View Full Version : The best linux distribution...

oreoboy
11-10-2003, 10:38 PM
Hye.. my pren.. @<hidden> wanna ask for views.. which distribution of linux is the best and why?

My lecturer suggested to us to use Slackware.. because we can learn more on command on linux since Slackware is built more on command driven.. but I think the current version of Slackware uses GUI indeed...

11-10-2003, 11:03 PM
I think if you really want to learn the stuff behind the GUI, you may follow your prof.'s suggestion, use Slackware. But, if you want to be a hardcore linux user, use Debian. Debian (http://www.debian.org) is one of the most difficult..I believe. You can install it with only 2 floppy disks, and transfer the rest via network. and, you don;t have to install X11 if you don;t want to. I used to use both of the distribution
And you may NOT want to use Red Hat if you want to learn the commands. Because you might be seduced by Red Hat's user friendly GUI. My suggestion, try Slackware or Debian. between both, I prefer Slackware.

oreoboy
11-10-2003, 11:54 PM
tqtq.. makasih for your reply.. otai! I am ssoooo new in linux.. bodoh lagi ni... I hope to get a little bit touch from you... I will hanging around.

What is your suggestion on KNOPPIX - the linux live cd?

bachok83
12-10-2003, 12:09 AM
look who's talking, LOL

nah biskutoreo, you've asked the wrong question... :D

I'm Red Hat fan, hahahaha

to me, RedHat is the best linux distribution ever,

yeah i admit that masterof_none hates redhat, (shhh, speak slowly, he might be there paying attention to us, LOL)

yeah you gotta learn how files are distributed in redhat, then you are done... about command, yeah you can use text interface,

anyway, i would not recommend redhat for study purposes. It's damn easy to install, damn easy to do anything you want...

go for separate kernel and packages linux (slackware and debian are the best)

12-10-2003, 05:45 AM
well, I'm not saying that Red Hat is bad. It's just that it's relatively easy to use that you might eventually prefer the GUI and end up not learning lots of powerful Linux command.

RedHat is good for mission critical task.
In fact, lots of big companies use it. My favorite example is Google (http://www.google.com). Here's the prove (http://www.redhat.com/about/presscenter/2000/press_google.html).

In fact, we ourselves use Red Hat as our server. and I think it's pretty cool.

Knopkix or whatever it is...is just another linux flavor. (by the way, I never heard about it before you mention it in your post). I read that,
you could run Knokix Linux just like you watch your movie using CD.
If you like it, by the CD. I never try it, but you could give a shot.

Whatever flavor you are using, it's all come down to the same thing:
It would become a UNIX box.
and this summer, I found a kick a** UNIX that I'm now having fun playing around with : Mac OS X (http://www.apple.com/macosx)

oreoboy
12-10-2003, 09:46 AM
one all for redhat vs debian..

an as for me.. i've used slackware.. but still not yet catch up many knowledge on this....

KNOPPIX? erm... dun know about this except last week after my firend told me..masterof_none.. hehehe.. let me spell it for you... KNOPPIX (http://www.knoppix.net) ... hehehe.. just kidding... jangan marah ek...

bachok.. i've no experience using rh... if u give me a choice... rh and mandrake... i'll choose mandrake..hehehehe

bachok83
12-10-2003, 01:38 PM
nah... there are too many flavor of linux..

i'm confused...

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

12-10-2003, 02:46 PM
I;ve used mandrake and rh...I prefer mandrake...think I'm goiing to revert to mandrake

bachok83
12-10-2003, 04:04 PM
e'body is against me.. WHY.. God why???

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

irfanz
13-10-2003, 06:24 AM
RED HAT Sucks, MANDRAKE is worse.. too much trouble.. if you're going with RPM-Based distros.. Suse is the best. Debian and Slackware (not RPM-Based) is also good. Keep in mind that the top servers on the net are using BSD systems.

irfanz
13-10-2003, 06:42 AM
I've tried MANDRAKE and REDHAT.. I end up with SUSE.. SUSE have it's own version af 3D card drivers that WORKS (ATI and NVIDIA). yearghhh... System administration made easy with YAST (a very helpful centralized administration tool).. HUGE Selection of suse tailored rpm packages.. Very stable.. (unlike redhat, a linux that HANGS) Maximum uptime..Give it a try!!!

bachok83
13-10-2003, 07:32 AM
nah... google is using Red Hat... vote for red hat.. LOL

irfanz
13-10-2003, 07:53 AM
haha .. google is using their own version of linux (maybe a modified redhat) i wonder why they've modified it.. lol

see Google.com from netcraft (http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph/?host=www.google.com)

irfanz
13-10-2003, 08:03 AM
Most probably Google.com using a modified Redhat Linux Advanced Server. Which costs a fortune.. not the one you can d'load from the net.. peace.. :)

14-10-2003, 01:36 PM
yeah, those big bucks guys definitely use their own tweak version of RedHat...

For business , they use the Professional Suite (http://www.redhat.com/software/workstation/) .. Not our own 'cokia' version..har har har.

oreoboy
14-10-2003, 08:15 PM
calm down guys... such a big fight here...hehehe... i only can read through all your posts... hey.. irfanz... tell me what the big difference about RPM-based and vice versa... what is RPM actually, anyway? hehhe.. soli soli.. just asking...

14-10-2003, 11:35 PM
using SuSE rite now...thank irfanz...it's looks good so far. I didn't have problems setting up the sound and finally, my video card is working....at full potential....hehehe

biskut oreo, installation is a pain with linux. you need to get the correct file and version for your distro, then you need to get files to satisfy the dependencies, the you need to extract the files, then you need to install each file ...blah blah blah

RPM is Redhat Package Manager (correct me if I;m wrong) though it works with almost any distro. it packages the needed files and allows you to install the program by typing in one line. Some distro also have GUI-based RPM support.

So the moral of the story is, to make your life easier, use RPM.

bachok83
15-10-2003, 01:02 AM
so that's the moral?

hahahahhahaha

why dont you say it at the beginning.. i thought that you was gonna teach us cool tricks or share you pain installing your linux.... wahahahahahha

oreoboy
15-10-2003, 01:31 PM
it just a muqaddimah, may be... mana boleh terus straight to the point.. give a bunch of flower first.. hehehe.. thanks littlebigone....

ayarksss.. me? super best friend.... ? but... only 20+ posts...anyway.. thanks guys,....

ma256
25-11-2003, 06:01 AM
Yeah SuSE rawks.. but i'm having some minor problem with certain stuff. Still considering whether I should revert back to Red Hat??

CrAzyCow
25-11-2003, 07:02 AM
hehe.. i am still new to Linux. But i am curious.

What's the difference in each of the different linux distributor? If for learning purposes, will it make a difference coz i am using redhat now.. n i think the commands are the same rite? Well, let me know. Still new. :D

25-11-2003, 07:17 AM
for learning purposes, I suggest debian
http://www.debian.org

Linux distro for the masochist. hehe

25-11-2003, 07:48 AM
definitely suse ... :P

it's the only one that worked without a hitch for sound and video for me. I had so much problems with sound especially since I have a audigy2 and also a inbuilt cmedia soundcard

also, they actually tell you that their drivers for the video card may not work and they provide links and instructions to get the right ones.

ma256
25-11-2003, 07:55 AM
yeah SuSE is definitely cool. why? cuz u can install the OS through your network card, something really alien to the conventional cd-drive-windows installation. i still miss my red hat. i dunno why. i'm gonna have red hat 9 running on the laptop through thanksgiving break.

25-11-2003, 10:34 AM
i think the commands are the same rite? Well, let me know. Still new. :D

I think the commands may differ based on which shell you use. But essentially they're the same.

i may be wrong so experts correct me.

25-11-2003, 10:38 AM
I vote for SUSE too.
Better than Red Hat and Mandrake.
Still a beginner in linux though :lol:

25-11-2003, 10:43 AM
the default shell for Linux dist. is bash. (Bourne Again shell)
other shells including csh and tcsh

mac os x use tcsh as default

All shell usually share the same standard unix utility .
example: cd (change dir), ls (list or sth ) etc.

but they differ usually when you try to set path .

if you're not sure about setting path, you can consult some tutorial/manuals
http://web.ukonline.co.uk/taosynth/docs/online_userman/UserManual_14.html

path can search your env variable. to make it permanent, you have to edit your .tcsh file or .csh

use ls -a to see all files including the dots in the beginning.

hope that help

25-11-2003, 10:50 AM
http://www.mil.ufl.edu/linuxhelp/LinuxShell.pdf

a short(20 pages) introduction to using the linux shell. QUite comprehensive and should get you started using shortcuts and scripts and all those cool stuff that makes you feel like a nerd. :D

equuelus
29-12-2003, 05:51 PM
I've tried MANDRAKE and REDHAT.. I end up with SUSE.. SUSE have it's own version af 3D card drivers that WORKS (ATI and NVIDIA). yearghhh... System administration made easy with YAST (a very helpful centralized administration tool).. HUGE Selection of suse tailored rpm packages.. Very stable.. (unlike redhat, a linux that HANGS) Maximum uptime..Give it a try!!!

:lol: mamat nih ikut aku gak yer.. dulu kutuk aku giler2..

btw, i think rpm-based sucks( this includes SuSE). I prefer compiling programs myself.

etoilevn88
23-12-2008, 09:48 AM
I think if you really want to learn the stuff behind the GUI, you may follow your prof.'s suggestion, use Slackware.
Whatever flavor you are using, it's all come down to the same thing:
It would become a UNIX box.

qedx
14-02-2009, 04:23 AM
So I upgraded my laptop hard drive and installed a jaunty daily on it just to switch my fs to ext4. I'm not sure but my laptop does feel somewhat snappier.

17-02-2009, 05:56 PM
After following developments in the Linux world for a few years, I have came to the conclusion that Linux developers are sometimes more concerned with philosophy rather than development. There are lots of argument on why this and that codes cannot be included in a distribution because of licencing incompatibilities.

qedx
17-02-2009, 06:10 PM
afaik it's because it would be illegal to include stuff in if you don't comply with the license. It's like that too for the rest of the world except the discussion is not so open to the public.

18-02-2009, 04:20 PM
That is because it is too philosophically driven. If there aren't so much restrictions on licencing I think it would thrive better. Then again, BSD distributions with looser conditions aren't doing that well either on the desktop world, except for Mac OS X.