View Full Version : Products sold at Low Yat

sandave
07-06-2007, 10:26 PM
Hey guys what do you think about the products sold at Low Yat? :?: They are cheap but what about the quality?

07-06-2007, 11:01 PM
the quality is good too if the brand is. at least for techies stuff, don't just buy things with unknown brand.

a few ringgit more spent on branded usb drive will spare you from losing your whole photo collections stored on cheap no-brand one.

Patrick
08-06-2007, 12:31 AM
Yeah, it depends on the relative importance of the item you're buying. I wouldn't mind using some no brand mouse, or USB splitter as long as they're functional.

But when you talk about desktops and stuff...............brands do matter

08-06-2007, 09:40 AM
What are the brands that have good reputation then?

*laptop

Butters
08-06-2007, 09:56 AM
some products at Low Yatt are good.....some prods are pirated....so, be careful

08-06-2007, 10:05 AM
some products at Low Yatt are good.....some prods are pirated....so, be careful

Do u know how to notify the pirated thi8ngs?

08-06-2007, 10:06 AM
Besides the brand, make sure they get good reviews with tech-mags/sites as well... A very well known brand isn't a guarantee that its good...

For peripherals, like keyboards and mouse, i believe in 'you pay for what you get.' I'd rather get the better ones made by Logitech or Microsoft because of their ergonomics and very nice feel...

08-06-2007, 10:12 AM
Besides the brand, make sure they get good reviews with tech-mags/sites as well... A very well known brand isn't a guarantee that its good...

For peripherals, like keyboards and mouse, i believe in 'you pay for what you get.' I'd rather get the better ones made by Logitech or Microsoft because of their ergonomics and very nice feel...

Should we buy a new release brand or wait others' comments about it 1st?

Patrick
08-06-2007, 10:20 AM

Should we buy a new release brand or wait others' comments about it 1st?

First of all, what do you want to buy?

08-06-2007, 10:29 AM
ok, BENQ S41...

.......?

Patrick
08-06-2007, 10:53 AM
First, the specifications...

They aren't that impressive, but the best part is that you're getting 1GB of nVIDIA geforce.
512MB of RAM is a real turn-off. At least 1GB of it is needed.

Are you a gamer? If you're not I don't think the specs fit you.

BenQ is a so-so brand in the notebook arena. (Something like FTec, Asus, etc.)
Leading brands include Toshiba, HP, Lenovo (But they're pricey)

Then you should look at their after-sales service. How long is the warranty? By who? International or domestic?
Dell has the best after-sales service as they'll knock at your door to fix your problems.

08-06-2007, 11:08 AM

They aren't that impressive, but the best part is that you're getting 1GB of nVIDIA geforce.

Then you should look at their after-sales service. How long is the warranty? By who? International or domestic?
Dell has the best after-sales service as they'll knock at your door to fix your problems.

1 year warranty, not sure lcoally or internatinally.

I am not a gamer, and for the leading brand like Toshiba is absolutely too pricey for me now.

I m going to upgrade the RAM to 2 GB.

i agree that BENQ is a so-so brand, but what i want is juat its function..

what else we need to look when buying a new laptop? besides the spec?

Patrick
08-06-2007, 11:14 AM

1 year warranty, not sure lcoally or internatinally.

I am not a gamer, and for the leading brand like Toshiba is absolutely too pricey for me now.

I m going to upgrade the RAM to 2 GB.

i agree that BENQ is a so-so brand, but what i want is juat its function..

what else we need to look when buying a new laptop? besides the spec?

I think DELL fits you (since you want the specs). They have many models - Latitude, XPS, etc.
You should check them out.

Since you're not a gamer, you can get a lightweight XPS (1.98kg) with 2GB RAM at around 4k.

Latitude laptops are lightweight too (2kg), but the screens are larger. 3 years warranty for Latitude laptops.

And you can also upgrade to 9-cell batteries for about RM50

What else to look at? Weight of course, customer service, value for money, battery life, style....

08-06-2007, 11:16 AM
oic..mind i ask u something

9 -cell batteries can stand by how many hours?

Patrick
08-06-2007, 11:18 AM

Longer than 6-cell batteries? I don't know the exact figure, and it really depends on your energy usage

08-06-2007, 11:23 AM

Longer than 6-cell batteries? I don't know the exact figure, and it really depends on your energy usage

o..then do u know how many hours can a 6 -cell stand by?

Patrick
08-06-2007, 11:26 AM
my rough estimate would be around 2-3 hours

08-06-2007, 11:30 AM
o...Thanks then :wink:

08-06-2007, 05:36 PM
Laptops with a 9-Cell batteries can last up to 9 hours before charging is required.

and secondly, if you aren't going to do much photoshopping or video editing and no gaming, 2Gb of RAM is overkill... 1Gb is more than enough for most people...

thirdly, try to get a empty machine and get the shopkeepers to install windows Xp for you. There are compatibility issues with Vista that willl still need to be sorted...

fouthly, a non-intergrated graphics chips isn't required, since you are not a gamer... Get one with Intel Media Accelerator... I won't recommend the Dell XPS though, it will be too small for comfort viewing. Get one with at least 13.1 inch screen if you are going to stare into the screen for hours to end...

08-06-2007, 07:21 PM
Laptops with a 9-Cell batteries can last up to 9 hours before charging is required.

and secondly, if you aren't going to do much photoshopping or video editing and no gaming, 2Gb of RAM is overkill... 1Gb is more than enough for most people...

thirdly, try to get a empty machine and get the shopkeepers to install windows Xp for you. There are compatibility issues with Vista that willl still need to be sorted...

fouthly, a non-intergrated graphics chips isn't required, since you are not a gamer... Get one with Intel Media Accelerator... I won't recommend the Dell XPS though, it will be too small for comfort viewing. Get one with at least 13.1 inch screen if you are going to stare into the screen for hours to end...

alright, Thanks

08-06-2007, 07:24 PM
http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/gma950/index.htm

sNaiL0810
09-06-2007, 02:23 PM
erm....
low yat's thing quite good..but i only buy the SRI computer things..
coz its the biggest n have better reliabilities...
somemore many cheap stuff there

09-06-2007, 06:53 PM
Seri Computer has more choices but not necessarily cheaper ...

(I bought Kingston Migo 2GB for RM58 at a small shop on the same floor, at Seri Comp it was RM72 if I recalled correctly)

sNaiL0810
09-06-2007, 09:01 PM
oops....wrong type...i trust ALL IT thing coz its bigger...
i never bought anything at seri...

09-06-2007, 10:09 PM
I will just settle with an Acer Aspire notebook (cheaper).

10-06-2007, 11:08 AM
How much is the standard prize for a pendrive recently?

As 1 ++ year ago, i bought a only 512 MB pendrive with RM50..

10-06-2007, 08:06 PM

I was cheated on this. Few months ago, I bought a 1 gig for RM98. Other places was selling it for RM30++ and 2 gig for RM55++.

galfera
10-06-2007, 08:15 PM
how about dell inspiron 9400? can any1 give a comment on that laptop.....

-zephyr-
10-06-2007, 08:17 PM
erm... what about the hand phones? i still 'ragu-ragu' to buy my new HPhone there...

10-06-2007, 09:05 PM
erm... what about the hand phones? i still 'ragu-ragu' to buy my new HPhone there...
h/p sold at low yat are not any cheaper than anywhere else. that's what i observed when i was looking for a 2nd hand h/p for my sister ...

but you can rely on low yat if you're just looking for h/p accessories ...

10-06-2007, 09:12 PM

I was cheated on this. Few months ago, I bought a 1 gig for RM98. Other places was selling it for RM30++ and 2 gig for RM55++.

It seems that I was cheated as well.

10-06-2007, 09:15 PM
h/p sold at low yat are not any cheaper than anywhere else. that's what i observed when i was looking for a 2nd hand h/p for my sister ...

but you can rely on low yat if you're just looking for h/p accessories ...

I wonder what are the differences between AP ahndphone and Original, as last time, They said that they are selling Ori but after that only i discovered that what i get is AP.

Is AP common in lowyat?

10-06-2007, 09:16 PM
I juz bought a laptop from Lowyat, Toshiba satelite A100 3112E, Intel core 2 duo ,xp media center, 1G ram, 100G hdd,DVD drive, bluetooth, built in wireless, Ati graphic card , 2.7kg

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

10-06-2007, 09:25 PM
May i ask something, how many warranty years are given, as this is indeed an important part for a laptop.

Butters
10-06-2007, 09:50 PM
I juz bought a laptop from Lowyat, Toshiba satelite A100 3112E, Intel core 2 duo ,xp media center, 1G ram, 100G hdd,DVD drive, bluetooth, built in wireless, Ati graphic card , 2.7kg

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

1. why "XP media center"?? not Vista?
2. Intel core 2 duo - latest chip by Intel
3. 100Gigs - Good choice, enough to store loads of songs, pics and videos
4. 2.7kgs....must be a lil heavy....should be lower than 2 kilos
5. is it genuine windows?
6. RM3999... I can buy Dell with the same features and cheaper cost

Patrick
10-06-2007, 09:50 PM

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

i'd prefer Dell XPS

core 2 duo, 2G ram, 80G hard drive (if im not mistaken), geforce 256MB graphics card, 1.98kg

About rm4500

10-06-2007, 10:01 PM
IMO 2+ kg is quite ok already .. I suspect about half of the weight comes from the battery (about another half from the body & screen) .. with < 2kg you'd get less than 2 hrs battery life ... unless the laptop has small screen and < 1GHz speed .. that's how reality work .. you want more power (speed, graphics etc) you need to give it more power (battery hence weight) ... give & take ..

my laptop is 4lbs (1.6kg) ... old hp tablet pc 10 inches screen, pentium M, no cd-rom, 2:45 battery life ... that's the specs you get for less than 2kg :)

more than 4kg is a bit too heavy though ...

EDIT: oops I forgot about the harddisk .. 100GB .. that's more than twice 40GB in my laptop ... more weight there ..

10-06-2007, 11:21 PM
May i ask something, how many warranty years are given, as this is indeed an important part for a laptop.

1 year international warranty.

10-06-2007, 11:28 PM

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

xp media center bcoz i will need a lot of CAD program , such as Autocad n Solidworks(earlier version),which vista can't support

2.7kg---really quite heavy, haiz.........

ya, genuine windows , got sticker below my laptop

10-06-2007, 11:36 PM

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

i'd prefer Dell XPS

core 2 duo, 2G ram, 80G hard drive (if im not mistaken), geforce 256MB graphics card, 1.98kg

About rm4500

with RM4500, i can buy toshiba A200-E530.

intel core 2 duo 1.73Ghz

vista home premium
1G ram, 120GB hdd, 256mb Gforce
2.7kg,

much more better than`urs, wahaha

Butters
10-06-2007, 11:37 PM
xp media center bcoz i will need a lot of CAD program , such as Autocad n Solidworks(earlier version),which vista can't support

2.7kg---really quite heavy, haiz.........

ya, genuine windows , got sticker below my laptop

nice................

10-06-2007, 11:40 PM
There's a brand of notebook that is less than 1kg. Very low power consmption u dont hv too charge too often. Screen is 12 inches i think. Super cheap too ...

No need low yat you can buy it from any stationery shop :p

11-06-2007, 09:00 AM
I don't really recommend buying things which are too cheap though... The data you are saving is much more important that your money...

specialized
11-06-2007, 11:20 AM

for RM3999

is it reasonable?

lol lol..

1. Xp is better than vista from stablity aspect. U don't want get
stucked where the case u're studying outside with your programs
can't run in Vista. I prefer Windows XP Professional. Go for Vista
Ultimate if u really like Vista. Home basic/premium is useless
(depends on user's ussage, to me, it's useless).

2. Centrino Pro is the latest chip by Intel, also known as Santa
Rosa platform. FSB (Front Side Bus) increased from 667MHz to
800MHz. Some even come with WiMAX technology network card,
it's 10times faster than WIFI for your information and has 10km
range of transmission capability.

3. Agree.

4. Lol.. Lightweight doesn't means the specs are good. Dell XPS has
light weight but it scarifies a bigger screen. I felt it uncomfortable
to read /edit texts on XPS, it depends to the user themself
actually. Take car for an example, some would prefer a Proton
Isywara rather than a MYVI because it is bigger and more
comfortable at the same time though they are at the same price
range. Lightweight laptop is not cheap. Fujitsu and Sony Vaio are
famous light weight laptop manufactures, take a look at their
price u'll know. Light weight is define as lighter than 2kg. Laptop
which is 2.0-2.7kg is very normal. I personally don't think they're
heavy at all. In fact, laptops in the market are 90% 2.0-2.9kg.

5. Take a look at the bottom of your laptop to check whether
there's a laser sticker. Most laptop is preloaded with genuine
windows. The case will be different if the laptop is come with
linux operating system. Linux is actually an open source
operating system. Some are free, but some don't.

6. Yes, you can. Well, sometimes people just don't like the dull
design by Dell. In laptop forums, Dell laptop is rated as worst
designed laptop after all. Buying Dell means you have to take the
risk. Online money transaction, you never test it before, you don't
know how the postmen handle your laptop and so on.. A lot of
risk. I prefer test a product, satisfy, then only I buy it. I
would have the chance to check for defects too bfore i'm taking
the laptop home. If you really want to buy Dell laptop, don't
forget to take the 3 Years Full Cover warranty. Most Dell users
will have their laptop repaired after some time. You can see that
from Dell laptop forum where people keep praising Dell's service
is super good. Don't forget that more people claming for warranty
is actually more laptops are having problems. Haha.

S41 is using a Santa Rosa processor. The specification is just nice for a student. The graphic card support Windows Vista better than others. It's rm3999 only I personally think it's just a GRAB.
It's preloaded wif Linux operating system bbut don't worry too much bout that. They did it to save cost. You can always format it to windows xp/vista in the future if you don't like Linux. *ahem version windows xp/vista is very cheap. As i say, you can change the operating system in the future, basically it's not an issue when purchasing a laptop. Specs is more important as parts like processor and graphic card are imposible to be upgraded.

advise to all : S41 is good grab.

Just compare the specifications and price with other brand and you'll know it's a good grab item. It's the best performance ratio price laptop available now in the market. Besides that, Acer gemstone is also not bad.

Butters
11-06-2007, 03:21 PM
hmmm....

i'm planning to buy a Mac....but still waiting till this October.....the new "Leopard" is coming.....