View Full Version : Towards Dr. M's Retirement
oreoboy
11-10-2003, 11:22 PM
Hi.. we all know that our PM will end up his career after the OIC summit..
So what do you think about it, guys from abroad? Say it out loud....
12-10-2003, 01:53 AM
I feel that as the month goes nearer to end of this month, we should have the design of Recom changed a bit for it, like what was being done for Merdeka month.
Dr. Mahathir has been the soul and spirit of Malaysia, especially the younger generation of we all, who would know THE PRIME MINISTER as Dr. Mahathir. We never live under the ruling of any of the other prime minister..
But I would hope that all of us could recall back towards the time when we were as young as possible, how is the condition in Malaysia? For those KL folk, how many highways you have, except Federal highway? How is it to get to a place from another place in KL? Without a car, can you get to anywhere elseeffectively? Without KTM Kommuter, Putra, Star, Monorail, ERL?... For those who live in other parts in West Coast, say my hometown Penang, how long you need to spend to get to KL? It used to be 7 hours, and now? 3-4 hours. Multiply that by the number of people who use it everyday, we save a lot....
I am not saying that Malaysia is perfect now, but we should bersyukur that Malaysia has improved a lot...... Before, how many people have known Malaysia? Today, when we talk to foreigners about Malaysia, they could know roughly where we are, and they at least know that we have Petronas Twin Tower and Dr. Mahathir. To those who have travelled a lot, they would come to recognition of KLIA, being one of the best international gateway (although we could see some toilet maintenance problem there, but it is definitely much better than before).... To those F1 fans, especially in Europe, Malaysia is associated with the most sophisticated Sepang F1 circuit....
Before, even in 1990, where do Malaysian traders send their goods overseas? They used Port of Singapore. But today, we have 2 of the best ports in the world, Port Klang (around 11th rank) and Port of Tanjung Pelepas (around 22nd rank).
This would be a non stop thing to say, but I think we should work on what has been done, but still need improvement. Tribute to Dr. Mahathir. He has led us from being a world unknown to a country which has many successes.
Let more people voice out what you think..
A good topic to start by biskutoreo
12-10-2003, 05:32 AM
realizing that I'm from Malaysia, while chatting about the California recall election my co-worker ask me : " DId you watch Zoolander? "
I said : "yeah"..
Lots of people already know about the Prime Minister of Malaysia. Until they put it in the movie (by the way, my co-worker said she would vote for Terminator fpr Governor of California. Guess what?..Terminator won..)
Yeah, Malaysia is one of the richest country in South East Asia.
True.
And most of the work was done by Dr Mahathir. We just could not deny that. Some people might not like him because of his somewhat authoritarian rule , some people even label him as a dictator.
If he's a dictator, well, he's a "benevolent dictator"... (might sound familiar to you, linux users). and if he's a dictator, like he said, he's the first dictator to retire.
No dictator in the history retire. and this just disprove the conjecture that he's a dictator.
But, his retirement doesn't mean that we just sit here and do nothing, hopin that some miracle would again occur to Malaysia.
As Malaysians, we should do something. Something revolutionary that will change the world. well, sounds like a sci-fi. I know.
Lots of things could be improved. Take for example our national car:Proton.
Proton could be a Hyundai one day if we think carefully how to go about it. It's got everything, Lotus tech, cooperation with big Japanese carmaker.What else do you want?...but Proton still need the mercy from government to protect, at least for now. when the AFTA thing being imposed, and when there's pressure all over, we'll get stuck. and if Proton's unfortunate, it would die. I think protectionist policy is good...but if we do it for too long, there would be a complacency problem there.
Lots of things, not only Proton...I mean..take for example Pizza.
Why we need Pizza Hut there?..we have enough roti canai and teh tarik.
we could create a Malaysian Phenomena that ripple throughout the world..
I think the problem lies in Malaysians themselves. They just don't know what to do about what they have. if we stay complacent, remember when British took over Malaya long time ago...
The Return of the Jedi could trigger Star Wars. Now, if our Master Yoda is gone, what do we do?
oreoboy
12-10-2003, 12:12 PM
so.. nothing tu say much bout this... since i'm not handy enough on wiriting...hehehe... xmacam korang...
All i have to say is that our PM had done a big good job for our Malaysia... i myself sometimes affected by political issues but still.. i am so impress with him...
What they said about him.. maybe true but who knows the truth? they also heard from others...right? what we witness is that... Malaysia become much better today..
i am so sure that on the last day our PM in parliment.. almost all malaysians will cry for him... and on that day also, all tv station in malaysia will show up live telecast of the ceremony..if any laaaa...
27-10-2003, 01:37 AM
All i can say is, Is about time he goes. My Hat goes off to him.
I love the calmness in his speech the mellowness of how he replies to all critiques.
He'll be gone but not forgotten. The next guy will have a hard time. I'm sure everyone will be comparing him to Dr. M.
Oh well Dr. M enjoy your retirement and thanks for letting someone else try the job.
I hope the retirement of Dr.M would somehow trigger a new life to the sour politics in Malaysia.
27-10-2003, 03:15 AM
i read with resonance to what thirdshifter is saying...
it would be tough for Pak Lah, as people would try to compare him with Dr. Mahathir. For us, the younger generation of Malaysians, the leader of Malaysia is often equated to Dr. Mahathir. Dr. Mahathir is the only prime minister that we have lived with....
Good job, Dr. Mahathir and I agree that life has to go on. Dr. Mahathir has done many wonders to Malaysia. He may not be making good decisions in every decision that he has made, yet I have to say that without him, Malaysia is still not what we are currently.
27-10-2003, 05:19 AM
Keep up Malaysian!
We are still alive!
28-10-2003, 08:59 AM
I'm always wondering why , despite so many things that he has done for the future of Malaysia, some people still can't appreciate his effort.
And I know the answer:
He defies tradition, introducing radical ideas that defies conservative.
That's why many people can't understand him, or simply confused by his idea. The thing is, we usually don't do much research about the topic.
For example, the Asian Financial Crisis 1997.
Why is he so confident that the Malaysian Economy will turn out OK?
It may sound ridiculous but, his own confidence, that actually ripple througout the Malaysian Economy, and hence, retain investors confidence.
He did try an error, Lots of them. What we see that's not really right,
we must learn and try to correct it ourselves .
Blaming him for what he has done wrong (or , wrong in your perspective) would just make thing worse.
28-10-2003, 11:17 PM
i agree with you :)
well, actually people do appreciate what he did
but they don't know how to react
when he did wrong decisions
people, blaming is not going to change anything
work together to improve is a better way to do
it's the concept of 'an-nasihah'
Dr M has proved he can do it
other people also should prove
that all malaysian is capable of doing the same thing
be strong!