View Full Version : Buying the book Online.
13-06-2007, 10:39 PM
Hi guys, have anyone of you here bought a book online?
How many working days from the day u book until the book reach ur house?
If the company if overseas, how long will it take then..
and how ....is it trusted to buy book online?
wpyeoh
16-06-2007, 12:16 AM
I've bought books online before, but not in M'sia... Whether it's trustworthy or not will depend on the company...
18-06-2007, 09:38 PM
May I know which company you bought from? U bought that books when you are staying overseas?
And, what do you think of that service and the price, is it reasonable?
18-06-2007, 09:40 PM
see this:
http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=online+bookstore&meta=
18-06-2007, 09:49 PM
i would recommend Amazon
official site:
http://www.amazon.com/
Fourthshifter
18-06-2007, 09:50 PM
I find trouble purchasing Pornography online.
18-06-2007, 09:51 PM
I hardly find any comments there.
18-06-2007, 09:57 PM
I find trouble purchasing Pornography online.
BAD BOY!!
wpyeoh
19-06-2007, 03:31 AM
May I know which company you bought from? U bought that books when you are staying overseas?
And, what do you think of that service and the price, is it reasonable?
I've only bought books online in France, and from companies in France, so I don't know how long it'll take for an overseas company. It can take from 2 to 10 days to arrive, depending on the company. I've bought from Amazon several times because Amazon.fr offers free delivery for books...sometimes delivery charges can be pretty high, so it's best to check the delivery price and add it to the price of the book, and see whether you're willing to pay that price (book+delivery, I mean) for the book. (Of course, it's best to buy all you want to buy at one time, to save on shipping costs...)
By the way, anyone knows how much Amazon charges to ship to Malaysia?
19-06-2007, 06:47 AM
To ship to malaysia, the shipping charge will be arnd 30++ ringgit per package.
For me, i also had bought a lot of books online from Amazon, used and new. The service is quite reliable and the prices are reasonable as well...What's better than having your book delivered to your own doorstep after you've purchased it?
19-06-2007, 10:34 AM
O..no matter how many books we buy online, the shipping charge is approxiamtely RM30++?
And Thanks for everyone replies.
21-06-2007, 10:29 PM
I saw Amazon offer free shipping on selected books. Does it applies to Malaysia?
28-06-2007, 12:46 PM
Ya, I saw too, the free shipping and it says that it will only take about 1 day to reach our house, is it applicable to Malaysia?
mbmmbi
08-05-2010, 10:54 AM
I've bought books online before. delivery by normal parcel post. it take 3 days to reached my house.
AnnSecret
07-05-2011, 10:54 PM
I have bought from mphonline.com before. As Malaysia's leading retail bookstore, I would say that their service is good. They charge RM8 for delivery but delivery is free if you order is more than RM180. They use courier service so it takes at least 3 days to arrive.
But now I prefer to buy from 'unqualified' booksellers. They operate mainly on eBay and their blogshops. They get their books from suppliers and are cheaper than retail because they don't have a physical bookstore. If you find someone that can be trusted, you wont have any problem. Plus, since I'm such a regular customer I get free delivery.
I have been shopping online for over a year now. No problems so far :)
Remember, always check their credibility.
07-05-2011, 11:48 PM
I prefer ordering through a bookstore. The owner places the order online for me. If anything happens, then it won't be my money getting lost. The good thing about this is that I can get any book I want from any part of the world, even the banned ones. :)
AnnSecret
07-05-2011, 11:50 PM
I prefer ordering through a bookstore. The owner places the order online for me. If anything happens, then it won't be my money getting lost. The good thing about this is that I can get any book I want from any part of the world, even the banned ones. :)
Wait... BANNED ones? Even Salman Rushdie's The Satanic Verses? How??? Tell me how!
08-05-2011, 12:00 AM
Wait... BANNED ones? Even Salman Rushdie's The Satanic Verses? How??? Tell me how!
Just replied you in a PM.
leeashroe
23-12-2011, 11:09 PM
Try The Book Depository (http://www.bookdepository.co.uk/), they have FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE (zomg *flies in glee*). I haven't try buying anything YET. Amazon is a good place too, buy lots of books per shipment to save shipping costs.
I think buying online saves a lot of money. If you convert the USD to RM, you'll realise it's cheaper by few RMs. Of course you'll have to bear the shipping costs, but that's why it's advisable for you to buy lots of books at one time to spread the shipping cost!
As for personal experience, I only bought ebooks from Amazon once. In in the future I am planning to get my books online. It makes my shopping a lot more 'organised' in some ways (Bookstores tend to tempt me to buy books that I didn't plan on buying initially, which is good for the soul because I get to read more, but bad for the pocket since I overspent)
marczeman
25-12-2011, 07:16 PM
How about just investing in a Kindle(or any other e-reader) and pirating the ebooks instead? Will save you an infinite amount of money. If you don't want to cough up for an e-reader then you could just read it off your notebook/netbook/desktop...I can't even remember the last time I paid for a novel...
Reference books(and others with diagrams etc) might be best viewed on a full size monitor..
leeashroe
25-12-2011, 11:37 PM
How about just investing in a Kindle(or any other e-reader) and pirating the ebooks instead? Will save you an infinite amount of money. If you don't want to cough up for an e-reader then you could just read it off your notebook/netbook/desktop...I can't even remember the last time I paid for a novel...
Reference books(and others with diagrams etc) might be best viewed on a full size monitor..
An e-reader is definitely an investment. It's comfortable reading through your e-reader rather than your desktop. Other than pirated ones, you can legally get ebooks for free too, especially classics. Some of Amazon's ebooks are less than $1! Amazon has daily Kindle ebook offers that you can check out as well :)