View Full Version : Edexcel A level Unit 1 n 2
studioworks
26-10-2007, 11:28 PM
i m july 07 intake of ucsi student.can any1 share tips on how to score edexcel unit 1 n 2,it would b appreciated to share here?i m currently taking PHY,CHEM,MAT N BIO n ll take my trial after deepavali n edexcel london board a level exam in jan 08...i m sure it ll b beneficial to intec students n every a level exam-takers here....
thanks in advance..
PS:if any1 have mark scheme or any notes on any of these paper who wanna contribute,feel free to email at memek10@<hidden> u need to exchange,i ll sure send u back....this is called karma...haha
27-10-2007, 05:11 PM
Haha, find the CIE students lah. Or buy past year question books (Redspot) from Singapore publisher. Although it is for CIE, you can learn something from it.
studioworks
28-10-2007, 05:46 PM
is it?but i m taking edexcel n i may confuse myself if i read too wide out of syllabus...any students here who take edexcel unit 1 n 2 next year JANUARY...let's share something among each out here
studioworks
03-11-2007, 02:08 AM
any students here who take edexcel unit 1 n 2 next year JANUARY...let's share something among each out here..........any intec student july 07 intake or any intec senior may wanna help...i m taking all 3 science n 1 mat...or alm n alg students can share any tips as well
sithan
05-11-2007, 11:19 PM
I am from HELP UC Jan '07 intake. I took my unit 1s and 2s last May/June. (Phy 1, Phy 2, Chem 1, Chem 2, C1, C2, S1 and M1)
For Chem, they're quite rigid in the sense that they look for specific words. If you get the past year questions with the mark scheme answers, DO IT!
Physics requires more understanding. I used "Advance Physics for You" for revision. Even for physics, past year questions will assist you more than any revision books. There are a lot of "thinking questions".
C1 and C2 are relatively easy (if you took add math in SPM). You should aim for 100 marks for both the papers. But don't get stressed out. Generally A level Math is not too tough.
No advise for BIO because i don't take Bio.
conclusion : Past Year Questions
hhhcce
06-11-2007, 12:53 PM
No text book is needed for Edexcel. Just read you lecturers' notes would be adequate. I would say pay more attention on the past year papers, especially for chemistry as the questions tend to repeat. Actually, it is not that hard because for unit 1 and 2, most of my friends got full mark for 5 out of 8 papers.
mintychoc
18-11-2007, 12:54 AM
I agree, reading your lecturer's notes will be sufficent. I must really stress on PAST YEAR PAPERS and MARK SCHEMES. They will really save your butt during the exam. Edexcel usually repeats their questions (if you've done the whole set of past year papers, you should be quite safe) but they're gradually getting harder and harder each sitting. Try your best to score the highest you can this time, because if you resit, it'll most probably be tougher.
Units 1/2 are pretty easy, nothing too taxing, most people I knew got full marks for most of the papers too, including me. I completed Edexcel A Levels in June 07.
studioworks
25-11-2007, 01:16 AM
so the paper become harder n harder...wow,i cant really answer the ques well in the past past past years .....plz...some1...tips?esp for 3 sc n core mat 1 n 2
studioworks
08-12-2007, 11:12 AM
forget about mat....how about phy....plz help me........
core maths 1 and 2 are still alright.
physics!...seems that my classmates including me, are struggling hard to score well.
studioworks
12-12-2007, 02:10 AM
esp...mechanic/electric n thermal phy
28-12-2007, 11:44 PM
esp...mechanic/electric n thermal phy
Unit 2 is gonna be TOUGH i reckon cuz PHY unit 2 June 2007 is a piece of cake!! As for unit 1, im not that sure.
TheArtOfMedicine
27-01-2008, 11:25 PM
I think the difficulty greatly depends on individual's understanding towards that particular subject/topic. I got 88/90 for Phy Unit 1 in june/2007 exam while i scored only 77/90 for unit 2/edexcel in the same season. That, apparently, contradicts with what sillyboy has posted.
By the way, sillyboy, i find your post quite confusing, do you mean unit 2's easy or do you think it's tough. U mentioned it's tough but said it's piece of cake at the end of the sentence. Do you mean it's the june2007 paper only which is considered piece of cake?
jane_gun
28-01-2008, 01:14 AM
Hi all! Just something that might help - I found the reference book Advanced Physics For You relatively easy to understand and it did help me when I was doing my A-Levels back during my HELP days in 2004-2005... All the best in your exams! ^_^
oompa loompa
20-03-2008, 05:19 PM
can anyone pl tell me where i can get "Advance Physics For You" and the author's name pl? Is it true that the papers are usually harder if one resit the exam?
TheArtOfMedicine
24-03-2008, 09:20 PM
Resits are all random. Most people don't do better in the 2nd attempt. However, i do have a friend who scored 90/90 for Physics unit 1, for which he obtained only 76/90 in his first try. papers are all randomly set, so it's absolute nonsense to conclude resits are harder.They don't specially prepare a ''resit question paper'' for you or that sort.
truecolours
09-07-2011, 11:20 AM
Do you guys have any tips or reference books you favour for Mathematics and Biology?
And I heard that HELP UC is adding History to their subject listings - any thoughts?
Oh and my apologies if I sound ignorant but is there a thread for A Level students going to the HELP UC or is this it?
Please and thank you! :)
yukitou
11-09-2011, 05:28 PM
Do you guys have any tips or reference books you favour for Mathematics and Biology?
And I heard that HELP UC is adding History to their subject listings - any thoughts?
Oh and my apologies if I sound ignorant but is there a thread for A Level students going to the HELP UC or is this it?
Please and thank you! :)
Are you an HELP UC student? Then you must be taking edexcel a level.
For maths, I don't have any recommended books but I finished all the questions found in the textbook and also the past year.
For bio, there are a few reference books in library books which I think really useful. Try to do the questions in the reference books other than the edexcel past year. Some CIE past papers really helpful.
yingxuy
16-12-2011, 10:20 AM
Edexcel often repeat their questions, but they gradually harder and harder each ride. The highest score your best, you can at this time, because if you re-test will most likely be more severe.
acgerlok7
16-12-2011, 11:46 AM
Edexcel often repeat their questions, but they gradually harder and harder each ride. The highest score your best, you can at this time, because if you re-test will most likely be more severe.
Very hard to say on this thou...even for CIE...you may have a very tough first paper, but very easy first paper. As what the seniors previously said, papers are all randomly set, so i doubt there is such thing as " the more times you resit, the harder it gets".