View Full Version : IMU : All you need to know!!!
11-06-2007, 12:23 PM
Hi all, after going through several related threads, I do find quite a number of the Recommers do not really know about IMU?s medical programme. So I?ve created this thread hopefully to be able to disseminate all the relevant information and clarify any queries that all of you have. For those who are interested about the pharmacy programme, I would still be able to provide some information for you. But my replies for those would not be as fast as I would need to confirm the facts with the pharmacy students first before I reply.
To start of I?ll give a brief introduction of the IMU medical programme.
The medical programme is structured in 2 phases i.e. phase 1 and phase 2. Phase 1 is a 5 semester course spanning over 2 and a half years in IMU Bukit Jalil campus. On successful completion of phase 1, students continue on to phase 2 where the students will be transferred to IMU Clinical School in Seremban or with the partner medical schools (PMS) overseas (Australia, Canada, Ireland, UK, USA and New Zealand). The period spent in phase 2 differs from one another. For IMU Clinical School in Seremban, students will have to spend 2.5 years to complete their studies. While for PMS, students will spend 2 to 3 years overseas, depending on which PMS they go to.
and a brief guide of the interview would be like this:
1. some chit chat first : are you outstation? how you came by to imu today? did you stay overnight? stuff like that.. sudah makan ke belum..
2. then they would go on to intro. they ask you to intro yourself. where r u from? which college, doing what course, family background, academic background
3. then they would ask something to do with medicine and you: like why become doctor? why interested in medicine? what makes a good doctor? what qualities should a doctor has? do you have the right attitude or qualities to be a doctor?
4. then they would give you one kind of situation. you would have to make decision in that given situation. for eg. you're a doctor. you manage to cure a rich guy. he wants to reward you. so should you accept the reward? then when you make your choice, they would always never agree with you, questioning you stand, asking you to justify your stand.. stuff like that.
that all about the interview.
12-06-2007, 06:42 PM
Uhh...are the interviews easy?
I mean are there many JPA scholars who failed the interview & did not get to be in IMU?
where will they be sent to, if so?
13-06-2007, 11:43 AM
Uhh...are the interviews easy?
I mean are there many JPA scholars who failed the interview & did not get to be in IMU?
where will they be sent to, if so?
i dunno how to rank how hard would the interview be.. cos its very subjective.. as long as you prepare yourself enough and do not freak out during the interview, everything should be fine...
for every intake, there's about 300 to 400 students applying for IMU medicine which only offers 200 something places per batch. and according to the statistics i have, for ALM 6 that it the outgoing senior batch doing A level in INTEC (they're having their finals now), out of about 80 of them who came for the interview, only 2 who failed to get an offer from IMU. and these two, i heard were private candidates in INTEC.
however if you do fail to gain a place in IMU, it would be up to JPA's decision on where they would send you.
who's going to interview the candidates?
the dean of IMU?
14-06-2007, 03:35 PM
the dean of IMU?
good question. interviewers are basically lecturers. they can be any lecturer as well.. you may be coming for medic interview, but the interviewers can be from the pharm/ nursing faculty. dont worry, they still mantain the same standards irrespective of which faculty they are in..
14-06-2007, 04:01 PM
the dean of IMU?
good question. interviewers are basically lecturers. they can be any lecturer as well.. you may be coming for medic interview, but the interviewers can be from the pharm/ nursing faculty. dont worry, they still mantain the same standards irrespective of which faculty they are in..
will they ask anything bout the medicine field???
we still dunno anything bout medics yet, yea?
will they ask us sth like tat juz to test us?
15-06-2007, 12:41 PM
the dean of IMU?
will they ask anything bout the medicine field???
we still dunno anything bout medics yet, yea?
will they ask us sth like tat juz to test us?
i think you should read my first post.. but it really depends actualy. they may ask or they may not ask.. what kind of field are you refering to?
15-06-2007, 12:50 PM
i mean knowledges bout medicine field.
like ask u bout new medication, diseases etc...
16-06-2007, 04:12 PM
i mean knowledges bout medicine field.
like ask u bout new medication, diseases etc...
normally they wont. cos you wouldnt know..
YanYee
18-06-2007, 09:26 PM
Hi there! I'll be going to IMU to do pharmacy after A-Levels at INTEC. According to the Lampiran, we will be given approx RM4,700 per year which is equivalent to RM391-00 per month, which means we have to fork out additional $$$ ourselves for accomodation. I understand that accomodation around Bukit Jalil area is rather expensive, and RM391-00 is definitely not enuf... Help.... can someone please enlighten me.....
19-06-2007, 12:36 PM
Hi there! I'll be going to IMU to do pharmacy after A-Levels at INTEC. According to the Lampiran, we will be given approx RM4,700 per year which is equivalent to RM391-00 per month, which means we have to fork out additional $$$ ourselves for accomodation. I understand that accomodation around Bukit Jalil area is rather expensive, and RM391-00 is definitely not enuf... Help.... can someone please enlighten me.....
yes. it may not be enough for you and the rest of everyone else here. i'll be having my exams this friday, so i cant really elaborate much to you at the moment. gimme sometime, and hopefully by the end of this week i would be able to clarify this for you.
thanks.
sour-plum
19-06-2007, 01:36 PM
i heard someone said that for those IMU PMS student will face problems.because the basic science they learn in IMU is unable to cope with overseas syallabus.is it true???
19-06-2007, 08:49 PM
are our hostels provided by JPA or we have to pay for the rent ourselves?
26-06-2007, 12:05 AM
yeah, i would say that amount given would be not enough for most.. it would still very well depends on how you lucky you are to get a cheap accomodation.. renting rooms ranges from 180 or so up till 500 to 600 if you're taking the masterbedroom yourself..
i heard someone said that for those IMU PMS student will face problems.because the basic science they learn in IMU is unable to cope with overseas syallabus.is it true???
not really true actually.. if you are hardworking enough and go beyond a little bit more than that of what is covered in the lectures it would be no problem at all...
26-06-2007, 12:11 AM
are our hostels provided by JPA or we have to pay for the rent ourselves?
hostels are not provided by JPA.. we have to get our own place to stay.. and paying the rent would definitely by ourselves... of course with the cost bourne by JPA...
12-10-2007, 11:22 PM
well guys, just to inform you all, there's an IMU open day on the 28th of Oct. from 10 am to 4 pm. if you think you wanna know more about IMU and the courses that are offered there, i'd suggest you drop by to imu to check it out yourself first hand. hope to see some of the recommers there!!!
IS IMU MEDICINE COURSE RECOGNISED WORLDWIDE :?: :?
29-01-2008, 11:04 PM
IS IMU MEDICINE COURSE RECOGNISED WORLDWIDE :?: :?
well, imu's local degree is recognised by the malaysian medical council as with sri lankan's. for imu's overseas twinning degree, its definitely recognise in malaysia, but i'm not sure if its recognised overseas. mayb u should check it out with the IMU admin though.
Is the IMU scholarship interviews the same as IMU admission interviews?
15-04-2009, 07:11 PM
Is the IMU scholarship interviews the same as IMU admission interviews?
Hi,
Its about the same essentially, but you'll be interviewed by the Deans I think and there'll be some questions focused more on the reasons why you should be given the scholarship.
Regards,
RestlessMind
25-05-2009, 09:09 AM
this thread is so dead now.. seems that jingguo ws the only person here to answer all the qs :))
i`m a Mpharm stdnt from IMU n if anyone hav any qs regarding pharm n imu as well. feel free to ask me ya :P
25-05-2009, 04:26 PM
this thread is so dead now.. seems that jingguo ws the only person here to answer all the qs :))
i`m a Mpharm stdnt from IMU n if anyone hav any qs regarding pharm n imu as well. feel free to ask me ya :P
Heya, nice to see you here restless mind. Which batch are you from? I'm from M107.
Regards,
lordblood
25-05-2009, 04:45 PM
I would like to inquire about the IMU scholarship that's currently being offered.. Has anyone applied for it before?
RestlessMind
25-05-2009, 05:05 PM
Heya, nice to see you here restless mind. Which batch are you from? I'm from M107.
Regards,
waahh seems u`ll stalk me in IMU.. just kidding :)) i`m from P107,counting days now to go to glasgow! yipieeee! my visa just ready today n luckily it is approved! the new ruling tier 4 system has made my life turns ups n down! the britsh high comm is really strict now n u cannot afford to make a single tiny mistake in ur application!
M107? ur finish ur sem 5 already rite? u got which uni? still waiting for the intake? go btn already?
2 of my friends from M206 r on long hols rite now.. one will go to st. george while the other will go to uni of glasgow...
02-06-2009, 12:24 PM
hey, I'm done with my sem 5 too and i passed!! so now i'll b working in the SSD for the next hafl a year...
summer
03-06-2009, 12:46 AM
any1 study in IMU b4? anyone fr nutrition n dietiatics? want to know more about the programme
DanielleElocin
27-06-2009, 05:42 PM
Can anyone guide me on whether the IMU MBBS or the IMU-PMS MBBS is better?? I really dun hav any ideas atm
01-07-2009, 11:09 PM
any1 study in IMU b4? anyone fr nutrition n dietiatics? want to know more about the programme
hi, i've studied in IMU for the past 2.5 years already. so maybe i can help abit. nutrition and dietetics course is a rather new course in imu since it started last year. just go to their website and find out more!! www.imu.edu.my.or just give imu a call, i'm sure they'll b glad to tell you everything about the course in IMU!!
Can anyone guide me on whether the IMU MBBS or the IMU-PMS MBBS is better?? I really dun hav any ideas atm
hi,
alright, for IMU there 3 options now actually. first is IMU-MBBS, in which all 5 years of medical studies would be done in malaysia only. the degree is offered by IMU itself and is recognised by the malaysian government and the sri lankan government. while for the other countries, the degree would also be recognised on a case to case basis as those future doctors would have to sit for the individual countries' practising examinations irrespective of their medical degree.
while for IMU-PMS option, there would be two types of entry, first would be the IMU-PMS Undergraduate entry and second is the IMU-PMS Graduate entry option. For the Undergraduate option, students can choose to go to the few PMS over in Australasia, North America and the UK/scotland. while for the IMU-PMS graduate option, students would go in to the selected partner medical universities with a degree prior to entering the PMS. Any science degree holders done previously or spent an extra year for the BMed Science degree from IMU is expected.
Thus to decide these few, a few considerations should be thought about. There is definitely no such as better option as all options are good depending on the situation.
1. Financial capability
2. Time
1. Bear in mind that students would have to decide which option they would have to undertake upon applying for IMU and changes to switch options are on case to case basis and basically non existent. and the fluctuation/increase of school fees by the PMS would occur every year. unless and unless you are financially able to, only then should u consider the pms option
2. time. different universities have different total number of years spent to complete the studies, so you might want to think about that too. for example, for an extreme example, university of sydney option would take up 8 years of studies and students would actually graduate with an MBBS PHD degree.
duke23
01-07-2009, 11:47 PM
hi jingguo..which country would you be heading off too?.Would jpa actually bar you from going to the UK despite having stellar results?
02-07-2009, 09:10 PM
hi,
i'm goin to uni of auckland next year actually. well, if you have good results i do not see why the jpa not send you to the UK. but bear in mind that the australian as well as the new zealand universities are catching up fast in terms of prestige. but eventually, jpa reserves the final say on whether you should go to which country.
janice
03-07-2009, 03:04 AM
Hey I'll be joining IMU this coming July, doing BPharm.. Any recomers going IMU too ??
lisat8383
30-08-2009, 09:43 AM
Hi Everyone,
I'm from Melbourne, Australia and will be going to IMU to undertake the MBBS-PMS in Feb 2010. I was just wondering where would I be able to find out more information about available accommodation? It is kind of difficult to search for the information I need without direct resources.
I'm looking for a Master Bedroom with Ensuite, Air Conditioning etc. If anybody can help me I would greatly appreciate it :)
I really just need somewhere to start searching.
Thanks,
Lisa
21-11-2009, 11:07 AM
Hi Everyone,
I'm from Melbourne, Australia and will be going to IMU to undertake the MBBS-PMS in Feb 2010. I was just wondering where would I be able to find out more information about available accommodation? It is kind of difficult to search for the information I need without direct resources.
I'm looking for a Master Bedroom with Ensuite, Air Conditioning etc. If anybody can help me I would greatly appreciate it :)
I really just need somewhere to start searching.
Thanks,
Lisa
hi lisa, i would suggest you to contact the Student Services Dept directly. Are you an international student? if you are i suppose you would have may kuan's contact in you offer letter rite? They do have an available list of accommodation for students. Do drop me a mail at victorwong87@<hidden>, should you need more help.
starrie
17-05-2010, 02:15 PM
hi everyone~i am from intec..going to imu for MPharm prog after my alvls..any seniors (esp JPA scholars) here? hope u guys can tell me about everything about the course like the course structure, life in imu, lecturers, classes, activities, as well as accommodation and allowance by jpa..and btw is it true that we do not have any choice-that is to go to the uni in glasgow for twinning?
pls enlighten me
thx in advanced
03-06-2010, 05:29 PM
hi everyone~i am from intec..going to imu for MPharm prog after my alvls..any seniors (esp JPA scholars) here? hope u guys can tell me about everything about the course like the course structure, life in imu, lecturers, classes, activities, as well as accommodation and allowance by jpa..and btw is it true that we do not have any choice-that is to go to the uni in glasgow for twinning?
pls enlighten me
thx in advanced
Hullo there!!
Congrats for getting into INTEC and IMU later!! Not sure how the course structure is, but you can do visit their website for more information about the course. Life isn't too bad over there, except for food issues. haha.. yes, you have no choice about going to University of Stracthclyde. That's the only twinning university that IMU is doing with in MPharm programme.
junyong5155
09-07-2010, 06:56 PM
Room wanted at vista komanwel B or C~ Fully or partially furnished. However, must got bed, cupboard, study table and washing machine! PM me to negotiate if interested =D
jarrodsim
14-09-2010, 12:30 AM
Hi I'm a Malaysian student finishing of A-Levels in Brunei and IMU is one of my options.
I'm aware that you'd have to decide upon entry what pathway you'd wanna take... but in my condition, finance is limited but i'd very much like to do an IMU-PMS route. Is there any way to give the admissions board your decision only after admission and after the 5 semesters? Cause.... i'd need to see how finances are doing first before I could firm a decision to do a twinning.
I'm also wondering about the scholarships? the John Beck scholarship will only fund for the IMU MBBS (done entirely in Malaysia) right? is there any scholarship available for the twinning programs?
Thanks for your help =D
28-09-2010, 05:35 PM
Hi I'm a Malaysian student finishing of A-Levels in Brunei and IMU is one of my options.
I'm aware that you'd have to decide upon entry what pathway you'd wanna take... but in my condition, finance is limited but i'd very much like to do an IMU-PMS route. Is there any way to give the admissions board your decision only after admission and after the 5 semesters? Cause.... i'd need to see how finances are doing first before I could firm a decision to do a twinning.
I'm also wondering about the scholarships? the John Beck scholarship will only fund for the IMU MBBS (done entirely in Malaysia) right? is there any scholarship available for the twinning programs?
Thanks for your help =D
Hi,
I guess I would be the only few who would be around to answer these questions. haha.. well, you can't. Upon application to IMU, you have to decide whether to do IMU-MBBS (local), IMU-PMS undergraduate programme (twinning with either of the 25-ish partner schools) or IMU-PMS graduate programme (similar twinning programme but to few selected partner clinical schools where by you need to have a degree, of do an extra year in IMU for research and then continue on twinning to clinical school). You would not be able to do much last minute changes as in changing your options in semester 5. Chances are as good as nil. Unless your parents are on the verge of real financial problem (ie with actual proof, rather than your dad thinks that its too dear to fund you overseas).
John Beck,is only for IMU-MBBS - 5 years local only. As far as concern, there are basically no scholarships for twinning programmes. The closest would be JPA LOAN, which offers up to RM200,000 for your course in overseas.
Hope this helps.
Mirianchoo
07-10-2010, 12:35 AM
Hi guys! :)
I am a JPA scholar currently studying in IMU (PMS option). I would just like to share some advice with my juniors bound for IMU and are still studying in INTEC, UiTM.
First off, don't study so hard in A-Levels till you have no life. Don't do that!
I have friends who studied so hard that they became nerds and had no life and in the end, they didn't even pass the IMU interview the first time round! 19 were given a second interview without having to appeal, while 4 were rejected after the 1st interview and had to appeal for a 2nd interview. So, out of the 68 IMU bound students, only 68-19-4=45 students passed the interview the first time round! Please improve your communication skills and join more clubs to become a more wholesome person instead of slogging with books until you become a super nerd!
Another thing I have to emphasise is that straight A's is not hard to get! I was in the committee of 3 clubs and I was class rep, and I hardly had time to study but I still managed 3 A's. My time in INTEC was about fun and games! And this actually helped me in my IMU interview, because I had good communication skills and I could talk at length about my involvement in extracurricular activities in INTEC. Don't be deceived by those insanely challenging quizzes and tests the INTEC lecturers set. Just be consistent in your revision and exercises and be sure to cram as much last minute info into your heads when the exams are around the corner. So, just enjoy your life in INTEC, improve your communication skills, and ace the interview. Don't worry too much about the A-Levels if you are consistent.
IMU is a great place and I hope to see as many INTECians as possible making it here. Don't be like my batch, where only 5 Chinese guys made it to the IMU twinning programme just because because of poor performance by others in the interview. Don't be a straight A student with no life and fail the interview. Make sure you safely reach IMU so that you can have fun in the orientation and IMU Cup (join scrabble! I just might be your future house scrabble captain, hehe).
Ok, that's all from me. Have fun! And do NOT go around INTEC lugging those heavy Campbell Biology reference books. Be like me, and safely enter IMU. :))
For more info, you can visit my ReCom Wiki page (I wrote the article myself) entitled 'Medicine in International Medical University (JPA Scholarship)' at http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/Medicine_in_International_Medical_University_(JPA_Scholarship). :) :))
junyong5155
07-10-2010, 12:30 PM
I am a JPA scholar currently studying in IMU (PMS option). I would just like to share some advice with my juniors who bound for IMU and are still studying in INTEC, UiTM.
First off, don't study so hard in A-Levels till you have no life. Don't do that!
I have friends who studied so hard that they became nerds and had no life and in the end, they didn't even pass the IMU interview the first time round! 19 were given a second interview without having to appeal, while 4 were rejected after the 1st interview and had to appeal for a 2nd interview. So, out of the 68 IMU bound students, only 68-19-4=45 students passed the interview the first time round! Please improve your communication skills and join more clubs to become a more wholesome person instead of slogging with books until you become a super nerd!
Another thing I have to emphasise is that straight A's is not hard to get! I was in the committee of 3 clubs and I was class rep, and I hardly had time to study but I still managed 3 A's. My time in INTEC was about fun and games! And this actually helped me in my IMU interview, because I had good communication skills and I could talk at length about my involvement in extracurricular activities in INTEC. Don't be deceived by those insanely challenging quizzes and tests the INTEC lecturers set. Just be consistent in your revision and exercises and be sure to cram as much last minute info into your heads when the exams are around the corner. So, just enjoy your life in INTEC, improve your communication skills, and ace the interview. Don't worry too much about the A-Levels if you are consistent.
IMU is a great place and I hope to see as many INTECians as possible making it here. Don't be like my batch, where only 5 Chinese guys made it to the IMU twinning programme just because because of poor performance by others in the interview. Don't be a straight A student with no life and fail the interview. Make sure you safely reach IMU so that you can have fun in the orientation and IMU Cup (join scrabble! I just might be your future house scrabble captain, hehe).
Ok, that's all from me. Have fun! And do NOT go around INTEC lugging those heavy Campbell Biology reference books. Be like me, and safely enter IMU. :))
For more info, you can visit my ReCom Wiki page (I wrote the article myself) entitled 'Medicine in International Medical University (JPA Scholarship)' at http://www.recom.org/wiki/Medicine_in_International_Medical_University_%28JPA_Scholarship%29. :) :))
nice guidance! Are u in ME210? If does, my batchmate =D
Mirianchoo
07-10-2010, 12:41 PM
Yeah junyong5155, I sure am in ME210! :)
Thanks for complimenting my post. Haha, I'm glad to have found a batchmate in IMU! ME210 rocks!
Remember to have as much fun as you can in Sem 1, because it's the freest semester you can get. If interested, you can play scrabble on Facebook, and you might come across me playing there too, haha (I am kind of a scrabble enthusiast, hehe)!
K, that's all from me, bye. :))
25-10-2010, 04:48 AM
I am a JPA scholar currently studying in IMU (PMS option). I would just like to share some advice with my juniors bound for IMU and are still studying in INTEC, UiTM.
For more info, you can visit my ReCom Wiki page (I wrote the article myself) entitled 'Medicine in International Medical University (JPA Scholarship)' at http://www.recom.org/wiki/Medicine_in_International_Medical_University_%28JPA_Scholarship%29. :) :))
Good to know other IMU-ian who are also from INTEC who are also in RECOM!! hahaha... hope you are enjoying sem 1 right now and the pseudo winter in the library!!
And I do agree with you about being an all rounder instead of hitting the books and getting staraight A's with no other achievements. The only indication of us being JPA scholars shows that we are the lucky few who managed to secure a scholarship and by no means indicate that we are actually the best in the country. There are so many more out there who are better than us in all ways except for not getting a scholarship only. Enjoy semester 1 and 2 while you can, because the next honeymoon semester would be semester 4 and that's a long long way to go for you guys. And pay attention to your PBLs no matter how other seniors say how crappy it is. You'll appreciate the critical thinking that you dvelop once you hit clinical years.
Till then, enjoy!!
Cheerios!
Mirianchoo
08-12-2010, 12:51 PM
Hi guys!
I just wrote this page: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/International_Medical_University.
Feel free to check it out for more info on IMU! :)
14-12-2010, 06:12 AM
Hi guys!
I just wrote this page: http://www.recom.org/wiki/International_Medical_University.
Feel free to check it out for more info on IMU! :)
Hi, thanks for the updated wiki info about IMU. If you dont mind i would like to make a suggestion:
I think it would be best to separate the list of PMSes from other partner schools for other courses. As mentioned under the title of Partner Medical School, having RMIT or Uni of Stracthclyde which are in fact partner for Chiro and MPharm programme would be slightly misleading.
I would be more than happy to help you make the changes as I am quite free these days. And after all, we do want to give the right info to the people out there! Do gimme a nudge should you need me to help out!!
Cheers!
Mirianchoo
14-12-2010, 10:47 PM
Thanks Jingguo for pointing that out in the previous post. :)
I originally included all the universities for other courses for completeness, but I now realise it might result in confusion among the readers. To avoid confusion, I have already made the changes, separating the universities by course.
To see the updated version, click here: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/International_Medical_University. :)
15-12-2010, 02:34 AM
Thanks Jingguo for pointing that out in the previous post. :)
I originally included all the universities for other courses for completeness, but I now realise it might result in confusion among the readers. To avoid confusion, I have already made the changes, separating the universities by course.
To see the updated version, click here: http://www.recom.org/wiki/International_Medical_University. :)
Cheerios!! thanks for the edit. There are actually few more courses which have an option for partner. =P
Sorry for being such a pain, but I really do hope in giving out the right information, because there were so many times, less accurate information was given to people and they get confused, in which in the end, I had to start from scratch again explaining every detail. haha!
Thanks for the effort!
Mirianchoo
15-12-2010, 03:49 PM
Cheerios!! thanks for the edit. There are actually few more courses which have an option for partner. =P
Sorry for being such a pain, but I really do hope in giving out the right information, because there were so many times, less accurate information was given to people and they get confused, in which in the end, I had to start from scratch again explaining every detail. haha!
Thanks for the effort!
Haha, okay, I guess you are a perfectionist, aren't you? :)
Yup, I will make the necessary changes to make the information as complete as possible okay. Thanks for all the suggestions on improving the article; I want it to be a good article as well. Let's hope the finished article will be great okay! :)
15-12-2010, 04:10 PM
Haha, okay, I guess you are a perfectionist, aren't you? :)
Yup, I will make the necessary changes to make the information as complete as possible okay. Thanks for all the suggestions on improving the article; I want it to be a good article as well. Let's hope the finished article will be great okay! :)
Really thanks for the effort you put in and sorry for being such a pain for you. Its just that i really wish to give the right and as accurate as possible information to the public. I have been engaging with so many prospective juniors/ students/parents and there are just so many times they got the wrong information and hence the wrong idea about IMU. More still when I was working with IMU for a short period of time while waiting for me to go for my PMS. haha!
Actually, I am not sure if you guys had it during your orientation, but the SRC used to give out booklet/pamphlet which is like the survival guide for IMU. It has so many information which you can put it in. I used to put it up in the student forum, but it got closed down in the end. haha.. perhaps you should ask the IT rep, he/she might still have the soft copy.
I am quite free these days, I thought perhaps I could help do some upkeeping. hahaha...
Mirianchoo
15-12-2010, 04:21 PM
Yup, okay, thanks for your suggestions to improve my article!
I have yet again edited it and now it's very long but more complete. Check it out: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/International_Medical_University. :)
If there are any other suggestions, feel free to PM me or post more suggestions; I want the article to be as complete as possible. :)
15-12-2010, 04:28 PM
Yeah, it looks so much better now. Thanks alot for the edits and the trouble!! If I do have time, I would be glad to help out with giving in more information!! Especially the academic parts and other courses. I guess that's where my specialty comes in! haha! Cheerios!
junyong5155
15-12-2010, 04:59 PM
@<hidden>
For your info, Uni of Otago and Uni of Auckland are not our partner school anymore starting from this year.
Mirianchoo
15-12-2010, 05:05 PM
Yup, I know, but those two universities are still there on the IMU website and are still officially IMU partner medical schools (for our Sem 5 seniors), which is why I left them there on the article. :)
junyong5155
15-12-2010, 05:13 PM
haha...maybe should put a side note there which incoming batch will not able to partner to those NZ uni as people who actually read the info are those who searching for uni lol
Mirianchoo
15-12-2010, 05:17 PM
haha...maybe should put a side note there which incoming batch will not able to partner to those NZ uni as people who actually read the info are those who searching for uni lol
Okay, will put a side note next to the New Zealand universities okay. :)
15-12-2010, 05:40 PM
@<hidden>
For your info, Uni of Otago and Uni of Auckland are not our partner school anymore starting from this year.
At last one of our longest partner universities are no longer with IMU. Its such a sad loss!!
junyong5155
15-12-2010, 06:49 PM
At last one of our longest partner universities are no longer with IMU. Its such a sad loss!!
Quite a big loss and this scenario made pms stream students more competitive as the number of seats available at pms reduced.
15-12-2010, 07:16 PM
Quite a big loss and this scenario made pms stream students more competitive as the number of seats available at pms reduced.
Well to be frank its not really much of loss in terms of seats, given that Auckland Uni especially has reduced the number of seats significantly two consecutive years before pulling out from our PMS listing. And there arent many people who are interested to come to NZ somehow or rather, with reasons of being too far from home, pricey and perhaps not as famous as the other OZ/UK universities.
As far as I am aware the number of seats hasnt changed much, since we have more universities becoming our partners, for eg, Uni of Melb came back after one semester hiatus and new partners from Brighton Sussex and University of Western Sydney.
topchef2
16-12-2010, 12:22 AM
where are the jpa scholars mostly heading?
16-12-2010, 03:29 AM
where are the jpa scholars mostly heading?
Basically all medical schools. There arent any specific country/ university that JPA scholars go to. However there are certain universities which JPA students will not go this includes Jefferson in US, and the rest of the Partner Schools of the Graduate Programme (ie UQ, Warwick and few others)
jombelajar
16-12-2010, 10:52 PM
Hey there. I'm a local jpa scholar going to IMU next February for medicine. i was just looking around for accommodation today and it was quite expensive. can i know how much allowance does jpa gives for each year? i know i'm local bound but i think allowance should be same anyhow. so, can anyone please please tell me how much you're getting or were getting while in malaysia? i emailed jpa officers but none replying and i didn't get my contract yet so i don't have any lampiran stating how much and etc. i need to know so that i can plan how much i can allocate for my rooms and all. now it's just december, but 90% of the rooms are already rented for next year. haiz. :cry
Mirianchoo
16-12-2010, 11:14 PM
Hey there. I'm a local jpa scholar going to IMU next February for medicine. i was just looking around for accommodation today and it was quite expensive. can i know how much allowance does jpa gives for each year? i know i'm local bound but i think allowance should be same anyhow. so, can anyone please please tell me how much you're getting or were getting while in malaysia? i emailed jpa officers but none replying and i didn't get my contract yet so i don't have any lampiran stating how much and etc. i need to know so that i can plan how much i can allocate for my rooms and all. now it's just december, but 90% of the rooms are already rented for next year. haiz. :cry
Hi Jombelajar!
I am a JPA Scholar in IMU now (under the twinning programme). Yup, your allowance is exactly the same. Here are the figures (per semester):
basic allowance excluding extras: 4620
Kertas Projek: 75
Alat Perkakas: 250
Elaun Buku: 500
Total: 5445
This amount is hardly enough (only about 900 per month) so my parents are helping to subsidise my expenditure.
Hope this post helped! :)
By the way, I am helping out in your IMU orientation. It's going to be lots of fun! :)
jombelajar
17-12-2010, 01:50 AM
Hi Jombelajar!
I am a JPA Scholar in IMU now (under the twinning programme). Yup, your allowance is exactly the same. Here are the figures (per semester):
basic allowance excluding extras: 4620
Kertas Projek: 75
Alat Perkakas: 250
Elaun Buku: 500
Total: 5445
This amount is hardly enough (only about 900 per month) so my parents are helping to subsidise my expenditure.
By the way, I am helping out in your IMU orientation. It's going to be lots of fun! :)
That was super helpful. Thanks. Can i add you on facebook or something, senior ? =p
And and, is the book allowance enough?
JPA should really come stay with us at least one week and then see how much we REALLY need. everything is getting so expensive nowadays but they still expect us to live on maggi mee i guess.
Fortunately our parents still can give us some money if we need. some of my friends don't even use their allowance. i wonder how the students from very poor family survive.
Or maybe i'm just spoiled brat. LOL
junyong5155
17-12-2010, 10:19 AM
That was super helpful. Thanks. Can i add you on facebook or something, senior ? =p
JPA should really come stay with us at least one week and then see how much we REALLY need. everything is getting so expensive nowadays but they still expect us to live on maggi mee i guess.
Fortunately our parents still can give us some money if we need. some of my friends don't even use their allowance. i wonder how the students from very poor family survive.
If the book allowance is rm500 per year, then it's quite sufficient. Basically sem 1 you just need 1 textbook on anatomy and physiology (Marieb or Tortora) and dorland medical dictionary (I prefer pocket size one). Add up roughly rm200.
IMU got alot of textbook or journal that we can borrow. So don't worry so much on book allowance. =D
And, there are seniors who are selling their second hand book. XD
Fyi, living expenses in imu is roughly about rm1000 per month. (Thats when u really budget yourself properly)
And, pls join orientation and enjoy it! Orientation rocks!
Mirianchoo
17-12-2010, 03:43 PM
Haha, yup, it's a good idea for JPA officers to come stay with us and see how much we need. I mean, if your rent is RM500 per month, you only have RM400 left per month... And if you minus off the money for utility bills, notes, books, etc, you are left with perhaps less than RM300 per month. Less than RM10 per day for food... so yeah, Maggi Mee might as well be the staple food of JPA scholars, lol. :P
The book allowance is more than enough. You can buy books cheaply at our very own IMU bookstore called EMO bookstore (real name). As junyong5155 rightly mentioned, you only need Marieb/Tortora (for anatomy and physiology) and Dorland's (medical dictionary). If you are super kiasu and get Marieb AND Tortora and Dorland's, the RM500 is still enough. :)
Oh, and about adding me on Facebok, my Facebook account is inactive and basically only used to play Scrabble and besides, I don't even use my real name for my Facebook account, so it's rather pointless to add me. :P
If there are any questions you want to ask me, just feel free to PM me or ask more on Recom.
Hope to see you during orientation! :)
jombelajar
17-12-2010, 03:43 PM
I need a room to stay. Preferably middle room. If anyone come across any ad, please pm me. i went and surveyed but all the rooms are already taken. Thanks:cry
And oh, about the orientation. I heard some real bad news about it. I even heard that some student group in IMU protested against the way the orientation is being held and all. Is it true?
Mirianchoo
17-12-2010, 03:54 PM
I need a room to stay. Preferably middle room. If anyone come across any ad, please pm me. i went and surveyed but all the rooms are already taken. Thanks:cry
And oh, about the orientation. I heard some real bad news about it. I even heard that some student group in IMU protested against the way the orientation is being held and all. Is it true?
Yeah, well, the orientation has a lot of games that require you to get wet and dirty and run all over the place, but there isn't really any ragging. You can opt not to join any activities you cannot handle, besides. So none of the orientation activities are really compulsory. But why not just join in the fun? It's not really that extreme or horrible really; I heard that the orientations for public universities are worse. The seniors are really kind and helpful in the orientation by the way.
The complaint might be true, but seriously, orientation is not that rough.... So don't worry too much about it.
JonChua
18-12-2010, 06:36 PM
Alternatively, what u can do is ask ur parents to sponsor ur rent (like mine are), and then u'll have lotsa spare $$ to spend. No need to eat maggi mee at all (I've never touched one this sem), you can afford to eat proper meals every day. Seriously, if $$ is such a concern to you, just cook. I cook all the time for friends. Its cheaper, healthier, and more satisfying when you cook. AND, the ladies prefer it if you're a guy who is actually worth having around in the kitchen :) doesn't take that much time too. You can make a really quick pasta with raw white button mushrooms, mince meat, a can of pasta sauce, in like 30mins or less. Much healthier than resorting to eating junk, right? And anyway, you're gna be a doctor (i assume?), can't have you eating rubbish and then telling ur patients to eat healthy, right?
The only people who protest against the orientation are those who never went for it. And who are super-prudes. And who deserve to get booted out of IMU to take a degree on "HOW TO HAVE FUN" (which I hope you don't need). You'll get dirty, wet, your hair will have indescribable stuff in it. But u'll be having fun at the same time, trust me. And bonding with ur other friends. Even those who never went for the dirty (FUN!!) stuff said that it was fun, please go, etc. Oh, just remember to have a bottle of dynamo and a bucket ready b4 orientation.
jombelajar
19-12-2010, 02:13 AM
LOL. well, i'm sure i will enjoy the orientation then. Looking forward to see you guys. =)
oh ya, i'm going to be a doctor. XD
Lan1982
20-12-2010, 10:33 PM
hi guys..actually im thinking of applying to imu next year... but not sure is UM science foundation rsult accepted?? and other than the john beck scholars...what are the other options available?
hope anyone can enlighten me here..
Mirianchoo
23-12-2010, 01:17 AM
hi guys..actually im thinking of applying to imu next year... but not sure is UM science foundation rsult accepted?? and other than the john beck scholars...what are the other options available?
Oh, the foundation in Science course is accepted for applying to IMU for courses other than medicine, dentistry and pharmacy. For these 3 courses, IMU prefers internationally-recognised pre-university courses like A-Levels and STPM, or a recognised diploma or degree.
Apart from the IMU scholarships themselves, I don't know of any other scholarships for you to apply for to finance your studies in IMU, since it's too late for you to apply for a JPA scholarship to study in IMU. You can, however, apply for a loan such as the PTPTN loan.
Also, you can apply for the IMU High Achiever Award and IMU Merit Award (refer to the IMU website: http://www.imu.edu.my/pro-financial-aama.html ). These are percentage waivers (or percentage cuts/discounts) off your semester fees if you do well in your pre-university or in the course itself.
18-02-2011, 10:25 AM
Hi,
Which UM science foundation do you mean specifically? If its the one that you do in PASUM. I think it should be acceptable since that is equivalent to a government's ministry of education's matriculation programme. For that your cGPA would be taken as a entry requirement.
Depending on which pathway you would want to take. The John Beck and IMU scholarships are only for 5 year local medical course. That said, there are only one place for each scholarships per year and application would normally be open sometime in March/April, to be considered for August intake only. The other financial option that you can get would be PTPTN loan which would cover about 50% of the study course again locally. There are also other financial aids such as Kuok foundation, MARA and EPF. For overseas programme, there is only one which is the JPA loan which would be a maximum of RM200,000 for the entire study years oveseas.
Cheers.
cutie87
27-02-2011, 02:16 PM
Can I apply to the partner university directly after the phase 1 medical preparation in IMU if i am not satisfy with the matched uni.
27-02-2011, 04:59 PM
Can I apply to the partner university directly after the phase 1 medical preparation in IMU if i am not satisfy with the matched uni.
Hi hi, you would not be able to do so, as this would be a matching programme. Hence, the university only offers the places as agreed with IMU. ie, if uni X were to offer 5 places to IMU students from the matching programme, and you are not the 5, you just cant apply to that particular university as you are not allocated a seat at all.
Regards,