View Full Version : Funny cooking experiences
Hey guys, let's get cookin' :D :D :D ... how about sharing your funny stories about your cooking experiences ..
let me start ... well, it was not really 'cooking' but still ... this incident happened during the winter break at the end of last year when I was visiting friends at RPI ... I had this one McD apple pie from the previous night so I went to the kitchen to reheat it .. I opened the microwave oven's door and put the pie and punched in 3 minutes ... while I was waiting for the pie I smelled something burning ... it's the pie!! well, actually not the pie, but the paper box enwrapping the pie was the one burning .. I forgot to take the pie out from the box! silly me ... the rest of the stories: smoke filled the house, triggering the fire alarm and I have to spend half an hour in the snow for the firemen to do their checkups and switch off the alarm ... so guys, b4 you microwave food, take off the box first!
28-03-2004, 02:04 PM
Mmm...reminisce the first experience baking small muffins. It was 4 years back. I intended to bake butter muffins with chocolate chips on top for my family. I swore that I folowed strictly what wwas written in the recipe. I think due to the 'old, aged' oven, my lovely muffins turned out to be hard instead of soft! However, my family quite supportive enough, that they said: "Wow, hand-made cookies, no need to buy chipsmore!!!" :wink:
The_Observer
16-05-2004, 09:39 PM
Hmmm...
My friend had the unfortunate experience of dropping a chopper on his toe. One part of it got chopped off!!!
He was cursing all the way to the hospital, which luckily was just down the street.
haha something funny happened this evening .. again, microwave ... I don't know why I always have problems with using microwave ovens .. they seem to hate me :P ...
anyway, has anyone wonder how safe is a microwave-safe container? has anyone wonder if it is true that it won't get burnt inside the oven? actually it can get burnt but not directly; it'll burn if the food inside it burns! like what happened today .. I overcooked two fish fillets and almost ended up with a hole in my microwave-safe tupperware and a smelly microwave oven .. and I had to waste the fish fillets because they had become as hard as wood ... :oops:
nysha
25-07-2007, 12:12 AM
i giv u sumthing funny..was so hungry the othr day dt i dcided to fry egg...i didnt adjust the fire coz i totally forgot...n the onli part of the egg tht culd b eaten was the middle part the rest became black
Vaporizer herbal blend (http://vaporizer.org)
rukarai
15-10-2007, 11:01 PM
I just rented a new place with a few others and started to cook at the provided stove. The first time, we were just frying for a few minutes and the wok started to give out smoke like a chimney. We had the kitchen door closed but window open and at one moment there was strong wind blowing into the kitchen. Needless to say we almost suffocated and the smoke turned everything white; we were temporarily blinded. We've learnt our lesson and now use smaller fire to cook =)
forEVA
16-10-2007, 12:00 AM
lol~ well mine was not exactly "cooking" coz i was actually just boiling the water..
there was once when my ex came over to watch the 2006 Thomas Cup n i decided to make instant noodles for the both of us n we were definitely not going out coz the match was about to start. n there i was, boiling the water before putting in the noodles to cook. i was a bit of the impatient type so i turn on a big fire so that the water boils faster. but as the water was boiling i left the kitchen n went to watch the tv as the match was already on. u know... i can sometimes (ok maybe a lot of time) get all crazy when it comes to badminton n at that time i totally forgot that i was boiling the water. n when i went back to my boiling water during the mid game interval, the water had all dried up n the pan was giving out smoke!
my ex was laughing for days over the incident thinking "how the hell can anyone screw up by just boiling the water??" :oops:
i'm destined to NOT cook. hahaz~
oops.. :p
ahaha... you guys are so funny. here's another funny tale. i had this leftover hard boiled egg from a wedding. I hate to waster food, and planed to save it for later. So, two days later, I decided to reheat it. I put the egg in a bowl of water and microwaved it for 2 minutes. I went upstairs to get something while i waited. Suddenly, i heard this loud (kaboom) noise. I rushed down only to find that...
the egg exploded!!! into a million tiny pieces which i had to tediously clean up afterwards. So much for saving an egg. ahaha...
tezuka87
31-05-2008, 09:43 PM
Er, I fried fruits by accident because I thought my mom had cut up some veg for a stir fry...Water apple does look a little like red capsicum right? O.o
10-06-2008, 08:02 PM
Er, I fried fruits by accident because I thought my mom had cut up some veg for a stir fry...Water apple does look a little like red capsicum right? O.o
LOL! What happened to the fruit???
10-06-2008, 08:26 PM
i have experience relevants with microwave too... this incident happened couple weeks ago... i was using the microwave to cook the instant mee... i placed the mee and an egg in the container... for your info, the container is utterly suitable for microwave... i set the time for about 3 minutes... after 3 minutes, i opened the 'door' of microwave and found that the mee and egg were splashed all over the interior of the microwave... the microwave smelt sting!!! i forgot to remove the egg shell!!! that's why the egg bursted!!! i had to clean it up and put some lemon inside to remove the smell...
tezuka87
17-06-2008, 12:21 AM
Uh, oily!! And scrunchy!! haha...not nice...fruits and oil dun really go well together nono... :P
i forgot to remove the egg shell!!! that's why the egg bursted!!! i had to clean it up and put some lemon inside to remove the smell...
haha seems like people who forget to unwrap the food from box/shell/plastic bag before putting in microwave are not rare .. maybe microwave oven makes you lazy to even unwrap the food ... :P
btw did you take out the instant mee from its plastic wrapping? :nod
nigelsim
17-06-2008, 09:22 AM
de first time i tried to bake cheesecake... i was so enthusiastic about it... de cake came out nicely... it was soft and fluffy... i was so excited dat i just cant wait to get it out of de baking pan...
unfortunately... i tried to remove de cake too early and de whole cake collapsed!!!! i mean... literally... de whole cake just fell apart... sob sob... n i ended up mixing de leftovers with fruits and biscuits and let it freeze... in de end instead of a baked cheese cake... i got a forzen fruit-biscuit-cacated cheese cake!!! =D
in conclusion... nvr try to remove de cake from de pan b4 it has settled!!!
27-05-2009, 08:53 AM
hahahaha
great experience guys!!!!
mine is like this..
i was famished,so i opened fridge just to found out got ayamas chicken balls.
so i decided to fry it....
unfortunately,i overcooked and the balls were exploded one by one in the kitchen
i didnt even dare to enter the kitchen after that....
after got the courage,quickly turn off the fire and my kitchen was full with oil!!!
hihihihi
and i was trauma with frying fast food after that but now ok already
technicolor
27-05-2009, 03:33 PM
When I was in Form 2, I tried to cook a pancake for myself...
I mixed the flour, butter and milk... and the pancake is made well.
There's no honey or syrup at that moment, so I decided to make syrup on my own.
I cooked sugar and water in a pan, until it melts then I put it on top of my pancake.
Then, I went to make some tea. 5 minutes later, when I come back to eat my pancake, the pancake is really hard, like it is coated with a layer of glass!!!!
27-05-2009, 03:37 PM
When I was in Form 2, I tried to cook a pancake for myself...
I mixed the flour, butter and milk... and the pancake is made well.
There's no honey or syrup at that moment, so I decided to make syrup on my own.
I cooked sugar and water in a pan, until it melts then I put it on top of my pancake.
Then, I went to make some tea. 5 minutes later, when I come back to eat my pancake, the pancake is really hard, like it is coated with a layer of glass!!!!
wish i have that experience
eating crunchy pancake
lol
technicolor
27-05-2009, 03:38 PM
The pancake wasn't crunchy or crispy. It was keras macam batu!
27-05-2009, 03:38 PM
When I was in primary school and my parents were out, I decided to mix some eggs and flour and some other ingredients and bake it to see what I will get. It might be something edible or inedible, but I really had no cooking experience whatsoever.
I took the eggs and beat them before mixing some flour, sugar, and some other ingredients. Then I turned on the oven and put the whole mixture into it.
30 minutes later, I came back into the kitchen and to my surprise, I made an egg tart! A big plate of egg tart!
And it wasn't bad at all!
technicolor
27-05-2009, 03:40 PM
When I was in primary school and my parents were out, I decided to mix some eggs and flour and some other ingredients and bake it to see what I will get. It might be something edible or inedible, but I really had no cooking experience whatsoever.
I took the eggs and beat them before mixing some flour, sugar, and some other ingredients. Then I turned on the oven and put the whole mixture into it.
30 minutes later, I came back into the kitchen and to my surprise, I made an egg tart! A big plate of egg tart!
And it wasn't bad at all!
Wahhhh. That was great!
Next time you won't need any recipe if you wanna cook. Just throw everything inside a bowl and bake em. :P
27-05-2009, 03:41 PM
wow henry yew!!!
im sure you put sugar and salt also!!!
27-05-2009, 04:02 PM
Sugar got lah... no salt wor...
Eh, I don't think I can do that kind of miracles without a cook-book now lah...
davinci518
18-08-2009, 09:59 AM
let me see.. once i tried to make fried noodles ( i wanted it to be as delicious as my mum's) but the only thing i managed to achieve was half burnt, tasteless noodles.. probably due to the seasoning ( or lack of it) added.. hahah :P
Glassylicious
18-08-2009, 11:35 AM
"Fine. Let's settle this. You. Me. On the chopping board."
My sister and I were having this "chop-off" [ripped off from "dance-off", get it?] to see who could slice vegetables better. I asked her to go first. She quartered a tomato within a second and then, while looking at her tomato wedges, declared that she had "already won" even before I got my turn to try.
...Let's not talk about how my tomato turned out.
01-09-2009, 09:03 AM
...Let's not talk about how my tomato turned out.
Nay... start talking! :P
You squashed it with the knife?
Glassylicious
01-09-2009, 09:30 AM
Nay... start talking! :P
You squashed it with the knife?
I was quite a noob in cutting techniques at that time so the gooey bit at the center of the tomato oozed out due to the pressure of the knife. So, yeah, you're partially right. T_T I should assure you though, I have since had more practice after that and my sliced tomatoes now, for most part, actually resemble sliced tomatoes!
To add on to the topic, did I tell you about the first time my sister and I baked cookies? Let's just say we are now banned from making cookies ever again. Or cake. Or anything that involves instant mix. Or anything that involves rolling/flattening dough into small shapes.
T_T
P.S. I have many other kitchen stories of a similar nature, but I'll post them one at a time in order to encourage more activity in this thread. Aren't I a sneaky one!
01-09-2009, 11:22 AM
To add on to the topic, did I tell you about the first time my sister and I baked cookies? Let's just say we are now banned from making cookies ever again. Or cake. Or anything that involves instant mix. Or anything that involves rolling/flattening dough into small shapes.
Let me guess... you messed up the whole kitchen and dining room with flour and they get sticky when in contact with water. Or you put in too much yeast and the whole mixture just expanded till it spilt over. Or you put the mixture into the oven and the whole thing exploded. :notrust
Tell...
eve88
01-09-2009, 06:04 PM
Still, you haven't made beef soup hit the roof.
I did.
=p
Glassylicious
01-09-2009, 06:29 PM
Let me guess... you messed up the whole kitchen and dining room with flour and they get sticky when in contact with water. Or you put in too much yeast and the whole mixture just expanded till it spilt over. Or you put the mixture into the oven and the whole thing exploded. :notrust
Tell...
Glassy's Cookie Disaster
One box of instant cookie mix. One complete set of instructions. Cooking utensils. An oven. Two enthusiastic girls. What could go wrong?
1. The instructions on the instant mix box were dodgy to begin with. The mix itself was a pretty big portion, yet it only asked for one egg, and absolutely no water to be added at all.
2. Lacking a proper mixer, my sister and I used our hands to mix the cookie dough, and our "brilliant" idea of adding chocolate chips into the dough created a bigger mess when the chocolate chips started melting.
3. Lacking a proper cookie-cutter, we decided to shape the cookie dough with our hands, with hilarious results. There was absolutely no consistency whatsoever, where the sizes were concerned. My mum, finally unable to stand watching our boundless incompetence, had to intervene and redo everything for us. Incidentally, she also ended up doing most of the washing AND had to watch the oven because I coincidentally happened to need a shower at that point.
4. What came out of the oven was a tray of rock-hard, dry-as-a-desert, and rather bland/tasteless cookies which nobody wanted to eat. ._.
Coming up, in the next episode of Glassy's Insanity in the Kitchen -- Madness in a Microwave! Stay tuned for the next post, folks. ;)
To all good kids, these crazy stunts are carried out by professionals. Please don't try them at home!
*Chef Luke rates this thread 13PG* :evil:
01-09-2009, 09:13 PM
To all good kids, these crazy stunts are carried out by professionals. Please don't try them at home!
*Chef Luke rates this thread 13PG* :evil:
Yeah! We are professionals. Please... don't try them at home without supervision from an adult.
Hmmm... I could make a TV news about it.
"Good evening, ladies and gentlemen, you're watching the Nine O'Clock ReCom In Two Minutes. I'm Henry Yew. Top news - Chef Luke warns all ReComers of the danger of cooking without supervision. Reports say that Glassylicious, the newly appointed moderator, has had many times encountered cooking disasters, invoking the wrath of the mother who had to redo the cooking work, as well as cleaning up the mess caused by melted chocolate chips. Chef Luke advises that all cooking should be done by professionals and that amateur chefs should be wary of the disasters that can happen even when they are following the recipe closely. We have attempted to contact Youngyew to comment on this matter. However, as of today, our attempts have proven futile.
And that's all that we have for tonight. We wish you a pleasant night ahead. Goodnight."
Still, you haven't made beef soup hit the roof.
I did.
=p
Oh, wow! Now it's your turn to tell us your tale! :laugh
Glassylicious
03-09-2009, 09:20 AM
It's time for another episode of...Glassy's Insanity in the Kitchen! What madness will she cook up today?
Madness in a Microwave!
One small pot of instant microwave soup. One set of clear instructions. One functioning microwave. One hungry Oxford student. What could go wrong?
1. The product was basically designed for convenience. You guys familiar with those standard Ayam Brand tins where there's this tab so you can pull the lid off easily without using a can opener? Well, the lid was metal, but the actual pot itself was made of a microwavable plastic.
2. The instructions were pretty basic. Completely remove lid. Microwave for two minutes. Take out and stir, and microwave for another two minutes, and enjoy!
3. However! Here comes the clincher. The rim of the pot, which encircled the lid, was METAL. In my defense I noticed that as I opened the pot, BUT the instructions specified to put the pot into the microwave [there was no mention whatsoever of transferring the soup into a microwave-safe container], so everything should be fine, right? ...Right?
4. So using my typical reasoning of "If the instructions say it's fine, it's fine. Them British Food Health and Safety officials don't get paid for nothing!"...I popped the pot into the microwave and followed the instructions. Decided to go back to my room to do a bit of reading while waiting. The first two minutes were okay. I stirred the soup and set it on microwave again.
5. Within 30 seconds of returning to my room, I heard a loud "thump!" outside. Ignored it the first time. "THUMP!" second time. Decided to go out to investigate.
6. Tell me, have you ever seen your food shoot up to the roof of the microwave compartment before? The entire pot would periodically jump up, slam the microwave roof, and fall back down. It was THIS CLOSE to actually ricocheting all over.
7. The soup turned out fine. The microwave didn't. Out of respect of the communal microwave that the entire dorm block shared, of course I cleaned up the mess. Though there wasn't much I could do about the slight dent at the roof.
Coming up, in the next episode of Glassy's Insanity in the Kitchen -- Cheese Huff Puffs! This actually just happened to me about half an hour ago. Stay tuned for the next post, folks. If activity in this thread is encouraging, I might even post the pics I took of what came out of the oven today. ;)
03-09-2009, 09:25 AM
Glassy oh Glassy... What more, I wonder?
Kids, DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME! You have been warned!
eve88
04-09-2009, 08:32 AM
Parents were out, beef soup was cooking in a pressure cooker (our dinner). So me and my brother were asked to turn off the flame when it was done ...
So we turned off the stove.
Then we're like - are we supposed to open it? And to open it we needed to take the weight off the top of the lid....2 seconds later a beef soup "fountain" shot out of the hole and traveled at least a meter upwards.
(luckily we didn't actually remove the lid, that would have been worse)
On the plus side, half the soup still remained in the pot after the show was over.
04-09-2009, 10:28 AM
Parents were out, beef soup was cooking in a pressure cooker (our dinner). So me and my brother were asked to turn off the flame when it was done ...
So we turned off the stove.
Then we're like - are we supposed to open it? And to open it we needed to take the weight off the top of the lid....2 seconds later a beef soup "fountain" shot out of the hole and traveled at least a meter upwards.
(luckily we didn't actually remove the lid, that would have been worse)
On the plus side, half the soup still remained in the pot after the show was over.
Gosh, isn't there supposed to be a pressure relief valve or something like that to reduce the pressure in the cooker before you open the lid?
eve88
04-09-2009, 07:46 PM
that was what we removed - the cap of the pressure release valve.
(i think)
it was the old type pressure cooker - the one where the lid had this stick-like thing on top, and the weight/whistle-thing was placed - it was removable (thats the one we took away)
the descriptions are very vague, cuz i cant quite remember the details -we stopped using pressure cookers years and years ago when the microwave came into use.
------
random : I successfully made microwave pineapple-lemon jam! =D. one pineapple (mince/puree), one lemon (grate the skin, then slice), sugar (1:1 ratio with pineapple, estimate, to taste). Mix. microwave in 5 minutes intervals, mixing in between. Done in about 4-5 rounds of microwaving. Makes 1 small jar. Can be scaled up as appropriate.
04-09-2009, 09:37 PM
random : I successfully made microwave pineapple-lemon jam! =D. one pineapple (mince/puree), one lemon (grate the skin, then slice), sugar (1:1 ratio with pineapple, estimate, to taste). Mix. microwave in 5 minutes intervals, mixing in between. Done in about 4-5 rounds of microwaving. Makes 1 small jar. Can be scaled up as appropriate.
Reliable or not? Don't wanna end up having an explosion somewhere during the process. You'd better put on a disclaimer. :notrust :laugh
Glassylicious
10-09-2009, 03:53 PM
It's time for another episode of...Glassy's Insanity in the Kitchen! What madness will she cook up today?
Cheese Huff Puffs!
Two slices of white bread. One slice of cheese. An oven. A girl looking for breakfast. What could go wrong?
1. I decided to make a grilled cheese sandwich for breakfast. Buttered two slices of bread, placed a slice of cheddar cheese onto one of the bread slices, and added tomato slices on the other bread.
2. Oven was preheated to a suitable temperature. I popped the two slices of bread onto the baking tray and browsed the Internet for five minutes.
3. Five minutes was up, so I went to check out my toast.
4. "WHAT THE HELL!" The cheese had ballooned up on the bread, resembling some blown-up roti canai [due to some brown burnt spots], at least 2 cm tall. It was a "cheese puff" in its own right.
5. I quickly pulled the tray out of the oven. Goodness knows what would have happened had I left it in a moment longer. Somehow I don't think that I would particularly enjoy cleaning an oven splattered with cheese goo.
Will post pics when I feel less lazy. ^_^
Coming up, in the next episode of Glassy's Insanity in the Kitchen -- P-P-P-Poppin' Potatoes! This just happened while I was making lunch about an hour or so ago. Stay tuned for the next post, folks. ;)
10-09-2009, 04:16 PM
I hereby name Glassylicious as the Queen of Culinary Disasters.
You ought to change your title to "Queen of Culinary Disasters" or something on that line. :P
eve88
10-09-2009, 04:34 PM
Actually, the cheese bubbles thing is quite common - there's a top-thin-layer of cheese that bubbles up - if timed properly (turn to golden brown), its one of the best parts of cheese-on-toast.
(im assuming the top "wall" of the bubble is something like paper thin)
Glassylicious
10-09-2009, 06:14 PM
I hereby name Glassylicious as the Queen of Culinary Disasters.
You ought to change your title to "Queen of Culinary Disasters" or something on that line. :P
Thanks for the suggestion, I'll consider that. =P
Actually, the cheese bubbles thing is quite common - there's a top-thin-layer of cheese that bubbles up - if timed properly (turn to golden brown), its one of the best parts of cheese-on-toast.
(im assuming the top "wall" of the bubble is something like paper thin)
To be honest I don't really like my cheese bubbling like that. T_T Why can't it just melt like a good slice of cheese should...
After the incident, I no longer toast my grilled cheese "open bread" style. Closed sandwich all the way for me! Prevents unwanted bubbling.
Coming up in the next post...exploding potatoes, as well as the consequences of baking/roasting too many different things in the same tray. -_-;;
Glassylicious
20-12-2009, 04:53 PM
Five minutes ago the egg I was frying on a pan exploded with a loud popping noise for no apparent reason. It didn't actually blow up in my face; the egg, for most part was still intact, but the loud, sudden noise startled me. At least it wasn't as bad as the time my potatoes exploded in the oven, because I stupidly forgot to pierce the skin with a fork.
I know that many of you are probably thinking that there is surely no way one can blunder so much in the kitchen, but I swear I'm not making any of this up.
21-12-2009, 12:55 AM
Haha...I remember the time when my dad insisted something could be microwaved in its package so my mum did it....next thing there's a fire starting inside the microwave :lol
Meat turned out still edible...
Another time was...
Though no cooking involved, it had something to do with food. I was carrying a plate of fried noodles when I tripped over a fruit that had rolled from its corner on the floor. Not just any fruit, mind you. It was a durian! Needless to say...transportation of food can be perilous and involve some bloodshed too :P
24-12-2009, 02:24 PM
Glassy! Where's your exploding potatoes post????
29-12-2009, 12:59 PM
About the microwave oven, I remember the first time my mom tried to use the oven to reheat some bread. Since I had taught her how to use it, I let her be. After 5 minutes, I spotted a fire in the microwave and I immediately turned the power off. The white bread had turned to charcoal with smoke coming out of it. After confronting my mom, she told me she pressed 13 minutes with high heat to reheat a small piece of bread, when it was supposed to be 12 seconds only......
Glassylicious
15-04-2010, 09:02 AM
P-p-p-poppin' Potatoes!
Three small potatoes. Salt and pepper. An oven. What could go wrong?
1. I decided to make some jacket potatoes for lunch. They were relatively easy to make. Wash thoroughly, season with salt, pepper, a dash of rosemary and a drizzle of olive oil, pop them into a preheated oven for 45 minutes and they're good to go, especially with butter/cheese.
2. I did some random stuff while waiting.
3. About 15 minutes into the oven, I began to hear noises. At first I shrugged them off, but then they increased in frequency...and in loudness. And then I heard a really loud "BANG" and I jumped, startled.
4. Good lord. My potatoes were exploding! And it was just then I realized what I had forgotten to do: Pierce each potato a few times with a fork! The air under the potato skin expands as the potato bakes. What happens when you attempt to blow a balloon past its capacity?
5. That's right, it pops. Loudly, might I add. So the same happened to my potatoes. It was like Chinese New Year all over again in my oven. So I quickly took them out, stabbed the firecracking things to put an end to their [and my] misery, and shoved them back in to roast some more. There were thankfully no further explosions, and I was rather glad the potato did not blow up in my face [by virtue of compressed air rushing out] when I sliced it open.
That sums up yet another one of Glassy's misadventures! Stay tuned for the next episode! ;)
15-04-2010, 12:05 PM
Now that is something that you learn through experience!
WeiYun
18-04-2011, 03:55 PM
... I thought exploding an egg in the microwave was bad but this is... Wow.
iKoMetaga
18-04-2011, 04:28 PM
sigh i had a bad cooking experience last week. I was grilling homemade salisbury steak (minced beef mixed with spices, egg etc then shaped to look like a steak) for the members (close to a 100) at the coop I stay at. I used a hot plate grill (like the ones they use at ramli burger stalls, only larger) and of over time the grill got really hot, even when I lowered the heat. So I was stuck to make an impossible trade-off: cook the steak well through the center but with an extremely burnt exterior, or serve it a little pink in the center but looking alright on the outside. I of course choose to do the latter, since using beef gave me some allowance to health concerns. Needless to say I got super stressed out, especially when someone complained about the pink centers.
Halfway through I finally reached a solution, turn the steak every 30 seconds or so, instead of allowing each side to rest for minutes at a time on the grill.
It seems that prior to this a-little-too-late revelation, I always had this preconceived notion that in bbq, there exists this one cardinal rule: never turn the meat more than once, or twice at the most. Well, I learned a lesson that day: that sometimes using your head is better than blindly following cooking recipes.
CelineD
18-04-2011, 11:00 PM
4. Good lord. My potatoes were exploding! And it was just then I realized what I had forgotten to do: Pierce each potato a few times with a fork! The air under the potato skin expands as the potato bakes. What happens when you attempt to blow a balloon past its capacity?
5. That's right, it pops. Loudly, might I add. So the same happened to my potatoes. It was like Chinese New Year all over again in my oven. So I quickly took them out, stabbed the firecracking things to put an end to their [and my] misery, and shoved them back in to roast some more. There were thankfully no further explosions, and I was rather glad the potato did not blow up in my face [by virtue of compressed air rushing out] when I sliced it open.
That sums up yet another one of Glassy's misadventures! Stay tuned for the next episode! ;)
Haha Glassy, I'll definitely stay tuned...this is insane! Well if the potatoes did blow up on your face...LOL!
As for my funny cooking experience, during the first time I learned to cook pasta with white sauce, I didn't thoroughly wipe the stainless steel pot that I used for the sauce dry after rinsing it, so when I on the stove before putting in the oil, the pot suddenly made a loud popping sound and it startled me so much that I literally let go of the pot (good thing it was on the stove!) and CRIED!
Moral of lesson: every time I made pasta after that, I always wiped the pot dry and put the oil first before turning on the stove...
18-04-2011, 11:07 PM
I think Glassy has become more careful when it comes to cooking now. It's been a long time since she wrote about any of her misadventures. I love them so much.....