View Full Version : Different scenarios in universities?
26-03-2004, 06:45 AM
Just hope to know more about what are the studying scenarios, or studying atmospheres in different universities, either local or overseas?
As for my univeristy, mmm..what will be the typical scenario is:
1. Lecturers don't arrive in 15 minnutes, students will declare 'class dismiss'.
2. Normally students will arrive later than the lecturers. Some very kind lecturers will say "lets wait for another 5 minutes for others to arrive"
3. Mamak stalls are the hangout places for students at night, they can sit there, chatting (sometimes smoking) till 2am at least.
4. Normally the starting first and second weeks of the new semester, students are still in holiday mood, no one bothers about tutorials, lectures...not until the lecturers remind us of the advent of tests and projects.
5. When tests and exams are just around the corner, library will be the very crowded. Some students can stay there from the time it opens till it closes at 12midnight. They only leave the library during lunch break and dinner time. Eh, the typical scene will be piles of textbooks, notes, pencil cases or file casing 'occupy' the tables, indicate that "This is my territory, I've booked this table. Please look for other places!". Haha, if the security guards are carrying out their duties that day, your belongings will be confiscated.
Just to list out a few here. Any feedback?
aquila
26-03-2004, 12:29 PM
Interesting. Here at Duke it's very different:
1. Lecturers never arrive late. They are ALWAYS on time. I haven't had ONE lecturer cancel a class. If they're sick or have other engagements, they'll get someone to replace them for that day. Students also are normally on time, lest for the 8 or 9am classes. What a pain! People are big on punctuality here. People don't usually tolerate being stood up.
2. We have various cafes here where students will have meetings or study. Some will also just chill with friends. The cafes generally close at 12am. We have common rooms in our dorms so there's no need to travel far to hang out with friends.
3.Here in the US, you get quizzes and midterms every two weeks or so, thus you're always on your toes. The semester goes into full swing by the second week after drop/add.
4. Libraries are open till 2am on normal days. During finals week, they're open 24hours.
26-03-2004, 01:22 PM
wow..24 hours?!! Haha, For the library in my university to have this operation...I think it will never happen! Sometimes, if there's not many students in the library, the librarians even switch off the air-condition! Haha, to cut down costs and expenses...(according to my friend, who has good terms with a librarian). Speaking of that, some librarians even very rude and unwilling to render their services. Hey, we pay the university for all the facilities ok!
26-03-2004, 01:35 PM
performance by random people at the school compound. here in US, most likely u will see someone playing musical instrument, singing,dancing, making public speech and even practising fa lun gong!! guess u won't see it in m'sia
people do rollerblade and skateboard to school.
student call the professor by his/her first name and the class environment is kinda casual and interactive.
some girls tend to wear sexy cloths to class when summer comes.
26-03-2004, 07:58 PM
scenario in PPP (cemara),
you can't live without "lobang pagar". dont tell me you never use it.
26-03-2004, 09:06 PM
hmm,interesting topic..in my uni:
1) we have classes canceled just becoz we have too much snow ..so if you need some sleep,or else didn't study for a midterm or a quiz,you better pray hard that they will be plenty of snow gushing down from the sky.
2) A=93% and above, A- = 90-93%....most subjects in my uni have no curve so imagine trying hard to be a perfectionist all the time.regardless of how hard the exam is,there will be at least someone scoring 100%.
3) friday night=party night...even the libraries are closed at 11 pm on friday night.so most conservative malaysians tend to lay before the insolent box they call the tv.
4) my uni has a big campus so you feel like living in a town with no traffics and familiar faces and feel so,so safe .we even have a stadium which can hold 108 000 peoples.
5) most eateries will be closed after 10 pm,the only thing left is mc'd which will close its business at midnight.so after midnight,the whole campus seem to be another haunted area.
6) people study every where.anywhere you go,people are burying their noses inside books.so there's no such thing as being nerdy here.
7) owh yeah...if you wake up in the morning and walk to classes..there are someone smiling to you and saying "good morning"...imagine being greeted in such a polite way by a total stranger.
8) the library is so,so huge.imagine 6 million books arranged neatly in two huge buidlings connected to each other by a mesmerizing lobby.so getting lost in my uni's library is a usual thing.
i guess the list actually goes on..the small things that make my uni seem so huge..
26-03-2004, 10:27 PM
used that once or twice before. last time the pak guard is kind enough to open the gate for us so we dun need to crawl through the lubang.
26-03-2004, 11:32 PM
used that once or twice before. last time the pak guard is kind enough to open the gate for us so we dun need to crawl through the lubang.
aha, but the problem is they dont open the back gate, which is closer to 7-11.:P
wah, i used to be the most wanted there, for being responsible of "constructing" the lobang. they couldn't bust us (though i was chased twice), since we were a team of at least 7 dedicated smart people. at least 4 of us were scouts, one with a binocular. i was the mastermind who does cut the pagar. muhaha, good old days. that's what i call an organized crime. :P
chenghau
27-03-2004, 12:56 AM
Thank to your "lobang pagar" some of which still existed when I was there. There is no way that the pak guard will be so kind to open the door for us. Therefore, those holes worked best if one came back from CC at 1am or 2am.
27-03-2004, 01:55 AM
if the pak guard not there, just go open the front dorr slumberly. it was not locked most of the time last time when i was there. we just came back, parked the car and go open the door like normal,no need to climb hole. most of the time, the pak guard just wave to us and that's it.
27-03-2004, 02:42 AM
pak guard is okay...it's the mak guard that's a beeyatch.
27-03-2004, 02:42 AM
they used to not allow us to come in after 2am i guess. now they understand the price to pay for doing that. :P
27-03-2004, 02:43 AM
oh yeah...forgot to thank Diesel and his team of dedicated smart people for the lubangs. lol.
27-03-2004, 03:02 AM
heh heh, no problemo. it is our duty to serve the people. hmm, i'll make a good wakil rakyat. :P
my school... umm...
1) puntuality...give and take 5 minutes (apply for both students and lecturer) Except writing and theater class. They are very punctual.
2) library. the best place to pick up girls. :-)
3) best lepak place. "the vent" and "the ashtray".
4)food is half price after 11pm in some surronded restaurant.
5)Thursday is Party Night. kinda weird huh?
i found this interesting fact bout college students from one of student in my school. Check it out. It's so true. And losta people forget to tell you all these things before you enter to a college
http://www.xanga.com/item.aspx?user=undernewterms&tab=weblogs&uid=59154017
I am a college student. My telephone number only has 4 digits.
I am a college student. When I see movie trailers on TV, I say ?I can't wait to RENT that?
I am a college student. I don't know half of my professors' names.
I am a FEMALE college student. I use empty beer bottles for vases.
I am a college student. Christmas lights are a year-round decoration.
I am a FEMALE college student. I have worn my huge fuzzy slippers to the cafeteria.
and also (50 things the admission never tells you)
2. Two meals per day is the standard.
3. Road trip whenever possible.
8. Instant messenger becomes an addiction.
9. E-mail becomes your second language.
10. College students throw paper airplanes too.
12. College football is the coolest thing on the planet.
13. Western Europe could be wiped out by a horrible plague and you wouldn't know, but you can recite last week's re-run of The Simpsons verbatim.
21. It never sucked so much to get sick. (Thursday, Friday and Saturdays)
26. Classes... the later the better.
34. If it's snowing out, the only reason you will leave your room is for food or alcohol.
36. Cereal makes a meal any time of the day.
37. You will eat anywhere that is a buffet.
38. You will eat anything that is free.
39. New additions to food groups: beer, ramen, and pizza.
40. Stealing from the dining hall will become second nature.
41. ATM's are the devils advocate. ATM= Another Twenty Missing
48. Everyone is only nice for the first week. After that, no matter how nice you are, some people just won't smile back. Get used to it.
50. You realize college is the ideal lifestyle, except for those pesky classes.
aquila
27-03-2004, 10:52 AM
So so true! In fact someone stole my marker on my board and never returned it. I don't bother getting a new one because I very well know that it will be stolen again.
27-03-2004, 02:32 PM
These days i think most holes are all patched up... yeah, it's very hard to find lubangs here and there. Once i went to CC until 3 am... WHen i went back, the pak guard has locked the door and almost rode off on his motorbike when he saw me. Lucky enough he just reprimanded me for a while and opened the door for me. Hehe, if not i think i will have to climb over the gate. Talking about climbing the gate, the office administrator has wired the top of the gate, so there's no way we can climb over now. Everyone is 'guai' these days to abide to the curfew hour ... Aiyah ... makes the life here quite boring only
27-03-2004, 07:49 PM
Just now was telling my friend about the scenarios I read from the feedback of you guys. My friend was so envious at the conducive environment over in the US or UK. Why can't the universities (perhaps I should just refer to my University, as I'm not sure about other local universities) provide the same? Maybe can't be totally as standard as the US or UK, but at least 30% of it? In terms of education system and the productive learning environment+good facilities, local universities really should refer to the overseas tertiary institute as models.
27-03-2004, 08:06 PM
These days i think most holes are all patched up... yeah, it's very hard to find lubangs here and there. Once i went to CC until 3 am... WHen i went back, the pak guard has locked the door and almost rode off on his motorbike when he saw me. Lucky enough he just reprimanded me for a while and opened the door for me. Hehe, if not i think i will have to climb over the gate. Talking about climbing the gate, the office administrator has wired the top of the gate, so there's no way we can climb over now. Everyone is 'guai' these days to abide to the curfew hour ... Aiyah ... makes the life here quite boring only
heh heh, back when i was at cemara, we tebok the fence as soon as it's patched. that's why the pak guard hate us so much.
what you guys need is someone who likes to go out at night, equipped with a good wire cutter, and a team of at least 4 people.
27-03-2004, 09:13 PM
Too bad lar... i think the rest of the peeps here busy burrying their nose in their books. However, we do have our indoor entertainments... we have bridge session very often........ haha ..... this is the golden age of the Bridge era!!!
28-03-2004, 02:15 PM
about ATU guys using the lubangs...
:lol: those who want to use it cant....coz there juz aint any left...
esp after so so many thefts...they will repair the holes quite efficiently....they even barb-wired the back gate of the gal's hostel...now i cant get in from there if i want to! :wink:
anyways...not many of them would actually think of using the lubangs....our batch...i'll say there are too many guai kia out there la..the kind tad loves their books very much?!
28-03-2004, 02:26 PM
i used to play bridge a lot in utp.
28-03-2004, 02:42 PM
Woo... Let's spread the bridge culture here. Can we open a channel to play Bridge in recom?
28-03-2004, 09:40 PM
can we request for a 'bridge online game???'
28-03-2004, 11:15 PM
I agree with Aquila on many notes.
Classes always start punctually. Most Professors only have like 3 50-minute slots per week. So, they usually will arrive at lecture theatre much earlier, and get the system sets up on time and starts teaching on time.
On students, I would say that as lectures and sections are not compulsory, so attendance rate is typically around 30-70%. After all, there is such thing called internet and all the lecture notes are online. You can do most of the learning online. I have some lecturers who are at Silicon Valley, Menlo Park, Wharton etc. So, go online and learn~!
I haven't gotten classes dismiss, perhaps with the exception on the last day of class, just before the breaks.
Over here in Cornell, there are 15 minutes break between classes. So, odds are you can reach classes on time.
Food stalls open till 2am over here, and pizza and wings delivery guess is up to 4am or so...
I would say that almost all Professors start serious teaching on day 1. They would do a few minutes (5 to 15 minutes introduction of the course) and jump straight up to lessons.
There are 20+ libraries here, with nearly 8 million books. We can borrow 400 books (I mean it, not a typo) at a time, for 6 weeks for undergrad and 6 months for graduate students. We have access to books from all other ivy leagues (Except Harvard for some obscure reasons). So, basically we can browse any book in the 6 other ivies and just click Borrow Direct, and you will get the book in 3 to 4 days. That's the source of our textbooks frequently ...hahaha... to avoid buying those textbooks. And this service is completely free. You can have 400 borrow direct at any time. Guess that's as much as you can do. But make sure you don't lose any book. It is $75 penalty per book or more. Late returns cost $3 each day.
Yeah, Libraries open 24 hours on Sun to Thurs. Closes for 10 hours or so for Friday and Saturday. Computer labs open 24 hours 7 days a week of course.
29-03-2004, 02:15 PM
Yes, finally Mrs. Ranee agreed to bring forward my resource file's date line. If not, i would've been a barbeque meat by tomorrow. Tmr got Calculus test and Bio oral presentation. All the best, ATU 10s!!!
orestes
02-04-2004, 09:15 AM
When u guys take summer courses later, plz get urself a wirecutter... back during my heydays, i used to only guna my tangan... i was very skillful back then... until the stupid pak guard made like 20 twists on the wire... mana boleh guna tangan... so in the end i bought a pliar and my lifestyle went back to normal... so follow me... and u will end up in penn state... hahahahaha...
p/s: rilek ar... u guys jpa scholars rite? even if ur CGPA is a 0.01, u will still get to fly... and most unis wont allow u to transfer credits... even if they do, u will still get the same amount of credits even if u get a C grade or an A grade... It wont be counted in ur American CGPA anyway... SO... LEPAK!!! chill... play warcraft or watever like crazy... drink teh tarik from imthiyaz... (god i miss it!!) summer is the time to just go crazy... coz once u come here... u will literally go crazy studying... so lepak while u still can walk to the mamak stall... coz mamak stalls dun exist here... hungry after 10 pm? makan maggi... sekian...
03-04-2004, 03:49 AM
In fact, I would say that for transfer credit, some unis do care what is your grade. For instance, for Cornell, a B+ is typically a minimum. But it won't affect your CGPA here.
In fact, there is a coffee shop that has open air places, just like mamak stall, except instead of teh tarik, you have coffee with some desserts...it opens till like 2 am or so...you can get food on campus till at least 3am on weekdays and 4am on weekends..
03-04-2004, 08:41 AM
When u guys take summer courses later, plz get urself a wirecutter... back during my heydays, i used to only guna my tangan... i was very skillful back then... until the stupid pak guard made like 20 twists on the wire... mana boleh guna tangan... so in the end i bought a pliar and my lifestyle went back to normal... so follow me... and u will end up in penn state... hahahahaha...
p/s: rilek ar... u guys jpa scholars rite? even if ur CGPA is a 0.01, u will still get to fly... and most unis wont allow u to transfer credits... even if they do, u will still get the same amount of credits even if u get a C grade or an A grade... It wont be counted in ur American CGPA anyway... SO... LEPAK!!! chill... play warcraft or watever like crazy... drink teh tarik from imthiyaz... (god i miss it!!) summer is the time to just go crazy... coz once u come here... u will literally go crazy studying... so lepak while u still can walk to the mamak stall... coz mamak stalls dun exist here... hungry after 10 pm? makan maggi... sekian...
that is so true. enjoy ur life before you fly. u won't lose the chance to study in US, dun worry. but anyhow dun screw up ur grade too much.
03-04-2004, 12:34 PM
Yeah, i'm afraid that i've been screwing with my grades these days. Finals are just days away andI'm still hanging around at Recom!!!
03-04-2004, 12:50 PM
ElansarGelmir, i would say that ReCom is a favorite pastime for many, but I would say that everyone should get their priority right. For instance, even though with finals, you can come into ReCom and take an hour or so of breaks from studies, guess that won't affect grades right? In fact, if you look at those Malaysians abroad, esp those at US, many still get very involved with ReCom, even during tests or finals.
03-04-2004, 08:50 PM
Too bad lar... i think the rest of the peeps here busy burrying their nose in their books. However, we do have our indoor entertainments... we have bridge session very often........ haha ..... this is the golden age of the Bridge era!!!
What's bridge session?
03-04-2004, 09:43 PM
ElansarGelmir, i would say that ReCom is a favorite pastime for many, but I would say that everyone should get their priority right. For instance, even though with finals, you can come into ReCom and take an hour or so of breaks from studies, guess that won't affect grades right? In fact, if you look at those Malaysians abroad, esp those at US, many still get very involved with ReCom, even during tests or finals.
What i mean is that i know the finals are juz around the corner, but i'm kinda lazy to study and chose to log on to recom. Well, i tried studying bio just now, but while staring at the first page with no idea what's it all about for 30 minutes, the next thing i know, i woke up!
03-04-2004, 09:44 PM
What's bridge session?
Bridge session is the time allocated for Bridge (card game). Just like when you guys have chor ti session. But most of us are addicted to Bridge ... We even played it during our Speech Comm ... :wink:
03-04-2004, 09:47 PM
Card game...I see. I thought it 's kinda of intelectual game. Haha :D
03-04-2004, 09:54 PM
Well, there's lots of strategies in playing Bridge. You have to cooperate with your partner whom you won't know who he is. Then, you have to count the probability of winning and cards coming out....
03-04-2004, 09:58 PM
Interesting. The game uses Chor Ti card, doesn't it.
03-04-2004, 10:04 PM
Interesting. The game uses Chor Ti card, doesn't it.
Actually, the card is an international card deck. And chor ti uses the deck as well
aquila
10-04-2004, 06:22 AM
It is all very true though although what is said doesn't apply to everyone. Just the general perception of how college kids are. I like the thou shalt wear hoodie part bcoz I think that applies to a large, large section of the student population! As one of my friends said, "I refuse to buy another Duke shirt / hoodie and wear it amongst thousands of other kids who are wearing the same stuff" :P
jagganatha
11-04-2004, 06:09 PM
Sad i don know either Bridge or Chor Ti, Teng is doing a good job anyway of spreading the culture to everyone he sees..
12-04-2004, 03:05 PM
Sad i don know either Bridge or Chor Ti, Teng is doing a good job anyway of spreading the culture to everyone he sees..
ask him 2 teach u la
by the way, i just edited my previous post. It seems to be lost somewhere. won't hurt if I re-posted it. hopefully it doesnt get lost again. :wink:
15-04-2004, 02:57 AM
by the way, i just edited my previous post. It seems to be lost somewhere. won't hurt if I re-posted it. hopefully it doesnt get lost again. :wink:
It didn't lost somewhere. It has been deleted.
The reason is because, the post could hurt everyone who don't want their religion to be spoofed. Hope you understand.
I personally found it sensitive, and I believe some of the people of the Christian faith would feel the same way
It didn't lost somewhere. It has been deleted.
The reason is because, the post could hurt everyone who don't want their religion to be spoofed. Hope you understand.
I personally found it sensitive, and I believe some of the people of the Christian faith would feel the same way
thank you for the explaination
i didn't realize it could unintentionally hurt somebody feeling.
sorry for my ignorance
I'll try to be more sensitive later . thank you again