View Full Version : JPA textbook allowance too low
dannyler22
20-07-2007, 06:25 PM
we get rm220 for textbook allowance (stated)
but the estimation of the prices is at least rm1500..
how can we survive with such meagre allowance? anybody has any opinions?
20-07-2007, 06:38 PM
i'm running out of budget as well..... :cry:
20-07-2007, 06:48 PM
Of course it is too low but can you ask for an increase? One way of saving is to buy it second hand or photostat - I didn't said that. Just in case the copyright act try to find me.
Al-Bert
21-07-2007, 12:08 AM
Huh? I saw almost all the JPA seniors are still alive.... So, relax! There's no way we can't survive even though we would be provided with such pathetic allowance.. Maybe JPA wants to train us to become smart consumer - able to buy neccesary books with lowest price!
In case you find yourself really can't survive, ask those seniors.. they will teach you the survival skill..haha
sNaiL0810
21-07-2007, 01:14 AM
juz take it easy...its really low but i believe we can figure it out de~~~
21-07-2007, 11:20 AM
You don't really have to worry about the money. The monthly allowance JPA gives nowadays is more than enough and it will help you make up for the insufficient textbook allowance.
dannyler22
21-07-2007, 03:01 PM
hope so.. but it's jz a 10% discount..
arghh.. haha
21-07-2007, 03:17 PM
You don't really have to worry about the money. The monthly allowance JPA gives nowadays is more than enough and it will help you make up for the insufficient textbook allowance.
I beg to differ. My monthly food cost surpass that of the monthly allowance given by Jpa.
dannyler22
21-07-2007, 04:03 PM
ya.. mine is just enough.. coz i can still go home on weekends
21-07-2007, 04:21 PM
I beg to differ. My monthly food cost surpass that of the monthly allowance given by Jpa.
Which country are you in? For me it's okay..
21-07-2007, 05:02 PM
Still in Malaysia for pre-u.
chngyx
21-07-2007, 05:49 PM
nt enough la
Only JPA student required to pay for the graphing calculator
RM460 u noe?!
but our book allowance only RM 200++
How we gonna buy our textbook after this?
BTW ,i'm studying SAM .
All other scholars (other than JPA) din hv to pay it themselves,their sponsor will pay for them ,they juz collect.
Haiz...
Of course it is too low but can you ask for an increase? One way of saving is to buy it second hand or photostat - I didn't said that. Just in case the copyright act try to find me.
sme of my frenz spend for 220 2 4tostat books oso dun enough....
but i tink da graphic calculator is jus a stupid idea...
my calculus textbook kept promoting graphic calculator.....
Fourthshifter
21-07-2007, 06:19 PM
complain complain complain
what if JPA pull back the scholarship?
you guys are lucky enough that JPA give out cash seperately for another category called books and alat tulis.
They could just give basic allowance without extra book money but since they give more cash, you guys still complain... haihz, what can we say?
You guys one day better return our taxpayers money.
but better than never pay u;la.... have 2 appreciate
Fourthshifter
21-07-2007, 06:21 PM
nt enough la
Only JPA student required to pay for the graphing calculator
RM460 u noe?!
but our book allowance only RM 200++
How we gonna buy our textbook after this?
BTW ,i'm studying SAM .
All other scholars (other than JPA) din hv to pay it themselves,their sponsor will pay for them ,they juz collect.
Haiz...
your family so poor cannot temporary tambah ah?
haihz....
JPA scholars so... poor thing
all have to be sponsored by JPA, family too poor cannot tambah even one sen
Fourthshifter
21-07-2007, 06:23 PM
Got scholarship also complain,
no scholarship also complain.
Given free education also complain.
people see this also feel damm TU LAN
think it carefully.. the allowance is RM220 per year...
u are buying the books for ur whole course..
etc : A-lvl 2 years...
then
RM220 x 2 = RM440
don't forget the school holiday.. where u can get free money
etc : ALG has 7 weeks of holiday
it mean i can get RM350 while i'm staying with my family...
think about it!
21-07-2007, 09:07 PM
Still in Malaysia for pre-u.
Ooh I thought you are referring to overseas allowance. My bad.
21-07-2007, 10:20 PM
hey, the JPA din bank in the living allowance for us yet, this is the 2nd week after registration day
i m running out of money already.....
22-07-2007, 06:09 PM
hey, the JPA din bank in the living allowance for us yet, this is the 2nd week after registration day
i m running out of money already.....
i dun tin v cn get da money tat fast...
sNaiL0810
23-07-2007, 02:01 PM
juz be patient la my fren...at least we dun need to pay the course fee which cost about RM8000++
if u r taking physic the courses fee r more!!!!
so dun complain again n do as hard as u can do to JPA
davidchak
23-07-2007, 05:14 PM
Agree. Stop complaining and yelling. Its good that you already got the scholarship. THink about the thousands peoples out there begging or cursing about not getting the scholarship and yet here you are complaining bout insufficient fund.
Nothing is perfect. The textbook total is around RM600++(For social sciences, not sure about engineering), and that is only if you are buying new textbook.
If say, you are buying second hand textbook like RM60++ each, times it by six, RM360, plus a second hand calculator, RM220. Its about RM580.
JPA gives us RM220, plus the equipment fees, this fees that fees which unlikely we will use it, it amounts about RM400. PLUS again, holiday (sem break)free cash, RM350 , so around RM750. Come on lah, RM950 is more than enough. Its not how much you are given, is how you manage to save the cost of it. Maybe you need to take money outta your pocket to pay first but it will eventually all comes back.
No harsh feeling though, just writing what i think. Frankly speaking, my wallet is getting slimmer by days~~ T.T
but m course seemed dun hv any long sme break.
the longest is 2 weeks. lol
24-07-2007, 03:55 PM
Haha, I have two months holiday this year. Just kidding. :D
davidchak
24-07-2007, 04:20 PM
Our shcedule is only until this December. THere might be break next year january continuing the december break. We have another 1 week break on September.
24-07-2007, 05:17 PM
Erhmmm, ours starts at November.
sNaiL0810
24-07-2007, 06:41 PM
u all know what???
stop blammed JPA ok???
they gave us so much..
if u r taking engineering now...u should be so thankful to JPA,the first sem when u go in Taylor,u need to pay RM10k++ because of the lab fee,one science subject need RM500++ lab fee!!!!!
somemore the accomodation fee....
do u all mention there is house keeper???it need money too...we have the best accomodation if compare to other college scholar...think about it
juz stay calm n wait the money come....
25-07-2007, 04:23 PM
argh, no more money to spend for food n daily needs, have to ask from parents .....
jpa, faster, plz
25-07-2007, 04:25 PM
yo, if u short of cash, don't buy books, use the library.
25-07-2007, 04:37 PM
u mean text books?
mana boleh la?
every week, when i have certain subject's lecture, go library to borrow it?
in my college, we can only renew once....
u mean text books?
mana boleh la?
every week, when i have certain subject's lecture, go library to borrow it?
in my college, we can only renew once....
excuse...
25-07-2007, 07:25 PM
Hiya, if want to borrow other books for reading. Then, cannot be there is a limit to the amount of books one can borrow.
25-07-2007, 07:26 PM
get the book and then take down notes so that you won't need them later.
Or you could get second hand books. Back when i was in A levels, all my books were second hand books, they cost less than rm30 and they work just as good. PLUS, i sold them for nearly the same price in the end :P
25-07-2007, 07:45 PM
get the book and then take down notes so that you won't need them later.
Or you could get second hand books. Back when i was in A levels, all my books were second hand books, they cost less than rm30 and they work just as good. PLUS, i sold them for nearly the same price in the end :P
Good lah. Here, almost all my subjects textbooks are from the 2007 edition. So, no second hand.
Fourthshifter
25-07-2007, 10:20 PM
steal >.>
davidchak
26-07-2007, 12:35 AM
You can work together with your friend to "keep" borrowing the book by taking turn. Say A used his card to borrow the book for this week and next week, renewed it once, then ask B to borrow the book again for amonth. THis way, you will get to "keep" the textbook though, its pretty selfish
sNaiL0810
26-07-2007, 01:53 PM
find someone who is attending the class one period before urs n ask them whether wan to share book or whatever..
that would be nice
26-07-2007, 01:57 PM
You can work together with your friend to "keep" borrowing the book by taking turn. Say A used his card to borrow the book for this week and next week, renewed it once, then ask B to borrow the book again for amonth. THis way, you will get to "keep" the textbook though, its pretty selfish
good idea, i will try it
yet, library must have more than 1 copy , no need worry
26-07-2007, 06:31 PM
good idea, i will try it
yet, library must have more than 1 copy , no need worry
If every person do like you. The few extra copies will also be gone by then.
26-07-2007, 10:42 PM
Then buy pirated books :P
sNaiL0810
27-07-2007, 10:49 AM
actually you dun depend on the book so much, dun u realise it?
i mean for ICPU course.
i do have a pirated book but no a lecturer force me to to buy a original one....figure out a way which suit u better
comon guys..it's alwaz a hard time during the beginning of a new sem when we hv to get new books n all tat..soon we'll feel better after we learn how 2 manage our expenses..those buying new books, juz keep the books nicely so u can sell them for better price..dun worry..next year there will be high demand for second hand books
28-07-2007, 01:42 AM
I have some sorts of feelings that juniors this year complain too much.... I mean many of them think that they must get substantial amount of allowance, good college, perfect lecturers, etc..... without realising they're not in school anymore, but college...... I'm not pointing this at anyone, just some personal feelings...
Anyway, allowance given by JPA is sufficient, and it depends on how you plan to use it. Don't count your entertlobster ainment and transport fees in, and you'll find that it's really enough, and don't treat it like a luxurious holidays where you can eat every day, I guess that's really enough. Financial planning is important....
I have some sorts of feelings that juniors this year complain too much.... I mean many of them think that they must get substantial amount of allowance, good college, perfect lecturers, etc..... without realising they're not in school anymore, but college...... I'm not pointing this at anyone, just some personal feelings...
Anyway, allowance given by JPA is sufficient, and it depends on how you plan to use it. Don't count your entertlobster ainment and transport fees in, and you'll find that it's really enough, and don't treat it like a luxurious holidays where you can eat every day, I guess that's really enough. Financial planning is important....
agree...
they dunno how to appreciate what they get.... stop acting like a child waiting for food/milk feeding!!....
Fourthshifter
28-07-2007, 03:31 AM
There is a saying,
got free education still complain.
They pay nothing but expecting red carpet treatment.
hmmm... maybe Malaysian kids nowadays have over comfortable life.
over pampered.
davidchak
28-07-2007, 07:06 PM
Please notice that not all of us are taking it for granted. But frankly speaking, the fees is obviously not enough(not living expenses but the textbook allowance). But hey, its your education. Government already pay RM400k++ for you to go oversea. Why bother about another RM400 from your pocket?
29-07-2007, 12:06 AM
dun complain so much.... jz appreciate wat's given 2 u.....
29-07-2007, 10:55 PM
dude, the scholarship does not mean you don't have to fork out a cent. It there to ease your (your parents) burden. Unless it's a critical insufficiency (as in the case last year where JPA reviewed and increased the allowance for some of their students) you should try to buy your books using your own money to cover the excess.
sNaiL0810
30-07-2007, 01:48 PM
erm...guess the author of this thread knew he/she wrong edi..so he respon nothing here~~~
31-07-2007, 10:00 AM
announcement here:
i heard that Uk bound and korean bound student already received the allowance from jpa, around rm 2300 if i m not mistaken, 4 this half year
sNaiL0810
31-07-2007, 10:22 AM
so nice...when is our turn??????cham~~~
mayb our turn is coming tis week..hopefully..but an amount around 1k may cause us 2 spend more..
dannyler22
31-07-2007, 12:15 PM
long time haven been in recom.. anyway.. from wat i gather, all have the impression that jpa scholars are rich kids with a few thousand to spend every month.. maybe they are the REALLY pampered kind and rm1.5k is only 50sen to them..
FYI, not all jpa scholars are rich like them.. and buying short-term books IS NOT saving money.. maybe the rich kids around here could help us out?
Fourthshifter
31-07-2007, 01:36 PM
erm...guess the author of this thread knew he/she wrong edi..so he respon nothing here~~~
looks like you are wrong.
not only he does not take back the complain and feel thanked for getting free education,
he still feel he is right.
anyways, maybe JPA is wrong by giving people a chance for free education, perhaps a loan should be better.
31-07-2007, 01:39 PM
long time haven been in recom.. anyway.. from wat i gather, all have the impression that jpa scholars are rich kids with a few thousand to spend every month.. maybe they are the REALLY pampered kind and rm1.5k is only 50sen to them..
FYI, not all jpa scholars are rich like them.. and buying short-term books IS NOT saving money.. maybe the rich kids around here could help us out?i m the poor 1...
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: some rich kids, donate some books for me, thanks
Fourthshifter
31-07-2007, 01:42 PM
you are already given free education plus allowance,
why still complain?
dannyler22
31-07-2007, 01:57 PM
i'm jz thking some ppl are so inconsiderate.. and becoming worse..
maybe they couldn't get scholarships.. so are getting back on scholarship holders..
this is a thread for ways of overcoming problems.. but seems like some people jz wan to be sarcastic and critisizing..
31-07-2007, 04:48 PM
mr 4th is also 1 of the jpa scholars, if i m not mistaken
Fourthshifter
31-07-2007, 05:06 PM
i'm jz thking some ppl are so inconsiderate.. and becoming worse..
maybe they couldn't get scholarships.. so are getting back on scholarship holders..
this is a thread for ways of overcoming problems.. but seems like some people jz wan to be sarcastic and critisizing..
UMNO attitude.
nice assumption as JPA scholar, how do you know I (or other people here) did not get JPA. anyways, that is not the point, the point is being considered a bit (yup, go back to you)
The best and practical solution is either get external fund (parents, relative, friend support) or ikat perut.
people care for the situation , that is why people criticize.
Anyways, try complain to those poor private college students where some of their parents are hawker stall operators.
windhoe2
31-07-2007, 06:27 PM
do you know there is one word "library" in english dictionary?
31-07-2007, 08:48 PM
I think everyone should calm down.
I could understand JPA seniors' dismay at juniors' complaint of the inadequate textbook allowance. For your information, dannyler22 and my dear juniors, no JPA student has ever gotten enough money to buy all their textbooks from the textbook allowance alone. But everyone survived by compensating it with their own finance or by using photocopied book (not to say I endorse it, but it's what people sometimes do).
Remember this: When you are overseas, as long as you don't spend too extravagantly, you will definitely have excess in your allowance. By saying excess, I am saying something in the order of hundreds of USD / AUD / Euro (of course that's with the assumption that you don't use those money to buy the air tickets). By that time, you can return the borrowed money to your parents, if that's what you are concerned about.
Also, you can always sell your textbooks once you are done with them. So the money you forked out in the beginning would only result in a small deficit.
I should also remind everyone that JPA scholarship has never made the promise to cover every single cent of your expenditure, even for the stationery and books. Yes they do pay in full for the tuition fee, but as with the accommodation, many other expenses are given to a degree of "sufficiency" instead of luxury.
Of course we could argue that the amount given for textbook is not enough even for the most essential books, and in that case you can always lobby for an increase in allowance by JPA through official letter. If you believe you have a really good cause, try writing a letter to ask for individual reimbursement for whatever book you bought. If JPA doesn't entertain those requests, then too bad, you just have to find a way to buy the books, get a loan or something.
To the seniors, I would say that some of you are being too haughty while commenting on the juniors' complaints. To you it might seem like they are being unappreciative, but have you ever considered that for some people forking out 1000 ringgit could pose quite a problem? A junior could be really appreciative of the scholarship, but when he is required to fork out 1500 ringgit in one go, it could really be a critical issue.
So instead of criticizing, we should try to give constructive suggestions as well. In any case, being haughty and incessantly repeating "hey you little naughty ungrateful kid" wouldn't get your message across very well, regardless of the mentality of that particular junior.
Fourthshifter
31-07-2007, 08:56 PM
hmmm... I do agree that some seniors are very politically correct when trying to win a debate, which is not a good sight in discussion.
Agree to disagree, and everyone has his own ways of doing things of course.
Being ungrateful for free education is natural to face criticism by those who truly concern.
However, achieving one's political agenda by playing mr nice guy is definitely to be frown upon.
Forum is to discuss matters straight from the heart. It is not a platform for interpersonal manipulation in an attempt to gain support or to smite members.
sNaiL0810
01-08-2007, 12:06 AM
erm..i am also a junior....but i think some junior quite over with their talk..
i remember thats a post written there said
"JPa r not tat good actually, we need to wake up one hour before our class"
damn..where they think they r??? is one hour very over....
sien..~~
sNaiL0810
01-08-2007, 12:17 AM
erm..danny..i think i know u
Do u really cant take out money???
as far as i know, u stay in UK until standard three...i never go UK before..
how can a people who stayed at UK b4 no money and complain so much about JPA????
some more i heard u live at shah alam semi-D house
what the heck..r u still concious???
01-08-2007, 08:47 AM
erm..danny..i think i know u
Do u really cant take out money???
as far as i know, u stay in UK until standard three...i never go UK before..
how can a people who stayed at UK b4 no money and complain so much about JPA????
some more i heard u live at shah alam semi-D house
what the heck..r u still concious???erm, he is my housemate, he is a really rich people , juz he is quite 'kedekut'
dannyler22
01-08-2007, 08:57 AM
this thread is getting really personal..
fyi.. england was becoz my father studied uni under scholarship also,
semi-d.. that took a big blow on finances.. i'n not like u rich kids.. bungalow comes out of pocket money..
btw, as this is getting personal.. can u pls say ur true ic name, snail0810..
n chiachean, ur de one kedekut.. got laptop n topnotch hp but nv let ppl touch.. on de other hand, u dun mind taking other ppl's hp wifout their permission.. wifout even their knowledge..
01-08-2007, 09:13 AM
this thread is getting really personal..
fyi.. england was becoz my father studied uni under scholarship also,
semi-d.. that took a big blow on finances.. i'n not like u rich kids.. bungalow comes out of pocket money..
btw, as this is getting personal.. can u pls say ur true ic name, snail0810..
n chiachean, ur de one kedekut.. got laptop n topnotch hp but nv let ppl touch.. on de other hand, u dun mind taking other ppl's hp wifout their permission.. wifout even their knowledge..plz stop from personal attack, mr danny , i will pm u
sNaiL0810
01-08-2007, 10:11 AM
two roommate arguing...
what i wan to tell u is dun ask for many things as you didnt give them anything ok?
juz be cool and receive all things they give u
if u r talking its turn to personal why u talk such thing about ur room mate???
u need to stay with him one year or more..be nice to everyone dude...
world is not made for personal...its for all people...relationship is important...
my name is LEE LUNG btw
cheers~~~stop the fighting
01-08-2007, 10:57 AM
Please refrain from discussing personal issues here, guys. I believe that dannyler22 has already had enough information about his concerns, and if nobody protests, I will close this thread tomorrow.
sNaiL0810
01-08-2007, 05:32 PM
thx for that...