View Full Version : LINUX FAQ... boleh?
oreoboy
12-10-2003, 12:50 PM
hehehe.. just to throw in my permasalahan on linux... me just newbie to linux... so many things still in confuse....
so... can ah if i ask question here....?
bachok83
12-10-2003, 01:39 PM
sure... you can ask them here.. no worries... say the question is hard, we'll do research together...
oreoboy
12-10-2003, 09:24 PM
wokeh.. wokeh.. tqtq
aderkh.. i've got to go... i've been online for sooooo long today... dialup maaa.. mati woooo!
maybe i am not gonnabe around for 1,2 days.. tired laa.. waiting like jaga in here... got work to do.. bachok knew!!! sssyyyy... ok.. i will be around and be a jaga again later.. daaaaa
14-10-2003, 11:36 PM
Need to learn how to use wine....can someone be kind enough to teach?
bachok83
15-10-2003, 12:59 AM
hmmm.. i've used it before.. i think you can associate the .exe file with wine.. that's how you run it...
in red hat 7.3, it is automatically assigned during the installation... anyway, i'll look at it after class today
25-10-2003, 10:58 PM
anyone good enough with linux can teach how to recover from a linux crash? This has happen to me like twice and I don't know how to fix it other than to simply reinstall. So if anyone knows, please share teh knowledge
26-10-2003, 04:07 PM
you mean recovering data after the kernel screwed up?
or booting problem?
or corrupted data?
or kernel panick?
why should you reinstall it?.
maybe you want to be more specific when you mean 'crash'
I think the moral is, : always backup the important data.
You can just zip and transfer it to your school account. That's one of the safest place.
If you need to recover, I think it's very hard. We have had once with ReCom server.
We can't get into the system. And the system just didn't boot.
So, we insert the rescue-disk (YOu Must Have This! ), go into the system,
spending around 7hours (around 5 pm - 12.00 am. ) trying bunch of methods, including trying to burn the data into CD, but to no avail.
At last, we manage to copy the data using scp command, tar-zip it, and transfer it to our school account.
(and the problem behave differently from time to time. At that time, we can hardly run ANY command , not even ls command. Strangely, we can use Windoz's dir command. )
So, I don;t think there's one method that manage you to always recover the data. The most important thing when you have problem( classic would be booting problem,) always have rescue disk with you.
And always back-up the data.
After that, you usually want to reinstall Linux again. (since it may corrupt you other data if you keep using it).
26-10-2003, 11:46 PM
yah...i couldn't boot up...after power failure...:(...don;t know why.
Then yesterday, i put the hard drive into my regular IDE slot instead of my RAID and it worked. So right now I have no idea what is going on. Maybe RAID and linux is a little unstable rite now.
Anyway, I'm going to sell my com so now using XP again...hehehe....anyone interested?
27-10-2003, 12:17 AM
did you insert the rescue disk to boot?
I have the same problem before. Did you share the same harddrive with Windows ? ..If yes, that means, it's not your Linux problem, it's Windows'. Windows always want to be in the first partition. and sometime it creates problem.
Using XP again after Linux?. Can you survive without the terminal ?
without gzip, tar , and all wonderful stuff in Unix.?
YOu should try Mac OS X ( now Panther version) . The best Unix box on earth.
mpalanieppan
23-12-2003, 04:27 PM
I just installed suse on my comp...now, how do i install new software on the linux system...i wanna install mozilla firebird etc...currently suse comes with konqueror which basically sucks....also same with mp3 player...when i try to play an mp3 with xmms, it just freezes and there is no sound (i configured the sound card o ready dunno why)
Enjoy winter holidays:)
24-12-2003, 02:52 AM
I just installed suse on my comp...now, how do i install new software on the linux system...i wanna install mozilla firebird etc...currently suse comes with konqueror which basically sucks....also same with mp3 player...when i try to play an mp3 with xmms, it just freezes and there is no sound (i configured the sound card o ready dunno why)
Hi Palanieppan,
To install software in linux system is quite tricky.
I'm used to command line so, I will tell you how to do it at the command line only. (there are more than one way to do this, but this is just to make it clearer)
1. decide the directory, where you want to put your program
the default is in /usr/local/, then switch to root :
There are 2 methods,
1.1 using sudo command
sudo
Password: <-- enter root password
1.2 enter root, just use
su -
Password
using sudo is a lot easier for admin task.
but, never sign in as root. (use some username, and sudo/su
2. then you move the MozillaFirebird.tar.gz to that directory,
e.g :
mv MozillaFirebird.tar.gz /usr/local/
3. Then , guzip it :
gunzip MozillaFirebird.tar.gz
4. Then, you'l see: MozillaFirebird.tar (gzip is gone)
So, untar it:
tar xvf MozillaFirebird.tar
5. You'll see a directory called MozillaFirebird , go to that directory
cd MozillFirebird
ls
6. after you lsed, you'll see a README.txt, and configure file.
I suggest you read the README.txt b4 u proceed.
7. then , run this 3 magic commands:
./configure
make
make install
8. That ends your installation session in Linux..
then , auto magically , the Linux OS would be able to detect your Mozilla.
Hope that help.
mpalanieppan
24-12-2003, 04:04 AM
Thanks master of none. Actually, i realized later that you do not need to install firebird at all...just extract to a folder and then can start to use straight away. Pretty easy actually. Anyway, i will try to remember your comments here...might be useful later...
Now, I want to install a nvidia driver for my graphics card, which requires me to log out of X server. I thought Ctrl-Alt-Backspace will do that but apparently not...and the installer is complaining...i tried search online but culd not find it...How should i log out of X server and once logged out...what is the commad to login to X server again to start KDE. I thought Ctrl-Alt-F7 should do this but it does not...if i type kde at the bash it says kdeinit failed so i just have to restart...help me out in these 2 things linux experts...i am a new bie!! :)
24-12-2003, 07:41 AM
I'm not sure how you logout from the Xserver. I never install the video card before. But, did they say that you have to logout in the documentation?.
or, if you want to use brute force method, maybe you can just kill the job, (use ps command)..and kill the process using kill , and your server is gone. I think there's a better method .
but, whenever you reboot , Linux would try to start X server again. so,
after you kill, you install, and then reboot.
hope that help
bachok83
24-12-2003, 09:19 AM
the only way i know how to whut down the xserver is by executing this command
# init 3
since the xserver is running with init 5...
i actually did that once...
anyway good luck
24-12-2003, 12:02 PM
may i add? RT#M
27-12-2003, 05:12 PM
pala,
when i installed my drivers i had to do the same thing.
I think bachok's suggestion should work.
init 3
then of course when you're done,
init 5
good luck
mpalanieppan
27-12-2003, 05:41 PM
i was able to install the video driver or whatver it was. thanks for your tips. Now my only misgiving is that i cannot get the xmms/alsa player to play my mp3s at all, and get kaffeine to play my video files (both of which are in my windows partition-NTFS)...anybody had the same problem...My sound card is recognized by the system, but when i try to play, the xmms player just freezes....mp3 is one big thing that is holding me back from spending more time with linux...sigh...
did anybody encounter the same problem? btw, i am using suse 9.0....
Pala
mpalanieppan
27-12-2003, 05:42 PM
and for those init commands, do i need to log as root?
Pala
28-12-2003, 06:46 PM
for the init thing, you don't have to initially log in as root. but u can su and then do it.
for the mp3, i've never had xmms freeze on me before so I'm not sure what the problem is.
Few questions though, do you have sound at all? I remember having problems because i had an onboard sound card. So even though it recognized my other sound card, I had to set so that my main sound card was correct. Try checking that if this is the case.
But if xmms is really freezing on you, then I would suggest doing a search on google and try it or wait for others to reply. Can't help you there. good luck.
Whatever your solution, do post it here so we know what to do in future.
equuelus
29-12-2003, 05:20 PM
what version of suse are you running? if you are running 8.0 and up, you might want to consider using yast2(u need to be root to run yast2).
and about the sound card, you might want to install that manually, and not using the default installlation. go to http://sourceforge.net/projects/emu10k1 and download emu10k1. emu10k1 should work for most sound cards. and read INSTALL for instructions on how to install :P
equuelus
29-12-2003, 05:26 PM
oppsiee.. i forgot.. the link i gave is not updated. so to get the latest source code you have to download via cvs. for instructions on how to download using cvs, go to http://sourceforge.net/cvs/?group_id=44773
tell me if you have any other problems.
mpalanieppan
30-12-2003, 09:09 AM
thanks for your tips... i found the correct driver at the following url: http://www.4front-tech.com/
mpalanieppan
30-12-2003, 12:16 PM
well, it turns out that the driver i got fromm www.opensound.com actually has to be bought, this is a trial version did not notice it while installing it...tried searching for it so long, found one that worked, did not notice this price thing in the relief....
i tried emu10k1 before this but it did not work...probably i should try the latest one from cvs as suggested.....
oh man this driver from opensound is so good.....its just the price 20++....i am considering buying it if i cannot get a proper alternative driver
equuelus
30-12-2003, 04:54 PM
emu10k1 isnt that direct to install.. i dun quite remember how i made my audigy 2 to work on it. try to play with it a llttle longer.
mpalanieppan
31-12-2003, 03:05 AM
Actually, it is stated in the opensource website for creative labs that emu10k1 does not support sound blaster live 5.1 in Dell Computers (It seems that these sound cards are a bit different) but it supports other SBLive series. (They suggested the www.opensound.com )THe same complaint has been lodged in the forums, etc but no update has been done. Someone even mentioned that it should be trivial to enable emu10k1 to support SBLive from Dell, but nothing has been done apparently.
And has the emu10k1 been abandoned, since i see the last update seems to have been done in 2002? The CVS does not show much activity either.....
But yeah, i will try to play around a bit...
mpalanieppan
31-12-2003, 11:17 AM
After searching like hell, i have come to realize that the only sound driver for the Creative SBLive OEM CTO200 that i have is the one that i have to buy for $20.00 - $30.00 from 4FrontTech.
So guyz, should i just buy the driver from them or should just change the sound card to sth like audigy 2, which is supported by emu10K1 (unlike mine which is emu10k1X) driver? I have searched for audigy 2 on ebay and found that the lowest price is sth like $65++. Now i am not that crazy about sound system - I just have harmon kardon speakers, but i want to be able to listen to music when i am using linux and and i am pretty serious about linux.
So which one is a better investment, buying audigy 2 or just purchasing this driver. Your opinions please....appreciated
Pala
bachok83
31-12-2003, 11:26 AM
Pala, if I were you, I'll buy the software for $20-$30..which is much cheaper than buying the new sound card.. of course, I'm a normal music listener...
I'm not really obsess with getting a huge home theater (but we have one in the apt ;-) )
31-12-2003, 11:39 AM
that was me, sorry, I use bachok's PC just now.
01-01-2004, 12:27 PM
if you're not big into gaming and music then get the software.
Also i don't really think the audigy 2 is really utilised if you use a 2.1 system with it.
mpalanieppan
04-01-2004, 09:55 AM
I can read files from windows ntfs partition, but i cannot yet write to that partition. How do i do that?....Thanks...
mpalanieppan
15-01-2004, 12:47 PM
I also have another question.
How do you handle upgrades of your linux distro, i.e installing a newer version of suse/redhat etc, so that you do not lose all the data that you have stored like documents, library files etc?
I heard you can partition your hard drive such that your home directory will not be affected in the upgrade install. Do you just put the home directory in a separatepartition - is that all that one has to do?
In any case, I installed suse without putting /home in a separate partition. In order to minimise the amount of work that might arise in upgrading, i want to put /home in a different partition. Can I just partition now using the partitioner that comes with suse?. And the partitioner comes with a very strong warning against using that application unless you are an expert. My only experience with partitioning is using partition magic 8.0 ( which i suppose is not any significant experience at all...). Is there any inherent danger that i should be aware of before using this application(Besides the fact that I should back up the whole directory before proceeding...)?
Can sb respond on this one soon...Thanks
equuelus
16-01-2004, 09:08 AM
well... suse's installation handles all that, you do not have to worry about keeping backup, etc. just be sure to choose the upgrade option instead of the 'new installation' option, but im not sure about other dist.
suse's partitioner is somewhat similar to partition magic. if you don't want to lose any data from partitioning, make sure you do not delete any partition or create any new partition on a existing partition. the only operation that guarantees you not to lose any data is splitting a partition and creating a partition on a free space. you can do all with suse's partitioner.
dyenne10
16-01-2004, 01:31 PM
askum n hi buddies..
emm,..here's some problem..anybody know something about open source...i'd tried find it on the internet..but it seem the result not quite assist me ..so..anybody whose expertise in linux a.k.a open source..please..hulurkan pendapat.
16-01-2004, 02:40 PM
askum n hi buddies..
emm,..here's some problem..anybody know something about open source...i'd tried find it on the internet..but it seem the result not quite assist me ..so..anybody whose expertise in linux a.k.a open source..please..hulurkan pendapat.
Hi dyenne10
First of all, Linux is only a subset of Open Source itself.
the idea of open source came from free software movement by GNU (http://www.gnu.org) . Linux is a one of the free 'open source' Unix kernel where a lot more 'open source' program run. Open source program can also run on other platform, (Mac or Wintel).
Open source program simply means, you open the source to the public
Do you want the history of Open Source Movement?.. you can begin with GNU site.
or , do you want to know more about linux?.
Maybe you want to be more specific, so that it's easier for us to help whatever we can.
16-01-2004, 02:40 PM
askum n hi buddies..
Hi dyenne10
First of all, Linux is only a subset of Open Source itself.
the idea of open source came from free software movement by GNU (http://www.gnu.org) . Linux is a one of the free 'open source' Unix kernel where a lot more 'open source' program run. Open source program can also run on other platform, (Mac or Wintel).
Open source program simply means, you open the source to the public
Do you want the history of Open Source Movement?.. you can begin with GNU site.
or , do you want to know more about linux?.
Maybe you want to be more specific, so that it's easier for us to help whatever we can.