> (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=7876)
currently doin IB in KMS izit?
hey people, i found one useful link for you guys. it's actually about kmb but it might be helpful. here. (http://edu.iluvislam.com/v1/articles.php?article_id=167)
i'm not a mara scholar neither i'll be doing ib but I just wanna share what I've read.
Danial
10-06-2009, 10:53 PM
Koschei is alive??? Nice kosch, you rarely post in recom....Hi, I guess you guys goin to KMS as the fifth batch....Well, if want to ask anything about kms or IB, you can ask koschei or me....
To khazry : Basically what I want to say is already said by koschei...so refer to koschei posts...hehe...
Anyway, about IB is hard...well, I wouldn't say it is hard but it's rather challenging. If you feel you're up to the challenge, then be my guest to take IB...If you willing to sleep late to revise, or perhaps finish up asignments...Then you'll be fine...There's nothing much to it...although you'll get stress at times but hey, this is life...if you can't handle IB, how are you gonna handle life? With family, financial credits, friends, food...etc etc.....Just take it as an experience...It really helps, esp TOK, becuz it really changes you one way or another.
To eka22: Yes, koschei is doin IB in KMS and so am I...but i guess you probably know that....:P
reglog
11-06-2009, 11:11 AM
heyp guys thanks. btw any more info regarding A-level for accountancy? i heard that it is kinda new program for kms..
and during weekends, can we go for a whole day?i mean we sleep elsewhere..
Koschei
11-06-2009, 03:45 PM
Yeah, our batch was the first batch that had accounting. :D You'll be taking 3 subjects, all of which will be up to A2: Maths, Accounting, and Business Studies. Those doing accounting at KMS will be sent to either Australia or NZ.
Weekends are free, unless the college has a weekend program, in which case you won't be able to leave. You can go back after classes on Friday, but you have to be back by 7:00pm on Sunday.
reglog
11-06-2009, 03:52 PM
Yeah, our batch was the first batch that had accounting. :D You'll be taking 3 subjects, all of which will be up to A2: Maths, Accounting, and Business Studies. Those doing accounting at KMS will be sent to either Australia or NZ.
Weekends are free, unless the college has a weekend program, in which case you won't be able to leave. You can go back after classes on Friday, but you have to be back by 7:00pm on Sunday.
oh, so ill be ur junior then:P. btw what is the requirement for mara to send us to oversea, the minimum marks to get..and we don't need to take English rite?
pisces02
11-06-2009, 04:35 PM
Hye eka22!
I got kms, ib, biotech too!! Hihi...:P
Got NZ/Aussie too:amuse
Btw i'm new here..
reglog
11-06-2009, 08:23 PM
Hye eka22!
I got kms, ib, biotech too!! Hihi...:P
Got NZ/Aussie too:amuse
Btw i'm new here..
hehe, don't worry. everyone create an account for the sake of asking about kms:amuse. erm another question; how long can i keep my hair?
Koschei
11-06-2009, 08:34 PM
MARA counts A level grades according to a point based system. In other words, an 'A' will be worth a certain amount of points, a 'B' would be worth slightly less, and so on.
MARA requires that you obtain at least 12 points at A levels if you want to go overseas. An A is worth 5 points, while a B is worth 3 or 4 points (I can't remember..I take IB, not A levels. Hahaha.) So the minimum requirement is either AAB or ABB (or AAC, if a B really is worth 4 points.)
Nope, no English required, but since you guys are going to Aus/NZ, you'll need to take this thing called IELTS, which tests your English proficiency. There will be classes to help you prepare for IELTS. I suppose that means that you will still be learning English. :P (Hey, it's better than IB students! We're still learning sastera. @<hidden>@<hidden>)
IELTS is an external exam, and you are graded according to bands (Band 1-9, with 1 being the worst, and 9 being the best). For accounting, the minimum band is either 6.0 or 6.5 (I can't remember, again.), but you shouldn't worry about it. Unless your English is "gila babeng teruk", you'll probably get a band between 7.0 to 8.5.
reglog
11-06-2009, 09:47 PM
hey, thanks thanks thanks !!!
so it is 12, not 13??:wink, i think i saw 13 in my letter...herm let me check.
btw,u missed the hair question..how long can i keep it?
Danial
12-06-2009, 12:20 AM
Hey kosch, its 13 la....by the way, for hair....you can only keep it like above your shirt neck (forgive me if the msg doesn't gets to you...i wanted to draw but it seems impossible :P) for the back part. Normally if your hair isn't longer than 4-5 cm would be fine la....
But then again, i'm not really aware of the exact rules and regulation regarding hair issues...so perhaps koschei wants to verify on this???
reglog
12-06-2009, 06:24 AM
yeah i knew it was 13, just checked my letter. stated in the letter that your hair must not reach the collar,cover you ear and forehead..and skin+punk is a no-no. i just want to know the 'real' rules..well written rules can sometimes be loose.
oh and they say that they only offer AUS,they cross the NZ with black marker..
Koschei
12-06-2009, 10:57 PM
Hahaha, to be honest, I've yet to read the rulebook, so I can't help you on that. Suffice to say that unless you do something stupid, you'll never have to read or worry about it. What they stated in the letter is what we know as well - i.e. normal school rules. :D
reglog
13-06-2009, 01:35 PM
getting pointer 13 is not easy.. u have to get at least one A to survive..
A+A+A
5+5+5 = 15
A+A+B
5+5+4 = 14
A+B+B
5+4+4 = 13 < minimum result, A,B,B
B+B+B
4+4+4 = 12,.... not enough
SUBJEK YANG DITAWARKAN
Subjek yang ditawarkan terbahagi kepada 2 iaitu:
1- Subjek Teras, iaitu fizik , kimi, matematik dan bahasa inggeris.
2- Subjek Tambahan, Pengetahuan Islam.
Semua pelajar A-Level perlu mengambil 3 subjek wajib untuk memenuhi syarat MARA dan kemasukkan ke universiti.
Kejuruteraan - Matematik, Kimia, Fizik.
TESL - Matematik Literature, Sosiologi, General Paper, Bahasa Inggeris.
Perakaunan - Matematik, Business Studies, Accounting, Bahasa Inggeris.
SYARAT MINIMA MENDAPAT TAJAAN MARA UNTUK PENGAJIAN DI PERINGKAT IJAZAH
Pelajar perlu mendapat 13 mata dan ke atas, daripada subjek wajib (3A atau 2A, 1B atau 1A, 2B).
Pelajar juga perlu lulus kursus BTN yang ditetapkan MARA dan mempunyai kelayakan Bahasa Inggeris seperti IELTS sebagaimana yang diperlukan oleh universiti.
source : http://www2.mrsmkm.edu.my/seremban/index.php/program-a-level
Danial
13-06-2009, 07:05 PM
Don't worry about not getting a 13 for your A-level exams....You'll have plenty of time and so many extra classes....You'll make it through, you already reach this far...I'm sure you won't blow it at this stage already....Trust me, KMS produce lots of 13 and above pointers....Just study, not say you have 150 Cas hour to finish up, or any other assignments.. =D
Hey Kosch, next week back to college....excited??? Of coz you are, you're looking forward for the exam results rite?? LoL
Koschei
13-06-2009, 09:14 PM
Harhar. Not really. BM kantoi teramat sangat. :P And I'm not sure if my Bio and Physics are 7s. World Lit isn't done, ToK essay hasn't been touched, and I still haven't decided what I'm going to do with my EE. O_o
@<hidden>: Don't worry. If you found Add Maths fun and enjoyable at the end of your schooling days, chances are you'll get an A for Maths. As for the other two, you'll get plenty of chances to practice answering the questions. AS Accounting is basically everything that you've learnt for SPM. A2 is the only part of the syllabus that's different (so I've been told...).
reglog
14-06-2009, 05:12 PM
well the thing is, i got 4% for my last year exam in f4,:P. that pretty clear explain that im not so into add math, +++tution during school break,effort on finishing homework, n some sleep in class, i got b3 for add math.
as for the other two, i love them pretty much. score A1/ A2/ B3(once) for Acc and Ekonomi Asas:):laugh.
zzzzzzzzzzzz, i already done my medical check-up at a clinic nearby, and the thing is i just read the letter and it said that it can only be filled by authorised government hospital:notrust............. so what to do? the doctor already signed the form....:cry
eka22
14-06-2009, 07:50 PM
i went to private too but then some friend of mine called mara 2 ask bout this. they said its ok act. so,i think there's nothin 2 be worried bout :)
reglog
14-06-2009, 10:40 PM
hey, thx:amuse
my mom nagged all day long just because i didn't read it carefully, yet she's the one who want to make the medical check up today:cry
rainyshark
15-06-2009, 10:37 PM
Harhar. Not really. BM kantoi teramat sangat. :P And I'm not sure if my Bio and Physics are 7s. World Lit isn't done, ToK essay hasn't been touched, and I still haven't decided what I'm going to do with my EE. O_o
@<hidden>: Don't worry. If you found Add Maths fun and enjoyable at the end of your schooling days, chances are you'll get an A for Maths. As for the other two, you'll get plenty of chances to practice answering the questions. AS Accounting is basically everything that you've learnt for SPM. A2 is the only part of the syllabus that's different (so I've been told...).
No fret... People usually did their ToK essay at the end of third semester...
That's what I did, at east..
yeah i knew it was 13, just checked my letter. stated in the letter that your hair must not reach the collar,cover you ear and forehead..and skin+punk is a no-no. i just want to know the 'real' rules..well written rules can sometimes be loose.
oh and they say that they only offer AUS,they cross the NZ with black marker..
I am so glad Im no longer in KMS... couldn't possibly survived all the rules being implemented..
pisces02
15-06-2009, 10:45 PM
Hye rainyshark!
I've read your older posts..you got biotech right?
So right now, have you been informed bout which country you will be sent to??
styloo91
18-06-2009, 06:04 PM
heyyaa
any1 ere got dentistry course and ?
rainyshark
19-06-2009, 12:39 PM
Hye rainyshark!
I've read your older posts..you got biotech right?
So right now, have you been informed bout which country you will be sent to??
of course.. the first batch of Biotech students are going to be sent to US. I think MARA finally figured out that sending students to US is quite a hassle so they change the country for the second batch.
reglog
19-06-2009, 08:00 PM
why the hassle? swine flu?
pisces02
19-06-2009, 08:20 PM
O i see...ya lah..why the hassle??:amazed:amazed
So what batch of biotech are you?
If you're first, that's mean I'm third right?
rainyshark
20-06-2009, 06:49 PM
why the hassle? swine flu?
the flu is not in the equation last year. Cause we have to take SAT and TOEFL by ourselves. After that came the university application process, which is a tedious job. Did not make matter easier when we have to apply during the third semester, which is the killer semester in IB. Lastly, the visa, which cost way too much and I'm glad it's over now
O i see...ya lah..why the hassle??:amazed:amazed
So what batch of biotech are you?
If you're first, that's mean I'm third right?
That would be correct.
battlecry
21-06-2009, 01:03 AM
hey there,,,
i got kms too:))...
a level 4 tesl..
does anyone hv info bout tesl there??
reglog
21-06-2009, 02:33 PM
so far not yet, i got a-level for acc, while others in IB..
battlecry
21-06-2009, 09:42 PM
oh...i c,,
thanx reglog,,
looking forward to see u guys soon:)!!
nursya
22-06-2009, 04:15 PM
hye..
i got kms 2..
i`ll do ib..tindikan math n sci..
teddy_bear
24-06-2009, 02:58 PM
hey there! im going to KMs too!
:).. and not studyin anythin for preparation. huhu
and my otak is so berkarat after 7 month doin nothin at home:P
anyone take IB in medic??
styloo91
24-06-2009, 11:23 PM
hye all
got dentistry
willl be doin ib for 2years..huhu
see u all there
regards
speckboyz
25-06-2009, 10:23 PM
hallo,
i also got kms for ib(medic)..:))
anyone?
it's only few days left be4 the registration day (1july).. i'm so nervous and confius in fill up all the form lol.. n there'r still much things to do.. buy this n tht.. :cry
i wonder is the life in kms is like living in normal boarding school? (wit broken toilet, self dobi, n seniority things) coz tht's my previous experience liv'n in hostel la.. sob..
Koschei
26-06-2009, 11:57 PM
From my observations, broken toilets get fixed pretty quickly. Dobi is done by one of the makciks. You just have to send it on the correct day for your block. Each block gets one day slot and one night slot, except for the girls dorm, which got 2 slots (their block is the biggest block in college, but this might change because now the girls have 2 blocks, as compared to before when they only had 1 block.). Add RM 1 if you want to get your clothes dried. First come first serve basis, though (especially for the dryer.)
Seniority things? Not sure. Never really felt it. My seniors were pretty fun, once you got to know them. (having said that, I only knew a handful of them. Hahaha. xD)
Danial
28-06-2009, 02:07 AM
Don't worry about seniority things....we'll be nice....wouldn't we koschei???
battlecry
29-06-2009, 12:57 PM
KMS!!!
here i come!!!
(less than 48hours...:laugh excited)
huhu...
reglog
29-06-2009, 06:29 PM
last question i hope, what attire that we should wear during the registration day, for guys?...
one more, do they provide water heater in each room?:wink
speckboyz
29-06-2009, 11:12 PM
reglog: wht will u wear on tht day?(ur opinion).. coz i need some company. i think kemeja T without tie is enough. it's worst if i'm de only one wearing this attire..
i dunnoe wht exactly i feel rite now,:amazed
a bit excited, nervous, n blur of wht go'n to happen..
but i really hope tht, it's go'n to b fine there..
juz FEW hours left..
huhuhu..:nod
somehw, it's better nt expect smthg luxury there...
2 prevent frustration.. :cry
rainyshark
30-06-2009, 01:29 PM
last question i hope, what attire that we should wear during the registration day, for guys?...
one more, do they provide water heater in each room?:wink
a formal shirt will do
a water dispenser is provided in each floor and nope they do not provide water heater in each room
AtiPuspa
26-05-2010, 12:06 AM
hye.
im a spm09 leavers.
i got the a-level fr engineering at KMS.
any seniors taking a-lvl care to share ur experiences?
got a lot of things to ask.
hehe. :)
danial1901
30-05-2010, 06:26 PM
i'm going to take my a level here in engineering course n i am wandering, after i finish my a level, do i have a chance to study in europe instead of in australia or new zealand as stated in the website?
reglog
05-06-2010, 06:18 PM
atipuspa : sure, glad to help. feel free to ask
i'm going to take my a level here in engineering course n i am wandering, after i finish my a level, do i have a chance to study in europe instead of in australia or new zealand as stated in the website?
danial1901 : sadly its a no, you'll have to stick with aus. but some of ur super seniors get to go to UK, special cases. but chances that we both can't.
artix3
05-06-2010, 08:09 PM
atipuspa : sure, glad to help. feel free to ask
danial1901 : sadly its a no, you'll have to stick with aus. but some of ur super seniors get to go to UK, special cases. but chances that we both can't.
but reglog,
if u read the newspaper yesterday..
it said that starting next year MARA will only be sponsoring students to top unis in the world(LSE,imperial college,oxford etc)
i think there is still hope for the students to go to europe de :)
reglog
05-06-2010, 08:45 PM
but reglog,
if u read the newspaper yesterday..
it said that starting next year MARA will only be sponsoring students to top unis in the world(LSE,imperial college,oxford etc)
i think there is still hope for the students to go to europe de :)
so u know kolej mara seremban better than the student? not to be rude here but i studied there for almost a year now, know some infos regarding scholarship for those who are offered here.
for a-level engineering students in kms, you'll be offered to aus. unless you are mara scholars n offered elsewhere, than its a different matter.
artix3
05-06-2010, 09:04 PM
so u know kolej mara seremban better than the student? not to be rude here but i studied there for almost a year now, know some infos regarding scholarship for those who are offered here.
for a-level engineering students in kms, you'll be offered to aus. unless you are mara scholars n offered elsewhere, than its a different matter.
I did not say that i knew KMS better than the student,and i didnt doubt ur integrity as a student there.why u have to be kind of pissed off?i m only sharing what i know.:notrust
Im only saying that there is possibility since the administration of MARA
change its view towards sponsorship this year..
if there is no possibility of that happening then correct me..
fyi,there are also students from KMS a-level who managed to go to UK
click this link..(http://www.mara.gov.my/berita?p_p_id=101_INSTANCE_Qjgv&p_p_lifecycle=0&p_p_state=normal&p_p_mode=view&p_p_col_id=column-3&p_p_col_pos=1&p_p_col_count=2&_101_INSTANCE_Qjgv_struts_action=%2Ftagged_content%2Fview_content&_101_INSTANCE_Qjgv_redirect=%2Fberita&_101_INSTANCE_Qjgv_assetId=476274)
p/s:when making judgements,emotions should not be involved..
reglog
06-06-2010, 06:56 AM
read the news on the link. mara mentioned both kms n kmb. kmb do have students offered to uk in their offer letter, but not kms. though u still can go there, provided that u have excellent results for both AS n ALevel exam.(all As )
do i sound kind of pissed off? just to tell u that im not.
five2
07-06-2010, 02:19 AM
might sound inappropriate but is it wajib to wear tudung in kms?
nikfarahin92
07-06-2010, 03:57 PM
ummm...I get IB programme for education t0o...I just read the post earlier...is IB is too tough????:(
*I'm the new one here...hehe*
alter_ego
07-06-2010, 04:25 PM
ummm...I get IB programme for education t0o...I just read the post earlier...is IB is too tough????:(
*I'm the new one here...hehe*
Yea, at least that was what everyone told me before. But I think it depends on how people setting their mind.
One of seniors from KMB told me that, it should be okay as long as we follow the flow. Never procastinate and be consistent.
(She's currently pursuing medic in Ireland)
Just my 2 cent though. Btw, I'm future KMB-ian.:) So let's strive together and enjoy IB ! :laugh
reglog
07-06-2010, 09:24 PM
might sound inappropriate but is it wajib to wear tudung in kms?
erm how to say this... its a yes, n no. tudung is wajib for all muslimah. n no, ur choice wether to wear it or not in kms. just to tell u, most of the girls here wear tudung.. some even started here in kms.
ib is a tough dip. programme, not to scare you but just so that you'll be ready.n hey, many of the students passed the exam!:).
some blog u'll find really useful,
things to bring, things not to, etc..
http://spicesoflove.blogspot.com/2010/05/this-is-photo-essay-and-every-picture.htm (http://spicesoflove.blogspot.com/2010/05/this-is-photo-essay-and-every-picture.html)
http://alyssalurvechoc.blogspot.com/2010/05/examib-madnessjunior.html
nikfarahin92
07-06-2010, 09:28 PM
Yea, at least that was what everyone told me before. But I think it depends on how people setting their mind.
One of seniors from KMB told me that, it should be okay as long as we follow the flow. Never procastinate and be consistent.
(She's currently pursuing medic in Ireland)
Just my 2 cent though. Btw, I'm future KMB-ian.:) So let's strive together and enjoy IB ! :laugh
ouhh...i should set my mind that i can strive in IB:))
thanx ya...
KMB-ian t0o? in wahat course
*sorry! my English is quite broken...hehe*
alter_ego
07-06-2010, 10:30 PM
ouhh...i should set my mind that i can strive in IB:))
thanx ya...
KMB-ian t0o? in wahat course
*sorry! my English is quite broken...hehe*
Yeah, you should ! COme to think of it, last time before we seat for SPM, everybody was freaking out saying SPM is hard and all that. But at the end, we managed to pass it with flying colours right? Plus, we're scholars now !:laugh
Well, I know that IB is way way different than SPM. It's just an analogy though. I hope you'll understand what I'm trying to say. :P
Future KMB-ian, future doctor, InsyaAllah. :)
*LOL. It's okay, you can improve your english here in recom.:amuse*
nikfarahin92
08-06-2010, 01:13 PM
Yeah, you should ! COme to think of it, last time before we seat for SPM, everybody was freaking out saying SPM is hard and all that. But at the end, we managed to pass it with flying colours right? Plus, we're scholars now !:laugh
Well, I know that IB is way way different than SPM. It's just an analogy though. I hope you'll understand what I'm trying to say. :P
Future KMB-ian, future doctor, InsyaAllah. :)
*LOL. It's okay, you can improve your english here in recom.:amuse*
hehe...that's right! alhamdulillah :amuse
ouhh I see...another doctor, insyaALLAH:))
is there any cyber cafe in KMS? I'm not gonna bring laptop....
reglog
08-06-2010, 08:06 PM
hehe...that's right! alhamdulillah :amuse
ouhh I see...another doctor, insyaALLAH:))
is there any cyber cafe in KMS? I'm not gonna bring laptop....
u can use computer at the computer lab, but trust me you'll be using it rarely.. too far from the hostel. better use ur roomate's. n no need of computer for the 1st sem, unless for some night movies n games.:amuse
nikfarahin92
09-06-2010, 11:33 AM
u can use computer at the computer lab, but trust me you'll be using it rarely.. too far from the hostel. better use ur roomate's. n no need of computer for the 1st sem, unless for some night movies n games.:amuse
thanx reglog~~~
r0omate's :twisted: haha
I received the letter yesterday...the fee...we should pay by ourselves? not MARA? or we can claim for it after that?
alter_ego
09-06-2010, 12:34 PM
thanx reglog~~~
r0omate's :twisted: haha
I received the letter yesterday...the fee...we should pay by ourselves? not MARA? or we can claim for it after that?
I think we can claim it later. It's quiet a big amount though.
nursya
10-06-2010, 01:38 PM
juz quote fr my eng tcer.."no one wil no how suffer the ib is unless the students themselves..even their parents wouldn't noe.." hehe..juz hav faith in urself..ol da bez t all juniors..i'm taking ib tindikan..
btw, for ib juniors, u'll get back ur rm400++..4 the calculator's pyment..: )
alter_ego
10-06-2010, 01:41 PM
Some said we can claim up to RM700?
nursya
10-06-2010, 02:01 PM
up to rm700?? wow..tatz a lot..my batch only got rm 400 sumtink..i can't rmmber..plus monthly allowance
speckboyz
10-06-2010, 08:23 PM
hello!!
no laptop for the 1st sem?
ya, u can try it. but dont blame anyone if u gone crazy..
my advice, go find one while u still can. 1st sem, u have to do ur lab reports.. i mean SOME lab reports.. can u resist to go to the comp lab all the time? by mean, before it closed around 5.00pm (i guess, cuz i nvr bother to noe).. for me IB student must have one..
don't have money, don't find for luxury.. u can find notebook less than 2K nowadays.. even, some of my seniors have to bring their desktop-pc in the hostel..
nikfarahin92
11-06-2010, 07:13 PM
juz quote fr my eng tcer.."no one wil no how suffer the ib is unless the students themselves..even their parents wouldn't noe.." hehe..juz hav faith in urself..ol da bez t all juniors..i'm taking ib tindikan..
btw, for ib juniors, u'll get back ur rm400++..4 the calculator's pyment..: )
haha...finally I met my senior to be...:))
can I get back the payment for the fee?
alter_ego
11-06-2010, 07:18 PM
haha...finally I met my senior to be...:))
can I get back the payment for the fee?
This is the answer.
for ib juniors, u'll get back ur rm400++..4 the calculator's pyment..: )
But a senior from KMB said we can get up to RM700. No sure though.:)
danial1901
16-06-2010, 09:39 PM
im goin 2 take a level at kms, so i want 2 ask anyone of u who have done or still doin a level there, do we need a laptop i mean 4 doin assignment n such?
speckboyz
18-06-2010, 10:42 PM
im goin 2 take a level at kms, so i want 2 ask anyone of u who have done or still doin a level there, do we need a laptop i mean 4 doin assignment n such?
i'm taking IB here in KMS.. but i have a romie who taking Alvl, so far i never see him using any laptop to do his assignment.. he even don't bother to have one.. most of a lvl students bring their laptop to play games, but not for study or assignment purposes. :)
zahinshadow
22-06-2010, 11:23 PM
salam.. hi, i`ve got mara scholarship for the enginnering course at kms n will be registered there this month.. so, i`m quite curious about this college.. you know, i just don`t want to be shock and awkward about new environment there.. so i just want to ask couple of questions...
1. what`s the cu-curricular activities that are open for us (the students) to join there?
2. is there are martial arts club?? well.. i`m so eager to join martial arts.. it just like in my blood.. he3
p/s: sorry guys, my english is not so good and i hope you guys understand the ideas that i`m trying to say here.. he3
speckboyz
23-06-2010, 12:20 AM
salam zahin..
dunt worry u'll get use to the new environment here. After sometime u'll glad to be here rather than kmb. Basically, our life here in kms is a bit more to like an adult..
Ans to ur quest:
-There are a lot activities u can join here.. such as hiking, cave exploration, n etc.. Even though u'r taking A lvl, u still can join the activities organised by the IB student.. Still not satisfy? u can also organize ur own activity that u find intrsting.
-love martial art? there's a silat club here..
nikfarahin92
26-06-2010, 09:29 PM
Salam...
of course the ATM machine is available in KMS right? but which bank?
*in MARA letters, there is an optional bank such as bank islam, CIMB and BSN...
i'm thinking to open a few account bank:amuse
speckboyz
27-06-2010, 08:18 AM
Salam...
of course the ATM machine is available in KMS right? but which bank?
*in MARA letters, there is an optional bank such as bank islam, CIMB and BSN...
i'm thinking to open a few account bank:amuse
Sadly to say:cry, we don't have any ATM machine inside the campus, if that's what u mean.. but u can walk to the nearest shop'n mall to withdraw some money. If u want to open an account, i recommend Maybank, based on the most frequent ATM machine in seremban and also everywhere else.. (but it's not among the options). If u want to do some bank stuff like cash deposit or what so ever, there is CIMB and BSN somewhere here in Seremban, quite far from the hostel. u can take cab. Hard to say, i don't quite sure where they are, but i pretty sure they exist in Seremban.. :)):laugh
Enjoy ur life in these few days left, ..:))
farelz
27-06-2010, 02:25 PM
salam.. hi, i`ve got mara scholarship for the enginnering course at kms n will be registered there this month.. so, i`m quite curious about this college.. you know, i just don`t want to be shock and awkward about new environment there.. so i just want to ask couple of questions...
1. what`s the cu-curricular activities that are open for us (the students) to join there?
1. first of all, A-level's students, kms has already organised for our co-curriculum..such as JPAM(jabatan pertahanan awam malaysia)...there will be club n sports tat u need to choose one...but there are some of other activities organised by others tat u can participate in...btw, for jpam it is compulsory for all A-levels students in kms, while sports n club u can choose either...:)
[QUOTE=danial1901;332009]im goin 2 take a level at kms, so i want 2 ask anyone of u who have done or still doin a level there, do we need a laptop i mean 4 doin assignment n such?
laptop is not necessary to bring along....bcause A-level students do not need to do assignments using laptop...lecturers will give handbooks, papers to do...but laptop is needed when u feel so bored...huhuhu....yar undoubtedly, laptop is one of the disruption if u bring along (playing games)...but if u can manage well ur time to study and playing games...then why not...:))
msaifularif_isa
24-06-2011, 08:59 PM
hello there guys.
ill be studying A level ; Accountancy course.
anyone got the same programme as me ? any seniors taking this course ?
btw, is it true there's a basketball court ? and how far is the shopping mall if i walk?
thanks in advance.