View Full Version : Criteria to consider when purchase a laptop

evan89
12-06-2007, 02:34 PM
I need some infomations on what shuld i look for when purchase a laptop
so what minimum requirement tat i must consider?

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 02:36 PM
you need a list of requirements before you can set criteria for laptop.

for example what is your budget and what is the task you need the laptop to do? (games, PLM/PDM, school project etc.)

evan89
12-06-2007, 02:41 PM
for assignment of course and oso on9 purpose

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 02:54 PM
How about the budget?

12-06-2007, 02:56 PM
for assignment of course and oso on9 purpose

regarding your assignments, do you need to do graphic related stuff say like architecture/drawings/sketchings?? or just do normal projects, using power point, word, excel??

how much do you plan to spend on your laptop? are you bringing it overseas? which brands do you plan to look at?

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 03:04 PM
If budget is not a problem, get the brand with best reputation and service. For technical requirements just get the best memory, largest disk storage, fastest CPU, best motherboard and media cards. Best of everything. :P

and also get some extras like external harddisk, memory stick or pen drive, optical mouse and so on.

jasmine_tea
12-06-2007, 03:10 PM
I have a question,
can our laptop be used overseas?
i heard electrical appliances like electric kettle etc cant be brought overseas, different voltage compared to malaysia
is tis the same as laptop?

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 03:14 PM
I have a question,
i heard electrical appliances like electric kettle etc cant be brought overseas, different voltage compared to malaysia

The laptop uses an adaptor which accept a range of voltage.

Frequency might vary from country to country but it is not a requirement in laptop usage. The adaptor changes alternative current into direct current. Therefore frequency is no more relevant.

The only problem is the current? I think the adaptor will solve it.

jasmine_tea
12-06-2007, 03:20 PM
I have a question,

The laptop uses an adaptor which accept a range of voltage.

Frequency might vary from country to country but it is not a requirement in laptop usage. The adaptor changes alternative current into direct current. Therefore frequency is no more relevant.

The only problem is the current? I think the adaptor will solve it.

u mean laptop wil not be a problem?
tat's good then
i dun hav the money to buy laptop again if i m to buy it now

Butters
12-06-2007, 04:12 PM

1. Operating system....XP, Vista or Mac OS....i suggest XP...eventhough I'm a Mac fan...

2. Budget....buy laptop under RM3500...it's reasonable

3. Memory...nowdays, 1GB is very common

4. Hard disk....more than 80GB....to store your mp3s, pics and porn...i mean video

5. Get Intel Core 2 Duo...it's the latest chip from Intel

6. Wireless connection.....so you can access free internet

7. CD and DVD burner

8 Weight....around 2kg....

evan89
12-06-2007, 04:53 PM
My budget would be around 3k-4k
erm i dunno wat nid in my assignment i tyaking engineering course so wat shuld i look for

12-06-2007, 04:54 PM
I have a question,

The laptop uses an adapter which accept a range of voltage.

Frequency might vary from country to country but it is not a requirement in laptop usage. The adapter changes alternative current into direct current. Therefore frequency is no more relevant.

The only problem is the current? I think the adapter will solve it.wa, big problem lorr... imagine using a 110 volt adapter with 220 volt power supply, you will be lucky if it's your adapter which have burned instead of your laptop... On the other hand, most adapters can accept both 110-120 and 220-250V main voltage...

machanical enginners talking about things they don't know about -.-

for assignment of course and oso on9 purposeFor your purpose, any laptop will do. The laptops today are more than powerful enough to do your tasks efficiently ;)

erm i dunno wat nid in my assignment i tyaking engineering course so wat shuld i look forI still think anything will do. Unless you are into or animation, there is no need to get a high-end laptop with high-end graphics chip ;)

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 05:01 PM
erm i dunno wat nid in my assignment i tyaking engineering course so wat shuld i look for

OK nice.

here is a small guideline that you can use for your range of budget. Get something like this or something better than this :

memory 256 MB
CPU
Harddisk 40 GB or more
CD or DVD Burner,
Don't forget USB 2.0 ports.

peripheral a Canon BJC printer
Optical mouse, try Logitech
(optical mouse last much longer than ball rolling mouse :P )

This should be enough.
Brands :

Acer, HP and Compaq (under HP?)
are some nice laptop you can consider of getting.

Dell, Sony, Fujitsu Siemens etc. not really recommendable for various reason.

12-06-2007, 05:11 PM

OK nice.

here is a small guideline that you can use for your range of budget. Get something like this or something better than this :

memory 256 MB
CPU
Harddisk 40 GB or more
CD or DVD Burner,

This should be enough.
Brands :

Dell, Sony, Fujitsu Siemens etc. not really recommendable for various reason.specs from 3 years ago...

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 05:23 PM

1. Operating system....XP, Vista or Mac OS....i suggest XP...eventhough I'm a Mac fan...

2. Budget....buy laptop under RM3500...it's reasonable

3. Memory...nowdays, 1GB is very common

4. Hard disk....more than 80GB....to store your mp3s, pics and porn...i mean video

5. Get Intel Core 2 Duo...it's the latest chip from Intel

6. Wireless connection.....so you can access free internet

7. CD and DVD burner

8 Weight....around 2kg....

Butters,
you should try to play VisiCalc
an advance program for students

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7a/Visicalc.png

12-06-2007, 05:28 PM

OK nice.

memory 256 MB
CPU
Harddisk 40 GB or more
CD or DVD Burner,

This should be enough.
Brands :

Dell, Sony, Fujitsu Siemens etc. not really recommendable for various reason.specs from 3 years ago...

Hey, still ok with todays software. But for roughly 2.5k, you can already get twice the specs.

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 05:31 PM
yeah that is a good news for evan. :-)
the criteria guideline is just minimum as I have mentioned very clearly on my post.

*ahem*

*clap clap*

Butters
12-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Butters,
you should try to play VisiCalc
an advance program for students

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7a/Visicalc.png

what is that?

Fourthshifter
12-06-2007, 07:50 PM
it is an i-J.O.k.E