View Full Version : Oversea JPA student dropout rate

Fourthshifter
05-09-2007, 03:15 PM
from the N mouth today :

Najib said Malaysia had come a long way in the last 50 years, and to obtain the status of Bangsa Malaysia, there was a need to ?de-racialise? things by looking at the quality of a person's personality rather than the skin colour.

?For example, the Government has been giving out JPA scholarships to more deserving non-bumiputras as we feel that non-deserving bumiputras that get help were wasting our money and time,''

source :
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/5/nation/18785719&sec=nation

as I have argued before, scholarship, unlike loan, should be merit base and any dropout will bring a loss to the "investment" of scholarship.

Now, to calculate how much loss is to taxpayers' money, can anyone share how severe is the dropout amongst oversea JPA scholars?

kintaro_kun
05-09-2007, 09:22 PM
forget the embezzled scholarships, mere reading of najib's opinions on independent bumiputeras tickled my laughing bone. why hasnt anyone recorded his speeches on video and replay it in public everytime he renegades his promises and ideas? it'd be great humour.

05-09-2007, 09:34 PM
election is coming

05-09-2007, 10:14 PM
But that is not what he should say if the elections are coming. Malays are still the dominant race in Malaysia. If they are offended, UMNO will lose a lot of votes.

However, it is nice reading this for a change. That way, more Malaysian students would not blindly accept the ASEAN scholarship which drains a lot of Malaysia best brains into Singapore. Perhaps, it would be the beginning to the abolishment of the special rights which I felt was oppressing a lot of people.

Fourthshifter
05-09-2007, 10:22 PM
Is this a flip flop?
The next moment the politicians will say something completely different and make the minorities scapegoat again.

Anyways, I am sure there will be a number of dropouts.

bluez_aspic
05-09-2007, 10:33 PM
election is coming
And he's steeling himself for the prime ministership (even if it's light years away). Perhaps also trying to mellow his image after he openly flouted the constitution (re: Islamic state).

Fourthshifter
05-09-2007, 10:42 PM
election is coming
And he's steeling himself for the prime ministership (even if it's light years away). Perhaps also trying to mellow his image after he openly flouted the constitution (re: Islamic state).

neh...
in the past he has made a very harsh statement. No one will forget about it... those chilly bloody juicy statements.

05-09-2007, 10:42 PM
Who says it is light-years away. Pak Lah is old and quite frail every time I saw him on tv.

About the dropout, I never heard nor know what will happened if a student becomes drop out from JPA.

bluez_aspic
05-09-2007, 10:47 PM
neh...
in the past he has made a very harsh statement. No one will forget about it... those chilly bloody juicy statements.
Heh, here's the Kodak moment:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/71/Hisham_Keris.jpeg

Najis hasn't been rearing his ugly ambitions for a while - so maybe the Mongolian case gave Abdullah a chance to seize him by the tail lol

Fourthshifter
06-09-2007, 12:13 AM
nice picture that disgrace his grandpa but...
I am more interested in how those unqualified students who are not really appreciating such precious handouts fail their education and waste taxpayers' money.

06-09-2007, 12:28 AM
On the number of dropouts of JPA Scholars, this would be a good issue to ponder. I myself would not be able to make a good estimation, but at least from among those who went to U.S., I would rate the % of drop out to be at most 1-2%.

Most, if not all, of my batchmates, do manage to graduate from their universities. Could other ReComers share the observation from other parts of the world?

sNaiL0810
06-09-2007, 01:59 PM
i wish to know the drop out rate too but i really dunno how...
anway..it is nice to hear he talk like this. But is it he trying to win other race heart?
as a survey i do, maybe government is trying to stop private college to protest against racial problem. In Taylors, its now about 40% is Malay (Thx to MARA scholarship and JPA scholarship).
My senior say if u see a malay in taylor is a big new....but i think the situation not same anymore. I have a class which consist of all malay but i am the only chinese

kintaro_kun
06-09-2007, 02:53 PM
anway..it is nice to hear he talk like this. But is it he trying to win other race heart?

were you born yesterday? or you just migrated here?

sNaiL0810
08-09-2007, 12:28 PM
Kenaikan Kadar Biasiswa

58. Kerajaan sedar bahawa kos sara hidup pelajar telah meningkat. Oleh yang demikian, Kerajaan akan meningkatkan elaun sara hidup pelajar di semua peringkat pengajian tinggi tempatan, termasuk kursus persediaan dan kursus bahasa. Peningkatan elaun tersebut adalah di antara 23 peratus sehingga 84 peratus. Kadar baru ini berkuatkuasa mulai semester pertama sesi 2007. Lebih 90,000 pelajar akan mendapat manfaat daripada kenaikan ini.

59. Pada masa ini, Kerajaan menaja seramai 17,000 ribu pelajar di universiti luar negeri. Kerajaan telah pun meningkatkan elaun sara hidup di Australia, New Zealand, Mesir dan Korea Selatan pada tahun 2006. Kini, Kerajaan akan meningkatkan elaun sara hidup pelajar di Amerika Syarikat, United Kingdom dan Kanada sehingga 97 peratus, iaitu hampir dua kali ganda, berkuatkuasa September 2007.

Diambil daripada Teks Ucapan Bajet 2008 oleh Yang Amat Berhormat Dato' Seri Abdullah bin Hj Ahmad Badawi, Perdana Menteri merangkap Menteri Kewangan Malaysia, yang dibentangkan di Dewan Rakyat pada 7hb September 2007.

?BERSAMA MEMBINA NEGARA DAN MENIKMATI KEMAKMURAN?

its a good news
check this out
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/9/7/budget2008/20070907174458&sec=budget2008[/url]

08-09-2007, 12:45 PM
Yup, I know about this but I have not hear any news from the scholarship department to rise our allowance.

09-09-2007, 01:13 AM
It was just being announced by Prime Minister on Friday. I guess it would take a week or two, before they could contact you all on the allowance increase.

Fourthshifter
09-09-2007, 01:27 AM
It was just being announced by Prime Minister on Friday. I guess it would take a week or two, before they could contact you all on the allowance increase.

I am quite interested to know how the money is spent by the student.

19-09-2007, 02:07 PM
?For example, the Government has been giving out JPA scholarships to more deserving non-bumiputras as we feel that non-deserving bumiputras that get help were wasting our money and time,''

Is he sure about that? I see quite many bumis struggling even during A-Level while I think many of my friends who didn't get the scholarship can fare much better....

19-09-2007, 02:09 PM
Miracle_seed, I think you misunderstood the quote. The quote says that there are non-deserving bumiputras.

20-09-2007, 10:01 AM
I understand, but is he sure that all the bumis who get the scholarships deserve it? We all know.....

Also, what is meant by deserving non-Bumi? I still see some parents fetching their children (just came in this year) in brand new Mercedes, while MCA is stressing priorities are given to low-income families this year.... ~Sigh~

20-09-2007, 10:06 AM
Najib didn't claim that all Bumis who got the scholarships deserve it.

RJ
20-09-2007, 10:37 PM
if they don't deserve it, then why give it to them?

is the government doing investment for the country or doing charity for the people by jeorpardizing the country's future?

Appolo
21-09-2007, 12:39 PM
I profess that the only benchmarks necessary in providing students with the scholarships that they covet is through meritocracy and family income. Yes, it is a good thought to select students based on their academic achievement but I hold strongly of the notion that scholarships should be granted to students who fare in their studies and hail from a family of low incomers.

As for the case of giving scholarships for undesrving scholar, I have seen some cases where the scholars themselves are worthy of the money granted to them(initially) but the ego of being a government scholar sort of sink in when they alway have this delusion that the government will protect them from failing to get a scholarship. The lecturers will try to give them easier question so that they can pass and fare in their exam.They are government scholars wat! Scholars, my foot!(pardon me for the inappropriate usage of vulgarity.) Sometimes, we can't put the entire blame on the government.It's more of the one receiving the money that is important. Who knows, the scholar himself deserve to get it but he started to slack off and start playing cavalier?

RJ
21-09-2007, 08:03 PM
i suggest the government take a look at the students testimonial before granting them scholarships. the testimonial i'm referring to is not the one every student has, but an additional for scholarships application. this must be written by the teachers, and the teacher must be a responsible one. instead of writing all the good things only, the teachers should include whatever attitude, be it positive or negative, in the testimonial. the student's lifestyle shoudl be included as well, if it's possible. the sponsors have the right to know what kind of students they are sponsoring.

the interview should be a thorough one. not just one or two questions and end of session. it may not be easy, butit will be effective.

for average students who come from low income families, they should be sponsored to study locally. it's not worth it to send them oversea when they can't perform.

28-09-2007, 01:34 AM
But that is not what he should say if the elections are coming. Malays are still the dominant race in Malaysia. If they are offended, UMNO will lose a lot of votes.

However, it is nice reading this for a change. That way, more Malaysian students would not blindly accept the ASEAN scholarship which drains a lot of Malaysia best brains into Singapore. Perhaps, it would be the beginning to the abolishment of the special rights which I felt was oppressing a lot of people.
oh... empty words cost us ntg

28-09-2007, 01:37 AM
nice picture that disgrace his grandpa but...
I am more interested in how those unqualified students who are not really appreciating such precious handouts fail their education and waste taxpayers' money. those frm CDC told us in KBU.. goin for german engineering.. .drop out rates is about 50 %... and we hv around 20 students every year here.. is it ?

28-09-2007, 01:38 AM
i suggest the government take a look at the students testimonial before granting them scholarships. the testimonial i'm referring to is not the one every student has, but an additional for scholarships application. this must be written by the teachers, and the teacher must be a responsible one. instead of writing all the good things only, the teachers should include whatever attitude, be it positive or negative, in the testimonial. the student's lifestyle shoudl be included as well, if it's possible. the sponsors have the right to know what kind of students they are sponsoring.

the interview should be a thorough one. not just one or two questions and end of session. it may not be easy, butit will be effective.

for average students who come from low income families, they should be sponsored to study locally. it's not worth it to send them oversea when they can't perform. tat;s a easy talk.. but it's almost impossible to be put on its way...

29-09-2007, 11:38 PM
Digression about CCTV in school pasted to a new thread:

http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=143230#143230

ballackahn
23-11-2007, 10:05 AM
tipu punye lah!!

they raise the allowance by not cutting off the monthly allowance given on accomodation... we can choose the place we want to stay..thats it..make me happy kosong only..

24-11-2007, 12:27 PM
tipu punye lah!!

they raise the allowance by not cutting off the monthly allowance given on accomodation... we can choose the place we want to stay..thats it..make me happy kosong only..why is this a bad thing?

Appolo
21-02-2008, 03:26 PM
for average students who come from low income families, they should be sponsored to study locally. it's not worth it to send them oversea when they can't perform.

Well, I would suggest that the establishment of a particular foundation program to gauge the capability of students before presenting to them the option of either pursuing their education overseas or locally.

That would be better than to put them straight away as a local grad.Another question would be the univerisities or the institutes to place them in should they study locally.

Universitiy colleges or twinning programs?

vincentato
28-02-2008, 05:10 AM
Erm suddenl feel like expressing my thoughts here after reading the posts.

1. this recommendation must be written by the teachers, and the teacher must be a responsible one. instead of writing all the good things only, the teachers should include whatever attitude, be it positive or negative, in the testimonial. the student's lifestyle shoudl be included as well, if it's possible.

If you have noticed, most if not all, the government teachers are either lazy or very kind because they let the students write the recommendation and then just sign on it after reading it (provided that the teacher agrees with the content). *How many teachers will actually take the effort to write a recommendation for a student from scratch. And even if a teacher does do that, what are the odds the teacher will then talk bad about his or her student.* Furthermore, if recommendations are suppose to be about the bad stuffs of a particular student, then is it not a recommendation anymore. Now let's say you are applying for a scholarship and if these 'testimonials' are only useful to make ur chances of getting the scholarship lower, would you even ask your teacher to write you one? The ideal situation will of course be something like the sponsor sending an email to the teacher. But still, *refer up*...

I totally agree. In order to see the level of competency of a student, sponsors should go a lot more than just a few questions. Take JPA for instance; my interview was so short, every candidate was only allowed to answer two questions. And, there were 6 applicants in one room. This kind of sponsors should really spend more time in getting to know the students. BNM, Petronas and UEC have quite thorough interviews.

That way, more Malaysian students would not blindly accept the ASEAN scholarship which drains a lot of Malaysia best brains into Singapore.

First and foremost, the scholarship holders of ASEAN scholarship are only entitled to a few years of scholarship depending o which one they are applying. Lets just zero in on the final ASEAN scholaship which sponsor students to study A-Levels in Singapore. This is just a pre-u scholarship. In other words, you are not directly sponsored to do your degree; you have to apply again with your A-Level results to get a Degree scholarship. Once you have taken the ASEAN scholarship, the chances of you coming back into Malaysia to study in local government university are atomic. So, unless you are very determined not to study in local gov U, even as back up, taking this scholarship has nothing to lose. I mean if you are confident that you will be able to get into Cambride or LSE or Harvard after A-Levels, there's nothing wrong with this scholarship. n fact, you will meet a lot more other top students and widen your network. But we should not neglect the fact that this scholarship does drain some of the brains from Malaysia. Imagine if you are a poor kid and you got this scholarship before SPM, you'll be in Singapore by January the following year (before your SPM results are released). So, if you are actually a prospective scholarship receiver of local sponsors, which will bond you after graduation, there's nothing much you can do about it because you cannot pay back what you have spent on the first 4 months.

I profess that the only benchmarks necessary in providing students with the scholarships that they covet is through meritocracy and family income. Yes, it is a good thought to select students based on their academic achievement but I hold strongly of the notion that scholarships should be granted to students who fare in their studies and hail from a family of low incomers.

Can you actually define low income? Or are you trying to say 'those who need the financial support'? Well basically even average income and slightly above average income families cannot anything more than an A-Levels if the families plan to send their children to overseas. So does this mean 'neglect the average income families'? I mean some families are neither poor nor rich. They can take out 10 to 20 thousand for an A-levels and that is the most they can do. An overseas degree would still cost them a bomb.
Please note that i am not saying we should not offer scholarships to poor students but just do not emphasize on the 'poor' issue too much until we overlook the results and neglect better applicants who have 'better financial background'.

Not trying to offend anyone. Just expressing my thoughts. :wink: