View Full Version : Criteria for scholarship

Fourthshifter
08-06-2007, 04:24 PM
There is another thread on similar issue but since the topic has swayed, I might as well make a new thread for such swayed discussion to "channel away" the "flood water?.

In my opinion here's how scholarship works:

Money is "invested" in students with good academic performance because these students have higher possibilities of completing their studies, which completes the objective of the "invested" scholarship.

If the $ is put onto students that do not perform well, they have higher chance of failing and the "investment" if a failure.

Therefore, the MAIN criterion is academic performance.

The second criterion, which SHOULD come after the MAIN criteria, and not the other way round, is financial situation.

Two students with good academic performance are analysed in their financial situation, where poor students should gain the scholarship. This balance up the rich-poor gap where money is channelled to the poorer student. Channelling money to wealthier individuals will bring imbalance.

After the first two main criteria, the next criteria should be the character and talent of the scholarship candidate. This encourages students to improve themselves and increase their own value in order to improve their chances of securing a scholarship.

These 3 main criteria should be considered in strict order. From academic performance to character/talent.

That is just my analysis. 'How about yours?

To make scholarship better in quality, it should be given out to less individuals but more in the amount of allowance.

08-06-2007, 04:44 PM
That is just my analysis. 'How about yours?

To make scholarship better in quality, it should be given out to less individuals but more in the amount of allowance.

Well, for the 3 main reasons, i will definitely agree with ur points, sommore i have been always emphasizing that the government is searching candidates that will not fail their investment on any particular candidates. They have a helicopter view as i would say.

And for family income, yes, it should definitely the Most important thing after the accademic performance. How on earth a person needs SCHOLARSHIP if his/ her parents can afford the fee for them?
but, still, i would like to say, the limitation of seats makes that not everyone that are poor can secure the scholarships.

well well, for the last statement..which is"To make scholarship better in quality, it should be given out to less individuals but more in the amount of allowance."
I am not really agree with it.

Given an example here.

There is a seat for a scholarships that should be awarded to a person.

So, the scholarship is awarded to the top 1 but..let us not forget , it does not mean that the runners up are not good in quality.

Ya, what we need is quality but not quantity, but giving a fair chance to everyone is more important here.

The scholarships givers appreatiate their efforts and i think higher allowances for a particular candidate or for a small group of candidates will make them more arrogant or snobbish as they are different from others which will take to the deteriorating of quality...

Fourthshifter
08-06-2007, 04:54 PM
Arrogance and snobbishness is individual attitude, it is nothing to do with Scholarship.

As you can see in real life example, those who failed to secure a scholarship shows much sign of arrogance, even though they have been given a chance (and also an interview) to compete for the scholarship.

The quantity cannot be too much. If 1 million people apply for it, there will be not enough seats for every body, therefore the criteria should be strict, in return for higher "reward". Scholars are not loan takers, remember that. :)

08-06-2007, 05:01 PM
Arrogance and snobbishness is individual attitude, it is nothing to do with Scholarship

ok..then we forget about this 1st.

As you can see in real life example, those who failed to secure a scholarship shows much sign of arrogance, even though they have been given a chance (and also an interview) to compete for the scholarship.:)

alright, perhaps they tend to think that they DESERVE certain scholarship, but end up with their arrogance when fail to secure 1..

...sigh...

The quantity cannot be too much. If 1 million people apply for it, there will be not enough seats for every body, therefore the criteria should be strict, in return for higher "reward". Scholars are not loan takers, remember that. :)

ok, this agree with u then... :wink:

Fourthshifter
08-06-2007, 05:05 PM
Scholarship candidates should first understand that scholarship is just a privilege and it is not their rights, unless it is special rights for special people (I should include cronyism and nepotism benefactors as special people as well).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_people

Failure to do so only makes them even less qualified to gain a scholarship.

They should adhere to the main criteria of getting scholarship.

Patrick
08-06-2007, 05:07 PM
Some people are late bloomers.......They don't get the scholarship at the beginning but end up better off than the one who got it.

Anyway, Fourthshifter's points seem to follow standard economic theory.

The main aim of investment is to get the highest return when a certain amount of scant resource is used.

Giving out scholarships to the poorer ones reduce income inequality, which enchances a society's well-being and a nation's development.

Fourthshifter
08-06-2007, 05:10 PM
Some people are late bloomers.......They don't get the scholarship at the beginning but end up better off than the one who got it.

The main aim of investment is to get the highest return when a certain amount of scant resource is used.

Giving out scholarships to the poorer ones reduce income inequality, which enchances a society's well-being and a nation's development.

yes true. That is how wealth should be channeled. However, it SHOULD come after the first criteria. Otherwise candidates are adviced to apply for loan.

08-06-2007, 06:21 PM

absolutely agree....

08-06-2007, 07:33 PM

well, agree and i would like to say certain invesments do need to take the risk ...

09-06-2007, 12:01 PM
Actually there is nothing wrong about selection criteria of scholarships in Malaysia, particularly JPA (the hottest). The scholarships are for academically excellent students, and family income, ecc and interview performance are taken into consideration. However, it's the faulty system that causes grouses.

First, the quality of A or A1 are not equal for all students. (Not to mention here why, guess all know). There's no limitation of maximum subjects can be taken, here causing a problem of comparing apple and orange. So, in general perception, more As means better, though it might not be the fact.

Next, it's the income. I believe a few years ago, JPA didn't really look at the family income. It has become a criterion these two years. However, it's easy to check whether a student is cheating. Just get the J-Form number and check with IRB, they will get the clear picture. Somehow, may be they didn't carry out these, those for high-income family, get the scholarship.

MCA helps poor students? Yeah, I believe that... But there're still some who succeed in appeal, are quite rich. I know some of them. Well, off topic.

Scholarships are not loans. Academically excellent students should be given priorities, and when it comes to tie-breaker, family icome might help.

Fourthshifter
09-06-2007, 02:06 PM
Oh ya, I really forgot to mention something important.

The criteria I mention are standard for all normal people. Of course the is pengecualian, in very SPECIAL case.

For some special people, who are entitled to get special rights, might skip the first MAIN criterion.

These special people who perform badly still get scholarship. So after these special people fail in their study, our taxpayers money is like thrown away into longkang.

Since these special people skip the MAIN criterion, the scholarship is no longer a scholarship but a present.

This special rights for special people is a special case for scholarship distribution.

Unfortunately it seems our country has more special people than normal, healthy people.

read more about special people :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_people

Excal
09-06-2007, 11:27 PM
When giving out scholarships, to ensure there is quality, the student should be assessed from all aspects, possibly by having camps, tests, etc not just depending on the interview or certificates. That way we will find the 'hidden talents' in them.

And one important thing is that politics should not be involved.

Criterias IMHO will be:

Dilligence

A substantial IQ and EQ

Moral Integrity( so that you won't hear news of graduates ending up as scam artist or after many years of working, caught to be 'stealing/manipulating' accounts etc)

Initiative to move forward... Learn new things

Innovativeness/ Creativity

Rationalize boldness

What else????

10-06-2007, 11:25 AM
A substantial IQ and EQ

Moral Integrity( so that you won't hear news of graduates ending up as scam artist or after many years of working, caught to be 'stealing/manipulating' accounts etc)

Initiative to move forward... Learn new things

Innovativeness/ Creativity

Rationalize boldness

well, these are important, but may i know how the interviewers can know who posses these qualities and who dont?

10-06-2007, 12:54 PM
What Makes a Highly Successful Scholarship Winner?

Review the following habits of scholarship winners for tips on how you can make your scholarship quest successful.

? Successful students always remember the five P?s ? Prior preparation prevents poor performance. Prepare for the scholarship search early. Do not wait until your senior year.

? Successful students do not rely on their parents to do all the work.

? Successful students vigorously avoid mistakes on their essays and applications. They always spell-check, proofread, and allow one other person to proofread their applications and essay for errors.

? Successful students do not ignore scholarships that may be local or those for small amounts. Scholarship amounts, even as small as $50, can add up.

? Successful students do not rely on only one source such as the Internet for their scholarship search. They use many resources. Many scholarships on the Internet or in the free scholarship searches that you find on the World Wide Web are nationally known and are harder to win due to greater competition. Local and regional scholarships are not found as easily through an Internet search, although they may be easier to win because the applicant pool is smaller. You have to use a combination of resources to find as many scholarships to apply for as possible.

? Successful students market themselves well. In their applications, they highlight positive aspects about their lives, especially community involvement.

? Successful students do not apply to one or two scholarships and wait for the best. They apply for all scholarships they are eligible to win. They keep applying until the total they have won exceeds what they need to pay for the college they want to attend or until they graduate with a degree.

? Successful students are organized. They keep track of deadlines and materials required to complete an application.

? Successful students are well rounded. They participate in extracurricular and community activities. They write about these activities in scholarship and college essays in a descriptive manner. They try to benefit others as well as themselves with the extracurricular and community activities in which they are involved.

? Successful students understand that academic scores
and grades alone do not win most scholarships. Scholarship programs look at many factors such as community activities, leadership, presentation of your application package, special or unusual talents or skills, etc.

? Successful students do not look for the easy way out. It is harder for them to believe in a scholarship scam that promises to do all the work for them. They understand that those things for which we work hardest often bring the greatest rewards. Hard work in the scholarship process as a high school student could result in an easy college life without work later, or a loan-free life after college.

Avoid These Most Common Mistakes Made on College and Scholarship Applications
1. Not following directions
2. Missing the deadline
3. Not typing your application or sending in a sloppy application
4. Forgetting to spell check and to proofread after you spell check
5. Not including information such as a transcript or recommendation
6. Not answering the essay question or another question asked.

10-06-2007, 01:19 PM
Actually there is nothing wrong about selection criteria of scholarships in Malaysia, particularly JPA (the hottest). The scholarships are for academically excellent students, and family income, ecc and interview performance are taken into consideration. However, it's the faulty system that causes grouses.

First, the quality of A or A1 are not equal for all students. (Not to mention here why, guess all know). There's no limitation of maximum subjects can be taken, here causing a problem of comparing apple and orange. So, in general perception, more As means better, though it might not be the fact.

Next, it's the income. I believe a few years ago, JPA didn't really look at the family income. It has become a criterion these two years. However, it's easy to check whether a student is cheating. Just get the J-Form number and check with IRB, they will get the clear picture. Somehow, may be they didn't carry out these, those for high-income family, get the scholarship.

MCA helps poor students? Yeah, I believe that... But there're still some who succeed in appeal, are quite rich. I know some of them. Well, off topic.

Scholarships are not loans. Academically excellent students should be given priorities, and when it comes to tie-breaker, family icome might help.

about income, actually somebody can still cheat jpa by repoting the fake pay slip.

if i m not mistaken, income less than RM 2000 no need income tax by gov, so no borang J , etc, jpa cant check ur family income

So, they cheat , some still manage 2 get jpa, dunno y

haiz, malaysian system

10-06-2007, 01:28 PM
not really, they(government) even can check by their parents IC number, just that this is a huge contruction for them.

Fourthshifter
10-06-2007, 04:28 PM
?The Prime Minister announced last year that top SPM scorers with a minimum 10 1As would be guaranteed scholarships if their household income did not exceed RM1,500 each. And this is already being carried out,? he noted.

Hmmm. For now Pak Lah did the right move.