View Full Version : Architecture
weizeng
10-06-2007, 06:29 PM
hello,is anyone taking or going to take architecture?my scholarship which is given by JPA offers me architecture and it only takes 3 years to graduate with a degree,isn't that kind of fast?i hav done my research before,it actually takes 5 years to become a professional architect.and if i really want to continue studying in UK,can i extend it even though it's sponsored by JPA?do i need to pay it myself or i pay it back by extending the working years for the government?
livern
10-06-2007, 09:31 PM
if i'm not mistaken, the time u will b bonded will increase. that's all. from 6 years to 7 years. i will b taking architecture too, so i have done some research too. don worry too much la. cross the bridge when u come to it! u'll be going to KBU?
to those who get architecture in aus,
which college do u guys go?
weizeng
10-06-2007, 11:01 PM
if i'm not mistaken, the time u will b bonded will increase. that's all. from 6 years to 7 years. i will b taking architecture too, so i have done some research too. don worry too much la. cross the bridge when u come to it! u'll be going to KBU?
i m going to INTEC for A level 1st,then i will go to UK..r u going to UK too?then c u in UK...
livern
11-06-2007, 02:04 PM
i m going to INTEC for A level 1st,then i will go to UK?r u going to UK too?then c u in UK...
oh... u got architecture in UK issit? no wonder u're doing a levels.. i got architecture in Aus. so i will b doing Ausmat in KBU!
hello,is anyone taking or going to take architecture?my scholarship which is given by JPA offers me architecture and it only takes 3 years to graduate with a degree,isn't that kind of fast?i hav done my research before,it actually takes 5 years to become a professional architect.and if i really want to continue studying in UK,can i extend it even though it's sponsored by JPA?do i need to pay it myself or i pay it back by extending the working years for the government?
hey!! same thing displaying in my mind. but i think, we shall see what is going to happen, maybe they can extend the period of studies in overseas.
An excerpt from this link.
http://www.intstudy.com/articles/ec183a09.htm
Qualification and Registration
In the United Kingdom the title of ?Architect? is protected by law, and to be able to use it one has to be registered with the Architects Registration Board Qualification for registration is by examination, usually undertaken at one of the recognised Schools of Architecture, with the course being in three sections:
* 1. A full time course at a university leading to a degree after three years.
* 2. A full time Diploma course at university. (Often there is a break between these two parts, when a year?s practical experience is gained).
* 3. A further year?s practice is required before the Professional practice
Examination is taken, leading to Registration as an Architect.
...so i suppose jpa just give us the minimum period and maybe they want to make sure that we are able to continue before giving us the chance to further our studies.
hello every one here, nice to meet you all.
erm, there are 2 threads with the same title "Architecture"??
pinkdolphin
18-06-2007, 08:34 PM
hello every one here, nice to meet you all.
erm, there are 2 threads with the same title "Architecture"??
Hi, all future architects.. :) ..which includes me... :lol:
Yea, it seems that there are 2 existing threads with this same title.
Anyway, for those going to INTEC for ALUK, hope to see you there too.
ya, nice to meet you, and hope to see you all .
anyway, anyone else is taking pre-u of architecture in INTEC too?
weizeng
21-06-2007, 06:42 PM
i phoned JPA that day.someone told me that the 36 months written in the offer letter is only the part 1 of architecture,so if v do well in that 3 years,v get to continue our studies for another two years which is the part 2 of architecture,and the bond is still 6 years.unfortunately if v don't have good result during the 3 years in UK,v have to come back to malaysia straight away and work for the government for 6 years.
somebody pls call jpa again to confrim bout this,i don't really trust that lady who told me this,thanks.
correct me if i was wrong,tahnks a lot.
well, weizeng, i was told about the same thing when i called them up......
anyway, i wonder how to consider the result as good result?
weizeng
22-06-2007, 06:09 PM
well, weizeng, i was told about the same thing when i called them up......
anyway, i wonder how to consider the result as good result?
i think the universities in UK judge differently,one's cut-off point is different frm the others,it's the unversity which decides whether v can continue to part 2 or not,not jpa,i think...;P
haihai
22-06-2007, 10:06 PM
sorry to disturb...
wanna ask what is the different between architecture and architecture engineering?? ( recently taking language course in Korean under jpa and maybe wanna choose architecture engineering in th future.)
tehsc
06-07-2007, 04:41 PM
hey weizeng
jz dun think abt tat 3+2 stuff 1st
mozli de jpa wil let us cont 1 la
nw jz go 4 de 15 points betta :D
hey weizeng
jz dun think abt tat 3+2 stuff 1st
mozli de jpa wil let us cont 1 la
nw jz go 4 de 15 points betta :D
..quite true..