View Full Version : JPA allowance
19-09-2007, 02:12 PM
Just curious here about allowance given by JPA to scholars in different countries, since students in some countries have their allowance increased.
For those who are studying overseas, can you tell your allowance and whether it's enough (for those who spend moderately of course).
E.g. Country : XXXXXX Range :$XXX to $XXX ( Not enough/Fairly enough/Enough/ Too much)
sNaiL0810
19-09-2007, 03:11 PM
Range: 1000-1200 CAD (SO nice of them)
i heard some senior say our allowance raise almost double now~~~haha..thx to budget 2008
slumber
22-09-2007, 11:36 PM
eee...
sometimes i feel it is not fair cuz only some countries that they raised the allowance.. :?
24-09-2007, 01:40 AM
For allowance to US,
Kadar A for cost of living allowance is USD415
Kadar B is USD375
Kadar C is USD335
Kadar A for accommodation is USD700
Kadar B is USD600
Kadar C is USD500
Books allowance USD900/year
Equipment allowance:-
USD150/year (for professional courses)
USD100/year (for non-professional courses)
Settled In Allowance:-
Kadar A is USD1673
Kadar B is USD1463
Kadar C is USD1253
Winter Clothing Allowance:-
USD750 (up from RM750 previously!)
Practical Training Allowance
USD20 ( I believe it is per day)
Graduation Allowance:-
Kadar A is USD669
Kadar B is USD585
Kadar C is USD501
For Kadar A, New York, Washington DC, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago
Kadar B - California, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Jersey, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, University Park, Atlanta, Miami, Houston, Dallas/Forthworth, Detroit, Seattle, Portland, Evanston and Park Forest in Illinois, Arlington and Irving in Texas, Coral Gables, Fort Lauderdale to Miami in Florida and Durham in North Carolina
Kadar C - Other areas.
28-09-2007, 01:32 AM
Germany... app 1000? a month
AtMostFear
06-10-2007, 04:52 AM
chenchow,
is that the latest allowance details following 2008 Budget? if yes I wonder where did you get your hands on it as I can't seem to find it on esila. :(
what's the Settled In allowance? and is it true JPA has abolished the 60/40 system?
on the other hand, will we be able to get an on campus housing by just depending on the allowance? cos I heard that some of the on campus housing might range from $800-100. sorry for any mistake or misunderstanding.
How bout India?Any increase in allowance??
09-10-2007, 12:07 AM
chenchow,
is that the latest allowance details following 2008 Budget? if yes I wonder where did you get your hands on it as I can't seem to find it on esila. :(
what's the Settled In allowance? and is it true JPA has abolished the 60/40 system?
on the other hand, will we be able to get an on campus housing by just depending on the allowance? cos I heard that some of the on campus housing might range from $800-100. sorry for any mistake or misunderstanding.
It is the latest allowance that MSD has been sending to the students.
Settle in allowance is the allowance that is given to a student just before they go overseas, so that they can buy equipment, from laptop to pillow to any other stuff.
On the on campus housing policy, I am not sure. Do check directly with JPA on that.
11-10-2007, 01:42 AM
Cant remember exactly but around
Kadar A: 138000 yen
Kadar B: 125000 yen
for Japan.
hamburger
17-10-2007, 09:35 AM
what do you mean by kadar A and B?
17-10-2007, 11:35 PM
Some places have higher living standard, so more money while others, the things there are cheaper, so receive less allowance.
JiaZheng
11-12-2007, 07:58 AM
The new allowance increase for US students is a fraud. Yes, JPA did increase the amount of our pocket money by more than... 500% (used to be 130, now its 835). BUT the catch is, now they expect us to pay for our room and board with that pocket money.
Here are some figures from my budget:
Room: $685/month
Board: $415/month
And they expect me to use 685 out of 835 just for room... with 150 for food per month, and nothing for other expenditures. Never seen such genius planning.
I've sent them a complaint, but they haven't responded.
11-12-2007, 08:46 AM
Is Han Qing a private student?
11-12-2007, 01:04 PM
The new allowance increase for US students is a fraud. Yes, JPA did increase the amount of our pocket money by more than... 500% (used to be 130, now its 835). BUT the catch is, now they expect us to pay for our room and board with that pocket money.
And they expect me to use 685 out of 835 just for room... with 150 for food per month, and nothing for other expenditures. Never seen such genius planning.
It's a scholarship, but you're not expected to be living completely out of the allowances.. Learn to find a cheaper accomodation or get some financial help from home.
You don't have a right to complain, you only can request.
11-12-2007, 01:06 PM
Is Han Qing a private student?doubt it
I've sent them a complaint, but they haven't responded.Let's just think of it as an opportunity to be inventive on how you are going to find a better place to stay eh?
lwk88
11-12-2007, 08:12 PM
why dont you give me the scholarship? complain so much. other people need it but cant get. should be grateful
canada
02-01-2008, 08:07 PM
You r awarded scholarships. You should be grateful n contented with what JPA give u. You should spend your money wisely by searching for cheaper accomodation. You use 'complaint' means that u think tat u hav the rights to get higher allowance and request more?
02-01-2008, 09:04 PM
You r awarded scholarships. You should be grateful n contented with what JPA give u. You should spend your money wisely by searching for cheaper accomodation. You use 'complaint' means that u think tat u hav the rights to get higher allowance and request more?
Actually, if the money is still not enough for entertainment purpose, why not take a part time job? The pay in US is quite high I think.
If you are really lazy bone, ask your parents to send some additional money for you . Just think in this way, if you don't manage to secure a scholarship, they still have to pay for your living fee and tuition fee
My 2 cents..
03-01-2008, 03:21 PM
Aha, but you forgot one thing. JPA says we can't work when studying but then, who is going to know.
03-01-2008, 04:18 PM
Aha, but you forgot one thing. JPA says we can't work when studying but then, who is going to know.
Some of my JPA friends here who are studying in KL now, work part time also...
Who knows?
Appolo
16-01-2008, 12:59 PM
Some of my JPA friends here who are studying in KL now, work part time also...
Who knows?
I think it's ok if you try to hide the fact from jpa if the job is not that demanding.For example, I once thought of going for an internship(local) for 2 months and I need to fill in the paperwork and apply for jpa to consider.However, I completely drop the whole after waiting it for so long and did not receive a reply from the agency.I guess the most easily accepted reasoning on their behalf should be that the government wants students to focus more on their studies and they figure that with the allowances that they were giving out for students, it should be sufficient.
But the truth is, a lot of my friend(including me) are spending our money as frugally as possible especially when it comes to food and transportation.Books is also a problem for some seniors(like me) as some textbooks that are really good can fetch up to RM300+(per book) and we basically have to fork out our own money if we really wanted the book although they are not compulsory.I would really appreciate it if anyone who is working in JPA can raise the problem up for discussion.sigh....
As for JiaZheng's case, I can really understand his situation.Although he might not sound grateful of the scholarship that he had, he did raise up a practical question.what are we going to survive financially in a foreign country if the money that we are given are barely able to support our basic needs.For some scholars who come from less fortunate backgrounds, this is definitely a problem as you can't possibly have the nerve to come to your parents and say" I need"when you're very well aware that your family can't afford it!
apecxz
20-01-2008, 04:56 PM
dude..i'm currently studying in the States..but not PSD scholar..
MARA scholar perhaps..
hey..it's not about being ungrateful for what we got..
it depends on where we are in the States..
for example..students at Stevens Univ..
their campus are just opposite of the NY city..
so I bet you could imagine how their living cost would be..
the housing rental is so damn expensive..
but..they got Kadar B for allowance just because half of their campus are not included in the NY border..seriously they would suffer from that..hurm..like me..for my first year..it is compulsory to live at the univ residence hall..and for one semester..i need to pay 4000USD..and one semester consist of like 5 months..and I got 900+ per month for my allowance..that is why I am working right now to get extra money..so..you need to understand the real situation before you could say anything..
jane_gun
20-01-2008, 11:09 PM
Australia Kadar A's AUD 1200 / mth (Kadar B slightly lower)... Really grateful for the increase - helps heaps. And yes, if you can manage money well, you can survive and still save! Which beats me why some of my friends still can't survive and waiting impatiently for the next sum to roll in from JPA... But seriously, if you're not a spendthrift, you don't need any extra allowance e.g. working part-time, parents sending you money... To those who're headed for the land down under, you don't have to worry about finances unlike what some of the US-bound people seem to be facing...
jane_gun
20-01-2008, 11:33 PM
If you are really lazy bone, ask your parents to send some additional money for you . Just think in this way, if you don't manage to secure a scholarship, they still have to pay for your living fee and tuition fee
Hehe, chiachean, not everyone has parents who can afford or are willing to fork out money for their children's education. After SPM, I managed my education-related finances myself without counting on my parents. A friend of mine secured a place in Oxford but had to let it go because he didn't have the financial means and his dad wasn't willing to sponsor him unless he was going to a local uni despite being capable at it (ironically, his dad works in Maybank HQ)... I'm sure there are other similar cases out there. There may even be parents who are overjoyed that their children secured JPA but after knowing their condition overseas (i.e. insufficient allowance), are upset coz they can't financially afford to send their children that much money...
yup. my mom says: since u get a scholarship, then i hv no need 2 worry bout yr living cost. if u run out of $, dun complain. figure yrself out.
Appolo
21-01-2008, 08:25 AM
Yup, I share the same situation as you,yeng.
My parents simply refuse to support me anymore as they consider me to be more responsible and conscientious when it comes to my own personal finance.I don't blame them though because they do have a point there.After all, if I'm unwilling to take care of my own expenses, what would I do when I'm in the states.It's the taxpayers money that I'm using here so I need top use it wisely.It's relatively hard to save money especially after this whole talk about economic recession and rocketing fuel price, but you will gain a lot just by observing how you would spend the money that you have in a normal day..
AtMostFear
21-01-2008, 04:05 PM
just arrived in Ann Arbor, and I'm only getting $835 per month from JPA for food and housing allowance. and the best thing is, the on campus housing offer that I got cost $1076 per month per person (for a 2 bedrooms apartment shared by 4 people). isn't that just great?
and because of that, I have to opt to stay off campus. anyway, my point is, the government should stop the hoo haa about increasing the allowance when it is actually the other way around. *sheesh elections propaganda*. period.
New Zealand
Kadar A : NZD1260 / month
jane_gun
23-01-2008, 09:46 PM
Do the non-Aussie people get backpaid for the allowance increase? What happened, for us, was that we were suppose to get an increase starting 2006 but that didn't happen. So when they finally increased the allowance in 2007, they backpaid us the excess increase from 2006 onwards rather than from 2007 - you can imagine our joy getting "durian runtuh" in our bank accounts all of a sudden - a whole year's extra allowance in one fat sum! =) Just curious, if we're the only lucky ones, or is this the same scenario in other countries as well?
24-01-2008, 10:06 AM
Do the non-Aussie people get backpaid for the allowance increase? What happened, for us, was that we were suppose to get an increase starting 2006 but that didn't happen. So when they finally increased the allowance in 2007, they backpaid us the excess increase from 2006 onwards rather than from 2007 - you can imagine our joy getting "durian runtuh" in our bank accounts all of a sudden - a whole year's extra allowance in one fat sum! =) Just curious, if we're the only lucky ones, or is this the same scenario in other countries as well?
Actually only those who were on 100% plan got the durian runtuh. I got the compensation too, but since I was on 60-40 and my original accommodation was very expensive to begin with, the compensation was not a lot.
jane_gun
24-01-2008, 09:03 PM
Actually only those who were on 100% plan got the durian runtuh. I got the compensation too, but since I was on 60-40 and my original accommodation was very expensive to begin with, the compensation was not a lot.
Hehe, I was on the 80-20 plan (since I live in college - includes food), but the compensation ain't bad for me... Lucky me, I guess... But you're right, the real durian runtuh's for those on the 100% plan... =)
JiaZheng
25-01-2008, 01:46 PM
Actually, if the money is still not enough for entertainment purpose, why not take a part time job? The pay in US is quite high I think.
My 2 cents..
Okay just to clear things up. I'm not being ungrateful or anything. I can't even begin telling you how grateful I am. So that's that.
All I'm saying is that JPA put me in this place with lots of expensive stuff, and so my family and I did the calculations and we figured that I won't have any problems here. But one day JPA decides to cut my allowance while I'm here with the expensive stuff, and the whole calculation collapses and now I'm unable to find a way out. My family can't support me. It's ridiculous... a typical meal here is 7 dollars... thats about 24 ringgit for every meal.
So yeah, to answer the quote above, if I did not manage to secure the scholarship, i would not have come here and plunge into this problem in the first place.
----edit---
Oh and I can't find alternative housing as a first year student. And I don't think it's possible to find one next year too, since there aren't really any off-campus places to live here... very rural area
There you go.....one of the perils of living in a small town........also, if you have to get your air tickets reissued, you probably have to go to Burlington if you are flying with United to get it done.
JiaZheng
25-01-2008, 02:24 PM
There you go.....one of the perils of living in a small town........also, if you have to get your air tickets reissued, you probably have to go to Burlington if you are flying with United to get it done.
I actually don't see that as a problem at all. I rather live in a hostel with lots of great floormates with great undergraduate advisors and floor activities and events than live with a small bunch of friends away from school.
Yeah, air tickets, social security numbers, and tons of other official stuff that I deal with only once a year. How inconvenient.
I actually don't see that as a problem at all. I rather live in a hostel with lots of great floormates with great undergraduate advisors and floor activities and events than live with a small bunch of friends away from school.
Yeah, air tickets, social security numbers, and tons of other official stuff that I deal with only once a year. How inconvenient.
Trying to talk yourself thinking it is not bad eh?
I am so sure that you would want to travel during your term to get all these things done........
Hostels, residences are good but the majority of people living there are on the crack or pot.......some time or all the time.......Not to mention, the whole list of anti social behaviors.
JiaZheng
25-01-2008, 03:24 PM
I am so sure that you would want to travel during your term to get all these things done........
Hostels, residences are good but the majority of people living there are on the crack or pot.......some time or all the time.......Not to mention, the whole list of anti social behaviors.
Last I heard Columbia and a bunch of other city school kids are higher on crack. Which reminds me... it's safe here. And don't tell me you don't like safe!
I get my things done when I go traveling around during the interim. I don't move around at all during the term.
Look, you can't use the argument that I'm trying to fool myself into liking the place. If that's the case, everything's pointless. I can say that you actually like Hanover; you're just fooling yourself. It's an argument that can be used in EVERY situation. Besides, I'm not the type who likes to fool myself. I have a whole list of things I hate about Hanover, and I acknowledge them all.
Appolo
25-01-2008, 04:41 PM
Guys, anyone read the Star Newspaper today? There's a letter to the editors sent by a parent of a JPA scholar.The title of the letter begins something more or less like this: Increase of JPA allowance.
Basically the letter was about a worried parent who happens to be troubled by the sudden cut back JPA allowance faced by his daughther who's currently studying in Northwestern.In his letter, he urged the respected parties to look deeper into this matter as he received the impression that the PM was sincere about adding the allowances for JPA sponsored students.
There you have it.I can really understand the frustration faced by Jia Zheng and other scholars that I know whom are also troubled by this inaccuracies in the news that were reported by the media and the actual actions taken by the officers in handling the allowance issue.
Even though I have yet to fly over to the states, my parents are already calculating the cost of living in the university that I really wanted and the impact of allocating that much of money as my extra allowances should condition worsens for JPA.Frankly, I was completely shocked by the amount of money that my parents have to fork out to support me should JPA doesn't do what the agency promised in The Budget.
I'm not trying to be ungrateful of the oppurtunity given to me by the government to pursue my tertiary education overseas.In fact, I do thank the sponsor for their willingness to cover my tutions and accomodation.However, as I come from a rather low-income family, sponsoring my overseas education is a major problem for my parents and the situation just got worse with my sister graduated Form 5.
Guess, i have to be resourceful and work my butts off to cover the cost of living once I'm there. I'm hoping to get UCSD for Fall.However, judging by the rate being offered in California, I think I have to start planning my money right now.
By the way, Jia zheng, did you apply for a job on campus.At least it would help to cover a bit for your meals.How about the financial aid given by Darthmouth? Does the office for international students offer such financial aid for students?
JiaZheng
25-01-2008, 08:56 PM
Thing is, not every JPA scholar is worried about this change. Some are still getting pretty high rates. But others are getting too low (Kadar C). I checked the census and asked the local town council for data, and I found out that my place has a higher cost of living than almost all the Kadar B places. The median household income here is also the highest.
So for those of you who were making noises about us being ungrateful, look at it this way: If someday JPA decides to pay for only 10% of our tuition fees and our families would have to pay for the rest, do you mean we should still be grateful because after all, we still have a better deal than you do? That's extreme I know, but you get my point.
Appolo
25-01-2008, 09:08 PM
I 'm rather confused here.
You're saying that the school is offering a generous financial assiatance? So did you apply for it and how much can the aid cover your expenses?
Really understand your situation dude.I really do.
Last I heard Columbia and a bunch of other city school kids are higher on crack. Which reminds me... it's safe here. And don't tell me you don't like safe!
I get my things done when I go traveling around during the interim. I don't move around at all during the term.
Look, you can't use the argument that I'm trying to fool myself into liking the place. If that's the case, everything's pointless. I can say that you actually like Hanover; you're just fooling yourself. It's an argument that can be used in EVERY situation. Besides, I'm not the type who likes to fool myself. I have a whole list of things I hate about Hanover, and I acknowledge them all.
It's the same in every university. So don't go saying that Columbia has more crackheads.
Nope.......it is a fact that people when faced with awful situations to look at the better side of things. In your case, living in a small town for 4 years. You better damn well learn to live with it or suffer for 4 years.
That said, one would understand where you are coming from if you come from places other than KL, Penang, or possibly JB.
Don't get me wrong, I am not picking a fight just because you are from Dartmouth or because I failed to secure a place there. It's a small town and anyone who has lived in big cities will not like to be chucked to a small town. Unless there have some sort of farm fetish or whatnot.
Other than that....JPA really screwed up big time.....
Lol. Not only JPA screw up.
BNM used to give people USD 450 a month while it paid for food and accommodation.
After a while, they were really kind and so they thought, "Why not we 'increase' these poor souls' allowance?"
And so they did. They "increased" the allowance to USD 1300 a month. Wonderful right?!
The catch is simple: it is not going to pay for your food and accommodation. Use your 1300 to pay them.
One quarter = 3 months = USD 3900
One quarter of meal plan = USD 1622
One quarter of accommodation = 2061
3900 - 1622 - 2091 = 187
187/3 = 62.33 a month
So instead of increasing the allowance, it actually cut 85% of the original allowance. Wonderful.
If you have a phone, you pay about USD 30 a month.
62.33 - 30 = USD 32.33
Bam, you won't have much money left considering the fact that dining hall is closed on Saturday night.
Average of 1 meal = USD 6
4 meals = USD 24
32.33 - 24 = 8.33
Lovely. You are left with USD 8.33 a month.
Well, good thing everyone survived for the first 3 months and finally, it increases the allowance from USD 1300 to USD 1560.
---------------
So for those you talk about ungratefulness, think again. Sometimes people are not trying to just make up stories to attract attention and sympathy. They do have a solid case to stand up for.
In the situation above, what if you come to US with a free mind thinking that your expenses will be covered because the sponsor promised it only to have it cut down by 85% or 90%? What if your parents cannot even afford to send you USD 100 - 200 a month to sustain your education there because they simply don't have the means to it?
------------------
For a moment, I was actually thinking about giving up my residence hall in the second academic year and just take shelter in the library since we have two 24-hour libraries here.
------------------
Good thing BNM is increasing the allowance. Now, that is something that I'm grateful for. Besides, I'm taking up a job on campus that pay me decently too. So I don't need to live in library and can continue to live in dining hall.
26-01-2008, 08:23 AM
Lol. Not only JPA screw up.
BNM used to give people USD 450 a month while it paid for food and accommodation.
After a while, they were really kind and so they thought, "Why not we 'increase' these poor souls' allowance?"
And so they did. They "increased" the allowance to USD 1300 a month. Wonderful right?!
The catch is simple: it is not going to pay for your food and accommodation. Use your 1300 to pay them.
One quarter = 3 months = USD 3900
One quarter of meal plan = USD 1622
One quarter of accommodation = 2061
3900 - 1622 - 2091 = 187
187/3 = 62.33 a month
So instead of increasing the allowance, it actually cut 85% of the original allowance. Wonderful.
If you have a phone, you pay about USD 30 a month.
62.33 - 30 = USD 32.33
Bam, you won't have much money left considering the fact that dining hall is closed on Saturday night.
Average of 1 meal = USD 6
4 meals = USD 24
32.33 - 24 = 8.33
Lovely. You are left with USD 8.33 a month.
Well, good thing everyone survived for the first 3 months and finally, it increases the allowance from USD 1300 to USD 1560.
---------------
So for those you talk about ungratefulness, think again. Sometimes people are not trying to just make up stories to attract attention and sympathy. They do have a solid case to stand up for.
In the situation above, what if you come to US with a free mind thinking that your expenses will be covered because the sponsor promised it only to have it cut down by 85% or 90%? What if your parents cannot even afford to send you USD 100 - 200 a month to sustain your education there because they simply don't have the means to it?
------------------
For a moment, I was actually thinking about giving up my residence hall in the second academic year and just take shelter in the library since we have two 24-hour libraries here.
------------------
Good thing BNM is increasing the allowance. Now, that is something that I'm grateful for. Besides, I'm taking up a job on campus that pay me decently too. So I don't need to live in library and can continue to live in dining hall.Whoa... That's a big reduction...
Hope you guys can cope with it...
That's farked up......Don't they send people to check the prices before coming up with a figure?
JiaZheng
26-01-2008, 10:55 AM
Nope.......it is a fact that people when faced with awful situations to look at the better side of things. In your case, living in a small town for 4 years. You better damn well learn to live with it or suffer for 4 years.
Stop generalizing. Screw this whole thing. You don't know me, I don't know you. It's just another conflict of preferences, except that you're pretending as if you know what I like and dislike.
A friend of mine in NYU is doing a negative balance every month too since it's in NYU. Lol. Poor soul.
And just one notice:
No more flaming/spamming/double-posting/off-topic or anything like that. Let's keep the discussion clean. Also, we want to cultivate a friendly environment here. So guys, be nice k? =D
Appolo
26-01-2008, 06:34 PM
Leen, I'm just wondering about your cost of living in Chicago.I thought the place is simply expensive and you still managed to cope there?Can I know whether the reason why you are refuse to cook yourself? I know that its more of a personal preference but wouldn't cooking help to reduce your budget for food? How about books and transportation? Do you have any money stashed underneath your pillow in case you need money urgently?Are you attending any summer classses, I heard that the tuition is paid for right?
I'm simply shocked and amazed by the examples shown by Leen and JiaZheng.That shows that there are times when you really need to be smart and conscientious when it comes to paying for our stay in the states.Therefore, I would like to suggest that recommers who have already further their studies overseas to share their experiences living under scholarships and the methods in which they practiced to either earn more allowances or to reduce their expenditure if possible.
For my school, freshmen have to live in dorms and take the most expensive meal plan of all.
It is compulsory. I didn't even have a choice to stay off-campus or change my insanely-expensive-never-going-to-be-finished meal plan.
About money, well good thing the sponsor gave some money in advance (for books and so on). So every month, I just dig a little bit out of those money that are supposed to be used for other purposes. Also, on Saturday, I'll just go to dining hall and eat brunch and skip dinner to save money. Thank God, I still survive somehow until now despite going to negative balance almost every month after giving to church and buying winter clothings.
Transportation is getting more and more expensive. It used to be $1.75 per trip on CTA and 0.25 on subsequent trips within 30 minutes (or something like that) but because CTA does not have enough funding, they are raising the fare to $2.25 per trip and 0.75 on subsequent trips within 30 minutes
Basically, if you want to travel to the nearest place, you will have to spend about $5 alone bus fare. That doesn't include the money that you spend buying other stuff. If you use my calculation as a basis, 8.33 - 5 = 3.33, what can you buy? Lol.
So I never travel downtown with my own money except on Thanksgiving day. Only that one time. I never go to Chinatown to taste any local food too. That's how I survive.
JiaZheng
27-01-2008, 02:51 AM
We're not flaming. Just disagreeing with each other. You don't see us calling each other names =D
Yeah, I'm just trying to remind you guys before things actually turn ugly. :wink:
You should get some jobs to pay off the negative balance though. I'm working too right now and I'm most probably going to move out of campus next academic year. I will also change my meal plan to the most basic one. haha.
JiaZheng
27-01-2008, 02:47 PM
Oh yeah, I have a job that's paying very well.
And I'm quite optimistic about my allowance "request" to JPA. I think they might increase it soon.
03-02-2008, 11:29 AM
Leen, would you mind check on how much those Singapore and Thailand scholars are getting for their allowances over there in Chicago?
From what I understand (my info was 2-3 years old), their allowance is around the range of $1,200-$1,300. Are they in the range of about $1,560?
I would say that each university would have its own unique situation, but I think one aspect is for us to gradually learn and find ways to survive.
I'm not trying to inclucate whatever doctrine here, but you guys who have been studying there in US knows that most Americans do graduate with a huge loan in hand.
And add that most people, including almost all Malaysians are working. A modest job of 8 hours a week at $8/hour, would bring you about $250. So, it should be sufficient.
And if you guys are allowed to cook, that's another alternative. Cooking would definitely save a lot of money. I used to spend about $30 per week to cook, and I can have pretty much any type of food I want to eat. Perhaps inflation would bring it to $40, but I guess there's still ways to survive.
Perhaps more of the students there can share on their perspectives and experience in various universities.
The Thais are getting USD 1200 + while the Singaporeans are the richest with some getting USD 1600+ while the rest get about USD 1800++
Indeed, like what you said, we ultimately learned how to survive on our own. The thing is, it is very tough for some people to get a job on campus if they take heavy courses. I am one of them. It is very hard for me to get a job with my current courses. (I'm taking 2 reading-based courses that requires a lot of reading). Nonetheless, I still try to spare 8 hours a week to work for the alumni house. So that's not too bad for me.
As for cooking, U of C has this tradition of forcing all the students into taking the most expensive meal plan in their freshman year. Thus, we really have no choice but to pay a huge amount of money to the school every quarter without even using half of the meal plan. =/ With the current situation, a lot of people opt to move off-campus next academic year to cut cost.
=D
jamesgan
05-02-2008, 12:45 PM
i m doin pre u in msia. juz got my allowance for 6 months. around rm430 a month. is an ang pao for us o.....
05-02-2008, 12:46 PM
i m doin pre u in msia. juz got my allowance for 6 months. around rm430 a month. is an ang pao for us o.....430 is nice... I was barely scraping by with 350 ringgit per month at my time...
05-02-2008, 12:48 PM
The Thais are getting USD 1200 + while the Singaporeans are the richest with some getting USD 1600+ while the rest get about USD 1800++
Indeed, like what you said, we ultimately learned how to survive on our own. The thing is, it is very tough for some people to get a job on campus if they take heavy courses. I am one of them. It is very hard for me to get a job with my current courses. (I'm taking 2 reading-based courses that requires a lot of reading). Nonetheless, I still try to spare 8 hours a week to work for the alumni house. So that's not too bad for me.
As for cooking, U of C has this tradition of forcing all the students into taking the most expensive meal plan in their freshman year. Thus, we really have no choice but to pay a huge amount of money to the school every quarter without even using half of the meal plan. =/ With the current situation, a lot of people opt to move off-campus next academic year to cut cost.
=D
So, in a way, in terms of allowances, BNM scholars do get quite a bit more than the Thais. How do they survive on campus with that amount of allowances? Seems that BNM scholars get just a bit less than the Singaporeans.
05-02-2008, 01:32 PM
i m doin pre u in msia. juz got my allowance for 6 months. around rm430 a month. is an ang pao for us o..... yea yea.. but I got it only in the first few days of Feb.. the allowance always come one month late.. I suffer in the first month then the total can be divided by 5 months luh ..
* jamesgan do u hv any relationship with, jane_gun ..?
05-02-2008, 02:39 PM
For us (those who live in Bandar Utama ), RM 430 is still not enough , right? Jet Lee?
I am quite a stingy person, my overall expenses for January is already more than RM 600..
So, in a way, in terms of allowances, BNM scholars do get quite a bit more than the Thais. How do they survive on campus with that amount of allowances? Seems that BNM scholars get just a bit less than the Singaporeans.
If BNM does stick to its promise of increasing the allowance, yes BNM scholars will get just a bit less than the Singaporeans.
As for the Thais, I think most of them survive from their parents' accounts if they spend too much. Some work. I'm not too sure about the details but apparently, all of them have been living in US for a few years now. They completed their high school in US too. So I don't understand how the scholarship works. Probably it sponsors meal plan ? I really don't know.
---
And for those who get angpow, congratulations. I used to survive on RM260 a month. So I'm not too sure why you can't survive on RM 350 a month, or even RM 430 a month.
05-02-2008, 05:03 PM
And for those who get angpow, congratulations. I used to survive on RM260 a month. So I'm not too sure why you can't survive on RM 350 a month, or even RM 430 a month.Well, many of my trips to temples during my time requires me to shell out money on transportation...
Add to the fact that I eat a lot as well :p
05-02-2008, 05:13 PM
For your information,we could hardly find food below RM 3 ..
Let say 1 plate of fried rice for every meal , every day
RM 4 x 3 x 30= already RM 360..
And for those who get angpow, congratulations. I used to survive on RM260 a month. So I'm not too sure why you can't survive on RM 350 a month, or even RM 430 a month.
Mayb i come from a different family background
07-02-2008, 12:53 PM
You ate bread every day for every meal? 8O
07-02-2008, 04:48 PM
RM 4 x 3 x 30= already RM 360.. then u one day only spend 12!? oh the assumption is too far frm reality baby.. my lunch n dinner already more than RM 20.. because we cant eat dinner in canteen,,so it will be One U.. one dinner more than RM10 k ? ..and so.. even we forget bout the cost of breakfast..
RM 20 X 30 = RM 600 !!!
but still, I manage to survive... =)
I eat a lot, but then, because of my tendency to sleep very long, I skip meals...
:idea: :arrow: :idea: :arrow: :idea:
07-02-2008, 07:10 PM
I can be able to spend below RM 10 for weekdays, but not for weekends..
I plan my meals like this:
Breakfast-Bread RM2
Lunch - Centre Point RM 3
Dinner- Mamak (1 Utama is not the only choice) RM3
Total: RM 8 only..
07-02-2008, 08:16 PM
Since when did dinners in INTEC cost 10 Ringgit? I spend max 6 Ringgit le...
Usually only 2.50 Ringgit for the delivered Chinese food though kekeke
07-02-2008, 09:33 PM
Since when did dinners in INTEC cost 10 Ringgit? I spend max 6 Ringgit le...
Usually only 2.50 Ringgit for the delivered Chinese food though kekeke I meant for those studying in KBU luh.. wat surrouding us are Centrepoint, One Utama, The Curve, Ikea. etc.. and we can hardly find any affordable nice food.. we dun hv those type of shops that can provide us nice n cheap food..
chiachean : dun u think the food in Tanjung Bunga (which is the last and only mamak 'restaurant' ) a bit too oily, salty, and nt so so healthy ..? my housemate once food - poisoned after having dinner there...
07-02-2008, 10:23 PM
Really ke? Do we have another option to get cheap food?
08-02-2008, 12:47 PM
cook lah.. tat wat my housemates n I did last year.. but this year the schedule is very very packed fo us.. so we cant cook anymore.. but u australia bound ones can.. .
Just for clarification (I double checked this), Thai students receive USD 280 per month but the government pays for their housing and boarding in Chicago.
If they don't take the housing and boarding plan, the government will pay them USD 1400 per month.
As for surviving under RM 300, my sponsor only gives me RM 260. I spent a lot on transportation too but I cut down on food. I normally just ate breakfast and dinner. =D The additional money that I am left with, I give them all to church. It's enough somehow.
08-02-2008, 06:49 PM
As for surviving under RM 300, my sponsor only gives me RM 260. I spent a lot on transportation too but I cut down on food. I normally just ate breakfast and dinner. =D The additional money that I am left with, I give them all to church. It's enough somehow. arent u under JPA too ? wow still do charity ? tat's reli nice of u ..
08-02-2008, 10:02 PM
As for surviving under RM 300, my sponsor only gives me RM 260. I spent a lot on transportation too but I cut down on food. I normally just ate breakfast and dinner. =D The additional money that I am left with, I give them all to church. It's enough somehow. arent u under JPA too ? wow still do charity ? tat's reli nice of u ..She is studying under BNM...
09-02-2008, 12:11 AM
huh ? BNM only give RM260 allowance ah ? I tot BNM is the most generous sponsor dy ?
BNM gives the lowest among all the sponsors.
Khazanah gave about RM 400 - 450
Petronas gave about RM 380
JPA around RM 350
MARA was about RM 270 or 280
BNM was RM 260
The numbers were the ones in 2006/07 so I'm not sure how much have the figure changes since.
16-02-2008, 04:17 PM
oh i see.. I tot BNM gives the highest .. haha.. it is a bank
16-02-2008, 07:26 PM
oh i see.. I tot BNM gives the highest .. haha.. it is a bankBanks are some of the most 'kiam siap' institutions to ever exist on the surface of the Earth, says my lecturer...
niknasir
17-02-2008, 11:21 AM
Vint
please let me know how much JPA students get their montkly allownaces in India
Can they survive
17-02-2008, 01:55 PM
RM 4 x 3 x 30= already RM 360..
RM 350/30 = RM11.66, so RM 3 for breakfast, RM4 for lunch and dinner, RM 11 x 30 = RM 330, it should be enough right? If don't include the outing fees and meals in shopping malls, it should be sufficient right?
P/S: Always have fried rice for meals is not good for health. Sometimes breads and biscuits for breakfast would be healthier, and much cheaper... :)
please let me know how much JPA students get their montkly allownaces in India
Can they survive
According to list given by JPA 2 years ago, USD 700 in major cities, USD 500 in smaller cities. It's supposed to be sufficient.
Incognito
30-03-2008, 02:30 AM
Hey, miracle_seed, I'm india-bound too, your junior in KTT...lol...
Do you have any idea whether we have to pay the accommodation with the USD700 or USD500 that we get?
duke23
30-03-2008, 06:22 AM
only rm 260 for Bank Negara Scholars?WOw!i always thought they got the most!
Then why is everyone saying that a BNM scholarship is a VERY prestigious one?on what basis?selection?finances?welfare?job prospects?From what i know there were so many scholarship recipients with even 2 a2's and in contrast many straight a1's not even called for an interview!
just curious to know though this wouldnt affect me in any way.
30-03-2008, 10:53 AM
Then why is everyone saying that a BNM scholarship is a VERY prestigious one?on what basis?selection?finances?welfare?job prospects?From what i know there were so many scholarship recipients with even 2 a2's and in contrast many straight a1's not even called for an interview!
Bank Negara will help you acquire a seat in prestigious uni. And I think Bank Negara give the allowances on time.
The luckiest one are Khazanah scholars. They live in chalets, hadly any access to outside world, food and accommodation are sponsored. So, the RM 400++ they received will become their pocket money.
30-03-2008, 11:29 AM
I would say that you guys should look at the bigger picture and not fixated at the RM100-200 difference per month while allowance in Malaysia. That only amount to at most RM5k in Malaysia.
Your education abroad is going to be at RM500k or more, and this amount is really small amount, perhaps less than 1% of your total education cost.
So, do look at the bigger picture of opportunities.
I don't think many of us here can afford to choose the scholarships agencies. I do know that some of you will get multiple offers from Bank Negara, Khazanah, Petronas, JPA, MARA etc, but the bulk of you will be happy with offer to study abroad from any of these agencies. Lets not be choosy. Of course, you can do so, when you are being given the offers.
Currently, just try your best to get the scholarships offers first. And then, we can all look into which scholarship to pick.
In either way, all those scholarships are pretty prestigious ones.
Good Luck to all of you, fellow ReComers! I hope that all of you will build up a good and positive perspectives too!
desperado_jonny
31-03-2008, 09:48 PM
For the ones heading to Russia under JPA
Kadar A -700USD (Moscow)
Kadar B -500USD (Nizhny Novgorod & Volgograd)
02-04-2008, 04:29 PM
Hey, miracle_seed, I'm india-bound too, your junior in KTT...lol...
Do you have any idea whether we have to pay the accommodation with the USD700 or USD500 that we get?
I'm not very sure but if I'm not mistaken, we have to pay the accommodation from our allowance, it's still affordable I think...
Ivonne
03-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Hey do they have a website where we can check these stuff or it's a *confidential secret* where we can never know except by asking past scholars?
03-04-2008, 08:29 PM
It's a confidential secret. Not revealed on website. Shush...
17-04-2008, 02:28 AM
Now that BNM scholars have their allowances increased, BNM scholars are getting a lot more than JPA scholars. Or at least in Kadar A areas.
In most cases, the solution to the allowance issue is to WORK. I believe that working on campus is pretty much acceptable to our sponsors, especially since we're not allowed to work more than 19.5 hours a week as international students.
In U of Chicago, it's best to work as Math Teaching Assistant (which I did for 2 years), or work as Research Assistant at the Graduate School of Business, or work at the library. The pay is decent enough for the extra money.
Of course, you can also participate in the psych researches going around on campus for more extra cash. In U of Chicago, they usually pay USD10 for an hour.
As most have already stated: you find your own way of managing whatever money you have!
paamad
18-04-2008, 01:34 AM
how about the allowance for those who are in france? :)
18-04-2008, 07:09 AM
Now that BNM scholars have their allowances increased, BNM scholars are getting a lot more than JPA scholars. Or at least in Kadar A areas.
In most cases, the solution to the allowance issue is to WORK. I believe that working on campus is pretty much acceptable to our sponsors, especially since we're not allowed to work more than 19.5 hours a week as international students.
In U of Chicago, it's best to work as Math Teaching Assistant (which I did for 2 years), or work as Research Assistant at the Graduate School of Business, or work at the library. The pay is decent enough for the extra money.
Of course, you can also participate in the psych researches going around on campus for more extra cash. In U of Chicago, they usually pay USD10 for an hour.
As most have already stated: you find your own way of managing whatever money you have!
Ya. I work too. But isn't it a little unfair that we have to work to sustain our life here? We are supposed to be studying.
Oh well, I got the scholarship. I can't complain much. =S
18-04-2008, 08:56 AM
Between jpa and matri, which gives the more allowance?i heard that matri give only RM1000 per semester?is that true?that mean 1 semester has 6 months ,divided by 6,each month will get only RM166, is that enough?
For jpa, i heard that we can get RM400 per month while studying A level..is that true?
18-04-2008, 09:08 PM
But I think matrics provide you with food, books maybe? etc. With JPA, you definitely need to purchase expensive books and food yourself.
duke23
18-04-2008, 09:38 PM
Are u aware that matriks in not a scholarship?the 1000 dollars is only sort of an incentive for matriculation students.Dont be misled.If They give a monthly allowance the matriculation students ,they should be doing the same for the STPM ones as well
stupidboy
19-04-2008, 06:23 AM
how about the allowance for those who are in france? :)
It's about 900? per month for the pre-U(it's a lot more than enough; can eat, sleep, study well and also voyage well). But when you get into universities in other regions, I don't know. You applied for France?
paamad
20-04-2008, 06:28 PM
It's about 900? per month for the pre-U(it's a lot more than enough; can eat, sleep, study well and also voyage well). But when you get into universities in other regions, I don't know. You applied for France?
I've been offered by JPA for France programme.Will be leaving for KL tmrw to learn french for 1 month. I guess it's gonna be tough ey? Anyways,thx ya :)
megatfais
20-04-2008, 06:33 PM
I've been offered by JPA for France programme.Will be leaving for KL tmrw to learn french for 1 month. I guess it's gonna be tough ey? Anyways,thx ya :)
congratulations to u!
jpysh2004@
23-05-2008, 02:06 PM
Between jpa and matri, which gives the more allowance?i heard that matri give only RM1000 per semester?is that true?that mean 1 semester has 6 months ,divided by 6,each month will get only RM166, is that enough?
For jpa, i heard that we can get RM400 per month while studying A level..is that true?
allowance for matric is 1250 for one semester, one semester has 5 months, so one month 250, food not include, but books usually include
runninghorse
29-05-2008, 07:49 PM
To previous JPA scholars:
For the preparatory course in Malaysia we are given RM430 monthly for accomodation and food right?
How about book allowance? are the colleges assigned to us just give us free books and modules? If i wanna have extra reference books outside i have to buy using my own $$ ? Or can claim back the money from JPA?
29-05-2008, 08:07 PM
For the preparatory course in Malaysia we are given RM430 monthly for accomodation and food right?
How about book allowance? are the colleges assigned to us just give us free books and modules? If i wanna have extra reference books outside i have to buy using my own $$ ? Or can claim back the money from JPA?buy yourself with your own money
powerleakin
29-05-2008, 08:40 PM
wat bout ireland?
How about book allowance? are the colleges assigned to us just give us free books and modules? If i wanna have extra reference books outside i have to buy using my own $$ ? Or can claim back the money from JPA?
when you are in college, you would most probably be using only your text books. Seldom you would have time to actually use extra reference books. :P
but you would be buying/photocopying past year papers for exams/tests revisions
and if i am not mistaken, RM430 is for food and expenses. JPA would pay for your accommodation already.
extell
31-05-2008, 10:09 PM
siew, that's exactly what I wanted to hear^^
Btw, is the allowance the same for all the preparatory courses? (as in diff colleges)
chen622
31-05-2008, 10:12 PM
i think it's same for everyone of different colleges.. the allowances only differ when we go overseas..
Kuekkuek
31-05-2008, 10:17 PM
when you are in college, you would most probably be using only your text books. Seldom you would have time to actually use extra reference books. :P
but you would be buying/photocopying past year papers for exams/tests revisions
and if i am not mistaken, RM430 is for food and expenses. JPA would pay for your accommodation already.
So does this means that our college (INTEC) will provide textbooks for us FOC?
BNM gives the lowest among all the sponsors.
Khazanah gave about RM 400 - 450
Petronas gave about RM 380
JPA around RM 350
MARA was about RM 270 or 280
BNM was RM 260
The numbers were the ones in 2006/07 so I'm not sure how much have the figure changes since.
Hei Leen, Petronas is giving the highest allowance ( correct me if it is wrong thx). For those who is studying in UTP, they will get RM500 per month. Moreover, if the allowance is including books and stationaries allowances, it will be RM579 per month, qutie high isn't it???
vaanbalthier
02-06-2008, 07:31 PM
Hei Leen, Petronas is giving the highest allowance ( correct me if it is wrong thx). For those who is studying in UTP, they will get RM500 per month. Moreover, if the allowance is including books and stationaries allowances, it will be RM579 per month, qutie high isn't it???
actually, the highest allowance given is in upnm....although it's nt overseas scholarship and ur required to study at upnm u still get a hell lot of allowance.
for first year students who got the scholarship, they're given rm1200+ monthly!!!! they provide u wif evrything, and when i say ervything, i mean it. accomodation, clothes, books n so on. but i'm nt sure bout food though, i 4got
i copied tis from the upnm website. anyone juniors who are interested can apply to study in upnm NOT for the allowance, but for the love of ur country
Tahun Pengajian RM Sebulan
Tahun 1 RM 1206.96
Tahun 2 RM 1293.48
Tahun 3 RM 1380.00
Tahun 4 RM 1466.52
Tahun 5 RM 1553.04
b4 i 4got, once u graduate u'll be working wif the army as they're ****(depending on ur course) ur nt gonna be a parajurit, so they wont send u to war(if there is any)
btw, u'll also be knwn as KAPTEN ARJ ur name
they dun hav medic related courses, only engineering(i think)
sorry for being out of topic anyway, hehe
eM-syaph
02-06-2008, 07:42 PM
yeah upnm oredy giv u a pangkat 'pegawai kadet darat' as one of my fren doin his asasi kjruteraan pertahanan' der..
if im not mstaken, M.O.D spprts all expnses in upnm for selected ones!..including food..
02-06-2008, 07:54 PM
So does this means that our college (INTEC) will provide textbooks for us FOC?
no, they will not
02-06-2008, 08:13 PM
i think it's same for everyone of different colleges.. the allowances only differ when we go overseas..
Yup, it's the same for all preparatory courses and colleges in Malaysia.
ainin
02-06-2008, 08:16 PM
To seniors, how much roughly can u save a month with rm430 allowance?
02-06-2008, 08:37 PM
It depends on how you spend... Some say that it's not enough, some can save a lot every month, I think if you don't go outing at all i.e. stay in the college for the whole month and not going home at all, you can save at least RM50 every month...
nadia.g
02-06-2008, 09:35 PM
actually, the highest allowance given is in upnm....although it's nt overseas scholarship and ur required to study at upnm u still get a hell lot of allowance.
for first year students who got the scholarship, they're given rm1200+ monthly!!!! they provide u wif evrything, and when i say ervything, i mean it. accomodation, clothes, books n so on. but i'm nt sure bout food though, i 4got
i copied tis from the upnm website. anyone juniors who are interested can apply to study in upnm NOT for the allowance, but for the love of ur country
Tahun Pengajian RM Sebulan
Tahun 1 RM 1206.96
Tahun 2 RM 1293.48
Tahun 3 RM 1380.00
Tahun 4 RM 1466.52
Tahun 5 RM 1553.04
b4 i 4got, once u graduate u'll be working wif the army as they're ****(depending on ur course) ur nt gonna be a parajurit, so they wont send u to war(if there is any)
btw, u'll also be knwn as KAPTEN ARJ ur name
they dun hav medic related courses, only engineering(i think)
sorry for being out of topic anyway, hehe
hehe. wah so generous.
but Angkatan Tentera Malaysia (ATM) offers scholarship to study medic overseas.. but ur bounded to work with them..
Sen-Sui
03-06-2008, 11:32 AM
Any Canadian students here? Based on the 1 Sept 07 revision, the allowances are
Kadar A - CAD 1300
Kadar B - CAD 1170
I have no idea how the cost of living is like in Canada, so can anyone enlighten me about this? On average, is the above amount sustainable or do i have to work part-time/get my parents to top up? I need to know this for budgeting purposes...
Mad4Hana
03-06-2008, 01:32 PM
Poland-bound students will get 800 Euros per month as their allowance there.I've heard that the cost of living in Eastern European countries are quite low and acceptable.Any thoughts on this?If I'm not mistaken, the first batch will only go to Poland this year in Sept or October.
From what I read in this thread, most students are working part-time to sustain themselves.Isn't there a tedious process of applying for an admission for foreign students to work in US/UK/Europe?
Appolo
09-06-2008, 11:14 AM
From what I read in this thread, most students are working part-time to sustain themselves.Isn't there a tedious process of applying for an admission for foreign students to work in US/UK/Europe?
Normally universities have a policy on allowing certain students whom have fulfilled the necessary requirements such as their grades before they can work.In order to work, you need to get the right kind of visa also!
09-06-2008, 11:18 AM
Working is prohibited..It is stated in the contract (Blue booklets)..BTW, I would like to work overseas... Any tips to escape from JPA's eagle eyes?
Appolo
09-06-2008, 11:24 AM
Working is prohibited..It is stated in the contract (Blue booklets)..BTW, I would like to work overseas... Any tips to escape from JPA's eagle eyes?
If I'm not wrong, working is prohibited if the occupation is not approved by JPA.Besides, teh visas that most students applied for allows them to work overseas on campus only.If you work off-campus, it would be illegal and the immigrants department reserve the rights to deport you back!
09-06-2008, 11:27 AM
If I'm not wrong, working is prohibited if the occupation is not approved by JPA.Besides, teh visas that most students applied for allows them to work overseas on campus only.If you work off-campus, it would be illegal and the immigrants department reserve the rights to deport you back!
That means we can work in universities as cleaner, librarian, lab assistant and etc? Good then
Appolo
09-06-2008, 11:40 AM
That means we can work in universities as cleaner, librarian, lab assistant and etc? Good then
yeah.Most of my friends works in the cafeterias on campus.
ainin
09-06-2008, 12:03 PM
How about like picking apples and all tat.....??
Anderson
09-06-2008, 01:17 PM
How about like picking apples and all tat.....??
haha...my mum also tell me to do tat work.....:laugh
jay3349
09-06-2008, 01:25 PM
Hey guys.
I am a JPA scholar in Australia, and you are definitely allowed to work. I don't know which country you guys are talking about, applying for a work visa is very easy. And the only regulation is you are not allowed to work for more than 20 hours a week during uni term. They don't look at your marks and all that before approving your work permit.
I know it says you can't work in your 'blue book', but when you leave Malaysia for whichever country you are going to, your student adviser will tell you that they don't really enforce that rule. Just don't fail any of the units and you are free to do whatever you want.
ainin
09-06-2008, 01:34 PM
Hey guys.
I am a JPA scholar in Australia, and you are definitely allowed to work. I don't know which country you guys are talking about, applying for a work visa is very easy. And the only regulation is you are not allowed to work for more than 20 hours a week during uni term. They don't look at your marks and all that before approving your work permit.
I know it says you can't work in your 'blue book', but when you leave Malaysia for whichever country you are going to, your student adviser will tell you that they don't really enforce that rule. Just don't fail any of the units and you are free to do whatever you want.
Thankyou so much for this info. I'm glad tat we can work. If not we'll be bored to death during the summer vacation. I'm going to australia too. How do they pay?
Caprio
09-06-2008, 02:06 PM
JPA allowance is so lucrative. No matter some of the recommers here plan to invest in mutual funds.
Kuekkuek
09-06-2008, 02:43 PM
u know...ppl hv to invest to plan for future to alleviate future financial problem, isn't that so..
If you are coming to NZ, your working visa is already included in your student visa as long as you are enrolled as a full time uni student.
the max is 20 hours a week during uni term and full time in the summer. :)
the minimum working rate for NZ atm is around NZD12 an hour.
and no, as long as you maintain your grades, i don t think the sponsor would find fault with you. have been working since last year and it really contributes a lot to my endless shopping sprees. -.-
11-06-2008, 12:32 AM
lol...quite a lot actually... cuz we only have to spend on food and books etc... for me, one month i use about Rm200+ to Rm300 maximum. This involves ocassional meals at some expensive places, such as secret recipe. That means I can save up to more than Rm100 per month.^-^
But one word of advice, don't go to Sunway Pyramid too often. We used to lose all the money we saved there. Might even lose a whole month's allowance especially during sales seasons...eg: Chinese New Year... ^-^
An Okay Student
11-06-2008, 09:59 AM
lol...quite a lot actually... cuz we only have to spend on food and books etc... for me, one month i use about Rm200+ to Rm300 maximum. This involves ocassional meals at some expensive places, such as secret recipe. That means I can save up to more than Rm100 per month.^-^
But one word of advice, don't go to Sunway Pyramid too often. We used to lose all the money we saved there. Might even lose a whole month's allowance especially during sales seasons...eg: Chinese New Year... ^-^
Arhh, now petrol price shoots up so tremendously!! RM1.92 to RM 2.70 ..
Inflation = Deficit :oh
I think we're not gonna to save that much of money d .. Maybe at the end of each month , we can only see negative numbers :(
duke23
11-06-2008, 10:13 AM
i think it would be really difficult esp for a guy to survive with the amount given..they tend to eat a bit more than girls and they cant survive eating bread like some girls do..
vaanbalthier
11-06-2008, 10:37 AM
lol, really??? i'd been eating bread for as long as i can remember. i like to eat bread(influenced by yakitate! japan)
er, try to excercise more, u'll eat less than b4 u started excercising. trust me, coz it works:P
11-06-2008, 11:01 AM
Woah...only 200-300...I have calculated my budget, already cut down on entertainment, just food only costs me around RM 400..:(
lol, really??? i'd been eating bread for as long as i can remember. i like to eat bread(influenced by yakitate! japan)
er, try to excercise more, u'll eat less than b4 u started excercising. trust me, coz it works:P
Bread is my daily breakfast...
1 gardena or high 5 bread can be my breakfast for 3 days ...
ainin
11-06-2008, 12:26 PM
Really??? Ohh! Tat's great! Wat do u usually eat? Oats? Bread? Fruits? U r great at saving money.
Hey, it's Chinese New Year, how can u save? I can't resist the need to buy new clothes.......
11-06-2008, 11:52 PM
Really??? Ohh! Tat's great! Wat do u usually eat? Oats? Bread? Fruits? U r great at saving money.
Hey, it's Chinese New Year, how can u save? I can't resist the need to buy new clothes.......
Lol... I eat the normal food, I am quite a big eater, so skipping meals don't work for me. I need to eat a REAL meal too, so breads or oats won't make me full...
But look, before the petrol price went up, the food at Ausmat Cafe/Cemara Cafe which i used to have lunch are like RM2 sth per meal...(That's the amount i usually eat)...then dinner i spend about RM2-5...depends on what & where i eat. I don't usually drink anything outside though, i bring my own water bottle.
tat makes up to about RM8 per day...plus occasional visits to McD, KFC, Pak Li...during weekends...that makes up to about (RM8 x 22) + (RM 15 x 8 ) = RM 296 per month...more or less that figure...and i never starved !!! ^_^
haha...We didn't save at all during CNY, cuz we too cant resist the SALES outta there!!! Just bring less money around then, it will make you feel BROKE, then you can resist spending a lot!!!
ainin
13-06-2008, 01:26 PM
Lol... I eat the normal food, I am quite a big eater, so skipping meals don't work for me. I need to eat a REAL meal too, so breads or oats won't make me full...
But look, before the petrol price went up, the food at Ausmat Cafe/Cemara Cafe which i used to have lunch are like RM2 sth per meal...(That's the amount i usually eat)...then dinner i spend about RM2-5...depends on what & where i eat. I don't usually drink anything outside though, i bring my own water bottle.
tat makes up to about RM8 per day...plus occasional visits to McD, KFC, Pak Li...during weekends...that makes up to about (RM8 x 22) + (RM 15 x 8 ) = RM 296 per month...more or less that figure...and i never starved !!! ^_^
haha...We didn't save at all during CNY, cuz we too cant resist the SALES outta there!!! Just bring less money around then, it will make you feel BROKE, then you can resist spending a lot!!!
Wow....... U eat real meals..... If i eat bread or oats..... maybe i can save more...... Heheheheh..........
jpysh2004@
13-06-2008, 07:07 PM
hey... i got somethng to ask about "elaun latihan amali"....wat is this allowance?
13-06-2008, 07:08 PM
haha...We didn't save at all during CNY, cuz we too cant resist the SALES outta there!!! Just bring less money around then, it will make you feel BROKE, then you can resist spending a lot!!!i am getting sick of the breads in Germany :P Too hard and very hard to chew on, and definitely not tasty
hey... i got somethng to ask about "elaun latihan amali"....wat is this allowance?
Yea I just wanna ask..It stated that it will be given per day..CAD 19 by the way..what is that for? :)
music_freak28
13-06-2008, 08:36 PM
Hey, just wondering..how much do i get if I'm going Intec?Since we have to settle our own food, does that mean I get RM430? Because that's what the syarat book said.
And if I go to India later, how much roughly do i get?
yanni
13-06-2008, 09:24 PM
erm..i tot the gov wil sekaligus pay us allowance for 6 months?
13-06-2008, 11:32 PM
erm..i tot the gov wil sekaligus pay us allowance for 6 months?
Yup! they pay us sekailgus for 6 months...that's around 2 thousand over including RM200 of allowance for books and stationaries i suppose. I forgot the exact amount, but right, we INTEC students have RM 430 per month.
Wow....... U eat real meals..... If i eat bread or oats..... maybe i can save more...... Heheheheh..........
wow...Why are you so desperate to save money? Eating bread & oats all the time makes life miserable...lol...:oh:(
i am getting sick of the breads in Germany :P Too hard and very hard to chew on, and definitely not tasty
Lol...you guys not enough money to use??!
I thought the ALG people are the richest...my coz got to save lotz of money for a car and also to but tickets to watch the World Cup held in Germany...:amazed
ainin
13-06-2008, 11:44 PM
wow...Why are you so desperate to save money? Eating bread & oats all the time makes life miserable...lol...:oh:(
Actually, my main plan is to go on a diet, and by going on a diet, i can save money. By saving money, i can buy things that i like occasionally. By using my own allowance, my parents won hv to giv me money, thus it won cause them any burden n they won scold me for buying things i like because i'm using my own allowance. I like bread and oats is healthy. So i don think i'll be too miserable?
13-06-2008, 11:54 PM
Actually, my main plan is to go on a diet, and by going on a diet, i can save money. By saving money, i can buy things that i like occasionally. By using my own allowance, my parents won hv to giv me money, thus it won cause them any burden n they won scold me for buying things i like because i'm using my own allowance. I like bread and oats is healthy. So i don think i'll be too miserable?
Lol...for me I cant stand it...:laugh
Life without food is a torture!!!
I can only save the JPA allowance by cutting down the amount of food I eat, eat cheaper stuff and buy less stuff(though it is hard to control).
And during sem breaks, I'll invest all of it into my dance lessons...:P But to me, it's worthwhile...:laugh
By the way, u wanna enter the "30 Hours Of Famine" camp? There will be one being organised in INTEC, i suppose. It's not that confirmed yet, so if you are interested, keep a lookout for news about it when the sem starts.
ainin
14-06-2008, 12:11 AM
Lol...for me I cant stand it...:laugh
Life without food is a torture!!!
I can only save the JPA allowance by cutting down the amount of food I eat, eat cheaper stuff and buy less stuff(though it is hard to control).
And during sem breaks, I'll invest all of it into my dance lessons...:P But to me, it's worthwhile...:laugh
By the way, u wanna enter the "30 Hours Of Famine" camp? There will be one being organised in INTEC, i suppose. It's not that confirmed yet, so if you are interested, keep a lookout for news about it when the sem starts.
Wat's that? I'm going to KBU though..... Is tat about dancing?
14-06-2008, 12:16 AM
Wat's that? I'm going to KBU though..... Is tat about dancing?
Oh no, it's a charity camp thingy. Actually its main event is going to be held around Agust at somewhere in Bukit Jalil...It's something like the Relay For Life, but this is tat every participant have to attend the main camp at Bkt Jalil or organise their own camp. They have to starve for 30 hours for a good cause. It's like to "experience" the hardship of the children who are in hunger all around the world. Anyway, for those who attend camps organised at their own places, they still have to get together with all the other participants in the last 4 hours in Bkt Jalil.
15-06-2008, 08:27 AM
Oh no, it's a charity camp thingy. Actually its main event is going to be held around Agust at somewhere in Bukit Jalil...It's something like the Relay For Life, but this is tat every participant have to attend the main camp at Bkt Jalil or organise their own camp. They have to starve for 30 hours for a good cause. It's like to "experience" the hardship of the children who are in hunger all around the world. Anyway, for those who attend camps organised at their own places, they still have to get together with all the other participants in the last 4 hours in Bkt Jalil.You may post about the event in the relevant section. For now, please keep to the topic :)
cheers~
15-06-2008, 12:30 PM
Hey, just wondering..how much do i get if I'm going Intec?Since we have to settle our own food, does that mean I get RM430? Because that's what the syarat book said.
And if I go to India later, how much roughly do i get?
For pre-U courses in Malaysia, regardless of your preparatory college, you'll get RM430 per month. So far I can't recall any college which provide food... (I suppose students don't hope so too :P). When you go to India, you'll get USD700 for large cities, and USD500 for smaller towns. All these are true for now, who knows they will change in the future?
music_freak28
15-06-2008, 12:49 PM
So far I can't recall any college which provide food... (I suppose students don't hope so too :P). When you go to India, you'll get USD700 for large cities, and USD500 for smaller towns. All these are true for now, who knows they will change in the future?
Ha ha.Yea. It'll be much better to find our own food.more choices. So if I'm going Manipal, it should be USD500 rite?
15-06-2008, 01:03 PM
Ha ha.Yea. It'll be much better to find our own food.more choices. So if I'm going Manipal, it should be USD500 rite?Yes, USD500 for Manipal
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 01:20 PM
kolej mara banting provides free food... n we get rm180 per month... de onli temptation is to spend all yr money in de kooperasi... other than dat... i think it shud be enuf...
anf u can even make money in college by selling food, providing printing service and also tutoring others (yea... de college pays u to tutor yr frens... i earn rm10 per hour) =D
15-06-2008, 01:31 PM
kolej mara banting provides free food... n we get rm180 per month... de onli temptation is to spend all yr money in de kooperasi... other than dat... i think it shud be enuf...
anf u can even make money in college by selling food, providing printing service and also tutoring others (yea... de college pays u to tutor yr frens... i earn rm10 per hour) =DRM10 per hour? That's a lot..!!:-0 You can earn extra hundreds each month...:)
nigelsim
15-06-2008, 01:36 PM
yea... but with other commitments... its hard to find time for tutoring sessions...
however... de onli problem i have with de jpa allowance is dat they will give u one lump sum of cash for 6 months without any itemized statement... dat includes our allowance... airfares... misc fees bla bla bla but we dun even noe wad is for wad... they might even "eat up" some of our money...
ErnestSeow
24-06-2008, 02:45 PM
did JPA offer us money to buy laptop????
cyther90
24-06-2008, 03:01 PM
did JPA offer us money to buy laptop????
JPA give laptop allowance before you go overseas...not during prep
Huh really? I thought it never state it on lampiran 3?:oh
ErnestSeow
24-06-2008, 03:03 PM
ic.... hw much they giv?
jpysh2004@
24-06-2008, 04:19 PM
anyone can answer me??
davidchak
24-06-2008, 05:39 PM
JPA do not give money to buy laptop lah =.=
24-06-2008, 05:43 PM
JPA give laptop allowance before you go overseas...not during prepI've never heard of this.... I don't think JPA ever give laptop allowance...
windhoe2
24-06-2008, 08:17 PM
I've never heard of this.... I don't think JPA ever give laptop allowance...
that is for Mara and petronas scholars, not JPA scholars
cyther90
24-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Owh...sorry..my mistake...confused by my friends info btween scholarships...
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 08:23 PM
anyway, 430 a month at subang jaya is nt enough actually, unless i hav bread 3 meals a day, lol
cyther90
24-06-2008, 08:28 PM
anyway, 430 a month at subang jaya is nt enough actually, unless i hav bread 3 meals a day, lol
My friend can get his stomach full by spending under rm10 a day...He's in Taylor now...He says that to save money, must wait until really hungry then only you eat...if hungry a bit only, just wait till really hungry...:P
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 08:33 PM
My friend can get his stomach full by spending under rm10 a day...He's in Taylor now...He says that to save money, must wait until really hungry then only you eat...if hungry a bit only, just wait till really hungry...:P
omg won't u get gastric by doing dat??? anyway, i dun think we're all dat poor as to starve ourselves, right??
cyther90
24-06-2008, 08:43 PM
Ugh...he's still fine now...no gastric problem...he's a rich guy, but very down-to-earth type of person...
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 08:46 PM
in other words, kiam siap??? lol
24-06-2008, 08:49 PM
RM430 for meals only, not enough? You have at least RM14 to spend per day... RM4 for breakfast, RM5 for lunch and dinner, I think it's more than enough...
cyther90
24-06-2008, 08:52 PM
Lol...I don't understand any chinese word...
And one more thing...the thing that makes a meal kinda expensive is the water...just bring ur own water...you can save a lot $$..
chen622
24-06-2008, 08:56 PM
Hmm.. actually I am quite interested in this one too. For me, it is USD20 daily means an extra USD600 each month. That's relatively a huge sum :knk
Any senior can shed some light on this?
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 08:57 PM
erm, kiam siap is stingy in hokkien.......i'm a big eater miracle...........so big than i can beat the guy at advertisement.............remember kfc's ad??? the big burger, fish burger if my memory servers me well
24-06-2008, 08:58 PM
Lol...I don't understand any chinese word...
And one more thing...the thing that makes a meal kinda expensive is the water...just bring ur own water...you can save a lot $$..Kiam Siap means stingy...
I agree with that, don't spend too much on beverages, you can save a lot...
vaanbalthier
24-06-2008, 09:06 PM
bring our own drinks eh?? yea it sounds better....a bottle of ro water cost rm1 from where i come from but it cost rm2 at kl........
24-06-2008, 09:10 PM
RM430 for meals only, not enough? You have at least RM14 to spend per day... RM4 for breakfast, RM5 for lunch and dinner, I think it's more than enough...
I think people managed to survive with RM7 per day. Breads for breakfast and lunch, and a Rm 2.50 fast food style dinner. And with cookies to keep themselves out of hunger at night.
cuteranger
24-06-2008, 09:16 PM
it is enough if u choose to eat cheap food... at subang jaya there is a market that sells very cheap economy rice in the morning and afternoon (asian cafe economy rice is super expensive:notrust)
aitheng
24-06-2008, 09:42 PM
erm...for me rm430 per month i think its enough since im going to nilai. its a small town so i think the living cost over there is not as high as kl. how lucky im....
we r given our allowance in advance or in the end of the month??? when we will start receving our 1st allowance..???
cyther90
24-06-2008, 09:52 PM
A friend of mine got his 1st JPA paycheque in October...
cuteranger
24-06-2008, 09:57 PM
october??? thats very late :shock:
aitheng
24-06-2008, 10:03 PM
means his allowance started in october...he is x given allowance for july, august n september??? :(
cyther90
24-06-2008, 10:13 PM
His allowance should start from June/July...Just that JPA need some time to settle the scholars' account...2000 scholars...thats a lot...
zulcomel
24-06-2008, 10:18 PM
yea.. huge amount of scholars..
btw. u all nid 2 spend ur money 1st..
25-06-2008, 12:21 AM
erm...for me rm430 per month i think its enough since im going to nilai. its a small town so i think the living cost over there is not as high as kl. how lucky im....
we r given our allowance in advance or in the end of the month??? when we will start receving our 1st allowance..???I'm afraid you're wrong, food in Nilai are as expensive as KL... It's because there are many private colleges there, so of course food is not cheap...
You'll receive allowance for every semester, i.e. 6-month allowance in one time, however your first allowance will only be banked in the earliest two months after you register, so you have to spend your own money first...
25-06-2008, 12:51 AM
Hmm.. actually I am quite interested in this one too. For me, it is USD20 daily means an extra USD600 each month. That's relatively a huge sum :knk
Any senior can shed some light on this?
This "Latihan Amali allowance" is only applicable if you have compulsory attachment, which is not the case for US. So, don't think anyone can get this allowance. Haven't heard of anyone got it before.
It applies for those who study in Germany and other countries that require internship.
davidchak
25-06-2008, 02:02 AM
Okay Okay.
Here some informations or my personal experience:
JPA DO NOT bank in immediately in the first few months locally. I remember we all got our first jpa allowance bank in in mid September (2 months after our course started)
Yes, RM10 IS indeed enough.
Breakfast: Come on, who eat breakfast outside? Just buy some milo powder and DIY your breakfast lah!
Lunch: A sandwich or bread is already enough actually. If you like, you can get real cheap economic rice around Taylor (I am speaking of taylor situation) like RM3++
Dinner: Okay, this is where everyone spent their money on, dinner. Food around Hostel is never cheap. Again, speaking of taylor situation, theres a bakery nearby college that sells cheap bread.
I would say it is enough. Only depends on how you used it.
Heavy spender like me of course not enough lah. My parents subsidies me RM30 per week. No, I am not really big eater, it is just that I have a habit of reading newspaper and hence Rm7++ is substracted per week from my allowance. Besides, I dont like bread. SO...
I spent my money on....coffee most. lol
p/S: I have met a friend who SELDOM eat and the jpa allowance is almost untouched when she left her course. (About RM4k+) Crazy huh! She eats bread ALL the times lol
artistic1412
25-06-2008, 02:14 AM
dude
me 350 je
lagy truklaaa
huk huk huk
Just a different experience,
For my case, JPA Is quite punctual in banking in my allowances, my third sem starts in July, Last friday already I got my allowance.
Even for my first sem, I got the money in the bank on the 1st/2nd week after my registration.
But what ever it is, they'll never forfeit your allowances so don't worry.
I honestly don't think that if they bank in few months later will be a burden on you ppl..
vaanbalthier
25-06-2008, 02:57 PM
430 ringgit per month, so dat's an average of 14 ringgit per day. yea i think it should be enough. btw, wat about books allowance, do we get it too???
And another thing,
For those who will be going to Subang or already in there, If you find it hard to sustain with the allowance from the sponsor, tell them that you are having difficulties.
I thought about it and really think that places in SS15(Subang) only flooded with pricy food unless you are willing to survive on mamak, but mamak there are also the expensive kind. Just relatively much cheaper than AC( don't ever take the mixed rice!)
With the recent inflation(still expected to rise), immediate effect will be unbearable by us(student). I honestly think that prices in Subang will cotinue to sky-rocket for the 6 coming month. So tell your sponsor bout it so you won't bare the pinch..
430 ringgit per month, so dat's an average of 14 ringgit per day. yea i think it should be enough. btw, wat about books allowance, do we get it too???
If i'm not mistaken, you have to keep the receipt and claim it from your sponsor(for JPA).
Just ask your sponsors on registration day.
xinni
25-06-2008, 03:09 PM
well, I'm going to ask something that's not related to this .. Is JPA officer going to come during your day of registeration? meaning it's either this coming sunday or next weekdays right? thanks
If you are require to bring all the documents, JPA asked you to bring on registration day, then they'll be there on your registration day to handle your registration n to talk to you guys.
25-06-2008, 03:25 PM
Yes , they'll be there on the registration day .
artistic1412
25-06-2008, 03:27 PM
btw, if im going australia its 1500 aussie dollar a month
enuff ar?
seniors help lol
Anderson
25-06-2008, 04:21 PM
btw, if im going australia its 1500 aussie dollar a month
enuff ar?
seniors help lol
huhh????
why urs so many d???
im my letter they mention my allowance at oz is only 1200(this is at major city summore....other small town juz like 950 only=.=)
artistic1412
25-06-2008, 04:40 PM
ok then
guess i can save money and travel around the world when its summer holiday
yay
davidchak
25-06-2008, 06:50 PM
For JPA, your book allowance is not claimable with receipt. You are given Rm300 to buy ur textbook. Thats it. Nada
littlesteps87
20-08-2008, 10:41 PM
I've just read through the whole thread and I'm pretty sure I didn't see any details about JPA allowance for students in Australia.
I'm just wondering, do any of you know how much will JPA pay for Elaun Tamat Pengajian? And any other allowances that I will receive when I graduate? (I'm graduating this year and am wanting to do a little travelling before I go back to Malaysia).
neilkoo
02-09-2008, 12:13 PM
For JPA, your book allowance is not claimable with receipt. You are given Rm300 to buy ur textbook. Thats it. Nada
Regarding on the statement above, when can we claim back our 0.3k??:)
smashingkiller
02-09-2008, 12:28 PM
my allowance iz not in yet...
argghhh....
lwk88
03-09-2008, 01:37 AM
does JPA provide laptop allowance?
03-09-2008, 01:49 AM
does JPA provide laptop allowance?
no. you will have to budget your allowances to afford it
Zephyr
03-12-2008, 12:42 AM
For UK students (allowance plus accommodation)
Kadar A: 950 pounds (London. Cambridge, Oxford)
Kadar B: 800 (Bristol, Reading, Surrey, Edinburgh, Bath)
Kadar C: 650 (other cities)
jacys
13-12-2008, 03:19 PM
urm... does anyone here knows how much allowance given to JPA scholars in Australia?
13-12-2008, 08:38 PM
1200 dollars per month. That's to cover most of your expenses except the tuition fee.
jacys
13-12-2008, 08:51 PM
but does that rate apply to all cities that we go to?
superdupree
14-12-2008, 08:21 PM
over here in nottingham, we're given only rm430. food and lodging.
14-12-2008, 09:20 PM
over here in nottingham, we're given only rm430. food and lodging.
RM430 per month? But that's not even 100 Pound Sterling! Are you sure you're given that little? And for food and lodging!
14-12-2008, 10:31 PM
RM430 per month? But that's not even 100 Pound Sterling! Are you sure you're given that little? And for food and lodging!
I believe the Nottingham said is the Semenyih campus in Malaysia.
14-12-2008, 10:34 PM
He said "over here in Nottingham" though. I guess he said wrongly. :)
14-12-2008, 10:41 PM
So, I suppose we need to clear on whether it was Nottingham Semenyih or Nottingham UK campus eh?
But since it's mentioned RM430, I believe it's Nottingham Semenyih. But RM430 to cover food and lodging? Isn't that a bit too little, still?
14-12-2008, 10:44 PM
So, I suppose we need to clear on whether it was Nottingham Semenyih or Nottingham UK campus eh?
But since it's mentioned RM430, I believe it's Nottingham Semenyih. But RM430 to cover food and lodging? Isn't that a bit too little, still?
For local university allowance, if I am not wrong, housing is provided. RM430 is for food and other miscellaneous expenses. At least that's what I believe students at INTEC and various other preparatory programs are being provided.
On this allowance, I would say that we should look at it as allowance, i.e. it helps to reduce our burden. With or without the scholarship, we still need to spend money on food. So, this amount helps us to reduce the burden that our family faced.
14-12-2008, 10:50 PM
Well, that is how it should be. Even PETRONAS scholars would get RM500 per month for allowance, that is on food and other miscellaneous expenses. I don't think JPA would trouble their own scholars into paying their own hostel fees, would they?
lemuwo
09-01-2009, 02:14 PM
Hi there, anybody has any ideas what's the JPA allowance given to Postgrad students in US. Is it the same rate as undergrad students?
Scrmath
04-04-2009, 08:10 PM
I think it's ok if you try to hide the fact from jpa if the job is not that demanding.For example, I once thought of going for an internship(local) for 2 months and I need to fill in the paperwork and apply for jpa to consider.However, I completely drop the whole after waiting it for so long and did not receive a reply from the agency.I guess the most easily accepted reasoning on their behalf should be that the government wants students to focus more on their studies and they figure that with the allowances that they were giving out for students, it should be sufficient.
But the truth is, a lot of my friend(including me) are spending our money as frugally as possible especially when it comes to food and transportation.Books is also a problem for some seniors(like me) as some textbooks that are really good can fetch up to RM300+(per book) and we basically have to fork out our own money if we really wanted the book although they are not compulsory.I would really appreciate it if anyone who is working in JPA can raise the problem up for discussion.sigh....
As for JiaZheng's case, I can really understand his situation.Although he might not sound grateful of the scholarship that he had, he did raise up a practical question.what are we going to survive financially in a foreign country if the money that we are given are barely able to support our basic needs.For some scholars who come from less fortunate backgrounds, this is definitely a problem as you can't possibly have the nerve to come to your parents and say" I need"when you're very well aware that your family can't afford it!
Ya that is wad i worry abt..mayb a forum abt jpa allowance should b raised up and speak out whether is enough o not..
extell
13-04-2009, 10:42 AM
Hi, I'm currently doing A-levels in KTT Sepang (bound for Czech Rep).
Locally, JPA provide RM430+ per month. They bank in in 2 batches- 1st sem and 2nd sem (about 2.9k+ each time). I got abit more because Sarawakians and Sabahans are given flight allowance (once- for return tickets).
In the offer letter, it says those heading for Prague will be provided with 800 euros and other cites, 700 euros.
It's enough if you are not a spendthrift of course.
Ling24
25-04-2009, 03:07 PM
do the jpa scholars must stay in the hostel?
25-04-2009, 03:56 PM
do the jpa scholars must stay in the hostel?Which phase you are referring to? Pre-U or undergraduate? For pre-U. normally they have to, but some colleges are pretty lenient on this, that you can go home everyday if your house is close by. For undergraduate, again it depends on the university, too...
eddielau
25-04-2009, 04:22 PM
the allowance is no longer rm 430 per month..
for last year,they juz received rm350 per month for food while in m'sia..
25-04-2009, 07:58 PM
the allowance is no longer rm 430 per month..
for last year,they juz received rm350 per month for food while in m'sia..Are you sure? JPA just increased the local pre-U allowance from RM350 to RM430 at the end of year 2007, I don't think they would decrease it...
eddielau
25-04-2009, 08:29 PM
Are you sure? JPA just increased the local pre-U allowance from RM350 to RM430 at the end of year 2007, I don't think they would decrease it...
BUT My senior(spm2006) who juz went to AUs for medic course last three month only received rm 350 per month till dec 2008.
25-04-2009, 10:20 PM
BUT My senior(spm2006) who juz went to AUs for medic course last three month only received rm 350 per month till dec 2008.That was weird... As far as I know, allowance for pre-U in Malaysia is standardized...
eddielau
26-04-2009, 12:08 AM
That was weird... As far as I know, allowance for pre-U in Malaysia is standardized...
whch sch did ur senior study when taking pre-u course?
My senior took in UiTM for medic...
EI...I hv another JPA scholarship currently taking pre-u course in INTEC..
U noe how much her food Allowance is?
RM 400 ++ per sem..( 4 month per sem)
MEan RM 100 ++ per month...
Appolo
30-04-2009, 10:30 AM
Maybe there's some form of confusion here because the allowance shouldn't be that low. Can I know which program is she doing?
I agree with miracleseed that the allowance should be standardized. At least during my time.
MaSterZ-TaKinGs
01-05-2009, 01:47 AM
ermm....it's quite weird to hear dat the allowance is very low...
bcoz rite now i get RM430 every month n i'm currently in KBU International College doing AUSMAT...:oh
01-05-2009, 02:19 AM
ermm....it's quite weird to hear dat the allowance is very low...
bcoz rite now i get RM430 every month n i'm currently in KBU International College doing AUSMAT...:ohNowadays, RM430 is supposed to be standard allowance for pre-U in Malaysia, anything lesser would be weird...
RM430 for 1 month? OMG, thats very little.....
Its just slightly more than RM12 for a day...
RM4 per meal? is that enough?
runninghorse
01-05-2009, 07:08 PM
Just to clarify sth here....
The JPA allowance for preU stage at INTEC here is still the same - RM430.
And RM430 is definitely enough for your living expenses plus books.
For my case, i manage to save about RM170 per month from it. So dont worry~ :amuse
AaronJ
01-05-2009, 07:14 PM
I think it's enough..
I'm in college now and I usually spend less than RM10 per day..
sometimes I only spend RM6 per day..
Unless I'm going out with my friends for lunch or watch a movie..
01-05-2009, 07:52 PM
It should be about RM14 per day right? It's enough if you don't include your weekend outing expenses (Of course JPA would not consider that..).
Scrmath
09-05-2009, 11:51 AM
Jus wan to ask..is there photostat shop there?if i borrow the bk fr library then fotostat then return,i would save up a lot of money rite?any jpa scholar+recommer helps me!!i fr poor family and my family cant cover so much..thx a lot..
Hehe, I was on the 80-20 plan (since I live in college - includes food), but the compensation ain't bad for me... Lucky me, I guess... But you're right, the real durian runtuh's for those on the 100% plan... =)
Wad is all these 80-20 and 60-40 thingy?????can sb plz explain???I jus gt jpa so i noe ntg abt it....
Langzhongyue
09-05-2009, 01:11 PM
erm....RM 430 is enough for me
i already at college now
juz RM500 per month
not including rental fee
so anticipated to get my offer letter
sam1913
09-05-2009, 01:32 PM
is the food costly back in intec
09-05-2009, 01:56 PM
since the allowance is given in every six month,i usually starve during the last 2-3 months...hehe.it's soooooooo not enough for me.
XterNalz
04-06-2009, 10:17 AM
JPA offered me MMU Melaka, will I still get RM430 per month of allowance ?
rosalie
04-06-2009, 12:50 PM
I didnt receive my lampiran A3..''sigh''. Called n called...emailed n emailed..bt no reply. Can anyone please tell me how much the allowence is for those US bound students studying atuarial science? Please and thanks..
passOUT
04-06-2009, 09:59 PM
I didnt receive my lampiran A3..''sigh''. Called n called...emailed n emailed..bt no reply. Can anyone please tell me how much the allowence is for those US bound students studying atuarial science? Please and thanks..
I'm sure all US-bound students should be receiving RM430/month when they are still pursuing ADP/ADTP/ADFP locally for the first year. When you guys are in the US, then the amount of allowance you'll be receiving pretty much depends on your location in the US. I'm a US-bound myself.
The 430 was sufficient for me although my parents also chipped in some bucks. I still have about 1k left in my account when I was done with ADP =)
lambogreeny
06-06-2009, 11:31 AM
is the food costly back in intec
The food in the Cemara hostel canteen is quite cheap. In INTEC its expensive. too bad. :P
znyi_beryl
17-06-2009, 12:38 AM
im getting IPTS...in monash...is that jpa will still giving me RM 430 d allowance every month?
17-06-2009, 12:43 AM
The food in the Cemara hostel canteen is quite cheap. In INTEC its expensive. too bad. :P
Define 'cheap' and expensive' as in price range. Thanks
RestlessMind
17-06-2009, 12:46 AM
Define 'cheap' and expensive' as in price range. Thanks
during my time, the typical lunch at cemara hostel cost me bout rm2.50 n max rm3.. while at intec, bout rm3 above (ALM cafe) :)
rm 430 for pre u...
when we go oversea le...?
just wondering.. hehe
RestlessMind
17-06-2009, 12:56 AM
rm 430 for pre u...
when we go oversea le...?
just wondering.. hehe
it wll b long journey b4 u go to overc :amuse
dpnds on which country n each contry hs different rates
mine is kadar C UK ?650 per month :)
it wll b long journey b4 u go to overc :amuse
dpnds on which country n each contry hs different rates
mine is kadar C UK ?650 per month :)
ya.. 4 years time...:P
i'll be heading for uk too..
so, i guess i wll be expecting that...
haha:))
strawberygal
17-06-2009, 12:02 PM
UK ?650?
is tat enough for us to spend on all the expenses?
coz it sounds quite little...
Scrmath
17-06-2009, 02:17 PM
I don noe abt england but for canada,for food and hostel,jpa give me 1300 cad if u live in city(some)..
wanee
17-06-2009, 02:57 PM
UK ?650?
im not of jpa student but would like to give out opinion.
i think it's enough.u dont see it as a mere 650RM but see the actual value in ringgit after being converted.i think it's alot.plus jpa knows very well the money they've allocated for students must be more than enough.if u spent it wisely.
davidchak
17-06-2009, 06:45 PM
I don noe abt england but for canada,for food and hostel,jpa give me 1300 cad if u live in city(some)..
In just 4 cities you can get 1.3k, namely: Montreal, Toronto, Ottawa and Vancouver. The rest is 1.1k if not mistaken
RestlessMind
17-06-2009, 08:31 PM
UK ?650?
for london the allowance is ?900
for me, the hostel costs near ?300 per month
so left ?350 n it is enough for me..
i share wth my flatmates n we cook at home, so we can save a lot.. :)
living cost in Glasgow is not as expensive as in London
Casperloo
17-06-2009, 08:43 PM
for london the allowance is ?900
for me, the hostel costs near ?300 per month
so left ?350 n it is enough for me..
i share wth my flatmates n we cook at home, so we can save a lot.. :)
living cost in Glasgow is not as expensive as in London
u all so geng!!! stil got time to cook while hv to study so hard....
then do u experience over budget be4??
strawberygal
18-06-2009, 12:14 AM
since ur hostel cost ?300 so u stil left ?350 to spend...
if ur hostel cost mor than tat leh?
ya lo...
stil got time to cook, veli geng...
tat means i muz learn how to cook oso la?
haha...
there hav rice onot?
o everyday bread nia?
wweRaw
19-06-2009, 10:39 PM
Hey , anyone who gets ipts here? I'm going to Nottingham Malaysia for foundation course, how much allowance would gov give us? How about the books and accomodation?:P
RestlessMind
20-06-2009, 12:11 AM
u all so geng!!! stil got time to cook while hv to study so hard....
then do u experience over budget be4??
cooking doesnt take so much time hahaha.. we manage to cook dishes like `ayam masak merah` and stir fried veges for less thn 45 minutes (including the preparation of the ingredients though) :)
n some more we rotate the cooking turn, like a person has to cook every 4 days :P so i thnk its not a big prob, i google some of the recipies n call my mom aso to ask hahaha
bout the over budget thing, it really depnds on individul.. i spent ?46 yesterday to buy 2 pairs of shoes.. hahaha :P
since ur hostel cost ?300 so u stil left ?350 to spend...
if ur hostel cost mor than tat leh?
ya lo...
stil got time to cook, veli geng...
tat means i muz learn how to cook oso la?
haha...
there hav rice onot?
o everyday bread nia?
ya some hall of residence wll cost much higher... but as far as i know, there wll b defntly enough for u to pay the rent n cover ur expnss as well..
one of my friend here rents a private accomodation n the rental is nearly the same (includes heating, electricty ) n MARA gvs him ?650 aso per month :)
ya, got rice but it is wht we call `beras wangi` n the rice is sticky n MUCH MORE expensve compared wth malaysia.. :))
i only eat rice during dinner.. bfast n luch usually i eat bread.. :amuse
strawberygal
20-06-2009, 01:26 PM
Hey , anyone who gets ipts here? I'm going to Nottingham Malaysia for foundation course, how much allowance would gov give us? How about the books and accomodation?:P
i get uk twinning...
bt wil be studying in uni of nottingham tuu after my 2 years pre-u...
u say u r going to nottingham malaysia for foundation course, tat means u straight study in there, o same like us, wil be doing pre-u in intec first?
cooking doesnt take so much time hahaha.. we manage to cook dishes like `ayam masak merah` and stir fried veges for less thn 45 minutes (including the preparation of the ingredients though) :)
n some more we rotate the cooking turn, like a person has to cook every 4 days :P so i thnk its not a big prob, i google some of the recipies n call my mom aso to ask hahaha
bout the over budget thing, it really depnds on individul.. i spent ?46 yesterday to buy 2 pairs of shoes.. hahaha :P
ya some hall of residence wll cost much higher... but as far as i know, there wll b defntly enough for u to pay the rent n cover ur expnss as well..
one of my friend here rents a private accomodation n the rental is nearly the same (includes heating, electricty ) n MARA gvs him ?650 aso per month :)
ya, got rice but it is wht we call `beras wangi` n the rice is sticky n MUCH MORE expensve compared wth malaysia.. :))
i only eat rice during dinner.. bfast n luch usually i eat bread.. :amuse
i really cant imagine my life there...
oways eat bread? omg...
i nid hokkien mee, wantan mee n all tat...
haha...
holycreeper
20-06-2009, 05:48 PM
I just wanna ask...
Is Aus$ 1200 per month enough for the living expenses in Melbourne, Sydney, Perth, or Brisbane?
hi!!wht course tht u chose???i too gt ipts-imu.knew it by calling jpa.havent receive letter yet.hw bout u?received the letter ady?
i dunno the answer for ur question...sry!!:P:))