View Full Version : New Cabinet

30-03-2004, 06:29 AM
With our new cabinet being announced, lets share your thoughts here on it.

Prime Minister: DATUK SERI ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI
Deputy PM: DATUK SERI NAJIB TUN RAZAK

PM Dept:
Ministers:
TAN SRI BERNARD DOMPOK
DATUK SERI MOHAMED NAZRI ABDUL AZIZ
DATUK MUSTAPA MOHAMED
DATUK SERI MOHD RADZI SHEIKH AHMAD
PROF DATUK DR ABDULLAH MD ZIN
DR MAXIMUS ONGKILI

Deputy Ministers:
DATUK M. KAYVEAS
JOSEPH ENTULU BELAUN

Parliamentary Secretaries:
DATUK DR MASHITAH IBRAHIM
DATUK MOHD JOHARI BAHARUM

Internal Security Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI

Deputy Minister:
DATUK WIRA ABU SEMAN YUSOP
DATUK NOH OMAR
CHIA KWANG CHYE

Defence Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI NAJIB TUN RAZAK

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ZAINAL ABIDIN ZIN

Home Affairs Minister
Minister:
DATUK AZMI KHALID

Deputy Minister:
DATUK TAN CHAI HO

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK PADUKA ABDUL RAHMAN IBRAHIM

Finance Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI ABDULLAH AHMAD BADAWI
TAN SRI NOR MOHAMED YAKCOP

Deputy Minister:
DATUK DR NG YEN YEN
TENGKU DATUK PUTERA TENGKU AWANG

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK DR HILMI YAHAYA

Housing And Local Government Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI ONG KA TING

Deputy Minister:
DATUK AZIZAH MOHD DUN
ROBERT LAU HOI CHEW

Parliamentary Secretary:
DR S. SUBRAMANIAM

Works Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI S. SAMY VELLU

Deputy Minister:
DATUK MOHD ZIN MOHAMAD

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK YONG KHOON SENG

Energy, Water and Communications Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI DR LIM KENG YAIK

Deputy Minister:
DATUK SHAZIMAN ABU MANSOR

Agricultural And Agro-Based Industry Ministry
Minister:
TAN SRI MUHYIDDIN YASSIN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK SERI MOHD SHARIFF OMAR
DATUK SERI KERK CHOO TING

International Trade And Industry Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI RAFIDAH ABDUL AZIZ

Deputy Minister:
DATUK AHMAD HUSNI MOHAMAD HANADZLAH
MAH SIEW KEONG

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATIN PADUKA DR TAN YEE KEW

Education Ministry
Minister:
DATUK HISHAMMUDDIN TUN HUSSEIN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK HON CHOON KIM
DATUK MAHADZIR MOHD KHIR

Higher Education Ministry
Minister:
DATUK DR SHAFIE SALLEH

Deputy Minister:
DATUK FU AH KIOW

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK DR ADHAM BABA

Transport Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI CHAN KONG CHOY

Deputy Minister:
TENGKU DATUK SERI AZLAN SULTAN ABU BAKAR
DATUK DOUGLAS UGGAH EMBAS

Human Resources Ministry
Minister:
DATUK DR FONG CHAN ONN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ABDUL RAHMAN BAKAR

Foreign Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI SYED HAMID ALBAR

Deputy Minister:
DATUK JOSEPH SALANG GANDUM

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK ZAINAL ABIDIN OSMAN

Women, Family & Community Development Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI SHAHRIZAT ABDUL JALIL

Deputy Minister:
DATUK G. PALANIVEL

Parliamentary Secretary:
CHEW MEI FUN

Youth & Sports Ministry
Minister:
DATUK AZALINA OTHMAN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ONG TEE KEAT

Parliamentary Secretary:
S. VIGNESWARAN

Health Ministry
Minister:
DATUK DR CHUA SOI LEK

Deputy Minister:
DATUK DR ABDUL LATIFF AHMAD

Parliamentary Secretary:
LEE KAH CHOON

Information Ministry
Minister:
DATUK PADUKA ABDUL KADIR SHEIKH FADZIR

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ZAINUDDIN MAIDIN
DATUK DONALD LIM SIANG CHAI

Parliamentary Secretary:
NORIAH KASNON

Science, Technology & Innovation Ministry
Minister:
DATUK DR JAMALUDIN JARJIS

Deputy Minister:
KONG CHO HA

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK DR MOHD RUDDIN AB GHANI

Arts, Culture & Heritage Ministry
Minister:
DATUK SERI DR RAIS YATIM

Deputy Minister:
WONG KAM HOONG

Federal Territories Ministry
Minister:
TAN SRI MOHAMED ISA ABDUL SAMAD

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ZULHASNAN RAFIQUE

Rural & Regional Development Ministry
Minister:
DATUK ABDUL AZIZ SHAMSUDDIN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK DR AWANG ADEK HUSIN
DATUK DR TIKI LAFE

Domestic Trade & Consumer Affairs Ministry
Minister:
DATUK MOHAMED SHAFIE APDAL

Deputy Minister:
DATUK S. VEERASINGAM

Parliamentary Secretary:
HOO SEONG CHANG

Natural Resources & Environment Ministry
Minister:
DATUK ADENAN SATEM

Deputy Minister:
S. SOTHINATHAN

Parliamentary Secretary:
SAZMI MIAH

Entrepreneurial & Cooperative Development Ministry
Minister:
DATUK MOHAMED KHALED NORDIN

Deputy Minister:
DATUK KHAMSIYAH YEOP

Parliamentary Secretary:
DATUK SAMSU BAHARUN ABDUL RAHMAN

Tourism Ministry
Minister:
DATUK DR LEO MICHAEL TOYAD

Deputy Minister:
DATUK AHMAD ZAHID HAMIDI

Plantation Industries & Commodities Ministry
Minister:
DATUK PETER CHIN FAH KUI

Deputy Minister:
DATUK ANIFAH AMAN

Parliamentary Secretary:
NG LIP YONG

Hope to see a lot of responses, opinions, by fellow ReCom members~!

30-03-2004, 07:11 AM
what exactly do ministers in the pm's department do?

30-03-2004, 07:14 AM
I am not too sure about all the details, but I know when Datuk Rais Yatim was there, he was in charge of Law. When Datuk Abdul Hamid was there, he was in charge of Islamic Affairs.

Perhaps others who know can share more.

dinna_g
30-03-2004, 07:55 AM
i was just about to ask the same question as topdog. the breakdown i like best about the new cabinet is the education ministry and higher education ministry. overall, i like the changes made by paklah.

30-03-2004, 10:19 AM
the breakdown i like best about the new cabinet is the education ministry and higher education ministry

The breakdown should've been done a long time ago! The workload is just too much for KPM to handle all alone. I hope that by having a separate Kementerian, all complaints and problems would be handled more efficiently (read : quickly!). Over the years the quality of our public universities have deteriorated but hopefully with the birth of this Higher Education Ministry, we'll be proud once again of our own unis! :)

SpRInG
30-03-2004, 11:29 AM
but it's so sad to see Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin to be placed in the agricultural and agro-based industry ministry..... it seemed like it's so true about the speculation that he'll slowly be placed away....
is he a threat to Dato Seri Najib Tun Razak?

is it true that Muhyiddin Yassin will 'balik kampung tanam jagung'?

for a leader in such high position, as one of the Vice-President of UMNO, placing him in the agricultural ministry, in my opinion, is a degradation for him... poor him....

30-03-2004, 12:08 PM
In fact, I disagree with Spring. Tan Sri Muhyideen was placed on agricultural, and remember, it is expanded to include agro-based industry, which includes a lot of those biotech in agricultural stuff.

I would say that one of the main emphasis of Pak Lah was to modernize our agricultural. And one of the main reason that he is sending Tan Sri Muhyideen there was that he was the most senior and most capable to do the job. I don't see any reason of marginalizing.

If you are talking about marginalizing ,then how about Tan Sri Jamaluddin Jarjis, he was finance then go to consumer affairs and now science and tech, which was formerly headed by Law Heing Ding.

I was kind of sad that Datuk Abdul Kadir was sent away from the Tourism Ministry. I thought he had done a fabulous job.

Sending Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim to Arts, Culture & Heritage Ministry seems like it is not his field.

aquila
30-03-2004, 12:16 PM
Whoever holds whatever position, that's fine with me, as long as they are capable of doing their job WITHOUT corruption and responsibly!

I'm surprised to see Najib as Deputy PM. Somehow I never had a good impression of him.

And omigosh, chua soi lek is health minister? That's so shocking! not bcoz he's bad or anything... his daughter was my schoolmate... yes he's from batu pahat... it's just weird having someone u know (not personally) having a position of power

30-03-2004, 12:31 PM
I think Chua Soi Lek's promotion to be health minister caught some attention. He was a senior State Exco in Johor, yet he went straight all the way to be minister. Even former Penang Deputy CM, was made only parliamentary secretary and deputy minister.

But Datuk Chua has a good reputation of being no-nonsence, so hopefully he will live up to his capabilities.

dinna_g
30-03-2004, 12:34 PM
And omigosh, chua soi lek is health minister? That's so shocking! not bcoz he's bad or anything... his daughter was my schoolmate... yes he's from batu pahat... it's just weird having someone u know (not personally) having a position of power
Actually, I disagree with you. It is a better choice rather than having a lawyer as the health minister. I hope by having a doctor as the health minister, we can improve the overall health care system. It's better than having someone who has no knowledge whatsoever about the health care.

Speaking of Tan Sri Muhyiddin, I actually would prefer to see him as the TPM. He seems to do a great job in any position he had. Whatever the speculation is, I hope he'll do a good job for this one too.

30-03-2004, 12:34 PM

aquila, did u go to batu pahat high?

aquila
30-03-2004, 12:39 PM
No I went to TIGS. BP High is an all boys school. I have friends who went there. My brothers went there as well.

aquila
30-03-2004, 12:43 PM
Actually, I disagree with you. It is a better choice rather than having a lawyer as the health minister. I hope by having a doctor as the health minister, we can improve the overall health care system. It's better than having someone who has no knowledge whatsoever about the health care.

Speaking of Tan Sri Muhyiddin, I actually would prefer to see him as the TPM. He seems to do a great job in any position he had. Whatever the speculation is, I hope he'll do a good job for this one too.

Hey, don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that I'm against him being the health minister. I'm just surprised that's all. You know how surreal it feels when someone you know becomes really famous?

I don't know his work record but I've never heard a word of complaint about him. Taking into account the way Msian politics work, that must mean he's pretty good. Also, he's highly respected locally. He always did make time to attend school events, which I give him credit for.

30-03-2004, 12:50 PM
No I went to TIGS. BP High is an all boys school. I have friends who went there. My brothers went there as well.
yeah...i realized that after i posted heh. i have many friends from bp high and 1 from tigs...met them in utp where i enrolled for 1.5 semesters.

anybody knows what internal security ministry is for? to uphold ISA?

z
30-03-2004, 07:29 PM
i hope hishamuddin doesn't screw up his chance.
i don't know why, but he gives me the impression of a person who's not too reliable and perhaps even a little racist. but that's purely my opinion (which i probably shouldn't have shared with everyone else in risk of being flamed?)

30-03-2004, 07:37 PM
i hope hishamuddin doesn't screw up his chance.
i don't know why, but he gives me the impression of a person who's not too reliable and perhaps even a little racist. but that's purely my opinion (which i probably shouldn't have shared with everyone else in risk of being flamed?)

You're not the only one who feels that way though. I feel the same way too. But I guess its part of his 'grooming' to become future PM since every PM we had has been an education minister before.

31-03-2004, 12:33 AM
what's the purpose of the Internal Security Ministry?

31-03-2004, 12:46 AM
i think political observers in kopitiams and mamak stalls across the country have taken note of the fact that abdullah split hishamuddin's ministry into 2, in effect shortening his portfolio. actually, what exactly has hishamuddin done to deserve such a promotion, besides coming from the right family?

31-03-2004, 03:36 AM
does anyone know why there's a need for 6 PM dept ministers?

deekay
31-03-2004, 03:51 AM
I think the Cabinet has too many ministries/ministers.

However, if the ministers, Dep Ministers, etc take full responsbility for their actions (unlike the previous regime in which problematic issues invariably went up to the PM), then this will be a positive for the PM. Can you imagine the PM's workload if every small issue went up to him for direction ?

I hope that the Minister in charge will lead and if he fouls up, then he/she should resign. It happens in other countries .... when was the last time you heard of a Malaysian Minister resigning due to a failing of his ministry ?

Do we have a lack of talent to head the ministries ? Well, we have 219 parliamentarians to chose from and one can always appoint the "right" person as a senator first to short cut. We need the right people to lead and if they cannot do the job, they should find something else to do.

31-03-2004, 03:53 AM
Those in PM Dept are like Minister without Portfolio, and I don't really know what's exactly each minister is in charge, but it seems that each of them are in charge of a certain stuff. Suhakam, ACA, Felda, Petronas, Jakim, Bar Council, and many other national projects are all under PM Dept.

31-03-2004, 06:41 AM
also, i m wondering why abdullah and najib have to do so many jobs? no more capable people out there?

i m not questioning abdullah and najib capabilities but then if one has to do many things at one time, the probability of making mistake will be higher.

31-03-2004, 08:00 AM
My guess is that since it's their first term they are trying to consolidate power?

oshmelvin
31-03-2004, 08:53 AM
I believe that it is not the matter of consolidating power. I think they are merely sorthing things out first considering the fact that the 11th government has just taken over. Abdullah and Najib may have different things in mind from tun Mahathir which means that they will have to set a new guideline for a certain ministry to follow. That could be one of the reasons why they are having a big workload at the moment. Also, Abdullah and Najib need not consolidate power because they already control the cabinet. With two big shots in supreme power who dares to object their plans? Besides, Abdullah hand picked those people whom he will work well with. On the subject of Malaysian ministers resigning.... that is a very good question. It seems like no ministers have ever resigned willingly before when their ministry fails to accomplish a certain task which is one bad thing. Ministers in Malaysia tend to hold on to their posts because it gives them power and are not willing to let go of the post for newer generations unless forced to (which means that they have a huge ego and pride). This might be the reason why Malaysia is stuck with a certain ideology for a long time and there's not many advancements in a certain field for example the education field. Without new ministers means that there are fewer new ideas. And new ideas are vital in propelling a country towards greater heights. :D

31-03-2004, 09:02 AM
This might be the reason why Malaysia is stuck with a certain ideology for a long time and there's not many advancements in a certain field for example the education field. Without new ministers means that there are fewer new ideas. And new ideas are vital in propelling a country towards greater heights.

yup, totally agree with that. i think that's one of the problems with m'sian politics and government. those old people while not making any advancement refuse to give way to younger generations.

31-03-2004, 09:55 AM
In fact, there are a number of Malaysian senior politicians who choose to quit becoming ministers, without having any problem.
For example, Tan Sri Khalil Yaccob, Lee Kim Sai, Gan Boon Leong and many others.

oshmelvin
31-03-2004, 10:06 AM
In fact, there are a number of Malaysian senior politicians who choose to quit becoming ministers, without having any problem.
For example, Tan Sri Khalil Yaccob, Lee Kim Sai, Gan Boon Leong and many others.

Chen chow,

In my opinion, they only chose to quit because they had already held on the posts for a long period. Moreover, tun Mahathir was already giving a hint to the senior ministers to give way to the younger generations. That was what promted them to quit. Since tun Mahathir brought up the topic to the people, won't our people start questioning about their long period of service and what they have done for the people? Quitting in a sense will bring pride to them instead of being asked to quit by the people. =)

dinna_g
31-03-2004, 10:27 AM
Ministers in Malaysia tend to hold on to their posts because it gives them power and are not willing to let go of the post for newer generations unless forced to (which means that they have a huge ego and pride). This might be the reason why Malaysia is stuck with a certain ideology for a long time and there's not many advancements in a certain field for example the education field. Without new ministers means that there are fewer new ideas. And new ideas are vital in propelling a country towards greater heights. :D
Can't agree with you more... I think Malaysia should start having a rule that one person cannot be in charge with the same position/portfolio for more than 2 terms. It's better that way so that we have fresh and brilliant ideas.

31-03-2004, 10:33 AM
I am kind of agree and disagree with this proposal. Mainly because if someone stays too long, the outcome has been stated by many of you. However, if we change a lot, then the policies will be changing around. Somehow, I prefer important portfolio not to have changes often, or else new policies will keep coming up and go, and there is not much continuation.

For instance, when Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman became Youth and Sports Minister, Rakan Muda was very hot... Now, it was sort of a thing in the past. Many projects were not carried in full.

However, we should ensure that no one has overstayed.

Perhaps this could be a good question to ask: Among our cabinet ministers, which minister has failed to do their job well. And an important thing is not just to state who, but state also what aspect of job that they did poorly and how to improve it.

sanghanuman
31-03-2004, 12:31 PM
I'd rather we change the "team" more often than the head (of a ministry). For example, we could replace Timbalan menteri every once in a while (which I believe is what is happening? not sure). However, I dont know how far does other officials under the menteri could reach in decision making process. This is important if we are to expect a real change even after we change the team members because if the boss always prefer his own way in making all decisions,... now thats a problem too. If this is the case, then we should really shake the top leadership as well.

If we change the team, existing policies could be implemented in a new way as well as new ideas could be gathered together to create new policies.

oshmelvin
31-03-2004, 02:18 PM
Sanghanunam,

Changing the team will not help much but it will certainly increase the efficiency of our political system a bit. It is the leader that must be changed. It is because the key decision lies with the leader. Even if the team wants to do something but the minister opposes the idea, nothing can be carried out. Moreover, by changing the ministers to newer and more productive ministers, we could have better work teams because the new minister will try his best to breathe life into his team to come up with new proposals and ideas. :D The teams might become sluggish and lag in their work under the same minister because they know him very well. So having a new minister from time to time boosts and renews the spirit of the work team because there will be changes in the administration for the better.

dinna_g
31-03-2004, 02:26 PM
For instance, when Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman became Youth and Sports Minister, Rakan Muda was very hot... Now, it was sort of a thing in the past. Many projects were not carried in full.
Datuk Ghani was the Youth & Sports Minister for not even a term. I think he replaced Annuar Musa along the way and then became Johor MB. Plus, the reason why Rakan Muda existed was the "budaya lepak" that was so "popular" during that time. Now, what happened to the concern of "budaya lepak"? Nothing.. no one really cares about it anymore.. Some things are just a matter of seasonal concern...

01-04-2004, 12:22 AM
we need a shadow cabinet. something like what the u.k. is doing.

this seems to be how ministers are chosen:
1) leaders of component parties each get a portfolio by default.
2) pm's close allies get their reward.
3) people whom pm/leaders of component parties don't like get either: a) subtly demoted if it's too risky to kick them out, or b) kicked out altogether if they are harmless.
4) kaki bodeks get their reward.
5) new faces are inserted where there's space left after completing steps 1 thru 4.

the next few months until the umno general assembly will really show us what pak lah is all about. if he still chooses to forget his pre-election promises i say he's a bigger rat than mahathir ever was.

sanghanuman
01-04-2004, 11:06 AM
Sanghanunam,

It is the leader that must be changed. It is because the key decision lies with the leader. Even if the team wants to do something but the minister opposes the idea, nothing can be carried out. Moreover, by changing the ministers to newer and more productive ministers, we could have better work teams because the new minister will try his best to breathe life into his team to come up with new proposals and ideas. :D The teams might become sluggish and lag in their work under the same minister because they know him very well. So having a new minister from time to time boosts and renews the spirit of the work team because there will be changes in the administration for the better.

Rite. That is why I said, if the leader evidently pushing aside ideas from team members in favor of his own, it is a need to change him. Totally. My concern was more of a ministry that has potentially good policies, or had shown good progress in a certain program (like the rakan muda), but fails to carry them thoroughly because of top leadership change. However, I do agree with you that having a new leader with existing team members would incite more 'respect' and boost energy among team members. I guess it really depends on the situation.

Oh yeah, I love it when people mispell my name. :lol:

05-04-2004, 11:55 AM
i think the civil service is too big (33 ministers & 800,000 civil servants!) for a small country like malaysia with a population of merely 23 million people. the cabinet during mahathir's era is already considered big (28 ministers). is abdullah trying 2 please members bn by creating new posts or is he just tryin 2 fulfil the quota he promised 2 other parties in the coalition? if i were him, i would reduce the size in order 2 save costs, which can be used 4 other development purposes. or is abdullah tryin 2 create jobs for unemployed fresh graduates? what do u think?

05-04-2004, 04:10 PM
I agree with Zaitsev. Having a big civil service and cabinet does not necessarily guarantee effectiveness if the people tending to it are the corrupt, inefficient and sometimes rude people we know.

SpRInG
05-04-2004, 05:44 PM
yea, in fact, it increases cost.... and hence if the country cannot produce so much income, then the value of the currency will drop, so although the pay is the same, but the real value of the pay will drop.... and when this come, corruption become worse...

so Badawi will call his police to catch, and BPR and so on... but the pay's so low... that even these bodies too are corrupted.. then how? no more justice lo...

ops... i guess that's exaggeration... but i guess tat's wat will happen if the size of the civil service is too huge

05-04-2004, 05:52 PM
Do you think it's possible to trim down the size of our governmert agencies? Imagine how many people will be put out of job? And most of them will find it difficult to find a new job in the private sector.

05-04-2004, 09:00 PM
i think the civil service is too big (33 ministers & 800,000 civil servants!) for a small country like malaysia with a population of merely 23 million people. the cabinet during mahathir's era is already considered big (28 ministers). is abdullah trying 2 please members bn by creating new posts or is he just tryin 2 fulfil the quota he promised 2 other parties in the coalition? if i were him, i would reduce the size in order 2 save costs, which can be used 4 other development purposes. or is abdullah tryin 2 create jobs for unemployed fresh graduates? what do u think?

Quantity doesn't show quality. This is very true as portrayed by the bus service in UiTM. We have an overwhelming number of bus, and abundant bus drivers, but we are still left waiting for the buses 30-40 minutes a day... In fact, everyone will be more "tidak apa" as they have more people to blame on. "Perhaps he or she will do it..." And there we go again... The Malaysia's quantity but not quality service...

06-04-2004, 01:04 PM
Do you think it's possible to trim down the size of our governmert agencies? Imagine how many people will be put out of job? And most of them will find it difficult to find a new job in the private sector.

this is hard but not impossible. i'm not saying that we do this in a short time. this is a long term process as it involves 800,000 people. take china for example, they have successfully cut down their number of army throughout the years by creating new jobs like small businesses 4 those who are forced 2 leave military service.

06-04-2004, 01:12 PM
chiunlin wrote:

There are many job opportunities in Malaysia, but many Malaysians choose to depend on the government to feed them. That's what leads to unemployment. No easy jobs from anywhere means they can't find work liao ......