View Full Version : Sunway University College

zureen
05-06-2007, 09:36 AM
anyone from SyUC here? Any course, any sponsor..
i don't really know a thing about this place...just want a brief description..

going there in July..GCE A-Levels under PETRONAS

can someone please enlighten me on this?

thanks. :D

leonheart_89
05-06-2007, 10:34 PM
me going for MUFY under TNB... asking for info too... anyone can enlighten me what preparation do I need to do...

zureen
06-06-2007, 07:27 PM
me going for MUFY under TNB... asking for info too... anyone can enlighten me what preparation do I need to do...

aaahhh finally....

leonheart_89, are you a non-bumi or bumi?

aijudanuar
18-07-2007, 04:54 PM
hey guys!!
I'm a proud sunway alumni!!

I'm currently in Australia doing Chemical Engineering at University of New South Wales under Petronas.I did MUFY last year in sunway.

Don't worry!Sunway is great.Really,you'd get a real taste of college life since you'll be mingling with loads of different people.Be sure to be active ya,make the most of your time.

MUFY coursework isn't as rigorous as its other australian counterparts like SAM.But the stuff you will learn are practical,and sufficient to help you slide into university studies.Have fun in MUFY!!Mine was really enjoyable.

Hmm...A-Level aite?Well its safe to say that A-Levels in Sunway is has a very good reputation,so you'll be in safe hands.

Enjoy sunway life!!

18-07-2007, 06:12 PM
Just don't forget to study. And not just play only because of Sunway Lagoon and Sunway Piramid. :D

19-07-2007, 02:19 PM
Just don't forget to study. And not just play only because of Sunway Lagoon and Sunway Piramid. :Doh. Those dont reli attracting. at least nt for a month.

leonheart_89
20-07-2007, 06:25 PM
hey guys!!

I'm currently in Australia doing Chemical Engineering at University of New South Wales under Petronas.I did MUFY last year in sunway.

Don't worry!Sunway is great.Really,you'd get a real taste of college life since you'll be mingling with loads of different people.Be sure to be active ya,make the most of your time.

MUFY coursework isn't as rigorous as its other australian counterparts like SAM.But the stuff you will learn are practical,and sufficient to help you slide into university studies.Have fun in MUFY!!Mine was really enjoyable.

Hmm...A-Level aite?Well its safe to say that A-Levels in Sunway is has a very good reputation,so you'll be in safe hands.

Enjoy sunway life!!

oh... the first MUFY scholar that encounter... but I'm gonna do accountancy in Uni... erm, aijudanuar... did you apply to Melbourne or ANU last time...?

aaahhh finally....

leonheart_89, are you a non-bumi or bumi?

I am non-bumi...

burpsi
17-10-2007, 06:39 PM
Erlo Zureen~~

I'm currently studying A level in SYUC...My semester will end this year...

SYUC is usually deemed as 'rich kids' college...I can't really say how true is true but there are some nice cars in the parking lot. You may encounter people who has been around for years because they deferred many times.

The library is better than Taylor's and the college has so far undergone a face lift with new information centre and benches. There is a field as well unlike other colleges. It is the environment that stands out though Taylor's has manyyyy academic achievements.

There is a cafeteria that offers Hotdog 1901, San Francisco Coffee, Boaz etc, though students will usually hang out at 3 main shops outside of college widely known as white, pink and yellow. Oh, there's also medan if you want to get cheap food.

What else, there concentration of international students in SYUC is considerably more than other colleges around.

The lecturers in Sunway are not bad. Anyway, lecturers do not really count because you are on your own at the end of the day. =)

Have a nice time in SYUC!!!

teiya_drumzaddict
03-05-2008, 08:43 PM
may I know a clear picture of doing CAT in Sunway? I wished to know about the study environment etc. Aand what's the rough cost of doing CAT in Sunway? Thanks ~

zureen
03-05-2008, 09:06 PM
may I know a clear picture of doing CAT in Sunway? I wished to know about the study environment etc. Aand what's the rough cost of doing CAT in Sunway? Thanks ~

haha..i opened this thread last yr, it has been a long way..i'm currently enjoying myself here although AS is near..and i should be studying right now! haha

ACCA?

i'm not so sure about the cost, but CAT/ACCA in Sunway is currently the best in Malaysia. high quality. it's a tough course, my housemate stays up every night studying. one thing for sure, Sunway ACCA graduates get good jobs with good salary...as Sunway carries a good name for ACCA.

the environment? i don't know where to start. to cut it short, Sunway College is an enjoyable place filled with fun people!

shakira
03-05-2008, 09:28 PM
CAT and ACCA cost rm35000.. i want to go there too. not so sure now. they give out high-achiever's scholarship to those scoring 8a's and above i think. the scholarship is a discount on the tuition fees. and its only for the CAT. to get a scholarship for the ACCA, you have to get the malaysian prize or world prize.

seeweijie
05-05-2008, 08:46 PM
For further information u can call
Wong Kam Weng

I got it during the edu fair at my place...

I am goin there too if i din get any scholarship offer...

Student who got 11 A1 will get full tuition fee waiver...

teiya_drumzaddict
09-05-2008, 12:08 PM
i c so how do I apply for the tuition fee waiver?

seeweijie
09-05-2008, 01:20 PM
If i am not mistaken, they will offer you when you have gained admission into Sunway University College...
If not you just ask the officer there, they will provide you with greater details...

awyeong
26-07-2008, 04:53 PM
omg y petronas send u to a levels 1=(....i m doing all my course in monash(msia) doing mufy nw as well 2008 july intake lol....well contact me la mufy students as well as petronas students =)...awyeong_141@<hidden> add me in msn:))

piano gal 101
13-08-2008, 08:54 AM
Hi! i'm studying mufy (august intake)...anyone from mufy applied for biasiswa tambahan jpa?... have u received the offer letter already?

DireAnguish5678
23-01-2009, 05:18 AM
Hi! i'm studying mufy (august intake)...anyone from mufy applied for biasiswa tambahan jpa?... have u received the offer letter already?

I didn't.

hey guys!!

Enjoy sunway life!!

Okay, some things about MUFY. Just trust me on this, please. Oh but TNB scholars, you don't have to worry cause I really think it'll be a cake walk for you guys. A lot of MUFY students who do engineering in Monash get like way more than 280. Use studying techniques such as class discussions and study-group discussions, memory techniques, and flash cards. Always ask questions to the lecturer. It's not just straight forward reading/memorizing all the time. Syllabus is not so broad, so don't do extensive or additional reading, you musn't waste your time on that. You can read ahead, that's good, as long as you don't look into other books or other syllabus.

Do not take Globalization. It's very hard. A lot of people regretted it. Other subjects are fine. There was this guy, who did Further Mathematics in A Levels, and then he do Advanced Maths in MUFY. He said that Advanced Maths is hard, cause a lot of stuff is new and he didn't learn those topics in A Levels. I dunno lar, whether or not to beleive. He's like really smart, so I don't see why he had to do his pre-u again. I think he scored well in the end. Oh well, irrelevant.

Topic tests are something people say they study for, but maybe it's not a good idea to study specifically for each topic test. First of all, you'll always have homework to do, so you should get on top of that first. Secondly, since topic tests are so frequent, always prepare early. Read ahead if you know what the coming topics are. Always continuously study, so that you are very ready for tests and exams. Past year questions definitely come out in topic tests, so download them from the THOL website earlier, and then do the questions that are relevent. If the particular paper has no answers, you can still at least discuss with friends or ask the lecturer. Past year questions are very important, as your lecturers will soon tell you. Topic tests carry a large percentage of your internal marks, and your internal marks are important. Lecturers say that even though internal and external is 50/50, your external needs to match your internal, otherwise australian MUFY exam board may scrutinize your internal marks.

You can do VCE questions like, for Chemistry, but usually your lecturer will already supply you with those so no need to worry about getting it yourself.

Always listen to what the lecturers say, so that means make sure you come to class on time. It can be hard if you get held back in one class, so maybe you can notify the current lecturer (if she didn't realise time's up that it's time for you to go to your next class. When classes get dismissed early, you can stay inside the class and do homework or study since the room is booked to your group until the following class commences -- this will save time going to the library where you have to put down your bag at baggage area, or if you go downstairs to student commons. Your lecturer usually knows the syllabus very well, and always tells you about the disappointments they face when they're marking final exam papers. They know about places to focus, and they have good memory tips. Follow what they say, and ask them questions until you're very clear. In MUFY, the papers are usually quite rushed, so you must have a good understanding of the question to provide an answer that is precise, concise, and tailored to the question without needing to elaborate too much. The marking scheme places emphasis on keywords.

For maths, aim high. The topic tests can be difficult, but remember that the final exam is always harder. Quite a few people get 100%, so try to get that for each topic test. Maths is easy. The overall mean for MUFY students' maths topic tests results are around 60%. Lecturers may want to see that you did your homework every class. I mean, everyone also know that if you didn't do your homework you're not gonna be able to keep up.

English A, write practice essays. Comprehension questions use your own words. That's why we're allowed to bring in dictionary for exam -- you look up all the synonymous words. If the question asks you your opinion put in your personal experience as well.

English B, please read the texts. You can make short notes for possible answers for possible questions. There are subthemes with specific character combinations. You need to already have the points in your head in order to match with characters. Practice essays.
Research project can be daunting, but it's definitely possible. Use plagiarism detect website to make sure your work is completely original. Most people can make a good paper just from referring to one book. Gale Cengage is a good e-resource, as are most of the others. Research project is about following the format and always showing your lecturer printed drafts so that you know your mistakes. No, I don't know anyone you can take/copy a research project from, so sorry. (It's quite dangerous if the lecturer realise it's a copy from previous year, they can know).

Science subjects, take your labs seriously. Physics you get marks for each lab report, and easy to make careless mistake and lose lots of marks. Chemistry you have lab quiz, so you must remember roughly what you did in last week's lab. Biology must really put an effort into the lab report because people tend to forget certain sections or even labelling and tabulating. Those of you who take economics, the tutorials you should do it as you learn, and not wait till later.

Be on campus a lot, since you may have to print stuff anyway. Avoid changing classes because assistant directors don't like that (really don't). MUFY is easy to pass or get 60%, but to get like A requires effort just like any other pre-university programme. True, MUFY less/no stress, but a few points can make all the difference, since your final score is in actual numeral total. There are people who do very well, and get scholarships at Monash with their MUFY score. You actually can get 365 and above if you try.

sleepygoat
18-05-2009, 09:27 PM
tq very much DireAnguish5678 (http://recom.org/forum/member.php?u=10920) for ur detailed explanation.

i shud be enrolling in sunway uni college soon to do my pre u for medicine
(most probably MUFY) can i know what else i shud be expecting other than u have explained cz you explained about engineering i guess)

-correct me if im wrong..tq

GabJNP
04-06-2009, 10:20 PM
Anyone going for the July 2009 AUSTMAT intake in Sunway?

yuan_renn
05-06-2009, 08:05 PM
Anyone going for the July 2009 AUSTMAT intake in Sunway?
I'm going on this 3rd of July. Doing AUSMAT too.

I notice that other colleges' threads are in the JPA section, so is it fine for me to create another Sunway thread in there since this thread is kinda "cold" here.

Young
05-06-2009, 08:14 PM
Hi all!
Proud Sunway alumnus here. (Did AusMat 2008 )

Don't worry, you guys will have one of your best years of your life in Sunway. The lecturers are good, the people are nice, the facilities are alright, the girls are beautiful (oops) and there's always Sunway Pyramid nearby. :P

Go ahead and party hard but remember to keep your head level and remember to study.

Feel free to ask any questions about Sunway/AusMat. :)

yuan_renn
05-06-2009, 08:20 PM
Hi all!

Don't worry, you guys will have one of your best years of your life in Sunway. The lecturers are good, the people are nice, the facilities are alright, the girls are beautiful (oops) and there's always Sunway Pyramid nearby. :P

Go ahead and party hard but remember to keep your head level and remember to study.

Haha, kinda excited now. Can tell me more about AusMat? I'm taking Dentistry under JPA but kinda worry about it. Afraid can't meet the requirements later>.<

Vaan
05-06-2009, 08:21 PM
Hi all!

Yup you said it alright, the girls are damn beautiful, some you know ahem ahem dress inapproriately ahem ahem if you get what I mean. I practically want to muntah darah from my eyes due to too many pretty girls there. Hormone pumping and must look left, right, left, right, up, down everywhere.

Entertainment is everywhere, cinema, shopping complex, food stalls, fuh

Young
05-06-2009, 08:25 PM
Haha, kinda excited now. Can tell me more about AusMat? I'm taking Dentistry under JPA but kinda worry about it. Afraid can't meet the requirements later>.<

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5217&page=5

I did a small AusMat post there. Might give you some information about AusMat.
Congrats on getting the scholarship. :) Which country are you designated to?

yuan_renn
05-06-2009, 08:30 PM
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5217&page=5

I did a small AusMat post there. Might give you some information about AusMat.
Congrats on getting the scholarship. :) Which country are you designated to?
Australia, but I was understood that only 2 made it to Australia this year. Damn nervous as I'm not a hardworking guy:(

Yup you said it alright, the girls are damn beautiful, some you know ahem ahem dress inapproriately ahem ahem if you get what I mean. I practically want to muntah darah from my eyes due to too many pretty girls there. Hormone pumping and must look left, right, left, right, up, down everywhere.

Entertainment is everywhere, cinema, shopping complex, food stalls, fuh
Lmao, that's great!!!:P:P

Young
05-06-2009, 08:35 PM
Australia, but I was understood that only 2 made it to Australia this year. Damn nervous as I'm not a hardworking guy:(

Yea, I won't deny that it's pretty difficult to get into Dentistry in Australia. They want at least TER96 (though hardly anyone gets in with anything below TER98 ), good ISAT scores and a respectable interview peformance.. Here in UWA, there's only one JPA scholar in Dentistry and none in Medicine.

If you work hard, you should be fine though. No worries. The lecturers are awesome, especially the chemistry teacher you will get. :)

khool
05-06-2009, 09:03 PM
im goin 2 sunway tis july 4 mufy course under pm scholar(haha).any seniors here willing 2 share their exp??thx a lot...

yuan_renn
05-06-2009, 09:27 PM
Yea, I won't deny that it's pretty difficult to get into Dentistry in Australia. They want at least TER96 (though hardly anyone gets in with anything below TER98 ), good ISAT scores and a respectable interview peformance.. Here in UWA, there's only one JPA scholar in Dentistry and none in Medicine.

If you work hard, you should be fine though. No worries. The lecturers are awesome, especially the chemistry teacher you will get. :)
Wow, what's TER? Do we have to take IELTS?

Young
05-06-2009, 09:35 PM
Wow, what's TER? Do we have to take IELTS?

Did you not read the link I gave you?
No worries, I'll copy the relevant bit for convenience sake.

I don't understand the Tertiary Entrance Rank (TER) system. Wtf is that?
In both courses, results are not released in terms of As, Bs, Cs, Ds etc. Instead, they use a percentile system known as TER. The scaled scores of each candidate are put through a ranking system. For example;
TER99.00 places you in the top 1% of all candidates.
TER 85.50 places you in the top 14.5% of all candidates.

The highest TER achievable is 99.95. University entrance is based on the TER.

Yes, a minimum of band 7 in IELTS is required. Not sure if they've changed the policy, though.

yuan_renn
05-06-2009, 10:23 PM
Did you not read the link I gave you?
No worries, I'll copy the relevant bit for convenience sake.

Yes, a minimum of band 7 in IELTS is required. Not sure if they've changed the policy, though.

Sorry, haven't read it yet:P Thank you again!!!

yuan_renn
16-06-2009, 07:21 PM
You can opt for specialist maths instead of physics in sem 2, but for sem 1 I'm afraid you have to take physics, but the things that you will learn in sem 1 will mostly be the basic knowledge in physics that you have learnt in spm level.That is the situation here at intec.I'm not sure about the situation for sunway.
Young, this is what I quote from JPA dentistry thread, can I drop physics in the 2nd sem in Sunway?

DireAnguish5678
19-12-2009, 07:33 PM
tq very much DireAnguish5678 (http://recom.org/forum/member.php?u=10920) for ur detailed explanation.

i shud be enrolling in sunway uni college soon to do my pre u for medicine
(most probably MUFY) can i know what else i shud be expecting other than u have explained cz you explained about engineering i guess)

-correct me if im wrong..tq

Why are u doing your pre-u for med in MUFY? it's so hard to meet the requirement u know.

kayexem
10-01-2010, 12:36 AM
are the IT undergrad course any good in sunway?
finished my ASEAN pre-u in s'pore.
planning to head to IPTS for an IT degree. =)

cyberdorkim
29-03-2010, 01:22 AM
Oh. lucky me to found this thread. oh please please help me. someone.
i'm planning to take foundation in arts at Sunway.
Is it tough? Please. Help me. I've heard that if we failed during degree course, we are back to step 1 (like back to before taking the foundation). O
Please help.
I'm planning to go for July intake.

mestillme92
30-03-2010, 03:15 PM
I am taking acca in sunway
Are there any scholarships or funding which i can apply for?

30-03-2010, 03:25 PM
I'm thinking of coming to Sunway if I fail to get my JPA scholarship. Most probably I'll take the ICAEW course but I don't really know much about it since it's so new. Can someone please enlighten me?

hellfired
30-03-2010, 03:59 PM
Oh. lucky me to found this thread. oh please please help me. someone.
i'm planning to take foundation in arts at Sunway.
Is it tough? Please. Help me. I've heard that if we failed during degree course, we are back to step 1 (like back to before taking the foundation). O
Please help.
I'm planning to go for July intake.

Hmm.. i don't recommend taking foundation.. sunway, taylors, inti or segi

Foundation limits your university choice (but not if u plan on continuing with that particular uni lar)

Taking preu is much better..(ausmat or alvl for sunway)..
wider uni choice, more recognize, more scholarship, wider in everything

and plz dun be unsure of what u wan to take just because it is hard...
stpm, SAM, Ausmat, Alvl even foundation, no one IN THAT particular course ever say it is easy...
Its not reli right to determine your future by taking easy stuff..
take sumthing that u r reli sure of and know that it will help ur future
hard or easy just go thr it..
there's no avoiding hard(or even easy) stuff in life

cheeers

30-03-2010, 04:17 PM
I am taking acca in sunway
Are there any scholarships or funding which i can apply for?

Sunway offers scholarships for those people with good results. For example, if you get more than 10 A+/A in your SPM, they'll give you a full tuition fee waiver. The lesser your number of As, the lower the amount of scholarship offered. To find out more, visit the Sunway website.

katlynny
18-04-2010, 08:36 PM
hai..!!!!
i'm international student hoping to join sunway in july for foundation ..mufy..pre-med.
can anyone tell me what it is like?
is there any other international student here??---have you got your letter yet?
do we receive at the same time as everyone else?
been waiting forever(or at least it seems to me)

hungry_Bee90
27-04-2010, 10:18 AM
Erlo Zureen~~

I'm currently studying A level in SYUC...My semester will end this year...

SYUC is usually deemed as 'rich kids' college...I can't really say how true is true but there are some nice cars in the parking lot. You may encounter people who has been around for years because they deferred many times.

The library is better than Taylor's and the college has so far undergone a face lift with new information centre and benches. There is a field as well unlike other colleges. It is the environment that stands out though Taylor's has manyyyy academic achievements.

There is a cafeteria that offers Hotdog 1901, San Francisco Coffee, Boaz etc, though students will usually hang out at 3 main shops outside of college widely known as white, pink and yellow. Oh, there's also medan if you want to get cheap food.

What else, there concentration of international students in SYUC is considerably more than other colleges around.

The lecturers in Sunway are not bad. Anyway, lecturers do not really count because you are on your own at the end of the day. =)

Have a nice time in SYUC!!!

i miss medan=(lol.never tot i would say this.hahahhahhahaha

gelato
30-04-2010, 09:35 PM
I'm still deciding between 2 pre-u courses in sunway which is the canadian matriculation(CIMP) and MUFY.:nod

I've been told some bad things about CIMP,but don't know how true is that.
As for MUFY,the syllabus is rather shallow for those who wish to pursue a science related course or a medicine course (especially for the first year). My brother was a MUFY student who graduated last year and is currently doing medicine in Monash University Sunway campus and has confirmed the above statement.

Im stuck between chosing either CIMP or MUFY as i like the 70:30 ratio for CIMP but worried after what ive been told about the problems that are faced by CIMP students.As for MUFY im worried about the shallow syllabus and the fact that MUFY only allows me either to Australia or Malaysia ( Monash University).:amazed

Anyone care to share their opinions??

yin2000
03-05-2010, 11:17 AM
If I have to drive to Sunway, do you think there will be enough parking lot to park my car?

khoo
06-05-2010, 08:07 PM
If I have to drive to Sunway, do you think there will be enough parking lot to park my car?

It is difficult to find parking lots outside or in the college compound after 8.30 am.

06-05-2010, 08:43 PM

It is difficult to find parking lots outside or in the college compound after 8.30 am.

What if you come at 8am and go to the library to study? :)With that, I believe that you can shoot two birds down with a stone, in which you can solve the car parking problem and able to find time for study, right? :)

AnnieChan
07-05-2010, 02:51 PM
if you're late, good luck with finding a spot.. there's always the housing area behind sunway college :0

khoo
11-05-2010, 11:16 PM
The library at Sunway Uni opens at 8.30 am. The housing area behind Sunway is quite a distant away.

12-05-2010, 12:22 AM
I'm planning on going to Sunway for the ICAEW course. I heard that the next intake is in July for this particular course. Can someone confirm this?

ara
12-05-2010, 12:28 AM
he is a-levels in sunway???....better than inti subang or wat??? the hostels and all??
next intake july issit??

bekann
23-05-2010, 12:10 AM
Anyone here did/doing Ausmat in Sunway UC?

Young
23-05-2010, 12:34 AM
Anyone here did/doing Ausmat in Sunway UC?

I did AusMat at Sunway during 2008. :)

Feel free to go through the many posts I've made on AusMat and if you have any other questions, don't hesitate to PM me.

AniFanZ
23-05-2010, 08:22 AM
I'm thinking of studying A level an Sunway.. So all i have to do is submit the enrollment form (together with RM600 app. & reg. fee), and i will have the full tuition fee waiver (Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr. Jeffery Cheah Entrance Scholarship) with my SPM results of 11A+ 1A?

If I can't get the tuition waiver, then I won't waste my money enrolling, sorry but can someone confirm my statement? or if any senior who has obtained this scholarship, can you kindly leave your contact info.? Thank you in advance~

khoo
23-05-2010, 09:13 AM
I'm thinking of studying A level an Sunway.. So all i have to do is submit the enrollment form (together with RM600 app. & reg. fee), and i will have the full tuition fee waiver (Tan Sri Dato' Seri Dr. Jeffery Cheah Entrance Scholarship) with my SPM results of 11A+ 1A?

If I can't get the tuition waiver, then I won't waste my money enrolling, sorry but can someone confirm my statement? or if any senior who has obtained this scholarship, can you kindly leave your contact info.? Thank you in advance~

Yes, you will get a full tuition fee waiver with 11A & A+ and above. Their next intake for A level is in 5 July 2010. Call them at 03-74918622 and speak to the Marketing Department or the School of A Level.

nikein
08-06-2010, 10:35 AM
i'm about to enter sunway this july. i'll be doing ausmat. is there anyone who's the same as me?? :))

lishing
11-11-2010, 08:09 PM
hey there, can i ask more bout the CAL offered there? i'm planning to take up pre-business and pre-law studies. if i happen to obtain good results in Alevels, do i stand a high chance to earn a scholarship to Aus or SG? planning to do a double-degree thingy in future though.

how bout the accommodation there? what's the difference between an air-conned and a non-air conned room? and the difference btw a 4-sharing(near window) 4-sharing (near door) and twin-sharing?

i've been offered the a-levels scholarship, bout rm12,000 to study in SUN-U. had been informed that we can convert this scholarship into a thingy which covers the tuition fees. anyways, is it a good choice studying in SUN-U for pre-law and pre-business studies?

are the IT undergrad course any good in sunway?
finished my ASEAN pre-u in s'pore.
planning to head to IPTS for an IT degree. =)

hey there, just curious, did you do your pre-u in singapore and come back for undergrad studies? what makes u made that decision?

i heard there're prestigious universities in SG and those who got ASEAN pre-u scholarship are those really smart ones, and they seem to be able to cope with the system there. and normally once they went there, they wanna stay there. i mean in SG larh.