View Full Version : recom anchor??

Panda
25-03-2004, 10:28 PM
Is there any possibility that a recom member become a recom anchor???
Hey, recom anchor out there, please reply!! :roll: :lol: :wink: :evil:

26-03-2004, 12:39 AM
hehehe.... i dun think so....

if i am not wrong.... those who are quite active in Recom became ReCom Anchor... for a few days... then i think the webmaster notice it and change it to ReCom partner....

only those who 'pioneered' ReCom will be the Anchor.....

correct me if i'm wrong/... :roll:

laplace
26-03-2004, 07:31 AM
Hi Panda,

Actually Recom Anchor is not someone so special or capable in anything. They are just a group of people who wish to help in building up Recom network. Each of the anchors has their own responsibilities and jobs to do. You may refer to the About Recom.org (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=About)page.

Thanks,

laplace..

27-03-2004, 11:35 PM
Hi Panda,
Thanks for your interest in joining Recom Anchors.
like laplace said, everyone who wants to volunteer running Recom is welcome to join Recom Anchors. You can do lots of things at Recom,
and it's up to you to decide which one do you prefer to do,
(you can refer to the Recom Anchor (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=About&filename=anchors) page to get the idea. )

hehehe.... i dun think so....

if i am not wrong.... those who are quite active in Recom became ReCom Anchor... for a few days... then i think the webmaster notice it and change it to ReCom partner....

only those who 'pioneered' ReCom will be the Anchor.....

correct me if i'm wrong/... :roll:

Actually, there's no specific guideline to be a Recom Anchor.
The reason why we change 'Recom Anchor' to 'Recom Partner' is because of some historical background. :

Before this, we put Recom Anchors if someone post a lot (>60) in the forum. (after Super Best Friend)
But, I literally took the name Recom Anchor to refer to the existing Recom Anchor, the people who volunteer running this site, a while ago.
So, after a while, people realize that there's an overlap of the name Recom Anchor.
Luke proposed to change it to Recom Partner for people who post >60 at the forum.
That's why you see we suddenly change from Recom Anchor to Recom Partner . (like decentMarson said)

However, if you want to join Recom Anchor, then , welcome!.
you can email us at Support (support@<hidden>) and we'll go from there.

18-06-2004, 07:53 PM
pandaboy is a new recom anchor...

can the anchors please share the duty of what they do as achors? sounds interesting...
must I know how to do programming?

what?s the diff. between admin and moderators and anchors?

18-06-2004, 08:43 PM
here is what I understand about admins, moderators and anchors in ReCom .. someone please correct me if I'm wrong ...

admins: those who have access to ReCom admin page ... they can make changes to the ReCom website etc ... basically the guys behind the stage ...

moderators: those who moderate ReCom Forums ..

anchors: those who have pledged commitment to ReCom .. each of them has specific tasks/responsibilities ... admins and moderators belong to this group ...

so basically ..

anchors
|-- admin
|-- moderators
`- other anchors

priviledges:

admins: can make modification to the website .. handle the approval for user submissions ..

moderators: lock/delete/move Forum threads

anchors: no particular priviledges ...

18-06-2004, 09:05 PM
Luke is absolutely right.

in sum, Anchors are the volunteers to run Recom.
and each Anchor usually associated with a specific task, such as
Super Admins , Forum admins, Strategist (the usage is still vague, but this is kinda like the PR people) , Secretary, etc. But if you just want to help out, without any specific task, you're welcome to join us the anchors team too. Preferably though, you can be a project leader (you can create your own project, and go from there). or you can become Recom's PR, graphic designers, etc.

to get to know more about projects: heres the link:
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=About&filename=projects

You don't need to know programming to join Recom Anchors. but of course, if you know proogramming, it's a plus!.

18-06-2004, 09:49 PM
Yeah, we always welcome those who wish to help to be ReCom Anchor. If you find anything missing/lack in ReCom, feel free to suggest it out and you can find some other ReComers to work together, or you alone (ideally with other ReComers especially if it is big projects) and you can help develop ReCom.

Every admin/anchor/moderator is volunteer... Anyone who wish to volunteer, post it here or email Syamsul at hasran@<hidden>

18-06-2004, 11:17 PM
In other words, if you lack friends in the 'real' world and find reading threads after threads and deleting them everyday to be facisinating then your welcomed to the club.

Its like working but not getting paid :lol:

Kevinlim
19-06-2004, 12:53 AM
Ok, since this thread caught the attention of all the recom anchors, may i ask about the HP, MP n EXP thing?What does it shows? DOes it affect anything? i'm new here, don't really know how this recom works yet. thanks in advance for answering my question.

Steppe
19-06-2004, 02:46 AM
Please help to delete the article "The path we choose" that I have posted in there due to infringement of publishing rights in

http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1016#22694

19-06-2004, 06:38 AM
HP is determined by your average posts per day.

MP is determined by your join date related to your post count.

EXP goes up each time you post, and when you get to 100%, you gain a level and the EXP drops to 0 again.

Kevin Lim welcome on board. I think we didn't really utilize it. May be some others could explain on it..

masdie
12-06-2005, 03:08 AM
i read thirdshifter's posts and i found him somewhat a maniac! haha. i love his posts a lot! i love his sense of humour and his swearings. just want to find out, are there any code of ethics among the anchors. do you all have any rules or you can just do anything you like just like other recommers? but all i got to say is: you have a rawking anchor here, thirdshifter......cool!

12-06-2005, 03:15 AM
that is normal

I have seen anchors scholding fellow recommers stupid, retard etc.

I think anchors do not need to hold the responsibility of preserving ReCom's image.

Just be it and slam whoever u like :D

12-06-2005, 11:52 AM
I think everyone who post in this forum are under the forum guidelines (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=230#52678), i.e. no personal attacks, no spamming etc, be it anchors, super best friends, best friends, partners, potetial best friends etc. Anchors have no prerogative of being exempted from these guidelines, in fact, they are and they should be the flag-bearer of these guidelines.

khor_albert
12-06-2005, 12:38 PM
I have always suppressed my hope to be a ReCom anchor since I am not that "senior" yet. However, supervising and moderating are things I want to do all my life. And doing that in ReCom will be a perfect experience. I think I will give it a try, provided if the anchors will give me a chance to do that.

IMO, anchors, besides joining the fun and run, also play an important role so that ReComers do not cross the limit. This is important as we want clean and non-political discussion.

I will send in my application email.

12-06-2005, 12:48 PM
that is normal

I have seen anchors scholding fellow recommers stupid, retard etc.

I think anchors do not need to hold the responsibility of preserving ReCom's image.

Just be it and slam whoever u like :D

only when ppl get out of bounds and call names
and what happened was given as an example.
it was clearly stated, "this is an example of a personal attack"

so pls, refrain yourselves fr making other ppl pissed if you dont want to be pissed at.

anchors are normal ppl, we too hv our ups n downs. and we try, not to call names etc, as such practise will stop ppl fr wanting to contribute and it doesnt look good for the site image as well. but i guess, stimes it cant be helped. esp ppl are just too thick to understand what it means when we say, stop.

masdie
23-06-2005, 06:44 PM
I wonder how threads are locked. Do the anchors have meetings and decide to lock a thread or can an anchor/moderator make that decision alone? Are there any guidelines for locking? I don't think it's professional to lock a thread only to find it unlocked a few days after that.

23-06-2005, 06:51 PM
Every ReCom anchor has the priviledge to lock any thread he or she deems unfit, e.g. redundant, blatant and grave racism etc. That said, the current practice is, any anchor would lock a thread based on his or her personal judgment upon encountering a "bad" thread.

However, in the anchor discussion board, other anchors can lodge a complaint regarding an inappropriately locked thread, and discussions will ensue to decide whether a thread should be unlocked.

As for the guidelines, basically we are just following the forum guidelines which is the one you always see on the main page.