View Full Version : JPA scholars: Mantoux test
01-06-2007, 11:27 PM
Let's sing
(Celine Dion-My heart will go on)
Everynight in my dream, i see u, i feel u....
I thought previously someone mentioned only 33 people rejected jpa right???means everyone is competing for the 33 places or jpa already open up extra places??but according to the paper,jpa will not increase the number of the scholarships given to oversea rite..
01-06-2007, 11:58 PM
Let's sing
(Celine Dion-My heart will go on)
Everynight in my dream, i see u, i feel u....
in a nutshell, yes or no?? UTP??
02-06-2007, 12:04 AM
In a nutshell, UTP.
Continue to sing?
02-06-2007, 12:14 AM
In a nutshell, UTP.
Continue to sing?
it's ok..at least you got UTP...at least..all my hopes has scattered now..
yea...keep on singing...perhaps change song larr...
y so less ppl success appealing for jpa dis year
insted last year alot ppl get after appeal...
its weird
errr.... my school also many ppl get JPA after appeal..... maybe they are not ReComers...
huhu...then what's their course essentially?? all of them scored more than 10A1s??
Yea.. MOST of them scored more than 10A1s.... For medicine... seems all get Indonesia.. btw.. other countries (eg US, Canada, Australia) are not neglected too...
So how many of them get medic??
one of my friends rejected the offer to indonesia too...
02-06-2007, 11:48 AM
y so less ppl success appealing for jpa dis year
insted last year alot ppl get after appeal...
its weird
errr.... my school also many ppl get JPA after appeal..... maybe they are not ReComers...
huhu...then what's their course essentially?? all of them scored more than 10A1s??
Yea.. MOST of them scored more than 10A1s.... For medicine... seems all get Indonesia.. btw.. other countries (eg US, Canada, Australia) are not neglected too...
The spots available are based on the countries that others reject. So, it would be based on that. If many students reject Indonesia, then there are some spots available for that country.
maxx, how many more students from our alma mater got JPA?
canada
02-06-2007, 12:00 PM
11A1, 1A2 is rejected! Failed also appealing!
I think mayb the income is too high...
Allan89
02-06-2007, 12:13 PM
Hello
Im new here... :) Appealed for JPA too...got Medic in Indonesia too...duno wana accept or not...not worth ( that's the reason those who got it in the first intake rejected it, so we got it :P ) Those who got Medic in Indonesia, what do you think???
evan89
02-06-2007, 01:28 PM
Hello
Im new here... :) Appealed for JPA too...got Medic in Indonesia too...duno wana accept or not...not worth ( that's the reason those who got it in the first intake rejected it, so we got it :P ) Those who got Medic in Indonesia, what do you think???
if u could afford urself 2 better environment den u can reject it
if u couldnt miss it den u shuld accept it
i believe jpa will send u 2 save place in indo and guarrently for ur safety... dey wont send 2 to terrible place
white_black
02-06-2007, 02:11 PM
Could the seniors or anyone teach us how to appeal for the 2nd time? I don't mind giving it another shot..u'll not lose anything by trying right.. (hmm..)
How to appeal again? To who, n how??
Thx in advanced..
canada
02-06-2007, 06:42 PM
Hello
is a good opportunity, u should accept it...
since jpa sends u there, the uni there must be qualified and recognized... the environment is ok....
evan89
02-06-2007, 09:29 PM
any one know hwo 2 appeal again for the scholarship?
vetkin_gray
02-06-2007, 09:50 PM
i'm going to curtin, under petronas.. 5 years at sarawak, geology
Bubbly_Putsie
03-06-2007, 01:12 AM
any one know how 2 appeal again for the scholarship?
Ya i wanna noe how to appeal 2nd time...any help?hopefully sum1 reject accountancy...aiyoh...my dreams all hancur...been crying for so long...bengkak tau mata...
03-06-2007, 01:20 AM
Ya i wanna noe how to appeal 2nd time...any help?hopefully sum1 reject accountancy...aiyoh...my dreams all hancur...been crying for so long...bengkak tau mata...
8O 8O 8O 8O 8O
somehow, failed to secure JPA definitely is not the end of world...there are plenty of better options despite JPA in order to further studies...
good luck...
Susyi
03-06-2007, 03:52 AM
Hello
From my point of view, i think that u should accept this scholarship even though is going to Indo. Firstly, don't be afraid of the political issues and the racial problem over there because it is only happen in certain part in Indo. Also, the goverment definately would not send u to these dangerous places.
If i m not mistaken, my aunt told me before that her friend's daughter was being offered to do medicine in Indo. Due to her family financial condition, she accepted the offer. But after this, she obtained a flying colour result in her a level, and she ask to change the country. Finally she was given to Ireland.
Excal
03-06-2007, 07:25 AM
In a nutshell, UTP.
Continue to sing?
it's ok..at least you got UTP...at least..all my hopes has scattered now..
yea...keep on singing...perhaps change song larr...
What about Delta Goodrem... Born To Try
03-06-2007, 11:35 AM
For those who failed in appeal, there's still a last chance--the 2nd intake, which is after the registration date. If there're students didn't turn up for registration, JPA will take in other students to replace. Keep your fingers crossed.
evan89
03-06-2007, 11:39 AM
For those who failed in appeal, there's still a last chance--the 2nd intake, which is after the registration date. If there're students didn't turn up for registration, JPA will take in other students to replace. Keep your fingers crossed.
but how is de procedure to appeal...
i am asking for my friend...
he in matriks now
03-06-2007, 11:42 AM
but how is de procedure to appeal...
i am asking for my friend...
he in matriks now
I'm not sure, but personally, I think you don't have to do second appeal. They will just choose from the first appeal list i.e those who failed in first appeal....
Try contact MCA, perhaps they can help....
03-06-2007, 11:45 AM
Hello
Still and old story here..... Do you really want to do medicine? If yes, are you confident to get a place in local uni later? Or can you afford to go privately? How much do you care about the bond-to-money value? Do you care about not-so-glamour doing medicine in Indonesia? Answer these and you might find the answer.
-ELaiNE-
03-06-2007, 04:04 PM
Yes..someone please enlighten us on the 2nd appeal..through MCA again? I think the MCA guy is already fed up with me..i called so many times for the 1st appeal..
And Bubbly_Putsie, i think you stand a chance since you applied accountancy..bank negara results are not released yet..there may be jpa recipients turning down jpa accountancy if they secure bank negara..for me(i applied pharmacy), i don't think there's hope..no one would reject jpa pharmacy.. :cry:
Still contemplating whether i should submit 2nd appeal..btw,is there a dateline for it?
evan89
03-06-2007, 04:09 PM
Yes..someone please enlighten us on the 2nd appeal..through MCA again? I think the MCA guy is already fed up with me..i called so many times for the 1st appeal..
And Bubbly_Putsie, i think you stand a chance since you applied accountancy..bank negara results are not released yet..there may be jpa recipients turning down jpa accountancy if they secure bank negara..for me(i applied pharmacy), i don't think there's hope..no one would reject jpa pharmacy.. :cry:
Still contemplating whether i should submit 2nd appeal..btw,is there a dateline for it?
no harm 2 try again for 2nd time
since some jpa scholar oso get bnm scholarship
so if they reject it den u all can replace de empty place
and alot oso refuse 2 take medic in indo so there is still a hope there
maybe u can idrectly email jpa or rite a letter to them
tat is my opinion dunno it work o not
white_black
03-06-2007, 04:15 PM
Do anyone tried appeal for the second time before?
Any senior or anyone?
Could u guys guide us a bit on how to appeal for the second time?
03-06-2007, 04:29 PM
Do anyone tried appeal for the second time before?
Any senior or anyone?
Could u guys guide us a bit on how to appeal for the second time?
yea...please kindly share here if you guys know how to appeal for the second time...thanks in advance
03-06-2007, 04:35 PM
IMO, as soon as possible...
canada
03-06-2007, 07:30 PM
the chance to succeed after appealling is extremely slim, esp for those without the help of mca... but mca will first consider family income first ...
03-06-2007, 08:16 PM
bad news...
MCA wont help those who failed after first appeal to appeal again... :(
evan89
03-06-2007, 09:41 PM
bad news...
u phone n ask?
03-06-2007, 10:57 PM
bad news...
u phone n ask?
yup...the lady asked me to study form 6 instead...
*DANG*
04-06-2007, 12:07 AM
thank god i got the JPA after appealing...
samuraix, dont be upset...
have you ever heard of every pathway leads to rome?
initially, i was dejected and upset...but now no longer...
huhu... :D :D
Thanks God..
lyhui
04-06-2007, 12:54 AM
haha..your result same with me,im from art stream too!I plan to take accountancy too,but i din even take it during spm...i dont have basic knowledge about accountancy.Im depress too,so where are you goin for preparetion study?
i think most of straight As are from sc stream too.For example,Im the only who got it in my sch...sigh*but,we must proud of ourselves..muahhahah
Appolo
04-06-2007, 12:06 PM
statistically, the amount of scholarships offered for engineering and actuarial science is higher than biotechnology after appeal.Still, medic has the highest percentage of acceptance even though the country might not be as promising as the one on the list.
evan89
04-06-2007, 01:37 PM
Can we send email 2 jpa to ask sumthings tat we dunno
will them reply our email?
I heard a few of them email jpa to ask questions...
wat is the email add??can share it with us here??
evan89
04-06-2007, 01:52 PM
esila@<hidden>
i get from de web site
i send a email go ask bout the medical checkup but havent receive reply from them
04-06-2007, 02:25 PM
yes, you can definitely email them your questions.. they would try to reply your mail asap but i think it would be more effective if you call them straight away... then try to get hold of the officer in charge of your pre-u and get his direct line or his email.. then it would be easy for you to correspon with jpa next time.
evan89
04-06-2007, 03:08 PM
yes, you can definitely email them your questions.. they would try to reply your mail asap but i think it would be more effective if you call them straight away... then try to get hold of the officer in charge of your pre-u and get his direct line or his email.. then it would be easy for you to correspon with jpa next time.
I called them already juz wan to confirm again...
How to get hold v the officer in charge of my pre-u?
04-06-2007, 03:44 PM
You can email them but sometimes the respective people who received it have a full inbox and cannot received your message. Otherwise, they are too busy replying to all the emails and yours will be "terhimpit".
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 10:44 PM
I just knew the JPA appeal result TODAY, at 9.52pm!!!! 8O 8O 8O
I got Medicine in Russia... I have not decided yet.. there is about 1 hour left... :roll:
At the same time, I am preparing to go for PETRONAS Scholarship.
now, I don't know which one to choose...
Think...think...and think..........
Leonard
04-06-2007, 11:03 PM
what is Mantoux test? Is it an injection or wat?
The form indicates that it is mandatory but the doctor dont require me to do this test.
So, anyone who has done medical check-up, are u experiencing the same situation? Help me, plz. Thanks in advance
evan89
04-06-2007, 11:05 PM
I got Medicine in Russia... I have not decided yet.. there is about 1 hour left... :roll:
u r lucky.. Petronas offer u to oversea? wat course dey offer u..
Russia not bad la and better compare to indo..
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 11:12 PM
Yes, oversea in petroleum engineering.... and i'm still thinking.. about 46 mins left...huhu
evan89
04-06-2007, 11:14 PM
Yes, oversea in petroleum engineering.... and i'm still thinking.. about 46 mins left...huhu
engineering and medic is two career tat totally different..
choose according to ur interest lo might help u alot in ur study
petronas offer u go which country?
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 11:19 PM
The test is to make sure whether you have tuberculosis (TB) or not..
It is an injection and you will know the result after 2-3 days. If there is a reaction on your skin, with a diameter more than 10mm (I think so, dont remember)... it's really a bad sign.... That was told by the doctor when I went 4 medical check-up 2 weeks ago...
Hope this info will help u...
summer_wizard
04-06-2007, 11:27 PM
be sure of what u want and go for it...
04-06-2007, 11:39 PM
i hope that link below will help you.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mantoux_test
P/S: i have gone through it.Nth 2 be worried .
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 11:39 PM
Country? Usually either US or UK.
Thanks very much to evan89 and summer_wizard for your advice and spending your time to stay "thinking" with me...
I decided to take PETRONAS... I spent a lot time and money preparing 4 it. But the real thing is, I love Physics,Chemistry and Maths more than Biology. Hehe..
04-06-2007, 11:40 PM
Thanks very much to evan89 and summer_wizard for your advice and spending your time to stay "thinking" with me...
I decided to take PETRONAS... I spent a lot time and money preparing 4 it. But the real thing is, I love Physics,Chemistry and Maths more than Biology. Hehe..
i think you have made a wise decision...best luck to you!! :D
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 11:43 PM
Thank you. :D
04-06-2007, 11:49 PM
Thank you. :D
my pleasure... :D
evan89
04-06-2007, 11:52 PM
welcome... best luck to u :o
us or uk is definitely better than russia
and petronas bond is definitely better than jpa bond
u got nice allowance from them...
since u reject for jpa den there will be a empty place to those ppl who appeal...
AppryL89
04-06-2007, 11:55 PM
welcome... best luck to u :o
us or uk is definitely better than russia
and petronas bond is definitely better than jpa bond
u got nice allowance from them...
since u reject for jpa den there will be a empty place to those ppl who appeal...
Thank you!!!!
You are right... :D :D :D :D :D
mumeichan
05-06-2007, 12:56 AM
The form indicates that it is mandatory but the doctor dont require me to do this test.
So, anyone who has done medical check-up, are u experiencing the same situation? Help me, plz. Thanks in advance
The test in mandatory. It is in the form so they want it. Maybe we need it for overseas cause not all countries have compulsory BCG vaccination.
Don't worry about the result. You may get a false positive result due to your BCG which you have done twice or more. And x-ray and a sputum test will clear you in an event you get a false positive mantoux test result.
05-06-2007, 09:25 AM
The test in mandatory. It is in the form so they want it. Maybe we need it for overseas cause not all countries have compulsory BCG vaccination.
Don't worry about the result. You may get a false positive result due to your BCG which you have done twice or more. And x-ray and a sputum test will clear you in an event you get a false positive mantoux test result. my doctor hv a look at my X ray flim then she conclude that I dun need to take the test... is it okay ?
sheithin321
05-06-2007, 09:50 AM
Don't worry about the result. You may get a false positive result due to your BCG which you have done twice or more. And x-ray and a sputum test will clear you in an event you get a false positive mantoux test result. my doctor hv a look at my X ray flim then she conclude that I dun need to take the test... is it okay ?
same problem here...
is the mantoux test compulsory?
the doctor told me that x-ray is good enough to check tibi so i dont need to undergo the mantoux test..
so confused :?
mumeichan
05-06-2007, 10:39 AM
An x-ray cannot rule out TB 100%. A mantoux test can't either.
But JPA wants to see the mantoux test result, so just tell the doctor JPA says they want the result regardless whether you have TB or not.
For example, blood glucose test is better than an urine glucose test, but JPA wants urine glucose test so urine glucose test it is.
Kevin89
05-06-2007, 12:59 PM
Yup, i got a false result (the size is 10mm and that time the nurse said i'm TB positvie 8O ). Later the doctor said i had a BCG vaccination before, resulting a false result. The X-ray also showed that i am normal.
05-06-2007, 02:21 PM
Yup, i got a false result (the size is 10mm and that time the nurse said i'm TB positvie 8O ). Later the doctor said i had a BCG vaccination before, resulting a false result. The X-ray also showed that i am normal.
no worries la.. docs would have the final say.. dont care what the nurses claim what you have.. as long as the doc says u're fine then you're fine...
windhoe2
05-06-2007, 02:22 PM
An x-ray cannot rule out TB 100%. A mantoux test can't either.
But JPA wants to see the mantoux test result, so just tell the doctor JPA says they want the result regardless whether you have TB or not.
For example, blood glucose test is better than an urine glucose test, but JPA wants urine glucose test so urine glucose test it is.
last time,I didnt take it. nothing to be worried
evan89
05-06-2007, 02:40 PM
Since there r ppl rejected jpa to take other scholarship so maybe they will give the empty place to those who appeal..
Juz my thinking correct me if wrong :lol:
05-06-2007, 03:13 PM
I called them already juz wan to confirm again...
How to get hold v the officer in charge of my pre-u?
call the main line. the last three digits are zeroes if i'm not wrong.. or if not ask them to link you to the pengajian sebelum ke luar negara department.. then tell them which course you are in... say a levels medicine in INTEC.. then you tell them this.. and say you want to speak to the officer in charge of this.. when they have connected him/ her to you.. get his name and his extension line.. so next time when you call ask directly to be connected to this line or mention his name.. they'll ink him/her to you then..
05-06-2007, 06:26 PM
sorry, AppryL89, maybe i am a bit too late, but may i know something?
For the Petronas result, u know it before the JPA 1st result(released on 11 of may 2007) or after that?
windhoe2
06-06-2007, 12:21 AM
for sure, they always reply. Next time when u go overseas, u will have specific JPA officer to contact regarding everything, They really do a good job in replying.
06-06-2007, 05:17 AM
is there an option 4 us 4 nt 2 take mantoux test???
06-06-2007, 07:38 AM
It's all very confusing, and I would try summarize the whole thing about BCG vs. Mantoux test result vs. X-ray vs. TB later tonight (am having exam in four hours). It would be great if there are members who have learned about TB to elaborate the details.
mumeichan
06-06-2007, 07:57 AM
is there an option 4 us 4 nt 2 take mantoux test???
Does it sound scary.
06-06-2007, 09:55 AM
for sure, they always reply. Next time when u go overseas, u will have specific JPA officer to contact regarding everything, They really do a good job in replying.
even in you pre-u you have specific officers in charge of your programme as well.. normally they would be seeing you guys in your college maybe in a week or 2 after you have settled in that college.. get their names, contacts, email, and as well as their assistants contacts as well.. sometimes, the officers are not around, so you can still refer your problem to their assistants...
AppryL89
06-06-2007, 10:24 AM
For the Petronas result, u know it before the JPA 1st result(released on 11 of may 2007) or after that?
Owh... it's okay..
I knew that I got Petronas before the JPA first result. Then, I tried to appeal just to "cuba nasib". 8O
chtay211
06-06-2007, 10:45 AM
:twisted: haiz,
ur :mencuba nisib" actually is "merompak naib" orang lain lol
so u reject jpa already?
Owh... it's okay..
I knew that I got Petronas before the JPA first result. Then, I tried to appeal just to "cuba nasib". 8O
AppryL89
06-06-2007, 12:20 PM
:twisted: haiz,
ur :mencuba nisib" actually is "merompak naib" orang lain lol
so u reject jpa already?
Owh... it's okay..
Are u mad at me??? Just kidding......
Maybe you don't know what I feel.. nevermind. :(
The story begins.........
During the last JPA interview, I felt confident to continue with medicine and didn't change my course to architecture. Why? I didn't take Lukisan Kejuruteraan or Pendidikan Seni in SPM. How to apply if don't have even basic in drawing? So, no confidence to take architecture. Although, I fulfilled all the requirements for it but I think I have "small" chance to get the scholarship. Now, the main issue here is to get the scholarship. I will accept whatever offer given to me. I don't want to burden my parents anymore. My family is not rich.
When I appealed, and applied for architecture which I love the most. I wrote " Sebelum ini, saya telah memohon dalam bidang perubatan. Tetapi, saya memohon untuk melanjutkan pelajaran dalam bidang senibina demi mencapai cita-cita saya dalam bidang tersebut. Ini adalah atas kehendak dan minat saya yang sebenar."
How do I know that I got JPA but in other field? I really, really hope that I will get architecture. Although, it is very impossible. That's why I call it"mencuba nasib".
For your information, I must reply the Petronas before 31st May to confirm that I accept the offer. While the JPA Appeal result came out on the next day, 1st June. If I reject the Petronas offer because of JPA, then I also don't get the JPA, And, before that, UiTM and matriculation offers also "dah terlepas". So how???? We can't predict what will happen in the next minute, hour, day or year.....
It's very hard to explain the whole thing here....
That is not "merompak nasib orang lain" like what you said. Different people have different thought.
I'm very, very sorry if I hurt your feelings and to anybody who felt the same..
06-06-2007, 01:00 PM
AppryL89, hi, i have a PM for u, can u reply me as soon as possible?
06-06-2007, 03:12 PM
Eerm. Mantoux test is not a good measure in Malaysia. There are a few circumstances under which you get a positive result (a circle of more than 10mm):
1. You had TB infection in the past.
2. You have TB infection now.
3. You had BCG vaccination in the past.
But it's not an accurate test, and even if you had BCG vaccination in the past, you may or may not get a positive result.
The only thing doctor can be pretty confident is: if the result is negative, you most likely are not infected with TB. That's the only useful interpretation of Mantoux test in Malaysia. In fact a chest x-ray is a better tool to diagnose and screen for TB. That's why they always ask for chest x-ray when you apply for visa.
Don't be afraid, it's just a mosquito bite. :) And even if anyone happens to have TB, it's a very curable disease.
windhoe2
06-06-2007, 03:40 PM
Eerm. Mantoux test is not a good measure in Malaysia. There are a few circumstances under which you get a positive result (a circle of more than 10mm):
But it's not an accurate test, and even if you had BCG vaccination in the past, you may or may not get a positive result.
The only thing doctor can be pretty confident is: if the result is negative, you most likely are not infected with TB. That's the only useful interpretation of Mantoux test in Malaysia. In fact a chest x-ray is a better tool to diagnose and screen for TB. That's why they always ask for chest x-ray when you apply for visa.
Don't be afraid, it's just a mosquito bite. :) And even if anyone happens to have TB, it's a very curable disease.
In US, there is just a new TB case which is resistant to all kinds of drugs even 2nd and 3rd line of drugs last week.
Hopefully it wont be spread to many people.
mumeichan
06-06-2007, 08:36 PM
In US, there is just a new TB case which is resistant to all kinds of drugs even 2nd and 3rd line of drugs last week.
Drug resistant TB does not mean it is antibody resistant.Furthermore TB is not very contagious compared to other bacteria and viruses.
06-06-2007, 09:05 PM
Drug resistant TB does not mean it is antibody resistant.Furthermore TB is not very contagious compared to other bacteria and viruses.
There are two major phases of TB infection: latent infection, and reactivation. 2 billion people in this world have TB latent infection, but a much smaller proportion of people have active TB disease. It's the TB disease that's dangerous and infectious.
I am not sure about the details for this Andrew Speaker. Apparently he has extensively drug resistant TB infection, but not an active TB. If that is the case, it's true that he's non-infectious. Even if he's having an active TB, it's not a particularly infectious disease.
However, if one does get infected by this extensively drug resistant TB, it's true that the person has a high health risk.