View Full Version : college and free food!
aquila
28-03-2004, 01:26 PM
it seems to me that the general perspective in college is that college kids are poor... thus, anything free is good! events with free food always attract lots of ppl... free stuff that's given away always disappear real quickly too.. n we're all open and cool about it! weird!?!?!
chenghau
28-03-2004, 01:38 PM
The only best thing about orientation week in US was free food. It seemed to me that many students went for orientation just because of free food provided, especially those international students.
Orientation - free food
Department open house - free food
Freshmen seminar - free food
Study break - free food
Exam review session - free food
Party - free food
Some told me that we could have saved a lot of money for coming four years if we catched the free food everyday.
windy_city
28-03-2004, 02:51 PM
yeah it you play your cards right, you can get free food everyday, i am serious, everyday there are bound to have activities with free food!!
28-03-2004, 02:52 PM
Wow, free food? But are they edible food? Or close to expirary date kind of food? I dun mind going there just for the free stuffs as well. After all, I'm a typical Chinese
chenghau
28-03-2004, 04:17 PM
Mostly pizza, salad, pasta, soda...
They are there for you to eat, and to attract you to that event. So they are edible, if not delicious... :o
28-03-2004, 08:57 PM
cool.... i like food... but isn't it a bit ' not good ' to hunt for free food all the time...
if u are just walk pass the stall or the event, then just drop by.... fine.. but if u search thru the campus for free food.... ehmmm...
i used to organize some activities at secondary school... and everytime there's free food, there will be a bunch of ppl who are so unpatient....then....there will always be the first few to rush to the food whenever the emcee announce that 'pls help urself with the food....' and there goes the food....
wat about themed food thingy... like free Malaysian food stall set up by Malaysian students and so on so forth.... does the campus community like this free food (Malaysian Food???)
28-03-2004, 09:19 PM
cool.... i like food... but isn't it a bit ' not good ' to hunt for free food all the time...
That's what we call human-being. :lol:
29-03-2004, 01:54 PM
Do Americans like satays? we can open one satay stall sell satays to them. I dun think they mind buying 50 cents a stick......
tuinkle
29-03-2004, 05:25 PM
Wow, free food? But are they edible food? Or close to expirary date kind of food? I dun mind going there just for the free stuffs as well. After all, I'm a typical Chinese
haha I'm a typical Chinese as well :wink: and I've been to quite a number of events..... some served Pizza, some served salads, some had Chinese food, while others just served cookies and drinks, and then again, there are those that serve sushi. Yeah, you've got that right. 100% edible, and 92% delicious sushi. Tonnes and tonnes of em. Complete with wasabi and ginger. Mmmmm.....
The other thing to watch out for is company presentations. Especially in the Spring, big companies like Microsoft and AMD would hold info sessions and they are known mostly for 2 things (besides having the chance to learn more about the company and such) 1. Free Food 2. Raffles
So far, I've gone home with happy stomachs, a t-shirt and free softwares.
May
29-03-2004, 06:15 PM
The other thing to watch out for is company presentations. Especially in the Spring, big companies like Microsoft and AMD would hold info sessions and they are known mostly for 2 things (besides having the chance to learn more about the company and such) 1. Free Food 2. Raffles
So far, I've gone home with happy stomachs, a t-shirt and free softwares.
May
Haha, do keep my updated with these stuffs. Gotta grab myself a handful of those goodies.... LOL
i sound like a miser glutton :lol: :D :lol: :D :lol: :D