View Full Version : Girls smoking.... what you think about it?

Pages : [1] 2

25-03-2004, 01:09 AM
Nowadays the number of girls that smoking is increasing. We can easily notise that everywhere. What's the first impression of the girl when she is smoking in front of you?

hehe.. just feel curious to know how you all think about it :P

25-03-2004, 01:12 AM
I try to stay away from smokers whenever possible regardless of his/her gender

well, to me, if a girl smokes, i would say that i will not see her as any different than if she doesn't.

25-03-2004, 01:20 AM
I try to stay away from smokers whenever possible regardless of his/her gender

what if the smoker is not smoking at that time? you'll still stay away from him/her?

Shian_Ling_the_Duchess
25-03-2004, 02:34 AM
gender makes no difference to me too..

i normally stay away from people who are smoking..

25-03-2004, 02:55 AM
If possible, yes.

cos they got this lingering smoke smell.

25-03-2004, 03:23 AM
Negative : both genders

25-03-2004, 07:24 AM
mm..personally I don't really like people who smoke. However, there are social-smokers and heavy-smoker.
The 1st impression for girls who smoke...mm...to be frank, maybe in my mind I'll think that this girl is a wild girl, maybe she has influenced by the bad companies.
In any context, whether male or female, smoking is definitely detrimental to your health, but also to others. I don't believe in any excuses smokers might give regarding why don't they try their best to quit smoking or why they have started smoking, since obviously we have come to know about smoking does no good but harm to our health.

Just my two cents...

25-03-2004, 07:45 AM
that's commom scene nowadays. i won't have any special bad impression about the girl who smokes since everyone has their right to do whatever they want. as long as they don't make me suck in their second hand smoke then it's ok .

SpRInG
25-03-2004, 08:34 AM
i'm an anti-smoking person... but not really an anti-smoker person.. but... sometimes it's quite erm.... 'irritating' to have smokers speaking with their mouth full of 'smoke smell'....

regardless of gender, i do not agree with smoking..

:roll: :roll: :roll:

FiAnS
25-03-2004, 08:40 AM
That's not my kind of girl...

FiAnS
25-03-2004, 08:59 AM
But I can hangout with her....

oshmelvin
25-03-2004, 09:03 AM
My first impression? I'll be quite annoyed and disgusted. Annoyed by the smoke and disgusted by the fact that more and more girls are taking up the filthy habit (which literally implies that the rate of cancer among girls are going to rise). What makes smoking so appealing to some? The look? If it's for the look, it's not worth it because smoking gives you wrinkles at a young age and think about the nicotine stains. And most smokers have yellow and scaly skin, which is a side effect of smoke. So, if you think it's cool looking think again! Peer pressure? If your friends are caring enough they will not introduce you to smoking. If they do, they are poisoning you unknowingly so get new friends! :D

lonewolfhan
25-03-2004, 09:52 AM
Hmm.. in short.. .I HATE HATE HATE HATE gals who smoke... Yakkk... juz cant stand it.... Well... i think i dun like ppl who smoke at all... Mmmm.... boys too !!!

Well.. i went to spore b4... it was shocking to find out that most of the gals smoke there.... Yeww.... the scene is so Horrible.. especially at the Orchard Road area.... Sigh~~ sickening....

25-03-2004, 12:33 PM
I find ppl who smoke (male and female) very annoying, especially when they smoke in public places. I have some girlfriends who smoke but the fact that they 'light up' doesn't matter much in our friendship, just as they don't smoke in my presence.

However, in our society, there's an apparent gender biased regarding this issue. Guys who smoke are not viewed as 'bad' as girls who do. In fact, some people actually think that smoking for a guy is okay because it brings out the masculinity in him. But if a girl smokes, she is often met with frowns and signs of disapproval.

Smoking is hazardous both to men and women, so why the discrimination?

miraclesnfantasy
25-03-2004, 12:48 PM
i've been close friends with smokers since form 1 but after high school i try to stay as far as i can from someone who's smoking at the time :x . i've had enough of smoke and bad smell for 5 years and now it just irritates me. most smokers just don't understand that we, non-smoker, have the rights to ask smokers to not smoke in front of us. its not only unhealthy for them, its also for us :cry: . what irritates me the most is when some smoker just smoke without the thought of others.about the gender thingy..from what i know the effects of smoking on girls are much,much,much worse than on guys. if all girls were smoking that we might have a world full of disable babies :( . guess that's where the discrimination comes from.. :?

Cirnelle
25-03-2004, 03:05 PM
smoking is bad, thats definitely true, disregarding the gender. i have nothing against girls who smoke, thats their choice and they are responsible for their own health. BUT i am definitely 100% against mothers who smoke... dun run the risk of becoming pregnant if u have the habit of smoking...though i know its hard to control this kinda thing... :wink:

juz thought of something.....for guys out there, if u r a smoker, would u mind if ur gf smokes too? or vice versa for girls...if u smoke, do u mind if ur bf smokes?

25-03-2004, 03:37 PM
yeah.. that's true... smoking is bad for health, not only influence the smoker's health but also those surrounding with...

there is a very terrible scence in Korea. the guys who came back from national service do smoking, at the same time, most of the korean girls are heavy smokers too. in my college, everywhere there are smoking area, at the end of the corners of every floor of every building.

korean girls never smoking at the public. they only smoke in the toilet. try to imagine the toilet that full with smoke after a break time... :?

25-03-2004, 05:01 PM
BUT i am definitely 100% against mothers who smoke... dun run the risk of becoming pregnant if u have the habit of smoking...

This is so true! Smoking when you're pregant puts your child at risk of getting learning difficulties (LD). In simpler words, thanks to your puffing away, your child might be dyslexic, hyperactive, slow etc. So mothers-to-be don't just think twice, think many,many times.

For more details on the effects of smoking during pregnancy;

http://www.cdc.gov/od/oc/media/fact/smokpreg.htm

oshmelvin
25-03-2004, 05:38 PM
Smoking is hazardous both to men and women, so why the discrimination?

Probably it's pretty much due to the advertisments of smoking in the early 70's, 80's and 90's were smoking men were protrayed to be very masculine especially the cowboys. There were less women figures smoking at that time even though higher class women do smoke during the time. The smoking tred continued to revolve around men as a social event being given the cool picture and also the pleasures of nicotine. So probably men had been sterotyped with the smoking masculine figure because of years of media influence. Women on the other hand were supposed to be lady-like during those times, wearing tight dresses with skeletal frames and do not really fit the "rough" image of smoking even though there were cigarette brands made for women of the upper class. So, probably the discrimination is due to the media influence and the male figure smoking advertisments.

25-03-2004, 08:57 PM
But I thought women in the 1960s smoke too, especially housewives at the time? From some TV shows I've seen, housewives then were smokers. And its not only a Western phenomenon. I have an aunt and a grandmother who smoke, and both were housewives in the 1960s.

25-03-2004, 09:19 PM
In America there's more Female smokers then Male.

I quit smokin about 4 months ago just to find out my gf picked up the habit *sigh*

hungwei
25-03-2004, 09:28 PM
Singapore has introduced a gum which actually helps smokers to resists smoking. I wonder if it will really help smokers quit their habit, or even gradually reduce smoking frequency.

mystique_jasper
25-03-2004, 09:39 PM
8) Personally, i hate girls who smoke. They just give a bad impression, especially those girls who are under age. They seem like they are degrading themselves. Smoking in front of public.... Please..... Why, nowadays so many girls like to smoke??? :( Is it true that smoke will make them look cool??? I doubt it. So girls who smoke..Please........STOP SMOKING!!!! 8)

gesar
25-03-2004, 10:04 PM
No one can imagine how much I hate people who smoke...Don't they know that smoking kills them? Smoking will cause many problems....all the diseases....cancer...lungs problem....bad breath....dental problem..and more... :evil: :x 8O

I am especially against girls or ladies smoke....they feel its cool to smoke in public tagging along with their boy friends habit...that is so gross...why? because by doing this, their boyfriends will like them better....or what? they think they wanna try out and see if it is nice....one must know that once starts, one will never stop.... :twisted: :twisted:

some people think its cause of peer pressure....their friends asked them to try so without much thinking, they jus follow what their friends asked...a bit dumb right? what if your friend ask you to commit suicide? will you? or if they ask you to eat shit, will you? :evil: :twisted: 8O :?

Prevention is better than cure....

soul_out
25-03-2004, 10:13 PM
Underage female smoker (12-15) - Stupid. Why do you want to start? Why do you want to hurt yourself? Where is your future?

Teenage female smoker (16-20) - Have you ever think of want to quit? By the way, i guess you are old enough to judge and decide for yourself.

Undergrad female smoker (21-23) - Stress huh? Well, i think you are cool and sexy. But do you ever think of lung cancer?

Working class female smoker (24 n above) - You started to make $$$ now. This is my name card. Come to my pharmacy if you are interested in smoking ceasation plan. I will give you discount. I used to be a smoker as well. I think i'm fit enough to give technical and moral support.

Mommy smoker - Aunty, don't you want your baby to be a healthy baby? Don't you think you are a bit selfish? Where is your love?

P/S: Please respect smokers as they respect in you.

laplace
25-03-2004, 10:13 PM
i have read through all the replies here and averagely i can say... negative to smokers, regardless of the gender huh...

i am a smoker, used to be a social smoker but lately "upgraded" to heavy smoker.

i saw a lot of people replied with the verb "hate" against smokers, why? do you think that particular individual has nothing that will potentially impress you? or you think that just a habit of that person, you can totally forget or ignore their personalities/attitude/behavior that they have?

they are also human, a human is a kind of "3D" being, that you can watch them from different angles.

let me give an example: in future, after your studies, you have to start working, and your boss is a smoker, do u have to hate him? if your colleagues are smokers, u will hate them? your customers, your peers are all smokers, u have to hate them as well? come back to the family, if you father or mother is also a smoker, u hate them too?

think about this... i do not support smoking, and i am not qualified to lecture u all, i was a student before, i was a teenager before, i have past through so many years of working experiences, i just wanna remind you guys, if you are too self-orientated, you won't be able to survive in this world.

You can't ask the whole world to do whatever suit your requirement, on the other hand u MUST get yourself easily suit into this world. What does it meant by self-orientated? everything u think, u say, u claim, u complaint... that started with an " I "... such as I hate, I don't like, not my type and so on...

if you don't feel like staying with them (smokers), u may tell them not to smoke too much coz theoretically and practically it is not healthy... as a kinda concern for them. it will be more efficiency if you able to convince someone to quit smocking rather than keep yourself away from them, eventually u still have a friend who used to smoke but later due to your words and advices, he/she stop smoking, u have actually safe someone's life and gain a friendship.

u may fight back, saying that those smokers are actually ruin your healthy life, yeah!! that's correct but tell me, how many person u can hate or keep yourself away from? huh?? do u aware of how many smokers in this globe? We should focus on the problems, not the person! U hate smoking, but not the smokers right? If u can put more care and concern to the smokers around u, then u will be granted with a lot of friendship and they will appreciate you.

i am sorry that i have forgotten someone who mentioned about the advertisement shown that how masculine a person is if he smoke... if you have time, before you reply this post, please read through the post from Royston (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=119).

again, no offense, u may take my words, or ignore it :wink:

laplace..

soul_out
25-03-2004, 10:33 PM
No one can imagine how much I hate people who smoke...Don't they know that smoking kills them? Smoking will cause many problems....all the diseases....cancer...lungs problem....bad breath....dental problem..and more... :evil: :x 8O

I am especially against girls or ladies smoke....they feel its cool to smoke in public tagging along with their boy friends habit...that is so gross...why? because by doing this, their boyfriends will like them better....or what? they think they wanna try out and see if it is nice....one must know that once starts, one will never stop.... :twisted: :twisted:

Why do you hate smokers? It's their life, not yours. If you don't like, you can stay far away from them. Hatred doesn't cease with hatred, only Love does.

It's 2004 now. Why do you "especially against" female smokers? Ain't female human as well? Why do you think that they take up smoking because their boyfriend will love them more? Are you one of them or they told you this? So this is just your assumption huh? I think you are a non-smoker, so please don't judge a smoker as you never in the same shoe with them so you won't know how they feel. Think twice before you say.

Smokers is also human, so they have conscious like everybody does. Of course they know smoking kills. They might having problem in giving up this habit. All they need is support from friends and family particularly the love one. Well, if you think that you are great, why don't you try to help them? Yelling here will only make yourself looks like a fool.

laplace
25-03-2004, 10:43 PM
i have a umm... stupid suggestion, for those non-smokers, why don't you try to pick up the habit and u will know how does a smoker think/feel? haha... just kiddin... Roy will kick me like a football...

Yeah... i agree with soul_out... try to put your leg in their shoes, they need help, support, friendly advices, concern and care. We are human, please be kind to each other...

laplace..

25-03-2004, 10:52 PM
I can see that it's really different between the feedbacks from smokers and non-smokers.
After reading posts from laplace and Royston, I feel so touched. Maybe I'm not in the smokers' position, so I shall never know what's the exact feelings when they're already 'being friends' with cigarette for such a long time. Of course, quitting is not a one-day or one-month matter, as it takes time, and strong determination. Albeit they (smokers) know the fact that smoking is detrimental to their health, they will die sooner, anytime. But, I'm sure during the process of quitting is even more torturing and painful.
No matter how, come to think about it, for the benefits of yourself, for your future and your family, loved ones, quitting is the best way. :wink:

25-03-2004, 11:00 PM
In America there's more Female smokers then Male.

I quit smokin about 4 months ago just to find out my gf picked up the habit *sigh*

Sorry to hear about that... think you should know why it happened.. try to give more concern to her.. maybe one day she will quit :wink:

25-03-2004, 11:30 PM
Well, to be frank, I am a social smoker since last April. I took the first cigarrete from one of my college mate, just for my curiousity. After the first cigarrete, I didn't touch the second one for months.

Around October, I got some personal problems while i was preparing for my mid-term exam. It just happened at the night before I got to go for the first paper at the next day morning. I just freaked out and can't concerntrate on my study at all. I became very emotional and made all my friends worried about me.

After the exam period, some of my friends accompanied me at a pub. They listened to my problems and lent me thier shoulders. At the same time, they sounded out thier own problems too, such like stress on study, hometown friends' eye sight against them just because they choose to further thier study here in Korea( in fact we all are JPA scholars here). The whole night long, we did drinking and smoking together. We felt that our friendship had been gained after the concern for each other from the bottom of heart!

Well, some of us( minority of all the Malaysian students here in Korea) used to hang out and have a couple of drinks and do smoking. Now, personallity, beers or wine just can't be separated from smoking for me.

Besides that, drinking and smoking is how i socialise with my korean classmates. I found out that compare to my other Malaysian classmates, i can be easier to get along with them once i did drinking and smoking with them in the pub.

I don't know how you guys will think of me, but that's just the ME now. I do enjoy the life now as well. :)

25-03-2004, 11:46 PM
talking about smoking, have you guys seen South Park #713 - Butt Out. it's awesome. those anti-smokers should watch it. you'll like it.

26-03-2004, 12:41 AM
i dun think smoking has anything got to do with gender... male smokers, female smokers are still smokers and I hate SMOKERS>...

SMOKERS are killing the others in their attempt of committing suicide... if u want to burn money and kill urself by inhaling tar and more than 100 types of harmful chemical ingredients... go ahead... but dun dirty this already polluted earth...

maybe i sound harsh, maybe rude, maybe offensive... but it this is going to stop anyone of the smokers out there to stop smoking, i dun mind...

social smokers.... still a big No No.... are u telling me that u can't socialize with ur frens just becoz u didn't smoke???
if u can change ur fren to quit smoking, it doesn't mean that u have to start smoking to be in the crowd.... u can just walk away from the crowd...

maybe u say that smoke can help u to relieve ur stress.... to ease away ur tense feeling... but no no no... if u need to take drugs and or smoke to feel this way, u are just telling the world that u are mentally weak....u can't control ur mind and need artificial relieve to feel better momentarily.... Ewwww....

I'm a person who hates SMOKERS.... and HATE is a very strong word.....

Sorry if i hurt any of your feelings... just to tell the truth and nothing but the truth... :roll:

soul_out
26-03-2004, 12:48 AM
Sorry if i hurt any of your feelings... just to tell the truth and nothing but the truth... :roll:

What is the truth?

26-03-2004, 12:51 AM

What is the truth?

SMOKE KILLS....not only smokers, but also innocent passive smokers...

soul_out
26-03-2004, 01:14 AM
maybe u say that smoke can help u to relieve ur stress.... to ease away ur tense feeling... but no no no... if u need to take drugs and or smoke to feel this way, u are just telling the world that u are mentally weak....u can't control ur mind and need artificial relieve to feel better momentarily.... Ewwww....

I would say everyone has their owe way of dealing with stress.

Do you know most of the celebrities are smokers irrespective of gender?

Do you know most of the famous columnists, artists and writers are smokers?

Do know understand how great is their pressure of living the the world differently with most ordinary people?

There are many ways to judge a person, and everybody has their own way. You can say they are mentally week, and i personally think that they are great as they can achieve things that not everyone in the world can achieve.

So do you hate them? Or you just hate those smokers that you saw in Malaysia?

26-03-2004, 02:05 AM
Do know understand how great is their pressure of living the the world differently with most ordinary people?
it is only great if these great figures can handle great stress even if they dun smoke...

take an analogy:
i see no greatness for a sportman to break the mark by taking drugs... :wink:

So do you hate them? Or you just hate those smokers that you saw in Malaysia?

i hate smokers generally...celebrities, writers, politicians? so what... they choose to be public figures, they must learn to cope with the stress...there are thousands of leaders, celebrities and writers and columnist and sportsmen/women who achieve great heights without smoking.... yet they can survive.... and not just merely survive... if they can, why can't the others???

all smokers kill innocent ppl by exhaling the smoke ...

26-03-2004, 03:53 AM
wah, i see fallacious sweep generalization. they say smokers are stupid, but generalizing things is a sign of stupidity too.

you know what, i'm a smoker. i used to smoke quite a lot before, around 2 boxes of 20 for 3 days. now, i can hardly finish a box in a week. i'm proud of myself to reduce the habbit. i do plan to quit, because i know how bad it is. but some people tend to discriminate me. that makes me not wanting to quit in the near future.
i smoke, but i always keep myself away from people when i'm smoking, unless they voluntarily come to me to talk or something. but some people hate me. some people say all smokers kill other people.
and some of those people are drinkers. alcohol kills too, but they hate me more.
well, hate me if you want, as much as you wish. i hope you believe hatred makes you healthier, otherwise you are as unwise as i am.

26-03-2004, 04:03 AM
by the way, guns kill too Merson. look at your avatar. aren't you in a way promoting something unhealthy?

26-03-2004, 07:02 AM

Well, did you experience before how difficult for one to "take it easy, don't think so much and bla bla bla with other advices from friends" while he/she is facing some problems at once?

When i was facing the problems, I kept telling myself to be "take it easy", " that's not a big deal if compare to study", " study is more important" bla bla bla. I did try to control my mind.

I used to advise my friends to take it easy, don't think too much etc while my friends faced some problems. But when turn into myself who is the one facing the problems, I realised that that is difficult to take actions with such advices.

z
26-03-2004, 07:07 AM
smoking is anti-social here on campus. i really like the change of environment from a smoker-heavy area to one which is almost smoke-free.

the lack of personal experience prevents me from truly understanding a smoker's feelings. nonetheless, just like quitting from any other habit (like quitting from excessive LAN gaming), i do know that it's not easy to change an old habit. that's why i have a lot of respect for people who are determined to quit smoking and successfully do so.

i think it's more effective to help a smoker quit by convincing him that his smoking brings inconveniences to other people rather than emphasizing on health-related arguments. peer influences/pressure could be a strong factor in one's smoking, but we have to recognize that smokers do make the decision to smoke and that most of them are aware of the side-effects.

26-03-2004, 07:15 AM
Emmm... I do smoking at the pub only while drinking with friends. Or in other words, drinking and smoking is can't be separated for me. If there is only cigarrete, its taste suck, but when smoking while drinking, its taste nice. Same with beers and wine too, tastes suck if without cigarrete. Well, so far, I only do smoking in the pub. Friendly advice from me to those non-smokers or "smoker-haters", stay away from pubs or clubbing too.

26-03-2004, 07:28 AM
that's how many people pick up the habit of smoking.

smoke after meal make you feel "fulfilling", smoke while drinking makes u high.

janewai, i do hope u just keep the cigarattes in the pub. :D

26-03-2004, 07:54 AM
i think it's more effective to help a smoker quit by convincing him that his smoking brings inconveniences to other people rather than emphasizing on health-related arguments. peer influences/pressure could be a strong factor in one's smoking, but we have to recognize that smokers do make the decision to smoke and that most of them are aware of the side-effects.

I agree with you, z ... I guess I don't want to elaborate more ... smokers, you can smoke if you think you want to take the risk but ask the people around you if they also want to take it (the risk) too ...

26-03-2004, 09:40 AM
i think you guys need to distinguish responsible and irresponsible smokers. just like u do to drinkers. otherwise you guys are biased.

theT
26-03-2004, 01:04 PM
to those who hate people who smoke i must say you're judgemental and that is prejudice. Don't hate people when you have no idea about that person and just because that person has a bad habit. They're human being like you and me. Let them have some space. They dont need that health lecture. Guess what? They're well informed about it. If you really wanna help them, could you first change your perception on them. Guess it's aint easy right?

oshmelvin
26-03-2004, 02:10 PM
Gosh, I've read all the pro-smoking and anti-smoking posts above and there's even one asking you to try it. Lol. Anyway, I do not hate smokers, I am just annoyed by the smoke. I know that it feels great to smoke for the smokers because of the nicotine rush. The nicotine molecule is almost similar to one of the neurotransmitters we have in our body which is called acetylcholine. The shape of the nicotine molecule fits into the slot or receptor on the neurons which is meant for the neurotransmitter, acetylcholine. When this happens, the neurons start producing and releasing two subtances which act as natural stimulants in our body, noradrenaline and dopamine (which is supposed to be released when the acetylcholine molecule fits into the receptor of a neuron). That is why a smoker normally feels pleasurable feelings in their body when they smoke . However, when one develops a habit of smoking just to attain this pleasureable feeling, their brain starts to change "shape". Because of the large release of stimulants such as dopamine and noradrenaline after the first few initial cigarettes, the number of acetylcholine receptors are gradually reduced by the neurons to control the release of those stimulants (because the brain thinks that too much of the acetylcholine neurotransmitter is being produced by the body). That is why, a smoker is more prone to stress whenever he or she is not smoking (caused by the low concentration of dopamine and other stimulants in the brain) because the number of acetylcholine receptors have been reduced (because the normal production of acetylcholine is not enough to fit the acetlcholine receptors that have been reduced) The more cigarette one smokes, the higher the concentration of nicotine (acts like acetylcholine) in the brain and the less number of acetylcholine receptor one has (because the neurons are trying to control the flood of stimulants). When the number of acetylcholine receptors of a person greatly declines, more acetylcholine molecues are needed to make a person feel normal without the presence of nicotine (when one is not smoking). This causes a person to crave cigarettes to feel normal and even more cigarettes to feel the pleasurable feelings. So, I would suggest to those who have just taken up smoking to STOP while you still can. I know that you're trying to release pressure or stress through the use of nicotine but after the initial cigarette, you will need more and more and more and more and more and more cigarettes to make you feel normal and give you the pleasurable feelings. STOP SMOKING WHILE YOU STILL CAN. THE LONGER YOU SMOKE AND THE MORE CIGARETTES YOU SMOKE, THE LESS CHANCE YOU HAVE TO GET OFF THE HOOK OF NICOTINE BECAUSE OF THE SMALL NUMBER OF ACETYLCHOLINE RECEPTORS YOU HAVE IN YOUR BRAIN AND THIS NUMBER IS GOING TO DECLINE EVEN MORE WITH MORE CIGARETTES WHICH MEANS THAT YOU HAVE TO BE DEPENDANT ON NICOTINE TO FEEL NORMAL.

IT is your own choice whether or not to smoke but just make the right choice so you will not regret it a few years down the path.

Advertisment glamourises smoking but CANCER is not GLAMOUROUS.

26-03-2004, 02:29 PM
yup... i do agree They're human being like you and me. Let them have some space.

i need my space too... those smokers(most smokers) out there are just killing me and others... they smoke everywhere(in public, in the mall, in the restaurant,in the campus)

and i hate smokers because i am hyper sensitive with this smoke.. it irritates my throat and my eyes...i will cough and my eyes will turn red...and i will feel like throwing up after a while...

in INTEC, the toilet is always like a smoke house...i have to walk to a far away block just to answer my 'call'...

maybe i am bad to hate them, but i have nothing against ex-smokers... and i do support those who quit smoking... i know it is never easy to get rid of the addiction or just bad habit(somebody says that it is not an addiction....just habit)

i just hope that tobacco industry will come to an end... and end of story about smoking....

and about
Well, did you experience before how difficult for one to "take it easy, don't think so much and bla bla bla with other advices from friends" while he/she is facing some problems at once?
i ain't superhuman... and i have my problems too(big problems)... but i think i am fortunate enuff to know how to solve it, and know how dangerous it is to puff...

if u think it is ok to smoke...izzit ok to take drugs illegally to get high...so that one can solve his or her problem ???

by the way, guns kill too Merson. look at your avatar. aren't you in a way promoting something unhealthy?

i am not promoting guns or anything unhealthy here... but have to keep in mind that it is hard to acquire a gun in Malaysia and it is not really a problem in the country... (may not be the same in the States).. gun control is far better than smoking control

in one way or another, guns undeniable brings death...but it is different as sane people dun use gun in the public and kill others...
guns bring benefits to the world too... i see no benefits in smoking!!!

car accidents kill.... can we dun drive ??? we can't because its benefit outweigh its bane... just like guns....

and some of those people are drinkers. alcohol kills too, but they hate me more.
it depends on how u drink.... of course alcohol kills if u drunk urself every other day...

even water can kill u if u drink 5 liters of water in an hour....

drinking can be good tooo....

http://www.rnw.nl/science/html/dementia020416.html

i just can't find any paper or any claim that smoking is good...
can anyone tell me what good do smoking has??? :?:
Smokers out there? anyone???

26-03-2004, 04:33 PM
so it's ok to drink responsibly rite? the same goes to smoking.

26-03-2004, 08:47 PM
Janewai, now that you are a smoker, can I ask you a something? What was your view of smokers before you went to Korea or when you were in secondary school?

Panda
26-03-2004, 09:05 PM
i think you guys need to distinguish responsible and irresponsible smokers. just like u do to drinkers. otherwise you guys are biased.

Unfortunately, until now, I only see all the irresponsibloe smokers in Malaysia. i totally cannot tolerate when people smoke in front of me. Today, i went to US embassy, one person smoked in front of all people. Should we "smoke in" the hazardous smoke because he like to smoke??
Science has shown that smoking will cause cancer. But they have been causing the death of other innocent non smokers. They should be blamed for all the death of the lung cancer patients. :evil:
If they want to die, die farther, smoke in front of people will only cause others death. Whoever smokers out there better be more responsible :evil:

26-03-2004, 10:10 PM
janewai, i do hope u just keep the cigarattes in the pub. :D

wwhong, thanks for your concern :)

26-03-2004, 10:17 PM
Janewai, now that you are a smoker, can I ask you a something? What was your view of smokers before you went to Korea or when you were in secondary school?

Before that I did advise my friends to smoke lesser, I didn't stop my friends from smoking while hanging out with them. Emmm... think back, that's 3 years back. Now there is a way round, they did advise me when they know i picked up the habit already. I admit that I did change a lot. When I experience more and more, my mind keep changing.

26-03-2004, 11:34 PM
Guess going abroad does change one's perspective on these things. Actually I can't imagine any of my JPA scholar friends smoking. Don't know why, but it just doesn't seem like they're the kind to smoke although like janewai said, experiences may change people.

sanghanuman
27-03-2004, 05:47 AM
Oh please girls, don't smoke.
It aint cool. Not cool.

Girls are beautiful. They should smell nice too.

27-03-2004, 06:20 AM
I certainly think the same thing as what sanghanuman wrote above ... seriously, I think the nature of girls are to be gentle while boys' are to be rugged ... I'm not saying that girls should look weak while boys should be oppressing girls ... it's just that both sides are complementing each other ... girls' gentleness soothes boys while boys' ruggedness give the sense of security girls ... that's why I personally think girls shouldn't smoke ... but given the way people nowadays selfishly insisting on their rights and freedom, I can imagine smoking girls glaring at me with the Bill of Rights in their hands, questioning why they shouldn't be smoking if the boys can smoke ... *sigh*

theT
27-03-2004, 06:58 AM
most girl i know dont smoke because it's cool.

It has nothing to be cool. If girl wanna look cool they usually opt for the barbie dolls looks. Giggles and Stuff. Sorry for generalization. But my point here, not all girls who smoke because they think it's cool. more because it's a stimulant like alcohol.

btw, i have to agree that girls are suppose to be more gentle. but we no longer live in a world where woman just take care of the household stuff. whether all of us realize or not, most women now go to school (unlike in the 19th century) and also climbing up the coporate ladder .this is so tough for us women .c'mon if we have the same amount of pressure as guys, we actually feel worst than guys do. That's one of the reason girls smoke.

27-03-2004, 10:47 AM
Well, I don't think you guys out there can know if a girl got the smoking habit or not. Emmm, what I want to mean is girls won't that easy to let you guys know if she got the habit. Don't forget that girls still very care thier appearance in front of people, same with me too. Girls always will be looked gentle all the time. Don't you guys think the same with me?

Those guys that anti-smoking or hate smoker and still single, wishing to find a girlfriend, better check it out before you fall into a girl. Emm, sounds too serious? That's only one of my point of view. Hope you guys don't mind. :)

27-03-2004, 11:58 AM
Those guys that anti-smoking or hate smoker and still single, wishing to find a girlfriend, better check it out before you fall into a girl.
alright I'll keep that in mind :D .. I don't hate smokers though .. only a bit uncomfortable ..

aquila
27-03-2004, 12:24 PM
hmmm. i'm wondering if you guys have smoked sheesha before... everyone says it is sooooo good...

27-03-2004, 01:00 PM
hmmm. i'm wondering if you guys have smoked sheesha before... everyone says it is sooooo good...

And soooooooo bad for your health. I think smoking a cherry tijuana Cigar taste pretty much the same.

Sheesha is just the flavor of the month. Maybe next year everyone in Malaysia would agree that smoking pot is soooooo good as well. :D aa well.. i can't argue with that though.

chillout
27-03-2004, 01:11 PM
Anyone for that matter should not smoke... why smoke? Smoking is proven to be detrimental to health...

It doesn't make one look any 'cooler' or 'cuter'.

Don't smoke!

oshmelvin
27-03-2004, 01:35 PM
so it's ok to drink responsibly rite? the same goes to smoking.

Diesel,

I think that a person can drink responsibly by drinking at the appropriate amount and not excessively. Drinking in a way can be good to the body for example warming up the body in winter or by providing the body with nutrients (beer is made out of barley and oat) which is the good side of drinking if it's not overdone. But I don't think there is such a thing such as smoking responsibly because nothing good can ever come out of smoking even if you only smoke a few cigarettes a day and avoid the public when smoking. By smoking, you are releasing 2000 very dangerous chemicals into the air some of which are carsinogenic. Even if you keep yourself away from non-smokers when you are smoking, the poisonous gas will retain in the earth's atmosphere and the concentration of these dangerous gasses are going to accumulate with evey cigarette you smoke. That is the first irresponsibility of a smoker - not being responsible to the environment by polluting it. The second irresponsitlity of a smoker is the irresponsiblity towards the health of the public. Because of second hand smoke, 3000 non smokers die of lung cancer every year in the united states. (the smokers are killing innocent people besides themselves with their smoking habit) Passive smoking are also harmful towards the childrens' health and it causes 150 000 to 300 000 cases of lower respiratory tract infections every year resulting with 7 500 to 15 000 hospitalization every year for children (under 18 ) in the united states. The next irresponsiblity of a smoker is the irresponsible act upon their own health. Your mum gave birth to you and bestowed you with good health and you're now deliberately spoiling it by smoking which is a very irresponsible act towards you and your parents (which brings me to the next irresponsible act of a smoker - irresponsiblity towards your parents) If you are diagnosed with lung cancer or die because of diseases caused by smoking, your family is the one to suffer. They would be extremely sad over your death or if you don't die, they would be very worried and that might affect their health especially at an old age. Causing your family to suffer because of your smoking habit is an irresponsible act. After all this, do you think smoking is a responsible act? :D

27-03-2004, 01:45 PM
does that apply to every alcoholic drink?

so you think cigarette smoke is responsible for global warming?? :P

oshmelvin
27-03-2004, 01:59 PM
does that apply to every alcoholic drink?

so you think cigarette smoke is responsible for global warming?? :P

Yes, all alcoholic drink if you drink moderately. All alcoholic drinks including beer (made out of wheat, barley and oat), wine and gin and tonic. They can all benefit our health in one way or the other especially red wine which is supposedly good for the heart. In a way cigarettes are responsible for global warming through the release of CO2 which is the main green house gas besides Nitrogen compounds. :D

27-03-2004, 02:07 PM
ha ha, that's funny. :lol:

Melo_15
27-03-2004, 02:13 PM
actually, when i was like 7 yrs old, when i first saw a girl smoking n\in front of me, i was like telling my mom "the girl smoke?!!!"
but when i grow older, my perspective changed, i just feel they can do wat they want, i also got lotsa smoking frens in intec....dun be surprosed! hehe....but i dun smoke....even though i mix a lot wif smokers.....wats so nice?
but i feel my views on this will change again when i go abroad.....

27-03-2004, 03:36 PM
I used to loathe (if hate is a harsh word) those who smoke. Even when my grandad smoke, i always make a point to stay away from him. I always pretend to make some gestures to show them how annoyed I am with their smoking. I mean, yeah, you smoke i die.

However, my perception towards people who smoke changed last year. I attended a seminar in Singapore and I was an SLO (Student Liaison Officer) there. My job was to make sure everyone has a good time there... However, late in the midnight, when I tried to open the window to my room for ventilation, i saw 2 of my group members sitting outside the balcony smoking. I was terrified of course, but I couldn't possibly just shouted, "Hey, you can't smoke here!" Heck, one of them was jailed once for a gang fight.

THey asked me to join them for a chat (not for a joint). Well, i dunno why i agreed with them, but i climbed onto the balcony and we started talking and eventually the issue of smoking came out. They said they realized that smoking is very hazardous, and blah blah blah (stuffs we learnt in Science form 3), but they can't help it. It's very addictive, like how we're addicted to Recom. I forgotten exactly what i've told them that night, but a month later when we met up for our group bbq party, they told me they have reduced their number of cigarettes to 3 a day. Quite an achievement, i should say.

My whole point is as long as these smokers tried quitting, we should help them to and not to loathe them. If they are hurted by our reaction, they will resort to smoking to soothe their emotions and stuffs. But for those smokers who don't care what other people think of them and who do not care to change their habit ... they'll get it one day ... (i hope i do not sound like i'm threatenning them, it's just facts. You waste your money on the cigarettes, you lose your health, you lose some friends, maybe the gal or guy that liked you stay away from you because you smoke)

27-03-2004, 03:47 PM
good point dude. we smokers know that smoking is bad for health (except for the woman who sued Philip Morris because she's so dumb to know that fact). i believe a lot of smokers want to quit too. for me, i manage to reduce significantly. but that some people tend to hate smokers make me not wanting to quit. if your dad smokes, you dont hate him with the hope that he'll quit right? it takes more than that.

27-03-2004, 04:05 PM
if your dad smokes, you dont hate him with the hope that he'll quit right? it takes more than that.

I used to throw away my dad's cigarettes whenever i found them (last time, now he had quit smoking). Luckily he didn't scold me, no, i know he won't scold me coz he knows it's bad for his health, and second, i have my mum to back me up. hehe

kennytang
27-03-2004, 06:29 PM
girls who smoke r just simply not girls.
even for guys too.
i hate ppl who smoke.
so d**n uncivilised

laplace
27-03-2004, 06:56 PM
hummm... interesting...

even for guys too.
i hate ppl who smoke.
so d**n uncivilised

I am not sure what to say now... If this is the thought of the majority, I guess I will have to quit Recom, same like Roy. No one like smokers as smokers are so "uselss", d**n uncivilized... so long everyone, adios!! But one day you will understand what I wanted to say...

Thanks for the time that you guys allow two d**n uncivilized human being stay in Recom for these few months, gracias... :wink:

laplace..

kennytang
27-03-2004, 07:06 PM
oh then try to quit smoking la
i am sure u can do it

royston
27-03-2004, 07:11 PM
well laplace ma boy... take it easy... i strongly believe this is not the majority opinion... Recom is built up by a big group of talented, knowledgeable and mature students.

Oops, I don't mean that whoever opposed smoker/smoking are naive or childish... surviving in this world, we have to respect others' perspective and opinion... they have their reasons why they hate smokers, we can't deny that even if we are smokers, right? As I always say, focus on the problem, not the person. To help Malaysia or even the world to get improved, we MUST respect each other.

Ladies & Gentlemen, I am sorry if I have said something wrong OR my smoking habit has made anyone of you feel disgusted/dislike.

~ roy ~

royston
27-03-2004, 07:20 PM
oh then try to quit smoking la
i am sure u can do it

Haha... Kenny... as you can see, before you know he/she planned to quit or the quitting process is on-going, you have mentioned to them that you "hate", not a girl or even d**n uncivilized already, do you think they will still treat you as someone who is supporting them, right? Even one day if they quit, do you think they will recognize you as their friend? I am sure they will not like to get close to you... and indirectly you have lost a friend already.

How can you so sure they can do it with your harsh words like your previous post? Human needs to stay together, not to criticize or fight with each other, right? If anyone of you have a thought that -- Only non-smokers can get together with you guys, those smokers have to quit then you guys will join them -- will it be a little bit not fair to them as they are also human?

I am not sure, I am kinda tired after I read all the replies on this topic. I can't say you guys are wrong, it is just that the difference of point of view. Like laplace said, you will understand it one day. Anyway, I have no more intention to keep staying in Recom due to my workload daily... take care all of you. If you can, try to remember -- everything in this world has 3 dimension, if you stand at one angle to look at that thing and make your conclusion or judgement, I am pretty sure you will have wrong guess :wink:

~ roy ~

kennytang
27-03-2004, 07:25 PM
oh its ok if u think i am being harsh but i seriously dont c any benefits from smoking
tell me one n i ll change my point of view

royston
27-03-2004, 07:31 PM
no kenny... you see no benefit from smoking AND you being harsh to smokers are two different things, right?

like i have said, focus on the problem... the problem now is smoking, not the smokers, right? indirectly you have focus on the person already while you are trying to make your comment on "smoking"...

well, i agree that smoking won't bring any benefit to human, but do you think that smokers should be boycotted by the social? If not, we should support them and help them to quit, instead of using words to hurt them indirectly, right? I mean, I treat everyone here are mature and fully educated, you should know how to handle things like this...

~ roy ~

kennytang
27-03-2004, 07:38 PM
ya mayb i am not well educated
but i seriouly think that those who smoke r just the same as me, if not worse
in school we r taught bout bane of smoking
so, y smoke?
u r just trying to digress by saying that smoking n smokers r two different thgs
its just the same issue
those who say others as "not well educated" r indeed the immatured ones

27-03-2004, 07:44 PM
Recom is built up by a big group of talented, knowledgeable and mature students.

unfortunately, this thread has reveiled some hatred/prejudice among us.

sKYwalker
27-03-2004, 07:46 PM
kenny is quite right....just his diction a little bit unwise..

however, i think that smokers r smokers becoz of a lot of reasons..some are inevitable...yet, smokers have to really take care of other ppl's feelings(an obsolute yet ever-true opinion)

n i too, believe that quitting is the best for the smokers. there is nothing to be blamed...smokers just can't blame the environment, the surrondings and whatsoever...

i am not in their shoes, but i believe that a strong person will definitely has the ability to resist the temptation of smoking...
so, for the smokers, when u r holding a cigaratte, ask the cigaratte loudly: "WHO IS STRONGER? U OR I?"
if u think u r not stronger, lit the fire...
i believe it is not so easy...but i wish u all good luck...

be strong!!

27-03-2004, 07:48 PM
i am not in their shoes, but i believe that a strong person will definitely has the ability to resist the temptation of smoking...
so, for the smokers, when u r holding a cigaratte, ask the cigaratte loudly: "WHO IS STRONGER? U OR I?"

be strong!!

good one. that encouragement helps way more than hatred shown by some people.

laplace
27-03-2004, 07:50 PM
Haha... Roy! I told you, I told you that we can't find anyone in Recom who can actually understand what we are saying! Haha...

Ok... Kenny, I agree that smokers and smoking are actually the same thing... hummm... Haha... Adios guys!! From me, from Roy. We are so sorry to Chen Chow, Syamsul, Yusof, Lokman and Cheryl, due to our workload, we can't really spend time to continue posting anything in Recom but our background job still there as those are our commitment to Recom.

p/s: We are pretty busy in Intel nowadays, but if there is anything you guys need our help, drop us a mail, see ya!

laplace..

27-03-2004, 08:15 PM
mmm...what happen here? Just in half day's time, the atmosphere here so tensed up? Everyone has his/her own view, we should try to accommodate and accept others' opinions as well. It's true that, we have to analyzre things in many angles, different viewpoints. We should try to digest and ponder why others have different views than us, extract the differences then compare to our views. In this way, we'll gain more insights and broaden our knowledge. Anyhow, shall we not to further exacerbate the condition no more? It's disheartening to see any of the ReComers leaving ReCom

27-03-2004, 08:51 PM

be strong!!

I don't think you can just ask someone who has been smoking for quite sometime to quit smoking right away. It is a long time process, and it could even take years. It's just like you've been drinking coffee everyday and suddenly someone stopped you from drinking for the rest of your life. You'll feel something's not right in your life then... And it ain't going to be effective that way.

I guess Roy and Laplace was wrong at first by starting to smoke and didn't try to abstain themselves from it. However, if they are already in the process, then we should encourage them, not despise them. The more you hate the smokers, the more they smoke. Trust me. They are not the ones whom you think you can change them by not accepting them. The only way to help them out is to constantly reminding them the boon of quitting and the cons of smoking...

27-03-2004, 09:49 PM
man, this is so frustrating ... we should be tackling the issue, not spawning hatred among us ... I hope those who has realized they are wrong in this forum to get rid of their egoes and admit their faults and apologize ... there's no point on being selfish here .. we are supposed to be open-minded and accepting each other's opinion ...

personally, I don't hate smokers ... even my roommate smokes. I'm fine with that ... but as the return of my being considerate, I want him to be considerate to me by not smoking near me ... and he is .. eventhough sometimes he smokes when we are walking to the dining hall together but to me it's still OK because the smoke will be blown away by the wind anyway ...

anyway, laplace and roy, I understand you have to leave recom because of your work, not because of this discussion, right :wink: ? thanks for all you have done for us and good luck in your work ... all the best for you guys ..

laplace
27-03-2004, 10:24 PM
yes luke, in fact both of us wish to inform the board few weeks ago but since we are quite tied up by our work, we have no time to inform you guys... new projects, new assignments, anyhow those are our first priority.

anyway, as roy has told me, when he joined Recom, it was still using the port 8080 domain and now it has its own domain... Kudos!! For our background job to maintain and develop Recom, we will still continue it.

and ah... we are both almost 30 years old already, nothing will drag us away from what we want to do, not even words from the replies of this thread, rest assured :wink:

Good luck Recom, Go Go Go !!!

laplace..

27-03-2004, 11:09 PM
well, there's really no point trying to spread the hatred towards smokers. one must realize that it's their right to smoke, you can't stop them but you can try to advise them. of course the ultimate choice is on their hand. who doesn't know that smoking is bad for health (in fact, the warning is printed on the cigaratte box)? if the smokers choose to smoke, then it's their decision. but of course the smokers must be responsible while smoking and dun make other people suck in the second hand smoke. for non-smokers, accept the fact that there are smokers in this world and they are nothing different besides they smoke.

stop writing "i hate smokers", start writing "i wanna help them quit and here's what i think maybe helpful". i already wrote some in one of the earlier forum. so for those newcomers, pour in your thoughts then.

royston and laplace, good luck in your work and hope to see your posts again soon.

27-03-2004, 11:16 PM
even for guys too.
i hate ppl who smoke.
so d**n uncivilised

Kenny, you got a very good point here. YOU ARE SO RIGHT! Now only i get to know that we smokers (either is social smoker or regular smoker) so useless, uncivilised, unacceptable in this civilised society! Thanks for telling me the fact!

27-03-2004, 11:21 PM
good point dude. we smokers know that smoking is bad for health (except for the woman who sued Philip Morris because she's so dumb to know that fact). i believe a lot of smokers want to quit too. for me, i manage to reduce significantly. but that some people tend to hate smokers make me not wanting to quit. if your dad smokes, you dont hate him with the hope that he'll quit right? it takes more than that.

I totally agree with you! I know one day i will quit from smoking, but the environment and the situation like NOW, not allow me to do so right now.[/b]

27-03-2004, 11:38 PM
I totally agree with you! I know one day i will quit from smoking, but the environment and the situation like NOW, not allow me to do so right now.

By 'the situation like NOW', I assume you mean the stress you have to deal with? If its so, there are other ways to reduce stress - and they are less poisonous I assure you. And if I'm not mistaken, I actually read somewhere that smoking actually increases stress.

If it ain't about the stress then mind if you explain what made you turn to these cancer causing stuff?

Panda
28-03-2004, 12:02 AM
hummm... interesting...

even for guys too.
i hate ppl who smoke.
so d**n uncivilised

I am not sure what to say now... If this is the thought of the majority, I guess I will have to quit Recom, same like Roy. No one like smokers as smokers are so "uselss", d**n uncivilized... so long everyone, adios!! But one day you will understand what I wanted to say...

Thanks for the time that you guys allow two d**n uncivilized human being stay in Recom for these few months, gracias... :wink:

laplace..

Ermm...
What makes human so special? It is the ability to think and make wise decision. The advancement in science has enabled us to find out that smoking will cause many negative effects to the smokers and nonsmokers. It will cause many diseases such as lung cancer. So, now that we know that smoking will cause lung cancer, why some people still smoke? Very funny. Cant they diferrentiate between what is good and bad? Are they out of their mind? May be the pressure from the environment cause them to smoke. Laplace, I know that there is nothing wrong with smoking, it will only cause lung cancer and other chronic diseases!! Nothing more!! It is your life. What you want to do to your body we cannot stop you. But, please, please consider other people out there. PLease consider the health of your friends and family. You are threathening your love's ones life by smoking in front of them(Dont say that you never smoke in front of people. No one will believe that. I have smoke in many hazardous gas from the smokers.) You say that other people cannot understand you the smokers. bUt can you understand the feeling of nonsmokers? I had a friend, 18 years old. He was not a smoker. He was a good guy, bright future. But he died of lung cancer? What? What causes that, I don't have any faintest idea. May be you have...His mother was extremely devastated. Imagine, losing a son at such a young age. Who care for him? You care? If you really care... please stop smoking, for your family, your friends, your love's ones, and yourself.

May God bless you, your family, your friends and many people out there!! 8)

28-03-2004, 12:15 AM
OK... SORRY if i hurt any of ur feeling... Maybe HATE is really too strong a word...

I did not meant to spread any hatred in this discussion, just that I'm expressing my point of view when i say I hate them...

after listening to various points of view, i shld change my perspective towards smoker....
but maybe of my hyper sensitive against the smoke... I hate smokers ever since... and it is not easy to change....

can i say I dun like smokers and i hope that they will quit smoking...

I totally agree with you! I know one day i will quit from smoking, but the environment and the situation like NOW, not allow me to do so right now
there's a story why i hate smokers, i think i should share it...next time.(because it is really a long one)...

all the smokers i know told me that they are not addicted to smoking and they can chuck away thier habits at time, but this is not the case.... their gave the same lame reason of the environment and the situation like NOW, not allow me to do so right now... but i can't generalize like this rite... maybe u can do it... maybe it's just my frens(ex-frens) who are like this...

start writing "i wanna help them quit and here's what i think maybe helpful"

maybe u guys(smokers) just need a reason to quit smoking...

...first, as Skywalker said.. u must prove (practically) that u are stronger than the tiny cigaretter... u dun wan to led by your nose by cigarette rite...Dun wait... do it now....If u think that u can do it, why do you have to wait??? If u have reason for you to continue smoking, there's no point stopping becoz u canalways give urself a reason to resume ur bad habit....

...second, look for alternative...i dunno wat's ur reason to smoke, but there's another way out for sure...if it is because of stress, work out is a good way to release tension and stress....

...for your health sake, for ur fren's (if u still think those who dun like smokers as ur fren) sake....for the mother earth, for ur pocket's sake...for ur taste buds sake... for ur family's sake....(see... i can come up with loads of reason...)

my cousin's wife was pregnant and gave birth to a baby recently... and for the sake of the baby, she quitted smoke ever since... she's now happier and healthier and food tastes better ever since...

maybe it is easy for me to say... but u have to face this problem by u making the first step... u take the 'initiative' to start smoking... u should be the proactive one stop smoking...

DO IT TODAY, DO IT NOW... I DON'T HATE U.... I JUST DUN LIKE U SMOKING...

28-03-2004, 12:26 AM
Oh yar... I dunno whether this will help.... but for smokers to start quitting...

ADMIT that U R ADDICTED!!!!

once u know that u are addicted, u will know that u are losing the battle and u will buck up....

to learn from ur mistake, u have to admit ur mistake(addiction)

that's my opinion...

28-03-2004, 12:29 AM
so long... roy and laplace...
instead of saying good bye, we should say "til next time"....

28-03-2004, 02:17 AM
Emmm..... Luckily those friends around me understand me well, concern me all the time, even they know I got the smoking habit, they never HATE me but encourage me to do what i feel just good for myself because they know what i need! Of course, they did try to lend me thier hands to help me out whenever i am facing some problems.

You guys got the right there to voice out what you guys feel against smokers. Thanks a lot by telling me all the fact out there. :) [/b]

kIdd0
28-03-2004, 03:25 AM
hmmm...smoking, what do i think about it? Hmmm.... i dont hate smoking but i dont see the enjoyment in smoking either... hmmm, i believe that for non-smokers, it is easy for them to say STOP smoking simply because they dont smoke! It would be impossible for non-smokers to understand the difficulty in stopping to smoke!
The compelling urge to pick up a smoke is just so strong... :(

soul_out
28-03-2004, 04:18 AM
Haha... Roy! I told you, I told you that we can't find anyone in Recom who can actually understand what we are saying! Haha...

Ok... Kenny, I agree that smokers and smoking are actually the same thing... hummm... Haha... Adios guys!! From me, from Roy. We are so sorry to Chen Chow, Syamsul, Yusof, Lokman and Cheryl, due to our workload, we can't really spend time to continue posting anything in Recom but our background job still there as those are our commitment to Recom.

p/s: We are pretty busy in Intel nowadays, but if there is anything you guys need our help, drop us a mail, see ya!

laplace..

laplace, roy and diesel. i'm with you guys, now and forever.

soul_out
28-03-2004, 04:19 AM
Emmm..... Luckily those friends around me understand me well, concern me all the time, even they know I got the smoking habit, they never HATE me but encourage me to do what i feel just good for myself because they know what i need! Of course, they did try to lend me thier hands to help me out whenever i am facing some problems.

[/b]

That's what a friend for right? Help, Understand and Support. Being harsh and isolate you will only make things worse.

28-03-2004, 05:43 AM

I totally agree with you! I know one day i will quit from smoking, but the environment and the situation like NOW, not allow me to do so right now.

Being harsh and isolate, you will only make things worse.

soul_out, that's y i feel the same with Diesel!

28-03-2004, 01:57 PM
Wow, this all happened in 4 days?

Anyways, if the topic isn't stale yet I just want to say that I don't think smoking is bad. Yes it kills you and all that but I don't think that smoking makes you a bad person.

I feel that sometimes in the mentality that we're brought up in Malaysia, we view people who smoke as crooks with no futures. Like in high school, in my case at least, it was as if only the students from the bottom classes would smoke. And as such, smoking was associated with everything evil. Maybe others didn't see it this way. Maybe I was naive.

I think that we should treat all smokers with the same respect that they treat you with. If they are considerate enough not to smoke in front of you, or at least ask you if you mind, then I think they are taking your interest into account when they smoke. So if they have it in them to respect you, I think they deserve some respect too.

Oh, and I especially find it lame when people try to get people to quit by saying that they're burning money. I mean, smoking to me is just another habit, and almost everyone has habits that cost money.

Disclaimer: I'm not in anyway advocating smoking.

28-03-2004, 03:30 PM
believe that for non-smokers, it is easy for them to say STOP smoking simply because they dont smoke! It would be impossible for non-smokers to understand the difficulty in stopping to smoke!

Yeah, it's true indeed. Smoking is very addictive, but perhaps more benign than drugs. However, it's not easy to quit. Like asking me to stop taking chocolates. Non-smokers make the right choice by not smoking, but they are not smart if they say they hate smokers just to make them quit smoking.

Perhaps they are not yet exposed to various lifestyle in the world. They can just say they hate anything which they dun like, as long as they are the majority. Yeah, I dun advocate smoking too, but as long as the smokers are considerate towards others, I've nothing against them. But if they smoke in public and causes others in trouble, then they are to be blamed...

I don't think I see any reasons why the smokers shouldn't quit smoking now too. It's hard to quit (beginning is the hardest), but after resisting the temptation to smoke for 3 to 4 days (so my friend who smoked told me), it would be easy already.

I dun think quit smoking is something should be done in a hurry. Take it slowly if you can't cope up with it...

29-03-2004, 12:47 AM
I would look at this discussion as a healthy discussion.

ReCom members are matured members and we hope that this kind of discussions, debates, are what keeping ReComs alive. We may all have different perspectives, different opinions, but we do respect one another. We can try to influence others, helping to sway others decision, but ultimately ownself is the sole determinant.

I see from this discussion a healthy one. Everyone is entitled to speak freely on what's in their mind. On what is the outcome, everyone else who reads this thread are the judges. We try to give and take and I think it is healthy.

I would say that Roy and Laplace have helped ReCom a great deal, especially in terms of technical terms and support~! We have relied a lot on their supports and nearly 1500 ReCom members since our inception 362 days ago. We have grown a lot and ReCom will grow fast. Lets hope it.

Sorry for really digress. But this post is meant to help everyone close rank.

Melo_15
29-03-2004, 01:41 PM
Wow, this all happened in 4 days?

Anyways, if the topic isn't stale yet I just want to say that I don't think smoking is bad. Yes it kills you and all that but I don't think that smoking makes you a bad person.

well, i agree that a person who smokes doesnt make him bad...really.....its juz personal preference.....people who commit crimes can also be non-smoker, so i dun view smokers as a bad person, neither do i hate them.... maybe i have smoker friends....they are juz as nice as others...so guyz.....understand them b4 we make any judgement.....

dinna_g
30-03-2004, 12:50 PM
to be honest, i'm too lazy to read the 100+ posts so i'm just gonna have my say. why don't we just let the smokers go... dierang nak smoke, dierang nye pasal laa.. dierang nak sakit, dierang nye pasal laa.. it's not an excuse for us to judge a person; a girl or a guy.

i'm not a smoker but i'm bothered with a non-smoker who's pissed off with a smoker. if you don't like the smoke, tell the smoker not to smoke in front of you lah. ni nak bising plaks kalau org tu smoke. if you don't tell that person to do so, how can he/she know about it right?

so moral of the story, if someone choose to "shorten" his/her lifespan. let him/her do so. it's his/her life. biaq pi laa dia..

just a thought.. cheers!

aquila
30-03-2004, 12:58 PM
I'm interested to know why the thread is on what ppl think abt GIRLS smoking? Are girls all that diff? Because they're female, are they judged differently from guys? So what's the deal? Guys smoke and we all say that's normal but girls smoke and we gape in astonishment?

Personally I hate smoke. And I hate ppl who smoke in front of me. I don't give a d*** if you wanna smoke and what not. Just don't do it in front of me. Just bcoz you want to pollute your lungs doesnt mean others do too. Respect my rights and stay away when you have to smoke.

That's my take. Talking abt addiction, recom is an addiction.

30-03-2004, 01:20 PM
Sad to say but true that woman who smoke is still viewed negatively by society today. As for me, people regardless of sex who smoke is not automatically labelled as bad people. Never judge a book by its cover.

b_ronick
30-03-2004, 03:42 PM
i think SOME girls smoke just to prove something i guess..
SOME might think it's cool..
i dunno..
but this i know..i like ppl smoking..not the ppl themselves but the act itself..think it's like they're hurting themselves..sigh

mystique_jasper
30-03-2004, 04:17 PM
Why smoke?????? :?: For all the smokers, before you smoke...PLS!!! Think about the people around you :( Smoking does not only affect your health but also affect other's... So, think about it...especially for ladies,men really abhor women who smoke because!!!Take my advice, QUIT smoking. :wink:

theT
31-03-2004, 09:03 AM
...especially for ladies,men really abhor women who smoke because!!!Take my advice, QUIT smoking.

so girls (ladies/women) should stop smoking because men hate it?

well, first of all, i think a person should quit smoking because he/she want to quit. The person should understands why he/she wants to quit. No because others says it's bad for health or because the opposite sex doesn't like it. A person should stop smoking because he/she understand that by quit smoking it's good for his/her health and also to others.

For girls, no you don't have to quit because guys don't like girls who smoke. That kind of guy is not worth it .Remember, quit for yourself, not others.

oshmelvin
31-03-2004, 10:18 AM
I think both guys and girls should think about quitting smoking. It is not good habit and it poses a threat to your own health and the public's. Think about the cost you're going to pay for the enjoyment that you are having now. Lung cancer, pulmonary diseases, ulcer, mouth and nose cancer and all the dreadful things that can come from smoking. Smoking may look cool in the outer appearance but if you turn a smoker's body inside out, you'll see the ugly effects that the smoke has on your body - Blood clots, black and eroding lungs which is severly wounded and may fail to function, ulcers and many more side effects. Smoking in the past with pure tobacco is less dangerous compared to the smokes they have these days. I strongly suggest WHO to look into the composition of cigarettes and demand tobacco company to produce pure tobacco cigarettes without any dangerous additives. Today, smokers are smoking vapours of nail polish, cadmium batteries, tar and other inorganic materials. It's actually a slow way of killing yourself... might as well take poison instead because it is exactly the same thing! :D Please stop while you can or at least try.

31-03-2004, 10:23 AM
well, first of all, i think a person should quit smoking because he/she want to quit. The person should understands why he/she wants to quit. No because others says it's bad for health or because the opposite sex doesn't like it. A person should stop smoking because he/she understand that by quit smoking it's good for his/her health and also to others.

I agree. I think it's very hard for a person to quit something if he or she is not doing it for their own good. The most effective motivation is one that comes from within. The only problem with that is it's hard to come by.

01-04-2004, 01:21 AM
Why smoke?????? :?: For all the smokers, before you smoke...PLS!!! Think about the people around you :( Smoking does not only affect your health but also affect other's... So, think about it...especially for ladies,men really abhor women who smoke because!!!Take my advice, QUIT smoking. :wink:

emm... as what i said before in previous post... I will QUIT from smoking one day... but not for anyone, also not because of think for my child at the future... just the SITUATION now, the environment surrounding not allow me to do so.
well, i don't take a sh|t care about how people judge me while i am smoking... if you think want to be friend with me? welcome! if you think that i am not worth to be friend with, just stay away from me, especially when i am drinking in the pub. I only will be friend with those that will appreciate me as thier friend!

01-04-2004, 01:33 AM
So, think about it...especially for ladies,men really abhor women who smoke because!!!
If I were a girl and I smoked, my reaction to this would be: "So what? Why should I give a fark what some men think about women who smoke?"

theT
01-04-2004, 09:43 AM
So, think about it...especially for ladies,men really abhor women who smoke because!!!
If I were a girl and I smoked, my reaction to this would be: "So what? Why should I give a fark what some men think about women who smoke?"

if it's in real life, i would say that too actually. but to be nice to some naive intellectuals, i should give them a chance to understand the smokers better.Girl smokers are typically been stereotype as bad girl, so why prove them right. Tackle the issue with "politically-correct" words. :lol: sorry . i'm crapping here.

01-04-2004, 11:28 AM
women shouldn't smoke..sometimes make them look like sluts!!

theT
01-04-2004, 11:34 AM

Thank you very much.

01-04-2004, 11:43 AM
but sometime smoking do make a girl looks sexy....

soul_out
01-04-2004, 12:30 PM
but sometime smoking do make a girl looks sexy....

I agree. :D

soul_out
01-04-2004, 12:32 PM

I don't think so.

I guess you should say, "Sometimes ppl will think that they are sluts".

Anyway, we can't judge a book by it's cover rite?

01-04-2004, 01:04 PM
Smoke or no smoke, they are still the same. I mean, if u have known a decent girl for a few months and you grew comfortable with her around, then suddenly u found out that she has been smoking (not a heavy smoker though) for a while... What will ur reaction be? Ban her from your life? Or still accept her as your friend and try to do something about it?

Cirnelle
01-04-2004, 02:04 PM
For girls, no you don't have to quit because guys don't like girls who smoke. That kind of guy is not worth it .Remember, quit for yourself, not others.

BRAVO!!

sKYwalker
01-04-2004, 09:06 PM
hmm...somehow i still think that ppl who smoke are weak mentally...
sorry to offend, but tat's wat i think..
anyone who smoke and attempt to refute my point that smokers are weak will only further buttress the notion...
so, i hope no one will ever refute this universal truth..

some fight to hold their own stand becoz they wan to show that they are strong.....but sometimes to admit urself is wrong requires much more courage and strength.....................

kIdd0
01-04-2004, 09:24 PM
sorry to offend, but tat's wat i think..

WOA!!! SWEEPING STATEMENT!! how do u knoe that they are weak mentally? Have u ever been a smoker? NO, I suppose, so you will never truly understand the self of a smoker... try putting ourself in their shoes!! i believe smokers putting up with the prejudice of non-smokers around them is the biggest mental challenge of all....

mystique_jasper
01-04-2004, 09:41 PM
WOA!!! SWEEPING STATEMENT!! how do u knoe that they are weak mentally? Have u ever been a smoker? NO, I suppose, so you will never truly understand the self of a smoker... try putting ourself in their shoes!! i believe smokers putting up with the prejudice of non-smokers around them is the biggest mental challenge of all....

yeah..Actually, i have some frens who are smokers too :oops: But they still can perform well in examination....So, it doesn't mean that smokers have a low mentality...Smoking or not is not an accurate yardstick to judge a person personality! :wink:

sKYwalker
01-04-2004, 09:44 PM
[/quote]
WOA!!! SWEEPING STATEMENT!! how do u knoe that they are weak mentally? Have u ever been a smoker? NO, I suppose, so you will never truly understand the self of a smoker... try putting ourself in their shoes!! i believe smokers putting up with the prejudice of non-smokers around them is the biggest mental challenge of all....[/quote]

i hope my english is not that bad....didn't i make myself clear???!

excuses...all lousy excuses..try putting ourselves in their shoes???
unless sb force them to smoke by pointing a gun at them.....they are ACTUALLY mentally weak.....humans are weak...i m not strong either..so if i smoke, i will admit i AM WEAK....

no offense to anyone ya....we are supposed to be civilized ppl...
all of us r just speaking out our minds.........

01-04-2004, 10:04 PM
Yeah, i dun get why we are having prejudice against the smokers. Is it just because they are different from us? Why do we have to go against those who are different? Some of them are being inconsiderate, but u shouldn't use UiTM's smoking example to make a sweeping statement against smokers.

Smoking has nothing to do with mentality .... It just show that they neglect their health, or at least, they are aloof about it...

08-04-2004, 10:51 PM
smokers know that smoking is bad to health but still giving all kind of excuses to continue doing it. that's what people called as arrogance. doesn't that mentality weakness??? achieving good academic result do not prove that you have high mentality. contrary , smokers who cannot sensing the theory that smoke bad to health which even small children could understand r ........mentally weak

08-04-2004, 11:00 PM
mentallity weakness?!?! I got mentallity weakness?!?! hmppp... :roll:

09-04-2004, 12:13 AM
mentallity weakness?!?! I got mentallity weakness?!?! hmppp... :roll:

hehe... dun be disheartened.... everybody has mentality weakness... in one way or another...

nobody is perfect.... SAD to say that I'm a nobody...kakakak

15-04-2004, 03:54 AM
i think what skywalker meant is that ppl who smoke are weak because they cannot control themselves from not smoking..... that is what i think HE thinks.....personally i think i am mentally weak even though i do not smoke because i get influenced easily and addicted to chocolates haha.....

btw... i do not mean to offend anybody....i know how it feels like not to be able to get rid of a bad habit... :wink:

15-04-2004, 09:47 PM
Do you guys actually believe that I go through every single post here in this thread? I saw this topic in the most active topics( i guess...) in the main page....

As I read through the posts from page 1 to the last page, my feelings changed from support for the smokers ( they are human too, they have their own problems, they regret taking up smoking, they tried to quit but just cant quit, they see smoking as a way to socialise with friends and so on) ....to hatred to them ( knowing how many innocent ppl die bcos of the second hand smoke produced by them, the consequences to their loved ones, families, friends and so on) ....and now, I can say that I am neutral to smokers( that means neither hate nor supporting them to smoke). But I really like to voice something out here....who the heck is the person who created cigarettes? Without cigarettes in this world, I'm sure this world is a better place to live, imagine millions of ppl being spared from getting lung cancer ( although lung cancer is not caused only by cigarette smoke, but the main cause is still cigarette smoke).

I personally think that we shouldnt hate smokers , and I agree that we should give our support for them to help them quit. But, I really hate those smokers who ....really ......uncivilised, i cant think of a better adjective. What I mean by uncivilised smokers are those who purposely smoke in front of children, smoke in public, smoke in non-smoking places and so on. There was once I went for a driving lesson, and the driving teacher smoke for the 3 hours of my lesson! I think u can imagine how suffering being stucked in a car full of smoke ( even with the windows down, i still cant stand it!). I asked him to please smoke after my lessons, but he claimed that he cannot teach without smoking and I had no choice and go through the 3 hours of hell. Can u see how ignorant he is? How can u not develop hatred for this kind of person? How can u support this kind of person, claiming that he is a human too and he has his rights to smoke and bla bla bla? Lucky thing I passed my driving test after that, if not I will sue the driving school...haha :lol:

I would like to share my opinions about smokers, but that will be another long story. I have friends who smoke, and the first day in college, I get to know a girl smoker. I will tell more about it someday if I had the time. But right now, we all know that smoking is bad. We all know that not all smokers deserved to be treated like an enemy or ....how to put it....like a bad person or someone we should hate. I also know that some smokers really deserved to be hated by others(like the driving teacher I talked about just now). I support those smokers who r really trying to quit smoking. To those who are still not quiting, please quit. I know it is easy for me to say, but...I am sure u guys can do it. It is really very sad to know that many ppl r suffering from cancer. Take a visit to the hospital, or any cancer centres...they are really really suffering. Look at their determinations. Look at how they struggle to stay alive. Look at how they undergo the painful treatment in a hope to stay alive for another few more months. Look at how cigarretes ruin their life. Maybe that will help u guys to quit smoking. This world is a selfish world I know. Most ppl think only for themselves. But, please try to think of other ppl as well. U will feel a lot better. Take care everyone, and sorry if there are grammatical mistakes.

17-04-2004, 05:53 AM
gee...pandaboy, i think i must salute you for going through every single post here. :wink: the last time i go through every single post in a very LONG thread was when i read the one on gay marriage.

17-04-2004, 11:21 AM
lolz....ic3b3rg, i dont deserve ur salutation la... haha....
it's just because this topic is something which involves our everyday life...we can never avoid smokers ..they are everywhere....
so i want to see what are the opinions about them and so on ....i did gain something here...i learnt how to view from different angles...

im wondering...why government never plan to ban cigarretes? just because it is one source of income to the country?? if so, whats the point wasting extra money for the anti-smoking campaigns? :?:

17-04-2004, 01:17 PM
im wondering...why government never plan to ban cigarretes? just because it is one source of income to the country??

because they want to increase the tax every year, and benefit from it.
by the way, is it fair to do that?

25-04-2004, 01:30 AM
im wondering...why government never plan to ban cigarretes? just because it is one source of income to the country??

benefit from it, then spend another RM 100 million for the anti-smoking campaign? Isnt it a dumb thing to do? Or they are just trying to cover people's eyes?

25-04-2004, 02:53 AM

benefit from it, then spend another RM 100 million for the anti-smoking campaign? Isnt it a dumb thing to do? Or they are just trying to cover people's eyes?

What makes you say that the government is spending 100 million bux on this campaign?

25-04-2004, 10:20 AM
What makes you say that the government is spending 100 million bux on this campaign?

i read from the newspaper my friend. Government allocated a total of RM100million for this campaign....

gesar
25-04-2004, 02:03 PM
Okay..seriously do you think that this anti-smoking campaign will ever work??

...well, I always thought these campaigns have been going on for like years already but seems like more people are smoking instead...hmmm...

25-04-2004, 03:28 PM
I dont think it is goin to work..... I think it would be a waste of money. That's why I'm wondering why not just ban the selling of cigarretes? Since it brings no benefit at all to human....and if we say that government wanted to earn from the tax, then wats the point of launching the campaign and waste the money earned? It's just like collecting water from the rain and then pour it off...

25-04-2004, 03:57 PM
I dont think it is goin to work..... I think it would be a waste of money. That's why I'm wondering why not just ban the selling of cigarretes? Since it brings no benefit at all to human....and if we say that government wanted to earn from the tax, then wats the point of launching the campaign and waste the money earned? It's just like collecting water from the rain and then pour it off...

Even though they ban cigarettes, there are still "under-world" market that sells them... And by this, people still smoke, and Malaysia will lose her income from the tax...

25-04-2004, 04:27 PM
Even though they ban cigarettes, there are still "under-world" market that sells them... And by this, people still smoke, and Malaysia will lose her income from the tax...

this is not a good excuse... If so, then why they ban drugs, guns, and stuffs like that? Why dont they earn tax income from those? They ban those stuffs but they are still available in black market ...so this is definitely a very weak reason. Might as well just ban it and then use the RM 100 million to catch and punish those who still sells it in under-world.

SpRInG
27-04-2004, 05:55 PM
actually, i think Malaysian government cannot ban the sell of cigarettes because the ministers themselves smoke.

So, if we ban tobacco, then what are the ministers going to smoke? Just think about it, it does make a bit of sense...

27-04-2004, 06:30 PM
Ban cigarretes? Why? What have smokers ever done to you to want to take away their cigarettes?

anyways, the tobacco industry is a billion-dollar industry. Banning cigarettes would have a huge impact on the economy.

It's better to set higher taxes and raise awareness to gradually decrease the consumption of tobacco products. I read some statistics somewhere that adults are smoking less now, but cigarette companies are targeting teens (don't remember where I read this, so I may be wrong). I think the govt should step in if this is indeed the case.

Also, it's a little bit autocratic to ban cigarettes isn't it? I think that you can only limit the amount of exposure to smokers that non-smokers have to suffer. To ban cigarettes altogether would be a violation of our rights.

28-04-2004, 12:32 AM
Ban cigarretes? Why? What have smokers ever done to you to want to take away their cigarettes?

anyways, the tobacco industry is a billion-dollar industry. Banning cigarettes would have a huge impact on the economy.

It's better to set higher taxes and raise awareness to gradually decrease the consumption of tobacco products. I read some statistics somewhere that adults are smoking less now, but cigarette companies are targeting teens (don't remember where I read this, so I may be wrong). I think the govt should step in if this is indeed the case.

Also, it's a little bit autocratic to ban cigarettes isn't it? I think that you can only limit the amount of exposure to smokers that non-smokers have to suffer. To ban cigarettes altogether would be a violation of our rights.

rights? what kind of rights are u talking about? rights of taking other ppl's life with the second hand smoke that smokers produced? So drug addicts have their rights too?

Quote : "Banning cigarettes would have a huge impact on the economy. "
Life is more important or the economy is more important? The cigarretes are not the main economic income of a country, there are still other ways of developing the economy of a country. Why cigarretes?

Cigarrate kills. What good point does it has? My uncle just passed away few days ago due to cancer, which I think is due to cigarette smoke. Is it worth sacrificing the life of human for cigarretes? I really cant stand to see sufferings of the cancer patients anymore. Cant believe that there are still ppl supporting smoking.

SpRInG
28-04-2004, 01:13 AM
i agree with you, pandaboy, i totally agree with you

why is it that out of so many things on earth, cigarretes? economy? then why not drugs as well? the government can even earn much much much more from the drugs... why not drugs then? think about it...

what have they done to me? there's these bunch of idiots, smoking in an air-conditioned restaurant, where the signs clearly show: "NO SMOKING ALLOWED"... well, i really don't know, whether are they blind, or mentally-retarded or wat, but they began puffing.... and if u were there, how would u react? I did not pay to smell second hand smoke an air-conditioned restaurant.

and really, to my very disappointment, the waiter, after requesting the idiots to stop smoking, they refused, even justified themselves - saying that smoking helps their digestion: what is this stupid justification all about?

that's why, smoking brings more brainless people into the society. Ops, i forgot, all human being have brains. Perhaps scientist should really research whether smoking causes a person to become idiot or not!!

28-04-2004, 07:43 AM
maybe they don't teach this anymore in macroeconomics but when something is a billion dollar industry, it has a huge impact on the economy. It means that thousands of people rely on it for jobs. And when i took macro, i was taught that the economy is very tightly related. For instance, part of one dollar spent by person A gets propogated into buying something else for person B and this chain reaction is really something very rudimentry to our economy. What this means is that if you suddenly banned cigarretes, you will put thousands of people out of jobs. And then these thousands of people will have less to spend and thus this chain reaction will cause other industries totally unrelated to tobacco to suffer too. I think it is very noble of you to try to save people's lifes by banning cigarrettes but unfortunately this simple naive act will have various negative consequences. I hope this puts the tobacco industry in perspective.

That is why I said that banning cigarettes is a step too far. In my opinion a gradual weening of our need (including our economic need) for tobacco and its evil industry is better warranted. It is very difficult especially in hard times like this to expect economy to react positively should we decide to suddenly remove one of its largest contributors.

Next, on the matter of rights, I think that it's your right to breath fresh air. I am all for laws that impose restrictions on smoking. But to not allow smokers to enjoy a cigarette is not very fair. I agree with Spring that the smokers in the restaurant are being total jerks. But that said, I also think that there should be right places for smokers to smoke and they should be permitted to do so.

Pandaboy, if you're going to talk about the cigarettes killing then we might as well talk about cholesterol and how it kills too. Maybe we should pass a law that tells people they can only consume a certain amount of cholesterol otherwise they will be given a fine. Repeat offenders will serve prison sentences and are required to undergo rehabilitation. Sounds like a good idea, given your reasoning.

28-04-2004, 07:51 AM
aiyoh...if you think banning cigarettes will work, think again. a vibrant black market will be created instead. when that happens, everybody loses, except the smugglers and pushers.

malaysians in general lack civic mindedness. especially when they pay for something, they think it's their god given right to do as they like just because they paid for it. that's why you have people blatantly smoking cigarettes in no smoking zones. that's why you have people littering. that's why you have...

28-04-2004, 12:36 PM
One of the guys in my BM class shared this pantun yesterda:

Ayam berkokok di atas batang
Hisap rokok lame2 penyakit datang

:lol:

Just for laughs!

28-04-2004, 07:46 PM
stop talking about smokers who litter. it's not a good arguement against smoking. a lot of people who drink throw bottles everywhere, that can possibly injure people. should the govt ban alcoholic drinks?

28-04-2004, 07:49 PM
i think smoking in restaurant is ok as long as the owner warn the customer about it. it's like if you dont want to get wet, dont swim.

28-04-2004, 07:53 PM

that is the politic of this thing. they want people to smoke, but they dont want it to be too obvious. maybe they make more than RM100M from the tax. More than RM100M - RM100M = profit.

28-04-2004, 09:03 PM
Pandaboy, if you're going to talk about the cigarettes killing then we might as well talk about cholesterol and how it kills too. Maybe we should pass a law that tells people they can only consume a certain amount of cholesterol otherwise they will be given a fine. Repeat offenders will serve prison sentences and are required to undergo rehabilitation. Sounds like a good idea, given your reasoning.

There are good and bad cholesterols. Are there any good cigarretes around? No matter how u guys argued about it, it will still come back to the economic reasons. Like I said earlier...if banning cigarretes will cause many ppl to lose their jobs, countries losing their incomes...and etc....then why not lifting the ban on drugs? Cigarretes bring no good at all, at least drugs being put to good use are important to human. If we think for the longer terms, I'm sure the benefits of banning cigarretes outweigh the disadvantage part of it. Lesser cancer patients, lesser people die, lesser air pollution...lesser complaints and much more. I'm not being noble or wat....I just cant understand why. The reasons given by most of u are simply not strong enough to support smoking. And not reasonable enough to convince me.

29-04-2004, 12:57 AM
well well well, when there is a prejudice about something in your mind, no matter how others try to explain to you to convince you, that's still useless because it is hard for you to accept others' views when you are staying strong with your own thinking. unless one day you get into the same shoes with those, then only you can understand well. :)

29-04-2004, 01:04 AM
stop talking about smokers who litter. it's not a good arguement against smoking.
dude u misunderstood. i was referring to ALL malaysians, not just smokers.

chronic lack of civic mindedness. when was the last time you (generic you) thanked the cashier when you bought something, gave up your seat to an elderly person on the bus, held the door open for the person behind you, i can go on and on. granted, the last time i was home was 2 years ago, but i'm sure this still applies now.:)

SpRInG
29-04-2004, 01:06 AM
but for me, that's not prejudice.. that's belief.... that's principals in our lives... not to say that he's not accepting, but if something does not make sense, or the argument contains flaw, then it should not be considered as a prejudice not to accept it, right?

29-04-2004, 01:14 AM
well well well, when there is a prejudice about something in your mind, no matter how others try to explain to you to convince you, that's still useless because it is hard for you to accept others' views when you are staying strong with your own thinking. unless one day you get into the same shoes with those, then only you can understand well. :)

im not being prejudice... that is ur assumption. When the explanation is not good enough, not strong enough, u start claiming that I'm prejudice?

Quote: "unless one day you get into the same shoes with those, then only you can understand well. "

In the same shoes of the smokers? Tell me a good reason for smoking that everyone here can accepts? Is there any? Tell me the benefits of smoking. Is there any?

Why dont u put urself into the same shoes of the cancer patients? Can u accept the fact that one day ur baby dies due to the secondary smoke she inhaled? Leave the answer to urself. But think properly before u answer. I'm sure u will understand one day.

29-04-2004, 01:16 AM
but for me, that's not prejudice.. that's belief.... that's principals in our lives... not to say that he's not accepting, but if something does not make sense, or the argument contains flaw, then it should not be considered as a prejudice not to accept it, right?

I truly agree with you. :)
That's very reasonable.

29-04-2004, 01:28 AM

im not being prejudice... that is ur assumption. When the explanation is not good enough, not strong enough, u start claiming that I'm prejudice?

Quote: "unless one day you get into the same shoes with those, then only you can understand well. "

In the same shoes of the smokers? Tell me a good reason for smoking that everyone here can accepts? Is there any? Tell me the benefits of smoking. Is there any?

Why dont u put urself into the same shoes of the cancer patients? Can u accept the fact that one day ur baby dies due to the secondary smoke she inhaled? Leave the answer to urself. But think properly before u answer. I'm sure u will understand one day.

assumption?!... emmm... yeah... for you, that's just a senseless assumption. But please don't forget that before I become a smoker, I was a non-smoker too! What I voiced out here is what I think after I experienced to be a non-smoker and being a smoker now. But what are from you is what you are thinking as being a non-smoker now, not yet been a smoker before! Of course I am not asking you to try to follow my step. Please don't misunderstand about it!

29-04-2004, 01:45 AM
assumption?!... emmm... yeah... for you, that's just a senseless assumption. But please don't forget that before I become a smoker, I was a non-smoker too! What I voiced out here is what I think after I experienced to be a non-smoker and being a smoker now. But what are from you is what you are thinking as being a non-smoker now, not yet been a smoker before! Of course I am not asking you to try to follow my step. Please don't misunderstand about it!

So how's ur experience being a non-smoker? Do u have the same experience as me? No...it's different. U dont have the same opinion as I do. I dont have to put myself in ur shoes to understand how smokers feel.. Do u want me to understand the reason u choose to be non-smoker? If yes, provide me with a strong reason. What's the point for me to argue about this issue? Because I want to help you. I do have friends who smoke...I dont despise them. Like how i treat them, I'm concern with the people around you, your family members, your loved ones... Think about them. Think that each puff of cigarrete increases the probabilty that the person nearest to u will die due to lung cancer. Think for the cancer patients. Just for once. Is there any reason strong enough for u to kill someone who dont even know u, who can be as young as few months old, or someone who didnt even have the chance to see the real world...yet?

01-05-2004, 04:58 PM
Pandaboy, wow, my kudos to you for being adamant on your point of view. Yeah, i know you have good intentions, however, that's not the correct approach. We are on one side, we despise smoking! But to help others who smoke to quit smoking, however, I have to say that it won't help much. This is a slow going process.
Ok, tell me, are/were you addicted to anything right now? Is it good or bad? How does/did it benefit you, or does/did it harm you in other ways? Do/did you intent to quit? Why would you want to quit? Are/were you successful in quitting?

Not all smokers are bad, but of course there are inconsiderate smokers (you can catch those in INTEC toilet during classes - fancy skipping classes just to smoke) who do not give a damn what they are doing to others (like plastering my T-shirt with the smell of smoke after i went out of toilet). But like what some had said here before, they don't go around smoking in the public. They kept it to themselves. So, at least they are being considerate.

Stand firmly on your belief, but if you are being over dogmatic about it, you are not helping the smokers either. They have their reasons why they smoke (they realize the consequences too), and we are here to help them to reduce their smoking to 0 intake. You with me?

01-05-2004, 07:07 PM
Yeah, ElansirGelmir....we have the same intention. But then again, you have ur views and I have mine... So what kind of approach would u like to take? Giving moral supports to the smoker so that they can kick their habit one day? I would say that it is an even slower process. Can you be by their side supporting them all the time? No... Do u think they will still remember the support u gave them when they are like cold turkey, shivering and all kinds of effects coming in when they try to quit? Probably not....

I once read from the newspaper that there are actually two types of addiction which the smokers are dealing with. They are the chemical addiction and the mental addiction. Chemical addiction is due to the effect of the chemicals contained in a cigarette and how it changes our body and causes addiction to it, for example nicotine. Mental addiction on the other side....I cant really remember the full explanation, but it has something to do with our subconcious mind. Here...i've found the link to it. I hope it works.
http://202.186.86.35/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2004/4/21/features/7635291&newspage=Search

What i'm trying to do is I'm trying a different approach to help the smokers to kick their habit. With different ways of helping them, the chances of success will be higher. I'm trying to counsel them. Is it worth it to sacrifice our life for the enjoyment and satisfaction gained when smoking? Is it worth it to try ur very best to kick the habit now than to suffer from cancer later and losses every hair on ur body due to chemotherapy? This is only for urself. How about the others who didnt even smoke but have to undergo these sufferings bcause of u? They are actually suffering because of u smokers....so cant u take them as ur moral support as well to help u kick ur habit?

Actually i dont really know where am i heading by typing this out. I dont know whether all my postings here will help or will not help the smokers out there. But, at least I'm trying.

P/s: ElansirGelmir, i cant think of any bad addiction that I am having right now. I think i'm addicted only to the internet, and to Drama Series. I dont think that this addiction of mine will do any harm to anyone rite? It does affect my studies a little, but it does have some its advantages too....so no need of quiting for me :) How about u Elansir?

02-05-2004, 02:41 AM
Can you be by their side supporting them all the time? No...

If you are really sincere in trying to stop them, you will. That's why most guys who smoke stopped smoking because their gfs dun like it and ask them to stop. Or they tried reducing their smoking. Counselling isn't a 2 hour long process... It takes months, sometimes years. So don't expect after an hour long of lecture these peeps will say, gee, i'm going to quit liao... Perhaps they will, but if u are not there to help them when they back slide, then it's useless.

My addiction? Haha, talking. That's a bad thing, coz sometimes i dun realize what I'm talking or too blur to notice that what i've said offended anyone... Should learn how to control it, but dun know how ler...

02-05-2004, 02:43 AM
After reading your posts I see where you are coming from. I respect your stand but I still don't agree with you on the banning of cigarettes.

First I'll answer your question on lifting the ban on drugs. I don't know the extend of your experience with narcotics but as far as I know, most drugs are much more harmful that cigarettes are in certain respect. The first respect is the time frame of the injury it causes. Many drugs if you overdose will kill you within a few hours. This may not be a strong enough reason considering your stand, so here is another. Most drugs would reduce our productivity. There's hallucination, there's lack of a clear mind, and also if you're addicted, the mental torture of not having your fix is enough to drive anyone nuts. The third reason is probably this. People who take drugs are more likely to pose an immediate danger to those around them. It's like being around somebody who's drunk and belligerent. For these reasons, i think drugs should remain banned. I hope i gave a good enough explanation.

Next, I think that if you want to ban something, it because people practicing it would be harming others in society. I can hear you crying about second-hand smoke and all the harm it causes. I agree with you that second hand smoke is bad. That's why I think people who smoke near other people especially chidren and older folks are being irresponsible and inconsiderate. But I also think that there is a proper place to smoke that should cause no harm to others. Thus I don't think smoking merits being banned. All I can agree with is regulating the places where people can smoke. and maybe a higher tax on cigarettes.

There are many things that you take personally as joys in life that others don't. Cigarettes maybe a recreational thing for many people that you don't agree with. But as long as it doesn't harm you, then I don't think you have a valid argument for banning them. As they say,"My freedom ends where your nose begins." That's also saying i have rights as long as I don't harm you.

On the part about helping smokers, I think that's a very good idea. However, you're going to face a tough one if they don't want help. They may even feel that you're trying to take something away from them.

SpRInG
03-05-2004, 10:35 AM
There are many things that you take personally as joys in life that others don't. Cigarettes maybe a recreational thing for many people that you don't agree with. But as long as it doesn't harm you, then I don't think you have a valid argument for banning them. As they say,"My freedom ends where your nose begins." That's also saying i have rights as long as I don't harm you.

hmm.... as long as it doesn't harm me? But cigarettes do harm us, right? Then why do we have no reason to ban it? Just for the sake of economy? Actually, for your information, Amsterdam is a place where they don't ban drugs.... How about drugs? Other people addicted to drugs, but drugs won't harm us, then why should we ban drugs? And why shouldn't we ban cigarettes just because it kills slower than drugs? Is the cause really justified?

03-05-2004, 11:40 AM
First off I think you got your facts wrong about Amsterdam. I think the coerrect fact is that they tolerate soft drugs. I think about the only thing they allow is cannabis, hashihs, and ganja but I may be wrong. And even then there are regulations as to where people can smoke and how much they can purchase at any one time as well as licenses to sell such drugs. I personally think that cannabis should be legalized but that is another story.

As for drugs not causing much harm I think i failed to explain how I feel that it could cause harm. Either that or you read my post wrongly. Other than cannabis and most other amphetamines, I think that drugs could cause you to lose your sense and perception. If you take hallicinogens you could end up thinking that a car coming at you on a freeway was a fluffy cloud resulting in you having your brains painted on the asphalt. Secondly, I think that drugs are strong enough to make people act violently against others and thus would pose a direct danger to society. In this sense I would put drugs and cigarrettes in different categories.

Lastly, I agree with you that cigarettes cause harm to people who inhale the smoke. But like I said, there should be a place where smokers can enjoy their cigarette where they would cause no or minimal harm to people around them. I think that properly enforce, second-hand smoke from smokers would pose less harm than the carbon monoxide from all the SUV's and 20 year old cars roaming on the streets.

Last but not least, to be cynical, I think that too many powerful people are making money out of cigarettes. No doubt this is not a justifiable cause for not banning cigarettes but this is a something we have to accept as a fact of life. If you truly want to stop people from smoking, then start thinking of another method. It is too often in life that we meet people who are not motivated by benevolent objectives.

03-05-2004, 12:14 PM
Even if there is a place specially for smokers to enjoy their cigarretes, that does not implies that every smokers will go there to smoke, right? Have u seen a "Do Not Litter" or "Dilarang Membuang Sampah" signboard with a lot of rubbish at the bottom? I've seen a lot of smokers who smoke at non-smoking area....what can we do? This is something which will never worked out.

About the cigarrete smokes, do u have any idea how many dangerous chemical ingredients are present in it? IF a person inhale a large amount of carbom monoxide, say ..from a car, he can be cure by giving him pure oxygen. But the damages done by cigarrete smoke to human lungs are mostly permanent and non-reversible. Stop smoking may prevent their condition to deteriote, but to get a fully healthy lung once again, that will be impossible.

Banning cigarrete is not impossible, it's just that many ppl with their own "excuses" make it not possible.

SpRInG
03-05-2004, 12:25 PM
yea, it's true also... i agree with pandaboy... it does not mean that when people still litter when there is the sign which says "Do Not LItter" and we should just accept it as how it is....

The main point is that... we hope to change people's mentality towards this issue... yes, by banning the whole cigarette industry may cause sudden serious impact towards the economy, but that's no solid point that it cannot be done. Economy? It's just human activity. Smoking? Also human activity... So what i mean is that, where there is a will, there is a way

maybe not immediately, but we hope, that it can still be banned, one day, for the sake of the future of human race... what is right is right, and what is wrong is wrong...

soul_out
04-05-2004, 12:44 AM
Just to point out something.

1. Cigaratte(or tobacco) contain thousands of chimical. Obviously it is harmful to our body. Smoking is just like commit suicide slowly. Why? Becoz it cause irreversible damage to our lung cells. Quit smoking is just stop the condition from being deteriorate.

Then why don't we ban it? From medicinal and pharmacological point of view, cigaratte/smoking is non-addictive. Yes, it won't cause addiction physiologically. But psychologically? I think it will.

2. According to Spring, Drugs are harmless to our body relatively to cigaratte? Joking.

Cannabis(joint,hash,hash oil,grass,ganja) can bring relaxation and enhance enjoyment from social events or activities such as listening to music. It is non-addictive as well, but will cause psychological dependence in some users.

Why ban? Becoz it can interfere with concentration and slows down reaction. It will also induce psychotic illness in those users who have pre-existing psychological disturbance(psycho).

Yes, there are Cannabis cafe in Amsterdam. They only tolerate soft drugs.

3. Amphetamine is second popular to cannabis. It is also non-addictive but prolong use will cause psychological dependence as well.

Why ban? Becoz some evidence said it will cause liver damage. Anxiety and paranoia are associated with high frequency use.

4. Cocaine. Why ban? Becoz it's addictive.

5. Estacy. Why ban? Becoz it is associated with fits(epilepsy), liver damage and long term use will cause anxiety, confusion and sleep disturbance.

For your information, people with hypertension, heart disease, diabetes, problems with liver functions, history of mental illness, panic attacks, epilepsy, or pregnant women should not take ecstasy.

6. Hallucinogen(LSD, Magic mushroom)? Generally not harmful but people with psychological problems should not take it as they may be less able to cope with the disorienting effects of perceptual hallucinations.

04-05-2004, 12:49 AM
The pharmacist (am I right soul_out?) has spoken.

So should smoking be banned?

soul_out
04-05-2004, 12:54 AM
So should smoking be banned?

Maybe we can consider ban chewing gum first...lol...

04-05-2004, 01:13 AM
Huh? Why ban chewing gum? Later if ban smoking, then the smokers will have no alternative ...

Wow!! I've hit the 100 posts mark here....

SpRInG
05-05-2004, 03:08 PM
Just to point out something.

1. Cigaratte(or tobacco) contain thousands of chimical. Obviously it is harmful to our body. Smoking is just like commit suicide slowly. Why? Becoz it cause irreversible damage to our lung cells. Quit smoking is just stop the condition from being deteriorate.

Then why don't we ban it? From medicinal and pharmacological point of view, cigaratte/smoking is non-addictive. Yes, it won't cause addiction physiologically. But psychologically? I think it will.

2. According to Spring, Drugs are harmless to our body relatively to cigaratte? Joking.

Cannabis(joint,hash,hash oil,grass,ganja) can bring relaxation and enhance enjoyment from social events or activities such as listening to music. It is non-addictive as well, but will cause psychological dependence in some users.

Why ban? Becoz it can interfere with concentration and slows down reaction. It will also induce psychotic illness in those users who have pre-existing psychological disturbance(psycho).

Yes, there are Cannabis cafe in Amsterdam. They only tolerate soft drugs.

3. Amphetamine is second popular to cannabis. It is also non-addictive but prolong use will cause psychological dependence as well.

Why ban? Becoz some evidence said it will cause liver damage. Anxiety and paranoia are associated with high frequency use.

4. Cocaine. Why ban? Becoz it's addictive.

5. Estacy. Why ban? Becoz it is associated with fits(epilepsy), liver damage and long term use will cause anxiety, confusion and sleep disturbance.

For your information, people with hypertension, heart disease, diabetes, problems with liver functions, history of mental illness, panic attacks, epilepsy, or pregnant women should not take ecstasy.

6. Hallucinogen(LSD, Magic mushroom)? Generally not harmful but people with psychological problems should not take it as they may be less able to cope with the disorienting effects of perceptual hallucinations.

a very good fact presented... and i agree definitely...

but ops.... i think you have misinterpreted what i meant... you should read the whole context.... i was trying to say that, well, if we view from that viewpoint... i never try to mean that drug is harmless relatively to cigarettes.. ok? for your information, i'm 100% on the ban of illegal drugs also.

06-05-2004, 04:35 AM
If the govt ban smoking, they'll lose a lot of money from tax. In fact, they'll make smugglers richer. it wont work.

07-05-2004, 02:14 AM
If the govt ban smoking, they'll lose a lot of money from tax. In fact, they'll make smugglers richer. it wont work.

Never try already say never work? Make smugglers richer? Impose a death sentence on them just like the drugs la... If it can work for the drugs, why not? Again.....money is the main priority for a country or the health of the citizens? Sacrifising the health of the citizens for the sake of money? Money can be earned by other sourses.....then wat is the use of agriculture, industrials, tourism.....?

ydho_6
07-05-2004, 08:21 AM

Never try already say never work? Make smugglers richer? Impose a death sentence on them just like the drugs la... If it can work for the drugs, why not? Again.....money is the main priority for a country or the health of the citizens? Sacrifising the health of the citizens for the sake of money? Money can be earned by other sourses.....then wat is the use of agriculture, industrials, tourism.....?

diesel is looking at the issue from an economist point of view. and i have to say the reality is like that. there are many things that u KNOW is BAD for the citizens. but country have to do it. example, why poor country with poverty and high dying rates still produce n sell drugs? why some countries ban drugs and some don't? many questions like this are explored by economists by weghthing the cost and benefits.

in economy, not only citizens welfare have to be taken into account. it is the total social surplus that matters, i.e. profits of companies counts, well being of economy counts. and to propose a ban for the reason of citizens health sometimes is regarded as value judgement. so instead citizens' health is sacrificed for the so called well being of economy.

I am supporting the ban. but i m aware of the consequences of the economic effects. Such a dillemma. Human is alwys contradicting themselves, and for economics, sometimes it can be too cold and cruel.

tunsrilanang
22-06-2004, 03:01 AM
if our country cannot thrive without tax from cigarrettes, its the government and the citizens who are to be blamed for the lack of creativity and knowledge to make money without relying on cigarette tax.

p.s. i really hate it when smokers would subtly make non-smokers to smoke.
menambahkan populasi orang yang busuk (dek bau rokok) dan yg pada hari tua nanti sakit.
macam banyak duit je nak tanggung health care, huh.

22-06-2004, 03:25 AM
if our country cannot thrive without tax from cigarrettes, its the government and the citizens who are to be blamed for the lack of creativity and knowledge to make money without relying on cigarette tax.

p.s. i really hate it when smokers would subtly make non-smokers to smoke.
menambahkan populasi orang yang busuk (dek bau rokok) dan yg pada hari tua nanti sakit.
macam banyak duit je nak tanggung health care, huh.

our country can thrive without cigarette tax. cigarette based revenue is but a mere fraction of the total GDP. But, banning cigarette doesn't help - like what has been said earlier, banning cigarette would reduce revenue (how little it may be) and make the smugglers richer. Crime might even increase as illegal criminal cartels are formed.

One example, The Prohibition in the US, certainly which failed. Problem (and additional problems) were only solved when the prohibition was lifted and replaced with cigarette taxes.

this is not the lack of creativity, this is economics at work.

and my opinion, i dont mind about them as long as they observe ethics.

and finally, i dont think we should look down on smokers. There are smokers that are better than the non-smokers in some other way.

22-06-2004, 06:13 PM
smokers that deserved to be looked down are those who smokes in non-smoking area, public area and etc ....
they are killing innocent ppl with their second-hand smokes...

And by the way, cigarettes are deadlier than thought....
Take a look here....

http://www.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13136082,00.html

New results have shown that 66% of smokers who started young, will die before their time.

22-06-2004, 06:21 PM
Perhaps they should consider raising cigarette tax to a really absurd level...would that work?

Randomphantom
22-06-2004, 06:41 PM
Although declaring the smokers as killers is a bit overboard, they are definitely selfish especially those that smoke without regard of people around them.

I propose those with lung cancers due to smoking to sue the cigarette companies, like in the US where you can sue anyone for anything. Hopefully they will come up somehing better then a disclaimer which most people choose to ignore anyway.

22-06-2004, 10:17 PM
Higher tax won't work in my opinion. Here in NY, cigarettes may be priced as high as USD7 but that doesn't stop people from buying cigarettes.

the chemical addiction from cigarettes isn't that bad. I think that it takes about 3 days for your body to adjust to the withdrawal. After that it's all in your mind. But that definitely is the tough part.

I think that to make a smoker quit, he has to want to do it because of something that is important to them. And sad to say, although our lives should be of utmost importance, smokers don't feel that their lives are at much of a risk. The pleasures of smoking outweigh the felt negatives. So they push the bad effects out of their minds.

Some say that smoking helps reduce stress. It may be true that nicotine can act as an anti-depressant which makes quitting harder. But i think that if you put your mind to it, anyone can quit.

23-06-2004, 01:05 PM
and i hate smokers who smoke right under the "No Smkoing" sign...to me, that's downright showing disrespect to the sign, and to the authorities and to the public. Also, it shows their own idiocy for being unable to understand what such sign means LOL :lol:

28-08-2007, 09:29 AM
in my college, both man smoking and girls smoking are just very common things....

but, i dislike smokers

evening_go_jogging
28-08-2007, 06:37 PM
in my college, both man smoking and girls smoking are just very common things....

but, i dislike smokers

are you a smoker?

29-08-2007, 09:34 AM

but, i dislike smokers

are you a smoker?of course no, since i hate both smoking and smokers so much, are you?

11-09-2007, 04:22 PM

but, i dislike smokersi want to add my something:

actually, there 's a qustion that why woman smokers are not pretty

the answer : because they look like dinosaur when they smoke, i can imagine it......

http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/4752/image2qx1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
V
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/1155/image1cr8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
V
http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/5324/dinogw4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

livern
16-09-2007, 10:42 PM
umm.. can't see the connection between lady smokers and dinosours, but i'm really, really against smoking.super-anti-smoker.. no matter wat gender. but it DOES give me a very weird feeling to see a girl smoke. i feel somehow more disgusted.
in my hostel, we use the lift to get to the higher floors. everytime i go in the lift, i hv to take a deep breath first and hold my breath for 4 floors cuz the inside of the lift STINKS of smoke.. i cant stand it.
disgusting, disgusting, disgusting.
just becuz they want to die of lung cancer or something, doesnt' mean tat they hv to drag uninvolved ppl like us along with them. geez..
(i'm sorry.. i feel very strongly about this matter)

19-09-2007, 03:55 AM
but it DOES give me a very weird feeling to see a girl smoke. i feel somehow more disgusted.

Maybe it's because you grew up not seeing many women smoke, and that "WOMEN SHOULD DEFINITELY NOT SMOKE" mentality has been ingrained in your mind

the answer : because they look like dinosaur when they smoke, i can imagine it......

I don't know how you get that kind of imagination...

20-09-2007, 02:01 AM
Gender equality..Men have the rights to smoke without being stereotyped, so why can't women smoke?? There is nothing wrong after all...

LilDeviant
20-09-2007, 06:49 PM
Girls who smoke are brave.

I would give them around of well deserved applause.

WinnieH
20-09-2007, 09:25 PM
i dont like smokers. i think they are disgusting. so no matter what gender the smoker is, i will only think one thing-----> "disgusting."

livern
21-09-2007, 10:30 AM

brave?! yeah. maybe? their bravery is similar to the ppl tat jump off a cliff to bunuh diri... tat means stupid. at least ppl tat jump off the cliff die instantly. these ppl who smoke are just dying slowly. they realize tat and yet they still continue to do it.. tat's just plain dumb.
but if that is wat it means being brave, then i'd rather not be.

LilDeviant
21-09-2007, 09:23 PM

brave?! yeah. maybe? their bravery is similar to the ppl tat jump off a cliff to bunuh diri... tat means stupid. at least ppl tat jump off the cliff die instantly. these ppl who smoke are just dying slowly. they realize tat and yet they still continue to do it.. tat's just plain dumb.
but if that is wat it means being brave, then i'd rather not be.

Brave in the sense that they take up smoking albeit knowing well that it promotes aging and etc.

Anyway, there are numerous things in life which lead people to their death bed soon enough. My point is, since it is all voluntarily accepted and taken up by people, we shouldn't condemn to the extent of calling them a bunch of twits just because we couldnt accept the alleged disputatious habit.

21-09-2007, 10:22 PM

I would say it's unwise... it's like sticking a live rattlesnake into your mouth... That has guts, but no brain...

claypot
28-10-2007, 01:51 PM
In my point of view, men and women should not smoke. I think that it is a sin to smoke. As we know smoke contain toxic gases and it is able to kill the living being who inhale the gases. So as a smoker, they are considered as a murder because they kill the living being on the earth slowly without realizing.

claypot
28-10-2007, 01:52 PM
In my point of view, men and women should not smoke. I think that it is a sin to smoke. As we know smoke contain toxic gases and it is able to kill the living being who inhale the gases. So as a smoker, they are considered as a murder because they kill the living being on the earth slowly without realizing.

30-10-2007, 01:44 PM
In my point of view, men and women should not smoke. I think that it is a sin to smoke. As we know smoke contain toxic gases and it is able to kill the living being who inhale the gases. So as a smoker, they are considered as a murder because they kill the living being on the earth slowly without realizing.and the people around them too, especially their family

30-10-2007, 01:51 PM

I don't know how you get that kind of imagination...[/quote]

U all never see this joke b4? oh my goodness..

This is juz a kind of metaphor..

kintaro_kun
02-11-2007, 12:26 PM
perhaps the medical treatments for smokers and the lost of their lives, on the surface, could be a burden to our health service and human resource pool. however, we have done studies into this, that if these thousands of ppl were to live to a ripe old age, they'd have cost us more in social security and pensions. hence, it is financially better, for these smokers to die at about the present rate.

the tabacco industry has a flourishing export business, helping our balance of trade, employing thousands of ppl directly and indirectly, advertising, packaging, transport, etc. the taxes they pay are formidable enough. in fact, they pay for a large sum of our national health service. thanks to their monetary contribution, we have been able to save more lives than we otherwise could. these smokers voluntarily lay down their lives for their friends! they are our national benefactors! :)

that about sums it all what sir humphrey has got to say bout smoking.

bluez_aspic
02-11-2007, 01:08 PM
I think kintaro means he wants to legalize drugs and opium planting.

kintaro_kun
02-11-2007, 01:14 PM
i said nothing of that sort.

yeng
27-11-2007, 04:17 PM
no matter who smokes (man or woman) all disgusting.
i hate the smell of smoke.
especially smokes in front of me.
n passive smoking is not good 4 health.

28-11-2007, 10:29 AM
For those ppl who don't smoke, usually hate the smell of the cigarette....

I m 1 of those ppl..

29-11-2007, 11:34 PM
sorry i dont encourage smoking at all~
guys and girls the same.

burning your $$$$$$$
why not donate it to the charity houses....hmmm....

Fourthshifter
29-11-2007, 11:45 PM
guys...

girls who smoke pot / weed claim themselves to be cool

have a look

http://youtube.com/watch?v=YNtOE79d-2c

http://youtube.com/watch?v=T7u3TOxqVuI

livern
30-11-2007, 02:15 PM
cool my a** lah..
sheesh..
this ppl.. have a brain the size of a pea.

03-12-2007, 08:51 AM
^.^

nysha
22-12-2007, 11:47 PM
evryone is entitled to their own way of living life...if a gal wants 2 smoke go ahead do as u please..bt mind u malaysians....zzzzz tey will give u the "look"...i guess in othr places they will go like
"uhuh wat ever"
NO2 VAPORIZER (http://no2vaporizers.com)

celestial_sacred
24-12-2007, 01:01 AM
One advice. Think of the your health and also others'.

29-03-2008, 02:48 AM
Without regarding to what gender is the smoker , I tend to stay away from them . Sorry , I just can't stand that revolting smell ! I even asked my dad to quit smoking when I was 12 , and now he quitted !! =D Thanks him for doing that . Smoking is really a bad habit we shouldn't practice . It's drilling your pocket and deteriorating your health . So why smoke , since your lung don't need to be tarred like the road .

An interesting fact to share --> Singapore amends a new law . Smokers can't smoke when they are walking , in an air-conditioned room , pub , club....... If you really wanna smoke at a bus stop , you have to stand inside a yellow box drawn on the floor of the bus stop to smoke =p

29-03-2008, 08:08 AM
If you really wanna smoke at a bus stop , you have to stand inside a yellow box drawn on the floor of the bus stop to smoke =p
It better be inside that yellow box *on the road* in front of the bus stop :nuts. Same risk of killing self anyway .. :nod

kookyshwaty
29-03-2008, 11:52 AM
i have this friend who started smoking when he entered college
when i asked him why he did that
his answer was as casual as, 'well, it makes me look cool'
i was so taken aback
this dumbass was supposed to be someone i was so close to during high school
i felt like snapping his head off his neck at that moment

29-03-2008, 02:09 PM
It better be inside that yellow box *on the road* in front of the bus stop :nuts. Same risk of killing self anyway .. :nod

Lol !! I hope the government sevant of Singapore read RECOM !!:P

i have this friend who started smoking when he entered college
when i asked him why he did that
his answer was as casual as, 'well, it makes me look cool'
i was so taken aback
this dumbass was supposed to be someone i was so close to during high school
i felt like snapping his head off his neck at that moment

What's cool about it ?! Don't understand why they think that's cool . Maybe he's influenced by friends ....for social connection , I guess . Some people feel left out if his/her friends smoke but he/she don't .

insertusername
29-03-2008, 10:40 PM
I like smoking hot girls!=)

Davidlew
29-03-2008, 11:37 PM
I like smoking hot girls!=)

So, when u kiss her, u can stand the nasty,foul smell of her mouth and breath?

Btw,smoking will make us look cooler? Let me tell you,smokers,if u smoke,ppl will stay away from u and no girls or guys will even admire u also!!!

insertusername
29-03-2008, 11:48 PM
So, when u kiss her, u can stand the nasty,foul smell of her mouth and breath?

Btw,smoking will make us look cooler? Let me tell you,smokers,if u smoke,ppl will stay away from u and no girls or guys will even admire u also!!!
lulz smoking hot not hot smokers...

29-03-2008, 11:49 PM
IMO, those people that think smoking will make them look cooler is just 'syok sendiri' (dunno what's that in english ... "egocentric" perhaps?) .. nobody but they themselves think they are cool if they smoke.

Al-Bert
30-03-2008, 06:13 PM
Everything has pros and cons...

I hate to mention this but i accidentally bumped into a website claiming that smoking has health benefit - it could help in preventing or at least slowing down the onset of Alzheimer's disease...

http://www.docguide.com/news/content.nsf/news/8525697700573E188525708C006B8507

As long as you don't abuse cigarette, i reckon it should be okay... ( Please correct my conclusion if you don't think it's appropriate )

31-03-2008, 07:01 AM
Nope, Al-Bert, unfortunately your last paragraph (as long as you don't abuse...) is not a sound advice.

The detrimental effects of smoking absolutely outweigh the benefits of smoking (it also helps alleviate the symptom of inflammatory bowel diseases). There's simply no reason to risk lung cancer, pancreatic cancer, emphysema, chronic bronchitis etc because of the very few benefit of cigarette.

31-03-2008, 10:10 AM
Lol !! I hope the government servant of Singapore read RECOM !!:P
They do, here's one :)

The smoking ban in Singapore is tough, no question, but it's also reasonable, i.e. it is still "possible" for the smoker to find a "legal" place to smoke within 5 minutes of walking or so. No matter what, any country who continues to derive a huge amount of revenue from cigarette taxes are likely to continue to allow smoking as long as it doesn't affect other non-smokers.

31-03-2008, 10:25 AM
>4000 toxic substances. tar, nicotine....etc the list goes on...enough to destroy our human lungs!
I feel very weird for those who tends to smoke just to show they are pretty cool..in fact, they r not!
Wat if girl smoke? they are " pretty cool" ? or show girl-dominant feeling?
In fact .they wanna kill themselves..

SMOKING IS HIGHLY PROHIBITED!!

02-04-2008, 09:16 PM
>4000 toxic substances. tar, nicotine....etc the list goes on...enough to destroy our human lungs!
I feel very weird for those who tends to smoke just to show they are pretty cool..in fact, they r not!
Wat if girl smoke? they are " pretty cool" ? or show girl-dominant feeling?
In fact .they wanna kill themselves..

SMOKING IS HIGHLY PROHIBITED!!It's a question of perception...

So what if smoking poisons my body? There are people who think i'm cool!
/sarcasm

02-04-2008, 10:01 PM
Hehe. Cool!? I really want to kill those people, especially if they smoke in closed places. When I come out of the places, my clothes smelled of cigarettes and I'm coughing all the way.

Cool, heh? Well, I want to see who is cooler down the path when I'm healthy to run and jump about while you are lying on the sick bed. (sarcasm too)

02-04-2008, 11:07 PM
They do, here's one :)

The smoking ban in Singapore is tough, no question, but it's also reasonable, i.e. it is still "possible" for the smoker to find a "legal" place to smoke within 5 minutes of walking or so. No matter what, any country who continues to derive a huge amount of revenue from cigarette taxes are likely to continue to allow smoking as long as it doesn't affect other non-smokers.

LOL !! I wonder who came out this idea , this person must have REALLY REALLY HATE smoking ! Bravo~~ I think the smoking ban work , based on what I heard from my friend .

wilson
14-04-2008, 07:51 PM
When a girl smokes, we usually see her as bad. But when guys smoke, we see nothing bad in them. What a difference?! We are in this era of gender equality.

extell
14-04-2008, 09:16 PM
Hehe. Cool!? I really want to kill those people, especially if they smoke in closed places. When I come out of the places, my clothes smelled of cigarettes and I'm coughing all the way.

Cool, heh? Well, I want to see who is cooler down the path when I'm healthy to run and jump about while you are lying on the sick bed. (sarcasm too)

*agreed* If they want the 'slow death', let them have it to themselves...why involve the public? Second-hand smoking has killed thousands, if not millions.
:mad

yummyummylicious
14-04-2008, 09:26 PM
mmm, i am one those who hate smoking too....with no reasons, just hate it!!! and for girls smoking, well, i guess they think they are cool kua...but imo, none of them are....

AlynQq
15-04-2008, 03:21 PM
Well,1st of all,i hate smoker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I juz can't accept ppl smoking especially girls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!....Mayb they thought it's common or i'm outdated.....bt i juz wonder y they could risk their health by smoking n spoilt their image????????????They must put health as the 1st priority in their life bt not smoking!!!!!!!!!!

15-04-2008, 03:27 PM
I hate smoking so much that I asked my daddy to quit smoking when I was 12 . And , now , he don't even smoke once =D

15-04-2008, 03:30 PM
I hate smokind so much so that I asked my daddy to quit smoking when I was 12 . And , now , he don't even smoke once =D

Clap clap to ur daddy. smoking is quite a bad habit, and sometimes one may find it rather hard to quit smoking just because they are too addicted to it!

AlynQq
15-04-2008, 03:37 PM
I hate smokind so much so that I asked my daddy to quit smoking when I was 12 . And , now , he don't even smoke once =D

Wow,really???U had such great influence 2 ur dad!!!I'm lucky tat none of my family members smoke(not including relatives):)..............bt i'm quite pity 2 my frens coz their dad smoking n they really suffer................They can do nothing about tat except grumbling............2 pity.............

HimoYoto
15-04-2008, 03:41 PM
Haha...you all are very lucky...my dad smoke since i was little ....when I asked him to quit smoking he just ignore me or even scold me....so sad...during form 5, one of my classmate smokes...a girl...so shit...why would somebody be so stupid and addicted to smoke.....haizzz:cry

15-04-2008, 03:55 PM
I actually bet with him ! I told him if I get 7A in UPSR , he must quit and he promised me ~ So , I really got 7A , I had no choice but to quit . But , I think if he really didn't want to quit , the bet won't mean anything to him . I am still glad that he quitted smoking . This is his way of quitting smoking --> get something to eat when he felt like smoking . He said when he's eating , he didn't feel like smoking .

AlynQq
15-04-2008, 04:12 PM
I actually bet with him ! I told him if I get 7A in UPSR , he must quit and he promised me ~ So , I really got 7A , I had no choice but to quit . But , I think if he really didn't want to quit , the bet won't mean anything to him . I am still glad that he quitted smoking . This is his way of quitting smoking --> get something to eat when he felt like smoking . He said when he's eating , he didn't feel like smoking .

:laughhaha,so clever u r!!!Bt i think yup,if he really didn't wan 2 quit,u can do nothing v it!!!Btw,ur dad quit in a proper n effective way...............clap 4 him!!!:)

15-04-2008, 04:28 PM
haha!! Thanks for your compliment =D~~ It's not a bad way , after all . I rather he eat , than end up lying on the bed in the hospital because of lung cancer or whatever cancer that come to him =p

15-04-2008, 04:29 PM
Thread moved to the Social and Entertainment Centre since it's turned into a chit chat rather than a debate

extell
15-04-2008, 08:19 PM
I hate smoking so much that I asked my daddy to quit smoking when I was 12 . And , now , he don't even smoke once =D

So cool...my dad just won't stop LOL. I emptied his cigarette b4, and put herbal tea leaves in! *hush hush* :laugh Can't help laughing when I reminisce the past.

16-04-2008, 01:52 AM
So cool...my dad just won't stop LOL. I emptied his cigarette b4, and put herbal tea leaves in! *hush hush* :laugh Can't help laughing when I reminisce the past.

LOL !! You're so creative and hilarious ! :P But , I wonder how you empty it ? Wouldn't it be obvious if you had replaced it with tea leaves ?

yummyummylicious
16-04-2008, 02:07 AM

perhaps i gotta try this out one day...hmm, i will find a chance and do this...hehe...
but wait, this thread just transform to something like 'Daddy smoking...what do you think'..lol

extell
16-04-2008, 10:57 AM
LOL !! You're so creative and hilarious ! :P But , I wonder how you empty it ? Wouldn't it be obvious if you had replaced it with tea leaves ?
Open the top end carefully and use a toothpick to cungkil most of the fillings out, then put in grounded fine tea leaves. :nod Not doing it anymore, he's not stopping anyway...

perhaps i gotta try this out one day...hmm, i will find a chance and do this...hehe...
but wait, this thread just transform to something like 'Daddy smoking...what do you think'..lol

Lols. yeah..:laugh He used to hide them underneath his seat in the car, so when he sleeps, my sis and I will sneak out and take it from the car. Then operation begins~

16-04-2008, 05:49 PM
Open the top end carefully and use a toothpick to cungkil most of the fillings out, then put in grounded fine tea leaves. :nod Not doing it anymore, he's not stopping anyway...put in Milo la... easier to compress...

Olataro
16-04-2008, 05:53 PM
Milo wont ignite my friend......

But still, this is wayyoff topic, since when a dad is a she....

Well i object to girls smoking as i endangers her fertility. I want my wife to be hot and healthyQ!!!

AHhhahahaha!

16-04-2008, 05:54 PM
Milo wont ignite my friend......

But still, this is wayyoff topic, since when a dad is a she....

Well i object to girls smoking as i endangers her fertility. I want my wife to be hot and healthyQ!!!

AHhhahahaha!
Oooh Milo will ignite all rite... into flames...

extell
16-04-2008, 10:55 PM
Lol...milo ignites? At least tea is not too way off. I didn't get to see his expression when lighting it tho. *sigh*

Yeps, I think we ran off course. Hehe..

kana
18-04-2008, 11:21 PM
It used to b a taboo tat guys smokes n girls don't -those days. but now girls also begin to smoke! actually tey should realize tat smoking is not something cool but its like making an appoinment with the death god!!!!!!!!!!!!!SO STOP SMOKING COZ IT COZ HEALTH PROBLEMS 2 U N OTHERS .NO MATTER U R A GUY O A GIRL........

18-04-2008, 11:32 PM
its a very common scene...for me,i dont quite mind but to most girls,they do mind.soo quite frankly,girls who do smoke usually hang out with boys.girls who smoke make terrible kissers.their mouth smells and tastes horrible....all the feromon they give out overpowered by the the tabacco smell.so girls...dont smoke.its a big turn off.

yummyummylicious
18-04-2008, 11:40 PM
its a very common scene...for me,i dont quite mind but to most girls,they do mind.soo quite frankly,girls who do smoke usually hang out with boys.girls who smoke make terrible kissers.their mouth smells and tastes horrible....all the feromon they give out overpowered by the the tabacco smell.so girls...dont smoke.its a big turn off.

this is one of the reason why i dont smoke..lol...:P
dont wanna have complains...lol..

kana
18-04-2008, 11:46 PM
oh yes the odour!!!!!!!!!! 10x 4 telling about it so i want to rephrase my statement : SMOKING KILLS U N THOSE WHO KISSES U !!!! LOL

18-04-2008, 11:50 PM
oh yes the odour!!!!!!!!!! 10x 4 telling about it so i want to rephrase my statement : SMOKING KILLS U N THOSE WHO KISSES U !!!! LOL

haha...true.i once had a gf who smokes,haiya....terrible experience.hehe.

Olataro
21-04-2008, 09:32 AM
i seen gals smoke and i dun think its cool.....it looks stupid and even worse...it makes them loook like hookers.